# Opposition — Village of Hoffman Estates v. Village of Barrington Hills

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0904%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 1126

## Text

| Supreme Court, U.
FILED
JAN 198;
No. 80-908
eT WAN, IR CLERK |
IN THE See ae

Supreme Court of the GQnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1980

VILLAGE OF HOFFMAN ESTATES,
a Municipal Corporation,

Petitioner,
VS.

VILLAGE OF BARRINGTON HILLS, a Municipal Corpo-
ration, and VILLAGE OF SOUTH BARRINGTON, a Mu-
nicipal Corporation,

Respondents.

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME
COURT OF ILLINOIS

R. MARLIN SMITH
One IBM Plaza
Suite 3100
Chicago, Illinois 60611
(312) 467-9300
Counsel for Respondent, Village
of Barrington Hills
DONALD J. KREGER
208 South La Salle Street
Room 900
Chicago, Illinois 60604
(312) 346-8500
Counsel for Respondent, Village

of South Barrington
WENDY U. LARSEN

ALEXANDER R. DOMANSKIS
Davip H. KISTENBROKER
of Ross, HarpIES, O’KEEFE,
BaBCOCK & PARSONS
Chicago, Illinois
ROBERT J. RUBIN
of FRIEDMAN & KOVEN
Chicago, Illinois
Of Counsel.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

PAGE
Ne Pe acs vidhh gai si valdoaresegnccsssvensancuaaeanviasnsbuinacns ll
Additional Statement of the Case ...............ccsccccsssssessseeees l
RN GE PIII yc usrcsesaceseceavenssscoessnissnnesssneveseséesmnnse 2
NIIIITE Siccssscsknlii kaclarsaebncindaulcigvssasip piktenedntatadnabaminiransobisaaeons 4
Point I. The Petitioner has Failed to Carry its

Burden of Showing that a Federal
Question was Decided by or Presented
to the Illinois Supreme Court ................. 4

Point II. The Decision of the Illinois Supreme
Court Rests on an Independent and
Adequate State Ground................cccceeeee 5

Point III. The Decision of the Illinois Supreme
Court does not Invade any Protected
Due Process Right of the Petitioner....... 7

REI R 5 7 RSI NT PEE POPC SEAN as PRED 10

il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases.
American Railway Express Company v. Kentucky, 273
Fae Ny TR BUT Pi ccsinsasestiinsicdonniainigdsticieaieimeiin

Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust & Savings Co. v. Hill, 281 U.S.
ey Oe iktntsainavcccnnesseacininamedidesbanedinabenidiniiialenn

Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437, 438 (1969) ..........

Connecticut Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Moore, 333 USS.
es IEE sccihainsenincttn sa ecthceennalcvsicanonemsepeetaslavadiii

Crowell v. Randell, 35 U.S. (10 Pet.) 368, 392 (1836) ...
Fuller v. State of Oregon, 417 U.S. 40, 50 n. 11 (1974)...
Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 125 (1945)... ee

Murdock v. City of Memphis, 87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 590,
Re PE peccaetniasicdsdeneiinacyicbhastcaubebannnnseneiiuciaailansaias

ge wg RG eT: nn
Paul v. Davis, 434 U.S. 693, 710 (1976) ......cccccceceeeeeeeeees

People v. Disbrow, 16 Cal.3d 101, 545 P.2d 272, 280-81
PE seid iantteeiiaianadtcitnnecjenceiethcswvenbasiciacnielllphinanbaielake

Pruneyard Shopping Center v. Robins,
100 S.Ct. 2035, 2042-43 and n. 8 (1980)...

Southern Burlington NAACP v. Township of Mount
Laurel, 67 N.J. 151, 336 A.2d 713, 725, app. dis-
missed and cert. denied, 423 U.S. 808 (1975) .............

State v. Johnson, 68 N.J. 349, 346 A.2d 66, 67 (1975) ...
Street v. State of New York, 394 U.S. 576, 582 (1969) ...

Suffolk Housing Services v. Town of Brookhaven, 91
Misc.2d 80, 397 N.Y.S.2d 302, 308-09 (1977), mod.
and affd., 73 App.Div.2d 731, 405 N.Y.S.2d 302
Pr etadisscxsciscctcicssnsecalehepimnibiabiiaivendaaaainhbinaaaibasilaiions

United States v. Cella, 568 F.2d 1266, 1279 n. 9 (9th
a are ED ensishsivlaslasedestaticsnsnsiiceatcinenineciedliciadantatiaadlaapenataabialin

Village of Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing
Development Corp., 429 U.S. 252, 262 n. 8 (1977)......

Village of Barrington Hills v. Village of Hoffman Es-
tates, 75 Ill.App.3d 461, 394 N.E.2d 599 (1979),
rev'd., 81 Ill.2d 392, 410 N.E.2d 37 (1980) ......

Village of Hickory Hills v. Village of Bridgeview, 67
EEL. S6 SIF, SOT WL.EB.26 USGS CUGTT) cevccrecvcecccscrsencscsvesene

4
4

9
4

iil

Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72, 81 (1977)..........cccc0000 7
Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) .....ccceeccccceseeeeeeseeeees 6
Williams v. Mayor and City Council of Baltimore, 289
Ls MOTE III lan 2c nan achisanstinendabadesdnnionauastnbineincstas 8
Wilson v. Loew’s Inc., 355 U.S. 597, 598 (1958) .............. 5
Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Broadcasting Co., 433 U.S.
nosis sonncaiealiinsalipunctnninenesimathidoceniénssies 5
Constitutions
Illinois Constitution, Art. VII, §§ 6(a) 6(m) ................6. 2,8
Illinois Constitution, Art. VII, § 7 ...........ccceeecceeseseeeeeeeeeees 2

Other Authorities

Brennan, William J., Jr., Developments in Constitutional
Law, 99 N.J.L.J. 473, at 483 (June 3, 1976) ........ ee. 9

No. 80-908

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

VILLAGE OF HOFFMAN ESTATES,
a Municipal Corporation,
Petitioner,

vs.

VILLAGE OF BARRINGTON HILLS, a Municipal Corpo-
ration, and VILLAGE OF SOUTH BARRINGTON, a Mu-
nicipal Corporation,

Respondents.

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME
COURT OF ILLINOIS

In opposition to the petition of the Village of Hoffman
Estates for a writ of certiorari, the respondents, the Villages-of
Barrington Hills and South Barrington, submit the following
Additional Statement of the Case and Argument for consid-
eration by the Court.

ADDITIONAL STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Only two of the six counts of the complaint involve due
process claims. Count I is grounded on a claim that the
rezoning in question deprives plaintiffs of due process of law

contrary to the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the
Constitution of the United States and Section 2 of Article I of
the Constitution of the State of Illinois. Count II rests on a
claim that in rezoning the property in question the petitioner
here, the Village of Hoffman Estates, has exceeded its statutory
authority. Count III alleges that the rezoning is inconsistent
with the express purpose and intent of the zoning ordinance of
Hoffman Estates. Count IV claims that the presence of an open
air music theater on the property would be a public nuisance.
Count V rests on the claim that the music theater is not a lawful
permitted use in the Hoffman Estates zoning district in which it
is located. Count VI attacks the validity of the annexation
agreement on procedural due process grounds for failure to
make the annexation agreement available for public inspection
sooner than three and one-half hours prior to the public hearing
on the agreement, and also on the ground that the agreement
contains provisions that are contrary to the statutory and
decisional law of the State of Illinois.

In Illinois a home rule municipality, such as South Barring-
ton, derives its authority and powers from the state constitution
unless the legislature has limited those powers in the manner
prescribed by the state constitution. Illinois Constitution,
Article VII, §§ 6(a) through 6(m). Non-home rule municipal-
ities, such as Barrington Hills, have only those powers granted
by law and certain specifically defined constitutional powers.
Illinois Constitution, Article VII, § 7.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The decision of the Illinois Supreme Court does not rest on
any federal ground, and the petitioner has failed to carry the
burden of demonstrating that the issues which it requests this
Court to review were presented to the Supreme Court of
Illinois.

The decision of the Supreme Court of Illinois rests entirely
upon an independent and adequate state ground.

A determination by the highest court of a state that
political subdivisions of the state have due process rights which
they may assert in litigation does not raise a federal question in
the context of this case because the existence of a right to due
process depends upon the existence of a protected interest in
liberty or property. The question of what constitutes a “proper-
ty interest” is a matter of state law. Even if the Illinois Supreme
Court had rested its ruling on a due process ground, it would
have amounted to no more than a determination that as a
matter of state law the corporate interests of municipalities are
tantamount to “property interests” that are entitled to due
process protection. Moreover, the states are free to give a more
expansive meaning to the due process clause of the state
constitution than is required as a matter of federal con-
stitutional doctrine.

4

ARGUMENT

THE PETITIONER HAS FAILED TO CARRY ITS BUR-
DEN OF SHOWING THAT A FEDERAL QUESTION
WAS DECIDED BY OR PRESENTED TO THE IL-
LINOIS SUPREME COURT

The decision of the Illinois Supreme Court in this case does
not rest on the determination of any federal question. The
ruling dealt only with the showing a litigant must make as a
matter of state law to qualify as an aggrieved person having a
real interest in the controversy with standing to litigate the
issues presented by the pleadings. This Court has held that it
does not have jurisdiction to review the determination of a
federal question unless it was presented to and relied upon by
the court below. Crowell v. Randell, 35 U.S. (10 Pet.) 368, 392
(1836). This Court has “consistently refused to decide federal
constitutional issues raised here for the first time on review of
state court decisions.” Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437,
438 (1969), and cases cited therein at page 438.

The party seeking review by this Court has the burden of
proving that the federal questions were presented to the state
courts. Where, as in this case, the highest state court has failed
to pass upon the federal question and gives no indication that it
was ever asked to consider any federal question, it will be
assumed that the omission results from a failure to present the
question properly in the state court, unless the petitioner
affirmatively shows that the question was presented. Street v.
State of New York, 394 U.S. 576, 582 (1969); and, Fuller v.
State of Oregon, 417 U.S. 40, 50 n. 11 (1974).

In its petition for certiorari, the petitioner points out that a
federal question was raised by Point 6 of the Motion to Dismiss.
(See, App. 24a) However, the petition contains no showing, or
even a claim, that the questions it is asking this Court to review

5

were ever presented to the Illinois Supreme Court. Even if a
question sought to be reviewed was presented to a lower state
court, but was not properly preserved on appeal to higher state
courts, the requirement that a federal question must have been
presented to the highest state court has not been satisfied.
Connecticut Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Moore, 333 U.S. 541, 544
(1948). In this case not even the decision of the Illinois
Appellate Court, in which petitioner prevailed, rested upon or
made any mention of the federal questions which the petitioner
seeks to have reviewed by this Court. See, Village of Barrington
Hills v. Village of Hoffman Estates, 75 Ull.App.3d 461, 394
N.E.2d 599 (1979), rev’d., 81 Ill.2d 392, 410 N.E.2d 37 (1980)

The petition for certiorari filed by the Village of Hoffman
Estates is insufficient because it contains no showing whatsoever
that the questions which it seeks to have reviewed were in fact
presented to the Illinois Supreme Court. The petitioner has
simply failed to carry the burden imposed upon it by the
decisions of this Court to show that it has raised the federal
questions in the proceedings before the highest state court that
considered the case.

THE DECISION OF THE ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT
RESTS ON AN INDEPENDENT AND ADEQUATE
STATE GROUND

Even when a petitioner has presented a federal question
which has been passed upon by the highest court of a state, this
Court will still decline to review the state court decision on a
petition for a writ of certiorari if an independent and adequate
State ground exists for that decision. Zacchini v. Scripps-
Howard Broadcasting Co., 433 U.S. 562, 566 (1977); and,
Wilson v. Loew’s Inc., 355 U.S. 597, 598 (1958). In this case
the only basis for the decision of the Illinois Supreme Court was

6

a State ground. Specifically the Illinois Supreme Court held that
as a matter of Illinois law the respondents had met the tests
previously set down in Village of Hickory Hills v. Village of
Bridgeview, 67 Ill.2d 399, 367 N.E.2d 1305 (1977), for
determining when municipalities are sufficiently aggrieved by
the zoning regulations of their neighbors to have standing to
question the validity of those regulations.

The petitioner’s reliance upon Warth v. Seldin, 422 US.
490 (1975), is mistaken. Warth affirmed a holding that the
plaintiffs did not have standing to invoke the aid of the federal
courts. So the rule which this Court announced in Warth has no
application because the rule with respect to standing adopted
by the Illinois Supreme Court in this case dealt with the state
law requirements for access to the state courts. It would be
novel doctrine if providing access to the state judicial system
were to be held to be a denial of due process.

The state courts are not constrained by the relatively
narrow rule announced in Warth. They are at liberty to apply
more liberal rules with respect to standing, a point which the
Ninth Circuit recognized in United States v. Cella, 568 F.2d
1266, 1279 n. 9 (9th Cir. 1978). For example, in Suffolk
Housing Services v. Town of Brookhaven, 91 Misc.2d 80, 397
N.Y.S.2d 302, 308-309 (1977), mod. and affd., 63 App.
Div.2d 731, 405 N.Y.S.2d 302 (1978), a New York court
refused to accept the argument that Warth was a binding
limitation on standing for the state courts and permitted
plaintiffs to proceed with a state court suit that almost certainly
would have been dismissed for want of standing under Warth
had it been brought in a federal court.

Nor does Orr v. Orr, 440 U.S. 268 (1979), help the
petitioner because in that case the Louisiana court had decided
the case on a federal ground and this Court held that the
plaintiff did have standing to maintain the action.

In this case petitioner seems to claim that the Illinois rule
with respect to the standing of municipalities is constitutionally
impermissible because it transgresses the federal “prudential

limitation” on standing articulated by Warth. But Warth
makes it clear that its standards are for the federa! courts not
the state courts. The state courts are free to fashion their own
rules for their own courts with respect to standing even though
in some instances the state rule may be more restrictive. See,
Village of Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Devel-
opment Corp., 429 U.S. 252, 262 n. 8 (1977). The question of
standing in the staie courts being one of state law, there was in
this case an adequate and independent state ground for the
decision irrespective of the constitutional issue that this Court is
now urged to review. When a state decision rests on an
adequate foundation of state substantive law it is immune from
review in the federal courts. Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72,
81 (1977); Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 125 (1945); and,
Murdock v. City of Memphis, 87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 590, 626
(1874).

Ill.

THE DECISION OF THE ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT
DOES NOT INVADE ANY PROTECTED DUE PROCESS
RIGHT OF THE PETITIONER

The petitioner asks that this Court grant certiorari to
consider whether one municipality may assert a federal due
process claim against another municipality. The thrust of the
petitioner’s argument suggests that if its petition is granted,
Hoffman Estates will argue that the protection of federal due
process does not extend to municipalities. There is a grave
difficulty with petitioner’s position. If petitioner’s substantive
argument is sound, then its petition should not be granted
because the question it has presented for review is whether, as a
municipality, its federal due process rights have been invaded
by the decision of the Illinois Supreme Court.

The petition for certiorari is least clear on the question of
just what due process right of the petitioner has been invaded
by the decision of the Illinois Supreme Court. The petitioner
appears to suggest that the decision of the state court was

erroneous. However, it was settled many years ago by this
Court that federal due process does not insulate litigants from
erroneous or even inept decisions or afford an occasion for
review of such decisions on due process grounds by this Court.
Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust & Savings Co. v. Hill, 281 U.S. 673, 680
(1930); and, American Railway Express Company v. Kentucky,
273 U.S. 269, 272-74 (1927).

Williams v. Mayor and City Council of Baltimore, 289 U.S.
36 (1933), does not provide a basis for the petition either,
because this is not a suit by units of local government against
the governmental body that created them. Indeed, South
Barrington and Hoffman Estates derive their power as home
rule units from the state constitution. Illinois Constitution,
Article VII, §§ 6(a) through 6(m).

Moreover, the question of whether a municipality may
assert a federal due process claim turns on the question of
whether there has been an invasion of a protected interest in
liberty or property and, unless the interest asserted is guaran-
teed by the Bill of Rights, such interest attains its constitutional
status by virtue of the fact that it has been recognized and
protected by state law. Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693, 710
(1976). Thus even had the Supreme Court of Illinois grounded
its decision upon the federal due process questions raised by
petitioner in this Court, the opinion would have been no more
than a holding that as a matter of Illinois state law the
corporate interests of a municipality are tantamount to pro-
tected property interests. Such a conception of a protected
property interest, even had it been explicit in the opinion of the
Illinois Supreme Court, would not have raised a federal con-
stitutional question that would be subject to review in this
Court.

Were the Village of Hoffman Estates claiming that it was
denied access to the state court system, then a federal due
process claim might reasonably have been made. But the

9

petitioner appears to be arguing that the requirements of
federal due process should have barred the respondents from
access to the state courts. That position is not even marginally
plausible because the Illinois courts are free to adopt, as a
matter of state constitutional law, a more expansive view of the
meaning of procedural due process than is mandated as a
matter of federal constitutional law. See, for example,
Pruneyard Shopping Center v. Robins, ay acimnin WOU
S.Ct. 2035, 2042-43 and n. 8 (1980); State v. Johnson, 68 N.J.
349, 346 A.2d 66, 67 (1975); People v. Disbrow, 16 Cal.3d 101,
545 P.2d 272, 280-81 (1976); and, Southern Burlington
NAACP v. Township of Mount Laurel, 67 N.J. 151, 336 A.2d
713, 725, app. dismissed and cert. denied, 423 U.S. 808 (1975).
See also, Brennan, William J., Jr., Developments in Con-
stitutional Law, 99 N.J.L.J. 473, at 483 (June 3, 1976). So even
if the present petition were not otherwise insufficient, there
would not be any authentic Federal constitutional question for
this Court to consider.

10

CONCLUSION

Petitioner has failed to carry its burden of showing that it
has properly reserved for review the constitutional questions it
presents and the decision that it asks this Court to review is
purely a ruling on the state law of standing that rests entirely on
state grounds. Moreover, the federal due process questions
raised by petitioner are actually illusory. Accordingly, respond-
ents respectfully pray that this Court deny the petition for a writ
of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

R. MARLIN SMITH
One IBM Plaza
Suite 3100
Chicago, Illinois 60611
(312) 467-9300
Counsel for Respondent, Village
of Barrington Hills .

DONALD J. KREGER
208 South La Salle Street
Room 900
Chicago, Illinois 60604
(312) 346-8500
Counsel for Respondent, Village
of South Barrington
WENDY U. LARSEN
ALEXANDER R. DOMANSKIS
Davip H. KISTENBROKER
of Ross, Harpigs, O’KEEFE,
BABCOCK & PARSONS
Chicago, Illinois

ROBERT J. RUBIN
of FRIEDMAN & KOVEN
Chicago, Illinois
Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0904%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
