# Amicus Brief — Little v. Streater

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0010%3A7

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 452 U.S. 1

## Text

veyron vuull, U. oy

FILED
NOV 24 (260
No. 79-6779
MICHAEL ECDAK, JR., CLERK
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980
>

WALTER LITTLE,
Appellant,

V.

GLORIA STREATER,
Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE APPELLATE SESSION OF THE SUPERIOR
COURT OF CONNECTICUT

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
AND THE CONNECTICUT CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION
AMICI CURIAE

CHARLES S. SIMS
BRUCE J. ENNIS, JR.
(Counsel of Record)
c/o American Civil
Liberties Union
132 West 43rd Street
New York, N.Y. 10036
(212) 944-9800

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pages
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES...... aanaes iti
INTEREST OF PICT occ ccc cc cesses 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT........eeee00- 3
ee ae witatetts fis an i

I. THE HEARING BELOW, IN FORM
A CIVIL SUIT BETWEEN PRIVATE
PARTIES, WAS IN SUBSTANCE
THE MEANS BY WHICH
CONNECTICUT SOUGHT TO DE-
PRIVE APPELLANT OF
eg oe SO a re 8

II. BECAUSE THE HEARING BELOW
WAS ALSO AN ATTEMPT BY
CONNECTICUT TO IMPOSE ON
APPELLANT A FUNDAMENTAL
RELATIONSHIP WHICH WOULD
DEPRIVE HIM OF PROTECTED
LIBERTY, CONNECTICUT WAS
REQUIRED BY THE DUE PRO-
CESS CLAUSE TO TAKE
REASONABLE STEPS TO DETER-
MINE WHETHER OR NOT THAT
RELATIONSHIP EXISTS....... 14

Pages

III. ACCORDING TO THE TEST OF
MATHEWS V. ELDRIDGE, DUE
PROCESS REQUIRES THAT THE
REASONABLE COSTS OF BLOOD-
TYPE TESTING BE BORNE BY
THE STATE WHERE SUCH TEST-

ING WOULD OTHERWISE NOT

BE CONDUCTED BECAUSE OF

THE INDIGENCY OF THE

PUTATIVE FATHER....cscccccceeada

A. Both The Property
And Liberty Interests
Of The Putative
Father Are Substantial..23

B. Paternity Actions Pre-
sent Substantial Risks
Of Erroneous Depriva-
tions Of Liberty And
Property. Blood-Type
Testing Would Sub-
stantially Reduce
TNOSO RISB. oo ccccserevcAdl

C. Blood-Type Testing
Would Further Impor-
tant State Interests,
At A Nominal Cost,
And With No Additional
Administrative Burdens..36

CONCLUSIGNe«cceee enee#e 5 te ele ale ece eee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Pages

Armstrong v. Manzo,
Bee UsB. 545 (1965) ..ccccvccccsess LD

Ashwander v. Tennessee Valley
Authority, 297 U.S. 288 (1935).... 43

Board of Curators, University of
Missouri v. Horowitz, 435
U.S. 78 STO Teé 60 6.6 ene ene “ee ee eee 18

Boddie v. Connecticut,
401 U.S. 371 (1971) ccccccccccceces . passim

Doe v. Harder, 310 F.Supp.
Pr CM, LS7O)cccccccccccscese bt

Doe v. Shapiro, 302 F.Supp.
761 (D. Conn. 1969) ..ccccceeeesves 12

Ferro v. Morgan, 35 Conn. Supp.
689, cert. denied 177 Conn.
753, 399 A.2d 526 (1979)...... sess SA

Goldberg v. Kelly,
397 U.S. 254 (1970) .. cc ceveevscees 15

Griffin v. Illinois,
ates BE CA9SG) wo ccccvcoscccecs 2

Holmes v. McLean, 5 Conn. Cir.
476, 256 A.2d 849 (1969)... cee. 29,35

Kelsaw v. Green, 6 Conn. Cir. 516,
276 A.2€ 909 (1971) .. cee pcaweres OF

-iii-

Cases Pages

Mathews v. Eldridge,
SOG. -UsBc) FAP CEPI Gl 64 0 606446 0000s passim

Moore v. East Cleveland,
a Pe | Oe be eee ae eee re 27

Morrissey v. Brewer,
GGG Ube S7k CAFIE) 6 i cstjosndecvesers 15 ,46,224

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank &
Trust Co., 333 UsB. 306 (1950) .06+-+ 25

Ortwein v. Schwah,
410 U.S. 656 (1973) ..cccccccccvnce 19

Parham v. J. R.,
S6a Uibc See See Te? hb b ee eee OOS 16,18

Robertson v. Apuzzo, 170 Conn. 367
(1975), 365 A.2d 824, cert.
Gensen, 629 U.8s: Boas es vs 060000 60s 8

Roe v. Wade,
SEU UsOn ERS LARS we CE ho 00 8 oh aOR 27

Stanley v. Illinois,
Se Uilc, COS CLOT EL ce e800 boo es €4 KS 27

Terrasi v. Andrews, 3 Conn. Cir.
Ct. 499, 217 A.2d 75 (1966),
cert. denied, 153 Conn. 729,
214 A.2d 130, reconsideration
denied, 153 Conn. 731, 214 A.2d

CES c cece reser recesearersesteccies 9

-iv-

Cases

United States v. Kras,

409 U.S. 434 (1973)....

Williams v. Gray, 4 Conn.

Cry. 326, 2313 A.2a 285

(1967) weccvcsvccs peesee

Wood v. Georgia,

370 U.S. 375 (1962)....

Zablocki v. Redhail,

434 U.S. 374 (1978)....

Statutes and Regulations

Calif. Evid. Code, §895..

45 C.F.R., §303.5(c¢).....

So 6 8.84.6 4 8.6 & 6. @

es. 6 @°@,.6 @ & 8 8 6

45 C.F.R., §304.20(b) (2) (1) (B)......

Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-160
Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-162
Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-165

Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-168

Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-169(b)........

Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-170
Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-171

Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-176

-V=—

Statutes and Regulations Pages

Regulations of Connecticut
State Agencies, §17-82e-4......... 40

Regulations of Connecticut
State Agencies, §17-82e-6......... 10

11 U.S.C. §523 (a) (5). eee esenceees eco So
42 U.S.C. §$§651=-662. ..ccccccscccsees 25,42
42 U.S.C. §654(4) (A) .ccccccccccvecee 43

42 U.8.C. aS Perey es eee ee oeeee 43

Other Authorities

Reid, "Utilizing The Lie Detector
Technique To Determine The
Truth In Disputed Paternity
Cases," 45 J. Crim. L.C. &
Pubs BAS TAREE) 000 ose ve cdvawwdee oo

Ellman and Kaye, "Probabilities
and Proof: Can HLA and Blood
Group Testing Prove Paternity?"
24 Nit. VedseROVe LAB -(R78) o bcos 34

Family Study Commission,
State of Illinois, Report and
Recommendations (1969).........+.. 29,32

H.E.W. Office of Child Support
Enforcement, Blood Testing to
Establish Paternity (1977)........ 36,37

-Vvi-

Other Authorities Pages

Henningsen, "Some Aspects of
Blood Grouping in Cases of
Disputed Paternity in
Denmark," 2 Methods of
Forensic Science 209 (1963)........ 34

"Joint AMA-ABA Guidelines:
Present Status of Serologic
Testing in Problems of Dis-
puted Parentage," 10 Family
Law Quarterly 247 (1976)........ pat ee

Krause, Illegitimacy: Law
and Social Policy (197I).......... passim

Poulin, "Illegitimacy and
Family Privacy", 70
Northwestern U.L.Rev.
gi ee oa rr ee ee 31

Sussman, Paternity Testing by
Blood Grouping (2d ed. 1976)...... 34

Sussman & Schatkin, "Blood
Grouping Tests in Undis-
puted Paternity Proceed-
ings," 164 J.A.M.A. 249 (1957).... 30

Teraski, "Resolution by HLA
Testing of 1,000 Paternity
Cases Not Excluded by ABO
Testing," 16 J.Fam.L. 543
OS yo ere eee ee ee ee eee seen SE

(1978)

1974 U.S. Code Cong. and Adm.
vig-tniea nie nd CECE CREE OTT CU TC OTOTT 44

INTEREST OF AMICI ef

The American Civil Liberties Union is
a nationwide, non-partisan organization of
over 200,000 members dedicated to protect-
ing the fundamental rights of the people of
the United States. Central among those
rights is the right of due process of law,
the embodiment of our constitutional
commitment to justice through procedural
fairness. Accordingly, the ACLU has
participated in numerous cases to ensure
that individuals threatened with adverse
action by the government be offered the
basic requirement of due process, a mean-

ingful opportunity to be heard.

*/netters of consent from both parties to
the filing of this brief have been lodged
with the Clerk of the Court.

i

In this case, as in a very few others
the Court has decided in the past, it is
necessary to explore the circumstances
under which government must ensure due
process by providing not merely an oppor-
tunity, but the means for being heard.
Amici's experience in representing a
variety of indigent litigants has led to
our conclusion that in light of the
fundamental and protected interests of the
appellant at stake, the conceded relevance
and probative value of the procedure sought,
and the interests of the state, appellant's
right to provision of the blood-type test
sought is analogous to the rights of
litigants recognized in such cases as

Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (1971)

and Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12 (1956).

Moreover, the interest of the child in-
-~ Po

volved -- the unrepresented, but central
party to the dispute -- further buttresses
appellant's claim to the procedure sought.
This case raises an extremely narrow,
but extremely important question, and we

Submit this brief amici curiae to assist

the Court in its resolution.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The question posed by this appeal is
extremely narrow: where a state causes a
paternity hearing to be instituted in
order to gain money from the putative
father, does the constitutional guarantee
of due process require that the cost of
concededly relevant and probably dis-
positive blood-type testing be borne by
the state where such testing could not
otherwise be conducted because of the

indigency of the putative father? As

-3-

”

phrased heave, the Court's decision would
be applicable to only a small category of
paternity hearings. These, like the case
below, must (1) focus on a child who is
both illegitimate and a recipient of
public assistance, (2) be initiated by the
state in order for it to gain money from
the putative father, and (3) be directed
against a man who is himself indigent.
The procedure required in all other
paternity hearings -- and all other hear-
ings of any sort -- would remain unaffected.
Actually, the question is even narrow-
er. This case arises in Connecticut which,
by law, provides that the requested test is
relevant and its results are admissible in
paternity proceedings. Connecticut law
also provides that the testimony of a
credible putative father is not of it-
self sufficient to rebut the testimony of

a credible mother.
a

Thus, in Connecticut indigent putative
fathers are required by law to éneiedens
some evidence other than their own dis-
Claimers of paternity, but they are pre-
vented by their indigency from introduc-
ing in evidence test results which _.
Connecticut law deems probative, and which
would confirm non-paternity with 100%
accuracy in more than 90% of all cases.
The testing costs are nominal, as low

as $200 to $300. And since the federal
government, which strongly encourages
utilization of such tests, would provide
75% reimbursement, the actual cost to
Connecticut would be only $50 to $75.

The question, then, is whether a
state can initiate a paternity proceeding,
can require the putative father to intro-
duce evidence other than his own testimony,

_and can then refuse to absorb the nominal

so San

cost of a blood-type test the state con-
cedes is relevant, highly probative, and
probably dispositive, when the putative
father is indigent.

Providing blood-type testing in those
circumstances would further important
interests of all parties. For the
innocent putative father, the test serves
as his only effective defense against the
state's attempt to deprive him of property
and force on him a fundamental family re-
lationship where none exists. Without
the test, the putative father's opportunity
to defend would be practically meaningless.
For the state, such a test will frequently
result in a net savings, since the costs
of obtaining and enforcing a judgment will
probably be greater than the payments any
indigent defendant will be able to afford.

(Appellant pays $2.00 per month).
~~

For the child, the test would help assure
a reliable finding of paternity, perhaps
eliminating as a potential father a man
whose only distinction is his indigency.
And the state has an acknowledged interest
and responsibility to the child to make
all reasonable attempts to ensure accuracy
in the determination of paternity.

The determination of paternity or
non-paternity affects fundamental interests.
In these circumstances, due process re-
quires the state to adopt reasonable pro-
cedures for resolving disputed factual
contentions. Under the three-part test

enunciated in Mathews v. Eldridge, 424

U.S. 319 (1975), the blood-type test re-
quested by Appellant is a reasonable
procedure which Connecticut, in the cir-
cumstances of this case, is constitu-
tionally required to provide.

aFea

ARGUMENT

I. THE HEARING BELOW, IN FORM A
CIVIL SUIT BETWEEN PRIVATE
PARTIES, WAS IN SUBSTANCE THE
MEANS BY WHICH CONNECTICUT
SOUGHT TO DEPRIVE APPELLANT
OF PROPERTY.

It is indisputable that a state may not
deprive an individual of property without
due process. The proceeding below, in form
a suit between private parties, was in
reality a suit brought by the state, thus
subjecting the procedures to the require-
ments of due process.

Under Connecticut law, determination of
the paternity of an illegitimate child

takes the form of a civil action. Robertson

v. Apuzzo, 170 Conn. 367 (1975), 365 A.2d

824, cert. denied, 429 U.S. 852. The child's

mother typically assumes the role of plain-
tiff, alleging some male to be its biological
father. A determination of paternity is

made at trial if she presents a "fair pre-

=§-

ponderance of the evidence." Terrasi v.

Andrews, 3 Conn. Cir. Ct. 499, 217 A.2d

75 (1966), cert. denied, 153 Conn. 729,

214 A.2d 130, reconsideration denied,

153 Conn. 731, 214 A.2d 683.

If the illegitimate child is a re-
cipient of public assistance, the paternity
hearing remains, in form, a private civil
action. However, although the suit is
still officially filed in the mother's
name, the State of Connecticut is the
real plaintiff. The mother is powerless:
she is required by state law to "disclose
the name of the putative father" to the
state and to "institute an action to
establish the paternity of said child."
Conn. Gen. Stat. §46-169(b).

After the suit is filed, the mother's
cooperation is of no consequence. If she

neglects or refuses to name an attorney,

aGe

the state chooses one from among its list

of those willing to serve "within depart-
ment requirements". Regulations of
Connecticut State Agencies §17-82e-6. If
she is unwilling to testify, she may be
subpoenaed, Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-162, and
will not be excused from testifying, Conn.
Gen. Stat. §46b-165. The state assures
the protection of its interests in other
ways as well. Its Attorney General is
automatically made a party to the action,
Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-160, and no with-
drawal or settlement can be made without
his approval. Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-170.
A finding of paternity results in
recovery from the adjudged father of all
expenses incurred by the state. The
"lying-in" costs of mother and child and
the accrued maintenance of the child are
all charged to the father. Conn. Gen. Stat.

#16e

§46b-171. "[R]easonable attorney fees" --

the costs of the state-approved private
attorney who represented the mother -- are
also charged to him. Id. Finally, if it
appears that the child will remain a re-
cipient of public assistance, future child
support will be payable by the father
directly to the state. Id.

The paternity hearing below followed
precisely this procedure. Gloria Streater,
the mother of a child receiving public
assistance, was compelled to give the
state the name of a man as its putative
father. 1/ A private attorney was appoint-

ed and the Attorney General filed an

1/see Plaintiff's Disclosure and Produc-
tion, 459, July 20, 1980. The disclosure
was made on threat of discontinuation of
appellee's eligibility for public assist-

(footnote cont'd on next page)
-ll-

appearance for the state. Appellant was

found at trial to be the child's biological
father, and was judged liable for lying-in
costs, accrued maintenance, attorney fees,
and future child support. Judgment and
Order, October 16, 1978. None of these
sums was payable to the mother or her
child. Instead, appellant was ordered to
send all installments of the entire judg-
ment to the Department of Finance and

Control, State of Connecticut. Id. The

(footnote cont'd from previous page)

ance. See Appellant's "Facts Proven," 44,
November 17, 1978, and Appellee's con-
curring "Counterfinding," 41, December 13,
1978. Oddly, neither party has noted that
the use of this threat has been specifically
enjoined for years. Doe v. Shapiro, 302
F.Supp. 761 (D.Conn. 1969); Doe v. Harder,
310 F.Supp. 302 (D.Conn. 1970).

=, 3

state's interest and role in this nominally
"private" litigation is perhaps best gauged
by the assignment of an Assistant Attorney

General to represent the mother here and

at all other appellate proceedings in this

case.

The goal and effect of the proceed-
ing below is evident. To gain money,
Connecticut compelled the mother of an
illegitimate child to name a man as its
biological father, forced her to serve as
a nominal plaintiff in a suit against him,
and then paid for and directed prosecu-
tion of that suit. Upon the determination
that the man so named was the biological
father, the state was awarded appellant's
property.

Such enrichment is, of course, well
within the power of the state. However,

in order for any state to deprive a per-

@~) 3=

son of property, it is required by the

Fourteenth Amendment to exercise "due

|
process of law".

II. BECAUSE THE HEARING BELOW WAS
ALSO AN ATTEMPT BY CONNECTICUT
TO IMPOSE ON APPELLANT A FUNDA-
MENTAL RELATIONSHIP WHICH WOULD
DEPRIVE HIM OF PROTECTED LIBERTY,
CONNECTICUT WAS REQUIRED BY THE
DUE PROCESS CLAUSE TO TAKE
REASONABLE STEPS TO DETERMINE
WHETHER OR NOT THAT RELATIONSHIP
EXISTS.

Even if the state had not sought a
money judgment, it did seek to impose on
Appellant a fundamental relationship
whose existence he denied. Imposition of
that relationship would deprive Appellant
of constitutionally recognized liberty
interests.

When the state threatens to deprive
a person of a liberty interest, due pro-

cess requires that he be afforded a

-ideq

"hearing appropriate to the nature of the

case." Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank §&

Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 313 (1950). This

hearing must be conducted "at a meaning-
ful time and in a meaningful manner."

Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552

(1965).

These guidelines, first established
in cases where the state was merely ad-
judicating the conflicting claims of

private persons, apply a fortiorari where

the state itself is seeking to deprive a
person of protected interests. The Court's
attention has recently been focused on the
formality required of such proceedings.

In certain circumstances, the opportunity
to cross-examine witnesses and offer

evidence was found necessary, see Goldberg

v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) (basic wel-

fare revocation), Morrissey v. Brewer,

~1 5

408 U.S. 471 (1972) (parole revocation),

while in others it was not, see Mathews

v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) (revoca-

tion of Social Security disability
benefits). Where the government official
most involved might have too great an
interest to decide a matter impartially,
the government has been required to pro-
vide an independent person or tribunal to

make the final determination. Morrissey

v. Brewer, Supra at 471. By contrast,

where the official most involved may be
considered impartial, and has relevant
expertise, his determination alone may

be adequate. Parham v. J. R., 442 U.S.

584 (1979) (admission to state mental
hospital).

Common to all these cases has been
the fact-finding role of the state. Due

process does not permit the state, as it

ise

would a private litigant, to deprive
private persons of constitutionally pro-
tected interests without concern for fair-
ness to the party it is acting against.
Rather, it imposes on the state a duty,
varying in strength depending on the

nature of the case, to conduct an impartial
study of facts relevant to the person's
protected interest, and to act only in

accordance with those facts. Cf. Wood v.

Georgia, 370 U.S. 375, 390 (1962) (grand

jury). Even where the Court has found a
formal hearing unnecessary prior to a
definitive deprivation of liberty or
property, it has done so only because of
its judgment that due process was satis-
fied by the extensive fact-finding pro-
cedures undertaken -- and paid for -- by

the state. See, e.g., Mathews v. Eldridge,

~>

Supra, at 335-339; Parham v. J. R., Supra,

at 613-617; Board of Curators, University

of Missouri v. Horowitz, 435 U.S. 78, 80-

82 (1978).

Connecticut has given putative fathers
the protection of a formal judicial hear-
ing. However, such protection at the
point of deprivation does not always ex-
haust the requirements of due process.
Here, where the state has assumed the
unique role of raising and then deciding
whether a fundamental family relationship
exists, it assumesa significant respon-
sibility for ensuring that it acts on the
basis of reliable facts. This responsibility
is not discharged by the single act of
forcing the mother to name some man as
her child's putative father. The state
owes more to both the child and the
putative father. Specifically, as we

«16

demonstrate below, it must ensure that a

simple, reasonably-priced, concededly re-
levant and frequently dispositive test be
conducted.

The state's responsibility as fact-
finder is paralleled by its obligation to
Appellant to assure him a meaningful hear-
ing. In this regard, the present case

closely resembles Boddie v. Connecticut,

401 U.S. 371 (1971). In Boddie, the

state had monopolized the means whereby
private persons could voluntarily form

or dissolve a marital relationship. Their
interest in such a relationship was called

"fundamental". Cf. United States v. Kras,

409 U.S. 434 (1973) (bankruptcy), Ortwein

v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656 (1973) (welfare).

In the present case, the state has monop-
olized the means whereby a relationship

as basic as marriage can be created

i=

involuntarily and irrevocably. The state
declares two individuals to be related by
blood: to be parent and child. But the
state does not merely preside over this
creation of a fundamental family relation-
ship, it actually institutes the proceed-
ing. Appellant here is thus like the
plaintiff in Boddie: he is forced by

the state to rely on state court proceed-
ings to protect his basic interests. 2/
Obviously, his opportunity to be heard

must be meaningful in fact, as well as in

theory.

2/m defend those interests Connecticut
requires a putative father not only to
appear in court, but also to produce
evidence beyond his own testimony, even
though as a practical matter, given the.
private nature of most sexual relation-
ships, such evidence (other than blood=-
type testing) will rarely exist. See
infra n.8.

=20=

Amici do not contend that the Constitu-
tion requires the state to pay for blood-
typing tests in all cases of disputed
paternity. In most, it is enough that the
rules of evidence at the ultimate hearing
allow the admission of such tests, as
Connecticut's rules do. See Conn. Gen. Stat.
§46b-168. However, where the putative father
cannot utilize such tests because of his
indigency, the state's constitutional
responsibility as fact-finder and as
guarantor of a meaningful hearing may re-
quire positive action on its part. To
determine whether due process requires the
provision of blood-type testing under these
exceptional circumstances, we consider
those factors that determine the require-

ments of due process in any context.

= en

>

4

III. ACCORDING TO THE TEST OF
MATHEWS V. ELDRIDGE, DUE
PROCESS REQUIRES THAT THE
REASONABLE COSTS OF BLOOD-
TYPE TESTING BE BORNE BY
THE STATE WHERE SUCH TEST-
ING WOULD OTHERWISE NOT BE
CONDUCTED BECAUSE OF THE
INDIGENCY OF THE PUTATIVE
FATHER.

Due prowess, this Court has long held,
"is flexible and calls for such procedural
protections as the particular situation

demands", Morrissey v. Brewer, Supra at

481.

Whether a particular procedural safe-
guard is constitutionally required is
determined by applying the three-part test

enunciated in Mathews v. Eldridge, supra

at 3353

First, the private interest
that will be affected by the
official action; second, the
risk of an erroneous depriva-
tion of such interest through
the procedures used, and the
probable value, if any, of
additional or substitute pro-

-22-

cedural safeguards; and
finally, the government's
interest, including the
function involved and the
fiscal and administrative
burdens that the additional
or substitute procedural
requirement would entail.

In the present case, state payment

for blood-type testing is necessitated by
3/

this test under each of the three factors.=—

A. Both The Property And Liberty
Interests Of The Putative
Father Are Substantial.

The determination of biological father-

hood of an illegitimate child receiving

3/mathews was decided after Boddie v.
Connecticut and its progeny. Accordingly,
the Court has not expressly applied the
Mathews three-part test in earlier cases
deciding whether the state must provide
particular litigants the means, as well as
the opportunity, for particular procedures
required by due process. However, the
analysis in, and holdings of, those cases
fit comfortably within the Mathews test.

~

public assistance results in the financial
obligations specified in Conn. Gen. Stat.
§46b-171 and reviewed in Point I, supra.
The actual dollar sums flowing from those
obligations are quite substantial.
Appellant was found liable for a
judgment made up of "lying-in expenses"
($852.02), “accrued maintenance" extending
from the day of the child's birth to the
judgment ($5,790.26), and the "costs of
Suit plus reasonable -torney's fees"
($332.20). These sums total $6,974.48.
In addition, Appellant was ordered to make
payments to cover "child support" at the
rate of $163.58 a month. Computed to
cover the remaining fifteen and a half
years of the child's minority, these pay-
ments come to $30,425.88. Appellant was

thus ordered to pay a judgment of over

yo

$37,000.00 -- all payable to the State of
Connecticut. Judgment and Order,
October 16, 1978.

Little of this substantial judgment
was ordered payable immediately. Apparent-
ly because of Appellant's indigency, the
court directed the payment of only $2.00
per month. Although this sum is minimal,
the judgment itself remains payable
throughout Appellant's life. It cannot
be discharged in bankruptcy, 11 U.S.C.
§523(a) (5), and cannot be escaped by mov-
ing to a different state, 42 U.S.C. §§651l-
662. If Appellant should cease to be
indigent, the court can order an increase
in his payments to the state. See Conn.
Gen. Stat. §46b-171. Failure to meet any
of the ordered payments may result in

imprisonment. for contempt of court. Id.

~25-

A period of up to six months of hard labor
could then be served, although still with-
out any discharge from his liability.
Conn. Gen. Stat. §46b-176.

At the time of the hearing, the only
practical method of demonstrating Appellant's
non-paternity, i.e., the blood-type test
(see Section IIIB, infra), was beyond his
means. Later, when he may have the income
to pay for such tests, it will be too late

to do so. Res judicata has fixed his legal

paternity for all time, so his new-found
income can only be devoted to the dis-
charge of the state's $37,000.00 judgment
against him.

More drastic than even this depriva-
tion of property, or the deprivation of ™
physical liberty with which Connecticut
threatens him for failure to satisfy the

judgment, is the deprivation of

“96<

fundamental liberty that the judgment

effects. Appellant has a constitution-

ally protected and fundamental interest

in choosing whether to associate with
4/

others in a family. — In cases as

diverse as Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113

(1973), Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S.

645 (1972), Moore v. East Cleveland, 431

U.S. 494 (1977), Zablocki v. Redhail,

434 U.S. 374 (1978), and Boddie v.

Connecticut, supra, the Court has pro-

tected the right of adults to engage in,
or separate themselves from, familial

relationships sanctioned by state power.

4/ amici do not, of course, dispute that
the state may impose obligations on real
fathers of illegitimate children.

=2Fa

Connecticut has acted through its
courts to impose on Appellant a familial
relationship, and consequent familial ob-
ligations, which he does not choose to assume
and for which he claims not to be respon-
sible. Under this Court's cases, assuming
the facts are as he alleges, he has a
fundamental right not to have a father-

5/

relationship imposed on him. =

B. Paternity Actions Present
Substantial Risks Of Erro-
neous Deprivations Of
Liberty And Property. Blood-
type Testing Would Substan-
tially Reduce Those Risks.

Paternity hearings are plagued with

"coercion, corruption, perjury and indiffer-

3/tn United States v. Kras, 409 U.S. 434
(1973), this Court read Boddie v. Connecticut,
supra, to apply only where a civil litigant's
fundamental interest was at stake and where
the state had monopolized resolution of dis-
putes concerning that interest. This case
plainly satisfies both those criteria.

See generally, Tribe, American Constitutional
Law, at , 1118-1122.

=2Qe0

ence to the rights of the individual de fend-
ant." Family Study Commission, State of
Illinois, Report and Recommendations 55

(1969), as quoted -in H. Krause, Illegitimacy:

Law and Social Policy, 107 (1971). This

sad situation results from the insufficiency
of court time allotted such case, see id.,
and the common assumption that, where the
mother's and putative father's testimony
conflict, the former is in the right. See

id., Kelsaw v. Green, 6 Conn. Cir. 516, 276

A.2a 909 (1971); Holmes v. McLean, 5 Conn.

Cir. 476, 256 A.2d 849 (1969). Also
responsible is the peculiarity of the
issue being adjudicated: conception is a
biological event about which ordinarily
only two persons might have probative
evidence. Disinterested witnesses are a
rarity.

The extent of perjury and simple

=29=

ignorance manifested under these circun-
stances is understandable, if shocking.

One study found that fully "93% of the
tested parties lied in some respect...as

to their sexual relationship." Arthur &
Reid, “Utilizing The Lie Detector Technique
To Determine The Truth In Disputed Paternity
Cases,* 45 3. Crim. -&.C. & BiB. 213, 2:5

(1954), as quoted in Krause, Illegitimacy,

supra at 107. Results from another study
demonstrate that paternity findings are
grossly inaccurate even when based on ad-
missions of both sexual intercourse and
paternity: 18% of those men who volun-
tarily admitted paternity were not, in
fact, the fathers of the children in
question. Sussman & Schatkin, "Blood
Grouping Tests in Undisputed Paternity

Proceedings," 164 J.A.M.A. 249-50 (1957),

=30-

as cited in Krause, Illegitimacy, supra

at 108.

The problem of unreliability is espe-
cially serious when the state causes the
paternity hearing to be undertaken. Forced
to name a putative father, the mother may
wish to protect the actual father or pro-
tect herself from retribution:from him.

See Poulin, "Tllegitimacy and Family Privacy,"
70 Northwestern U. L. Rev. 910, 923-924
(1976). Alternatively, where she simply

does not know which of two or more men is

the biological father, she is nevertheless
constrained to name one and testify against
him. See Point I, supra.

Finally, the standard of proof used
in paternity hearings further aggravates
the problem. Previously, when paternity

was considered a criminal offense (as it

was in Connecticut), it had to be demon-

ale

strated beyond a reasonable doubt. See

Krause, Illegitimacy, supra at 109. Now,

usually reclassified as a civil action, the
measure of proof is generally that of a
"preponderance of the evidence." Id.;

see supra, at g-9 , 9/ Faced with "an accusa-

tion by the woman and a denial by the
defendant..., the judges feel constrained
to enter a finding of paternity." Family
Study Commission, supra.

In stark contrast to the unreliability
of human testimony concerning paternity
stands the well-developed technology of
blood-type testing. Such laboratory pro-

cedures compare various genetic qualities

6/whether that low standard satisfies the
requirements of due process is not at issue
in this case.

~33~=

of the blood of the child with that of its
mother and putative father. Where the
child's carries a characteristic that
neither of the others' has, the putative
father is absolutely excluded as the true

father. See generally, Krause, Illegitimacy,

Supra at 123-136; works cited infra at n.7.
So reliable is this method that some states
require that where non-paternity is so
indicated the issue of paternity must be

resolved accordingly. See, e.g., Calif.

Evid. Code, §895.

In 1976, a joint AMA-ABA committee
issued a report recognizing the precision
achieved by blood-type testing. Joint AMA-
ABA Guidelines: Present Status of Serologic
Testing in Problems of Disputed Parentage,
10 Family Law Quarterly 247 (1976). The

report also set forth a battery of seven

=~33<

tests recommended “for routine use". Id.

at 254. Statistically, more than nine out

of ten men -- 91 to 93% -- would be definite-
ly excluded through its application. Id.

at 257. 2/

Blood-type testing thus introduces the
element of scientific precision into an
adjudicatory context in which inaccuracy
is common. Instead of perjury or the un-
reliable testimony of interested parties,

it offers disinterested evidence. And

7/purther literature attesting to the
accuracy of blood-type testing includes:
Terasaki, "Resolution by HLA Testing of
1,0°0 Paternity Cases Not Excluded By ABO
Testing,” 16 J.Fam.L. 543 (1978); L.
Sussman, Paternity Testing by Blood Group-
ing (2a ed. 1976); and fitness and Kaye,

robabilities and Proof: Can HLA and
Blood Group Testing Prove Paternity?" 54
N.Y.U.L.Rev. 1131 (1979). A report of re-
sults surpassing 99% exclusion appears in
Henningsen, "Some Aspects of Blood Grouping
in Cases of Disputed Paternity in Denmark,”
2 Methods of Forensic Science 209, 224-25
(1963).

=34e

such evidence corrects an evidentiary im-
balance. Where, as in Connecticut, the
state's burden of proof is satisfied by
nothing more than the mother's allegation
and testimony, even if disputed by the
putative father, the father is in need of
some evidence beyond his denial to rebut
her claim. 8/ This -- if he is indeed
innocent of the charges -- can be supplied
by blood-type tests with 100% accuracy in

more than 90% of the cases.

8/connecticut provides, as a matter of
law, that the testimony of a putative
father is not, of itself, sufficient to
rebut the mother's accusations. See
Holmes v. McLean, 5 Conn. Cir. 476, 256
A.2d 849 (1969); Williams v. Gray, 4 Conn.
Cir. 326, 231 A.2d 285 (1967). Testimony
concerning earlier accusations is admissible
to prove the truth of those accusations
under a statutory exception to the usual
hearsay rules. See Conn. Gen. Stat.
§46b-160.

=35=

C. Blood-rype Testing Would
Purther Important State
Interests, At A Nominal
Cost, And With No Addi-
tional Administrative
Burdens.

State-paid blood-type tests where the
putative father is indigent will often save
the state money, and will facilitate accuracy
in determining the parentage of the child,
its ward.

Connecticut presumably resists pay-
ment for blood-type testing for indigent
putative fathers because of the cost in-
volved. Hospitals surveyed in an H.E.W.-
sponsored study charge between $200 and
$300 for procedures evaluating the seven
genetic traits recommended by the AMA~ABA

Guidelines. 9/ See H.E.W. Office of Child

9/ ns we demonstrate infra, the federal
government would pay 75% of the cost of
all blood-type tests. The cost to
Connecticut would thus be about $50 to
$75.

-36-

Support Enforcement, Blood Testing to

Establish Paternity (1977), Table XI.

However, to consider only these immediate
expenses would be short-sighted. The
state incurs other expenses when it does
not pay for these tests, and these can be
substantial. For example, failure to
provide such tests necessarily results in
a greater percentage of defendants being
adjudged to be biological fathers. (At
least some of those for whom the tests
would exclude paternity would be in-
correctly found to be the children's
fathers.) A greater number of adjudged
fathers would result in a greater number
of monetary judgments, and thus, apparent-
ly, more income for the state. However,
unlike non-indigant putative fathers of
AFDC children generally -- as to whom

Congress has found that the reimburse-

-37-

ments received outweigh the administra-
tive costs of recoupment -- all of these
adjudged fathers are indigent. According-
ly, although judgment against them might
be considerable, actual recovery will be ©
negligible. Appellant, for example, pays
Connecticut only $2 per month of his
$37,000 judgment.

A few of these indigent adjudged
fathers might someday earn enough money
to generate income for the state. How-
ever, the likelihood that the state would
discover such new-found wealth, then gain
a new court order increasing payments
under the judgment, and then actually re-
ceive these monies is doubtful. By con-
trast, the effort to obtain and enforce
paternity judgments always entails sub-

stantial administrative and judicial costs.

- 380

The state must monitor the income of

all indigent adjudged fathers, seek new
court orders, and attempt to collect the
greater payments.

By supplying blood-type tests to
indigent putative fathers, the state
would discover that some of them are not,
in fact, the fathers of the children in
question. This discovery would result in
several financial benefits. Dismissal of
the paternity action would save the
state the further costs incurred by the
private attorney prosecuting the case and
by the assistant attorney general represent-
ing the state's interests. State court
time would likewise be reduced. The dis-
covery of non-paternity would eliminate
the expenses incurred in the collection

of such nominal sums as $2 a month.

o 39=

Finally, the discovery of non-paternity

might even enable the state to elicit from
the mother the name of the true father,
who might not be indigent.

The state also has a non-financial
interest and "responsibility" to "make
all reasonable attempts" to determine |
paternity. Connecticut's own regula-
tions acknowledge the value Connecticut
places on assisting illegitimate child-
ren to determine their true parentage:

It is the responsibility
and obligation of the

State on behalf of the
concerned child to make

all reasonable attempts

to determine the identity
of the child's father in
all cases where paternity
has not been legally estab-
lished and to provide
financial assistance for
the establishment of pater-
nity for both AFDC and non-
AFDC cases in accordance
with the established pro-~-
cedures.

Sec. 17-82e-4.

-40-

It is hard to square the actual
practice of Connecticut with this avowal
of "responsibility and obligation...on
behalf of the concerned child." Certainly
its sole effort, the coercion of the
mother to name some man as father, does
not constitute "all reasonable attempts
to determine the identification of the
child's father." 10/ Plainly, it would
be "reasonable" to "attempt" to deter-

mine paternity through use of blood-type

10/a5pellant apparently did not argue that
this regulation, which would seem to embody
an obligation "for the establishment of
paternity", not merely for the institution
of paternity proceedings, required the state
to pay for the blood test as a matter of
state law. Nor did the Connecticut courts
raise the point sua sponte. In light of
Ferro v. Morgan, 35 Conn.Supp. 689, cert.
denied 177 Conn. 753, 399 A.2da 526 (1979),
any such effort would likely have been
fruitless.

nih? «

11/ As to the short-run costs in-

tests.
volved in such testing, the regulations
are clear: the state has an "obligation"
to "provide financial assistance" in its
attempt to determine paternity.
Connecticut's behavior is even less
comprehensible in light of the federal
Statute under which the state receives

75% of its child support monies. 42

U.S.C. §§651-662.

11/ the reasonableness of state-supported

blood-type testing for indigent defendants
in paternity actions is demonstrated by
the number of states that expressly allow
(or allow by more general rule) blood-
type testing costs to be charged to the
state. See Jurisdictional Statement at
7-9 &n.7. Apparently, North Carolina is
the only state beside Connecticut obligat-
ing the requesting party to pay for
blood-type testing in advance.

a 2a

The participating state must "under-
take...to establish the paternity" of an
illegitimate child receiving public
assistance. 42 U.S.C. 5654(4) (a). 22/
Even those illegitimate children who are
ineligible for government aid enjoy
access to the state's "paternity deter-
mination services." 42 U.S.C. §654(6).

The legislative history accompany-

ing this federal statute makes clear the

12/56 far aS amici are aware, Appellant
has not argued that the federal statute
of its own force requires the state to
provide blood-type testing to indigent
paternity defendants. Because the plain
language of the statute permits -- if
not compels -- such a construction, this
Court could rest its decision on this
statutory ground. Ashwander v. Tennessee

“Valley Authority, 257 U.S. 288 (1935)
(Brandeis, J., concurring).

~43=

policy behind requiring such services:

In taking the position that

a child born out of wedlock
has a right to have its
paternity ascertained in a
fair and efficient manner,
the [Senate Finance C]ommittee
acknowledges that legislation
must recognize the interest
primarily at stake in the
paternity action to be that
of the child. Since the
child cannot act on his own
behalf in the short time
after his birth when there is
hope of finding its father,
the Committee feels a
mechanism should be provided
to ascertain the child's
paternity whenever it seems
that this would both be
possible and in the child's
best interest.

1974 U.S. Code Cong. and Adm.
News 8133, 8155.

The report goes on to note that

"paternity can be ascertained with reason-

able assurance, particularly through the

use of scientifically conducted blood

typing." Id.

ohin

Although the regulations issued under
the statute do not explicitly require blood-
type testing, they do encourage the practice
through a provision that explicitly affords
blood-type testing requested by state
officials the usual 75% federal contribu-
tion to state child support programs. 45
C.F.R. §304.20(b) (2) (i) (B). Connecticut's
inexplicable refusal to make use of this
federally sanctioned method of estab-
lishing paternity constitutes a curious
denial of its interests, both as acknowl-
edged by its regulations and as specified
by national child-support policy.

Finally, Connecticut has not claimed
that state provision of blood-type testing
would entail significant administrative
burdens. Nor could it in light of the

statutory recognition of the value of

~~)

such testing, its common use by non-
indigent defendants, and the existence

of a state-prepared list of approved
laboratories. 13/ Indeed, blood-type
testing for indigent defendants would
dispositively eliminate many named
innocent putative fathers against whom

the state would be otherwise required to
institute proceedings under its federally-

approved plan, thereby substantially re-

ducing the state's administrative burden.

13/y11 states that participate in the

federal child support program must com-
pile a list of laboratories conducting
"legally and medically acceptable" blood-
type tests. This list must be made
available to state authorities, the
courts, and to private persons.

45 C.F.R. §303.5(c).

-46-

CONCLUSION

Amici submit that application of the

Mathews v. Eldridge test mandates state pro-

vision of blood-type tests to indigent
defendants in state-instituted paternity
proceedings. Accordingly, for the fore-
going reasons, the judgment of the
Appellate Session of the Superior Court
should be reversed, and the case remanded
for further proceedings consistent with
the opinion of the Court.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES S. SIMS
BRUCE J. ENNIS, JR.
c/o American Civil
Liberties Union
132 West 43rd Street
New York, N.Y. 10036
(212) 944-9800
= *
Attorneys for Amici Curiae

November 20, 1980

*Counsel gratefully acknowledge the sub-
stantial assistance of Lawrence M. Martin,
a third-year student at Yale Law School,
in the research and preparation of this
brief.

o47«

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0010%3A7. Public record. Not legal advice.
