# Opposition — Smith v. Washington

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0124%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 873

## Text

No. 80-101

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term 1980

James Henry Smith,
Petitioner,

Vv.

State of Washington,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF WASHINGTON

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

Russ JUCKETT
Prosecuting Attorney for
Snohomish County
Snohomish County Courthouse
Everett, Washington 98201
Telephone: (206) 259-9333

ASA D. GLAZER
Deputy Prosecuting Attorney
Attorneys for Respondent.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I GO PART ions inckscccsnnsnresescisonsesncenans ii
EPR e GR Tie CAGE noe cicscccvcsseccnescocsnsssens 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ......0000.....0.0.......:::ccceeee 2

ARGUMENT

I.

II.

Il.

THE FEDERAL QUESTION PRESENTED
FOR REVIEW WAS NEITHER RAISED
POC EPRI RIESED BRI IY oon encsvecocenecennadbnsiveinnee 3

THE SEIZURE OF MARIJUANA FROM A
PRIVATE RESIDENCE PURSUANT TO A
VALID SEARCH WARRANT DOES NOT
VIOLATE THE FOURTH AMENDMENT.... 5

THE STATE OF WASHINGTON MAY
CONSTITUTIONALLY REGULATE THE
PRIVATE USE AND POSSESSION OF

DPT IE ili ci sicitcssvsdakntiuenithardbbiehsosidccsvoosoce 6

THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL

RIGHT OF PRIVACY DOES NOT
ENCOMPASS THE PRIVATE POSSESSION
OF MARIJUANA IN ONE’S HOME ................ 9

THERE IS NO CONFLICT OF
AUTHORITY ON THE FEDERAL
QUESTION PRESENTED................00:-ccccsssecee0. 14

NI lisesi icin cy degalld hveeisasininichecesebpion ealadibideaing 16

*%

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Table of Cases
Page
Air Pollution Variance Board v.

Western Alfalfa Corp.,416 U.S. 861 (1974).......... 7
Blincoe v. State, 231 Ga. 886,

ee I io cswmanccccdsccnvcnctiossscces 10
Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S.

RREIRES SS SSCL SE ape eo a 3
Cavaness v. State 581 P.2d 475,

(Okla. Cr. App. 1978), cert. denied,

UT ie cessive 10, 16
Crane v. Campbell, 245 U.S. 304 (1917) .................. 13
DeBacker v. Brainard, 396 U.S.

SN SRS ES ASME Sema a A 4
Gioe v. Commonwealth's Attorney, 403

F.Supp. 1199 (E.D. Va. 1975), aff'd,

a es cusscesncnes g
Harris v. McRae, 48 U.S.L.W. 4941

a a a ss wasesccsiveenee :e
Hester v. United States, 265 U.S.

Ge EME DCSE: SRR a 5
Illinois NORML v. Scott, 66 Ill.App

3d 633, 23 Ill. Dec. 303, 383

II, OPIS 5.5, Jas ics vancidedbveensenpoaparinsveceadons 10
Laird v. State, 342 So.2d

no ad cunesmnsecstcorned 10
Lo-Ji Sales, Inc. v. New York,

oe a ssenceneebenusces 6

Louisiana NORML v. Guste, 380
F.Supp. 404 (E.D. La. 1974), aff’d.,
511 F.2d 1400 (Sth Cir.), cert.
denied, 423 U.S. 867 (1975)............2.....22..---- 10, 16

ll.

Marcoux v. Attorney General, ........ Mass.

Santi Mayet & Fo ees, | ee
Marcus v. Search Warrants, 367 U.S.

FEE REE picka seceeestidaeisinedesin Sinan 6
Mugler v. Kansas, 123 U.S. 623 (1887).............-.---+- 13
NORML v. Bell, 488 F.Supp. 123

CTA TIS: RIED. cocisiieeh besten eect ices rehins 8-10, 15
NORML v. Gain, 100 Cal.App.3d 586,

BOE Cok Weis BGS. Carey ekrccics ee cticencicnncroteniens 16
Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slaton,

Poh et Ge, | | er aoe yee oni Ae | Tmenes 11
Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693 (1976)...........2.....2c000ee002 11
Payton v. New York, ........ it gate , 100

Aes COT Fy at Maen GS WO Rv cvnccsstberiidenseneces 5
People v. Shepard, ........ PO ES scesenee ;

hci PRED petinnice. GMI HG: ROPE) cccececcosnsccsnccenatasen, 20
Ravin v. State, 537 P.2d 494

CI III aa ceived binds ccdihcrnidccasnsanstsscdndoiienaechadh 14-15
Roaden v. Kentucky, 413 U.S. 496 (1973)................ 6
Robinson v. California, 370 US.

Bh * SUIS oe RO Say ACTS OE RO 6
Stanford v. Texas, 379 U.S. 476 (1965).................... 6
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969).............. 10-11
State v. Baker, 535 P.2d 1394

CRIES TRIED Acs isdn dtceceisadedecendtlinstbiinsnnaniinieesorn 10, 15
State v. Chrisman, 364 So.2d 906

CEs. SII Aiicetiensecidcssibhelisnedesdedseenteneteey ibaa incall 10
State v. Daniel, 589 P.2d 408

FS 5 ICSE nn ee ON ae. SOMME He ee 15
State v. Giaudrone, 109 Wash.

SE Re LD CR tee tetentciectecesctnsccthainbiions 13

i

Page
State v. Kantner, 53 Hawaii 327,
493 P.2d 306 (1972), cert. denied,
EE Re) Ca a 14, 16
State v. Kells, 199 Neb. 374,
EE FO ois... .... cccccccaccocccccncccccesbacsone 10
State v. Kincaid, 98 Idaho 440,
cn... cesesncnecscunsvacscocees 10
State v. Murphy, 117 Ariz. 57,
I Eicon... cssccnccccecenseccccccsrerceses 10
State v. Smith, 93 Wn.2d 329,
I no. acnincceecccncntececscnce 2, 7-8
United States v. Drotar, 416
F.2d 914 (Sth Cir. 1969), vacated
on other grounds, 402 U.S. 939 (1971).................. 10
United States v. Ortiz, 422 US.
EES ES SS 4
Walter v. United States, 48 U.S.L.W.
EE ES |) 10
Whipple v. Martinson, 256 US.
2. § eee Te os secmepsnomenetons 6
Zander v. District Court, 591 P.2d
ec sncacsinesiinonasoasiobe 16
Zurcher v. Stanford Daily, 436
Teen ea sasibecccasacsnsonuvcs 5
Other Authorities
MARIJUANA AND HEALTH, Seventh Annual
Report to the U.S. Congress from the
Secretary of Health, Education and
i a a caiineapeoncetecs 13-14

iv.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On December 1, 1977, petitioner James Smith was
found guilty of possession of marijuana, in violation of
Washington law. The defendant’s prison sentence was
deferred; he was placed on probation for.three years and
fined $500.00.

The facts underlying the charge have never been con-
tested. Using marijuana seeds purchased at a local tavern,
defendant began cultivating marijuana in two greenhouses
located on his property. One of the greenhouses, 10 feet
long by 8 feet wide, was located fifty feet from defendant’s
home.

For a period of approximately two years, Mr. Smith
would smoke, on average, one or two marijuana cigarettes
per day, occasionally in the presence of his two young
children. He also provided marijuana to his wife and to
visiting friends.

Law enforcement officers eventually learned of the
marijuana garden and a warrant was issued authorizing
a search of the residence as well as outbuildings on the
property. The search warrant was executed on October
15, 1976. Marijuana was discovered during the course
of the search, seized, and subsequently admitted into
evidence during defendant’s trial. The validity of the
search warrant has never been challenged by the defense
(Brief of Appellant at 3 n. 2).

The defendant moved to dismiss the information charg-
ing him with commission of a crime on three separate
constitutional grounds: (1) violation of his right of
privacy; (2) denial of equal protection; (3) imposition of
cruel and unusual punishment (Petition at B4-B5). After
a lengthy evidentiary hearing, the trial court denied the
defense motion.

The same constitutional challenges were again raised
| 1

on appeal and also rejected by the Washington Supreme
Court. State v. Smith, 93 Wn.2d 329, 332-33, 610 P.2d
869 (1980). Although the court divided on the issue of
cruel and unusual punishment, both the majority and the
dissent concluded that the constitutional right of privacy
does not protect the use and possession of marijuana in
the home. Id. at 345-48, 355. Chief Justice Utter, con-
curring in part and dissenting in part, did not reach the
invasion of privacy claim. Jd. at 354.

Defendant does not seek review in this Court of the
equal protection and cruel and unusual punishment claims.
Although the petition is in one sense limited to the right
of privacy issue, defendant has reformulated his consti-
tutional argument in terms of an asserted Fourth Amend-
ment violation. Defendant now contends, for the first
time, that the seizure of marijuana from a home pur-
suant to a search warrant is per se unreasonable (Petition
at 23).

This contention was neither presented to nor passed
on by either of the courts below. In fact, defendant’s 95-
page opening brief to the Washington Supreme Court
contained only a passing reference to the Fourth Amend-
ment (Brief of Appellant at 33-34), which did not war-
rant inclusion in his 13-page Table of Authorities.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The question presented in this petition, asserting a
violation of the Fourth Amendment, was neither raised
nor decided in the lower state courts. Even assuming
that the issue is properly before this Court, there is no
merit in the defendant’s argument.

Having neglected to challenge the validity of the search

warrant, the defendant is restricted to the position that
any warranted search of a home for marijuana is per se

2

unreasonable. This contention is faultily premised on the
defense assumption that the State of Washington has no
legitimate governmental interest in regulating the private
use and possession of marijuana, a view which was ex-
pressly repudiated by the Washington Supreme Court.
Furthermore, the Fourth Amendment claim is particularly

inapplicable to the facts of the present case, involving
seizure of marijuana not only from the defendant’s home,
but also from a greenhouse situated 50 feet from his home.

The defendant did raise the right of privacy issue in
the courts below, though not in the context of a Fourth
Amendment claim. The Washington Supreme Court con-
cluded that the federal constitutional right of privacy does
not encompass the private possession of marijuana in the
home.

Contrary to the defendant’s assertion, there is no author-
ity in conflict with the state court’s decision on this federal
issue. Recognizing that the use and possession of mari-
juana does not implicate any specific constitutional guar-
antee and cannot be constitutionally distinguished from
the possession of other prohibited drugs, lower courts
have consistently rejected similar privacy challenges.

ARGUMENT

I,
THE FEDERAL QUESTION PRESENTED
FOR REVIEW WAS NEITHER RAISED
NOR DECIDED BELOW.

It is well-settled that this Court “will not decide federal
constitutional issues raised here for the first time on
review of state court decisions,” Cardinale v. Louisiana,
394 US. 437, 438 (1969), though there is some am-
biguity as to whether the rule is based on jurisdictional
or policy grounds.

-”

The defendant’s presentment of the issue and argument
are not straightforward. Although reference is made to
the constitutional right of privacy (Petition at 32, 35),
which was clearly raised below, the essence of defendant’s
argument is that the search of his property was unreason-
able, in violation of the Fourth Amendment.

This Petition asks this Court to decide one
limited and fundamental issue: whether, under
the Fourth Amendment, there is a general right
to be free from searches of homes which are
‘unreasonable’ because they are aimed at purely
private activity which neither involves nor af-
fects anyone other than the homeowner himself;

(Petition at 23).

Having so postured the issue, petitioner has erected
substantial barriers to review. As previously stated, no
Fourth Amendment issue was raised or decided in the
state courts below. Nor was the validity of the search
warrant ever contested.!

The record here is even more inadequate than that in
DeBacker v. Brainard, 396 U.S. 28 (1969). In DeBacker,
this Court declined to review a contention where the
appellant “made only passing reference to the issue in his
brief” to the Nebraska Supreme Court and the state court
“did not pass on the issue, nor even refer to the conten-
tion.” 396 U.S. at 32. See also United States v. Ortiz,
422 U.S. 891, 898 (1975).

But the most blatant deficiency here is the inconsistency
between the defendant’s Fourth Amendment claim, focus-
ing on the privacy of the home, and the facts surrounding

the search and seizure of his marijuana. Marijuana was
seized from a greenhouse located approximately 50 feet

1, Attorney Ford has represented the defendant throughout these
proceedings.

4

* 3

from the defendant’s home, as well as from the home
itself.

The lower courts were not given an opportunity to
determine whether or not this greenhouse was situated
within the curtilage of the defendant’s home. If it were
not, and the “open fields” doctrine governed, the green-
house would not be entitled to any Fourth Amendment
protection. Air Pollution Variance Board v. Western
Alfalfa Corp., 416 U.S. 861 (1974), reaffirming Hester
v. United States, 265 U.S. 57 (1924).

The inappropriateness of permitting review of this un-
timely issue could not be more evident.

II.

THE SEIZURE OF MARIJUANA FROM A
PRIVATE RESIDENCE PURSUANT TO A
VALID SEARCH WARRANT DOES NOT
VIOLATE THE FOURTH AMENDMENT.

There is no precedent in this Court suggesting that the
seizure of marijuana from a home pursuant to a valid
search warrant might constitute an unreasonable search.
On the contrary, “valid warrants may be issued to search
any property . . . at which there is probable cause to
believe that fruits, instrumentalities, or evidence of a
crime will be found.” Zurcher v. Stanford Daily, 436 U.S.
547, 554 (1978).

Defendant’s reliance on Payton v. New York, ........
RAM ‘hse , 100 S.Ct. 1371, 63 L.Ed.2d 639 (1980), is
misplaced. Payton merely reiterated the cardinal principle
that “the Fourth Amendment has drawn a firm line at the
entrance to the house. Absent exigent circumstances, that
threshold may not reasonably be crossed without a war-
rant.” 100 S.Ct. at 1382. Here, of course, the State ob-
tained a warrant, which has never been challenged and
must be presumed valid.

**

The special constraints placed upon search warrants
directed at material arguably protected by the First Amend-
ment, Lo-Ji Sales, Inc. v. New York, 442 U.S. 319 (1979),
have never been extended to seizures of “weapons, nar-
cotics or cases of whiskey.” Stanford v. Texas, 379 USS.
476, 486 (1965). See also Roaden v. Kentucky, 413 US.
496 (1973).

The additional safeguards afforded books, pamphlets
and movies derives from the unique vulnerability of pro-
tected expression. .““The line between speech uncondition-
ally guaranteed and speech which may legitimately be
regulated, suppressed, or punished is finely drawn.” Marcus
v. Search Warrants, 367 U.S. 717, 731 (1961).

The rationale of these First Amendment cases is plainly
inapplicable to the seizure of contraband. Defendant’s
argument that marijuana should be given special Fourth
Amendment protection necessarily rests on his assertion
that the private use and possession of the drug “impact

no cognizable state interest.” (Petition at 34). Neither
the evidentiary record compiled below nor the decisional
law, including the opinion of the Washington Supreme
Court, supports such an assumption.

ITT.

THE STATE OF WASHINGTON MAY
CONSTITUTIONALLY REGULATE THE PRIVATE
USE AND POSSESSION OF MARIJUANA.

It is firmly established that the State of Washington
may, in the exercise of its police power, regulate the use
and possession of dangerous or habit-forming drugs.
Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 660 (1962); Whipple
v. Martinson, 256 U.S. 41 (1921).

6

Correctly appiying the rational relation test,2 the Wash-
ington Supreme Court found that the state legislature
could have reasonably concluded that marijuana is a
dangerous drug.

Our review of the record reveals certain critical
facts which show that marijuana presents certain
dangers, and that its prohibition is reasonably
related to the public health and safety. Mari-
juana creates a euphoric state of intoxication
which impedes learning, incentive, efficiency,
and, importantly, motor coordination. There re-
mains a conflict of expert opinions regarding
the seriousness of marijuana’s effects, and much
has yet to be learned. From reading this record,
we cannot say that all doubts about the safety of
marijuana have been resolved in its favor.

Assuming that the legislature had before it the
evidence in this case concerning the known ef-
fects of marijuana and the as yet unknown pro-
perties of the drug, it could reasonably find that
marijuana creates a danger to users and others.

Furthermore, the legislature may well have
considered more evidence than was brought be-
fore the trial court in this case. We cannot say,
therefore, that the adoption of laws imposing
criminal penalties was not reasonably indicated
to protect the public welfare.

We note that the apparent dangers of mari-
juana use have been recognized by other courts.
Recent judicial opinions, including Ravin v.
State, 537 P.2d 494 (Alaska 1975), find that
in spite of advanced knowledge the suggested

2. “Where . .. the Congress has neither invaded a substantial
constitutional right or freedom, nor enacted legislation that pur-
posefully operates to the detriment of a suspect class, the only
requirement of equal protection is that congressional action be
rationally related to a legitimate government interest.” Harris v.
McRae, 48 U.S.L.W. 4941, 4949 (U.S., June 30, 1980).

7

7%

dangers are, as yet, rationally based. See also
Marcoux v. Attorney General, ........ Mass. ........ ,
375 N.E.2d 688 (1978), and see Blincoe v.
State, 231 Ga. 886, 204 S.E.2d 597 (1974);
State v. Kells, 199 Neb. 374, 259 N.W.2d 19
(1977); and see People v. Summitt, 183 Colo.
421, 517 P.2d 850 (1974).

In legislating for health, safety and welfare,
certain constraints upon individual freedom have
traditionally been imposed by the State. Often,
such constraints protect both society generally
and the individual personally from the perceived
harm. See e.g., State v. Laitinen, supra (motor-
cycle helmet law sustained). It is not our proper
function to substitute our judgment for that of
the legislature with respect to the necessity of
these constraints.

We hold the statutory prohibitions against
marijuana use are rationally related to the ac-
complishment of a legitimate governmental ob-
jective — public health and safety. As such,
they are not violative of equal protection.

State v. Smith, supra at 93 Wn.2d 338-39 (notecalls
omitted ).

The court’s finding was based on an independent re-
view of the extensive evidentiary record. Jd. at 335. It
is consistent with the recent decision of a three-judge
panel of the United States District Court for the District
of Columbia, also made after a lengthy hearing on the
effects of marijuana.

Experts still strongly disagree about the safety
of marijuana, and its long-term effects remain an
open question. Studies indicate that marijuana
may impair the circulatory, the endocrine, and
the immunity systems of the body, alter chro-
mosomes, and change cell metabolism. Although
many dispute these findings, this contradictory

-

evidence demonstrates that important questions
about marijuana use persist.

Given the continuing debate over marijuana,
this court must defer to the legislature’s judg-
ments on disputed factual issues.

NORML v. Bell, 488 F.Supp. 123, 136 (D.D.C. 1980).

The federal district court recognized, as did the Wash-
ington Supreme Court, that “judicial deference is ap-
propriate when difficult social, political, and medical
issues are involved. Courts should not step in when legis-
lators have made policy choices among conflicting alter-
natives.” NORML v. Bell, supra at 137.

That it is not the function of the judiciary to make an
independent appraisal of competing interests was clearly
enunciated by this Court in resolving a challenge to an-
other controversial enactment. “It is not the mission of
this Court or any other to decide whether the balance of
competing interests reflected in the Hyde Amendment is
wise social policy.” Harris v. McRae, 48 U.S.L.W. 4941,
4949 (U.S., June 30, 1980).

It cannot seriously be disputed that the State of Wash-
ington has the constitutional authority to proscribe the
use and possession of marijuana.

IV.

THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT
OF PRIVACY DOES NOT ENCOMPASS
THE PRIVATE POSSESSION OF MARIJUANA
IN ONE’S HOME.

If the State of Washington has a legitimate interest in
prohibiting the private use and possession of marijuana,
that interest does not disappear upon a person’s entrance
to his home.3 On the contrary, “{t]}he mere fact that this

3. See Doe v. Commonwealth’s Attorney, 403 F.Supp. 1199,
1202 (E.D. Va. 1975), aff'd, 425 U.S. 901 (1976).

9

=”

°F

otherwise unprotected activity is conducted in the home
does not, in itself, place it in the protected zone of the
constitutional right of privacy.” J/llinois NORML v. Scott,
66 Ill. App. 3d 633, 23 Ill. Dec. 303, 383 N.E.2d 1330,
1332 (1978).

Defendant’s contention that the United States Consti-
tution guarantees the right to possess and use marijuana
in one’s home has been rejected by lower federal and state
courts with monotonous regularity.4 These authorities
have not accepted proposals to extend Stanley v. Georgia,
394 U.S. 557 (1969), to include the private possession
of marijuana.

In holding that “the First and Fourteenth Amendments
prohibit making mere private possession of obscene ma-
terial a crime,”5 Stanley v. Georgia, supra at 568, this
Court specifically limited the scope of its opinion.

4. No less than fourteen decisions have upheld state proscrip-
tion of private marijuana possession in the home, not including
the opinion of the Washington Supreme Court. United States v.
Drotar, 416 F.2d 914 (Sth Cir. 1969), vacated on other grounds,
402 U.S. 939 (1971); NORML v. Bell, 488 F.Supp. 123 (D.D.C.
1980); Louisiana NORML v. Guste, 380 F.Supp. 404 (E.D. La.
197¢), aff'd, 511 F.2d 1400 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 423 US.
867 (1°75); State v. Murphy, 117 Ariz. 57, 570 P.2d 1070
(1977); Laird v. State, 342 So.2d 962 (Fla. 1977); Blincoe v.
State, 231 Ga. 886, 204 S.E.2d 597 (1974); State v. Baker, 535
P.2d 1394 (Hawaii 1975); State v. Kincaid, 98 Idaho 440, 566
P.2d 763 (1977); Illinois NORML v. Scott, 66 Ill. App.3d 633,
23 Ill. Dec. 303, 383 N.E.2d 1330 (1978); State v. Chrisman,
364 So.2d 906 (La. 1978); Marcoux v. Attorney General, ....
Mass. ..... 375 N.E.2d 688 (1978); State v. Kells, 199 Neb. 374,
259 N.W.2d 19 (1977); People v. Shepard, .... N.¥.2d .
N.E.2d .... (June 6, 1980); Cavaness v. State, 581 P.2d 475 (Okla.
Cr. App. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1117 (1979).

5. Three Justices concurred in the result on the ground that the
unauthorized screening of films violated the Fourth Amendment.
The rationale of the concurring opinion formed the basis of this
Court’s opinion in Walter v. United States, 48 U.S.L.W. 4807
(U.S., June 20, 1980).

10

**

What we have said in no way infringes upon
the power of the State or Federal Government
to make possession of other items, such as nar-
cotics, firearms, or stolen goods, a crime. Our
holding in the present case turns upon the
Georgia statute’s infringement of fundamental
liberties protected by the First and Fourteenth
Amendments. No First Amendment rights are
involved in most statutes making mere possession
criminal.

Id. at n. 11.

Thus, the simple response to the question presented by
this petition is that the decision of the Washington Su-
preme Court does not conflict with Stanley v. Georgia.

The rationale underlying the disparate constitutional
treatment afforded obscenity and drugs such as mari-
juana is readily apparent. The holding in Stanley derived
not only from the First Amendment implications of the
case,® but also from the absence of public impact of the
proscribed activity. See Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slaton,
413 U.S. 49, 59 (1973). The State cannot here improve
on the analysis and reasoning of the Massachusetts Su-
preme Judicial Court.

Thus the Paris Adult Theatre and Orito cases
were stressing the point that in Stanley the place
of the possession, the confinement of the view-
ing of the material, reduced to a null force, or
nearly so, any claim of deleterious public effects
which could possibly legitimate the State’s intru-
sion . . . The Stanley Court had indeed said, re-
plying to the argument that the private reading
of obscene matter would cause antisocial con-
duct, that there was ‘little empirical basis’ for

6. Defendant’s belated attempt to ground his privacy claim in
the Fourth Amendment demonstrates his recognition that the
right of privacy encompasses only fundamental liberties and those
rights created by specific constitutional guarantees. Paul v. Davis,
424 US. 693, 712-13 (1976).

11

that assertion (394 U.S. at 566, 89 S.Ct. 1243)
and in all events the ‘least restrictive alternative’
analysis familiar in First Amendment discussions
would require that the State legislate against
the antisocial behavior rather than the ideas
that caused it. In contrast, in the case of mari-
juana, we are bound to assume for constitutional
purposes that the private use does have public re-
sults, does spill over into the public domain and
touch matters of legitimate State interest, while
the freedom impaired by the penal statute, taken
at its highest evaluation, does not reach the
level of that freedom conceived by the Court to
be implicated in Stanley.

Marcoux v. Attorney General, ........ SEY -csivaaee , 375 N.E.
2d 688, 691 (1978).

Since defendant has not contested the findings of the
Washington Supreme Court concerning the dangerousness
of marijuana, his assertion that the private use of mari-
juana “demonstrably affects no public interest” (Petition
at 23) is not persuasive.

However, the protection of the public from the harmful
effects of marijuana is not the only state interest served
by proscription. As the trial court recognized (petition
at B27), the State of Washington has a legitimate and
permissible objective in protecting the public from the
intoxicating effects of the drug.

The governmental interest in prohibiting marijuana
intoxication flows from the founding principles of our
nation. The most fundamental concept of the democratic
process is the free exchange of political ideas. To this
end, the First Amendment functions to ensure that there
will be a “marketplace of ideas,” open to all political
ideas, even those that perhaps a majority of citizens
consider reprehensible. The risk of our democratic ex-
periment is whether the “right” ideas shall prevail. In

12

**

short, the determinative factor in the success or failure
of our system of government is the ability of the people
to consider and decide the proper course for our nation
to follow.

What governmental interest could then be more vital
than the interest of insuring, to the extent possible, that
the people are educated, mentally competent and in
possession of reasoning powers sufficient to deal with
complex political issues. The defense experts did not
disagree with the trial court’s finding concerning the
effects of marijuana intoxication on the mind:

Marijuana does interfere with the orderly pro-
cesses of the mind . . . complex reasoning is
interfered with, as is the ability to concentrate
effectively . . . there is reliable evidence that
information acquired during intoxication is not
stored efficiently in the memory centers of the
brain. (Petition at B17).

In analyzing the nature of marijuana as an intoxicant,
potency is not the only significant factor. The drug is
easily concealed and difficult to detect once ingested.
One may become intoxicated from marijuana in a rela-
tively brief period of time. Nor are there any harsh after-
effects as is the case with alcohol intoxication.

Marijuana is a vastly more comfortable intoxicant to
use than alcohol? and therein lies its greatest danger.
A user, even an adolescent user, may spend a significant
portion of his life intoxicated and, consequently, in an
impaired mental state.

Indeed, a recent report submitted by the defendant
himself shows that “[a}mong high school seniors nation-

7. The State of Washington may constitutionally prohibit the
private possession of intoxicating liquor, though it has chosen not
to do so. Crane v. Campbell, 245 U.S. 304 (1917); Mugler v.
Kansas, 123 U.S. 623 (1887); State v. Giaudrone, 109 Wash.
397, 186 P. 870 (1920).

13

wide, one in eleven reports using [marijuana} on a daily
basis, up from one in twelve in 1976 and one in seven-
teen in 1975.” MARIJUANA AND HEALTH, Seventh
Annual Report to the U.S. Congress from the Secretary
of Health, Education and Welfare at 2 (1978).

Defendant’s argument is premised on his view that
there are no social costs associated with the private use
of marijuana. The State of Washington could not dis-
agree more strongly.

V.

THERE IS NO CONFLICT OF AUTHORITY
ON THE FEDERAL QUESTION PRESENTED.

Defendant asserts that the lower courts are divided
on the federal right of privacy issue,8 a split which he
characterizes as “not wide [b]ut . . . deep.” Petition at
41). The State of Washington submits that not only
is the conflict of authority neither wide nor deep, in
reality it is nonexistent.

In addition to some dissenting and concurring opinions,
defendant relies on State v. Kantner, 53 Hawaii 327, 493
P.2d 306 (1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 948 and Ravin
v. State, 537 P.2d 494 (Alaska 1975).

In State v. Kantner, supra, the Hawaiian Supreme Court
upheld the classification of marijuana as a narcotic drug
against an equal protection challenge. Defendant quotes
dicta in the concurring and dissenting opinions in Kantner
concerning the extent of the right of privacy.

The precedential value, if any, of these opinions was

8. There can hardly be a conflict of authority on the question
of whether the seizure of marijuana from a home under warrant
is se unreasonable. The State is not aware of any case in
which this “limited and fundamental issue” has even been raised,
let alone decided.

14

nullified by the Hawaii Supreme Court’s subsequent de-
cision in State v. Baker, 535 P.2d 1394 (Hawaii 1975).
Baker held, in the context of a privacy challenge, that
neither that state’s nor the federal constitution protects
the possession of marijuana for personal use.

Defendant’s reliance on Ravin v. State, supra, is equally
misplaced. Ravin rested on a state constitutional pro-
vision, adopted in 1972, which explicitly guaranteed a
right of privacy. Alaska Const., Art. 1, 822.

Thus, we conclude that citizens of the State of
Alaska have a basic right to privacy in their
homes under Alaska’s constitution. This right
to privacy would encompass the possession and
ingestion of substances such as marijuana in a
purely personal, non-commercial context in the
Home... .

Ravin v. State, supra at 504.

Far from creating a conflict on the federal question
presented, Ravin has been widely perceived (and dis-
missed) as a decision on state constitutional grounds.
E.g., NORML v. Bell, supra at 132 n. 23 (“The Alaska
Court based its ruling on a new provision of the state
constitution ... ”).

The Alaska Supreme Court has acknowledged that its
holding in Ravin exceeded the scope of the federal con-
Stitutional right of privacy. Citing Ravin, the court re-~
cently conceded, “We think it clear from both section 22
and our decisional law that the right of privacy guaran-
teed to Alaska citizens is broader in scope than that
guaranteed in the federal constitution.” State v. Daniel,
589 P.2d 408, 416 (Alaska 1979).

In fact, the precedential impact of Ravin has been so
insignificant that other state courts have declined to follow
it in interpreting recent amendments to their own con-

15

stitutions also explicitly guaranteeing a right of privacy.
NORML v. Gain, 100 Cal. App.3d 586, 161 Cal. Rptr.
181 (1979); Zander v. District Court, 591 P.2d 656
(Mont. 1979).

There is no conflict of authority on the federal question
presented for review. The decisional law is logical, com-
prehensive and dispositive. As petitioner concedes, this
Court has thrice previously denied petitions for certiorari
raising the issue.? The same disposition is particularly
appropriate here, where the petitioner has revised and
restructured his argument in a manner not presented to
the state courts below.

9. Louisiana NORML vy, Guste, 380 F.Supp. 404 (E.D. La. 1974),
aff'd, 511 F.2d 1400 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 867 (1975);
State v. Kantner, 53 Hawaii 327, 493 P.2d 306 (1972), cert.
denied, 409 U.S. 948; Cavaness v. State, 581 P.2d 475 (Okla. Cr.
App. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1117 (1979).

CONCLUSION

For the above-stated reasons, the State of Washington
submits that this petition for a writ of certiorari should
be denied. .

Respectfully submitted,

RUSS JUCKETT

Prosecuting Attorney for
Snohomish County,
Snohomish County Courthouse
Everett, Washington 98201

ASA D. GLAZER
Deputy Prosecuting Attorney

16

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0124%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
