# Opposition — Missouri v. Crews

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1346%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 452 U.S. 957

## Text

— ~~ ~~ ere — ee FE ey ee eR ern ee er ere

APR 20 1981 ©

IN THE OrriCE OF THE CLERK
SUPREME COURT, U.S.
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT $
a
STATE OF MISSOURI
Petitioner
Vv. No. 80-1393

TERRY GENE CREWS, et al.

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

Respondents |

APPLICATION FOR LEAVE TO PROCEED AS A POOR PERSON

Comes now Mary K. Wefelmeyer, on behalf of Respondent, Terry
Gene Crews, and informs the Court that the Respondent was found to
be an indigent at the time he was arraigned on the charges which
lead to the conviction which is the subject of the Petition for Writ
of Certiorari. The trial covrt granted him leave to appeal as a
poor person in the Missouri courts. He does not have the funds or
the financial resources to secure the cost or pay the fees and
expenses associated with this petition.

WHEREFORE, he respectfully prays that the Court grant him leave

to proceed as a poor person.

Respectfully submitted,

MARY K. WEFELMEYER
Attorney for Respondent

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _/7 day

of A) Ont , 1981.

Notary Public

My commission expires: 9/27/¢/

AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE

STATE OF MISSOURI

Petitioner

TERRY GENE CREWS, et al.

ee ee ee ee eet ee ee ee

Respondents

Mary K. Wefelmeyer, Assistant Public Defender, upon oath states
that on April 17, 1981, she served copies of the Suggestions in
Opposition to Petition for Certiorari in the above-entitled cause to
the Attorney General's Office, State of Missouri, Supreme Court
Building, Jefferson City, Mo. 65102, Respondent.

That service to the Attorney General's Office was made by
mailing three copies, postage prepaid, to the above address.

That a copy was served upon the Clerk of the Supreme Court of

the United States, United States Courthouse, Washington, D.C. 20543.

. ee
MARY kK. FE ER Z
Attorney-at-Law
Missouri Bar No. 27345
Public Defender's Office
Municipal Courts Building
1320 Market St.

St. Louis, Mo. 63103

Subscribed and sworn to before me this_/7 day

of A Pike , 1981.

Onstana Chee sTion

Notary Public

My commission expires: G [aale

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1981
NO. 80-1393

STATE OF MISSOURI
Petitioner
Vv.
TERRY GENE CREWS

Respondent

SUGGESTIONS IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Mary K. Wefelmeyer
Attorney-at-Law

Missouri Bar No. 27345
Public Defender's Office
Municipal Courts Building
1320 Market St.

St. Louis, Mo. 63103

INDEX

(, fable of Authorities | : ;

Brief in Opposition to Granting
Petition for Writ of Certiorari 2

Questions Presented 2
Reason for Denying the Writ 3
Conclusion 9

Appendix

e°e 8. ye

Th Lae SE the
*

*
4

*”

ws
’

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Albernaz v. United States, No. 79-1709 (March 9, 1981),

Brintley v. Michigan, 444 U.S. 948 (1979).
Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S. 294 (1962).

Coleman v. Alabama, 399 U.S. 1 (1970).

Eastlake v. Forrest City Enterprises, Inc., 426 U.S. 668 (1976).

Furness, Withy & Co. v. Yang-Tsze Ins. Assn., 242 U.S. 430 (1917).

Garner v. Louisiana, 368 U.S. 157 (1961).

Green v. Elbert, 137 U.S. 615 (1891).

Jankovich v. Indiana Toll Road Co., 379 U.S. 487 (1965).
Mandel v. Bradley, 432 U.S. 173 (1977).

Memorial Hospital v. Maricopa County, 415 U.S. 250 (1973°.

O'Brien v. Skinner, 414 U.S. 524 (1973).

Sours v. State, 593 S.W. 2d 208 (Mo. en banc 1980); vacated and
remanded, 445 U.S. » 64 L.Ed. 2d 820, affirmed after remand,
S.W. 2d 592 (Mo. en: banc 1980), cert. denie ° U.
No. 80-571 (January 26, 1980).

State v. Crews, No. 41073 (Mo. App. April 29, 1980).

United States v. Sampol, 636 F.2d 621 (D.C. Cir. 1980).

United States v. Simpson, 435 U.S. 6 (1978).

United States v. Thirty-Seven (37) Photocra hs, 402 U.S. 363;
reh. den. 403 U.S. 924 (1971).
Wayne County Prosecutor v. Recorder's Court Judge, 406 Mich, 374,
N.W. 94 (1979).

Whalen v. United States, U.S. , 63 L.Ed, 24 715 (1980).

hoe Zacchini v. Scripp-Howard Broadcasting Co., 433 U.S. 562, 53 L.Ed,
Z 9 . .

STATUTES CITED

Rule 21, Rules of the Supreme Court.
§559.225 R.S.Mo. (Supp. 1976).
$560.120 R.S.Mo. (1969).

§560.135 R.S.Mo. (Supp. 1975).

wi
4
i,
Be

§ denied, U.S. » No. 80-571 (January 26, 1981), which moots

——w - — y= = we — rere yt * ~~ ee a,
ails. sitet hnink teksten ves cys : Rly 4 r err

“Number 80-1393

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF TIE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

STATE OF MISSOURI,

Petitioner,

Vs.

TERRY CREWS, ET AL.,

Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO GRANTING PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Respondent, Terry Crews, in opposition to the granting
of the Petition for Writ of Certiorari in this case, states as

follows:

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Writ of Certiorari should not issue because
Petitioner has not established the source of this Court's juris-
diction, the threshold inquiry appropriate to the disposition of
this case.

2. Whether the Writ of Certiorari should not issue because
the decision issued by the Supreme Court of Missouri refusing to

transfer the decision of the Missouri Court of Appeals was based

upon the authority of Sours v. State, 593 S.W. 2d 208 (Mo. en
banc 1980); vacated and remanded, 445 U.S. » 64 L.Ed, 2d 820,

affirmed after remand, 603 S.W. 2d 592 (Mo. en banc 1980), cert.

the issve raised herein.

ne .
a ee ew ef-s Oe ae:lCSS. Ue

eee priemameicaa al acacia a

eee « eR ne ee,
- — _— — - =
aes "
Paw ‘

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

-

" THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD NOT ISSUE BECAUSE PETITIONER
HAS NOT ESTABLISHED THE SOURCE OF THIS COURT'S JURISDICTION AS

REQUIRED BY RULE 21.1(e) OF THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT.

The State of Missouri, Petitioner herein, has filed its
Petition for Certiorari which does not set out, as required by
the Rules of the Supreme Court, the source of this Court's
jurisdiction.

Rule 21 of the Rules of the Supreme Court provides in perti-
nent part:

1. The Petition for Writ of Certiorari shall
contain in the order nere indicated:

(e) A concise statement of the grounds
on which the jurisdiction of this Court is in-
voked showing:

(i) The date of the judgment or
decree sought to be reviewed, and the time
of its entry;

(ii) The date of any order respecting 4
a rehearing, and the date and terms of any
order granting an extension of time within
which to petition for certiorari; and

* (iii) Where a cross-petition for writ

on of certiorari is filed under Rule 19.5,

reliance upon that Rule shall be expressly
noted and the cross-petition shall state
the date of receipt of the petition for
certiorari in connection with which the
cross-petition is filed;

(iv) The statutory provision believed
to confer on this Court jurisdiction to re-
view the judgment or decree in question by
writ of certiorari,

5. The failure of a petitioner to present

with accuracy, brevity, and clearness whatever

is essential to a ready and adequate understand-
ing of the points requiring consideration will be

a_ sufficient reason for denying his tition
(Emphasis Supplied).

The threshold inquiry necessary to the disposition of every

case that comes before the Supreme Court is the source of. this

See noe +O. Vv. United States
U.S. 294, 305-06 (1962).

> Court's jurisdiction. See Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370

i Row This principle is embodied in this Court's rules and reflects

’ }

: ” the necessity for the proper presentation of matters to this Court

in order that it may properly dispose ot the vast quantity of mat-

ters competing for this Court's time. These rules are obviously

necessary, and having been established, must not be ignored.

This Court, in Furness, Withy, and Co. v. Yang-Tsze Ins. Assn.,

242 U.S. 430 (1917), noted that petitions to the Supreme Court

are at the risk of the party making them and then stated:

Unless these (petitions) are carefully
prepared, contain appropriate references to
the record and present with studied accuracy,
brevity, and clearness whatever is essential
to ready and adequate understanding of points
requiring our attention, the rights of inter-
ested parties may be prejudiced and the Court
will be impeded in its efforts properly to
dispose of the causes which constantly crowd
its docket. (Emphasis in original).

Id. at 434.

Furthermore, this Court stated in Green v. Elbert, 137 U.S.
615 (1891):

To the proper conduct of the business of
this Court rules are necessary, and, having been
prescribed, reasonable compliance with this is
expected and must be insisted upon. When they
are disregarded, dispensation from the consequences
can Only be extended where the circumstances fur-
nish adequate excuse. Were this otherwise, our

regulations might become more honored in the breach
than the observance, and the recognition of due
rocedure would be seriously weakened and impaired.
(Emphasis supplied).

Id. at 621.

This Court dismissed the writ of error in Green v. Elbert,

supra, stating that:

: (m)ere carelessness in the inception may
have finally resulted in forgetfulness (in not
filing the docket fee); but we cannot, therefore
absolve him from the penalty legitimately attach-
ing to this of our rules. phasis sup-
plied).

Id. at 623.

Petitioner has disregarded this Court's ‘rales and would have
this Court, already over-burdened, glean from its Petition for
Certiorari the source of the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court. — © 4

This Court has provided, by case law and its own rules, that'it

*

a

> 8

ae v

will not countenance such disregard for its rules, and should not

countenance such disregard here.

II

THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD NOT ISSUE BECAUSE THE ISSUE
RAISED BY PETITIONER IS IDENTICAL IN ALL RESPECTS TO THE ISSUE

PRESENTED IN SOURS V. STATE, THE FINAL DISPOSITION OF WHICH MOOTS

THE ISSUE PRESENTED HEREIN.

The issue raised before this Court as a result of the

decision of the Missouri Supreme Court in Sours v. State, 593

S.W. 2d 208 (Mo. en banc 1980) (Sours I) was based on convictions
for the crimes of robbery first degree by means of a dancerous
and deadly weapon, 6560.120, R.S.Mo. 1969 and &560.135, R.S.Mo,.
Supp. 1975, and armed criminal action, 8559.225, R.S.Mo. Supp.
1976, the identical statutes under which Respondent here was
convicted. |

This Court vacated the decision of the Missouri Supreme Court

and remanded the case for reconsideration in the light of Whalen

v. United States, U.S. , 63 L.Ed. 2d 715 (1980). Missouri

v. Sours, U.S. e 64 L.Ed. 2d 820 (1980).

Upon remand, the Missouri Supreme Court, in Sours v. State,

603 S.W. 2d 592 (Mo. en banc 1980) (Sours II) noted that no opinion
of the Supreme Court had considered a statute that contained
wording similar to or identical to that found in Missouri's armed
criminal action statute. Id. at 593. The Missouri Supreme Court
held, based on its construction of Missouri law, that the under-
lying felony, robbery first degree by means of a dangerous and
deadly weapon, was either an included or lesser included offense
of armcd criminal action. See generally, United States v. Sampol, f
636 F.2d 621, 651-55 (D. C. Cir. 1980).

The Missouri Supreme Court has definitively decided, which .
this Court may not dispute, as follows: es

1. “at was the intention of the Missouri General Assembly that
separate and multiple punishnents be imposed for armed criminal

— a

ee 3) ae = sail is _ - ROIS Dae > 5 TST
mt
ee

action and the underlying felony.
; 2. Every element of the underlying felony herein, robbery
: ‘first degree by means of a dangerous and deadly weapon, is in-
cluded in Armed Criminal Action, that is, proof of robbery first

degree by means of a dangerous and deadly weapon does not require

at aie OO Be

proof of any additional elements not needed to prove Armed Criminal
Action; that is, Armed Criminal Action includes the underlying
felony and that Armed Criminal Action and robbery first degree

are in law and fact the same. e.g., Whalen v. United States, supra,

Eastlake v. Forrest City Enterprises, Inc., 426 U.S. 663 (1976);

Memorial Hospital v. Maricopa County, 415 U.S. 250 (1973); O'Brien

v. Skinner, 414 U.S. 524 (1973); Garner v. Louisiana, 368 U.S. 157
(1961).

This Court denied certiorari with respect to Sours II.

Missouri v. Sours, No. 80-571 (January 26, 1981). Petitioner,
however, attempts to overlook the effect of the denial of certi- oa
. orari, and seeks to sustain a breath of life to its arguments by
: stating that this Court's most recent pronouncement in this matter
was presumably because the matter was moot. (Petition for Certi-
Orari, at 9).
The facts belie such an allegation. Only Justices Blackmun
3 and Rehnquist would have dismissed the petition for a writ of
4 certiorari as being moot. None of the remaining members of the

Supreme Court would have granted certiorari. Missouri v. Sours,

No. 80-571 (49 U.S.L.W. 3531, January 27, 1980). It is thus clear
that the decision of the Missouri Supreme Court in Sours I, affirmed
in Sours II, is the law of the State of Missouri and that the

decision rendered State v. Crews, No. 41073 (Mo. App. April 29,

1980), must stand. .
Furthermore, the reliance placed on Brintley v. Michigan, 444
U.S. 948 (1979), by Petitioner and Petitioner's allegations that
the decision in Brintley should be controlling because of simi-
larities in the Michigan statutes involved in Brintley and the

“we @ **

‘Missouri statutes ignores the effect of the holding of the Mis-

*. Vv “(> <

souri Supreme Court that no Supreme Court decision has considered

3 a statute that contained wording similar or identical to that

- _ a ge ee ~— ~ aa
SO — — ba acral

found in Missouri's armed criminal statute. Sours vy. State, 603
S.W. 2d at 593.

The Michigan Supreme Court, in Wayne County Prosecutor Vv.

Recorder's Court Judge, 406 Mich. 374, 280 N.W. 2d 794 (1979),
held, in essence, that the Michigan felony firearms statute
created a separate and distinct crime from the underlying felony
so that the two (2) offenses were not the same. This is contrary
to the Missouri Supreme Court's holding that, based on state law,
the armed criminal action statute and robbery first degree by
means Of a dangerous and deadly weapon are the same offen e.

The construction of the armed criminal action statute by the
Missouri Supreme Court is binding upon this Court because the
United States Supreme Court lacks jursidiction to construe state

laws. United States v. Thirty-Seven (37) Photographs, 402 U.S.

363, rehearing denied, 403 U.S. 924 (1971); Coleman v. Alabama,

399 U.S. 1 (1970). As was stated in Memorial Hospital vy. Maricopa

County, Supra at 256, "(I)t is not our function to construe a

state statute contrary to the construction given it by the highest

court of a state. See also, O'Brien v. Skinner, supra.

It is of no import that the Sours court went on to also base
its decision on federal constitutional grounds.
It is undoubtedly "'the settled rule that where
the judgment of a state court rests upon two grounds,
one of which is federal and the other non-federal in
character, our jurisdiction fails is the non-federal
ground is independent of the federal ground and adequate

to support the judgment. Fox Film Corporation v. Muller,
296 U.S. 207, 210, (80 L.Ed. 158,

’ . t. .
cramp v. Board of Public Instruction, 368 U.S. 278, 2861
L. . ’ ’ s.ct. .
Jankovich v. Indiana Toll Road Company, 379 U.S. 487 (1965).

In Jankovich, the Indiana Supreme Court invalidated a city
ordinance as authorizing an unconstitutional taking without
compensation. The decision was based upon both the Indiana con-
stitution and the United States Constitution. This Court held
that the ruling was based upon adequate state grounds and eneees
fore Gismiosed. the writ of certiorari as improvidently granted.

In the same manner, the writ of certiorari should not ‘issue in -

. : *

™

—wTr _

the case at hand. --
The Missouri Supreme Court based its decision on adequate,

independent state grounds.

-
.

This is not a case... where the lower court
opinion as a whole “leaves the impression that the
court probably felt constrained to rule as it did
because of (decisions applying the 14th Amendment) ,"
minnesots v. National Tea Company, supra, 309 U.S.
at -555, L.Ed. at 922, or “because it felt
under complusion of federal law as enunciated by this
Court so to hold,” Mississippi ex rel. Southern Railroad
Cc any v. ‘ayfield, 340 U.S. 1, 5, 95 L.Ed. 3, 8, 71 S.Ct.
1, orth the result that the state and federal grounds
are "so interwoven that we are unable to conclude that
the judgment rests upon an independent interpretation

of the state law,” State Tax Commissioner v. Van Catt,
306 U.S. 511, 514, 83 L.Ed. 950, 952, 29 S.Ct. 605.

Jankovich, supra, at 443.

In order to follow the established practice of avoiding con- |

stitutionai decisions where possible, United States v. Simpson, |

435 U.S. 6 (1978), the writ of certiorari should not issue because
the lower court's decision is svpported by adequate state grounds.
The Supreme Court's power "is to correct wrong judgments, not to

revise opinions.” Zacchini v. Scripp-Howard Broadcasting Company,

433 U.S. 562, 53 L.Ed. 2d 965, 970 (1977).

Finally, this Court's summary dismissal of Brintley v. Michigan,
supra, does not require the granting of the petition for certiorari
in this case, as Petitioner suggests. An unexp’icated dispusition
of a lower court's decision settles the case fo. the parties but
does not necessarily determine the validity of the lower court's

reasoning as expressed in its ppinion. Mandel v. Bradley, 432 U.S.

173 (1977). Brintley, supra, presented the question whether
separate convictions and consecutive sentences for both a felony
and for felony firearm violate the Michigan and the United States
constitutional prohibitions against double jeopardy. The federal
constitutional issue was never reached, however, for the case was
@ecided as a matter of Michigan's highest court construing its
own statute in light of its own laws. Michigan is entitied to conclia
a decision different from that reached by Missouri and the principle»
involved in the two cases remains unchanged -- since the decisions

were reached by ruling upon adequate, independent state grounds,

tein SE a
Pt ee

a te er ree er ar ee en oe

. there ts no substantial fcderal auestion.

This Court's recent decision in Albernaz v. United States,

. No. 79-1709 (March 9, 1981), does not dictate a contrary result
with respect to the issues raised herein. The holding in Albernaz
was based on the finding of the Supreme Court that the statutes in
question represented two (2) separate offenses. Justices Stewart,
Marshall, and Stevens, who Joined in the majority opinion in Whalen,

supra, concurred in the judgment in Albernaz, supra, stating that

a legislature may not provide cumulative sentences for the same

sd crime.
Thus, the result reached by the Missouri Supreme Court in

Sours II, remains unchanged by’the holding in Albernaz.

CONCLUSION _

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of Certiorari .

should net be granted,

Respectfully submitted,

Missouri Bar No. - 27345
Municipal Courts Building
1320 Market Street

St. Louis, Mo. 63103

Attorney for Respondent

me

Rule 21

The Petition for Certiorari

1. The petition for writ of certiorari shall contain,
in the order here indicated:
(a) The questions presented for review, expressed in
the terms and circumstances of the case but without
unnecessary detail. The statement of the questions

should be short and concise and should not be argumen-

i

tative or repetitious. The statement of a question pre-
sented will be deemed to comprise every subsidiary ques-
tion fairly included therein. Only the questions set
forth in the petition or fairly included therein will ]
be considered by the Court.

(b) A list of all perties to the proceeding in the court
whose judgment is sought to be reviewed, except where
the caption of the case in this Court contains the names
of all parties. This listing may be done in a footnote.
(c) A table of contents and table of authorities, if

required by Rule 33.5.

(d) A reference to the official and unofficial reports

of any opinions delivered in the courts of administrative

agency below.

(e) A concise statement of the grounds on which the

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked showing:

, (i) The date of the Aduuekt Ge decree sought to

be reviewed, and the time of its entry;
(ii) The date of any order respecting a rehearing,
and the date and terms of any order granting an |
extension of time within which to petition for cer-
tiorari; and
(iii) Where a saab proitadts vita for writ of certiorari
is filed under Rule ‘1s. 5 reliance upon ‘that Rule
shall be expressly noted and the cross-petition shall |
state the date of receipt of the petition for =

orari in connection with which the cross-petition.

«
“
“ se
-
4

— er re -_—— 7

is filed;
(iv) The statutory provision believed to confer on

this Court jurisdiction to review the judgment. or -

decree in question by writ of certiorari.

(f) The constitutional provisions, treaties, statutes,
Ordinances, and regulations which the case involved, set-
ting them out verbatim, and giving the appropriate cita-
tion therefor. If the provisions involved are lengthy,
their citation alone will suffice at this point, and their
pertinent text then shall he set forth in the appendix
referred to in subparagraph 1 (k) of this Rule,

(g) A concise statement of the case containing the

facts material to the consideration ofthe questions
presented.

(h) If review of the judgment of a state court is sought,
the statement of the case shall also specify the state in
the proceedings, both in the court of first instance and in
the appellate court, at which the federal questions sought
to be reviewed were raised; the method or manner of

raising them and the way in which they were passed upon

by the court; such pertinent quotation of specific por-
tions of the record, or Summary thereof, with specific
reference to the places in the record where the matter

appears (e€.g., ruling on exception, portion of court's

charge and exception thereto, assignment of errors) as
will show that the federal question was timely and
Properly raised so as to give this Court jurisdiction to
review the judgment on writ of certiorari.

Where the portions of the record relied upcn under ‘
this subparagraph are voluminous, they shall be included in |
the appendix referred to in subparagraph 1 (k) of this
Rule.

(i) If review of the judgment of a federal court is pr
‘ sought, the statement of the case ‘shall also show the basis :

for federal jurisdiction in the court of first instance.

‘
rw **
+4 . “e

(j) A direct and concise argument amplifying the rea-
sons relied on for the allowance of the writ. \ See Rule 17.
(k) An appendix containing, in the following order:
(i) Copies of any opinions, orders, findings of fact,
and conclusions of law, whether written or oral (if
recorded and transcribed), delivered upon the render- :
ing of the judgment or decree by the court whose
decision is sought to be reviewed.
(ii) Copies of any other such opinions, orders, find-
ings of fact, and conclusions of law rendered by courts
Or administrative agencies in the case, and, if refer-
ence thereto is necessary to ascertain the grounds of
the judgment or decree, of those in companion cases.
Each of these documents shall include the caption
showing the name of the issuing court or agency and
the title and number of the case, and the date of its
entry.
(iii) A copy of the judgment or decree sought to be
reviewed and any order on rehearing, including in
each the caption showing the name of the issuing
court or agency, the title and number of the case,
and the date of entry of the judgment, decree, or
order on reheariug.
(iv) Any other appended materials.
If what is required by this paragraph or by subparagtaphs
1(f) and (h) of this Rule, to be included in the petition
is voluminous, it tice, if more convenient, be separately
presented.
2. The petition for writ of certiorari shall be produced in
conformity with Rule 33. The Clerk shall not accept any petition
for writ of certiorari that does not comply with this Rule and
with Rule 33, except that a party proceeding in forma pauperis may
proceed in the manner provided in male a. xg: ‘"
3. All contentions in support of a petition for writ of cer-

tiorari shall be set forth in the body of the petition, as pro-

es ee Pe ———e —

= permeate eet re re -——

vided in subparagraph 1 (j) of this Rule. No separate brief

. —
"

in support of a petition for a writ of certiorari will be received,

~ and the Clerk will refuse to file any petition for a writ of cer--

tiorari to which is annexed or appended any supporting brief. .
4. The petition for writ of certiorari shall be as short as
possible, but may not exceed 30 pages, excluding the subject 2
index, table of authorities, any verbatim quotations required
by subparagraph 1 (f) of this Rule, and the appendix.
5. The failure of a petitioner to present with accuracy,
brevity, and clearness whatever is essential to a ready and ade-
quate understanding of the points requiring consideration will

be a sufficient reason for denying his petition.

”*

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1346%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
