# Opposition — Ouimet Corp. v. Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0859%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 450 U.S. 914

## Text

No. 80-860

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

OUIMET CORPORATION, OUIMET STAY & LEATHER
COMPANY, OUIMET WELTING COMPANY, EMIL R.
OUIMET WAREHAM TRUST, AVON SOLE COMPANY,
TENN-ERO CORPORATION and HERBERT KAHN,
Trustee,
Petitioners,

VS.
PENSION BENEFIT GUARANTY CORPORATION and
UNITED RUBBER, CORK, LINOLEUM and PLASTIC
WORKERS OF AMERICA, SOLOMON REDDIX and

ALEX WILLIAMS,
Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR
URW, REDDIX AND WILLIAMS

Charles R. Armstrong
General Counsel
United Rubber, Cork Linoleum
and Plastic Workers of America
87 South High Street
Akron, Ohio 44308
(216) 376-6181
Bertram Diamond, Esq.
441 Summer Street
Stamford, Connecticut 06901
(203) 324-9284

Counsel For URW, Reddix and Williams

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Ve Whether 29 U.S.C. §1301(b) makes
all trades or businesses under common
control a single employer for purposes of
Title IV of the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act of 1974?

2. Whether the Pension Benefit Guar-
anty Corporation abused its discretion
under 29 U.S.C. §1304(£)(4) in refusing
to consider a liability waiver request
made after May 30, 1975?

36 Whether controlled group lia-
bility for the value of guaranteed pen-
Sion benefits under 29 U.S.C. §1362, in
Title IV of the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act of 1974, violates the
Fifth Amendment to the United States

Constitution?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED. ccccccccccccccecse i
TABLE OF CONTENTS .cccccccccvccvccccce ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.cccccccccccccce ALi
TITLE PAGE ccc cc ccc ccc cecccccesceece 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ccccccccccccce 2
ARGUMENT ..ccccccccccccccccssecccseccecs 5

CONCLUS Felco ccc cee ece eee eee eee eeeees 16

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Page
CASES

Allied Structural Steel Co. v.
Spannaus, 438 U.S. 234 (1978).... 13,14

A-T-O v. PBGC, 318 Pens. Rep.
(BNA) D-1 (Nov. 24, 1960) eoccccvce 10,14

In re Williamsport Milk Products
Company, Inc., Retirement Plan,
309 Pens. Rep. (BNA) A-16 (3d
Cir. Aug. 29, 1980) .cccccccccccce 14

Nachman Corp. v. Pension Benefit
Guaranty Corp., 592 F.2d 947
(7th Cir. 1979), cert. denied
in past and granted in past, 442
U.S. 940 (1980), affirmed,
U.S. , 100 S. Ct. 1723
(1980) wecccccccccceseceseeccoccos Vapte
14

Railroad Retirement Board v. Alton
Railroad Co., 295 U.S. 330
(TPFD>) cocccvescseeeessesesessasses 13,14

Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining
Co., 482 U.S. 1 (197Sdcccvcscacse 13

UNITED STATES CODE CITED

Title 26, Section 141(¢) -cccccccccce
Title 28, Section 1292(b) cccccccces
Title 29, Section TIOTecccccecccosece
Title 29, Section 1302(a)..ccccccees
Title 29, Section 1301(BD) ccccccsece
Title 29, Section 1302(a) cccccccecce
Title 29, Section 13046(£).cccesceses

ul
~

9

wmwmowo udd

iv

Title 29, Section WT32l.ccccccceccseccs 5
PAClLSe 29, SeECtion WSs. cccccccccccecs 5
Title 29, Section W362 cccccccccvececr 5
Title 29, Section 1362(b)..ceeeeeeee 6,7

REGULATIONS

Title 29, Code of Federal Regula-
tions, Section 2612.1-3.cccccccee 6

Temporary Treasury Regulations,
Section TT .414(C) ccccccccccecccscoce 6

CONGRESSIONAL MATERIALS CITED

Cong., 2d Sess. 376, SOG cccccces 7

No. 80-860
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

OUIMET CORPORATION, OUIMET STAY & LEATHER
COMPANY, OUIMET WELTING COMPANY, EMIL R,.
OUIMET WAREHAM TRUST, AVON SOLE COMPANY,
TENN-ERO CORPORATION and HERBERT KAHN,
TRUSTEE,

PETITIONERS,
VS.
PENSION BENEFIT GUARANTY CORPORATION AND
UNITED RUBBER, CORK, LINOLEUM AND PLASTIC
WORKERS OF AMERICA, SOLOMON REDDIX AND
ALEX WILLIAMS,

RESPONDENTS.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR URW, REDDIX
AND WILLIAMS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

For the sake of brevity, Respondents
United Rubber, Cork, Linoleum and Plastic
Workers of America (herein called "URW"),
Reddix and Williams adopt the statement
of Respondent Pension Benefit Guaranty
Corporation (herein called "PBGC"). The
facts are also detailed in the opinion of
the Court of Appeals for the First Cir-
cuit (Pet. App. 1la-20a).

In 1959, Avon Sole — and two
unions representing its hourly employees
instituted a pension plan by collective
bargaining agreement and this plan was
continued in effect by succeeding agree-
ments.

After 1968, URW represented the pro-
duction employees of Avon. Reddix and
Williams are retired employees who earned
vested rights to pensions under the plan

and who presently receive monthly bene-

fits from PBGC as trustee for the plan,
in amounts guaranteed by ERISA.

In February 1975, after enactment of
ERISA and Title IV's effective date of
September 2, 1974, URW and Avon entered
into a supplemental collective bargaining
agreement that renewed and revised the
pension plan agreement, extending its
term to July 1, 1975, unless renego-
tiated. Avon notified PBGC that the plan
would be terminated on March 25, 1975 and
PBGC agreed to the date.

On the termination date guaranteed
vested benefits were underfunded by
$552,339.64. The plan's assets would
have paid only about 40% of its guar-
anteed benefit liabilities. Without the
PBGC guaranty, average monthly pension
benefits to former Avon employees or
their beneficiaries would fall from

$85.00 to $35.00. If there were no

guaranty, Reddix would lose 74.3% of his
present monthly benefits and for Williams
the loss would be total.

Avon and its wholly-owned subsidiary
Tenn-ERO, both affiliates of the Ouimet

Group, were ajudicated bankrupts on March

22, 1976.

ARGUMENT

Title IV of ERISA enacted a program
for insuring unfunded vested benefits on
plan termination; established the Pension
Benefit Guaranty Corporation (PBGC) to
administer the program; provided for its
financing through employer contributions;
and required employers to reimburse PBGC
for the cost of unfunded guaranteed
benefits in an amount not to exceed 30%
of thetic net worth. 29 @.6.C. BSET3s2l¢
1322, 1362.

In the definitions section of Title
IV, Congress took over from the Internal
Revenue Code the controlled group con-
cept, treating all business under common
control as a “single employer." 29
U.S.C. §1301. This concept was expressly
incorporated into 29 U.S.C. §1301(b),
"for purposes of [Title IV of ERISA],
under regulations prescribed by the

{[PBGC]."

On an interlocutory appeal heard under
28 U.S.C. §1292(b) the court of appeals
affirmed the ruling of the district court
that Ouimet, Trust, Stay, Welting and
Avon/Tenn-ERO constituted a group under
common control for purposes of Title IV
of ERISA and, particularly, the section
dealing with employer liability on plan
termination, 29 U.S.C. §1362(b).

Petitioners do not dispute that the
Ouimet Group consists of trade or busi-
nesses under common control as defined in
temporary Treasury regulations’ promul-
gated under 26 U.S.C. §141(c). Temp.
Treas. Reg. §11.414(c). These regula-
tions were incorporated into PBGC's own
regulation on the subject. 29 C.F.R.
§2612.1-3.

Petitioners contend that the statutory

provision which defines as a "single

employer" all trades or businesses under

common control does not mean what it
Says. They argue that the provision lays
down no definition but merely a special
rule, that the reading of the court of
appeals runs counter to the language of
the statute and its legislative history,
and that it imposes liability on bankrupt
corporations contrary to the 30% net
worth limitation in 29 U.S.C. §1362(b).

None of these arguments raises any
question meriting review by this Court.
The statutory provision does define the
term "employer" for purposes of Title IV.
As stated in the Conference Report on the
bill that became ERISA, Congress intended
that termination liability should apply
to the entire controlled group. H.R.
Rep. No. 93-1280, 93d Cong., 2d Sess.
376, 380, (1974), reprinted in 1974 U.S.

Code Cong. & Ad. News 5038, 5159. This

means that the 30% net worth limit is

calculated on the basis of the net assets
of the whole group, rather than any
Single one of its affiliates.

Congress enacted §1301(b) to prevent
employers from using corporate compart-
mentalization to .avoid termination
liability. Such liability serves the
declared policies of Title IV's termina-
tion insurance program by encouraging the
continuance and maintenance of private
pension plans, by providing for the
timely and uninterrupted payment of
pension benefits to participants and
beneficiaries under covered plans, and by
maintaining PBGC premiums at the lowest
level consistent with its obligations.
29 U.S.C. §1302(a).

All of petitioners' arguments were
carefully considered by the district

court and court of appeals. They were

properly rejected on the basis of the

language of the statute, its legislative
history, and the applicable regulations.
Such decisions were clearly correct.
There is no conflict in the circuits.
The question of construing §1301(b) was
important for advancing the ultimate ter-
mination of this case. That task was
well performed below. There is no need
for this Court to replough the same
ground.

as For the first 270 days after the
enactment of ERISA, PBGC had authority to
waive or reduce termination liability
where "necessary to avoid unreasonable
hardship." 29 U.S.C. §1304(f). The
power of the PBGC to grant emergency
relief expired on May 30, 1975. Although
Avon had earlier been advised by its
plan administrator to make a waiver
request by the deadline date, it ne-
glected to do so until too late. PBGC,

which received the waiver request on June

10

10, 1975, refused to consider it because
it was untimely.

The court of appeals ruled that Avon
did have knowledge that PBGC had insti-
tuted a waiver-request procedure and that
PBGC's authority to grant a waiver had
expired before it received Avon's re-
guest.

The A-T-O decision cited by peti-
tioners (Pet. 24) has been reversed on
appeal. A-T-O v. PBGC, 318 Pens. Rep.
(BNA) D-1 (Nov. 24, 1980).

In view of the facts and the terms of
the statute, the decision of the court
of appeals was manifestly right. Further
review is not warranted.

36 Notwithstanding the finding that
there was a negligent failure to seek a
timely waiver of liability on grounds of
unreasonable hardship, petitioners

challenge on due process grounds the

11

retroactive imposition of liability on
members of the controlled group. The
Court should refuse to consider this
constitutional question.

First, the decision below was rendered
on an appeal from an interlocutory order.
The district court had remanded the case
to the bankruptcy court for determination
of the net worth of the controlled group
and for apportionment of the liability
among the members of the Ouimet Group.
This has not yet been done. Until net
worth has been established and appor-
tionment accomplished, it is not possible
to ascertain the impact of controlled
group liability upon solvent or insolvent
affiliates of the group or upon (heir
creditors. Without a complete factual
record depicting such impact, this Court
should avoid consideration of the con-

stitutional question as premature.

12

Second, if retroactivity alone is the
issue, then the question is no different
for members of a controlled group than it
is for unaffiliated businesses. The
Court refused to consider that constitu-

tional issue in Nachman Corp. v. Pension

Benefit Guaranty Corp., 442 U.S. 940

(1980). Moreover, in resolving the

statutory question on Nachman, this Court

recognized that ERISA necessarily has a
retroactive impact and it quoted with
approval the conclusion of the Seventh
Circuit Court of Appeals that "Congress
had adequately tempered the Act's burdens
on employers and that those burdens were
sufficiently justified by the public pur-
poses supporting the legislation."

U.S. , 100 S. Ct. 1723 (1980).

The court below followed the Seventh

Circuit's decision in Nachman, 592 F.2d

me

13

947 (7th Cir. 1979). In rejecting pe-
titioner's constitutional challenge, it

relied on Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining

Co., 482 U.S. 1 (1976) upholding the
constitutionality of a statute requiring
the payment of benefits to miners with
black lung disease who had left the
industry before the effective date of the
act. Acknowledging the act's retroactive
effect, the Court in Usery found no lack
of due process:
"But our cases are clear that
legislation readjusting rights and
burdens is not unlawful solely
because it upsets otherwise
settled expectations...
This is true even though the
effect of the legislation is to
impose a new duty or liability
based on past events..." 482 U.S.
1, 16.

Neither Railroad Retirement Board vv.

Alton Railroad Co., 295 U.S. 330 (1935)

nor Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Span-

naus, 438 U.S. 234 (1978) is controlling

—<——-° —— = —<— — ET TK TT Tt —_- — eee ee — — —— | lll hhh tSS—S

here. Alton is an outmoded precedent
founded on the doctrine of substantive
due process. Both Alton and Allied deal
with statutes quite different from
ERISA. Title IV of ERISA imposes care-
fully limited termination liability on
employers only with respect to employees
whose right to a pension had already
vested under a pension plan. Moreover,

as the Court noted in Nachman, in enact-

ing ERISA Congress "adequately tempered
the Act's burdens on employers."

There is no conflict among the cir-
cuits on the question of constitu-
tionality. The Third and Sixth Circuits
have joined the Seventh Circuit in
upholding the constitutionality of
employer termination liability under

ERISA. In re Williamsport Milk Products

Company, Inc. Retirement Plan, 309 Pens.

Rep. (BNA) A-16 (3d Cir. Aug. 29, 1980);

A-T-O v. PBGC, supra.

15

Consequently, this Court should
decline to review petitioners’ claim of

unconstitutionality.

16

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari
should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES R. ARMSTRONG

General Counsel

United Rubber, Cork, Linoleum
and Plastic Workers of America
87 South High Street

Akron, Ohio 44308

(216) 376-6181

BERTRAM DIAMOND, ESQ.

441 Summer Street

Stamford, Connecticut 06901
(203) 324-9284

Counsel for URW, Reddix and Williams

December 1980

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0859%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
