# Reply Brief — Johnson v. J. O. L.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0069%3A7

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 818

## Text

No. 80-45

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

EUGENE JOHNSON III,
Petitioner,

Vv.

J.O.L. il,

Respondent.

On A Writ of Certiorari to the
District of Columbia Court of Appeals

PETITIONER JOHNSON'S RESPONSE
TO THE RESPONDENT'S REPLY TO
. OPPOSITION TO MOTION TO DISMISS
THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Edward L. Genn

1319 - 18th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
Counsel for Petitioner
(202) 638-2027

November 17, 1980

Pet. Reh. Ex*2

TABLE OF CONTENTS

MESponee tO BaGiy ss 6 osc okk vce cc cea. 1-20

TABLE OF CASES

County of Los Angeles v. Davis,
440 U.S. 648, 99 S.Ct. 1379 (1979). 18

DeFunis v. Odegaard, 416 U.S. 312,
Fe Deen AIRS CARTE) isn obo 0c dv aevn’ 14

Doe, John and Jane Roe v. Delaware
TIPCIU OND RG RE kG6 se a HeRRAE A CECE CE, ce & |

Gannett Co., Inc. v. DePasquale,
443 U.S. 368, 99 S.ct. 2898 (1979) 15

Nebraska Press Assn. v. Stuart,
427 U.S. 539, 96 S.Ct. 2791 (1976) 15,16

Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 125,
73 S.Ct, 703, 713 (1973).......%.. 14

Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 393, 93 8.Ct.
Oe CASTE ins hac Kee ee Skeets 15,16

United States v. Concentrated Phos-
SIhate Export Association, 393 U.S.
199, 203, 89 S.Ct. 361, 364 (1968). 14

Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147,

149 (1975)..... tPA E ON ER ORES OO 8 Wee £35, 46,17

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

No. 80-45

EUGENE JOHNSON III,

Petitioner,

Vv.

J.O.L. II,

Respondent.

On A Writ of Certiorari to the
District of Columbia Court of Appeals

PETITIONER JOHNSON'S RESPONSE
TO THE RESPONDENT'S REPLY TO
OPPOSITION TO MOTION TO DISMISS
THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Respondent J.O.L. II has filed a
last-minute Reply to Petitioner Johnson's
Opposition to his Motion to Dismiss. It
was delivered, in counsel's absence, during

the late afternoon just prior to the matter

being presented to this Court the next morn-
ing and at a time when it was impossible for
counsel to respond.

The Reply is largely an original Mo-
tion, for it supplies some Points and Au-
thorities whereas none were submitted with
the Motion so they could be responded to, and
it adds an alleged "stipulation" that was
never give before during the more than 42
months of litigation in this cause. It pro-
vides both less than 24 hours before it was
known that the matter was to be presented
to the Court, and at a time when Mr. Johnson
was without means to deal with it. Apart
from whether a Reply is appropriate, cer-
tainly the failure to put this material in
the original Motion so it could be addressed
in the normal Same given for an Opposition
deserves note and warrants its rejection.
Coming at this last minute, in a case where

the Briefs are to be filed on November 20,

within a few days, it is simply too late,
and unfairly so. Further, when the parties
were notified on October 6, 1980 that Mr.
Johnson's Petition for the Writ was granted,
they were informed that it would be set for
oral argument in the January session with

John Doe and Jane Roe v. Delaware, No. 79-

5932. At the same time, counsel were in-
formed there would be no continuances of the
Briefs or Joint Appendix. That aspect of
the case has proceeded. In this circum-
stance, the very last minute filing of this
Reply in this circumstance and on these
grounds --- a voluntary action now taken
after all the multiple refusals to do so
earlier --- should be rejected in any event,
unless it is indisputably clear that there
is no possibility of a case or controversy
before this Court. While we do not think
it appropriate for a party to initiate a

Motion without its bases stated so that it

could be responded to, and then, within 24
hours before the Court is to consider the
matter, to submit his basic Points and Au-
thorities, without an opportunity for coun-
sel to respond in the normal course, still

we recognize that even sua sponte this Court

would have to consider whether a matter be-
fore it is moot. Normally that would occur
where events or dates have passed which
moot the cause. Here, while we have the res-
pondent acting on his own to attempt to
create that condition, we suggest that even
this last minute effort hardly answers our
Opposition. As a consequence, we have had
to submit, for whatever consideration the
Court may wish to give it, and on this very
short notice, the matters set forth herein.
We first address omitted factual matters,
misapplications of the legal principles,
and then misreadings of the cases cited in

the Reply.

1. By no means is it clear, on the
basis of the record, that this cause is
moot. For reasons we have already stated,
we think it indisputably not moot, if for
no other reason, however characterized and
altered in this last-minute Reply, this is
nothing more than a voluntary cessation of
the action by a person who could return to
his previous ways. That doctrine is not
circumscribed to apply only to "officials"
or to "illegal" conduct. The thrust of the
reason for that principle is not the char-
acterization of the action, nor the name
or office of the person, but rather that
the promise of voluntary change, with-
drawal or cessation --- unilaterally made
while the law remains unchanged --- allows
him to "return to his old ways under the
existing circumstance." That is precisely
the case here. The just filed Reply tries

to create a special circumstance for

application of that principle (to officials
or illegalities only) that simply does not
exist. In our view respondent's actions are
"illegal" in the sense of the constitu-
tionally impermissible, just as in the cases
noted the acts were illegal because they
were statutorily impermissible. That aside,
these parties can go right back and do what
they did before and seek an adoption; or so
may one on their behalf, or the children.
They attempt now, 24 hours before this
matter is considered, after it has been
pending in the Courts for three and a half
years, to "stipulate" to what they "stipu-
lated" in the original divorce in 1968 and
in two Court orders in 1971 and 1972, but
never fulfilled. They refuse any relief
for more than 1200 days and on the final
day, just before consideration by the Court,
assert through a statement by counsel that

they will tell the lower Court they will

not seek an adoption hereafter. Interest-
ingly, (a) they do not confess error in the
action; (b) nor do they still cover acts or
contingencies to be done by others; (c) nor
do they even now say that if this Court
denies their Motion but rules for them on
the merits, after oral argument, that they
will agree to vacating the Order, which is
an entirely different matter from what is

*
stated in the Reply.—/

&
— We have no doubt that if this Court

should, as we think it must, deny the
Motion, or if it denies it without
prejudice to raise the issue of moot-
ness in the Brief on the merits, they
may well then say something to this
effect. It will be no more believable,
as Mr. Johnson's affidavit attached to
Our Opposition reflects, than their
other proffers. That has been their
course and conduct throughout. Only
when absolutely compelled do they agree
to something; and then only verbally,
followed by acts that do not carry it
out. It should be borne in mind that
the persons who are saying they are
willing now to "stipulate" also stipu-
lated in 1968 in a settlement agreement
incorporated in the Court Decree to
grant visitation rights which they did
not; they stipulated to a Consent Order

These matters aside, the simple fact
is that years later, after all the actions
taken here, a stacement of this kind made
for the first time, 24 hours before the
matter is considered by the Court, is
simply not to be accepted. Mr. Johnson has
filed an Affidavit which stands unrebutted
before this Court. It reflects a record
showing that these individuals appear to
have no respect for any Court Order where
the children are involved. Further, they
would always have an excuse to avoid the
statement made by counsel in any event; the
excuse would be changed circumstances,

which could always be charged or serve as

*/(continued) below that they would allow
fair visitation, and they did not. They
resisted every effort in the years of
litigation by means which show that when
the children have been involved, no
statement that they have made is to be
relied on. Indeed, if present counsel
ceased representing them in the future,
even this promise in a Reply would have
no effect.

a justification for further action. Clear-
ly when Mr. Johnson asks for joint custody
or very heightened visitation that claim
could be made. The fact is that with chil-
dren and custody-related matters, the cir-
cumstances are constantly changing. The
use of the adoption statute at issue and
its "best interests" standard is thus a
real fear, and a chill of clear substantive
and procedural rights, once the attempt
is made to exercise the substantive con-
stitutional rights in the relationship.
Even if this last minute statement
were credible, this Court cannot say, as
a matter of law, that there is no reason-
able expectation that these individuals on
this record would not do the same thing.
Apart from that, they are not the

7
ones alone who determine the matter.’

*

*/their position now neither preciudes
others nor the children themselves. In-
deed, the children have their own sep-
arate interest that the stepfather
cannot represent.

—

Nor has the Reply responded to the
fact that there is no” assurance whatsoever
that the D.C. Court of Appeals will withdraw
its Opinion, and in fact we suggest that it
will not. Nor will the Trial Court neces-
sarily withdraw its decision, since it has
Clearly found that the alleged "best inter-

ests of the children" require an adoption.

The only "fact" that has occurred

between that finding and now is that this

Court granted the writ of certiorari.
Respondent suggests that they co not
have any interest in the enforcement of
the statute. They had a very strong inter-
est in the enforcement of the statute for
three and a half years, until 24 hours
before this Court is to consider the Motion.
Of course the District of Columbia has been
notified about the pendency of the action
as required by Rule 28, since the constitu-

tionality of the statute is in question

o ID «

and at issue; and the same will apply to
the Briefs to be filed. The issue squarely
before the Court of Appeals in its Opinion
was nothing more than this issue: the con-
stitutionality of the statute, procedurally
and substantively; and this Court properly
granted the writ to hear the issue that

the Respondent urged on the Courts below
--- that the statute is constitutional;

it applies here and to Mr. Johnson; and

it can be used to obtain an adoption. It
borders on the disingenuous to suggest
otherwise.

The Reply next suggests that the cause
is private, and there is no public interest
in it. There is considerable public inter-
est in this case, reflected by the repeated
attempts to present views of various groups
by amici who filed in the case of Doe v.

Delaware, 79-5932 with which this case is

to be heard "in tandem" according to the

= il «

notice of grant of the writ; and from other
groups; and there has been considerable media
interest reflecting public interest as well.
This Court does not take cases that
do not have significant public interest in
them. This is one of those cases which
not only has the kind of public interest
that is reflected in its very grant of the
writ; it involves one of the most important
relationships, if not the most important
relationship, in society that is in itself
a matter of great public interest.
Therefore, unless it is indisputably
clear and undeniably the case under the
decided law, that there is no case or con-
troversy or stake in the outcome, this
Court should deny the Motion on this ground.
as well.
The public interest now is as great or
greater, and the controversy is as real as

it was when the suit was filed against

~ 17 @

Mr. Johnson three and a half years ago, or
on the day the Motion was filed, after the
grant of the writ. The best interests of
the children, whatever that may mean, and
the constitutionality of that concept has
not changed, nor is it changed by this Motion;
and its application to Mr. Johnson has not
been altered one whit. The position of the
children has not changed; the position of
Mr. Johnson has not changed; the statute has
not changed; the ruling of the Trial Court
has not changed; the Court of Appeals'
decision has not changed. The only "change"
is the grant of the writ followed by a
statement in his Motion agreeing to a va-
cating of the order without a confession

of error or the other matters noted in our
Opposition; and now in his just-filed

Reply a reference to some cases and a fur-
ther statement he will tell the lower Court

he will not seek an adoption in the few

- 13-

years remaining before the children reach
majority.

2. The Reply just submitted does not
adequately reply to the voluntary cessation
principles in the cases noted in our Memo-
randum in Support of the Opposition to Mo-
tion to Dismiss, p. 19. Nor does it address

Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 125 (1973) or

DeFunis v. Odegaard, 416 U.S. 312 (1974),

both of which we noted at length; nor the

principles at p. 22, citing points in DeFunis

dissents, with which the majority does not
take issue but which it differently applied
in that case. Applying the first test of

United States v. Concentrated Phosphate

Export Assn., 393 U.S. 199, 203 to this

case, respondent attempts to limit it to
public officials. The cases do not support
him. Nor do they support his suggestion
that there must be some statutory violation
at issue before it applies. We urge this

is neither so nor should be so.

o 22 -=

He then supplies us for the first
time with his reliance on references in

Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147, 149

(1975) to the fact that the capability of
repetition concept allegedly applies only
where (1) the challenged action was in its
duration too short to be fully litigated
prior to its cessation or expiration, and
(2) there was a reasonable expectation that
the same complaining party would be sub-
jected to the same action again. He also

* / ee /

cites Gannett— , Nebraska Press— , and

kee / P
Sosna - He turns that concept on its

head, however, after wholly extracting it
from context when he argues that our "dura-

tion" was not too short. It is too short,

*
— Gannett Co., Inc. v. DePasquale, 443 U.S.

368, 99 S.Ct. 2898 (1979).

k*
-“/wNebraska Press Assn. v. Stuart, 427 U.S.
539, 96 S.Ct. 2791 (1976).

ae /

Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 393, 95 S.Ct.
553° (1975).

o» 18 «

where the cessation or expiration is some-
thing he can do at any time. If he can do

what he wants to do now, and then himself

cease and cause the action to expire at any
time it will always be too short to be
fully litigated because he could do this

at any stage. That meets the first part

of Weinstein. Indeed as noted in Nebraska

Press (where the order at issue had expired)
if this Court does not address our matter
now, then on any review again, the next
"dispute will evade review, or at least
considered plenary review in this Court
coco” 427 U.S. .539, 547, 96 S.Ct. 2791,

2797 (1976). That is so because by then
the children or at least one of them will
have reached majority so that we will be

truly in a non-repeatable Weinstein/Sosna

situation, solely because of delays in
reaching the issue of the constitutionally

impermissible.

» 16 <

The second element cited from Wein-
stein as to potential repeatability is so
clearly met by our undisputed record that
‘it would be unduly repetitious to under-
score it.—

One more last-minute suggestion of
the Reply is that the statute might be
changed. That is true in every case and

k*
not a basis for mootness.—

*
— It might be noted in this regard that

this is a case where Mr. Johnson is not

a plaintiff, which might enable him more
readily to file a class action. He is a
defendant having a right taken away, ini-
tiated by the Respondent stepfather de-
fending on the ground that the source of
the action or any other action is a stat-
ute that is unconstitutionally applied to
him.

k*

— There is no indication that the statute
is going to be changed at all; and, in-
deed, if we read the direction of the
law, it is quite to the contrary. The
tendency has been to expand the power of
the State in this area to parental ter-
Mination statutes and broader sweeps.

It does apply now and it will continue
to do so; and it was applied here not
only to affect past facts and relation-
ships but also the present and the
future.

o 17 =

Contrary to what is asserted at page

3 of his Reply, there is general importance
and "public interest in litigating the val-
idity of the District of Columbia" adoption
statute authorizing an adoption in the face
of a natural father's objections, solely on
the basis of considerations of "best inter-
ests of the children" where there is no

oe
unfitness, abuse or abandonment.-—

*
*/the Reply suggests that the fact there

were other issues in the case below
is more reason for a remand. That is
specious. The issue is collateral
consequences; and, indeed, in County
of Los Angeles v. Davis, 440 U.S. 648,
BeGes 9+-(1979) this Court sug-
gested that the basis of mootness
there was not only that there was no
expectation that the violation would
occur again, but also that the interim
relief and events completely and ir-
revocably eradicated the effects of
the action. That is not the case here
at all.

= 18:=

The strong public interest that was
evidenced by this Court's grant of the Peti-
tion remains. The case, the controversy and
the disputes remain. The assertions in this
last-minute Reply are not responsive to the
issues nor the pertinent cases we have re-
ferred to. It might be noted that the un-
derlying facts asserted in our Opposition
are not disputed. In their stead is the
customary attempt to characterize facts by
some phrase such as "Shrill rhetoric"

(Reply p. 1); it transparently is no sub-
stitute for record facts; facts which may
even be "shrill" over these many years.

While we do not believe that there
can be serious doubt that all of the fac-
tors which prevent this cause fgpm being
determined as moot are clear, and for that
reason, the motion to dismiss should be
denied forthwith, we certainly are of the

view, and we think it is indisputably the

- 19 =

case, that it should not be granted on this
record and in this circumstance.

The final irony is that the Motion to
Dismiss has now added a further matter of
moment +o the other issues as to which the
writ was granted --- a case and controversy
about mootness standards themselves, in
this kind of cause through this method.

The Motion should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

;

Edward L. Genn
1319 - 18th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 638-2027
Attorney for Petitioner

@- 20 «

No. 80-45

: Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

EUGENE JCHNSON III,

Petitioner,
Vv.

J.O.L. II,

Respondent.

On A Writ of Certiorari to the
District of Columbia Court of Appeals

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT three copies ¢. |
of the foregoing were hand-delttvered to
the office of Hal Witt, Esquire, 1620 Eye
Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20006,

attorney for Respondent, this t?th day
of November, 1980. 2<>

Edward L. Genn

1319 - 18th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
Attorney for Petitioner
(202) 638-2027

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0069%3A7. Public record. Not legal advice.
