# Jurisdictional Statement — Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Rosener

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1475%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Jurisdictional Statement
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 450 U.S. 1051

## Text

| ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

8021545 = || wr 20001

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,
CLERK

NO.

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES

October Term, 1980

SEARS, ROEBUCK & COMPANY,
Appellant,

vs.

ROSENER, et al.,
Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM
THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

RICHARD L. GOFF
Counsel of Record
44 Montgomery Street,
Suite 3000
San Francisco, CA 94104
Telephone: (415) 772-6000
Attorney for Appellant

KATHERINE H. CROCKER
Of Counsel

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Does California Civil
Code section 3294, authorizing the award
of exemplary damages once the defendant
has been found "guilty of oppression,
fraud, or malice," violate the Due Pro-
cess Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment
by failing to provide adequate objective
standards for determining the amount of
punitive damages to be awarded?12/

(2) Does section 3294, as
applied, deny due process by allowing
the jury to impose punitive damages upon
a defendant shown guilty of punishable
conduct by a mere ponderance of the
evidence, rather than by clear and

convincing proof?

la/ 28 U.S.C. § 2403(b) may be
applicable.

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW

In the proceeding before the
Court of Appeal, Sears, Roebuck and
Company was the appellant.* Appellees
were Peter F. Elkind, Sue N. Elkind,
Joseph F. Hartman, Jean E. Hartman,
David W. Hartmangruber, Joann Hartman-
gruber, William W. West, Jeanne M. West,
Edwin Finkes, Linda J. Finkes, Richard
H. Miller, Sarah Miller, Ralph C.

Flewelling, and Hildegard Flewelling.

A listing of appellant's affiliated
companies, as required by Rule 28.1
of the Supreme Court Rules, has

been provided as a separate document.

«

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions prepented . . . « 8s « e's 6 «

Parties to the proceeding below... .

Opinions below . . > ” * . . . e e 'e -

Jurisdiction > ° es. e« e e -e o * ~ e ° e

Constitutional and statutory
SROMLGIONSG. «© & se eo th eh ee ee)

Statement Of the case «. 6 © te tw sw te eo

The questions presented are
substantial o & ° . J om e s es oo o - e .

This

This

s

Court should note probable juris-
diction in order to consider
whether a state may constitu-
tionally authorize imposition of
punitive damages pursuant to a
statute virtually lacking in
standards for determining the
amount of the award .....«. -»

II

Court should note probable juris-
diction to consider whether Cali-
fornia Civil Code section 3294, as
applied, violates due process by
allowing imposition of punitive
damages based on the ordinary
Civil “preponderance of the evi-
dence" standard of proof .....

Conclusion e e e e e e 7 e ° e e ° e .

ii

14

17

23

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418
TST Paes wed eceeenees éebe bo eeoses 16,24,25-
30,32,34

Brewer v. Second Baptist Church,
32 Cal. 24 791, 197 P.2d 713
CTSSS acco ceseseseesesecestececes 31

Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S.
399 CTSSS do cdcceecvsecbeseevecse 16,22

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358
Bi gi SRT OUR CTE TTECULTLCE CLT TCTTas YY TY

Liodas v. Sahadi, 19 Cal. 3d 278,
562 P.2d 316, 137 Cal. Rptr. 635
UOT 016 6646.6 8 60054 US 6 06800 e a eee se te

Holmes v. United States, 267 F.
529 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 254
U.S. 640 CFPSO do she eeceeseteeoes 15,19

Roginsky v. Richardson-Merrell, Inc.,
378 F.2d 832 (2d Cir. 1967). .e006233

Rosener v. Sears, Roebuck & Co.,
110 Cal. App. 3d 740 (1980)......passim,
App.A

Smith v. United States, 145 F.2d
643 (10th Cir. 1944), cert. denied,
323 U.S. 803 C3PGS tose cvsésctatestasts

Spokane Truck & Dray Co. v. Hoefer,
25 P. 1072 (Wash. 1891) ccccccccctdy 33

Walker v. Signal Companies, Inc.,
84 Cal. App. 3d 982, 149 Cal.
Rptr. 119 4, OES ree ©

Wolfsen v. Hathaway, 32 Cal. 2d
as see wamee § £UPER cc cceccccecad

Constitution

U.S. Const., amend. 14, §1...... passim

Statutes

California Civil Code § 3294 ... passim
California Evidence Code
§ ee ce ecee 24

EEE SE a ee

Commentaries

Comment, Criminal Safeguards and the
Punitive Damages Defendant, 34
Univ. Chi. L. Rev. 408
PPP PPOAR SEER Mee seeeeeoceececee 24,33

Mallor & Roberts, Punitive Damages:
Toward a Principled Approach,
31 Hastings L.J. 639 (1980)... 14

NO.

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES

October Term, 1980

SEARS, ROEBUCK & COMPANY,
Appellant,

vs.

ROSENER, et al.,
Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM
THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA
%

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Sears; Roebuck & Company
appeals from that portion of the final
judgment of the Court of Appeal of
California, dated December 12, 1980,
which affirmed, as modified, an award of

punitive damages over appellant's

objection that the California punitive
damages statute, California Civil Code
Section 3294, as applied in this case,
violates appellant's due process rights
guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment
of the Constitution of the United
States.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the California
Court of Appeal (App. A, infra) is
reported at 110 Cal. App. 3d 740 (1980).
That Court's order denying appellant's
Petition for Rehearing (App. B, infra)
was filed on October 29, 1980, and is
not reported. The order of the Cali-
fornia Supreme Court denying appellant's
and appellees' respective Petitions for
Hearing (App. C, infra) was filed on

December 10, 1980, and is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the California
Court of Appeal, First Appellate District,
affirming, as modified, the award of
punitive damages of $2,500,000 in favor
of appellees and against appellant, was
entered on December 12, 1980. (App. D,
infra.) The Supreme Court of California
denied appellant's Petition for Hearing
by order dated December 10, 1980. (App.
C, infra.)

A notice of appeal to this Court
was duly filed in the California Court
of Appeal, First Appellate District, on
February 25, 1981. (App. E, infra.)

This appeal is being docketed
in this Court within 90 days after the
California Supreme Court denied hearing.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. §1257(2).

«Je

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

The relevant constitutional
provisions and statutes are: U.S.
Const. amend. XIV, §1; Calif. Civ. Code
§3294; Calif. Evid. Code §115, all of

which are reproduced in Appendix F.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves the consti-
tutionality of a massive punitive damages
award arising out of the unforeseen
financial collapse of a home remodeling
contractor licensed by the defendant,
Sears, Roebuck & Company ("Sears"), and
the resulting frustration, discomfort,
and emotional distress of certain
affected homeowners. A jury awarded the
eight plaintiff couples $158,000 in
compensatory damages, largely for

emotional distress caused by delays and

deficiencies in performance of the home
remodeling contracts, and $19 million in
punitive damages, based on a special
verdict finding Sears guilty of fraud in
connection with the advertising and sale
of those contracts.1/

Sears appealed, challenging,

inter alia, the sufficiency of the

evidence to support an award of punitive
damages, the exclusion of expert testi-
mony on the purpose of 100% performance

bonds, and the refusal to give certain

1/ The gist of plaintiffs’ fraud claim
was that, by looking to 100% per-
formance bonds as the primary means
for effecting completion of the
contracts in the event of unforeseen
default by the contractor, Sears
demonstrated its intent not to per-
form its promise to assure satis-
factory performance.

key instructions on punitive damages ./
In its brief submitted to the Court of
Appeal, Sears raised the objections that
California's punitive damages statute,
for lack of any standards to determine
the amount of the award, violates the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment, and that the “preponderance of the
evidence" standard is fundamentally unfair
when applied to proof of the elements of
fraud and malice or oppression necessary
to justify punitive damages.

The Court of Appeal affirmed

the award of compensatory damages and

2/ Sears objected in the trial court to the
judge's refusal to instruct the jury,
as requested by Sears, (1) that the
punitive damages must bear some reason-
able relationship to the amount of
compensatory damages awarded; and
(2) that they could not award punitive
damages unless they found that Sears'
alleged fraud had been proved by "clear
and convincing" evidence.

ate

the propriety of awarding punitive
damages in the case, but concluded that
the amount of exemplary damages awarded
was "not reasonably related to either
the compensatory damages or the nature
of appellant's conduct, and so grossly
disproportionate as to be indicative of
its being rooted in passion and pre-
judice." (App. A, p. 31.) The court
ruled that the case would be remanded
for a new trial on the amount of puni-
tive damages unless plaintiffs consented
to a reduction of the award to $2,500,000.2/
The Court dismissed appellant's
due process claim regarding the requisite

burden of proof for an award of punitive

3/ The court did not explain how or by
what standards it arrived at the
particular figure of $2,500,000 as
the amount of reduced punitive
award to be imposed on Sears.

~ =

damages with the correct observation

that in California "fraud need [only] be
proved by a ‘preponderance of the evi-
dence' rather than ‘clear and convincing
evidence.'" (App. A, p. 37.) The

Court did not, however, address appel-
lant's contention on this issue, which

is that a jury may not constitutionally
impose punitive, as distinct from compen-
Satory, damages unless it is satisfied
that the elements of fraud and malice
necessary to justify such a sanction

have been established by "clear and
convincing proof." Appellant's objec-
tion that section 3294 violates the

"void for vagueness" doctrine of the Due
Process Clause was likewise essentially
ignored by the Court of Appeal. Although
the Court did grant appellant's point that

"(w])ithout the reasonable relationship

-8-

instruction the discretion of the
jury becomes simply limitless" (App. A,
p. 28), the opinion necessarily rejected
appellant's contention on appeal that due
process also requires more useful quan-
titative guides, such as the requirement
that the jury consider the economic
benefit derived from the wrongful
conduct in question in addition to the
defendant's overall wealth.4/

The Court of Appeal denied

appellant's Petition for Rehearing, in

4/ Sears' gross income from the entire
Add-A-Room Program was $559,000.
Its estimated expenses prior to the
default of URS were $209,000.
Thereafter, it expended $110,000 in
payments to Add-A-Room customers
and $47,000 in repairs for Add-A-
Room customers. Thus its total net
income from the program was less
than $200,000, a profit virtually
wiped out by the compensatory
verdict alone.

which appellant again raised the consti-
tutionality of imposing punitive

damages using a mere "preponderance of
the evidence" standard. (App. B, infra).
Appellant reiterated both due process
claims in its Petition f.r Hearing in the
Supreme Court of California, which was
denied by order dated December 10, 1980.
(App. C, infra).

The circumstances that led up
to the instant lawsuit and resulting
punitive damages award, though contested
in various respects, may be fairly
summarized as follows.

In June, 1970 Sears began
promotion of a residential room addition
program called "Sears Add-A-Room" under
a license agreement with an improvement
contractor, United Remodeling Systems,

Inc. ("URS"). Each homeowner contract

~109—

sold and performed by URS was backed by
a 100% performance bond issued by a
licensed surety company, Commercial
Standard Insurance Co. ("CSI"). (App.
A, pp. 1-2).

During 1972, U. S. Financial
Corporation, a large conglomerate with
approximately fifty million dollars in
financial statement net worth and other
construction subsidiaries, announced it
vas acquiring URS and, with Sears'
approval, assumed management of the Add-
A-Room program operations. In January,
1973, U. S. Financial abandoned its
acquisition plan and URS ceased business
operations, leaving some two hundred
Outstanding improvement contracts in
various stages of completion. (App. A,

p. 3). Thereafter Sears, together with

-11-

CSI, made arrangements for completion of
the unfinished work.

Sears' corrective efforts did
not occur without difficulties, nor
without resulting frustration and
distress for some affected homeowners.
First, for approximately two weeks after
URS defaulted, CSI took the position
that Sears spouse complete the work and
hold the sureties harmless, or at least
contribute substantially to the sureties’
performance. Sears, based on advice of
counsel and the undisputed fact that CSI
had the resources and ability to per-
form, rejected CSI's demands. Secondly,
CSI encountered unexpected delays in
getting a new contractor started on the
jobs in Northern California, and in some
areas there were serious delays and

deficiencies in that contractor's work.

-12=

These delays and deficiencies were
responsible for all or most of plaintiffs'
serious damages claims.

At the trial Sears took the
position that since the Add-A-Room
contracts bore its name and were backed
by its guarantee of satisfaction, Sears
remained contractually liable to plain-
tiffs for any properly compensable damages
they had sustained as a result of any
failure to build or complete the room addi-
tions in the time and manner required by
their contracts. Plaintiffs, however,
sought punitive damages on the theory that
their injuries stemmed not only from breach
of contract and negligence, but from delib-

erate fraud and malice on the part of Sears.2/

5/ Plaintiffs argued that Sears' reli-
ance on surety bonds as a completion

[FCOTNOTE CONTINUED ON FOLLOWING PAGE]

4 Fu

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED ARE SUBSTANTIAL

Appellant submits that this
case raises two important due process
questions implicated by the widespread
use Of punitive damages awards to punish
6/

and deter socially undesirable conduct.

In particular, the Court should note

[FOOTNOTE CONTINUED FROM PREVIOUS PAGE]

remedy was the "key to the fraud"
and the means by which Sears mani-
fested its intent not to perform
its promise to assure satisfactory
performance. Sears argued,
however, that bonds were required
in part to reduce the risk of loss
to Sears in the event of a default
by URS, but also because Sears
believed that performance under
such bonds would be a reasonable
and effective way to assure comple-
tion in the event of default by
URS.

6/ At present all but five jurisdic-
tions allow punitive damages. See
Mallor & Roberts, Punitive Damages:
Toward a Principled Approach, 31
Hastings L. J. 639 (1980).

-~14-

probable jurisdiction of this appeal for
the following reasons:

1. It is an established rule
of constitutional law that a statute
cannot be so vague and standardless
that the public is left uncertain as to
the conduct prohibited, or the judge or
jury left with unlimited power in
imposing punishment. California's
punitive damages statute is standardless
on its face and virtually so in applica-
tion, and this appeal thus presents a
substantial federal question as to the
validity of Civil Code section 3294
under the Due Process Clause. The
judgment below, insofar as it upholds
this statute's validity, is in square
conflict with prior federal decisions,

Smith v. United States, 145 F.2d

643 (10th Cir. 1944) and Holmes v. United

-15-

States, 267 F. 529 (5th Cir. 1920),
and is dubious as a matter of constitu-
tional law given this Court's decision

in Giaccio v. Pennsylvania,

382 U.S. 399 (1966).

Ze Despite the undeniably
penal purpose of California's punitive
damages statute and the potential
seriousness of the penalties imposed
thereunder, California permits imposi-
tion of civil punishment in reliance on
the ordinary standard of proof applied
in civil cases. This approach raises
serious due process considerations
implicated but not yet reached in recent

decisions by this Court, such as Adding-

ton v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979) and In

re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970).

~16<

-%

I.

THIS COURT SHOULD NOTE PROBABLE
JURISDICTION TO CONSIDER WHETHER A
STATE MAY CONSTITUTIONALLY AUTHORIZE
IMPOSITION OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES
PURSUANT TO A STATUTE VIRTUALLY
LACKING IN STANDARDS FOR DETERMINING
THE AMOUNT OF THE AWARD

The decision below states that a
jury may assess the amount of a punitive
damages award with reference to three
factors: the defendant's wealth, the
amount of the compensatory award, and
the nature of the defendant's conduct.
None of these factors serves as an

7/

objective guideline cor the jury,—

7/ The courts emphasize that "[al]

rigid formula is not involved [but]
rather, a fluid process of adding
or subtracting depending on the
nature of the acts and the effect
on the parties and the worth of the
defendants." Walker v. Signal
Companies, Inc., 84 Cal. App. 3d
982, 998, 149 Cal. Rptr. 119 (1978).

[FOOTNOTE CONTINUED ON FOLLOWING PAGE]

oj Jo

particularly since in California the jury
is instructed that the "reasonable re-
lationship” requirement provides no

fixed ratio or standard for computation.

Liodas v. Sahadi, 19 Cal. 3d 278, 284,

562 P.2d 316, 137 Cal. Rptr. 635 (1977).
As a result, there are no minimum or
maximum penalties, even as a function of
the compensatory award, to guide the
jury. The consequence is a statute void
for vagueness as to the punishment it

imposes.

[FOOTNOTE CONTINUED FROM PREVIOUS PAGE]

See also the discussion in the con-
curring opinion below (App. A,

pp. 51-7) concerning the tremendous
range of ratios of punitive to
actual damages that have been
approved in California, and the
explosion in the types of conduct
for which punitive damages are
allowed.

-18-

By upholding the constitu-
tionality of section 3294, the state
courts are in conflict with lower
federal court decisions respecting
criminal statutes. A criminal statute
must be definite and certain as to the
punishment it is intended to impose.

Smith v. United States, 145 F.2d 643,

644-5 (10th Cir. 1944), cert. denied,

323 U.S. 803 (1945). In Smith the Court

of Appeals held that a statute which, by

reference to another, leaves the senten-

cing court in doubt as to the punishment

it may impose for the described offense

is void and inoperative. See also

Holmes v. United States, 267 F. 529

(5th Cir.) cert. denied, 254 U.S.

640 (1920).

-19-

Although section 3294 is not a
criminal statute, an award imposed there-
under has, as the concurrence to the
opinion below notes; "the nature of a
public fine imposed to punish and deter
evil intent and acts. "8/ (App. A, p. 47.)
But whether section 3294 is labeled
penal or not, it must nevertheless meet
the due process requirements of the

Fourteenth Amendment. Giaccio v. Penn-

sylvania, 382 U.S. 399, 402 (1966). In

Giaccio this Court addressed the consti-

tutionality of a Pennsylvania statute
permitting jurors to determine whether

an acquitted defendant should be assessed

8/ The California courts charac-
terize punitive damages as "a sort
of hybrid between a display of
ethical indignation and the imposi-
tion of a criminal fine." Wolfsen
v. Hathaway, 32 Cal. 2d 632, 647,
198 P.2d 1 (1948).

-20-

the costs
held that
operation

vagueness

of his prosecution. The Court
the act in question, in
since 1860, was void for

under the Due Process Clause

because it lacked standards that would

prevent the arbitrary imposition of

costs. In so holding the Court noted

the immateriality of the statute's civil

character:

Both liberty and property are
specifically protected by the
Fourteenth Amendment against
any state deprivation which
does not meet the standards of
due process, and this protec-
tion is not to be voided by
the simple label a State
chooses to fasten upon its
conduct or its statute. So

here this state Act whether

=-21-

labeled "penal" or not must
meet the challenge that it
is unconstitutionally vague.

Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. at 402.

As the concurrence to the
opinion below concluded, "[p]lacing
unrestricted power in a jury to direct
punishment for ‘evil intent' by compelling
the '‘evildoer' to pay money to another
without right thereto" is foreign to
concepts of due process, particularly
when "compounded by the permitted
procedures, such as the preponderance of
evidence test, and compulsory self-

incrimination." (App. A, p. 48.)2/

9/ See Spokane Truck & Dray Co. v. Hoefer,
25 P. 1072, 1074 (Wash. 1891), in which
the court's perception that, by means
of a punitive damages award, "a person
can be convicted of a crime, the penalty

[FOOTNOTE CONTINUED ON FOLLOWING PAGE]

>

This Court should note probable juris-
diction to consider the contitutionality
of California's "fluid" procedure under
Civil Code section 3294 for imposing
punitive awards in civil cases.

II

THIS COURT SHOULD NOTE PROBABLE JURIS~-
DICTION TO CONSIDER WHETHER CALIFORNIA
CIVIL CODE SECTION 3294, AS APPLIED,
VIOLATES DUE PROCESS BY ALLOWING IMPOSI-
TION OF PUNITIVE DAMAGES BASED ON THE
ORDINARY "PREPONDERANCE OF THE EVIDENCE
CIVIL STANDARD OF PROOF

A jury may impose punitive
damages pursuant to section 3294 in

reliance on the ordinary civil standard

[FOOTNOTE CONTINUED FROM PREVIOUS PAGE]

for which is unlimited, save in the
uncertain judgment of the jury, and
fined to this unlimited extent for the
benefit of an individual who has al-
ready been fully compensated in
damages," was cited as one reason for
rejecting the concept of punitive
damages entirely.

-23-

10/

of proof.— An award of punitive

damages, however, the purpose of which

is to punish and deter, is as Judge
Elkington stated in his concurrence

below, “logically indistinguishable"

from a criminal sanction. (App. A, p.

47.) Indeed, the severity of the
punishment often far exceeds that of
criminal penalties for the same conduct .-//

In light of this Court's recognition in

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979),

that, even in civil proceedings, due

process requires an examination of the

10/ Section 115 of the California Evi-
dence Code lists the three tradi-
tional standards of proof, and
specifies that the "preponderance
of the evidence" standard applies
unless otherwise provided for by
law. (See App. F.)

11/ See Comment, Criminal Safeguards
and the Punitive Damages Defendant,
34 Univ. Chi. L. Rev. 408, 411
(1967).

oie

type and magnitude of interests involved
and a standard of proof that is chosen
accordingly, the judgment below raises a
serious constitutional question with
respect to the standard of proof required
for a punitive damages award. In
assigning the same risk of error to the
punitive damages defendant that he bears
with respect to the compensatory award,
the California courts ignore the sub-
Stantially different interests of both
plaintiff and defendant in the imposi-
tion of civil punishment.

In Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S.

418 (1979), this Court held that due
process requires a "clear and convincing"
standard of proof in a civil proceeding
brought under state law to commit an
individual involuntarily to a state

mental hospital. The constitutional

-25-

stature of the reasonable-douBt standard
in criminal cases had already been

explicitly upheld in In re Winship, 397

U.S. 358, 364 (1970). In Addington v.

Texas, this Court proceeded from the
recognition that the standard of

proof concept is one "embodied in the
Due Process Clause," the function of
which is "to ‘instruct the fact finder
col.cerning the degree of confidence our
society thinks he should have in the
correctness of factual conclusions for a
particular type of adjudication.'"

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. at 423

(quoting In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358,

370 (1970) (Harlan, J., concurring). The
question of the appropriate standard of
proof in awarding punitive damages is,
therefore, Of constitutional stature and

presented squarely by the instant case.

y) oe

In Addington this Court

evaluated the three general levels of
proof as they have evolved in this area
of the law:
At one end of the spectrum is
the typical civil case invol-
ving a monetary dispute
between private parties.
Since society has a minimal
concern with the outcome of
such private suits, plaintiff's
burden of proof is a mere
preponderance of the evidence.
The litigants thus share the
risk of error in roughly equal
fashion.
In a criminal case, on the
other hand, the interests of
the defendant are of such

magnitude that historically

me

and without any explicit
constitutional requirement
they have been protected by
standards of proof designed to
exclude as nearly as possible
the likelihood of an erroneous
judgment. In the administra-
tion of criminal justice, our
society imposes almost the
entire risk of error upon
itself. This is accomplished
by requiring under the Due
Process Clause that the state
prove the guilt of an accused
beyond a reasonable doubt. In

re Winship, supra.

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. at 423-4.

Noting that the intermediate standard,
often denoted by the phrase "clear and

convincing," is typically used in civil

a2Qa

cases involving allegations of "fraud or

some other quasi-criminal wrongdoing by

the defendant," this Court observed

that
[t]he interests at stake in
those cases are deemed to be
more substantial than mere
loss of money and some juris-
dictions accordingly reduce
the risk to the defendant
of having his reputation
tarnished erroneously by
increasing the plaintiff's
burden of proof. Similarly,
this Court has used the "clear
unequivocal and convincing"
Standard of proof to protect
particularly important indivi-
dual interests in various

civil cases. See, e.g.,

-29-

Woodby v. INS, supra, at 285

(deportation); Chaunt v.

United States, 364 U.S. 350,

353 (1960) (denaturalization) ;

Schneiderman v. United States,

320 U.S. 118, 125, 159 (1943)
) (denaturalization).
Id. at 424. The court concluded that
"the individual's interest in the outcome
of a civil commitment proceeding is of
such weight and gravity that due
process requires the state to justify
confinement by proof more substantial

than a mere preponderance of the

evidence." Addington v. Texas, 441

U.S. at 427.

As the concurrence to the
opinion below points out, "[{n]o person,
regardless of how grievous the circum-

stances, has a 'right' to punitive

-30-

damages. Such ‘right’ as there may be,
will be vindicated by the compensatory
award designed to cover his entire
loss." (App. A, p. 45, citing Brewer

v. Second Baptist Church, 32 Cal. 2d

791, 800-i, 197 P.2d 713 (1948).)

The interest of the private
plaintiff in exacting the penalty is,
therefore, nil, and what is at stake
is rather the state's interest in

2/

punishment and deterrence.2 The puni-

tive damages defendant, on the other

12/7 Unlike in a criminal or civil
penalty action, however, a punitive
damages claim is prosecuted by a
private plaintiff with monetary
incentive. The possibility of huge
punitive damages awards provides
great incentive to file and pursue
cases of highly questionable merit,
disincentive to accept reasonable
offers of settlement, and the risk
of forcing defendants to pay
unjustified or exorbitant settle-
ment demands.

-31-

hand, faces a substantial deprivation of
property as well as injury to reputation
and social stigma. Thus, to the extent
punitive damages are involved, the
lawsuit is not a “typical civil case" in
which society's "minimal concern with

the outcome" justifies allowing plaintiff
and defendant to share the risk of error
"in roughly equal fashion." See

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. at 423.

Although the interests of the punitive
damages defendant may not be of the

same order of magnitude as those of the
criminal defendant, due process demands
that society allocate to itself, via

its private prosecutor, the substantially
greater portion of the risk of error by

requiring proof of the elements of

-32-

fraud, malice, or oppression by "clear

J . . 13
and convincing" evidence._2/

13/

For these reasons, some jurisdic-
tions have decided that punitive
damages awards require a standard
of proof higher than a “preponder-
ance of the evidence." See Roginsky
v. Richardson-Merrell, Inc., 378
F.2d 832, 850 (2d Cir. 1967)
("Moreover, New York demands, as it
might have to before punishing a
defendant with fines similar to
those imposed on a criminal charge,
that the quality of conduct neces-
Sary to justify punitive damages
must be ‘clearly established.'");
Colo. Rev. Stats. § 13-25-127
(1973) (requiring that elements of
a Claim of punitive damages be
proven "beyond a reasonable doubt").
Cf. Spokane Truck & Dray Co. v.
Hoefer, 25 P. 1072, 1074 (Wash.
1891) (the assumed absence of a
requirement of proof beyond a
reasonable doubt was cited as a
reason for rejecting availability
of punitive damages altogether).
See, also, Comment, Criminal
Safeguards and the Punitive Damages
Defendant, 34 U. Chi. L. Rev. 408,
417-18, 434 (1967) (justice requires
increasing burden of persuasion on
plaintiff in punitive damages
action).

-33-

Appellant submits that the
Californi. punitive damages statute, as
applied, is contrary to the due process

principles articulated in Addington v.

Texas, and that, in light of the ever-
increasing size and frequency of punitive
damages awards (see App. A, pp. 51-7),
this Court should note probable juris-
diction of this appeal in order to
consider the constitutionality of the

California statute.

-34-

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the
Court should note probable jurisdiction

of this appeal.

Dated: March 8, 1981

Respectfully submitted,
RICHARD L. GOFF
Attorney for Appellant

KATHERINE H. CROCKER
Of Counsel

(Appendices Follow)

=3Sa

APPENDIX A

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF
CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT - DIVISION ONE

FREDERICK A. ROSENER,
HELEN J. ROSENER,

PETER F. ELKIND and 1 Civil
SUE N. ELKIND, 41334
Plaintiffs and
Respondents, Super. Ct.
vs. No. 136224

SEARS ROEBUCK and
COMPANY,

Defendant and
Appellant.

JOSEPH F. HARTMAN, et al.,

Intervenors and
Respondents.

ee

The present appeal is from
judgments after jury trial in favor of
respondents and against appellant Sears,
Roebuck and Company aggregating $158,000
in compensatory and $10 million in

punitive damages.

It is unnecessary to engage in
an exhaustive analysis of the voluminous
evidentiary record compiled during the
36-day trial. Viewing that record in a
light favorable to the judgment below,
the following salient facts are dis-

closed.

In June 1970, Sears Roebuck
actively promoted a national campaign
called "Sears Add-A-Room," using license
agreements with improvement contractors
under which Sears received payment based
upon 10 percent of the gross contract
price between the licensed contractor
and the homeowner. United Remodeling
Systems, Inc. (URS) was licensed by
Sears to provide such services in
California, utilizing the nationally-

recognized Sears logo, together with a

performance bond guaranty under a
collateral suretyship arrangement with
Commercial Standard Insurance Co.

} During 1972, United States
Financial Corporation (USFC) initiated
efforts to acquire URS, and, with Sears'
approval, assumed active management of

its Add-A-Room program operations.

In January 1973, following
USFCS's decision to abandon the acquisi-
tion plan, the undercapitalized and
financially shakey URS operation failed,
with some 200 outstanding improvement
contracts, mainly in California, in
various stages of completion. Thereafter,
Sears, together with CSI, reluctantly
undertook to complete the unfinished

work under the contract terms including

a

the written guarantees. Rejecting CSI's
adamant insistence that Sears bear equal
if not full responsibility for costs

of completion as a "de facto principal"
on the surety bond, Sears initiated
independent action by notifying program
customers of URS's "bankruptcy" and
advising them to press their claims

for full petforeaaenl against CSI without
mention of the latter's liability
disclaimer. Sears did, however, advise
its customers that it would "cooperate
in resolving this matter," while direct-
ing customer inquiries to designated

Sears' executives.

By early spring, CSI had, with
Sears' knowledge, begun corrective and
completion work on outstanding contracts

in Northern California through Neway

Construction, an independent entity

Organized by Robert Freeman, former

manager of USR's regional operations.

Evidence at trial established
convincingly that respondents entered
into Add-A-Room contracts principally in
reliance on Sears' national reputation,
as well as past satisfactory relations
with the company. In every instance, it
appears, Sears' promotional campaign,
including its standard assurance of
satisfactory service, was a factor in
respondents' decisions to enter into
the program. Each respondent paid the
full amount of the contract price
immediately upon execution of the
contract; six of the eight couples took
out second mortgages on their residences

in order to finance the improvements.

Respondents! individual
experiences with URS, Sears, CSI and
Neway, though widely varied, reflected a
pattern of nonfeasance, shoddy workman-
ship, inconvenience, unreasonable
delay, utter indifference, and, ulti-
mately, attempted avoidance of responsi-

bility.

The damages inflicted by this
callous and negligent course of conduct
included physical and emotional distress,
unconscionable invasions of privacy,
property damage, financial disruption
and attendant frustration and despair.
The record is replete with saddening
examples of the injuries thus inflicted,
varying from the loss of a family Bible
caused by leaks in an unrepaired roof,

to the total loss of privacy suffered by

an entire family forced to sleep in the
same room when the interior walls of
their home were left unrepaired.
Justifiable refunds were sought and
consistently refused, and promises were

regularly made and broken.

Withal, it is no exaggeration
to describe Sears' treatment of respon-
dents as arrogant, high-handed, and
characterized by indifference to clear
contractual obligations and an exclusive
preoccupation with wasleiee.” It was
on this general state of the evidence

that punitive damages were assessed, as

noted, in the amount of $10 million.

1/ Indeed, not only did Sears resolutely
deny requested refunds while continuing
to accept its 10 percent commission
license, but it steadfastly maintained
its nonliability in relation to the
designated surety.

On appeal, Sears advances
several arguments supporting reversal:
(1) that the punitive damage award is
improper and excessive; (2) that
the compensatory damage awards were
unsubstantiated and excessive; and (3)
that certain procedural and instructional

errors were committed.

I

Appellant challenges the $10
million punitive damage award on the
grounds that it is not based upon
sufficient evidence of fraud or malice,
and that it is excessive as a matter of
law. For reasons we now state, we
conclude that the award is based upon
substantial evidence, but find merit in
appellant's claim that the amount is
excessive, and accordingly vacate the
amount and remand with directions.

-§-

The jury returned special
verdicts finding that Sears committed
fraud by misrepresenting itself as a
party to the Add-A-Room contracts, and
by promising to guarantee -performance of
those contracts without intending to

honor the promise.

Appellant correctly notes that
a punitive damage award must be based
upon a finding of malice as well as

fraud. (Ebaugh v. Rabkin (1972) 22

Cal.App.3d 891, 894 [99 Cal. Rptr.
706).) Even without a showing of
personal animus, however, "malice in
fact" may be established. As explained

in Schroeder v. Auto Driveaway Co.

(1974) 11 Cal.3d 908 at page 922 [114
Cal.Rptr. 622, 523, P.2d 662]: "..

‘intent,' in the law of torts, denotes

not only those results the actor desires,
but also those consequences which he
knows are substantially certain to
result from his conduct. (Rest. 2d
Torts, § 8a; Prosser, Torts (4th ed.
1971) pp. 31-32) The jury in the
present case could reasonably infer that
defendants acted in callous disregard of
plaintiffs' rights, knowing that their
conduct was substantially certain to
vex, annoy, and injure plaintiffs. Such
behavior justifies the award of punitive

damages. As stated in Toole v. Richard-

son-Merrell Inc. (1967) 251 Cal.App.2d

689, 713 ...: "malice in fact, suffi-
cient to support an award of punitive
damages ... may be established by a

showing that the defendant's wrongful
conduct was willful, intentional, and

done in reckless disregard of its

=40-

possible results." (Accord: Black v.

Shearson, Hammill & Co. (1968) 266 Cal.

App.2d 362, 369 ...)" Further, "When
there is express fraud there is evil

motive [malice]." (Walton v. Anderson

(1970) 6 Cal.App.3d 1003, 1010 [86
Cal.Rptr. 345).) And it is well
established that a promise made without
an intention of performing it consti-

tutes actionable fraud. (Fowler v.

Fowler (1964) 227 Cal.App.2d 741, 748

[39 Cal.Rpt. 101); Shyvers v. Mitchell

(1955) 133 Cal.App.2d 569, 574 [284

P.2d 826].) "... it has been repeatedly

stated that '[w]ithout the consideration
of other evidence, subsequent failure to
perform [a promise] warrants the infer-

ence that [the promisor] did not intend

to perform when [he] promised." [Cita-

tions.]" (Kuffel v. Seaside Oil Co.

= t1-

(1970) 11 Cal. App.3d 354, 360 [90
Cal.Rptr. 290]).)

Appellant's conduct both
prior to and following the default of
URS evidenced an unwillingness to act in
accordance with its promises and repre-
sentations, and belied its insis-
tence that its conduct merely estab-
lishes the negligent performance of its
remedial program, rather than an intent
to ignore its promises at the time they
were made. Sears' contractual arrange-
ments with URS and its bonding company,
its entirely inadequate responses to
legitimate customer complaints, its
dilatory and evasive referral of those
problems to URS and the bonding company,
and its stubborn insistence that it had

no remedial obligations, all support the

a1 %-

conclusion that - contrary to its
earlier representations - from the first

Sears intended to divorce itself from

responsibility for the Add-A-Room program.

We therefore pane ore in
light of the entire record, that the
findings of fraud and malice which
justify imposition of punitive damages
are supported by substantial evidence.

(Beck v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.

(1976) 54 Cal.App.3d 347, 354 [126
Cal.Rptr. 602]).)

We agree with appellant,

however, that even though the evidence

justified some award of punitive damages,

the amount fixed by the jury was exces-
Sive as a matter of law. In making this
argument, appellant has primarily

focused on the lack of relationship

-13-

between the punitive and compensatory
damages; the punitive damage award is 63
times greater than the total compen-

_ satory verdict. Our conclusion, how-
ever, is based only in part on the
disproportion between compensatory and
punitive damages: other factors support

it as well.

We recognize that our review
of punitive damage awards is guided by
the "historically honored standard of
reversing as excessive only those
judgments which the entire record, when
viewed most favorably to the judg-
ment, indicates were rendered as the
result of passion and prejudice ...."

{[(Citation.]" (Neal v. Farmers Ins.

Exchange (1978) 21 Cal.3d 910, 927 [148

Cal.Rptr. 389, 582 P.2d 1980); Bertero

-14-

v. National General Corp. (1974) 13

Cal.3d 43, 65, fn. 12 [118 Cal.Rptr.
184, 529 P.2d 608, 65 A.L.R.3d 878].)

We are also, however, “charged with the
responsibility to act if it appears that
'"the recovery is so grossly dispropor-
tionate as to raise a presumption that
it is the result of passion or preju-

dice. "'" (Zhadan v. Downtown L.A.

Motors (1976) 66 Cal.App.3d 481; 496

{136 Cal.Rptr. 132]; see also Neal v.

Farmers Ins. Exchange, supra, at p.

928.)

Moreover, we must be guided by
the well-established principle that
punitive damages are not favored in law.

(Henderson v. Security Nat. Bank (1977)

72 Cal.App.3d 764, 771 [140 Cal.

Rptr. 388]; Beck v. State Farm Mut.

~}S=

Auto. Ins. Co., supra, 54 Cal.App.3d

347, 355.) Such damages constitute a
windfall, which, though supported

by law in proper cases (Ferraro v.

Pacific Fin. Corp. (1970)-8 Cal.App.3d

339, 355 [87 Cal. Rptr. 226])), creates
the anomaly of excessive compensation
which makes the remedy an unappealing

one. (Cf. Wolfsen v. Hathaway (1948) 32

Cal.2d 632, 647 [198 P.2d 1].)

An examination of the entire
record convinces us that the $10 million
punitive damage award was so improperly
excessive as to demonstrate that it

resulted from passion and prejudice.

Since the principal purpose of
punitive damages is to deter and punish,

the wealth of the defendant is always a

proper consideration. (See Roemer v.

aI6=

Retail Credit Co. (1975) 44 Cal.App.3d

926, 937 [119 Cal.Rptr.82].) In

Zhadan v. Downtown L.A. Motors, supra,

66 Cal. App.3d at page 496, the court
explained; "Likewise applicable is the
principle that, the purpose of punitive
damages being to punish the defendant
and make an example of him, "the wealth-
ier the wrongdoing defendant, the larger
the award of exemplary damages need be
wee ee therefore, appellant's wealth
were the only guiding factor in this
case, the $10 million award might be
justified, for it represents less than
one-fourth of one percent of Sears' net
assets, and only three and one-half days

2/

of its net income. However,

2/ Appellant complains that its net

assets and income do not accurately

reflect the much smaller profit it
(cont. on next page)

=17e=

additional factors ought to have been,
and were not, given the weight due

them.

In Neal v. Farmers Ins. Ex-

change, supra, 21 Cal.3d 910 at page

928, the California Supreme Court
delineated these applicable factors

as follows: "In making the indicated
assessment we are afforded guidance by
certain established principles, all of
which are grounded in the purpose and
function of punitive damages. One
factor is the particular nature of the

defendant's acts in light of the whole

(cont.)

received from the Add-A-Room program.
This contention ignores the obvious;
punitive damages must be based upon
total wealth, rather than profit from
Single enterprise, if they are to
achieve the desired deterrent effect.

=18<

record; clearly, different acts may be
of varying degrees of reprehensibility,
and the more reprehensible the act, the
greater the appropriate punishment,
assuming all other factors are equal.

(See Bertero v. National General Corp.,

Supra, 13 Cal. 3d 43, 65; Fletcher

v. Western National Life Ins. Co.,

supra, 10 Cal.App.3d 376, 408-409 [89

Cal.Rptr. 78, 47 A.L.R.3d 286]; Ferraro

v. Pacific Fin. Corp. (1970) 8 Cal.App.

3d 339, 352-353 ...-) Another relevant
yardstick is the amount of compensatory
damages awarded; in general, even an act
of considerable reprehensibility will
not be seen to justify a proportionally
high amount of punitive damages if the
actual harm suffered thereby is small.

(But cf. Finney v. Lockhart (1950) 35

Cal. 2d 161, 164 ....) Also to be

~19-

considered is the wealth of the particu-
lar defendant; obviously, the function
of deterrence .... will not be served if
the wealth of the defendant allows him
to absorb the award with little or no

discomfort. (See Bertero, supra, at p.

65; Roemer v. Retail Credit Co. (1976)

44 Cal. App.3d 926, 937. ...; Wetherbee

v. United Ins. Co. of America (1971) 18

Cal.App.3d 266, 270-271 ...; Ferraro v.

Pacific Fin. Corp., supra, 8 Cal.App.3d

339, 353; MacDonald v. Joslyn (1969) 275

Cal.App.2d 282, 293-294 ....) By the
same token, of course, the function of
punitive diainwe is not served by an
award which, in light of the defendant's
wealth and the gravity of the particular
act, exceeds the level necessary to

properly punish and deter."

-20-

"A rigid formula is not
involved but rather, a fluid process of
adding or substracting depending on the
nature of the acts and the effect on the
parties and the worth of the defendants."

(Walker v. Signal Companies, Inc. (1978)

84 Cal.App.3d 982, 998 [149 Cal.Rptr.
119).)

A legitimate and often-reiter-
ated factor, according to our high court

in Neal v. Farmers Ins. Exchange,

supra, 21 Cal.3d 910, is the principle
that exemplary damages should bear

a reasonable pakie ian to actual damages,
even though no fixed ratio exists to
determine the proper proportion. (See

Liodas v. Sahadi (1977) 19 Cal.3d 278,

284 [137 Cal.Rptr. 635, 562 P.2d

316]; Schroeder v. Auto Driveaway Co.,

aZt<

Supra, 11 Cal.3d 908, 922; Forte v.

Nolfi (1972) 25 Cal.App.3d 656, 689

[102 Cal.Rptr. 455]; Kuffel v. Seaside

Oil Co., supra, 11 Cal. App.3d 354,

367.) "A general limitation has been
followed that ordinarily the punitive
damages must be in some reasonable
proportion to the actual damages

suffered." (Weisenburg v. Molina (1976)

58 Cal.App.3d 478, 490, 129 Cal.Rptr.
813.)

When the entire record of the
instant proceedings is reviewed, the
requisite reasonable relationship
between compensatory and punitive
damages is found to be absent. Such,
indeed, was the finding made by the
trial court in ruling upon appellant's

motion for new trial. The court,

at 2e

however, denied the motion for the
somewhat gratuitous reason that, while
perhaps excessive, the award might be
allocated to the "unclass" of adversely
affected Sears' Add-A-Room customers not

3/

before the court.

3/ The effect of this finding upon the
scope of appellate review is unclear.

In Wetherbee v. United Ins. Co. of
America (1971) 18 Cal.App.3d 266, 270 95
Cal.Rptr. 678 , the court noted: "It has
been repeatedly held that after a jury
award of exemplary damages, it becomes
the province of the trial court on a
motion for a new trial to determine
whether the amount is excessive. After
an award has been approved by the trial
court, the reviewing court will hesitate
to declare the amount excessive unless,
upon a consideration of the entire
record, including the evidence, it must
be said that the award was excessive."

Here, the findings of the jury and
trial court as to the reasonableness of
the punitive damage award actually
conflict. Of course, this court is
Still bound by the rule that the award
must be overturned only upon a finding.
that it was the result of "passion and
prejudice." The finding of the trial
court lends support to such a con-
clusion on appeal.

«2 3m

The trial court's finding was proper,

although its speculation was not.

The disproportionate relation-
ship here is palpable: The ratio of
punitive to compensatory damages, as
noted, is approximately 63 to 1; the
difference in the awards is $9.85
million. Such a grossly disproportion-
ate recovery raises a presumption that
it was the result of passion or preju-

dice. (Cunningham v. Simpson (1969)

1 Cal.3d 301, 308 [81 Cal.Rptr. 855,

461 P.2d 39].) Thus, in Little v. Stuyve-

sant Life Ins. Co. (1977) 67 Cal.App.3d

451 [136 Cal.Rptr. 653], where the court
reduced a punitive damage award from

$2.5 million to $250,000 - based upon a
compensatory verdict of $172,325, it was

concluded that: "... although there is

atin

no fixed ratio by which to determine the
propriety of a punitive damage award,
punitive damages should bear a reason-
able relationship to the compensatory

damages award. (E.g., Wilkinson v.

Forte v. Nolfi, supra, 25 Cal.App.3d at

p. 689; see also Schroeder v. Auto

Driveway Co., supra, 11 Cal.3d at

p. 922; Oakes v. McCarthy Co., 267 Cal.

App.2d 231, 263 ...; 4 Witkin, Summary
of Cal. Law (8th ed.) p. 3156.) Here,
the ratio of punitive damages to compen-
satory damages is in excess of 14 to 1
and in dollar amount the punitive damage
award exceeds the compensatory award by
almost two and a third million dollars.
[¥]We conclude that the punitive damage
award is so excessive and grossly

disproportionate to the wealth of

~. o

defendant and to the compensatory
damages awarded that it is suggestive of
passion and prejudice." (Id., at pp.

469-470.)

Similarly, in Allard v. Church

of Scientology (1976) 58 Cal.App.3d 439

[129 Cal.Rptr. 797], the reasonable
relationship rule was employed to modify
an excessive award. The court held:

"In our view the disparity between

the compensatory damages ($50,000) and
the punitive damages ($250,000) suggests
that animosity was the deciding factor.
Our reading of the decisional authority
compels us to conclude that we should
reduce the punitive damages. We find
$50,000 to be a reasonable amount to
which the punitive damages should be

reduced. We perceive this duty, and

«26=—

have so modified the punitive damages
award not with any belief that a review-
ing court more ably may perform it.
Simply stated the decisional authority
seems to indicate that the reviewing
court should examine punitive damages
and where necessary modify the amount in

order to do justice. (Cunningham v.

Simpson), 1 Cal.3d 301 ...; Forte v.

Nolfi, 25 Cal.App.3d 656 ...; Schroeder

v. Auto Driveaway Company, 11 Cal.3d 908

~--; Livesey v. Stock, 208 Cal. 315, 322

were be (Id., at Pp- 453.)

The likelihood that the
instant award was the result of improper
considerations is heightened by the
trial court's failure to submit the
proposed instruction on the reasonable

relationship test to which appellant was

=) Fun

entitled. (See Silberg v. California

Life Ins. Co. (1974) 11 Cal.3d 452,

463, fn. 4 [113 Cal.Rptr. 711, 521

P.2d 1103]; Wetherbee v. United Insur-

ance Co. of America (1968) 265 Cal.App.2d

921, 934 [71 Cal.Rptr. 764]) In Wether-

bee, supra, the court found that, "the

disparity between the actual damages of
$1,050 and the punitive damages of
$500,000 is suggestive of passion or
prejudice." (Id., at p. 933.) On that
basis, the punitive damage award was
reversed and remanded for a new trial on

that issue.

Without the reasonable rela-
tionship instruction, the discretion of
the jury becomes simply limitless.

(Wetherbee v. United Insurance Co. of

America, Supra, 265 Cal.App.2d at

p.934.)

a2Qq

Moreover, Neal v. Farmers Ins.

Exchange, supra, 21 Cal.3d 910, mandates

close consideration of the nature and
reprehensibility of the defendant's act.
While important public policy consi-
derations are embodied in respondents'
claims - e.g., the protection of vulner-

able and unwary consumers (Zhadan v.

Downtown L.A. Motors, supra, 66 Cal.

App.3d 481, 497; Wetherbee v. United

Ins. Co. of America, supra, 18 Cal.App.

3d 266, 271) - mitigating factors are
likewise present. Some of the financial
problems of Sears' agent/contractor,
URS, could not easily have been anti-
cipated; neither could the delay and
resistance of the bonding company in
performing its obligations. Further,
some of appellant's actions were based

upon the advice - however desultory -

-29-

of counsel, and while such advice does

not immunize appellant from liability,

it is one factor in the overall assess-
ment of the nature of Sears' conduct.

(Beck v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.,

supra, 54 Cal.App.3d 347, 355-356.)
And, finally, the evidence indicates
that appellant made some post-hoc
(though feeble) efforts to rectify the

Situation. 4/ (Ferraro v. Pacific Fin.

Corp., supra, 8 Cal.App.3d 339, 354;

4/ The cases cited and relied upon by
respondents (Neal v. Farmers Ins.
Exchange, supra, 21 Cal.3d 919; and
Walker v. Signal Companies, Inc., supra,
84 Cal.App.3d 982), are not controlling
here. The defendant's conduct in Neal,
was, On any objective standard, far more
reprehensible, and the limited compensa-
tory award was the fortuitous result of
the death of the insured claimant.
Similarly, the reprehensibility of the
defendant's conduct and the lack of
mitigating factors distinguish Walker v.
Signal Companies, Inc., supra, 84
Cal.App.3d 982, from the present case.

~30=

Luke v. Mercantile Acceptance Corp.

(1952) 111 Cal.App.2d 431 [244 P.2d
764).)

"The object of exemplary
damages is to make the example as well as
the punishment fit the offense...."

(Wetherbee v. United Ins. Co. of

America (1971) 18 Cal.App.3d 266, 270

[95 Cal.Rptr. 678]; see also Browand

v. Scott Lumber Co. (1954) 125 Cal.App.
2d 68, 74 [269 P.2d 891].) The $10
million verdict against appellant does
not comport with that statutory objec-
tive. It is clearly excessive, not
reasonably related to either the compen-
satory damages or the nature of appel-
lant's conduct, and so grossly dispropor-
tionate as to be indicative of its being

rooted in passion and prejudice.

=3}<

(Little v. Stuyvesant Life Ins. Co.,

supra, 67 Cal.App.3d 452, 470; Zhadan v.

Downtown L.A. Motors, supra, 66 Cal.

App.3d 5, 18 [130 Cal.Rptr. 416]; Allard

v. Church of Scientology,.supra, 58

Cal.App.3d 439, 453; Wetherbee v. United

Insurance Co. of America, supra, 265

Cal.App.2d 921, 933.)

II
We proceed now to a considera-
tion of appellant's contention that the
compensatory damages awarded to respon-
dents were improper, excessive, and not

supported by the evidence.

Respondents' action for fraud
and breach of contract did not limit
them to out-of-pocket or benefit-of-the-
bargain losses. Pursuant to section

3333 of the Civil Code, respondents‘

-32-

tort claims entitled them to compensa-
tion for all detriment proximately
caused by appellant's breach of obliga-

tion. (Seaboard Music Co. v. Germano

(1972) 24 Cal.App.3d 618, .622 [101
Cal.Rptr. 255]).) Emotional distress and
mental suffering were proper elements of
the compensatory damage awards under
this test, as appellant's wrongdoing
clearly contained elements of inten-
tional malfeasance and bad faith. (Cf.

Gruenberg v. Aetna Ins. Co. (1973) 9

Cal.3d 566 [108 Cal.Rptr. 480, 510 P.2d

1032]; Quezada v. Hart (1977) 67 Cal.

App.3d 754 [136 Cal.Rptr. 815];

Kendall Yacht Corp. v. United California

Bank (1975) 50 Cal.App.3d 949 [123

Cal.Rptr. 848]; Jarchow v. Transamerica

Title Ins. Co. (1975) 48 Cal.App.3d

917, 122 Cal.Rptr. 470 ; Windeler v.

-—33-

Scheers Jewelers (1970) 8 Cal.App.3d

844 [88 Cal.Rptr. 39].)

The verdict awarding damages
based upon a finding that appellant
fraudulently represented and promised to
correct deficiencies and satisfy
its Add-A-Room customers was proper. As

stated recently in Allen v. Jones (1980)

104 Cal.App.3d 207, 215 [163 Cal.Rptr.
445]: "(T]here is authority for the
proposition that mental distress damages
may be recovered in an action for

deceit." (See also Schroeder v. Auto

Driveaway Co., supra, 11 Cal.3d 908,

921; Murphy v. Allstate Ins. Co. (1978)

83 Cal.App.3d 38, 51 [147 Cal.Rptr.
565].)

Here the evidence of mental

suffering and other compensable injury

«Rhea

apart from strictly out-of-pocket losses
is considerable, and convincing;

the awards were based on proof that
Sears' conduct caused domestic disrup-
tion, frustration, anger and anxiety.
The amount awarded by the jury, while
substantial, does not "shock the con-
science" of this court; it was well
within the jury's discretion and will
not be disturbed on appeal. (Cf.

Wilson v. Gilbert (1972) 25 Cal.App.3d

607, 611-612 [102 Cal.Rptr. 31]; Sher-

wood v. Rossini (1968) 264 Cal.App.2d

926, 931-932 [71 Cal.Rptr. 1]; Haskins

v. Holmes (1967) 252 Cal.App.2d 580, 584

[60 Cal.Rptr. 659].)

II!

Appellant's remaining conten-

tions focus upon claimed errors in

-35-

certain evidentiary rulings and in other

jury instructions.

The trial court's refusal to
allow testimony from expert witnesses
regarding appellant's reasons for
securing performance by way of perfor-
mance bonds was based upon Evidence Code
section 352. It is the exclusive
province of the trial court to determine
whether the probative value of proffered
evidence is outweighed by its possible
prejudicial effect, or the undue con-
sumption of time necessary to admit it.

(People v. Demond (1976) 59 Cal.App.3d

574, 586 [130 Cal.Rptr. 590].)

Clearly, the trial court did not

abuse its discretion in excluding such
expert testimony, which was only margin-

ally relevant, and at best repetitive

-36-

and unduly time consuming. The trial
court committed no error in rejecting

such testimony. (Hyatt v. Sierra Boat

Co. (1978) 79 Cal.App.3d 325, 339 [145
Cal.Rptr. 47].)

Appellant's contention with
regard to the one alleged instructional
error-.on the subject of fraud is simply
not supported by existing case law. In

Liodas v. Sahadi, supra, 19 Cal.3d 278,

the California Supreme Court squarely
decided, contrary to appellant's conten-
tion and requested instruction, that
fraud need be proved by a "preponderance
of the evidence" rather than "clear

and convincing evidence." (Id., at pp.

291-292.)

Additional claimed instruc-
tional errors are likewise unsupported
by the evidence.

d37=

"As a general rule, it is im-
proper to give an instruction which
lacks support in the evidence, even if
the instruction correctly states the

law." (LeMons v. Regents of University

of California (1978) 21 Cal.3d 869, 875

[148 Cal.Rptr. 355, 582 P.2d 946]; see

also Solgaard v. Guy F. Atkinson Co.

(1971) 6 Cal.3d 361, 370 [99 Cal.Rptr.
29, 491 P.2d 821]).) Sears' requested
instructions that punitive damages are
improper when conduct was based upon the
advice of counsel or the unratified acts
of employees, were not supported by the
evidence and, therefore, were properly

refused. 5/ Similarly, it was not error

5/7 Any advice of counsel upon which
Sears based its conduct was not indepen-
dent counsel, but rather officers of the
corporation involved in appellant's
wrongful conduct. Moreover, the

(cont. On next page)

=38~

(Cont'd)

alleged fraud occurred independent of the
advice of counsel, thereby making Sears'
requested instruction inapplicable.

Appellant's fraud consisted of
making a promise and guarantee of
satisfaction to its prospective Add-A-
Room customers without an intention
of honoring it. Nothing in the record
indicates that appellant relied on the
advice of counsel in engaging in such
fraudulent conduct or in attempting to
insulate itself from the responsibility
of performance which it had guaran-
teed to its customers. Rather, the
advice of counsel was relevant only to
Sears' conduct upon default of URS and
the bonding company; conduct which was
consistent with its fraudulent
scheme previously devised without the
assistance of counsel.

The cases relied upon by appellant -
Fox v. Aced (1957) 49 Cal.2d 381, 385
{317 P.2d 608]; Wolfsen v. Hathaway
(1948) 32 Cal.2d 632, 649 [198 P.2d 1] -
involved fraudulent conduct which was
directly based upon the advice of
counsel. While, as previously noted,
appellant's reliance upon the advice of
its attorneys tends to mitigate the
reprehensibility of its overall conduct,
and for that reason constitutes a factor
which favors a reduction of the punitive
damage award, it was not sufficiently
related to the fraud to require the jury
instruction requested by appellant.

=39=

for tthe trial court to instruct the jury
that Sears was a party to the Add-A-Room
contracts, because such a legal rela-
tionship was a vital issue in the

action and was conclusively established

by evidence. (Newman v. First Cali-

fornia Co. (1975) 47 Cal.App.3d 60, 67

[120 Cal.Rptr. 494]; Self v. General

Motors Corp. (1974) 42 Cal.App.3d 1, 10

[116 Cal.Rptr. 575].)

Appellant also requested
additional instructions - rejected by
the court - first, that punitive damages
could not be awarded on the basis of
improper workmanship; and, second, that
promissory fraud must be based upon an
intent not to perform at the time the
promise was made. The jury, however,
was informed that punitive damages could

only be assessed for conduct amounting

-40-

to fraud, malice or oppression as
defined by additional instructions, and
was also instructed that "at the time it
[Sears] made the promise, Sears must
have intended not to perform it." We
thus find no error in the trial court's
refusal to give instructions, which were
merely redundant and argumentative.

(Stevens v. Parke, Davis & Co. (1973) 9

Cal.3d 51, 73 [107 Cal.Rptr. 45, 507

P.2d 653, 94 A.L.R.3d 1059).) Moreover,
in light of the instructions given and
the convincing nature of the evidence,
the failure to give appellant's proposed
instructions, if error, was not prej-
udicial. (Cal. Const., art. VI,

§ 13; Thornton v. Luce (1962) 209

Cal.App.2d 542, 556 [26 Cal.Rptr. 393];

Smith v. Sugich Co. (1960) 179 Cal.

App.2d 299, 313 [3 Cal.Rptr. 718].)

=41<-

Having concluded that the
special verdicts should be affirmed, but
that the amount of the punitive damage
award is excessive, we may properly
avail ourselves of one of .several

alternate dispositions. (See Cunningham

v. Simpson (1969) 1 Cal.3d 301, 310 [81

Cal.Rptr. 855, 461 P.2d 39].) It appears
that justice will be best served

by vacating the amount of the punitive
damages award, and remanding the case
for a new trial on that issue only,
unless respondents shall, within 30 days
from the date of the remittitur, file
with the clerk of this court, and serve
upon appellant, a written consent to a
reduction of the punitive damages award
to the sum of $2.5 million, in which
event the judgment will be modified to

award respondents punitive damages in

=42=

that amount, and as so modified affirmed

in its entirety (Little v. Stuyvesant

Life Ins. Co., supra, 67 Cal.App.3d

451, 471), respondents to bear the

costs of this appeal.

Racanelli, P. J., concurred.

ELKINGTON, J. - I concur in
the opinion of my respected colleagues
for I find in it no error. I, as they,
believe that the reduced $2.5 million

punitive damage award is authorized by

existing law.

I likewise concur in their view
that the reprehensible conduct of
defendant Sears, Roebuck & Company in
this case is deserving of stern retribu-
tion. But I do not believe California's

legislative and judicial authority to be

~43-

so barren of remedial resources that
retribution may be accomplished only by
giving to plaintiffs a windfall, to

which they concededly have no right, of

more than 15 times their total compensa-

tory damages as found by the jury.

I am fearful that the law of
punitive damages as it has developed in
this state no longer serves any public
policy, or the legitimate interest of
the unentitled recipients of its con-

stantly accelerating largess.

I therefore express my views
on the subject because of the state's
announced policy that this court's
criticism of existing law be brought to

the attention of the public, and of

-44-

legislative and higher judicial author-
ity empowered to change it. (See rule

976(b), Cal. Rules of Court.)

No person, regardless of how
grievous the circumstances, has a
"right" to punitive damages. Such
"right" as there may be, will be vindi-
cated by the compensatory damage
award designed to cover his entire loss.

(Brewer v. Second Baptist Church (1948)

32 Cal.2d 791, 800-801 [197 P.2d 713].)

Punitive damages are assessed
only "to punish the defendant and not to
compensate for any loss suffered by the

plaintiff." (Brewer v. Second Baptist

Church, supra, 32 Cal.2d 791, 801;

italics added.) They "are inflicted in

the nature of a penalty for the evil

-45-

intent." (Fidelity etc. Co. v. Federal

etc. Co. (1933) 217 Cal. 3075 are see

P.2d 950]; italics added.)

Trial courts and juries,
within the broad areas presently to be

discussed have "free" and “untrammeled"

discretion whether, or not, to punish a

defendant found by them to have such an

"evil intent." (Brewer v. Second Baptist

Church, supra, 32 Cal.2d 791, 800-801.)

In order to determine how

great a punishment to inflict upon a
defendant he will be judicially com-
dicate to expose ric the plaintiff, to
the court and ales and to courtroom
spectators, the private details of his
financial holdings and affairs. (4
Witkin, Summary of Cal. Law (8th ed.

-46-

In determining whether the
defendant possessed an "evil intent," or
should be punished therefor and if SO,
the severity of the punishment, the
court or jury will be guided by a mere
preponderance of the evidence, no matter

how close to balance it may be.

And, the plaintiff having no
right to punitive damages, the award has
the nature of a public fine imposed to
punish and deter evil intent and acts.
It becomes logically indistinguishable
from the fine imposed as punishment for
a misdemeanor (see Pen. Code, §§ 17,
19), or for a felony where the punitive
damages exceed $500 (see Pen. Code, §§

18, 672).

Were it not for Toole v.

Richardson-Merrell Inc. (1967) 251

=4 Jin

Cal.App.2d 689, 716-718 [60 Cal.Rptr.
398, 29 A.L.R.3d 988], and companion
authority, holding punitive damages as
permitted by our state to be constitu-
tionally flawless, I would entertain
doubt as to their due process surviva-
bility. Placing unrestricted power in a
jury to direct punishment for "evil
intent" by compelling the "evildoer" to
pay money to another without right
thereto, seems foreign to any concept of
due process known to me. And such
implications seem compounded by the
permitted procedures, such as the
preponderance of evidence test, and

compulsory self-incrimination, etc.

Moreover, any judicial pro-
cedure compelling one to respond to a

plaintiff's demand for full and detailed

~48<-

disclosure of intimate financial affairs
unrelated to the action seems manifestly
a contravention of article I, section 1,
of the state's Constitution: "All
people are by nature free and indepen-
dent and have bablienabte rights. Among
these are enjoying and defending life
and liberty, acquiring, possessing, and
protecting property, and pursuing and

obtaining safety, happiness, and privacy."

(Italics added.)

But, granting the constitu-
tionality of the doctrine, I believe it
to be contrary to the interest of the

people of this state.

In California's history it
had long been the rule that punitive
damages were recoverable only where the

defendant entertained "the wrongful

-49-

personal intention to injure" the

Plaintiff (Roth v. Shell Oil Co. (1960)

185 Cal.App.2d 676, 682 [8 Cal.Rptr.
514]; italics added), and that the
essential element of malice must be

"actual malice [denoting] ill will on

the part of the defendant, or his desire
to do harm for the mere Satisfaction of

doing it'" (Gombos v. Ashe (1958) 158

Cal.App.2d 517, 527 [322 P.2a4 933];
(italics added). The penalty was
inflicted, as noted, only because of the

actual "evil intent." (Fidelity etc,

Co. v. Federal etc. Co., supra, 217 Cal.

307, 319.) Such damages might not be

awarded under any "contract" theory

(Civ. Code, § 3294); (Macmorris Sales

Corp. v. Kozak (1968) 263 Cal.App.2d

430, 438 [69 Cal.Rptr. 719)), or under

a "negligence" theory, no matter

-50-

how "gross" or "reckless" the negligent

act (Gombos v. Ashe, supra, p. 527).

When properly awarded, punitive damages
then had a modest relation to actual
damages; "the granting of them [was]
done with the greatest of caution [and
they were] only allowed in the clearest

of cases." (Gombos v. Ashe, supra, p.

526.)

But notwithstanding those
restrictive and cautionary dicta, the
bases, and frequency, and measure, of
punitive damages have expanded far
beyond the original legislative and
judical intent and, in my respectful
Opinion, far beyond reason and sound

public policy.

Comparison of damage awards is

often idle but here, I think, it will

~ te

illustrate a point. During a selected
period, 1951-1958, I find the following
ratios of actual to punitive damages to
have been judicially approved in this
state: $2,500 to $1,000 - Ingram

v. Higgins (1951) 103 Cal.App.2d 287

[229 P.2d 385]; $3,525 to $1,000 --

Sheward v. Magit (1951) 106 Cal.App.2d

163 [234 P.2d 708]; $10,000 to $10,000

-- Sullivan v. Matt (1955) 130 Cal.App.2d

134 [278 P.2d 499]; $2,250 to $2,000 --

Guillory v. Godfrey (1955) 134 Cal.App.2d

628 [286 P.2d 474]; $740.54 to $1,500 -

Austin v. Duggan (1958) 162 Cal.App.2d

580 [328 P.2d 224]. During those years
where actual damages of $600 were
awarded, a punitive damage award of
$2,500 was set aside as unreasonable.

(Luke v. Mercantile Acceptance Corp.

(1952) 111 Cal.App.2d 431 [244 P.2d

at.

764).) It will be noted that the
highest acceptable proportionate puni-

tive damage award was in Austin v.

Duggan where it was approximately twice

as large as the actual damages found.

It was following those awards
that, in December 1959, an actual damage
award of $400 and punitive damages of
$10,000 were judicially approved.

(Larrick v. Gilloon (1959) 176 Cal.App.

2d 408 [1 Cal.Rptr. 360].) Since then
the proportionate relationship of
punitive to actual damages has continued
to escalate, culminating perhaps in the
actual damage award of $1,050 and puni-
tive damage award of $200,000 (a ratio

of 1 to 190) approved by Wetherbee v.

United Ins. Co. of America (1971) 18

Cal.App.3d 266 [95 Cal.Rptr. 678) (hg.

by Supreme Ct. den.).

-53-

In much the same way, the

circumstances under which punitive

damages may be awarded have been widely
expanded. Although originally such
damages were forbidden in actions

"arising out of contract" (Civ.

Code, § 3294), they are now "appropri-
ate" and "authorized" where a "breach of
contract is the basis for tort liability."

(Mayes v. Sturdy Northern Sales, Inc.

(1979) 91 Cal.App.3d 69, 82 [154 Cal.
Rptr. 43].) "The same act may be both a
breach of contract and a tort," and it
will be such a tort where there is "an
intentional act causing injury to an
interest created by the contract." (4
Witkins, Summary of Cal. Law (8th ed.
1974) Torts, § 3, p.2305.) Such an act
""is independent of the contract and

attaches over and above the terms of the

-54-

contract. This being so, the plaintiffs
may treat the injury as a tort or as a
breach of contract at their election.'"
(2 Witkin, Cal. Procedure (2d ed. 1970)
Actions, § 90, pp. 960-962.) Thus,
punitive damages become available,
despite Civil Code section 3294, in an
action "arising from contract" if its
complaint "contains a count ex delicto."

(Walton v. Anderson (1970) 6 Cal.App.3d

1003, 1009 [86 Cal.Rptr. 345].)

In much the same fashion
punitive damages are now awardable
generally in negligence actions. Where
Once, aS pointed out, there must have
been actual "ill will" against the
plaintiff "on the part of the defendant,
or his desire to do harm for the

mere satisfaction of doing it," those

-55~-

stern requirements no longer apply. It
is sufficient if there shall be found
"an intention to perform an act that the

actor knows, or should know [italics

added], will very probably cause harm."

(Donnelly v. Southern Pacific Co. (1941)

18 Cal.2d 863, 869 [118 P.2d 465];

Nolin v. National Convenience Stores,

Inc. (1979) 95 Cal. App. 3d 279, 286
(157 Cal.Rptr. 32].) Since it is the
essence of actionable negligence that
the risk of danger to the plaintiff

"would have been foreseen [italics

added] by a reasonable person" (4
Witkin, Summary of Cal. Law (8th ed.
1974) Torts, § 496, p. 2761), it
logically follows that punitive damages >
are now permissible in all negligence

actions where counsel's awareness has

-56-

7

brought about the joinder of a "count in

fore.”

These and perhaps other
reasons, I think, have brought about the
present-day practice of seeking punitive
damages in substantially all damage
actions, and what will reasonably be
termed the explosion of punitive damage
awards. And such punitive damage awards
are observed not to be generally con-
fined to large corporations such as
defendant Sears Roebuck and Company, or
so-called "wealthy" defendants. They
are regularly returned also, against the

"average" defendants of damage actions.

As we have seen, the amount of
punitive damages has been entrusted to
the discretion of the trial jury or

court. And, as noted, that discretion

=

has sometimes fixed the actual ratio of
punitive to actual damages at 190 to 1,

as in Wetherbee v. United Ins. Co. of

America, supra, 18 Cal.App.3d 266, and

63 to 1, as by the jury in the case at
bench. Punitive awards against less

"wealthy" or "average" defendants will
generally be of a narrower proportion,
but often they are observed to be many

times the actual damages.

Were it the effect of punitive
damages to reasonably punish only the
"evil" malefactor, or those "'who desire
to do harm for the mere satisfaction of

doing it'" (see Gombos v. Ashe, supra,

158 Cal.App.2d 517, 527), few would
complain of the current rules. But in
today's society it is a rare and for-

tunate person who is not at one time

-§§-

or another exposed to a debatably valid
claim of tortious negligence, or con-
tractual breach. In the past, where one
was found in such a case to have erred,
the actual damages had generally been
covered by insurance and even where not,
the amount was closely and foreseeably
attuned to the claimant's actual monetary

injury.

Insurance protects us against
most of the catastrophic hazards of our
existence and most important, as Justice
Peters has said, it brings "peace of
mind and security" into our lives. (See

Crisci v. Security Ins. Co. (1967) 66

Cal.2d 425, 434 [58 Cal.Rptr. 13, 426
P.2d 173).) But insurance can give no
"peace of mind and security" against the

ever present threat of punitive damages

-59-

against any of us who, rightly or
wrongly, may be found to have tortiousiy
"breached" a contract or “negligently"
injured another. Such insurance against
punitive damage liability is unobtaina-
ble; it is not written by insurance
companies, and it is forbidden by law.

(See Taylor v. Superior Court (1979) 24

Cal.3d 890, 904-905, fn. 3 [157 Cal.Rptr.

693, 598 P.2d 854]; City Products Corp.

v. Globe Indemnity Co. (1979) 88 Cal.

App.3d 31, 42 [151 Cal.Rptr. 494]; 4
Witkin, Summary of Cal. Law (8th ed.

1980 supp.) Torts, § 858A, p. 375.)

Nor may a judgment for puni-
tive damages be discharged by bank-
ruptcy. (11 U.S.C.A. § 523(a) (6);
Tinker v. Colwell (1904) 193 U.S. 473,

passim [48 L.Ed. 754, 24 S.Ct. 505].)

-60-

Thus in a sense we, even
the most prudent among us, are con-
stantly threatened by an immovable and
treacherous Sword of Damocles. For a
misguided act or perhaps the misguided
verdict of a jury any of us, denied the
right of indemnification by insurance,
is subject to possible visitation of

disaster.

Such a threat in my opinion is
logically intolerable, and bad public
policy. The law's usual regard for the
people's welfare, as emphasized by
Justice Peters' concern for their "peace
of mind and security," is seemingly

abandoned.

The doctrine of punitive
damages has never found favor in equity,

the repository of the law's conscience.

~61-

4

""As a general rule, courts of equity
will not award exemplary damages.'"

(Rivero v. Thomas (1948) 86 Cal.App.2d

225, 239 [194 P.2d 533].) They "cannot
be awarded in a suit in equity."

(Murphy v. American Motors Sales Corp.

(N.D.Ga. 1976) 410 F.Supp. 1403,
1405.) "To permit a decree for such
damages would be at variance with
general principles of equity juris-

prudence." (Given v. United Fuel Gas Co.

(1919) 84 W.Va. 301 [99 S.E. 476,
478].)

It will also be observed that
the doctrine has been repudiated by many
of our sister states. I cite authority

of some of them:

Connecticut. "In this state

the common-law doctrine of punitive

-62-

damages..., if it ever did prevail,

prevails no longer." (Hanna v. Sweeney

(1906) 78 Conn. 492 [62 A. 785].)

‘Massachusetts. "Recovery of

[punitive] damages [is] not permitted in

Massachusetts." (O'Reilly v. Curtis

Publishing Co. (D.Mass. 1940) 31

F.Supp. 364.)

New Hampshire. "Elements of

damage do not include impositions in the

nature of penalties." (Burton v.

Leavitt Stores Corp. (1935) 87 N.H. 304,

305 [179 A. 185].)

Colorado. "The jury may not

in its verdict punish a defendant for

wrongdoing." (Larson v. Lindahl (1968)

167 Colo. 409 [450 P.2d 77, 78].)
"Civil actions are instituted for the

purpose of redressing private ‘wrongs; it

=63-

is the aim of civil jurisprudence to
mete out as nearly exact justice as
possible between contending litigants.
There ought to be no disposition to take
from the defendant or give to the
plaintiff more than equity and justice
require. Yet under this rule of damages
these principles are forgotten, and
judidical machinery is used for the
avowed purpose of giving plaintiff that
to which he has no shadow of right. He
recovers full compensation for the
injury to his person or property; for
all direct and proximate losses occa-
sioned by the tort; ... and then, in
addition to the foregoing, he is allowed
damages which are awarded as a punish-
ment of defendant and example to

others. Who will undertake to give a

valid reason why plaintiff, after being

=64-

fully paid for all the injury inflicted
upon his property, body, reputation, and
feelings, should still be compensated,
above and beyond, for a wrong committed
against the public at large? The idea
is inconsistent with sound legal princi-
ples, and should never have found a

lodgment in the law." (Murphy v. Hobbs

(1884) 7 Colo. 541 [5 P. 119, 121=-122).)

Louisiana. "It has long been

the settled law in Louisiana that only
compensatory damages, and not punitive
damages, may be recovered in an action

for tort." (Breaux v. Simon (1958)

235 La. 453 104 So. 2d 168 ; and see

Janssen Catering Co. v. Abadie (1924)

157 La. 357 [102 So. 428, 429]; Trenchard

v. Central Laundry Co. (1923) 154 La.

1003 [98 So. 558]; Baggett v. Richardson

-65-

(5th Cir. 1973) 473 F.2d 863, 865;

Bacharach v. F.W. Woolworth Company

(E.D. La. 1963) 212 F.Supp. 83, 85.)

Washington. "No citation of

authority is required for the principle
that Washington does not allow punitive

damages." (Conrad v. Lakewood General

Hospital (1966) 67 Wn.2d 934 [410 P.2d

785, 789, 10 A.L.R. 341 )) *(T)he
doctrine of punitive damages is unsound

in principle." (Maki v. Aluminum

Building Products (1968) 73 Wn.2d 23

[436 P.2d 186, 187].) The state's rule
is based upon the following long-
established rationale: "(O]ther courts
have frankly stated their repugnance to .
the doctrine, yet considered themselves
bound, by former decisions in their

respective states, to still maintain

=£6—

it.... In this state it is a new
question, and the court approaches its
investigation untrammeled by former
decisions, free to accept the reasoning
which most strongly appeals to its
judgment.... And this desired ultimatum,
we think, will best be attained by
adopting the rule laid down by Mr.
Greenleaf (volume 2, § 253) that
"damages are given as a compensation or
Satisfaction to the plaintiff for an
injury actually sustained by him from
the defendant. They should be precisely
commensurate with the injury, neither
more nor less; and this whether it be to
his person or his estate, ... [The
doctrine] permits the jury to give what
it terms "punitive," "vindictive," or
"exemplary" damages; in other words,

blends together the interests of

-67=

society and of the aggrieved individual,
and gives damages not only to recom-
pense the sufferer, but to punish the
offender.... It seems to us that

there are many valid objections to
interjecting into a purely civil action
the elements of a criminal trial. While
the defendant is tried for a crime, and
damages awarded on the theory that he
has been proven guilty of a crime, many
of the time-honored rules governing the
trial of criminal actions, and of the
rights that have been secured to
defendants in criminal actions 'from the
time whereof the memory of man runneth
not to the contrary,' are absolutely
ignored. Under this procedure the
doctrine of presumption of innocence,
until proven cuilty beyond a reasonable

doubt, finds no lodgment in the charge

-68-

of the court, but is supplanted by the
rule in civil actions of a preponderance
of testimony. The fallacy and unfair-
ness of the position is made manifest
when it is noted that a person can be
convicted of a crime, the penalty

for which is unlimited, save in the
uncertain judgment of the jury, and
fined to this unlimited extent for the
benefit of an individual who has already
been fully compensated in damages, on a
smaller weight of testimony than he can
be in a criminal action proper, brought
for the benefit or protection of the
state, where the amount of the fine is
fixed and limited by law; ... The party
is fully compensated for all the injury
done his person or his property, and for
all losses which he may sustain by

reason of the injury, in addition

-69-

to recompense for physical pain, if any
has been inflicted.... The plainciff is
made entirely whole. The bond has been
paid in full. Surely the public can
have no interest in exacting the pound
of flesh. [4%] ([W]hile Susure should

be the judges of the character and
weight of testimony, that judgment
should be exercised under some rule, and
be amenable to some law, so that an
abuse of discretion could be ascertained
and corrected; but, under the doctrine
of punitive damages,... the whole
question is left to the unguided judg-
ment of the jury.... It seems to us that
a practice which leads to so much
confusion and uncertainty in the
administration of the law, and that is
always liable to lead to injustice, the

correction of which is impracticable,

=70@=

can not be too speedily eradicated from

our system of jurisprudence." (Spokane

Truck & Dray Co. v. Hoefer (1891) 2

Wash. 45 [25 P. 1072, 1073-1074].)

=F Pa

APPENDIX B

COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
IN AND FOR THE
FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION ONE
Frederick A. Rosener,

et al., =
Plaintiffs and Respondents,

No. 41334
vs.
Sears, Roebuck & Company, Superior
Defendant and Appellant. Court No. __

BY THE COURT:
The petition for rehearing
filed in the above entitled cause is

hereby denied.

Dated: October 29, 1980

RACANELLI, P.J.

APPENDIX C

ORDER DENYING HEARING
AFTER JUDGMENT BY THE COURT OF APPEAL
Ist District, Div. 1, Civil No. 41334

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF
CALIFORNIA

IN BANK
ROSENER et al., Plaintiffs and Respondents,
v.
SEARS ROEBUCK AND COMPANY, Defendant and

Appellant; HARTMAN et al., Intervenors
and Respondents.

Petitions of plaintiffs and respon-
dents and defendant and appellant for
hearing DENIED.

Bird, C.J., is of the opinion that
the petitions should be granted.

Mosk, J., is of the opinion that
the Plaintiffs' petition should be

granted.

/s/ Bird

—_——

hief Justice

APPENDIX D

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
CONTRA COSTA

FREDERICK A. ROSENER,
et al. CASE NUMBER

PLAINTIFF(S) 136224

vs NOTICE OF ENTRY
OF REMITTITUR
SEARS ROEBUCK and
COMPANY,

DEFENDANT (S)

To the above named parties
and to their attorneys of
record: You are notified
that the Remittitur in
this cause was entered on
Microfilm.

Date: December 12, 1980

JAMES R. OLSSON, County
Clerk and Clerk of the
Superior Court of the
State of California for
the County of Contra
Costa.

NOTICE OF ENTRY OF JUDGMENT

APPENDIX E

RICHARD L. GOFF

HELLER, EHRMAN, WHITE & McCAULIFFE
44 Montgomery Street

San Francisco, CA 94104
Telephone: (415) 772-6000

Attorneys for Appellant

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL
OF THE
STATE OF CALIFORNIA
FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION ONE

FREDERICK A. ROSENER,

et al.,

No. 1 Civil 41334
Plaintiffs and

Respondents,

SEARS, ROEBUCK & CO.,

Defendant and

)

)

)

)

)

)

vs )
)

)

)

)
Appellant. )
)

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

Notice is hereby given that
Sears, Roebuck & Company, the defendant

and appellant above-named, hereby

appeals to the Supreme Court of the
United States from that portion of the
final judgment entered in this action
by the Court of Appeal of the State of
California on December 12, 1980, which
affirmed, as modified, the portion of
the Judgment in the Superior Court,
Contra Costa County, Action No. 136224,
which awards punitive damages of
$2,500,000 in favor of plaintiffs, and
against appellant, Sears, Roebuck &
Company, appellant's petition for
hearing in the Supreme Court of Cali-
fornia having been denied by order
of that Court on December 10, 1980.
This appeal is taken pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2).
DATED: February 25, 1981

HELLER, EHRMAN, WHITE
& MCAULIFFE

By
Richard L. Goff >
Attorney for Appellant
Sears, Roebuck & Company

APPENDIX F

United States Constitution, Amendment
Fourteen, Section 1.

- « « No State shall make or enforce
any law which shall abridge the privi-
leges or immunities of citizens of

the United States; nor shall any State
deprive any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law;
nor deny to any person within its
jurisdiction the equal protection of

the laws.

Calif. Civ. Code § 3294.

(a) In an action for the breach of
an obligation not arising from contract,
where the defendant has been guilty of
oppression, fraud or malice, [1] the
plaintiff, in addition to the actual

damages, may recover damages for the

sake of example and by way of punishing
the defendant.

(b) An employer shall not be
liable for damages pursuant to sub-
division (a), based upon acts of an
employee of the employer, unless the
employer had advance knowledge of the
unfitness of the employee and employed
him or her with a conscious disregard of
the rights or safety of others or
authorized or ratified the wrongful
conduct for which the damages are
awarded or was personally guilty of
oppression, fraud, or malice. With
respect to a corporate employer, the
advance knowledge, ratification, or act
of oppression, fraud, or malice must be
on the part of an officer, director, or

managing agent of the corporation.

(c) As used in this section, the
following definitions shall apply:

(1) "Malice" means conduct which
is intended by the defendant to cause
injury to the plaintiff or conduct
which is carried on by the defendant
with a conscious disregard of the rights
or safety of others.

(2) “Oppression" means subjecting
a person to cruel and unjust hardship
in conscious disregard of that person's
rights.

(3) "Fraud" means an intentional
misrepresentation, deceit, or conceal-
ment of a material fact known to the
defendant with the intention on the part
of the defendant of thereby depriving a
person of property or legal rights or

otherwise causing injury.

Calif. Evid. Code § 115.

"Burden of proof" means the obligation
of a party to establish by evidence
a requisite degree of belief concerning
a fact in the mind of the trier of fact
or the court. The burden of proof may
require a party to raise a reasonable
doubt concerning the existence or
nonexistence of a fact or that he
establish the existence or nonexistence
of a fact by a preponderance of the
evidence, by clear and convincing
proof, or by proof beyond a reasonable
doubt.

Except as otherwise provided by
law, the burden of proof requires proof

by a preponderance of the evidence.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1475%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
