# Opposition — Tama Meat Packing Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0268%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 920

## Text

No. 80-247 Supreme Court, U. 8,

FILED

5 3 1980
In the Supreme Court of the United States

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

TAMA MEAT PACKING CORP., PETITIONER
V.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS
BOARD IN OPPOSITION

WADE H. McCreg, JR.
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

WILLIAM A, LUBBERS
General Counsel

JOHN E. HIGGINS, JR.
Deputy General Counsel

ROBERT E, ALLEN
Acting Associate General Counsel

NorTon J. COME
Deputy Associate General Counsel

LINDA SHER
Assistant General Counsel

WILLIAM M, BERNSTEIN
Attorney
National Labor Relations Board
Washington, D.C. 20570

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 80-247
TAMA MEAT PACKING CORP., PETITIONER

Vv.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS
BOARD IN OPPOSITION

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Board abused its discretion in determining,
without holding an evidentiary hearing, that the Union’s
offer during an election campaign to waive initiation fees
after a collective bargaining agreement is reached was not
improper.

Il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SE SEINE asin adcissbsshonsnsenevccsebonsesnensiontoceveveosnenccitone |
I cid cliche. |... enndavanceundoceveucnpaenealiveeenvbenbe l
iad ais sobs mich abia bavnehpesvboneedneeveoaeseutos l
ITY Sibdani ela pukuheanasignavsdpebtersaesickasascepstnadiusinsenantes 2)
RE TERESI SLEEP oe ROSIN 2 ORO RRO Te 5
Anas e lillie iasueniicevovniadininssgedisibacasesebonccbdeosoeeeds la
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Altman Camera Co. v. NLRB, 511 F. 2d
I Tics cal ibs wuksh Uhabadsndsund debenicaeiteeennenp eared senees 3
NLRB vy. Dunkirk Motor Inn, Inc., 524 F. 2d
eens ctstkcensdcgnenanticedbicnceptiasdessecsousde 3
NLRB v. Golden Age Beverage Co., 415
te aos dss acid eaks onpadubeneboonobontioeges 4
NLRB vy. Gr /ith Oldsmobile, Inc., 455 F. 2d
Be Asi sides donate necckavdeys sanded iioniabuebeeadveses 4
NLRB vy. L.D. McFarland Co., 572 F. 2d
256, cert. denied, 439 U.S. O11 cue eeeeeeeeeee 3
NLRB v. S & S Product Engineering wm,
de EEE Mk EURO, ‘unsvdcadcdnccoswesscncsscansctesedecensss 3
NLRB vy. Savair Mfg. Co., 414 U.S. 270 ...... a2
NLRB v. Stone & Thomas, 502 F. 2d 957 ........ 3

NLRB vy. Wabesh Transformer Corp., 509
F. 2d 647, cert. denied, 423 U.S. 827 .............. 3

Ill

Page
Cases—Continued:
Thrift Drug v. NLRB, 521 F. 2d 243, cert.
I, Gar Ahan. DES shcciiissdeveccabensstsencsboinivisssons 3
Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S.
SUP ale heen eidanes abd vnnvedemnubayraneiisapiabsnatcdubonéaneyees 3
Statute and regulation:
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.
Sec. 151 et seq.:
Section 8(a)(1), 29 U.S.C. I58(a)(1) ..... eee eeeee 2
Section 8(a)(5), 29 U.S.C. 158(a)(5) wn. eens 2
eas: STE) cékiissd cciasuncndaticicgniidececsacdousipieenen 4

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the court of appeals (App. la-2a, infra)
is not reported. The decision and order of the National
Labor Relations Board (Pet. App. A-40 to A-52) are
reported at 242 N.L.R.B. No. 43. The underlying
representation decision (Pet. App. A-38 to A-39) is not
reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
June 9, 1980. The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed
on August 15, 1980. The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Pursuant to a_ representation petition filed by
Amalgamated Meat Cutters and Butcher Workmen of
North America, AFL-CIO, Local P-46 (“the Union”), the
Board conducted a representation election among
petitioner’s production and maintenance employees,
which the Union won by a vote of 94 to 59 (Pet. App. A-
42).! Petitioner filed a timely objection to the election,
alleging that the election results were invalid because the
Union had made an “unlawful waiver of initiation fees”
(id. at A-4, A-42). The objection was based solely upon
the following portion of a Union flyer mailed to
employees shortly before the election (id. at A-4 to A-5):

Q. Will we have to pay the initiation fee after our new
contract is negotiated and we accept it?

A.No! Your local Union will waive the customary
initiation fee for all the employees on the Employer’s

‘There were 25 chailenged ballots. The challenges were not resolved |
because the number of disputed ballots was insufficient to affect the
outcome of the election (Pet. App. A-42).

l

2

payroll at the time your new contract is accepted by
you. This is done because of the extra effort you have
given in your struggle to win your NLRB election
and negotiate your Union contract. =

After an administrative investigation, the Board’s
Regional Director found no impropriety in the Union’s
waiver offer and therefore recommended that the
objection be overruled (Pet. App. A-1 to A-6). The Board
issued a Decision and Certification of Representative,
rejecting petitioner’s exceptions to the Regional Director’s
Report and ruling that no factual issues had been raised
that required an evidentiary hearing (id. at A-38 to A-39).

Despite this certification of the Union, petitioner
refused to bargain. The Board found that its refusal
violated Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the National Labor
Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 158(a)(5) and (1) (Pet. App. A-
43, 48). Accordingly, the Board ordered petitioner to
bargain with the Union (id. at A-49 to A-50). The court of
appeals enforced the Board’s order, finding it to be
supported by “substantial evidence” and “not arbitrary or
capricious” (App. la, infra).

ARGUMENT

Petitioner :gnmtends (Pet. 8-14) that the Union’s offer to
waive the initiation fee was improper under NLRB vy.
Savair Mfg. Co., 414 U.S. 270 (1973). This contention is
without merit. In Savair, this Court held that “permitting
the union to offer to waive an initiation fee for those
employees signing a recognition slip prior to the election
* * * allows the union to buy endorsements and paint a
false portrait of employee support during its election
campaign.” /d. at 277. The Court recognized, however,
that a union has a “legitimate” interest in waiving its usua!
initiation fee that may properly be served by making such
a waiver “available not only to those who have signed up

3

with the union before an election but also to those who
join after the election.” /d. at 274 n.4. The courts of
appeals uniformly have held that unconditional offers to
waive fees for employees currently in the workforce are
not improper inducements under Savair and therefore do
not interfere with employee free choice in representation
elections. See, e.g., NLRB v. L.D. McFarland Co., 572 F.
2d 256 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 911 (1978); NLRB
v. Wabash Transformer Corp., 509 F. 2d 647, 649-650
(8th Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 827 (1975); Altman
Camera Co. v. NLRB, 511 F. 2d 319, 322 (7th Cir. 1975);
NLRB v. S & S Product Engineering Services, Inc., 513
F. 2d 1311, 1312-1313 (6th Cir. 1975); Thrift Drug v.
NLRB, 521 F. 2d 243, 244 (Sth Cir. 1975), cert. denied,
425 U.S. 911 (1976); NLRB v. Stone & Thomas, 502 F. 2d
957, 958 (4th Cir. 1974); NLRB v. Dunkirk Motor Inn,
Inc., 524 F. 2d 663, 665 (2d Cir. 1975).

Petitioner does not dispute this legal principle. Rather,
it contends that the Board, upheld by the court of
appeals, incorrectly found the Union’s waiver offer to be
unconditional whereas, in fact, the flyer indicated that the
fee would be waived only for employees who supported
the Union prior to the election. This argument involves
only the application of settled principles to the facts of
this particular case and consequently does not warrant
further review by this Court. Universal Camera Corp. v.
NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 490-491 (1951).

Moreover, the Board correctly found that the waiver
offer clearly applied unconditionally to all employees and
therefore was proper under the Savair standard.
Petitioner concedes (Pet. 11) that the second sentence of
the offer—“[yJour local Union will waive the customary
initiation fee for all employees on the employer's payroll
at the time your new contract is accepted by you”—is
unobjectionable. Petitioner contends (Pet. 10-13),

4

however, that the third sentence—"“(t]his is done because
of the extra effort you have given in your struggle to win
your NLRB election and negotiate your Union
contract”—suggests that the offer was available only to
those employees who supported the Union before the
election despite the clarity of the prior sentence that the
offer was uniformly available to all employees on the
payroll at the time of the contract ratification. There is no
merit to this contention. The third sentence merely gives
the reason for the promise to waive initiation fees, which
was something that had already taken place, i.e., the
“extra effort [the employees] have given” in the struggle to
win the election and secure a collective bargaining
agreement with their employer. Unlike the initiation fee
waiver struck down in Savair, supra, the Union’s
announcement did not require any action on the part of
the employees in order to benefit from the Union’s pledge
to waive initiation fees, and there is no suggestion that an
employee would be treated differently depending upon
whether he committed himself to the Union before or
after the election. The Board’s decision to this effect,
based on what petitioner’s expert concedes (Pet. 13) to be
the literal meaning of the flyer, plainly is based upon
substantial evidence.’

Petitioner also suggests (Pet. 14) that it was improperly deprived
of an evidentiary hearing on its objections. Section 102.69(d) of the
Board’s Rules and Regulations, 29 C.F.R. 102.69%(d), provides for a
hearing when an administrative investigation reveals that “substantial
and material factual issues exist.” It is well settled that this qualified
right to a hearing satisfies all statutory and constitutional re-
quirements. See, e.g., NLRB v. Golden Age Beverage Co., 415 F. 2d
26, 32-33 (Sth Cir. 1969). Here, the facts relating to the offer
contained in the flyer were undisputed. The controversy concerned
only the correctness of the Regional Director’s inferences and
conclusions based on those facts. Thus the Board was clearly
warranted in overruling the objection without a hearing. See, e.g.,
NLRB vy. Griffith Oldsmobile, Inc., 455 F. 2d 867, 868-869 (8th Cir.
1972).

5

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCreg, JR.
Solicitor General

WILLIAM A. LUBBERS
General Counsel

JOHN E. HIGGINS, JR.
Deputy General Counsel

ROBERT E, ALLEN
Acting Associate General Counsel

NorTON J. COME
Deputy Associate General Counsel

LINDA SHER
Assistant General Counsel

WILLIAM M. BERNSTEIN
Attorney
National Labor Relations Board

SEPTEMBER 1980

DOJ-1980.09

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 79-1563
September Term, 1979
Filed JUN 09 1980
TAMA MEAT PACKING CORPORATION, PETITIONER
V.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD, RESPONDENT

Petition to Review and Cross-Application to Enforce
an Order of the National Labor Relations Board.

Before: WRIGHT, Chief Judge, WALD, Circuit
Judge, and MARKEY,* Chief Judge of the United States
Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.

ORDER

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the
National Labor Relations Board and was argued by
counsel. While the issues presented occasion no need for
an opinion, they have been accorded full consideration by
the Court. See Local Rule 13(c).

This Court is of the view that the order of the National
Labor Relations Board is supported by substantial
evidence, is not arbitrary or capricious, and is otherwise
free of reversible legal error.

*Sitting by designation pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 293(a) (1976).

la

2a

On consideration of the foregoing, it is ORDERED
and ADJUDGED by this court that the petition for
review of the Board’s order is hereby denied, and the
Board’s cross-application for enforcement of its order is
hereby granted.

Per Curiam
For the Court
/s/ George A. Fisher

GEORGE A. FISHER
Clerk

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0268%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
