# Opposition — Shakespeare Co. v. Fury Imports, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1063%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 450 U.S. 921

## Text

. Sentences

80-1089

No.

in the
Supreme Court

of the
United States

OCTOBER TERM 1980

SHAKESPEARE COMPANY, a Delaware corporation,
Petitioner,

VS.

FURY IMPORTS, INC., a New York corporation,
Respondent.

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

EDWARD S. CORLETT, III KENNETH L. RYSKAMP
CORLETT MERRITT GOODWIN, RYSKAMP,
KILLIAN & SIKES WELCHER, CARRIER

116 West Flagler Street & DONOFF, P.A.

Miami, Florida 33130 401 City National

305-377-8931 Bank Building

25 West Flagler Street
Miami, Florida 33130
305-379-8353

Counsel of Recerd for

Respondent

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Statement of Jurisdiction......................

Statement of the Case......................00.

Reasons for Denying the Writ..................

I.

II.

ITI.

IV.

Application of judicial discretion under
Federal Rule of Evidence 403 provides no basis
for Supreme Court jurisdiction..............

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 41(a)(2) was
neither violated nor considered by the District
Court of the Court of Appeals and thus provided
no basis for this Court’s jurisdiction..........

District Court properly followed the “Law of
the Case” rule when retrying this cause after
opinion and mandate of the Court of Appeals..

The Court of Appeals properly followed the
State Law of New York in ruling that the
Statute of Limitations does not commence
until a breach occurs..................00005

a ee ore

INDEX TO AUTHORITIES
Case Page

Day & Zimmerman, Inc. v. Challoner,
423 U.S. 3, 96 S.Ct. 167,46 L.Ed. 2d3......... 8

Goldberg v. United States,
425 U.S. 94, 96 S.Ct. 1338, 47 L.Ed, 2d 603..... 3

Guard-Life Corp. v. S. Parker Hardware
Manufacturing Corp.,
50 N.Y.2d 183, 428 N.Y.S.2d 628, 406 NE2d 445

SN reo aes Caw ve ks oe nd Phe See eos 8
Norfolk and Western Railway Company v. Liepelt,

___U.S.___, 100 S.Ct. __.,62 L.Ed.2d689... 3

(Other Authorities)

ee RUIN v0. 6 ae Os Wives eee scack ek es 2
Rule 19(b), Rules of Supreme Court of the United

DCR ered. bakes jae hed Meng bas 2
Federal Rule of Evidence 403................... 2,4
Federal Rule of Evidence 801................... 2
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 41(a)(2).......... 5, 6

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 44.1............. 2

No.

in the
Supreme Court
of the
United States

OCTOBER TERM 1980

SHAKESPEARE COMPANY, a Delaware corporation,
Petitioner,

vs.

FURY IMPORTS, INC., a New York corporation,
Respondent.

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Respondent, Fury Imports, Inec., a New York
corporation, responds to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
filed by the petitioner and directed to the decision of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
dated September 8, 1980, with rehearing denied December
3, 1989.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The petitioner indicates that this petition is taken
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1) providing for writs of
certiorari to the United States Courts of Appeals. This
court has adopted Rule 19(b), Rules of Supreme Court
of the United States, indicating the following considerations
for exercising discretionary review over the United
States Court of Appeals:

“Where a court of appeals has rendered a
decision in conflict with the decision of another
court of appeals on the same matter; or has
decided an important state or territorial question
in a way in conflict with applicable state or
territorial law; or has decided an important
question of federal law which has not been,
but should be, settled by this court; or has
decided a federal question in a way in conflict
with applicable decisions of this court; or has
so far departed from the accepted and usual
course of judicial proceedings, or so far sanctioned
such a departure by a lower court, as to call
for an exercise of this court’s power of supervision.”

It is evident from the most summary review of the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari that the petitioner fails
to comply with these jurisdictional requirements. The
petitioner raises no constitutional issues. The petitioner
cites no federal statutes. The petitioner cites two rules
of evidence and one rule from the rules of procedure.
One rule of evidence (403) grants to the trial judge
broad discretion while the other rule of evidence (801)
was never cited by the court of appeals. The rule of
procedure (44.1) was never cited by the court of appeals.

The respondent respectfully submits that there is no
basis for jurisdiction in this court and that the issues
presented are issues only between the parties hereto
and are not issues of substantial public interest. In
effect, the petitioner has taken a second appeal to this
court.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This cause has been tried twice by the district
court and considered twice on appeal by the court of
appeals. It would serve no useful purpose to submit a
lengthy detailed analysis of all the facts and proceedings
in the lower courts. The statement of the case submitted
by the petitioner is substantially correct as to procedural
facts but erroneous as to conclusions of law. The
respondent will make further reference to the facts
and issues in the argument portion of this brief.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
I.

APPLICATION OF JUDICIAL DISCRETION
UNDER FEDERAL RULE OF EVIDENCE
403 PROVIDES NO BASIS FOR SUPREME
COURT JURISDICTION.

The petitioner’s premise is that this court has not
decided a case dealing with Federal Rule of Evidence
403 since the rules were adopted. This is an erroneous
statement. In Goldberg v. United States, 425 U.S. 94,
96 S.Ct. 13838, 47 L.Ed.2d 603 and Norfolk and Western
Railway Company v. Liepelt, US. »1008.Ct.

, 62 L.Ed.2d 689, this court upheld the broad judicial
discretion given under FRE 403. There is no hint from
these decisions that this court is about to limit the
discretion of the trial court under FRE 403.

There was good reason for the ruling of the district
judge and the court of appeals. In the first trial the
trial judge required the damages to be computed on an
annual basis (32a). Thus, if 150,000 reels were ordered
for 1970 (for example), and 150,000 reels were not received
in that year, the damages for 1970 were computed on
the deficiency. The facts indicated that reels were being
shipped constantly and it would be difficult to determine
which reels applied to which order. The contract was
not terminated until 1973. The trial judge felt that a
remark by counsel referring to damage allocations under
the special verdict should not be distorted into something
it was never intended to be (84-85a).* The facts indicated
that the remark would be misleading and confusing to
the jury (84a). The court of appeals agreed with the
trial judge’s exercise of discretion under Federal Rule
of Evidence 403 (8a). This court does not review
discretionary evidentiary rulings after the court of
appeals has found no abuse of discretion.

*Reference is to petitioner's appendix.

I.

FEDERAL RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE
41(a(2) WAS NEITHER VIOLATED NOR
CONSIDERED BY THE DISTRICT COURT
OR THE COURT OF APPEALS AND THUS
PROVIDED NO BASIS FOR THIS COURT'S
JURISDICTION.

Federal Rule 41(a)(2) relates to the dismissal of
actions by a party. It does not deal with the question of
damages. In the first opinion of the court of appeals, it
was noted (35a-footnote 16):

“Shakespeare can be held liable only for those
breaches by Omori that it induced. This is a
substantial point on the facts of this case. For
instance, there was evidence that Omori was
in financial trouble in 1969-70, which might
have affected its capacity to produce reels. In
addition, it is possible that Omori breached
the contract in part even before it entered the
agreement with Shakespeare under which it
agreed to stop dealing with Fury.”

At the second trial, respondent concluded that the
shortages in 1970 resulted from Omori’s production
problems and not Shakespeare's interference. Since
even Shakespeare conceded that the interference took
place on June 10, 1970, and called for action by Omori
one year later, it was difficult to conclude that the
shortages in 1970 were the result of Shakespeare's
interference.

The trial judge never applied Rule 41(a)(2). The
court of appeals never referred to the rule. It is axiomatic
that this court cannot consider a matter not considered
below.

Il.

DISTRICT COURT PROPERLY FOLLOWED
THE “LAW OF THE CASE” RULE WHEN
RETRYING THIS CAUSE AFTER OPINION
AND MANDATE OF THE COURT OF
APPEALS.

The petitioner fails to present the true facts in
this cause. At the first trial, the trial judge held that
New York law governed the question of punitive damages.
After the verdict, the trial judge held that punitive
damages should not have been awarded, again applying
New York law (46a). On appeal, the court of appeals
reversed the judgment n.o.v., and held that under New
York law punitive damages were properly awarded
but, since a new trial was required on compensatory
damages, a retrial was also required on punitive damages
(35-38a). On the first appeal, Shakespeare raised the
question of whether Japanese law governed the punitive
damages issue (see A 1-2).* The court of appeals rejected
this argument and held that the trial judge properly
applied the parties’ stipulation of New York law
(39a-footnote 19). At the second trial, Shakespeare again
tried to inject Japanese law into the punitive damages
issue (48-49a, 70a). The trial judge properly followed
the opinion and mandate of the court of appeals (12a).
When this issue was raised in the second appeal, the
court of appeals held that the trial judge correctly
followed the first opinion (3-4a).

The foregoing events indicate that both the trial
judge and the court of appeals were entirely correct.
There is no further issue for this court to consider.

*Reference is to respondent's appendix.

7

—_

—

IV.

THE COURT OF APPEALS PROPERLY
FOLLOWED THE STATE LAW OF NEW
YORK IN RULING THAT THE STATUTE
OF LIMITATIONS DOES NOT COMMENCE
UNTIL A BREACH OCCURS.

The court of appeals held that the statute of
limitations does not begin until a cause of action accrues.
The court held that a cause of action does not accrue
until a breach occurs, citing numerous New York decisions
(4-8a). After the decision in the second appeal, the
petitioner called to the attention of the court a recent
New York decision in Guard-Life Corp. v. S. Parker
Hardware Manufacturing Corp., 50 N.Y.2d 183, 428
N.Y.S.2d 628, 406 NE2d 445 (1980). The court of appeals
carefully considered this decision and concluded that
this new decision did not change the existing New
York law that a cause of action accrues only when
there is a breach (9-10a).

The petitioner’s reliance upon Day & Zimmerman,
Inc. v. Challoner, 423 U.S. 3, 96 S.Ct. 167, 46 L.Ed.2d 3,
is misplaced. The Challoner case dealt with a federal
court in a diversity action refusing to apply the state's
choice-of-law rules to a personal jury claim which occurred
in Cambodia. In the instant case, the court of appeals
considered the recent New York case (Guard-Life/ and
found that it did not change the New York rule that the
cause of action did not accrue until there was a breach
of contract by Omori. The court of appeals’ interpretation
of the New York law was correct and provides no basis
for jurisdiction in this court.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, the petition for
writ of certiorari should be summarily denied.

Respectfully submitted,

KENNETH L. RYSKAMP
GOODWIN, RYSKAMP,
WELCHER, CARRIER
& DONOFYF, P.A.

401 City National Bank Building

Miami, Florida 33130

305-379-8353

Counsel of Record for Respondent

Appendix

EXCERPTS FROM SHAKESPEARE’S
APPELLEE-CROSS APPELLANT’S BRIEF
IN CASE NO. 75-2421 (PAGES 46-47)

B. If Japanese Law Applies As To Punitive
Damages, It Precludes An Award Of
Punitive Damages In This Case.

At trial, Shakespeare offered to prove that the
concept of punitive damages was entirely absent from
Japanese jurisprudence, and Fury’s counsel accepted
the proffer, App. 919-c, Tr. p. 964, waiving any objections.

The issue of applicability of Japanese law to the
punitive damage issue was clearly reserved in the
stipulation of the parties that the New York law was
the law of the forum, and was brought to the attention
of the Court through a Motion to Strike filed on September
11, 1974. (App. 29-33, R. 297-301). Certain Japanese
statutes, in English translation, were appended to
Shakespeare's Motion, and are set forth in pertinent
part, in the Addendum, Par. I. Shakespeare argued
that the Court was bound to apply Florida’s choice of
law rules, Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Electric Mfg. Co., 313
U.S. 487 (1941); Griffin v. McCoach, 313 U.S. 498 (1941);
Gillies v. Aeronaves de Mexico, S.A., 468 F.2d 281 (5th
Cir. 1972), cert. denied 410 U.S. 931 (1973); and that
Florida’s conflict of law rules mandated the Japanese
law as the law applicable to the punitive damage issue,
Hopkins v. Lockheed Aircraft Corp., 201 So.2d 743,
rev'd on rehearing, 201 So.2d 749 (Fla. 1967); Kilmer v.
Gustason, 211 F.2d 781 (5th Cir. 1954). See also, Franklin
Supply Co. v. Tolman, 454 F.2d 1059 (9th Cir. 1972) (in
an action brought in U.S. District Court in California

App. 1

against an accounting firm for a faulty audit in Venezuela,
held, alternatively, California law governed choice of
law of punitive damages; under California’s “most
significant relationship” test, Venezuela had most
significant relationship to occurrences involved in punitive
damage issue; and since Venezuela law did not recognize
punitive damages, they were not proper); James, supra.

Shakespeare’s argument was rejected by the District
Judge, and the New York law of punitive damages was
held to apply (App. 56, 59-60, R. 557, 560-561). If the
District Court was in error in this regard, and if the
Japanese law applies to the issue of punitive damages,
then an award of punitive damages is precluded in this
case, and the judgment notwithstanding the verdict
ought to be affirmed in this respect.

C. Because An Award Of Punitive Damages
Is Precluded As A Matter Of Law In This
Case, The District Court’s Judgment
Notwithstanding The Verdict Ought To
Be Affirmed As to Punitive Damages, Even
If It is Reversed As To Liability And
Compensatory Damages.

App. 2

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_1063%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
