# Opposition — Blue Grass Provision Co. v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1474%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 452 U.S. 915

## Text

Fitky» @

No. 80-1544
: MAY 26 1981
ALEXANDLT L. STEVAS,

In the Supreme Court of the Lnit dorstert o—

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

BLUE GRASS PROVISION Co., INC., PETITIONER
v.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
IN OPPOSITION

Wave H. McCree, JR.
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

WILLIAM A. LUBBERS
General Counsel

Joun E. HiIGGINs, JR.
Deputy General Counsel

Rospert E. ALLEN
Acting Associate General Counsel

Norton J. COME
Deputy Associate General Counsel

LINDA SHER
Assistant General Counsel

JOHN H. FERGUSON

Attorney
National Labor Relations Board
Washington, D.C. 20570

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether substantial evidence supports the Board’s find-
ing that petitioner terminated its delivery employees and
immediately and permanently subcontracted their work
without giving the Union prior notice or an opportunity to
bargain about the change and its effects.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Opinions below ... «oss s«sss0sss0n en eee l
SUTIOGIOUOM os cic s06s vce eb ene $cueccnceneee l
Statute involved ......0ssss essen ee eee l
SUMCCMCME oo ono vce cose bu ea ween een 2
Argument ....000e000000008 555 e sen 7
Concluaion .....+2ss00%ss ees soee eee 10
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 ...... 8
Fibreboard Paper Products Corp. v. NLRB,
S79 U.S. BBS oc ecccucesasaeusuneneee 8
Firch Baking Co. v. NLRB, 479 F. 2d
732, cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1032 .......ceccees 9
First National Maintenance Corp. v. NLRB,
No. 80-544 (argued Apr. 21, 1981) ............ 8
Lane v. NLRB, 418 F. 2d 1208 .............0.. 7
Marshall Field & Co. v. NLRB, 318 U.S.
y re 8
NLRB vy. Crompton-Highland Mills, Inc.,
337 U.S. 217 onc cancseeeakes eee 10
NLRB vy. Crystal Springs Shirt Corp.,
637 F. 28 FD o..canueuueunn eeu 9
NLRB vy. J.P. Stevens & Co., 538 F. 2d
dh’ SPrwererererrrerrr Fe 9
NLRB v. Katz, MQ U3. 7H 6c 10
II]

PRECEDING PAGE WAS BLANK.

IV

Page
Cases—(Continued):
Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB,
340 U.S. 474 . cccccensccestseee ee i)
Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc., 243 N.L.R.B. No.
151 (Aug. 2, 1979) ...csvecaseueesuaee eee )
Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc. v. NLRB,
@ 567 F. 20 1363. oc cccccessesseeeee S)
Statute:
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.
151 et seq. :
Section 8(a)(1), 29 U.S.C. 158(a)(1) ....... 6,9
Section 8(a)(5), 29 U.S.C.
ISHAM) 2c easasvcdesueeee 6,7,8,9
Section 8(d)(3), 29 U.S.C. 158(d)(3) ........ 6
Section 8(d)(4), 29 U.S.C. 158(d)(4) ........ 6
Section 10(e), 29 U.S.C. 160(e) ............ 8

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

No. 80-1544
BLUE GRASS PROVISION Co., INC., PETITIONER
v

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. 1-7) is reported
at 636 F. 2d 1127. The decision and order of the National
Labor Relations Board (Pet. App. 8-29) are reported at 238
N.L.R.B. 910.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
December 9, 1980. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on March 6, 1981. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the National Labor Relations
Act, 29 U.S.C. 151 et seq., are set forth at Pet. App. 30-32.

2

STATEMENT

1. Petitioner Blue Grass Provision Co., Inc. is engaged in
the processing and wholesale distribution of meat products
at its Covington, Kentucky facility (Pet. App. 14; A. 45-
47).' For many years, Blue Grass entered into successive
collective bargaining agreements with the Union? covering
its truckdrivers (Pet. App. 15; A. 34-35). During the 1974-
1977 contract, Blue Grass employed five truck drivers, four
of whom had from 20 to 28 years of service (Pet. App. 16; A.
36-38). The fifth driver, Scudder, had 10 years of service.
Because of a lack of work, he was placed on layoff status
and worked as a relief driver when the other drivers were
absent or on vacation (Pet. App. 16; A. 37).

In 1975, without notice to the Union, petitioner began
using an independent contractor to perform Scudder’s relief
driver work. In late 1975, in response toa grievance filed by
Scudder, an arbitrator determined that Blue Grass had
violated the contract by assigning Scudder’s duties to non-

unit personnel, and ordered appropriate relief (Pet. App.
16; A. 24, 42).

In November 1976, the Union notified petitioner of its
desire to terminate the 1974-1977 contract, scheduled to
expire on January 31, 1977, and requested a meeting to
negotiate a new agreement (Pet. App. 16; A. 28). There-
after, in a telephone conversation with Company President
William Rice on or about January 14, Union Business
Agent Fred Batsche requested that negotiations be delayed
and the current contract extended for 30 days until
industry-wide negotiations were completed; Batsche noted
that in the past petitioner had agreed to a contract that was

“A.” refers to the appendix in the court of appeals.

?Truck Drivers, Chauffeurs and Helpers Local Union No. 100, affil-
iated with the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Chauffeurs,
Warehousemen and Helpers of America. /

3

similar to that worked out with the major meat packing
firms in the area (Pet. App. 17; A. 78, 79). Rice agreed only
to extend the contract 11 days—-to February 11, 1977 (Pet.
App. 17; A. 27, 29, 79). Contemporaneously, Rice began
contacting outside carriers to inquire about subcontracting
the drivers’ work (Pet. App. 17; A. 32-33, 40-41, 53-54).
Prior to his first meeting with the Union, Rice determined
that one carrier’s proposal was too expensive (Pet. App. 17;
A. 32-33, 53-54), and that a second carrier was interested in
taking over petitioner’s delivery work (A. 55-56, 40).

On January 25, Rice and Batsche held their first negotiat-
ing session (Pet. App. 18; A. 27, 80). Batsche gave Ricea set
of the Union’s written contract proposals, incuding one that
would have banned subcontracting (Pet. App. 18: A. 26,
80). Rice reviewed the proposals, asked several questions,
complained about the overall cost of the package, and
asked for additional time to study the proposals (Pet. App.
18; A. 80-82). Rice and Batsche did not discuss subcontract-
ing at this negotiating session, nor did Rice mention that he
had contacted or was negotiating with an outside carrier to
make petitioner’s deliveries (Pet. App. 22, 18: A. 81-82.
99-100).

On January 28, President Rice and Business Agent
Batsche met again to discuss the contract (Pet. App. 18; A.
82). Rice informed Batsche that he wanted to negotiate a
contract that would protect the Company's drivers so “that
they could retire through attrition” as he was “contemplating
getting out of the trucking business” (Pet. App. 18; A. 83).
Batsche replied that “at this point” he could not agree to this
proposal (ibid.), and inquired specifically whether Rice
proposed to recall the relief driver, Scudder, to full time
Status when one of the regular drivers retired. After Rice
stated emphatically that he would not recall Scudder from
layoff, Batsche said that he could not accept a contract
under which bargaining rights would be lost through attri-
tion (Pet. App. 18; A. 83-84, 101). The meeting ended when

4

Rice told Batsche that, if the Union would not agree to
eliminate the unit through attrition, petitioner could not
reach a contract. Batsche asked if Rice was refusing to
negotiate further; Rice replied that he was. Batsche then
asked Rice to reconsider, but left the meeting with the
understanding that Rice would not change his position
(Pet. App. 19; A. 70, 85-86).

On January 31, Batsche met with the drivers and
informed them of petitioner’s proposal to eliminate their
jobs through attrition. Batsche also advised the relief driver,
Scudder, that the Company did not plan to recall him from
layoff but intended instead to have a subcontractor do his
work. The drivers then voted to strike at the February 11

expiration of the extension agreement (Pet. App. 19; A.
86-87).

On February 7, President Rice, upon the advice of his
attorney, called Business Agent Batsche to make sure that
he understood petitioner’s position (Pet. App. 19; A. 65).
On this occasion, as on January 28, the only subcontracting
proposal advanced by Rice to the Union called for the
full-time drivers to continue working until they retired, and
for a subcontractor to take over the unit work as it became
available through attrition (Pet. App. 22, 18-19; A. 87-88,
55-56). At the end of the telephone call, Batsche asked Rice
if he was refusing to negotiate further, and Rice confirmed
that he was (Pet. App. 19; A. 43, 65-66). Following this
conversation, however, Rice concluded that he had “laid an
egg in saying that I did not wish to negotiate” (A. 66). The
next day, February 8, Rice sent Batsche a letter indicating
that petitioner was interested in further negotiations and
hoped Batsche would “offer some alternatives to our plight”
(Pet. App. 20; A. 25, 42-43, 67). This letter was delivered to
the Union’s office on February 10, but was not seen by
Batsche until some time later (Pet. App. 20; A. 88-89).

5

Following his February 7 conversation with Batsche,
Rice made arrangements for a subcontractor to supply
drivers for petitioner’s trucks on February 14 if an agree-
ment were not worked out with the Union by the time the
contract expired on February 11 (A. 67-69). At the close of
business on February 11, Rice informed the four full time
drivers that “they were through” (Pet. App. 20; A. 38, 43);
the Union learned of the discharges from the employees (A.
89-90). On Monday, February 14, a subcontractor, Kent
Express, began making deliveries in petitioner’s trucks (Pet.
App. 20; A. 38-39, 69-70).3

At no time during the negotiations with the Union did
petitioner ever propose terminating its drivers immediately
and permanently subcontracting their work; its only
proposal had been to subcontract each driver’s work as he
retired (Pet. App. 22, 18-20; A. 87-90). On the evening of
February 14, following their discharge and replacement by
the subcontractor, the employees met with their union
representatives. On the following day, they began picketing
Blue Gress (Pet. App. 20; A. 97-98, 102-103). Thereafter, the
Union refused to pursue further negotiations until peti-
tioner “put the unit back as it was” (Pet. App. 20 n.6; A.
105).

2. On the foregoing facts, the administrative law judge
rejected petitioner's contention that it gave proper notice
that it was considering subcontracting the drivers’ work and
bargained to impasse with the Union before implementing
its proposals (Pet. App. 20-21). The administrative law
judge found that petitioner gave notice “only of its desire to
subcontract out unit work over a period of time as the unit

‘Prior to the termination of the drivers and the subcontracting of
their work, petitioner owned two trucks and leased three others; some-
time after February I1, petitioner purchased the three trucks it had
previously leased (Pet. App. 20; A. 43-44, 68-70).

6

employees retired” and never notified the Union “that it
would immediately and permanently subcontract out all its
unit delivery work and discharge its drivers upon the termi-
nation of the extension agreement on February 11, 1977”
(Pet. App. 22). Noting petitioner’s letter of February 8
inviting further negotiations, the administrative law judge
found that the parties “had not even reached any impasse on
the issue of eventual or gradual subcontracting” (Pet. App.
23). He further found that, even assuming the negotiations
were at impasse on this issue, “it would not change the
result” since “any bargaining over the proposed gradual
subcontracting of unit work overa period of time, cannot be
deemed to have satisfied [petitioner’s] obligation to bargain
about the very different proposition of the immediate sub-
contracting of a// unit work” (ibid.). Accordingly, the
administrative law judge concluded, inter alia, that peti-
tioner violated Section 8 (a)(5) and (1) of the National
Labor Relations Act by unilaterally subcontracting out all
its truckdriving work, thereby eliminating the entire bar-
gaining unit, without giving the Union notice and an oppor-
tunity to bargain about the change (ibid.).

The Board affirmed the administrative law judge’s rul-
ings, findings and conclusions, and ordered petitioner, inter
alia, to cease subcontracting its delivery operations “with-
out prior notice to or bargaining with the Union” (Pet. App.
10), to restore its delivery operations, to reinstate and make
whole for lost pay all unit employees discharged on Febru-
ary I1, and to bargain in good faith with the Union regard-
ing any future subcontracting of unit delivery work (Pet.
App. 10-11, 28-29).4

*The Board found, contrary to the administrative law judge (Pet.
App. 24-26), that it was unnecessary to decide whether petitioner had
terminated the contract without complying with the 30-day mediation
and 60-day bargaining requirement set forth in Section 8(d)(3) and (4)
of the Act since the scope of the remedy for this alleged violation is

7

3. On review, the court of appeals concluded that the
Board’s findings were supported by substantial evidence
and, accordingly, enforced the Board’s order (Pet. App.
1-7). In rejecting petitoner’s contention that it had given
adequate notice of its intentions and had bargained to
impasse over its subcontracting proposal, the court
observed that, while the term “impasse” is not subject to
precise definition, at a minimum “it encompasses the notion
that both sides are aware of precisely what is at issue and
that they have made more than a perfunctory attempt to
reach a resolution” (Pet. App. 5). The court’s examination
of the record failed to uncover any evidence that petitioner
ever unequivocally informed the Union of an intention “to
subcontract work on a definite date” (ibid.) and revealed
instead that there was “considerable doubt whether the
Union ever understood [that petitioner] meant to terminate
the bargaining unit upon expiration of the contract * * *”
(Pet. App. 6). The meetings between the parties were, said
the court, “at best preliminary sparring matches,” a conclu-
sion reinforced by petitioner’s “own letter of February 8
evidencing its willingness to talk further with the [U]nion”
(ibid.).5

ARGUMENT

1. The first question presented in the petition (Pet. I)—
whether an employer’s decision to terminate a portion of its
operations for economic reasons is a mandatory subject of

essentially identical to the remedy imposed for the Section 8(a)(5)
violation found by the Board (Pet. App. 9-10 n.4). Member Murphy
would have found petitioner liable for the additional violation (ibid.).

‘Similarly, the court rejected petitioner's contention that its subcon-
tracting of bargaining unit work was equivalent to a lockout in support
of its bargaining demands (see Pet. App. 6-7, distinguishing Lane v.
NLRB, 418 F. 2d 1208 (D.C. Cir. 1969)), and found further that
petitioner had failed to advance legitimate and substantial business
justifications comparable to those advanced by the employer in Lane
(Pet. App. 6-7).

8

bargaining under Section 8(a)(5) of the Act—is not prop-
erly raised here. In the proceedings before the Board, peti-
tioner did not dispute that it was obliged to bargain with the
Union before contracting out its delivery operations and
terminating its drivers; instead petitioner contended that it
had satisfied its obligation by giving the Union notice and
an opportunity to bargain about the proposal (Pet. App.
20-21). Accordingly, Section 10(e) of the Act, 29 U.S.C.
160(e), precludes petitioner from challenging in this Court
its obligation to bargain. Marshall Field & Co. v. NLRB,
318 U.S. 253, 255-256 (1943). Moreover, petitioner did not
question its duty to bargain before the court of appeals (Pet.
App. 4), and where issues are neither raised before nor
decided by a court of appeals, this Court ordinarily will not
consider them. Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144,
147 n.2 (1970).

In any event, petitioner’s decision to utilize the employees
of a subcontractor to drive its delivery trucks is the kind of
proposed activity held to be a mandatory subject of bar-
gaining in Fibreboard Paper Products Corp. v. NLRB, 379
U.S. 203 (1964). The vitality of Fibreboard’s holding is not
questioned in First National Maintenance Corp. v. NLRB,
No. 80-544 (argued Apr. 21, 1981), which involves not the
replacement of employees by a subcontractor, but the deci-
sion to terminate a portion of an operation.

2. The second question presented in the petition (Pet.
1)—whether an employer who bargains with a union about
subcontracting unit work must reach impasse with the
union before implementing the decision—is also not prop-
erly raised here. This question, like the first, was not raised
before either the Board or the court of appeals; below,
petitioner argued simply that it had in fact bargained to
impasse (Pet. App. 5, 20-21).

—_

9

Furthermore, although the Board has expressed its
respectful disagreement with the Fifth Circuit on the ques-
tion whether an employer ordinarily must bargain to
impasse with a union before implementing proposals (com-
pare Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc. v. NLRB, 567 F. 2d 1343
(1978), with Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc.,243 N.L.R.B. No. 151
(Aug. 2, 1979)), the issues dividing the Board and the Fifth
Circuit are not presented here. Thus, whatever the extent of
an employer’s obligation to bargain, it is uncontroverted
that ata minimum anemployer normally must give a union
notice of its proposal and a reasonable opportunity to
bargain about it. Even in the Fifth Circuit, an employer
who implements changes substantially different from those
it discussed with the union fails to meet this minimum
requirement and accordingly violates Section 8(a)(5) and
(1). Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc. v. NLRB, supra, 567 F. 2d at
1349-1350.

Here, the administrative law judge found that petitioner,
by discharging its senior drivers and permanently subcon-
tracting their work, implemented a change substantially
different from its proposal to subcontract its delivery work
as each driver retired, and that petitioner never gave the
Union notice and an opportunity to bargain about this
change prior to its implementation (Pet. App. 21-24). The
only question for review, therefore, is whether this finding is
supported by substantial evidence. Such an evidentiary
determination, sustained by both the Board and the court of
appeals, does not warrant further review. Universal Camera
Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 490-491 (1951). Inany event,
as shown in the Statement, the Board’s findings are amply
supported by the record and its legal conclusions are in

*See, e.g., NLRB v. Crystal Springs Shirt Corp., 637 F. 2d 399,
402-403 (Sth Cir. 1981); NLRB v. J.P. Stevens & Co., 538 F. 2d 1152,
1162-1164 (Sth Cir. 1976); Firch Baking Co. v. NLRB, 479 F. 2d 732,
735-736 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1032 (1973).

10

accord with settled authority. NLRB v. Katz, 369 U.S. 736

(1962); NLRB v. Crompton-Highland Mills, Inc., 337 U.S.
217 (1949).’

CONCLUSION
The petition-for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCreE, Jr.
Solicitor General

WILLIAM A. LUBBERS
General Counsel

JOHN E. HIG.iINs, JR.
Deputy General Counsel

ROBERT E. ALLEN
Acting Associate General Counsel

NORTON J. COME
Deputy Associate General Counsel

LINDA SHER
Assistant General Counsel

JOHN H. FERGUSON
Attorney
National Labor Relations Board

May 198]

’Contrary to petitioner's suggestion (Pet. 7, 10-11), this case does not
present the issue whether an employer may, without bargaining, lock
Out its employees for the sole purpose of bringing economic pressure to
bear in support of a legitimate bargaining position. Petitioner dis-
charged its drivers at the expiration of the contract (Pet. App. 24, 22, 20:
A. 38-43); it did not lock them out contingent on their accepting
petitioner's proposals to subcontract unit work as each driver retired

DO}J-1981-05

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1474%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
