# Petitioners Reply Brief — National Pork Producers Council v. Block

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0749%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 450 U.S. 912

## Text

No. 80-742 |

mi

In the
| Supreme Cowt of the United States

Octoper Term, 1980

NATIONAL PORK PRODUCERS COUNCIL, CHARLES
GRASSLEY, THOMAS HAGEDORN, and STEVEN SYMMS,

Petitioners,

vs.

BOB BERGLAND, Secretary of Agriculture, CAROL TUCKER
FOREMAN, and DONALD H. HOUSTON,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Court of
Appeals for the Eighth Cireuit

REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

DONALD P. COLLETON
Counsel of Record

JAMES L. FOX
ABRAMSON & FOX
One East Wacker Drive
Chicago, Illinois 60601
(312) 644-8500
Attorneys for Petitioners

UNITED STATES LAW PRINTING CO., CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60618 (312) 525-6581

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
I. Wrong Standard of Review oc.ccccccccccccceccsccsseceseeees 2
II. Post Hoe Rationalization Cannot Justify the
Rule’s Unlawful Purpose _....... eackadiadscstitaidecspleon 5
Ill. NEPA Has Been Disregarded ...0.000000000000........ 6
I ca ey 7
TABLE OF CASES
Angel v. Butz, 487 F.2d 260 (10th Cir. 1973), cert.
GOMNOG, GAT UG. DUT (T0TE) oon ncccccccoceccceceseseccerscotacceses 4
Burlington Truck Lines v. U. S., 571 U.S. 156 (1962) .. 4
Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S.
I I a a 2
Federal Security Administrator v. Quaker Oats Co.,
a re a 3
Federation of Homemakers v. Butz, 466 F.2d 462 (D.C.
SIRIUS 5 cP NNR M EEN SN Sel ED See PAD 3
Houston v. St. Louis Independent Packing Co., 249
I UU i 3
Natione! Nutritional Foods Ass’n. v. Weinberger, 512
F.2d 688 (2nd Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 827 (1975) 4
U.S. v. Nova Scotia Food Products Corp., 568 F.2d 240
"Be AD» 9 eennenee dis calasaincbesbonieanaadiowiarlasaRticbasaated 4
STATUTES
RE | ae Mee ATR PRONE MS aoe 3

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1980

No. 80-742

NATIONAL PORK PRODUCERS COUNCIL, CHARLES
GRASSLEY, THOMAS HAGEDORN, and STEVEN SYMMS,

Petitioners,

VS.
BOB BERGLAND, Secretary of Agriculture, CAROL TUCKER
FOREMAN, and DONALD H. HOUSTON,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Court of
Appeals for the Eighth Cireuit

REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION

The government obscures the Rule’s grave jeopardy to
human health to minimize the rulemaker’s lack of requisite
attention to factors relevant to that jeopardy.

In truth the Rule creates a consumer trap. It permits,
for example, uncured product to be formulated in lengths,
shapes and colors identical to those of real hot dogs, to be
marketed in double decker 10 packs now associated with
real hot dogs, to bear ‘‘keep refrigerated’’ instructions now

2

appearing on real hot dog labels, to be packaged in wrapper
colors, styles and logos currently associated with the
processors of real hot dogs, to be merchandized in retail
coolers adjacent to, or indeed within, stacks of real hot
dogs, and to include the traditional name ‘‘hot dog’’ on
the label. The consumer’s only tip-off to this deadly trap
is the presence of the term ‘‘Uncured”’ and the indication
that the preservative nitrite is absent.

It may well be appropriate, where there is no health
hazard from confusion of product identity, to indulge in a
working hypothesis that ordinary consumers will read
labels under ordinary circumstances. That hypothesis,
however, much less the irrebutable presumption in reality
urged by the government, has no place where the cir-
cumstances promoting confusion are anything but ordinary,
where the ordinary consumer as well as the illiterate, the
non English speaking consumer and those with impaired
vision will be equally unprotected, and where the health
risk from confusion could be death.

I,
Wrong Standard of Review

The government in effect claims that judicial scrutiny
of the rulemaker’s inattention to the label adequacy issue,
Pet. 12-18—an undeniably ‘‘relevant factor’’ under Cuiti-
zens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402
(1971)—has been greatly limited if not completely fore-
closed by a ‘‘legislative determination’’, Br. Op. 9, that
labeling ‘‘is’’ an ‘‘effective means of protecting consum-
ers.’’ Id. As a consequence, argues the government, no
‘‘explicit fact-finding’’, Br. Op. 10, n. 6, is required on the
question of the adequacy of the present label to prevent
deadly botulism, and, in any event, for purposes of test-
ing the sufficiency of the challenged rulemaking it must be

3

assumed, by virtue of a definition of adulteration in the
Federal Meat Inspection Act, 21 U.S.C. §601(n)(6), that
‘the ordinary person in this country can read English
or will seek the aid of someone who can, and will act upon
reasonable warnings and instructions.’’ Br. Op. 11

Applicable law permits no such approach. It is now
common ground that a label cannot stand if deception,
injury or confusion would be likely but for an unsupported
assumption that consumers will read explanatory informa-
tion on it. Houston v. St. Louis Independent Packing Co.,
249 U.S. 479, 487 (1918); Mederation of Homemakers v.
Butz, 466 F.2d 462, 465-466 (D. C. Cir. 1972); Cf. Federal
Security Administrator v. Quaker Oats Co., 318 U.S. 218,
230-231 (1943). USDA therefore like any other agency was
obliged to consider the adequacy of the presently assailed
label, develop an adequate administrative record supporting
necessary findings on this issue, and draw conclusions
rationally supported by those findings. At a minimum
this would include an articulated explanation of its basis
for concluding, if it so concludes, that illiterates, non-
English speaking persons, consumers with impaired vision
and the like’ as well as ordinary persons unacquainted with
the nitrite controversy will be adequately protected against
botulism under the look and name alike circumstances
created by the Rule.

Were the government correct that inadequacy of explana-
tion is acceptable in labeling cases, contra, Citizens to

' Section 601(n)(6) of the Federal Meat Inspection Act provides
no more than that labeling mandated by the USDA shall be con-
sidered misbranded if not presented so as likely to be read and under-
stood by ordinary individuals. It does not follow from this that
Congress has authorized USDA to create circumstances which place
large subclasses of the population at deadly risk of botulism merely
lecause these consumers might not be classified as “ordinary.”

4

Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, supra; National Nutri-
tional Foods Ass’n. v. Weinberger, 512 F.2d 688, 701 (2nd
Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 827 (1975); U. S. v. Nova
Scotia Food Products Corp., 568 F.2d 240, 251 (2nd Cir.
1977), and that labels are legislatively presumed to be
efficacious, USDA could, viewing the present situation in
its limits, without rational basis authorize the inclusion,
in a familiar appearing food, of a substance highly toxic
to all but a few consumers as long as this fact were dis-
closed on the label. But that is exactly what the govern-
ment is urging here when it insists that USDA was under
no obligation to consider whether, and explicitly to state
its conclusions and bases therefor that, ordinary American
consumers, much less illiterates and other special classes
mentioned in the Comments, would read and understand
the label of a product which appears to be entirely familiar
and hence needing no label inspection.? Until such an ex-
plicit statement is provided ‘‘in the [challenged] order...
itself’’, Burlington Truck Lines v. U. S., 571 U.S. 156,
169 (1962), that is ‘‘in the ‘Statement of the Bases and
Considerations’ filed with the adopted regulations’’, Angel
v. Butz, 487 F.2d 260, 263 (10th Cir. 1973), cert. denied,
417 U.S. 917 (1974), the court cannot conduct the review
mandated by the Administrative Procedure Act, see
Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, supra; Na-
tional Nutritional Foods Ass’n. v. Weinberger, supra, and
has no choice but to set the rulemaking aside.

“The government's observation that ‘the Secretary must deter-
mine what type of labeling will be effective”, Br. Op. 10, n.6, seems
meaningless against the conjunctive observations that “explicit fact-
finding [regarding labeling efficacy] is not required”, Jd. and that
the efficacy of labeling has already been legislatively determined.
Br. Op. 9. That formulation is a blueprint for arbitrary, unreview-
able conduct. It permits the agency to assert without reason or
analysis conclusions quite literally, as here, of life and death import
which, because of their presumed propriety, escape judicial review.

5

The suggestion that USDA implicitly responded to the
crucial labeling questions raised in the Comments by re-
quiring the term ‘‘Uncured’’ in the challenged labels, Br.
Op. 10, n. 6, does not rectify the shortcoming. For reasons
just given, USDA’s considerations must be, but are not
here, sufficiently explicit to permit requisite judicial
scrutiny. Of equal importance is the fact that there is
no rational support in the record for a conclusion, were it
stated, that inclusion of the term ‘‘uncured’’ would rea-
sonably protect either the special classes referred to in
the Comments or the general consuming public. Pet. 16-17.’

Il.

Post Hos Rationalizations
Cannot Justify the Rule’s Unlawful Purpose

In answer to Petitioners’ contention that the Rule was
promulgated for an unlawful purpose, Pet. 22-23, govern-
ment counsel say:

‘‘the Rule constitutes a measured response to the
articulate desire of consumers and producers for
products that they reasonably believe to be less im-
jurious to health than products readily available in the
market.’’ Br. Op. 11

*The government seemingly concedes the Rule’s vulnerability
when it acknowledges that illiterates, non-English speaking con-
suiners and those with infirm vision will not be able to differentiate
between certain label names including, for example, “hot dog” and
“uncured hot dog.”” Br. Op. 10, n. 7. Even more pertinent is the
fact that these are the very consumers who, not being able to “read”
labels prescribed by the Rule, will rely on the similarity of physical
characteristics, e.g., color and size, mandated by the Rule and
familiar packaging wrappers and logos permitted by the Rule in
reaching the mistaken conclusion that uncured products are the
traditional, cured variety.

6

The health injury involved is, according to counsel, the
supposed carcinogencity of nitrite. Br. Op. 3, 4, 5, 7, n. 5.
The court of appeals put it this way:

‘‘(T)]he agency found persuasive evidence that the
benefits of the regulation would outweigh any potential
safety problem.’’ App. 11
The problem with these characterizations of the Rule’s
purpose is that neither they nor any other mention of
cancer, carcinogencity of nitrites, comparative health risk,
or health related benefits of nitrite-free food appear in the
Rule’s statement of bases and purpose, App. 83-91. They
are at bottom nothing more than post hoc rationalizations
by counsel and the court of the Rule’s purpose which, un-
der settled law cannot be considered by this Court. See
Pet. 22, n. 13

ITI.
NEPA Has Been Disregarded

Even if, contra, Pet. 24-25, the Department’s Final Im-
pact Statement, App. 72-88, were thought to satisfy
NEPA’s requirement that the Rule’s public health im-
pact be assessed, the F'IS conclusion that the Rule

‘fis not expected to result in any increase of food
poisoning from Clostridium botulinum’’

because the spores producing that poison

‘do not generally grow at temperatures below 40°F”’,

Br. Op. 15; App. 80
is arbitrary and irrational. The crucial inquiry was wheth-
er an increased incidence rate was likely should uncured
products be handled as their traditional, cured counter-
parts now are at 70°, 80° and 90°F for prolonged periods
in the home, on picnics and camping trips, and in lunch
pails and school lockers. See Pet. 19. Contrary to the
requirements of NEPA, the FIS never addressed that
question.

~]

IV.
Conclusion

In a real sense review and reversal by this Court is the
consumer’s last hope of protection from the deadly trap
created by the Rule. Wherefore, Petitioners respectfully
request that the writ issue.

Respectfully submitted,

DonaLp P. CoLLETon

James L. Fox

Attorneys for Petitioners,

National Pork Producers Council
Charles Grassley, Thomas Hagedorn
and Steven Symms

Of Counsel:

Apramson & Fox

One East Wacker Drive
Chicago, Illinois 60601
(312) 644-8500

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0749%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
