# Petition — Shaw v. Kansas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0607%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 1062

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S, |
rFItEgs

OCT 14 1980

80-592

NO. MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLE!

peeeenteeen

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

1980 TERM

SAMUEL S. SHAW
PETITIONER
vs.

STATE OF KANSAS

RESPONDENT

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
FROM THE
SUPREME COURT
OF THE
STATE OF KANSAS

PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI

STEVEN C. SHERWOOD
Attorney at Law

1540 North Broadway
Wichita, Kansas 67214
(316) 262-5313

ATTORNEY FOR PETITIONER

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

DID THE TRIAL COURT ERR IN OVERRULING
PETITIONER'S MOTION TO SUPPRESS THE STATEMENT
GIVEN BY PETITIONER TO AN AGENT OF LAW ENFORCE-
MENT OFFICERS, OVERRULING HIS OBJECTIONS AND
OTHER MOTIONS PERTAINING THERETO, AND DID THE
APPELLATE COURTS OF THE STATE OF KANSAS ERR IN

SUSTAINING THE TRIAL COURT?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PETITION

GROUNDS FOR INVOKING JURISDICTION .

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
ARGUMENT

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX I

APPENDIX II

APPENDIX III

APPENDIX IV

APPENDIX V

APPENDIX VI

APPENDIX VII

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Miranda vs. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436,
16 L.Ed.2d 694, 86 S.Ct. 1602

United States vs. Carollo, 507 F.2d 50,
(Sth Cir. 1975) cert. denied, 423 U.S.
874, 96 S.Ct. 143, 46 L.Ed.2d 105

United States vs. Jordan, 557 F.2d 1081
(Sth Cir. 1977) se a eS

Title 28, U.S.C. Section 1257(3).

U.S. Constitution, Amendment V

U.S. Constitution, Amendment VI

12, 15
13, 14
13, 14
5

G, Ray
15

6, 15

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

SAMUEL S. SHAW
PETITIONER
VS.

STATE OF KANSAS
RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

GROUNDS FOR INVOKING JURISDICTION

The Petitioner, Samuel S. Shaw, respect-
fully prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to
review the judgment and opinion by the Court
of Appeals of the State of Kansas, opinion
filed July 11, 1980, from which Petition to
the Supreme Court of the State of Kansas for
review was subsequently denied on September 9,
1980. No times are recorded by these Courts
relating to the entry of these decrees, but

they are entered by date only.

A copy of the Opinion of the Court of
Appeals is attached hereto as Appendix I.

A copy of the Order Denying Review from
the Supreme Court of the State of Kansas is
attached hereto as Appendix II.

€

Petitioner submits that the jurisdiction
of the Court is invoked under Title 28 USC
Section 1257 (3), which reads as follows:

"(3) By Writ of Certiorari

where the validity of a treaty or

Statute of the United States is

drawn in question or where the

validity of a state statute is

drawn in question on the ground

of its being repugnant to the

Constitution or treaties or laws

of the United States, or where

any title, right, privilege or

immunity especially set up or

claimed under the Consitution,

treaties or statutes thereof, or

commission held or authority ex-

ercised under, the United States."

The Petitioner specifically claims that
his specific constitutional rights, privileges
and immunities against self incrimination and
right to assistance of counsel were violated
by the admission into evidence in the trial

Court of a statement made to a person acting

as an agent for police officers, said state-
ments having been made without Petitioner
having been advised of his rights, and without
advice of counsel. These substantial federal
questions were raised by a Motion to Suppress
which was filed prior to the trial (Appendix
III).

The Motion to suppress the statements
(which were taken by tape recording) was over-
ruled by the trial Court. (Appendix IV) The
question was raised again on Petitioner's
Motion for New Trial (Appendix V) and also in
the Petitioner's appeal to the Court of Appeals
to the State of Kansas. (Appendix I)

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

The Fifth Amendment, United States Con-
stitution, states:

"No person...shall be compelled
in any criminal case to be a witness
against himself, ..."

The Sixth Amendment, United States Con-

stitution, states:

"In all criminal prosecu-
tions, the accused shall enjoy

the right...to have the assistance
of counsel for his defense."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioner was charged by ccmplaint/
information with one count of Arson, one count
of Aggravated Assualt, two counts of Criminal
Damage to Property, and one count of Conspiracy,
all these counts stemming from the events of
the 25th of January, 1978, wherein Mohammed
and Paulette Sarraf suffered injury to their
mobile home by bullets striking it and the
loss, by fire, of an automobile parked near
the mobile home. The complaint/information
was filed on December 20, 1978. On February 6,
1979, the Petitioner filed a Motion for Sup-
pression (Appendix III) of any statements made
by the Petitioner to David C. Day while David
C. Day was equipped with the radio transmitter
supplied by law enforcement officers, said
statements being highly incriminating, and
overheard by means of a receiver some distance
away, and being taped. The pertinent portion

of the Motion to Suppress, that being paragraph

one, was overruled by the Court on the 9th

day of February, 1979, the Court's Order being
filed of record on March 8, 1979. (Appendix
IV) Thereupon, the case came on for trial on
the 9th day of April, 1979, and the jury re-
turned a verdict of guilty on all counts on
the 17th day of April, 1979. (Appendix VII)
During the course of the trial, Petitioner
again moved to suppress the taped statement,
which was designated State's Exhibit 27, 28,
29 and 30, the last three exhibits being dupli-
cates of the first. (Appendix VI, page 35)
The Court overruled said Motion. (Appendix
VI, page 38) Motion for New Trial was heard

on the 8th day of May, 1979, was overruled,
and the Petitioner was sentenced to the Secre-
tary of Corrections for imprisonment for a
period of not less than five nor more than
twenty years on count one, Arson, for a period
of not less than three nor more than ten years

On count two, Aggravated Assualt, for a period

of not less than one nor more than five years

on each of count three and four, those both
being Criminal Damage to Property, and for
not less than one and no more than five years
on count five, Conspiracy. The last three
counts were to run consecutive to counts one
and two. (Appendix VII) Thereafter, the
Petitioner appealed to the Court of Appeals
in the State of Kansas, which Court denied his
appeal, (Appendix I) and thereafter, he pe-
titioned for rehearing to the Supreme Court of
the State of Kansas, which Petition was denied.
(Appendix II)

On or about the 25th day of January,
1978, one Mohammed Sarraf and his wife Paulette
were at home in their mobile home. Three
bullets struck the mobile home, resulting
in Mohammed and his wife calling the police.
After that call, the victims noticed their
small car parked next to the mobile home in
flames, and it subsequently burned completely.
Subsequently, the Petitioner's name was men-

tioned as a possible suspect. Subsequent in-

vestigation revealed that the shots had been
fired and the fire in the car had been set by
David C. Day. After hearing Day's confession,
wherein he stated the Petitioner paid him to
do the crimes, the police arranged with Day
to go talk to the Petitioner while Day was
wearing a wireless transmitter, allowing the
police to tape the conversation between the
parties. At the time the informant met with
the Petitioner at his place of business, the
Wichita Police Department was prepared to make
the arrest. They had surrounded the business
premises and were in a position to control
the Petitioner's departure. At trial, the
witness Day testified that he knew he was to
be arrested when the police came into the
place of business and stated that the police
told him that the Petitioner was to be ar-
rested at the same time. (Appendix VI, page 35)
After the police had put the transmitter on
David C. Day, they surrounded the place of

business, posting officers both inside and

_

outside the building, and then upon a signal
to David C. Day, Mr. Day engaged in a con-
versation with the Petitioner, wherein they
discussed the burning of the car and the
trailer incident. Thereafter, officers en-
tered the business, and the Petitioner was
subsequently charged and convicted as pre-
viously set forth herein.

ARGUMENT

The Fifth Amendment protects an indi-
vidual's right to be free from self incrimi-
nation. This right protects a criminal
Defendant from conviction based on involuntary
confession. The Supreme Court of the United
States has established procedural safe guards
designed to prevent involuntary confessions.
Before questioning a suspect, the police must
warn him that he has the right to remain
Silent, that any statement he gives may be
used against him and that he has the right
to consult retained or appointed counsel

before answering. These are the requirements

ah Din

of Miranda vs. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436. 16 L.

Ed.2d 694, 86 S.Ct. 1602. If these procedures
are not followed, any statement made subse-
quent to the initiation of the conversation
generally will be inadmissible in the pro-

secution's case in chief. Miranda vs. Arizona,

supra.
The Courts require the Miranda proce-

dures when a person undergoes custodial inter-

rogation. Custodial interrogation is defined

in Miranda as:

"Questioning initiated by

law enforcement officers after a

person has been taken into custody

or otherwise deprived of his free-

dom of action in any significant

way."

There are four criteria to be studied
in making determination of whether or not an
interrogation is custodial in nature. These
are:

1. Whether probable cause existed
to arrest the suspect,

2. Whether the investigation had
focused on the suspect,

site

3. Whether the police had sub-
jectively intended the individual
to be in custody, and

4. Whether the suspect believed
that he was in custody.

The determination of whether or not an
interrogation is custodial is determined on

a case by case approach. United States vs.

Jordan, 557 F.2d 1081 (5th Cir. 1977).

The Court in United States vs. Jordan, supra,

also stated that in a case by case analysis

it was not always necessary to find all four
of the above stated factors present to call
into play the Miranda requirements. In Jordan,
the Court also restated its implication of

United States vs. Carollo, 507 F.2d 50, 52

(Sth Cir. 1975) cert. denied, 423 U.S. 874,
96 S.Ct. 143, 46 L.Ed.2d 105, that there may
be a case where a focus of investigation
factor, standing by itself, would be sufficient
to require Miranda.

It is clear in the present case that
prior to the taking of the statement of the

Petitioner by David C. Day, the investigation

<=

had focused on the Petitioner. Police had
already obtained the statement of David C. Day
incriminating the Petitioner, and they had
further advised David C. Day, prior to obtaining
the taped statements that they intended to
arrest Petitioner. These facts speak the
existence of probable cause to arrest the
suspect. There is little doubt that the police
subjectively intended the individual to be in
custody in that they had surrounded the pre-
mises where the questioning was to have taken
place, placing officers all around the building
and in the building itself. The only element
missing to satisfy the Miranda requirements is
that the Petitioner had no reason to suspect
that he was, in fact, in custody. Again, it

is not required that all four factors to call
into play the Miranda requirements. United

States vs. Jordan, supra; United States vs.

Carollo, supra. In this case, the police

have focused their attention on the Petitioner,

Samuel S. Shaw. They had the confession of

=o

another participant, which clearly implicated
the Petitioner, and had surrounded and entered
the building wherein the Petitioner was located.
They had stated to the agent David C. Day,
that they intended to make an arrest as soon
as they entered the building. They surrounded
the place in such a manner and with the intent
that the Petitioner would not be allowed to
leave the premises.

Under these facts and circumstances,
statements made by Samuel S. Shaw to David fe
Day, which were transmitted to and recorded
by the Police Department and which were intro-
duced into evidence in State's Exhibits 27,
28, 29 and 30, should have been Suppressed for
failure of the Police Department to meet the

requirements of Miranda and protect the Pe-

titioner's rights under the Fifth Amendment
to the United States Constitution, and the
Sixth Amendment to the United States Consti-

tution.

|

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioner
respectfully submits Writ of Certiorari should
be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

STEVEN C. SHER

1540 North Broadway
Wichita, Kansas 67214
(316) 262-5313

-16-

APPENDIX I

OPINION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS
OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

NOT DESIGNATED FOR PUBLICATION

No. 51,126

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

STATE OF KANSAS,
Appellee,

Vv.

SAMUEL S. SHAW,
Appellant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION
Appeal from Sedgwick District Court,
division No. 1; WILLIS W. WALL, judge. Opinion
filed July 11, 1980. Affirmed.

Andrew E. Busch, of O'Hara, Busch,

Johnson & Falk, of Wichita, for the appellant.

Ronald D. DeMoss, assistant district

attorney, Robert T. Stephan, attorney general,

and Vern Miller, district attorney, for the

appellee.

ats

Before FOTH, C.J., SPENCER AND SWINE-
HART, JJ.

SWINEHART, J.: The defendant, Samuel
S. Shaw, appeals from his conviction of arson,
K.S.A. 21-3718, aggravated assault, K.S.A.
21-3410, two counts of criminal damage to
property, K.S.A. 1979 Supp. 21-3720, and
conspiracy, K.S.A. 21-3302.

The defendant alleged three grounds
of error, one of which was abandoned on oral
argument. Thus, only the alleged prejudicial
remarks of the prosecutor and improper ad-
mission of statements will be considered.

During cross-examination of a defense
witness and after defendant's counsel ob-
jected to a question as being beyond the
scope of direct examination and irrelevant,
the prosecutor retorted: "Well, now, if Mr.
Shaw would like to testify concerning the
character of Mr. Payne (the testifying witness)
he could certainly take the stand." Defen-

dant's counsel again objected and requested

=~ =

that the jury be instructed to disregard

that statement of the prosecutor. The court
overruled the objection to the original ques-
tion asked on cross-examination, admonished
the jury to disregard the comment about de-
fendant's privilege to take the stand and
testify, and further admonished the prosecutor
as to the scope of his examination.

Assuming that the prosecutor's comment
constituted an improper reference to defen-
dant's right against self-incrimination, it
cannot be characterized as basis for reversal
in view of the court's immediate admonishment
and the overwhelming evidence of guilt.

State v. Ponds, 227 Kan. 627, 608 P.2d 946

(1980); State v. Henderson, 226 Kan 726, 603

P,2d 613 (1979).

Defendant further contends that the
court erred by admitting into evidence a
tape recording of incriminating statements
that he made to an agent of the Wichita Police

Department without prior Miranda warnings.

=<

The facts material to the resolution

of this question are not in dispute. The
tape recording was of a conversation between
the defendant and his former employee who

was acting as a police informant. According
to the police, the informant's story standing
alone was not sufficient to make the arrest.
Thus, the recording which was taken just
prior to defendant's arrest was necessary to
confirm information provided by the agent.

At the time the informant met with the
defendant at his place of business, the
Wichita Police Department was prepared to
make the arrest. They had surrounded the
business premises — were in a position to
control defendant's departure. However,
without question, the defendant was unaware
of this situation at the time the conversa-
tion was taped. Our question is whether the
defendant's Fifth Amendment rights were vio-
lated.

Defendant cites Miranda v. Arizona,

-20-

384 U.S. 436, 16 L.Ed.2d 694, 86 S.Ct. 1602

(1966); United States v. Jordan, 557 F.2d

1081 (5th Cir. 1977); and United States v.

Carollo, 507 F.2d 50, 52 (5th Cir.), cert.

denied 423 U.S. 874 (1975), to support his
position. However, the facts of the present
case make it distinguishable from the above
mentioned cases. In the present case none

of the safeguards protected by Miranda were

breached. There was no showing that defen-
dant realized he and his place of business
were surrounded by police; that he was being
interrogated or giving a statement to a
police officer or agent of the police; or
that he was under any apprehension, coercion
or intimidation while talking to his former
employee whom he did not know was acting in
a dual capacity.

Defendant's contention that his Fifth
Amendment rights were violated is without

merit. State v. McCorgary, 224 Kan. 677, 585

P.2d 1024 (1978); State v. Jordan, 220 Kan.

~tin

110, 551 P.2d 773 (1976).

Judgment is affirmed.

-~22-

APPENDIX II

OPINION OF THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS
State of Kansas, Appellee,
Vv. No. 51126

)
)
)
)
Samuel S. Shaw, Appellant. )
)

You are hereby notified of the fol-
lowing action taken in the above entitled
‘case:

Petition for review.

Denied.

Date September 9, 1980
Yours very truly,

LEWIS C. CARTER
Clerk, Supreme Court

-23-

APPENDIX III

MOTION TO SUPPRESS

ANDREW E. BUSCH
Attorney at Law

732 North Topeka
Wichita, Kansas 67214
265-6624

IN THE EIGHTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT
DISTRICT COURT, SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
CRIMINAL DEPARTMENT

STATE OF KANSAS,
Plaintiff,

vs. Case No. 78CR2100

)
)
)
)
;
SAMUEL S. SHAW aka SAM )
BUTT, aka MOHAMMAD S., )
BUTT, )
)

Defendant. )

)

MOTION

COMES NOW, the defendant and moves the
court for an Order requiring the suppression
of any and all statements and recordings of
said statements obtained by the prosecution:

1. Through the use of participant

monitoring whereby statements made by the

-~24-

defendant in a private place to another par-
ticipant, to-wit: David Cc. Day, while said
David C. Day was equipped with a radio trans-
mitter, supplied by agents of the plaintiff,
which were overheard by police by means of

a receiver located some distance away, for
the reason that such action by law enforce-
ment agencies constitutes a search and seizure
which was unreasonable in the absence of a
search warrant, and testimony to overheard
conversations under such circumstances must
be ruled inadmissable.

2. Any statements made by the defen-—
dant to David C. Day while said David C. Day
and this defendant were in custody in Sedg-
wick County Jail and this defendant was un-
aware that said David C. Day was acting in

the capacity of the agent of the law enforce-

rw Andrew E. Busch
Andrew E. Busch

Attorney for defendant

ment agency.

o98=

NOTICE OF HEARING

_ Please take note that the above Motion
will be heard before the Honorable Judge
Elliott Fry, Position A, 6th floor, South
Court, Sedgwick County Courthouse, Wichita,
Kansas on the 9th day of February, 1979, at
9:30 o'clock A.M., or as soon thereafter as
the Court may reach the same.

/s/ Andrew E. Busch
Andrew —£. Busch

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Andrew E. Busch, do hereby certify
that I mailed a true and correct copy of the
above and foregoing Motion to Jim Turner,
Assistant District Attorney, Sedgwick County,
Courthouse, 535 North Main, Wichita, Kansas
67203 on this 2nd day of February, 1979.

/s/ Andrew E. Busch
Andrew E. Busch

-~26-

APPENDIX IV

ORDER OVERRULING MOTION TO SUPPRESS

JIM TURNER

Assistant District Attorney
Sedgwick County Court House
Wichita, Kansas 67203

IN THE EIGHTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT
DISTRICT COURT, SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
CRIMINAL DEPARTMENT

THE STATE OF KANSAS,
Plaintiff,

vs. Case No. 78CR2100

SAMUEL S. SHAW, also known

as SAM BUTT, also known as
MOHAMMAD S. BUTT,

Division No. 5

Defendant.

i ea a a hh ae

NOW, on this 9th day of February, 1979,
this matter comes on for hearing on defen-
dant's motion to suppress filed herein. The
State appears by Assistant District Attorney,
Jim Turner, and the defendant appears in

person and by his attorney, Andrew Busch.

The Court, after hearing evidence

and arguments of counsel and being fully
advised in the premises finds as follows:

1. As to Paragraph No. 1 of defen-
dant's motion, the Court that that portion
of defendant's motion should be and the same
is hereby overruled;

2. As to Paragraph No. 2 of defen-
dant's motion, the Court finds that there is
insufficient evidence before to Court for the
Court to rule; that if evidence comes to
light, a hearing will be held before such
evidence is introduced.

IT IS THEREFORE BY THE COURT ORDERED
that Paragraph 1 of defendant's motion is
overruled; IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that as to
paragraph 2, there is presently insufficient
evidence before the Court; that if such
evidence comes to light, this Court will hold
a hearing before its introduction.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ James J. Noone
JUDGE JAMES J. NOONE

x =

[s/ James D. Turner
JIM TURNER
Assistant District Attorney

/s/ Andrew E. Busch
ANDREW BUSCH
Attorney for Defendant

-29-

APPENDIX V

MOTION FOR NEW TRIAL

ANDREW E. BUSCH
Attorney at Law

732 North Topeka
Wichita, Kansas 67214
265-6624

IN THE EIGHTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT
DISTRICT COURT, SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
CRIMINAL DEPARTMENT

THE STATE OF KANSAS, )

Plaintiff,
vs. ‘ Case No. 78CR2100
SAMUEL SHAW,

Defendant.

)
MOTION FOR NEW TRIAL

COMES NOW the Defendant, Samuel S.
Shaw, in the above entitled matter, by and
through his attorney, Andrew E. Busch, and
respectfully moves this Honorable Court for
an Order setting aside the verdict of the
jury entered herein on the 17th day of April,
1979, and granting this defendant a new trial

for the following reasons:

-~30-

—_

—

1) The Court erred in failing to
dismiss Count 5 of the Complaint and Infor-
mation, Conspiracy, herein at the close of
the State's evidence and at the motion of
the defendant for the reason that the record
was without sufficient evidence to make a
prima facie case against the defendant on
that Count by which a jury could convict in
accord with the law.

2) The Court erred in failing to dis-
miss Count 2 of the Complaint and Information,
Aggravated Assualt, herein at the close of
the State's evidence and at the motion of
the defendant for the reason that the record
was without sufficient evidence to make a
prima facie case against the defendant on
the Count by which a jury could convict in
accord with the law.

3) The Court erred in failing to in-
struct the jury as requested by the defendant
that:

"An accomplice witness is one who
testifies that he was involved in

~ =

the commission of the crime with

which the defendant is charged.

You should consider with caution

the uncorroborated testimony of

an accomplice witness." (PIK 52.18)

4) The Court erred in allowing the
admission into evidence, over the objection
of the defendant, of the States' Exhibits
27 & 30 which were obtained on violation of
defendant's rights under the 4th and 5th
Amendments to the United States Constitution.

WHEREFORE by reason of the above and
foregoing and in the interest of justice,

the defendant earnestly prays this Honorable

Court to grant this motion for a new trial.

/s/ Andrew E. Busch

Andrew E. Busch
Attorney for Defendant

NOTICE OF HEARING

Please take note that the above Motion
for a New Trial will be heard before the
Honorable Willis Wall, Division 1, 6th floor,
Sedgwick County Courthouse on the 4th day of
May at 9:00 o'clock a.m., or as soon there-
after as the Court may reach the same.

/s/ Andrew E. Busch

Andrew E. Busch

_ =

CERTIFICATION

I, Andrew E. Busch, hereby certify that
I mailed a true and correct copy of the above
and foregoing Motion for a New Trial to Jim
Farmer, Assistant District Attorney, Sedgwick
County Courthouse Annex, 535 North Main,
Wichita, Kansas 67203 on this 27th day of
April, 1979.

[s/ Andrew E. Busch
Andrew E. Busch

-33-

APPENDIX VI

PERTINENT PORTIONS OF THE
TRIAL TRANSCRIPT

(TRIAL TRANSCRIPT, PAGE 217)
Yes.
And the fact that you wanted some help
from them for your sentence didn't have
anything to do with it?
Well, when I talked to Schrader and Pat
Taylor about it might help me, and they
Said they didn't think so, and I got most
of my help -- it was from my lawyer.
Well, didn't they say they'd talk to the
District Attorney for you if you helped
them?
I think -- I think they did, but --
You do or you don't think?
They said they would, but they couldn't
guarantee anything.
What did they tell you would happen that
night if you went down there with the

body pack on?

~34-

A. I was still going to be arrested.

Q. Did they say they were going to arrest
Mr. Shah, too, that night?

A. Uh-huh.

Q. Did they -- would you answer out loud,
please?

A. Yes.

Q. They told you that before they wired you
up?

A. (Witness nods head affirmatively. )
Is that a yes, please?
The way they was talking I understood it
to be that they were going to -- I knew
I was going to be arrested when they

walked in.

(TRIAL TRANSCRIPT, PABE 229, LINE 1,
THROUGH PAGE 230, LINE 9.)

MR. BUSCH: If I might, Your Honor, at
this point I would renew my motion to sup-
press those tapes in light of the testimony

of David Day in that the police had already

-~35-

indicated that it was their intent to arrest
Mr. Shah at the Stage Door Inn prior to that
time. It's obvious at this point that the
investigation had centered on this individual.
They were going down there -- they were going
to arrest him. He should have been advised

of his Miranda rights. They sent their own

agent in, had him wired for sound, and I feel
that he should have been advised of his rights

under Miranda at that point since the investi-

gation had centered on him. Since there is
already in evidence an intent to make the
arrest, the tapes should be suppressed.

MR. TURNER: The matter has already
been heard by Judge Noone.

MR. BUSCH: Well, that evidence was
not before Judge Noone, and it was in dispute
at that time.

MR. TURNER: The State can review all
of the cases that were brought before Judge
Noone, if it has a minute to refresh its

memory, if there's any need to.

-36-

MR. BUSCH: Your Honor, the motion
was made before Judge Noone, but that evidence
was not presented to the Court at that time.
THE COURT: It appears that Judge
Noone did overrule that motion and your pre-
vious motion in February of '79.
MR. BUSCH: That is correct, Your Honor.
THE COURT: And --
MR. BUSCH: But, there was not an evi-
dentiary hearing held at that time, and he
was unaware of the evidence that was presented
to the Court today regarding the intent of
the law enforcement agent to arrest Samuel

Shah prior to the taking of these statements.

(TRIAL TRANSCRIPT, PAGE 233,
LINE 5 THROUGH LINE 21. )

MR. BUSCH: If it please the Court,
if I might reply. I'm sure I have read the
case, but I'm not sure if it's the one I'm
thinking of. In this particular case I be-

lieve they were talking about a taped state-

«37 =

ment that was used in rebuttal evidence. It
may Or may not have been the case. I would
aSk Your Honor to check on that.

Also, in that case there was no state-
ment anywhere in the evidence, nor was there
one recited by Mr. Turner, that they were
going to arrest him. There's a statement
to that effect in this case, Your Honor,
that they were going to arrest him that night.
That's what they told Mr. Day before they
left and went down there.

THE COURT: This matter has already
been ruled on. The Court is going to go on
the fact that the motion was overruled by
Judge Noone and that this motion at this

time is overruled.

-~38-

APPENDIX VII

TOURNAL ENTRY OF JUDGMENT
OF TRIAL COURT

JAMES D. TURNER

Assistant District Attorney
Sedgwick County Courthouse
Wichita, Kansas 67203
268-7281

IN THE EIGHTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT
DISTRICT COURT, SEDGWICK COUNTY, KANSAS
CRIMINAL DEPARTMENT

THE STATE OF KANSAS,
Plaintiff,

vs. Case No. 78CR2100

SAMUEL S. SHAW a/k/a SAM

BUTT a/k/a MOHAMMAD S. BUTT
a/k/a SAMUEL S. SHAH,

Division No. 1

Defendant.

ee Bs hs ees a

JOURNAL ENTRY OF JUDGMENT

On this 9th day of April, 1979, this
case comes on for trial, the defendant having
heretofore been served a copy of the Infor-
mation charging him with Arson, Count One,
contrary to K.S.A. 21-3718; Aggravated As-
sault, Count Two, contrary to K.S.A. 21-

3410; Criminal Damage to Property, Count

-39-

7

Three, contrary to K.S.A. 21-3720; Criminal
Damage to Property, Count Four, contrary to
K.S.A. 21-3720 and with Conspiracy, Count
Five, contrary to K.S.A. 21-3302. The State
of Kansas appears by its attorney, James D.
Turner, Assistant District Attorney. The
defendant appears in person and by his at-
torney, Andrew E. Busch.

Thereupon, a Jury is duly impaneled
and sworn and evidence is presented, the
trial being adjourned from court day to
court day until both sides rest.

Thereafter, on the 17th day of April,
1979, the Jury after having received the
evidence, the instructions of the Court,
the arguments of counsel and having duly
deliberated, returned the following verdicts
in open court:

"We, the Jury, impaneled and
sworn in the above entitled case,

do upon our oath find the defendant

guilty of the crime of Arson as

charged in Count One. (Please state

either "guilty" or "not guilty" in
accordance with the verdict of the

jury.)

-40-

Date of this verdict 4-17, 1979.

/s/ Douglas R. Gibb

Foreman"

"We, the Jury, impaneled and
sworn in the above entitled case, do
upon our oath find the defendant
guilty of the crime of Aggravated
Assault as charged in Count Two.
(Please state either "guilty" or
"not guilty" in accordance with the
verdict of the jury. )

Date of this verdict 4-17,1979.

/s/ Douglas R. Gibb
Foreman"

"We, the Jury, impaneled and
sworn in the above entitled case,
do upon our oath find the defendant
guilty of the crime of Criminal
Damage to Property as charged in
Count Three. (Please state either
"guilty" or "not guilty" in ac-
cordance with the verdict of the
jury.)

Date of this verdict 4-17,1979

[s/ Douglas R. Gibb
Foreman"

"We, the Jury, impaneled and
sworn in the above entitled case, do
upon our oath find the defendant
guilty of the crime of Criminal
Damage to Property as charged in
Count Four. (Please state either
"guilty" or "not guilty" in accor-
dance with the verdict of the jury. )

a

Date of this verdict 4-17, 1979

/s/ Douglas R. Gibb
Foreman"

"We, the Jury, impaneled and
sworn in the above entitled case,
do upon our oath find the defendant
guilty of the crime of Conspiracy
as charged in Count Five. (Please
state either "guilty" or "not guilty"
in accordance with the verdict of
the jury.)

Date of this verdict 4-17, 1979

/s/ Douglas R. Gibb
Foreman"

Thereupon, the Court accepted the ver-
dicts and continues this case for sentencing
and/or motion for new trial to be heard on
May 8, 1979.

Thereafter, on the 8th day of May, 1979,
all parties appear as aforesaid. Defendant's
Motion for New Trial is heard by the Court,
who, after reviewing the file, hearing the
statements of counsel and being fully advised
in the premises, overrules said motion.

The Court inquires of the defendant

if he has any legal cause to show why judg-

-42-

ment of sentence should not be pronounced
against him; the defendant failing to show
any such cause and none appearing, there
being none, the Court then proceeds to pro-
nounce judgment of sentence against the de-
fendant as follows:

IT IS THE SENTENCE OF THIS COURT AND
IT IS HEREBY CONSIDERED, ORDERED, ADJUDGED
AND DECREED that the defendant is hereby
committed to the custody of the Secretary
of Corrections for imprisonment for a period
of not less than five (5) nor more than
twenty (20) years on the charge of Arson,
Count One, contrary to K.S.A. 21-3718 and
in accordance with K.S.A. 21-4501(c); and
for a period of not less than three (3) nor
more than ten (10) years on the charge of
Aggravated Assault, Count Two, contrary to
K.S.A. 21-3410 and in accordance with K.S.A.
21-4501(d); and for a period of not less
than one (1) nor more than five (5) years

each on the charges of Criminal Damage to

-43-

Property, Count Three and Count Four, both
contrary to K.S.A. 21-3720 and on the charge
of Conspiracy, Count Five, contrary to K.S.A.
21-3302, all in accordance with K.S.A. 21-
4501(e). Counts Three, Four and Five shall
run concurrent with each and consecutive to
Count One and Two. Defendant shall pay the
costs of this action to the Clerk of this
Court, including witness fees and miscel-
laneous expenses.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk
of this Court deliver two (2) certified copies
of this judgment and commitment to the
Sheriff of Sedgwick County, Kansas, or one
of his duly authorized deputies. It is
further ordered that such certified copies
serve as the commitment of the defendant and
said Sheriff or authorized deputy transport
the defendant to the custody of the Secretary
of Corrections for imprisonment and make due
return thereof.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that for the

ities

purpose of computing defendant's sentence,
his parole eligibility and conditional re-
lease dates thereunder, that such sentence
shall be computed from April 17, 1979.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

[s/ Willis W. Wall

WILLIS W. WALL, JUDGE

APPROVED BY:

/s/ James D. Turner
JAMES D. TURNER
Assistant District Attorney

/s/ Andrew E. Busch
ANDREW E. BUSCH
Attorney for Defendant

~45-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0607%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
