# Opposition — Schanbarger v. Wright

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1288%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 451 U.S. 908

## Text

ocatininisaneanenen tect Poa oo — ao ant ee

No. 80-1330 MAR 9@

See

CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

October Te-m, 1980 |

DONALD SCHANBARGER,

Petitioner,
-against-
POLICE CHIEF OF THE VILLAGE OF

MASSENA, NEW YORK, Dale Wright,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS OF THE SECOND CIRCUIT

CARTER, CONBOY, BARDWELL,
CASE & BLACKMORE

Attorneys for Respondent

EUGENE E. NAPIERSKI

40 Steuben Street

Albany, New York 12207

Phone: 518-465-3484

|

|

TABLE OF CONTENTS

es SE i ees lames ted whaabas ee

og eer eee rey rere res verre

Argument

Conclusion

PAGE

7%

°-%

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:
Adler v. Medrano, 416 U.S. 802 (1974)

Hoffman v. Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. 592 (1975) .......

O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488 (1974)

Preiser v. Rodriguiz, 411 U.S. 475 (1973) .........+.

Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362 (1976) ..
Steffanelli v. Minard, 342 U.S. 117 (195

U.S. Constitution, Article II] §2 ......
Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) .
Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971)

o#eeeeeeeeeene

Pe ieihenes ‘oes

~

° +

No. 80-1330

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

DONALD SCHANBARGER,

Petitioner,
-against-

POLICE CHIEF OF THE VILLAGE OF
MASSENA, NEW YORK, Dale Wright,

Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS OF THE SECOND CIRCUIT

CARTER, CONBOY, BARDWELL,
CASE & BLACKMORE

Attorneys for Respondent

EUGENE E. NAPIERSKI

40 Steuben Street

Albany, New York 12207

Phone: 518-465-3484

’%

a

Statement of the Case

On October 31, 1977, at 2:00 in the morning, the plaintiff, Donald
Schanbarger, was walking on a sidewalk adjacent to Main Street in
the Village of Massena, New York. He was wearing a hooded jacket

-with the hood over a portion of his head. He was stopped and

questioned by two uniformed Massena police officers, Harold
Terry and Michael Kroeger. The plaintiff refused to give his name, a
reason for his presence, or any other information.

Several hours earlier, the officers had received a teletype message
stating that a certain certified mental patient, Thomas Myers, had
been missing from the St. Lawrence State Hospital since 8:00 p.m.
of the previous day. This hospital is less than 40 miles from the
Village of Massena. The message was an all-point bulletin directed
to the police departments in the areas and contained a physical
description of the missing patient. The message also stated that the
patient had homocidal and suicidal tendencies.

The physical description of the missing mental patient closely fit
the description of Mr. Schanbarger. The similarity in the physical
description of the two men, together with the lateness of the hour
and the fact that Mr. Schanbarger was wearing a jacket with a hood
which covered a portion of his head, prompted the officers to stop
him and ask him his name, address, and an explanation of his
conduct.

Upon being asked his name by the officers, Mr. Schanbarger
refused to answer and, indeed, refused at first to stop walking. The
officers believed that he was behaving evasively and irrationally.
This, together with all the other facts and circumstances, prompted
the officers to detain Mr. Schanbarger by bringing him to their
headquarters. Mr. Schanbarger was charged with obstructing
governmental administration (Penal Law §195.05). Later that
morning, after having learned that the escaped mental patient had
been found, this charge was dismissed and the plaintiff left the
police station witnuot che police officers learning his name or any
other information which would identify him.

As a result of this incident, Mr. Schanbarger commenced an
action in United States District Court seeking a total of Twenty-
Two Million Dollars in damages for what he alleged to be an
unconstitutional violation and deprivation of his rights. This action
was tried in June of 1979, and after a full trial on the merits covering
a span of five days, the jury returned a verdict of no cause of action.

Having been unsuccessful on his claim for money damages, Mr.
Schanbarger commenced the present action on December 5, 1979.
In his complaint, Mr. Schanbarger seeks various items of equitable
relief against the defendant in the nature of orders of injuction and
prohibitions restraining and prohibiting said defendant and more
particularly, members of the defendant’s police department from
doing certain things in connection with its functioning as a police
department. As part of the relief sought, Mr. Schanbarger asks that
the defendant and members of his department, be enjoined from
any arrest until someone is appointed by the United States District
Court to supervise the defendant, Police Chief, in the discharge of
such duties.

On February 4, 1980, the defendant brought on a motion to
dismiss the above complaint for failure to state a claim upon which
relief can be granted. Upon submission of papers from both parties,
and after due deliberation, Judge James T. Foley issued a written
decision on February 21, 1980, granting the defendant’s motion and
dismissing the complaint.

Plaintiff took an appeal from this Judgment and on September
18, 1980, the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
unanimously affirmed the Judgment of the District Court on the
opinion of Judge Foley (App. 7-9).

SUMMARY OF AGRUMENT

The District Court properly dismissed the Plaintiff's
complaint in view of the fact that the Plaintiff lacked the
requisite standing and in view of the fact that the doctrines of
res judicata and equitable restraint precluded the court from
granting the relief which the Plaintiff sought in his complaint.

?%

4.

Argument

A party seeking injunctive relief must demonstrate to the Court that
acts are presently being committed which will result in his
irreparable injury. Past exposure to alleged unconstitutional

-practices does not show a present case or controversy regarding

injunctive relief, when unaccompanied by any continuing, present
adverse effects. Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362 (1976). In order to
warrant invocation of federal court jurisdiction and to justify
exercise of the Court’s remedial powers on his behalf, the plaintiff is
absolutely required to set forth the existence of a case or
controversy between himself and the defendant within the meaning
of Article III §2 of the United States Constitution, Warth v. Seldin,
422 U.S. 490 (1975). It is respectfully submitted that a review of Mr.
Schanbarger’s complaint establishes that the plaintiff has totally
failed to meet the Article II] requirement and thus is without
standing to invoke federal court jurisdiction.

A careful reading of the plaintiff's complaint clearly shows the
absence of any allegation that the defendant is presently committing
or threatening to commit any actions against the plaintiff. Indeed,
the sole basis for Mr. Schanbarger’s claim for equitable relief is a
single incident which occurred back in October of 1977 and which is
set forth in detail in the statement of facts portion of this brief.
Under the law as enunciated by the United States Supreme Court in
Rizzo, supra, a single incident which occurred over two and on-half
years ago does not set forth a justiciable controversy supporting a
claim for equitable relief. The issue of justiciability is the threshold
question in every federal case, determining the power of the court to
entertain the suit. Warth v. Seldin, supra. In view of the plaintiff's
failure to allege facts sufficient to meet this threshold requirement,
the District Court had no choice but to dismiss Mr. Schanbarger’s
complaint.

In addition to the plaintiff's lack of standing, there are a number
of other reasons which mandated the District Court's dismissal of
this complaint. As Judge Foley indicated in his decision (App. !-6),
the doctrine of res judicata is fully applicable in actions brought
under 42 USC §1983, citing Preiser v. Rodriguiz, 411 US 475, 497
(1973). As pointed out in the statement of facts, Mr. Schanbarger

’%

-%

5.

had a full and fair opportunity to litigate the issue of whether the
police officers’ conduct was reasonable and proper. The same issue
forms the basis of his current action. It was his decision to seek
redress in the form of an action for money damages: Having been
unsuccessful in this endeavor, he is now attempting to pursue a
claim for equitable relief. Mr. Schanbarger has had his day in
Court. To allow him to pursue a claim in equity would be to work an
undue hardship on the defendant. It is respectfully submitted that
the policy underlying the doctrine of res judicata precludes the
plaintiff from bringing this follow-up claim for equitable relief.

Judge Foley, in dismissing Mr. Schanbarger’s complaint, also
found that serious questions exist concerning the propriety of a
federal court enjoining police from conduct that might be lawful
(App. 1-6); citing Allee v. Medrano, 416 US 302, 813-816 (1974)
(App. 1-6). He also held the doctrine of equitable restraint to be
applicable (App. 1-6), citing Younger v. Harris, 401 US 37 (1971)
and Hoffman v. Pursue, Ltd., 420 US 592 (1975). An injunction is
an extraordinary remedy which should be exercised sparingly and
with utmost caution. This settled rule of law becomes particularly
true when the federal courts are asked to enjoin the activity of a local
governmental entity. Important considerations of federalism are
additional factors which weigh against any such action. Federal
Courts must be constantly mindful of the “special delicacy of the
adjustment to be preserved between federal equitable power and
State administration of its own law.” Rizzo v. Goode, supra; O'Shea
v. Littleton, 414 US 488 (1974); Stefanelli v. Minard, 342 US 117
(1951).

The United States Supreme Court in Rizzo, further held that
where, as in the instant action, injunctive relief is sought against
those in charge of a local government entity, the principles of equity
militate heavily against the grant of an injunctive except under the
most extraordinary of circumstances. The Court in Rizzo quoted
the previous decision in O'Shea v. Littleton, supra, which stated
that “a major continuing intrusion of the equitable power of the
federal courts into the daily conduct of state criminal proceedings is
in sharp conflict with the principles of equitable restraint . . . “and
held that the above principle is equally applicable where the
intrusion involves the activity of a local government entity.

-*

6.

Clearly the conduct which forms the basis of Mr. Schanbarger’s
complaint cannot be found to constitute “most extraordinary
circumstances” as envisioned by the Supreme Court in Rizzo.
Police officers have the responsibility for the protection of the lives
and property of our citizens. On the morning of October 31, 1977,
under all of the above-mentioned circumstances, the officers
reasonably and in good faith detained Mr. Schanbarger. In fact,
had they not done so, they would have been remiss in their duties. It
should be noted that this detention which forms the basis for Mr.
Schanbarger’s claim for equitable relief could easily have been
avoided had Mr. Schanbarger simply provided the officers with his
name and a brief explanation of his presence. Despite all of the
foregoings, Mr. Schanbarger is asking this Court to in effect assume
control and supervision of the Village of Massena police force. It is
respectfully submitted that such judicial intervention is in direct
conflict with the pronouncements of the Supreme Court regarding
federal equitable restraint, and accordingly, upon this ground, as
well as those previously discussed, the plaintiff has failed to state a
claim upon which relief can be granted.

CONCLUSION
The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

EUGENE E. NAPIERSKI

~

Dated: Albany, New York
March, 1981

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1288%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
