# Opposition — International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Local No. 627 v. George E. Hoffman & Sons, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0169%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 937

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED
No. 80-147 SEP 8 1960
» JIR., CLERK
IN THE use

Supreme Court of the United States
_Octonan pen THR, 1980 :

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS,
CHAUFFEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN AND HELPERS OF
AMERICA, LOCAL NO. 627,

Petitioner,
v.
GEORGE E. HOFFMAN & SONS, INC.,

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

KARL W. GRABEMANN
111 West Monroe Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603

STUART I. COHEN

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Respondent does not agree that the questions presented
are as stated by Petitioner. Rather, the real and only questions
involved in the instant case are:

1. Whether, under the work preservation doctrine, a local
union may lawfully strike a construction industry employer to
preclude subcontracting certain off-site work to subcontractors
who do not exclusively employ its members?

2. Whether, pursuant to the “clearly erroneous” standard
set forth in F.R.C.P. Rule 52(a), a court of appeals may
properly draw its own inferences and conclusions from the facts
as established by the trial court and undisputed record evidence
concerning the objects of a strike engaged in by a labor
organization?

SN III, citestinersxtdusbessuatesesssunspebashoteabusinabiniianicebells
I IN ots sale. icaslhcss sacs dannii apsdenaheenhdauidineniiessasiibaavenenilai
Statement of the Case

Reasons for Denying the Wit...............cccsccssssssosseessesessseosees 3
UN siiscsccesishaticptiw cithicdioenshatlNaeiediosinen insite seciaiyndajeinincbohapidtedssawaia 12

ili
AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases:

American Boiler Manufacturers Association v.
N.L.R.B., 404 F.2d 547 (8th Cir. 1969)...............

Brown v. United States, 419 F.2d 337 (8th Cir.

Canada Dry Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 427 F.2d 907 (6th
Be TT bias tnechoneysttccnstnssebebeadansatarisienepescilanadsncdiivan

C.I.R. v. Duberstein, 363 U.S. 278 (1960) ..............

Franks v. National Dairy Products Corp., 414 F.2d
Re EE: POE D scidldicsinnsnicecneweiscinedsciniwigensnakonasos

Griffith Company v. N.L.R.B., 545 F.2d 1194 (9th
as.

Hillard vy. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 281
Fe Fy Re CE ANy BO Dick csccsccnscsccysvncocveness

Houston Insulation Contractors Association v.
PE ik I ne HO © IIT Pecosncccncchsccssarecvcossnve

Local Union 282, Teamsters (D. Fortunato), 197
ee ITED aidiinscvancscaterieincioncesesberdstrbssiancens

Meat and Highway Drivers Local 710 v. N.L.R.B.,
Be ae FOR Cs CT, TOGA) vninvsssicccesccsscesnessctee

Moveable Partitions, Inc., 175 NLRB 915, 917
I ieeh in Sill cinchcisbsacdiiaipiosisaeseviscnniebisesensisenhis

N.L.R.B. vy. Denver Building and Construction
Trades Council, 341 U.S. 675, 689 (1951)...........

N.L.R.B. vy. Enterprise Association of Pipefitters,
Pts PE RUT TD de cccrincdetaevchanccsscssecspimsepsteeientss

N.L.R.B. v. International Longshoremen’s Associ-
ation, U.S. ___, 48 L.W. 4765 (1980) ......

Page

11

4,5,8

iv

N.L.R.B. v. Local Union No. 28, Sheetmetal Work-
ers, 380 F.2d 827 (2nd Cir. 1967) ..........sccscssesseees

National Latex Products Co. v. Sun Rubber Co.,
274 F.26 224, 247 (Gtr Cir. WISP) vccvccccccesiccseranovnes

National Maritime Union v. Commerce Tankers
Corporation, 457 F.2d 1127 (2nd Cir. 1972).......

National Woodwork Manufacturers Association v.
WEEE, SOG UB. GES CII FE eiwiictnccsciicn

Orange Belt District Council of Painters No. 48 v.
N.L.R.B., 328 F.2d 534 (D.C. Cir. 1964) ............

Romero v. Garcia & Diaz, Inc., 286 F.2d 347 (2nd
Cir. 1961) cert. denied, 365 U.S. 869 (1961)......

Shumaker v. Grabowski Industries, Inc., 352 F.2d
O37 CTU Cab. TICS) saiccccnissicicensicienihcnticeinneanenigite

United Mine Workers v. N.L.R.B., 399 F.2d 977,
979-900 (BG. Cit. TSGR) cic ncctnnnniendas

United States v. United States Gypsum Company,
533 US. S66 CUBES cccnsisntitnssieditelenionn

Wigginton v. Order of United Commercial Trav-
ellers, 126 F.2d 659 (7th Cir. 1942) cert. denied,
SET RA. GS CIE P icniviecicincrspscicccguainaliana

Statutes:

Sec. 8(b)(4) of the Labor Management Relations
PETE ctssvtithcionisisiiniecestinaieeicamie eae

Miscellaneous:
Moore’s Federal Practice, J 52.04, n. 2 ..............00000

7,8

10

10

10

10

10

No. 80-147

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1980

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS,
CHAUFFEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN AND HELPERS OF
AMERICA, LOCAL NO. 627,

Petitioner,
v.
GEORGE E. HOFFMAN & SONS, INC.,
Respondent.

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit is not yet officially reported (Pet. App. A-1-24).
Also as yet unreported is the Court’s Order on Rehearing ( Pet.
App. A-25-30), wherein such opinion was modified and Peti-
tioner’s petition for a rehearing denied. An earlier decision of
the Court of Appeals is unpublished, but noted at 530 F.2d 979
(Pet. App. A-36-45). The Order of the United States District
Court for the Southern District of Illinois, after trial of this case
on the issue of liability, is not officially reported, but can be
found at 99 LRRM 3236 (Pet. App. A-31-35). Earlier Orders

2

of the District (Court are reported at 352 F. Supp. 627 (Pet.
App. A-46-60) on such issue, and at 384 F. Supp. 1252 ( Pet.
App. A-61-68) on the issue of damages.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

a

The “summary of facts” outlined by Petitioner is in part
inaccurate and fails to include the salient facts which caused the
Court of Appeals to reverse the judgment of the trial court. For
a complete portrayal of such facts as the Court of Appeals saw
them—and as they really are—see Pet. App. A-1-12.

On page 3 of the Petition, Petitioner states that Respond-
ent and two of its hauling subcontractors, Long Rock and C. A.
Walker Truck Lines, were parties to the Articles of Construction
Agreement. However, as stated by the Court of Appeals,
Respondent became bound to such Agreement as a con-
sequence of its membership in the Associated General Con-
tractors of Illinois, which had negotiated such Agreement on
behalf of its members. Long Rock and Walker Lines, who
were not members of this’ association, subsequently became
bound to such Agreement when they separately and indepen-
dently adopted it as their own (Pet. App. A-3, 17). Therefore,
Petitioner’s factual contention that such Agreement established
a single, multi-employer bargaining unit is in error. While
Respondent was a member of one bargaining unit, multi-
employer in scope because it consisted of Respondent and other
employer members of the Associated General Contractors of
Illinois, the drivers employed by Long Rock and Walker Lines
comprised other, separate single employer bargaining units
(Pet. App. A-18).

On page 6 of the Petition, Petitioner states that the Court
of Appeals “discredited” Barker’s testimony in that it found
Petitioner sought to prohibit the use of any Local 15 drivers by
Respondent’s subcontractors. However, the Court of Appeals

3

did nothing of the kind since that Court specifically stated: “To
the extent that the evidence is conflicting, we rely primarily on
the testimony of Robert Barker..., since that is the only
evidence referred to by [Petitioner] to support the district
court’s decision.” (Pet. App. A-2 n. 3).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
1.

The Court of Appeals, In Accord With This Court’s
Decisions, Properly Rejected Petitioner’s Work Preservation
Defense.

On pages 7-8 of the Petition, Petitioner appears to make
two different arguments with respect to the work preservation
doctrine’s applicability to the instant case. First, Petitioner
submits its strike directed against Respondent was simply an
attempt to recapture work lost when Respondent sold five of its
trucks. In contrast, Petitioner also contends it had the right to
strike Respondent to “retain” construction hauling work for its
““members” on Respondent’s projects within Petitioner’s “geo-
graphical territory” even when such work was performed by

subcontractors, and not Respondent’s employees.

Both theories advanced by Petitioner were properly re-
jected by the Court of Appeals in its well-reasoned decision
(Pet. App. A-13-20). Nonetheless, Petitioner claims the failure
of that Court to find merit in its work preservation defense
conflicts with this Court’s decisions. In this regard, Petitioner
cites National Woodwork Manufacturers Association v.
N.L.R.B., 386 U.S. 612 (1967), and its companion case,
Houston Insulation Contractors Association v. N.L.R.B., 386
U.S. 664 (1967), to support the proposition that “... a union
may exert pressure on an employer to preserve work tradition-
ally performed or fairly claimable by the union’s members”
(emphasis added) (Pet. p. 7). However, these cases permit

4

such pressure to be applied only where a union’s object is
preservation of bargaining unit work, and not where such
actions are “... calculated to satisfy union objectives else-
where.” National Woodwork, supra at 644-645. As the Court of
Appeals held, Petitioner’s strike was not limited to just regain-
ing the jobs bargaining unit employees might have performed if
Respondent had not sold five of its trucks (Pet. App. A-13-15).

In an attempt to bolster its argument, Petitioner also refers
to a recent decision of this Court, N.L.R.B. v. International
Longshoremen’s Association, ___. U.S. ___., 48 L.W. 4765
(1980). However, the issue in that case was not whether the
union was seeking to gain work for bargaining unit members as
opposed to its members generally, Sut rather whether the work
involved in the dispute was, although modified by technological
innovation, the traditional work of bargaining unit employees.
Id. at 4770-4771. Furthermore, the Court therein again
repeated that the work preservation defense is available only to
preserve work for “bargaining unit employees.” Jd. at 4769.

On page 8 of the Petition, Petitioner asserts: “When
[Petitioner] first grieved the issue and then struck, it was
merely reasserting its claim to work historically performed by
its members, i.e., the [Respondent’s] hauling for projects
within the [Petitioner’s] geographical territory.” The problem
with this contention is simply that Respondent itself employed
only members of Petitioner on Respondent’s projects in Peti-
tioner’s territory. Therefore, by its own admission, the object of
Petitioner’s strike against Respondent was the hauling work
performed by Respondent’s subcontractors who did not ex-
clusively employ Petitioner’s members. In this regard, the
Articles of Construction Agreement specifically permitted such
subcontracting by Respondent (Pet. App. A-4).

Although the Respondent’s subcontractors had adopted
the Articles of Construction Agreement, they did so separately
and independently and, therefore, were not part of the multi-

5

employer bargaining group represented by the Associated
General Contractors of Illinois. Thus, the respective employees
of such subcontractors were not in the same bargaining unit
with those of Respondent. E.g., National Maritime Union v.
Commerce Tankers Corporation, 457 F.2d 1127 (2nd Cir.
1972); Moveable Partitions, Inc., 175 NLRB 915, 917 (1969).

Since Petitioner’s strike against Respondent was intended
to benefit its members generally, and not simply those within
the bargaining unit in which Respondent’s employees were
included,’ the Court of Appeals properly, in accord with this
Court’s prior decisions, found that Petitioner had unlawfully
asserted “secondary,” rather than “primary,” pressure against
Respondent. Petitioner cannot, and should not, be allowed to
escape liability by submitting that it was “. . . merely reasserting
its claim to work historically performed by its members” ( Pet.
p. 8), when the work had been claimed for its membership
generally—not just for its members who were part of the
bargaining unit which included Respondent’s employees.

2.

No Conflict Exists Among The Courts Of Appeals With
Respect To The Work Preservation Doctrine’s Applicability
To The Facts And Circumstances Presented In The Instant
Case.

On pages 9-11 of the Petition, Petitioner urges the Court to
find that a conflict exists among the courts of appeals as to what
work is subject to being “fairly claimable” by a union under the
work preservation doctrine. Besides citing this Court’s recent
decision in Longshoremen, supra, Petitioner also relies on

1 Petitioner sought to force Respondent to utilize subcontractors
employing its members exclusively. However, Petitioner never at-
tempted to require that those subcontractors’ employees be within the
same bargaining unit as Respondent’s employees.

6

Canada Dry Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 427 F.2d 907 (6th Cir. 1970);
Meat and Highway Drivers Local 710 v. N.L.R.B., 335 F.2d 709
(D.C. Cir. 1964) and American Boiler Manufacturers Associ-
_ ation v. N.L.R.B., 404 F.2d 547 (8th Cir. 1969). However, the
problem with its analysis is simply that this case has never
turned on whether the work sought by Petitioner was fairly
claimable, but rather on whose behalf it was being claimed. In
this regard, the Court of Appeals corectly stated Respondent’s
position when it said: ““[ Respondent] has conceded that if the
strike was thus limited [to regain the work lost by the sale of
five of its trucks,] it was permissible as work preservation ( Pet.
App. A-13-14).

Petitioner further argues that the Court of Appeals improp-
erly relied on the quantity of the work sought by Petitioner’s
strike in rejecting its work preservation defense when “... it
sought work traditionally performed by its members within its
geographical territory” (Pet. p. 10-11). This contention is not
true. The Court of Appeals specifically stated (Pet. App. A-16
n. 20):

Even if we accept the [ Petitioner’s] argument, there is still
the question of whether a union’s actions may be second-
ary because of the quantity of the work claimed from the
primary employer. We need not consider that issue here,
however, since the record shows that the [Petitioner] was
attempting not to pursuade [Respondent] to do all its
material hauling but to have the subcontractors use [ Peti-
tioner’s] members on the project within [its] jurisdiction.
Nowhere is there any indication that Barker asked [Re-
spondent] to buy or rent additional trucks sufficient for all
the hauling work. Instead, his concern was with the
subcontractors’ use of [non-members of Petitioner] on[ the
subcontractors’] own trucks.

The Petitioner also claims the Court of Appeals’ decision
creates a conflict as to what is the “. . . applicable unit for which
work preservation demands may be made” (Pet. p. 11).

7

Petitioner’s view is that it was privileged to preserve and protect
construction hauling work for its members anywhere within its
“geographical territory” without regard to being restricted in
such purpose to any particular bargaining unit (Pet. p. 12).
However, this contention is clearly without merit since it is now
well settled that agreements and conduct intended to preserve,
protect, acquire or reclaim work for union members generally
(i.e. outside the immediate bargaining unit) do not fall within
the protection of the work preservation doctrine because they
exceed the legitimate interests of bargaining unit employees vis-
a-vis their own employer, and are therefore calculated to satisfy
uuion objectives elsewhere. E.g., Griffith Company v. N.L.R.B.,
545 F.2d 1194 (9th Cir. 1976); National Maritime Union v.
Commerce Tankers Corporation, 457 F.2d 1127 (2nd Cir.
1972); Local Union 282, Teamsters (D. Fortunato), 197 NLRB
673 (1972).

Despite the existence of this well-established principle,
Petitioner asserts that the Court of Appeals’ decision, instead of
being in accord with precedent, “created a conflict.” In support
of its position, Peticioner cited Houston Insulation Contractors
Association, supra, for the proposition that “... work preserva-
tion demands nced not relate directly to employees in the
bargaining unit where action in support of the demand occurs”
(Pet. p. 11). However, in that case, this Court established only
that employees in one bargaining unit may strike in support of
the work preservation claims of employees in another bargain-
ing unit employed by the same employer. The obvious
difference between the situation presented in that case as
opposed to the facts in the instant case is that the union in
Houston Insulation was not seeking to affect the labor relations
policies of other than the immediate employer.

N.L.R.B. v. Local Union No. 28, Sheetmetal Workers, 380
F.2d 827 (2nd Cir. 1967), was cited by Petitioner to support its
position that there can be more than one bargaining unit

8

directly involved in a lawful work preservation strike. That
finding in no way conflicts with the holding in the instant case
since there was no attempt by the union in that case to affect the
labor relations policies of any employers outside of the bargain-
ing units directly involved. Jd. at 831. The opposite was true in
the instant case since Petitioner admittedly was seeking to have
subcontractors of Respondent replace their respective employ-
ees with members of Petitioner.

Orange Belt District Council of Painters No. 48 v. N.L.R.B.,
328 F.2d 534 (D.C. Cir. 1964), another case cited by Petition-
er, was decided three years before National Woodwork. More-
over, the Court of Appeals in that case did not make a
distinction between “principle work unit” and “bargaining
unit”, as Petitioner claims, but, instead, equated the two terms.?
Had Orange Belt been decided after National Woodwork, that
court would likely have used the term “bargaining unit” since,
at p. 538, it did find that claimed work preservation conduct
would be unlawful if its objectives were to “... extend beyond
the [contracting] employer and are aimed really at the union’:
difference with another employer” (brackets appear in court’s
decision, citations omitted ).

Respondent submits that Petitioner has failed to establish
that the decision of the Court of Appeals conflicts with prior
decisions of this Court or any other court concerning rejection
of Petitioner’s work preservation defense. Moreover, the
instant case involves a unique fact situation unlikely to arise
again and, therefore, the decision in this case is unlikely to
affect anyone other than the parties. Furthermore, the Court
has recently decided N.L.R.B. v. International Longshoremen’s
Association, ____ U.S. ___, 48 L.W. 4765 (1980), as well as
N.L.R.B. v. Enterprise Association of Pipefitters, 429 U.S. 507
(1977), both of which explore and explain further the work

2See United Mine Workers v. N.L.R.B., 399 F.2d 977, 979-980
(D.C. Cir. 1968).

9

preservation doctrine. Finally, the present case does not offer
any issues of law concerning this doctrine which have not
already been reviewed and resolved by this Court.

3.

The Court Of Appeals Properly Drew Its Own Inferences
And Conclusions Concerning The Objects Of Petitioner’s
Strike Against Respondent.

As seen by Petitioner, the determination by the trial court
that Barker was unaware at the time of the pre-job conference
that Respondent had sold five trucks ends further inquiry
regarding the object or objects of its strike against Respondent.
However, this Court said in National Woodwork Manufacturers
Association v. N.L.R.B., 386 U.S. 612, 644 (1967):

The determination whether [a disputed clause] and its
enforcement violated 8(b)(4) ... cannot be made without
an inquiry into whether under all the surrounding circum-
stances, the Union’s objective was preservation of work
..., OF whether the arrangement and boycott were tacti-
cally calculated to satisfy union objectives elsewhere.

In the application of this principle, it should be noted that
the facts comprising the record before the Court of Appeals
were not in dispute, nor were such facts in dispute in the trial
court (except as to Barker’s knowledge regarding Respondent’s
sale of trucks). However, whether Barker had such knowledge
is really immaterial in determining liability in the instant case.
The issue of liability in the Court of Appeals was dependent
upon Respondent showing that an object of the Petitioner’s
strike against Respondent was proscribed by § 8(b)(4) and not
immunized by the work preservation doctrine. Such an object
was clearly inferable in this case from the undisputed record
facts, which are based on documentary evidence, uncon-
tradicted testimony, stipulated facts and deposition testi-
mony—all of which disclosed the “surrounding circumstances”

10

into which National Woodwork requires inquiry. In this pos-
ture, where credibility is not a serious factor, it has been held
that the findings of fact of a trial court are not binding on a
reviewing court nor are they entitled to significant weight.
Shumaker v. Grabowski Industries, Inc., 352 F.2d 837 (7th Cir.
1965); Wigginton v. Order of United Commercial Travellers,
126 F.2d 659 (7th Cir. 1942), cert. denied 317 U.S. 636 (1942);
Moore’s Federal Practice, §52.U4, and cases cited in n. 2.
Where, as here, an issue exists as to inferences to be drawn
from facts which are basically undisputed, the Court of Appeals
was free of the “clearly erroneous” rule. National Latex
Products Co. v. Sun Rubber Co., 274 F.2d 224, 247 (6th Cir.
1959), and cases there cited; Hillard v. Commissioner of
Internal Revenue, 281 F.2d 279, 282 (Sth Cir. 1960).

Even if the “clearly erroneous” rule is applicable to the
conclusion reached by the trial court—that Petitioner’s strike
did not have an object violative of § 8 (b) (4), but had as the
sole object work preservation—the record evidence establishing
the “surrounding circumstances” imports a definite and firm
conviction, shared by the Court of Appeals, that a mistake was
made by the trial court (Pet. App. A-14). Therefore, even if
such result could be said to involve only a finding of pure fact
(and not a legal inference, a mixed question of law and fact, or
a question of ultimate fact), this Court has indicated that such
finding may properly be set aside by a court of appeals. United
States v. United States Gypsum Company, 333 U.S. 364 (1948).
See also C.J.R. v. Duberstein, 363 U.S. 278 (1960); Brown v.
United States, 419 F.2d 337 (8th Cir. 1969); Franks v. National
Diary Products Corp., 414 F.2d 682 (Sth Cir. 1969); Romero v.
Garcia & Diaz, Inc., 286 F.2d 347 (2nd Cir. 1961), cert. denied
365 U.S. 869 (1961).

With respect to its determination concerning the object or
objects of Petitioner’s strike against Respondent, the trial judge
concluded that “I cannot rule that [Petitioner’s] actions were
inconsistent with the work preservation objective” (emphasis

11

added). The basic deficiency in his analysis is that the issue
whether Petitioner’s actions were inconsistent with a work
preservation object was not the question the trial court should
have resolved. Instead, the relevant determination was whether
all evidence concerning the “surrounding circumstances” estab-
lished that work preservation was the sole object of the strike
against Respondent. It is well settled that Petitioner was in
violation of § 8 (b) (4) where even one of the objects of its
strike was unlawful despite the existence of one or more other
lawful objects. N.L.R.B. v. Denver Building and Construction
Trades Council, 341 U.S. 675, 689 (1951).

In application of the foregoing principles, contrary to
Petitioner’s argument, the Court of Appeals did not overturn
the trial court’s credibility determination as to when Barker
became aware of the sale of Respondent’s trucks. Nor did such
Court grant Respondent a trial de novo review of the trial
court’s findings of fact (expressly adopted from the original
decision of the district court as to liability, excep: for when
Barker became aware of the sale of Respondent’s trucks).
Instead, the Court of Appeals concluded that, in addition to a
work preservation object, undisputed record evidence estab-
lished that Petitioner’s strike was also motivated by unlawful
objects. It was therefore not improper for the Court of Appeals
to reach this conclusion.

12

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the Petition should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted,

KARL W. GRABEMANN
111 West Monroe Street
Chicago, Illinois 60603

STUART I. COHEN
First National Bank Bidg.
Peoria, Illinois 61602

Attorneys for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0169%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
