# Reply Brief — Garcia v. Gloor

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0813%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 1113

## Text

NO. 80-810

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Thiited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

HECTOR GARCIA,

Petitioner,

versus

ALTON V. M. GLOOR, W. H. HAUBOLDT, JR.,
WILBURN F. GLOOR AND
GLOOR LUMBER & SUPPLY, INC.

Respondents

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITIONER'S REPLY TO RESPONDENTS’
OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAMES A. HERRMANN

TEXAS RURAL LEGAL AID, INC.
305 E. Jackson, Suite 206
Harlingen Texas 78550

(512) 423-3111

January 9, 1981

Attorneys for Petitioner

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Dts stieesceccvcoceeesesésvesoceed
Petitioners Reply... cccccccccccsccccccvel
Certificate of Service... cccccccccccceell
Appendix A..wccccccccccccesccvescccsceeelA
Appendix B..cccccccccecccesscccsceeceeeilB

CITATIONS

Cases:

Baldomero Casas v. Brittons Photo Supply
Co., B-78-202 (S. D. Tex. 1978). . . m~

Dothard Rawlinson, 433 U.S. 321, 331-332. .7

EEOC v. Dairy Queen, Inc.,
CA-C-79-48 (S. D. Tex. 8/21/79). .. 1

Griggs v. Duke Power Co.,
401 U.S. 792 (1973). ° 2 - . + o . < 3

Lau v. Nichols, 414 U.S. 563 (1974)... 4

Nashville Gas Co. v. Satty,
434 ss R 136 (1977). - se ° ° a . - 4

Regulations:

45 Federal Register No. 250
PPp- 85632-85637 (12/29/80). - ° « 7 2

°° ow

Petitioner hereby submits his reply to
the Opposition of Respondents to the Peti-
tion for Writ of Certiorari:

i. At p.16 of their Opposition the
Respondents state that the cases Petitioner
has cited of pending cases involving lan-
guage discrimination are inapposite. This
is incorrect. An additional case has been
discovered since the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari was filed. EEOC v. Dairy Queen
Inc. ,CA-C-79-48 (S.D. Tex. 8-21-79). It is
Petitioner's understanding that the suit

involves a Mexican-American employee in a
fast food operation who resigned when he
was told tht he would be required to speak
English only. The person is fluent in
English but was told that he would be
prohibited from using Spanish. This case
has been held in abeyance pending final
disposition of this appeal. The case of
Baldomero Casas v. Brittons Photo Supply Co.,
B-78-202 S.D. Tex. 1978) cited on p.18 of
the Petition also involves a bilingual

Mexican-American salesman who resigned when
told that he would be required to speak
English only. The Resendez case involved a

bilingual Mexican-American employee who was
discharged for speaking Spanish in viola-
tion of a speak English only rule.

2

26 In addition the EEOC has finalized it
proposed guidelines on a national origin
discrimination which are reprinted as
proposed guidelines in Appendix E of the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari. See 45
Fed. Reg. No. 250 pp.85632-85637 (12-29-80).
See also Appendix B herein for the pertinent
new guidelines on speak English-only-rules.

3. The Respondent states at Page 2 that
Petitioner:

"has an easy command of the terms and

usage of the English language, uses

good grammar and syntax, and has no
difficulties in being understood when
speaking in English."
Nowhere in the record does any court hold
this and in fact the Respondent's attorney
stated that Petitioner was not very profi-
cient in the English language. Appendix 2A.

The Respondents argue that being fired
for speaking ones' national origin langvage
is not a curb on cultural expression or a
hardship if one is able to speak both
languages but Respondents admit that lan-
guage is a national origin characteristic.
The Respondent's analysis begins and ends
with this assumption. Petitioner testified
that it was hard for him to comply with the
rule and that he always slipped. Appendix

3

1-2A. Professor Chavira testified that the
rule would be hard to deal with and even
the District Court stated that the rule was
arbitrary.

Respondents also state that the Court
made it clear that it was not considering a
situation where an employee "inadvertently
slips" into a more familiar tongue or did
not have the ability to speak English or in
which the rule might impose a hardship on
the employees. Even ALTON V. W. GLOOR, the
Defendant who discharged the Petitioner,
testified that he did not think that the
Petitioner was intentionally violating the
English-only-rule on the occasion giving
rise to the Petitioner's discharge. Appen-
dix 2-3A.

The Respondents persist in refusing to
apply applicable legal analysis to this
case. Respondents argue that language is a
condition like pregnancy, i.e., pregnancy
is voluntarily undertaken and absent a
showing that refusal to accommodate the
voluntary condition is a pretext for discrimi-
nation against women there is no duty on
the part of the employer to accommodate.
Res. Brief pp.8-9. Under Griggs v. Duke
Power Co., 401 U.S. 792 (1973), this should
be the end of the analysis and not the

4

beginning. It requires the pregnant em-
ployee to disprove the employer's business
pretext before the employer is required to
show that he did not discriminate. While
pregnancy and even the habit of smoking are
often voluntarily undertaken and _= even
desired conditions, the Spanish language
for many Mexican-Americans, like the Peti-
tioner, is something that is given to them
without their being asked. It is also a
condition about which many Mexican-Americans
are proud as are other language minorities
about their national origin language. As
Professor Chavira ig language is a
badge of ethnic or national origin identity
that is prized by many and without which
those national origin minority persons
which have lost the language are at a
distinct social and perhaps economic disad-
vantage as are Mexican-Americans who are
unable to speak English. Language does not
have to be a "deficiency" to be a protected
characteristic. |

Respondents cite Nashville Gas Co. v.
Satty, 434 U.S. 136 (1977) at page 8 of
their brief for the proposition that Griggs
and Lau v. Nichols, 414 U.S. 563 (1974)
provide a sharp contrast to cases such as

this one where an employer's refusal to

=
‘

5

accommodate employee preference has formed
the basis for discrimination charges. This
is incorrect.

In Satty, the Court, while stating
that the seniority policy appeared to be
neutral in its treatment of male and female
employees, found the policy to be discrimi-
natory when unjustified by business neces-
sity. The Court was very careful to follow
the steps of Griggs and did not leap first
to a determination of whether or not the
plaintiff had dispelled any theoretical
pretextual defenses which the defendant
might have. The Court considered first
whether there was discriminatory impact on

women who became pregnant. Satty, supra.

at p.140. If we compare the seniority rule
in Satty to the Respondent's language rule
in this case the English-only-rule could
appear to be neutral in that it requires
compliance by both Mexican-American and
Anglo-American employees. But just as in
Satty where the policy only affected preg-
nant females, the policy here only affects
Spanish speaking Mexican-Americans.

Also, just as the employer in Satty
apparently argued that the employee was not
injured or harmed by the seniority rule,
the Respondent in this case argues that the

*s

6

Petitioner was not harmed in terms of Title
VII. But, Petitioner was denied specific
employment opportunities because he used
Spanish in violation of the employer's
rule, i.e., employment itself. Even if he
had not been discharged for using Spanish
but had been reprimanded and banished to
the lumber yard as a laborer, the policy
would have adversely affected him because
of his use of Spanish. No Anglo-American
had a chance at this sort of downgrading.
As the Court stated in Satty:

Here by comparison, Petitioner has
not merely refused to extend to women
a benefit that men cannot and do not
receive, but has imposed on women a
substantial burden that men need not
suffer. The distinction between
benefits and burdens is more than
one of semantics... But that holding
does not allow us to read §703(a)(2)
to permit an employer to burden female
employees in such a way as to deprive
them of employment opportunities
because of their different role.
Satty, supra. at 142.

Like the women in Satty, the Mexican-Ameri-
can employees here are treated differently
because of their role as bilingual employees
in spite of the fact that the employer must
have bilingual employees.

After the Court in Satty determined
that the facially neutral seniority policy

. »

7

was discriminatory, the Court took the next
appropriate step in the analysis. The
Court states:

Recognition that Petitioner's facially
neutral senority system does deprive
women of employment opportunities
because of their sex does not end the
inquiry under §703(a)(2) of Title VII.
If a company's business’ necessitates
the adoption of particular leave poli-
cies Title VII does not prohibit the
company from applying these policies to
all leaves of absence including pregnan-
cy leaves Title VII is not violated even
though policies may burden female em-
ployees. Griggs, supra. at 431; Dothard
v. Rawlinson, 433 U.S. 321, 331-332.
But we agreed with the District Court in
this case that since there was no proof
of any business necessity adduced with
respect to the policies in question,
that Court was entitled to "assume no
justification exists". Satty, supra
at 143.

This is the correct analytical proce-
dure. There must be a determination first
of whether or not there is disparate treat-
ment or disparate impact, i.e., discrimina-
tion, before there is any discussion of
whether or not the employer has to accommo-
date or ignore a particular trait or cha-
racteristic.

The Respondents and the panel of the
Fifth Circuit leaped over the first level
of Griggs and focused initially on Peti-
tioner's assumed preference for Spanish.

But the Petitioner was not discharged be-
cause of his preference or because his pri-
mary language was either Spanish or English.
He was discharged because he broke the rule
against speaking English only. Whatever
the Petitioner's day to day preference, the
burden is still on the employer to show
that his rule is justified. Just as it
would make no difference whether a black
employee enjoyed being black or despised
the fact of being black, an employer would
still be required to justify a rule which
placed employment restrictions on black
employees.

If this Court is of the opinion that
an English-only-rule which results in the
discharge of a Mexican-American Spanish
speaker for violation of the rule is not an
injury cognizable under Title VII then
there is no need to go further. If this
Court is of the opinion that there is
potential for unlawful discrimination in
such a rule then the Court should advance
to analyze whether or not the employer
proved a business necessity for the rule.
Petitioner proved more than that he has a
preference for speaking Spanish, if indeed
a preference it can be called. Even if we
deem it a facially neutral rule, Petitioner

9

proved that the English-only-rule impacts
only on i :xican-American employees, the
Petitioner's preference not withstanding.
Many traits or characteristics are
voluntary and preferential to the indivi-
dual such as religion or the decision to
bear children. Employment criteria influ-
enced by national origin characteristics
which affect job opportunities may obviously
be in violation of Title VII or may appear
to be neutral even though questionable such
as a job criteria based on _ language.
"Refusal to accommodate employee preferences
which have been influenced by national
origin" is Respondent's’ syllogism for
"discharging a Mexican-American employee
for speaking Spanish is not national origin
discrimination because the rule is not
discriminatory and language is not a pro-
tected characteristic and even if it is
Respondent haS~a valid business reason for
the rule." Petitioner submits that this
position cannot be maintained under appro-
priate analysis.
Respectfully submitted,

TEXAS RURAL LEGAL AID, INC.
305 E. Jackson, Suite 206

- Harlingen, Texas 78550
(512) 423-3111

LAttorney of Record

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this the 12th
day of January 1981, I have mailed three
true and correct copies of the foregoing
Reply to Counsel of Record Neil Norquest,
Ewers,Toothaker, Ewers, Abbott, Talbot,
Hamilton & Jarvis, P. O. Box 3670, McAllen,
Texas 78501, Certified Mail No.: OG30G57_
Return Receipt Requested; Mr. Jerry Nugent,
221 Sixth Street, Austin, Texas 78701,
Certified Mail No.: 0930650
Return Receipt Requested; Mr. William H.
Ng, EEOC, 2401 E. St., N. W. Washington D.
C. Certified Mail No.: O9306597
Return Receipt Requested; Ms. Edna _ €E.
Canino, LULAC, 12631 S.W. 10th Terrace,
Miami, Florida 33184, Certified Mail

No.: 930 d0/ Return Receipt Requested; Mr.
Joel G. Contreras, 800 Capital Mall, Sacra-

mento, California Certified Mail No.:

0730060 Return Receipt Requested,

by depositing said copies in the U. S. Mail

at Harlingen, Texas 78550.

. PAN, A. | GADD

/JAMES A. HERRMANN

1A

EXCERPTS FROM RECORD OF
PROCEEDINGS IN DISTRICT COURT

[43] QUESTION: In terms of your own ability
to comply with the rule, was it difficult
for you?

[43] THE WITNESS HECTOR GARCIA: Yes,
sir, because in order to speak English, I
have to think before what I am going to

say.

[43] QUESTION: Did you feel like you had to
be on your toes to avoid being caught?

[43] ANSWER HECTOR GARCIA: I had to be on
my toes in order not to be caught, and I
had to be on my toes whenever I was speak-
ing English, whenever, I speak English,
Since I can give the wrong impression at
times, because I cannot express myself
fluently at times.

[44] QUESTION: Do you think you could
realisticaNy follow a rule like the one
that--at Gloor Lumber Company ' against
speaking Spanish?

2A

[44] ANSWER HECTOR GARCIA: It is a very
hard rule.

[45] QUESTION: Why do you say it is a hard
rule?

[45] ANSWER HECTOR GARCIA: Because I tend
to fall to speaking Spanish. fThat is why
it is a hard rule to have.

[154] QUESTION BY DEFENSE COUNSEL: OK.
This hypothetical man that Mr. Herrmann is
telling you about is the Plaintiff in this
lawsuit, Mr. Hector Garcia. He is a young
man that went to the 10th grade in high
school, had 6 or 7 jobs within a period of
18 months before he went to work for the
Gloor Lumber Company, these people right

here.

[154] DEFENDANT ANSWER DEFENDANT GLOOR: uh
huh.

[154] QUESTION DEFENSE COUNSEL: , And
admittedly he was not very proficient in
the English language.

[206] QUESTION: Did he (Hector Garcia) ap-
pear at the same time to be intentionally

3A

violating your rule (English-only) in your
presence?

[206] ANSWER DEFENDANT GLOOR: No, sir,
not necessarily, no.

APPENDIX B

This section recognizes that an”
individual's primary language is often an
essential national origin characteristic.
According to estimates from the Survey
of Income and Education conducted by
the U.S. Bureau of Census in Spring
1976, approximately 28 million persons
in the United States (about 13% of the
total U.S. population) have non-English
language backgrounds and may be
affected by an employer's speak-
English-only rule. The survey identifies
persons with non-English language
backgrounds as persons whose mother
tongue is not English, who normally use
languages other than English, or who
live in households where languages
other than English are spoken. About 21
million, or seventy five percent, of this
group are above the age of 18. The study
shows the following approximate

‘numbers for each of these language

backgrounds: Spanish, 10.6 million;
Italian, 2.9 million; German, 2.7 million;
French, 1.9 million; Chinese, Japanese,
Korean and Vietnamese, 1.8 million;
Polish, 1.5 million. Approximately 2.4
million persons in the United States do

not speak any English at all.*
An employer’s rule requires
employees to speak at all times,

including during their work breaks and
lunch time, is one example of an
employment practice which
discriminates against persons whose
primary language is not English.

* See U.S. Department of Health, Education and
Welfare, National Center for Education Statistics,
Bulletin 78 B-5, August 22, 1978, “Geographic
Distribution, Nativity, and Age Distribution of
Language Minorities in the United States: Spring
1976"; Waggoner, Dorothy, “Non-English Language
Background Persons: Three U.S. Surveys”, TESOL
Quarterly, vol. 12, No. 3 at 247-262, September, 1978.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0813%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
