# Opposition — Leonhard v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1221%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 451 U.S. 908

## Text

No. 80-1260

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1980

‘4
v

Tomas S. Leonnarp, et al.,
Petitioners,
against
Unirep States or America, et al.,

Respondents.

BRIEF FOR STATE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Rosert ABRAMS

Attorney General of the
State of New York

Attorney for New York State
Respondents

Office and P.O. Address

Two World Trade Center

New York, New York 10047

Tel. No. (212) 488-3105

SHIRLEY ADELSON SIEGEL
Solictor General

Geratp J. Ryan
Assistant Attorney General
Of Counsel

|

-*%

-%

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ArcuMENT—Petitioners’ present no grounds for cer-
OE io HAVING DEKE oy RereRR VINE oi eeeebe

Petitioners’ Claims Do Not Rise to a Con-
SN PN 7, Ca oiac dn he's Oe oo ae

Petitioner Ledénhard’s Suit Is Time-Barred

. The Eleventh Amendment Bars Mainte-

nance of Pétitioners’ Suit ...............

The Petitioners Allege No Personal Involve-
ment By the State Respondents ..........

The Petitioners Have Failed to Adequately

‘Present Reasons For the Supreme Court to

Issue a Writ of Certiorari ...............

I ee ea oly cent Se ot od Ae Ne

*-.

ii Cases Crrep

Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970) ..
Alabama v. Pugh, 438 U.S. 781 (1978) ............
Board of Regents v. Tomanio, 446 U.S, 478 (1980)
Boothe v. Hammock, 605 F. 2d 661 (2d Cir. (1979)
Briley v. California, 564 F.2d 849 (9th Cir. (1977)

Competitive Associates Inc. v. Fantastic Fudges, Inc.
58 F.R.D, 121 (D.C. eS > SNE ods be eticen sence

Edelman v. Jovdan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974) . intlek eee re

Ford Motor Company v. Department of Treasury,
See ie GO LEY via vivnn cdchhpecesenecnnens

Greenholtz v. Inmates of the. Nebraska Penal and
Correctional Complex, et al., 442 U.S. 1 (1979)

Johnson v. Glick, 481 F.2d 1028 (2d Cir.), cert. den.,
GER Ca SO CRED hike. we foes ds ccc dans bon ban

Johnson v. Railway Express Agency,
421 U.S. 4546 (1980) 2.0... cccccvccccceccvcces

Martinez v. California, 444 U.S. 277 (1980) ........

Monell v. Department of Social Services,
GO: FE PER WA hed daRe cae Agrdbascoye

Quern v. Jordan, 440 U.S. 332 (1979) .............

Quinn v. Syracuse Model Neighborhood Corporation,
613 F.2d 438 (2d Cir. 1980) ........... eee eee

Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362 (1976) ...............
Taylor v. Mayone, 626 F.2d 247 (2d Cir. 1980) .....

oo oH

on

CASES CITED

StTaTuTes AND Ruues Crirep
Constitution of the United States

Eleventh Amendment ..............05:
SP AMON HED osvveccadeccvevvectons
i Sheba ct secedh 6 vee gest sees

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

New York State Corrections Law

SE AME asa cae CWeeepedreccceisueds

New York Executive Law

ROE BD hac cetidtccnspocvoccocccccces

New York Civil Practice Law and Rules

ie uC eh he va

ili

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States

ME dace Balante » Uaiath sie Vows 4.6 beers kia
en ne Nd ae eee

i |

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

Tomas S. Leonwarp, et al.,

Petitioners,

against

Unrrep Srares or America, et al.,
Respondents.

A.
v

BRIEF FOR STATE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Questions Presented

Do the petitioners, their children and their natural
father, have any actionable claim against the State respon-
dents, who released a prisoner into federal custody in
connection with a plan to use his testimony to secure
certain convictions, resulting in his obtaining a new
identity for himself and the mother of the said children
and for them as well, and in the petitioner father’s loss
of visitation and other parental rights during such period?

If there is any such claim is it barred by the Statute
of Limitations and the Eleventh Admendment?

2
Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, dated August 28,
1980, which affirms the District Court, is reported at 633
F’, 2d 599, and it appears in the petition in Appendix “A”,
at pp. A-8 et seq.

The opinion of the District Court, dismissing the claims
against the State defendants, is dated October 25, 1979,
is not officially reported and is printed in Appendix “A”
at pp. A-72 et seq.

Jurisdiction

Petitioners seek to invoke the jurisdiction of this Court
under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Statement of the Case

Defendant Calabrese was released from the custody of
the New York State Department of Correctional Services
upon the granting of his absolute discharge by the state
agency defendants. Prior to his discharge in the late
1960’s Calabrese was in state custody following his con-
viction for robbery.

Subsequent to his release, Calabrese joined the Federal
Witness Protection Program and, as agreed, he, Rochelle
Leonhard and her three children received new identities
and were relocated in exchange for his cooperation with
federal authorities.

In order to safeguard the welfare of the relocated
parties, plaintiff Leonhard was unable to see his children
during the period from 1967 to 1975.

Plaintiffs filed a complaint with the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Western District of New York seeking
declaratory relief, injunctive relief and monetary damages

7?

against defendants. Upon motions to dismiss brought
pursuant to Rule 12 of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro
cedure, the District Court (Burke, J.) granted the motions
and dismissed the complaint.

The United States Court of Appeals, Second Cireuit,
subsequently affirmed the denial of all claims.

ARGUMENT
Petitioners present no grounds for certiorari.

I. Petitioners’ Claims Do Not Rise to a Constitutional Level.

The substance of the complaint filed against the New
York State Department of Correctional Services, New
York State Board of Parole, Benjamin Ward and Eugene
Hammock® is that the two latter parties released defen-
dant Calabrese from a New York State Correctional
Facility allegedly in violation of the authority and rules
of the Parole Board. However, since this claim does not
rise to the level of a constitutional violation, the claim
is not cognizable by the Supreme Court.

In order to state a valid claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983,
one must show the deprivation of a federally protected
constitutional right. Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398
U.S. 144 (1970). The release of a state prisoner by state
authorities is, however, a state matter, and in no way
can it be construed as a violation of federally protected
right. (Moreover, Calabrese’s release was clearly proper
under New York State law. Corrections Law, § 281, para-
graph 3, in effect at the time of the release, authorized
“absolute release and discharge”.)

*The suit was brought naming inter alin Ward and Ham-
mock and their “predecessors in office.” At the time of the
release of Calabrese, from State custody in 1968, Neither Ward
nor Hammock held the public office that he held at the time of
the commencement of this suit in 1978.

*»

4

This Court has held that the possibility of parole release
is an interest which is not necessarily entitled to due
process protection. Greenholte v. Inmates of the Nebraska
Penal and Correctional Complez, et al., 442 U.S. 1 (1979).
The Second Circuit, in construing Greenholte in Boothe v.
Hammock, 605 F. 2d 661, 6638, 664 (2d Cir. 1979), found
that although a state’s statutory scheme for determining
parole release can create a protectible expectation of
parole, New York’s parole provisions do not establish
such a scheme, While guidelines are used to structure
the exercise of discretion (see New York Executive Law
§258-c4 [McKinney Supp. 1978]), no entitlement to
release is created.

Since there is no constitutional protection of parole
release in New York, such a release is not reviewable by
the Supreme Court. Moreover, decisions of the Executive
Branch do not automatically invoke due process protec-
tion; “there simply is no constitutional guarantee that all
executive decision making must comply with standards that
assure error-free determinations. This is especially true
with respect to the sensitive choices presented by the
administrative decision to grant parole release.” Green-
holte v. Nebraska, supra at 7.

If plaintiffs were injured by the release of Calabrese,
such injury would not be proximately related to the State
defendants’ actions, nor could such an injury be foreseen.
Therefore, the District Court was correct in dismissing the
complaint against the State defendants on the ground that
the complaint alleges no cause of action upon which relief
can be granted pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, and the
Second Circuit was correct in affirming that judgment.

Il. Petitioner Leonhard’s Suit Is Time-Barred.

Leonard asserts that his cause of action is not time-
barred. It is well established that in order to ascertain
the statute of limitations applicable to a claim made pur-

5

suant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, one must look to the most
appropriate state statute of limitations. Board of Regents
v. Tomanio, 446 U.S, 478, (1980); Johnson v. Railway Ea-
press Agency, 421 U.S, 454, 462, (1980); 7'aylor v. Mayone,
626 F. 2d 247 (2d Cir, 1980); Quinn v. Syracuse Model
Neighborhood Corporation, 6138 F. 2d 488, 449 (2d Cir.
1980). Therefore, the statute of limitations under 42
U.S.C. § 1983 is the three year period under New York
Civil Practice Law and Rules § 214(2),

The doctrine of fraudulent concealment which could toll
the limitations period is inapplicable to the State defen-
dants. Since Calabrese’s release was always a matter of
public record and the State never tried to conceal any
facts surrounding the release, plaintiff Leonhard was
aware of all the essential elements of his claim at the time
of the release ten years ago. Briley v. California, 564
F, 2d 849 (9th Cir. 1977); Competitive Associates, Inc. v.
Fantastic Fudge, Inc., 58 F.R.D, 121 (D.C.N.Y. 19738).

Also inapplicable to the State defendants is the “con-
tinuous wrong” argument used in claiming a tolling of
the statute of limitations. The alleged wrongdoing by
these defendants was complete upon the release of Cala-
brese. In short, the time lapse of more than ten years
between the accrual of the cause of action against the
State defendants and the commencement of the instant
suit renders plaintiff Leonhard’s suit time-barred.

Ill. The Eleventh Amendment Bars Maintenance of Peti-
tioners’ Suit.

It is well established that the Eleventh Amendment bars
a suit against an unconsenting state or its agencies.
Quern v. Jordan, 440 U.S. 332 (1979); Alabama v. Pugh,
438 U.S. 781 (1978); Edelman vy. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651
(1974). This principle was reaffirmed in Monell v. De-
partment of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658 (1978), in which
the Court avoided, at footnote 54, any holding bringing

6

states within the sphere of 42 U.S.C. § 1988 or overruling
the Eleventh Amendment precedents concerning states,

The named defendants are state agencies which are
merely functional expressions of the sovereign and state
officials who at the time of the release of Calabrese did
not hold those public officers. Therefore, plaintiff’s claim,
if allowed, amounts to the suing of the State directly for
damages. In such a case, the State is entitled to invoke
its sovereign immunity from suit. Ford Motor Company
v. Department of Treasury, 323 U.S. 459, 464 (1945).
Furthermore, plaintiffs never alleged consent to this suit
by the State or its agencies, as is required. Hdelman v.
Jordan, supra, at 672-673,

IV. The Petitioners Allege No Personal Involvement by the
State Defendants.

Nowhere in the complaint is there any indication that
the State defendants were personally involved in the events
complained of, or even had personal knowledge of these
incidents. There is no specific allegation that any of these
defendants participated in the removal or concealment of
the children from Leonhard. Any connection between
Calabrese’s release and the injuries alleged, assuraing that
there is such a connection, is too tenuous to support a
claim against the State defendants. See Martinez v. Cali-
fornia, 444 U.S. 277 (1980).

The plaintffs attempt to impose liability on the theory
that some of the individual defendants occupied high posi-
tions of authority must be rejected. The doctrine of
respondeat superior does not apply in a civil rights action
and may not be invoked to circumvent the “personal in-
volvement” requirement. Riezgo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362,
375-376 (1976); Johnson v. Glick, 481 F, 2d 1028, 1033-34
(2d Cir.), cert. den, 414 U.S. 1083 (1973). It is the rule
that an official will not be held liable in a civil rights
action unless he directly participated in the alleged
wrongful conduct.

7

V. The Petitioners Have Failed to Adequately Present
Reasons for the Supreme Court to Issue a Writ of
Certiorari.

Rules 17 and 19 of the Rules of the Supreme Court
serve as a guide for lawyers in deciding whether to file
a petition for certiorari. They state the primary reasons
which will be considered by the Court. While the stand-
ards outlined are neither controlling nor fully indicative
of the Court’s discretion, they indicate the character of
reasons which will compel consideration of a petition.

As shown by the discussion above, there is no substantial
federal question involved in this case. Neither do the
plaintiffs allege a conflict between the decisions of two
courts. In short, the plaintiffs, in their complaint, have
not met the suggested guidelines of the Supreme Court
Rules.

Since the Eleventh Amendment provides absolute im-
munity to the New York State Board of Parole and the
New York State Department of Correctional Services,
the complaint against those two agencies was properly
dismissed. Because the doctrine of respondeat superior
does not apply to Ward and Hammock and they are in-
sulated from § 1983 liability, the complaint against them
was properly dismissed. There were proper alternative
grounds for dismissal as well, as we have shown, but these
grounds alone are dispositive.

7%

8

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, the Court should deny the
petition for certiorari.

Dated: New York, New York
February 9, 1981

Respectfully submitted,

Rosert ABRAMS

Attorney General of the
State of New York

Attorney for New York State
Respondents

Suimiey ApELsON SIEGEL
Solictor General

. Geraup J. Ryan

Assistant Attorney General
Of Counsel

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1221%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
