# Opposition — County of Fairfax v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0556%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 1078

## Text

No. 80-541 |

A

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

COUNTY OF FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

WADE H. McCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

Drew S. Days, III
Assistant Attorney General

JESSICA DUNSAY SILVER

DAVID L. ROSE

ELLEN K. WAYNE
Attorneys

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

———

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

No. 80-541
CoUNTY OF FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA, ET AL., PETITIONERS
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court of appeals erred in reversing,
as based on insufficient evidence, the district court’s
rulings concerning the appropriate use of respond-
ent’s application flow analysis and petitioners’ con-
structive labor force analysis as measurements of
petitioner Fairfax County’s labor market from 1974
to 1978.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I hiss. ss cesasiesinisncinanttinaiombaninnioehasnesnidemapubeahets 1
I ii disiddabshaapbonidiioenacescntenniasienosenninontonsanenshabudantiin 1
SI aa cites Sonsieiiesbtublsorsenyionesiievensenstiniebecbaloonioubenonianiite 1
SIL sinibnesiiniencbibhysantscvosvopmisice vaissochepstatessmssniaierpedsaaceiies 8
TA conichetiialibitdtginnisenss decumectiainesninteniniveienecbaianeriits 11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen & Engine-
men V. Bangor & Aroostook R.R., 389 U.S. 327.. 10
Hazelwood School District v. United States, 483

i ieeecsiniiadais 8
Hester v. Southern Ry., 497 F.2d 1874 ................ 8
Statutes :
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII, 42 U.S.C.
EE RES AE AEN DEEN DOR c= Ns 10
Crime Control Act of 1978, 42 U.S.C. 8766(c)
(to be recodified at 42 U.S.C. 8789d(c)) ............ 10
State and Local Fiscal Assistance Act of 1972,
I RTE, AGRO Racepoint Aer 10
(III)

_ PREVIOUS PAGE WAS BLANK |

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. C1-
C24)' is unofficially reported at 23 Empl. Prac. Dec.
{| 31,117. The opinion of the district court (Pet. App.
B1-B20 and Appendices) is unofficially reported at
20 Empl. Prac. Dec. {| 30,024.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on July 23, 1980. A petition for rehearing was de-
nied by the court of appeals on August 28, 1980.
The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on Sep-
tember 30, 1980. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. In December 1978, the Attorney General filed
suit on behalf of the United States alleging that peti-
tioner Fairfax County, Virginia (“the County’), had
engaged in a pattern or practice of discrimination
against blacks and women in its employment prac-
tices. The complaint alleged both a failure to hire,
assign, and promote blacks and women on the same
basis as white males (disparate treatment) and the
use of unvalidated selection procedures with a dis-
parate impact on blacks and women. In addition, the
complaint alleged that the County refused to supply
the Department of Justice with information neces-
sary to investigate the County’s compliance with the

1The appendix to the petition contains the order of the
district court, the opinion of the district court and the opinion
of the court of appeals. It has not been paginated consecu-
tively. Reference to the appendix in this brief will treat the
order as Appendix A, the district court’s opinion as Appendix
B and the court of appeals’ opinion as Appendix C.

(1)

2

nondiscrimination provisions of several funding
statutes.

Undisputed evidence at trial showed that until
January 1, 1978, after the initiation of the Justice
Department’s investigation of the County’s employ-
ment practices on October 27, 1977, the County
destroyed records showing the racial and sexual com-
position of the pool of applicants for County jobs
(Pet. App. B38). This destruction of records con-
cededly violated the County’s record keeping obliga-
tions under federal law.

On the merits, the government’s evidence showed
that blacks constituted 5.5% or less of the employees
in seven out of eight job categories,? but 28% of
service/maintenance workers. Women constituted
24% or less of the employees in six of the eight cate-
gories, but 92% in clerical positions (Pet. App. C7).
A comparison of the percentage of blacks and women
who applied for positions with Fairfax County in
1978 in each of the eight job categories (applicant
flow) with the percentages of blacks and women ac-
tually hired by the County from 1974-1978 * showed
disparities in the hiring of blacks in all eight job
categories, six of which were statistically significant
(see Pet. App. B11 n.6; DX 48; A. 962): *

2The job categories used for purposes of much of the
analysis in this case are those adopted by the Equal Employ-
ment Opportunity Commission for state and local government
reporting purposes. The categories are as follows: (1) offi-
cials and administrators, (2) professionals, (3) technicians,
(4) protective service, (5) paraprofessional, (6) office/cleri-
cal, (7) skilled craft, (8) service/maintenance.

8 Applicant flow figures for the years 1974-1977 were not
available because of the County’s destruction of records.

“DX” and “PX” refer to defendants’ and plaintiff’s ex-
hibits respectively. “A.” refers to the appendix in the court

of appeals.

8

1974-1978 Black Hires

Black Expected Disparity

EEO Total Applicant Black Black in Standard

Category Hires % Hires Hires® Deviations
1 Officials 14 12.58% 1(7%) 2 heed
2 Prof. 286 11.26% 20(7%) 82 2.28
8 Tech. 282 12.99% 18(6%) 30 8.35
4 Prot. Serv. 784 22.96% 81(10%) 180 8.40
5 Para-prof. 74 9.78% 4(5%) 7 find
6 Clerical 768 12.60% 44(6%) 96 5.69
7 Sk. Craft 248 18.52% 16(7%) 33 8.16
8 Serv./Maint. 793 19.57% 127(16%) 155 2.52

‘For women, the comparison showed hiring dis-
parities against women in at least six of the eight
categories ° and statistically significant disparities in
five categories (see Pet. App. Bll n.6; DX 49; A.
963) :

1974-1978 Female Hires

Female Expected Disparity

EEO Total Applicant Female Female in Standard

Category Hires % Hires Hires* Deviations
1 Officials 14 34.82% 4(28%) — —
2 Prof. 286 65.35% 97(384%) 158 7.29
8 Tech. 232 44.85% 72(31%) 104 4.23
4 Prot. Serv. 784 12.82% 114(15%) 97 _
5 Para-prof. 74 64.68% 22(80%) 40 4.31
6 Clerical 768 86.21% 684(90%) 658 —
7 Sk. Craft 243 6.89% 6(2%) 17 2.72

8 Serv./Maint. 793 10.54% 26(8%) 84 6.66

5 Rounded to nearest whole number.

*The protective service category includes school crossing
guards, a part time position filled overwhelmingly by women.
Of the 114 female hires from 1974 to 1978, 58 were of school
crossing guards (PX 1b). If those positions are eliminated,
only 56 (7.1%) of the total hires for protective service jobs
were female.

7 Rounded to nearest whole number.

4

In addition, the United States presented evidence
that tests given by the County, which were prerequi-
sites for jobs constituting approximately 30% of the
County’s work force, had a statistica'ly significant
adverse impact on black employees (Pet. App. C11-
C12).

The County produced no evidence rebutting the
government’s record keeping allegations. Against the
government’s allegations of discrimination in the hir-
ing of blacks and women, the County introduced a
statistical analysis of its labor market based upon
the experienced and employed work force in 1970.
This analysis determined, by using the zip codes of
applicants’ residences, the percentages of the County’s
black and women applicants in 1978 broken down by
the eight job categories in six different geographic
areas. Based upon figures from the 1970 Census that
purported to show the percentage of black and female
employed and experienced unemployed persons in
each job category in each geographic area, the County
derived constructive labor market “availability” sta-
tistics. A comparison of the County’s labor market
figures and its hires in each year from 1974 to 1978
showed significant disparities in the hiring of blacks
in the protective service worker and service/mainten-
ance categories in 1976 and 1977 and in the hiring
of women in the service/maintenance category from
1974-1978 but did not show disparities in other cate-
gories (Pet. App. B14-B17).

With respect to its tests or other selection proce-
dures, the County introduced evidence that it had
commenced a validity study on its entry level exami-
nations for law enforcement and fire fighter jubs, but
did not offer any studies showing the validity of these
or other examinations. Lastly, the County introduced
extensive evidence as to its 1978 affirmative action

5

plan. The County had had a series of affirmative
action plans since 1972 (Pet. App. C12, C17).

2. The district court found that the County had
not maintained the records required by federal reg-
ulations before January 1, 1978 (Pet. App. B38, Ap-
pendix A I-VII). The court ruled, however, that no
injunction was necessary to ensure further compli-
ance with record keeping requirements (Pet. App.
B4).

On the merits, the district court rejected the gov-
ernment’s applicant flow data as being misleading
for the 1974-1977 period on the theory that the Coun-
ty’s 1978 affirmative action plan increased the per-
centage of biacks and women applying to the County
in 1978 (Pet. App. B11-B13). The court also sug-
gested that the plan might have resulted in an in-
creased number of unqualified applicants (id. at
B11). The court accordingly held that the applicant
flow data did not establish a prima facie case (id.
at B13). The court accepted the County’s construc-
tive labor force analysis, which was based upon the
1978 applicant data and the 1970 Census data, as
the most accurate measurement of the black and
female percentages of the County’s labor pool (id. at
B14-B16). Based upon this data the court found
discrimination as to blacks in protective service and
service/maintenance jobs in 1976 and 1977 and as
to women in service/maintenance jobs for 1974-1978
(id. at B17-B18). The remedy imposed was a general
injunction against discrimination in the hiring of
women for service/maintenance jobs (id. at B20).
The court concluded that no injunction prohibiting
discrimination against blacks was necessary in light
of the County’s existing affirmative action program
(id. at B19-B20).

6

With respect to the government’s evidence that the
selection procedures had a discriminatory impact, the
court agreed that the County’s law enforcement and
firefighter tests had not been validated (Pet. App.
B18). The court, however, gave no further consider-
ation to the evidence (see id. at C13).

3. The court of appeals vacated and remanded
(Pet. App. C1-C24). On the issue of record keep-
ing, the court of appeals held that the district court
should have granted injunctive relief requiring com-
pliance with record keeping requirements and should
have imposed periodic reporting requirements to en-
able it to monitor compliance (id. at C20-C21). With
respect to the government’s disparate treatment case,
the court found unpersuasive the district court’s rea-
sons for rejecting the government’s applicant flow
data—that the County’s 1978 affirmative action plan
likely resulted in larger percentages of black and
female applicants than in earlier years and that
a larger proportion of those applicants might have
been unqualified. First, the court noted that the
County had had several affirmative action programs
in place since 1972 and there was no reason to be-
lieve that the applicant flow in 1978 was signifi-
cantly different from prior years. Second, there was
no evidence in the record that a higher percentage
of the 1978 applicants were unqualified, and even
if the County could make such a showing, that was
a matter to be proved on rebuttal; it did not alter
the fact that the government had shown a prima
facie case (id. at C16-C18). The court of appeals also
held that the district court erred in finding the Coun-
ty’s constructive labor force analysis to be a more
accurate reflection of the 1974-1978 labor market for
two reasons. First, the analysis relied on 1970

7

Census data that probably did not reflect actual con-
ditions in 1974-1978. Second, the analysis used only
the population figures for employed and experienced
workers although many of the County’s jobs require
no prior experience (id. at C18-C19). The court thus
concluded that the government had proved a “more
extensive prima facie case than the district court
recognized,”’ but it declined to define “the exact con-
tours of the case” (id. at C19).

Accordingly, the court of appeals vacated the judg-
ment of the district court and remanded for findings
as to the extent of the prima facie case of disparate
treatment established by the government and for an
assessment of any evidence adduced by the County
in rebuttal. With respect to the government’s dis-
parate impact case, the court noted that the County
had failed to offer any evidence of professional valida-
tion of its tests, with one possible exception (Pet.
App. C19-C20, C22). The court, however, declined to
reach a final decision on this aspect of the case and
also remanded it to the district court for factual
findings, particularly on the rebuttal evidence offered
by the County (id. at C23-C24).

On September 5, 1980, the court of appeals denied a
motion to stay the mandate pending disposition of this
petition (Pet. 2). A similar motion to stay the man-
date was presented to the Chief Justice, who denied
it on October 9, 1980. However, on October 24, 1980,
the district court stayed all proceedings on remand,
including discovery, pending disposition of this
petition.

8

ARGUMENT

Petitioners contend (Pet. 5-17) that the court of
appeals’ decision that the government’s applicant flow
analysis established a prima facie case of disparate
treatment is contrary to this Court’s decision in
Hazelwood School District v. United States, 483 U.S.
299 (1977). This contention is without merit. More-
over, the interlocutory nature of the court’s decision
and the fact that it is closely tied to the specific facts
of this case make the decision inappropriate for re-
view by this Court.

1. The decision of the court of appeals is fully in
accord with this Court’s opinion in Hazelwood School
District v. United States, supra. In Hazelwood, the
Court directed the consideration on remand of a
number of factors relevant to the determination of
the racial composition of the school district’s labor
market. 433 U.S. at 310-812. Many of these factors
concerned the geographic definition of the labor mar-
ket because that was a critical issue in the controversy
below. Consideration of the geographic factors was
necessitated by the absence of any evidence as to the
racial composition of the applicants, which the Court
noted would be “very relevant” proof of the work
force to be compared with the school district’s hiring
practices. 4383 U.S. at 308 n.13. See also Hester v.
Southern Ry., 497 F.2d 1374, 1879 (5th Cir. 1974).
Thus, as the court of appeals noted (Pet. App. C16),
its reliance on applicant flow data was in accordance
with the guidelines of Hazelwood.

The disagreement between the court of appeals and
the district court in this case is not over the legal
question of the relevance of applicant flow informa-
tion. Indeed, the County’s geographic labor force
analysis was itself based upon 1978 applicant flow

9

data (see Pet. App. B15). The major disagreement
concerned what legitimate inferences could be drawn
from the 1978 records and applied to the racial and
sexual composition of applicants from 1974-1977,
when the County had unlawfully destroyed the rec-
ords that would have directly showed that informa-
tion. This question, as is apparent from petitioners’
numerous references to the record (Pet. 7-9, 13-16),
turns upon the sufficiency of the evidence to support
the district court’s conclusions. No legal issue is pre-
sented that warrants this court’s review.

In any event, the court of appeals correctly found
that there was no adequate basis for the assumption
that the County’s 1978 affirmative action plan caused
a higher black and female applicant flow in that
year than had existed from 1974 to 1977. The court
noted that the County had had affirmative action
programs since 1972, that some of the features of the
1978 plan were continuations of earlier programs, and
that some of the earlier affirmative action efforts had
actually been discontinued by 1978 (Pet. App. C17).°
In addition, the court correctly found no basis in the
record for assuming that 1978 black and female appli-

8 The statistics cited by petitioners (Pet. 7-8) do not con-
flict with the court of appeals’ opinion. Evidence of an in-
crease in black certifications from the Fairfax County Office
of Personnel to the Police Department reflects a change in the
manner of processing and certification of black applicants
by the personnel office (A. 399) rather than a change in
the number or percentage of blacks applying to the personnel
office for police officer positions. Police minority recruitment
efforts involving black colleges (A. 758-760), media adver-
tising (A. 764-765), and special testing procedures (A. 765)
were all originated prior to 1978. Even in 1978, only four
of 57 police officers hired by the County were black (PX
2e at code 4118C).

10

cants were more likely to be unqualified than white
male applicants. Thus, as the court of appeals held,
the district court erred in ruling that the government
had not established a prima facie case of disparate
treatment. Moreover, given the conceptual ® and pro-
cedural *° flaws in the County’s work force analysis,
the court of appeals correctly concluded that the dis-
trict court erred in finding that analysis to be prefer-
able to the applicant flow analysis.

2. Apart from the merits of the court of appeals’
decision, it is clearly not ripe for review at this time.
The case has been remanded to the district court for
further proceedings that may obviate any necessity
for further review. Accordingly, review by this Court
would be premature. See Brotherhood of Locomotive
Firemen & Enginemen v. Bangor & Aroostook R.R.,
389 U.S. 327 (1967). Moreover, petitioners have not
challenged that portion of the court of appeals’ opin-
ion remanding for further findings on the prima
facie case of disparate impact that has been estab-

®*The County relied upon 1970 Census data of persons
employed and experienced at that time. That data reflects
the discriminatory patterns of employment then in existence,
which necessitated the enactment in 1972 of the amendments
to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000e
et seq., and the non-discrimination provisions of the State and
Local Fiscal Assistance Act of 1972, 31 U.S.C. 1242, and the
Crime Control Act of 1978, 42 U.S.C. 8766(c) (to be recodi-
fied at 42 U.S.C. 8789d(c)). Moreover, those figures are
of no relevance for most entry level County jobs, which
do not require prior experience (Pet. App. C18-C19).

10The derivation of the data supporting the County’s
analysis was not explained, and the person who prepared
them did not testify (Pet. App. C19 n.10). The government’s
first opportunity to examine the demographic data on which
this analysis was based came after the close of discovery, and
the exhibits submitted contained no reference to the source
of the data (see A. 1718-1745).

11

lished by the government. Whatever the disposition
of this petition, the disparate impact case provides
an independent basis for a remand and may ulti-
mately provide a basis for relief ordered in this case
irrespective of the issues raised by this petition.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. MCCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

Drew S. Days, III
Assistant Attorney General

JESSICA DUNSAY SILVER
DAVID L. ROSE
ELLEN K. WAYNE
Attorneys
NOVEMBER 1980

t& U. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE; 1980 332278 118

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0556%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
