# Appellants Brief — Little v. Streater

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0010%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appellants Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 452 U.S. 1

## Text

| MICHAEL RODAK, JR., |

No. 79-6779

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

WALTER LITTLE,
Appellant,

GLORIA STREATER,
Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE APPELLATE SESSION
OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF CONNECTICUT

BRIEF FOR APPELLANT

JON C. BLUE
Legal Assistance to Prisoners
340 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, Connecticut 06106
(203) 566-2030

Court-appointed Counsel for Appellant

C e CLB PUBLISHERS « LAW PRINTING CO. e@ (202) 393 0625

(i)

QUESTION PRESENTED

In a paternity proceeding that the State of Connecticut
caused to be instituted by a recipient of public assistance
against an indigent, incarcerated defendant, does
Conn.Gen.Stat. § 46b-168 (1979) violate the Due Process
and Equal Protection Clauses of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment to the Constitution of the United States when applied to
deny the use of blood grouping tests to the defendant solely
because of his indigency?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

(1) Walter Little, the appellant, was the defendant in the
proceedings below.

(2) Gloria Streater, the appellee, was the plaintiff in the
proceedings below.

(3) Carl R. Ajello, the Attorney General of Connecticut,
is a party to this proceeding pursuant to Conn.Gen.Stat.
§ 46b-160 (1979).

(ii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
RKIVEOTION PRESENTED. .............cccccccccccce, i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING .................... i
os > TS a a ii
ye ls iii
TT NN oss vs rcncuvavceceavccueetawacs ]
RE ENN a ae oD 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
ede is pec coue, hanes 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.................0000.5.. 3
HOW THE CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTION WAS
RAISED AND DECIDED BELOW .................. 6
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT........................., 7
EEE SEN Re ee 8
I. THE DENIAL OF BLOOD GROUPING
TESTS TO A DEFENDANT IN A PA-
TERNITY PROCEEDING SOLELY BE-
CAUSE OF HIS INDIGENCY VIOLATES
THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE ................. 8
A. The unique importance of blood grouping
tests in paternity litigation ..................... 9

B. The requirements of the Due Process
ECU ls ie enue uch cy. ul, 16

II. THE DENIAL OF BLOOD GROUPING
TESTS TO A DEFENDANT IN A PA-
TERNTY PROCEEDING SOLELY BE-
CAUSE OF HIS INDIGENCY DENIES
HIM THE EQUAL PROTECTION OF
as Fascia fas EUS OeL ec bk yeh 39

Oe 6) ca cs Nuc ek owen ovaschecilekues 44

(iii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Alderman v. United States,

Co ee). es es Terre eee 21
B. v. Superior Court,

86 Cal. App. 3d 1006, 150 Cal.Rptr. 586 (1978)....... 16
Baldwin v. Hale,

CRUG 1 We.) aS ELGG oi bade ees es 19

Beuschel v. Manowitz,
151 Misc. 899, 271 N.Y.S. 277, rev'd per curiam,
241 App. Div. 888, 272 N.Y.S. 165, motion for leave
to appeal denied, 265 N.Y. 509, 193 N.E. 295
(eR Pernt r Te Tterr et errr ree eT re Te 1]

Bigsby v. Bates,
59 Ohio Misc. 51, 391 N.E.2d 1384 (C.P. 1978)....17,18

Boddie v. Connecticut,

GBA UG, 37% CARTE) i. 0 tk cece dscie ve cent 19,20,25,39
Booth v. Hart,

Oe SPT IR Ss on divac bese nhs uasaneveeeesaen 34
Boswell’s Lessee v. Otis,

50 U.S. (9 How.) 336 (1850) 2... ccc ccceccevccsccess 19
Bounds v. Smith,

oR Se oe ne reer. ea ee ie 30
Brady v. Maryland,

pee gh e RS: | ee eer rrr rte ree 32
Breithaupt v. Abram,

pe BRE cD. +) ater Terre iyo 22
Britt v. North Carolina,

AF Bs a dink ens ex et een taepaaeee ka) 31
Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority

Se MI FIED at xks A hacen veces cwnce a eeee ee 28,36

Caban v. Mohammed,
Se Bias PTO cols ak eos soto censeatkeunknay’s 13,38

(iv)

Civil Rights Cases,

a | ee cae 28
Cochran v. Kansas,

RW MP PO PIPED sok ccc once pale ccctenvcsceeclees. 29
Commissioners of Almshouse v. Whistelo,

3 Wheeler’s Crim. Cas. 194 (N.Y.Gen.Sess. 1808) ..... 10
Commonwealth v. Possehl,

355 Mass. 575, 246 N.E. 2d 667 SREP caVickvscdos 17,18
Commonwealth v. Zammarelli,

SFM MM, MOO ERM OON boss vc cae vi cccvaevecoccanceil 10
Cortese v. Cortese,

10 N.J. Super. 152, 76 A.2d 717 4) re 12,13,22
Cramer v. Morrison,

88 Cal. App. 3d 873 153 Cal. Rptr. 865 ti. , ae 12

Doe v. Maher,
414 F.Supp. 1368 (D.Conn. 1976), vacated,

ee De: ss Sr 28
Domonkos ex rel. Herman vy. Rotundo,

4 Conn. Supp. 29 (C.P. 1936)...........ccccccccccce, 11
Douglas v. California,

PMP PAN DUPRE ooh in v0 ove ods oe bcdineccdeccn, 31
Estelle v. Gamble,
cat Ls |) A a i eee ne ee 30

Evans v. Newton,
POO Wis BE EPID oo oes Sovic dn none oobi ccceninien, 28

Ferro v. Morgan,
35 Conn. Supp. 679, 406 A.2d 873, cert. denied,

177 Conn. 753, 399 A.2d 526 . SPR eal ican 6,7,12
Ford v. Ford,
191 Neb. 548, 216 N.W. 2d 176 CEN. o's sia snk hows 18,38

Ford vy. Ford,
Doc. 655, No. 275 (Dist. Ct. Douglas Cty. Neb.
Se NID yas ach cect ne ee 18

(v)

Franklin v. District Court,
194 Colo. 189, 571 P.2d 1072 (1977)............ 17,18,27

G. v. R.,
95 Misc. 2d 273, 407 N.Y.S.2d 414 (Fam. Ct. 1978)... 18

Gardner v. California,

I I i edo one Pevn abe dive ed Coceonys bas 31
Gomez v. Perez,

OR OME 2 5c sie es aves eksawadabiaw anes 13,37
Green v. United States,

ee NO iis ioc cnet cadet aveneavedeedes os 32
Griffin v. Illinois, a

Re ee ee ae ne ee " passim
Harper v. Virginia Board of Elections,

ES Ll ec ahvanbaendeead eaten ik 40
Hepfe! v. Bashaw,

Bee ee ae ee CR, PTD) 6 ccs cece ccesewannss 12
Hovey v. Elliott,

EL ais a oe Gna gd bl alec ie ecw ae 19
Ex parte Hull,

aE IED oo avons tipeeo ila Ve wdacbewawceune 29
Johnson vy. Avery,

Fee Wis Se (IGG). oc ce scvevcces by SaiRiiva ee sbegil wa Abs 30

Kelsaw v. Green,
6 Conn. Cir. Ct. 516, 276 A.2d 909

Se Se A Es WIPE a nce ccevcde vinescswvecancdes 35
Klapprott v. United States,

a cine ek sewed neken caseentes 29
Kovacs v. Cooper,

Be ST FD 5 ocieoc's vs kn eba5 0 6seeee ada bs vas 43
Lalli v. Lalli,

EE sos kin wae bdbiusdusceudwudens acs 13

Lane v. Brown,
ee CE ook ove iuunaccdnecenusssiocebanst 31

—

(vi)

Lascaris v. Lardeo,

100 Misc. 2d 220, 417 N.Y.S. 2d 665 (1979)....... 12,

Long v. District Court,
OE Ey iky.o iho kc cuca oc Obie cwcnedoes

Lurry v. Mills,
152 N.J. Super. 127, 377 A.2d 804 (1977) ............

M. ex rel. T. v. S.,
169 N.J. Super. 209, 404 A.2d 653 (1979) ............

Maher v. Doe,
We I odie oon see due chee bonne.

Mayer v. City of Chicago,
ea

Meyer v. Nebraska,
ee ee

Michigan v. Tucker,
PEF WM IOP ooo ss oso vibsesesccocnceeccecs

Mosher v. Bennett,
108 Conn. 671, 144 A, 297 |. Bit Me eS eae

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.
OM NY MEIN oon ond v tans descccvchacsnneenin

Nations v. Johnson,
65 U.S. (24 How.) 195 RENE ed ase Nor em ia

Ortwein v. Schwab,

WM MIP TOD occ ricccvnsecccssecesecs 25,42,

Parham v. Hughes,
i

People ex rel. Van Epps v. Doherty,
261 App. Div. 86, 24 N.Y.S. 2d 821 Sareea

Pierce v. Society of Sisters,
WOU Ws I ok is kb oss sens le Cheneceevecnet

Rakas v. Illinois,
I TD on eiob eS vectbewoccececinn

Reynolds v. Kimmons,
PN PO PR oie cece c on one

( vii)

Roberts v. LaVallee,
pe A were een reer eee ae 31

Robertson v. Apuzzo,
170 Conn. 367, 365 A.2d 824, cert. denied, 429

Se TIE acca Ses 8 5b cd hee kan a bRRR ER SEN 5,26
Roe v. Norton,

Se A EE URES ois vcr scevasesSGanae wn eheeakwe 28
Ross v. Moffitt, P

ee eT CRONE oe on kta hed cbuscer casa tou eeeeee 25
San Antonio Independent School District v. Rodriguez,

ee Be Maas ov kk cewek bP ePRR Kp daaw eens Ries 41
Schmerber v. California,

eS ee US i vcceuducsss cov bieewne sneha ne 22
Shelley v. Kraemer,

eS, Ss 5 5 oy nce PRN ORE eee poner ees 27
Smith v. Bennett,

ee i ony sc Vie eRe a hk eee hE eS 26,31
Smith v. Walker,

138 N.J. Super. 187, 350 A.2d 319 (1975) ......... 17,18
Snyder v. Massachusetts,

hs cy ru eres ee aeane va es 33
Stanley v. Illinois,

ee OPO os hk nbiveess dee pau kas 13,36,38,43
State v. Damm,

64 S.D. 309, 266 N.W. 667 (1936)................ 11,22
State v. Fowler,

BLT Deda Sees BUD Bale Bee LIFT) bib hs cto ne neiis 12
State v. Sebastian,

Si Comm. 1,69 A. 1056. C1906). oo cece ncicctvccnsnss 11,34
State ex rel. Graves v. Daugherty,

266 S.E.2d 142 (W.Va. 1980)........ccccscvees 17,18,27

State ex rel. Ortloff v. Hanson,
STE CO. ae Be CR TITEP: acc nivewisecheadvesas 12

( viii)

Stone v. Powell,

GOO Ui MGS (ERIE) oo 5 nkcn vk sca vs ices
Streater v. Little, 21,22

No. 806 (App.Sess.Conn. Super. Ct. Feb. 29, 1980),

cert. denied, 180 Conn. 756, 414 A.2d 199 (1980) ...... l
Town of Chaplin v. Hartshorne,

© CMe BE ERD bo acticwsles bscoNslae seal eenbees 34
Trimble v. Gordon,

GIG ID. TOR CANE as 66 6x 008d ieee 13
Trustees of Dartmouth College v. Woodward,

57 Was CO Wee Fe Caine c ccc eecceavienee 19
Union Pacific Railway v. Botsford,

RGN Rice EOUEN » ie 00bgcn Seen eckiees eee 21,22
United States v. Ash,

US Wi PO CNT ON. «uc is 00 04ndanneedebenan eee 33
United States v. Ceccolini,

RF Sr Se CEPR inns acs vee vkiun wens ake ee Cee 21
United States v. Kras,

Pe i EOD ono v's nas bev cw meen eeeenaes 25,29,42
United States v. Payner,

LG DA SOee CIOOOD occu sciebsscunsnelcceesdunee 21
Walker v. Stokes,

45 Ohio App. 2d 275, 344 N.E.2d 159 (1975)......... 17

Walker v. Stokes,
54 Ohio App. 2d 119, 375 N.E. 2d 1258 (1977) .... 18,27

Wardius v. Oregon,

Oe Se TS 00k Cheb &h apd cee Ca 33
Williams v. Illinois,

Be We Be I 6 on kkk evs cocwwed abeeceneeee 39
Windsor v. McVeigh,

Bs OE oa cides bcd ththecesaauti ule 19

In re Winship,
SY Py PO CATED Gah nak ot cds bac ba ek baned eee 22

(ix)

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

i ME EW occ ticcstacdbccevetsvesvevesvds 16
RE, MUON, AAV, Bocce cccssccccvcvvvseces passim
STATUTES
Ree moe tt, 26 B12-5 (1977)... ccccecsssscsvcderess 16
Ark. Stat. Ann. §34-705.1 (1962) ......... ee eeeeeeee oe ee
Cal. Evid. Code § 894 (Deering 1966)..........-.-.eeeees 16
Conn.Gen.Stat. $17-1b (1979) 0.0... .cccccccsvcvevcvcses 3
Conn.Gen.Stat. § 46b-160 (1979) ....... ccc eee ee ee ee eee i
Conn.Gen.Stat. § 46b-168 (1979)..........655 i,2,3,6,7,40,44
Conn.Gen.Stat. § 46b-169 (1979) ....... cece eee eee e eens a
Conn.Gen.Stat. §46b-215 (1979) ....... cece eee eeeees 5,26
Conna.Gen.Stat. $52-258 (1979) ......ccccscccccccvcsvoes 5
Conn.Gen.Stat. $ 53-304 (1979) .......ccccccccccssecs 18,26
See Come PUD. Acts CRAG... ccc cccccrcccccveccess 34,35
Se ee Pee MOOS PEO, 459... cccvcccvdecvasncsves 28
Ga. Code §74-311 (Supp. 1980) ..........cceeceeeeeees 17
Haw.Rev.Stat. §584-16 (1976) ........ cee cece eee eeeeees 16
Idaho Code §7-1117 (1979) ....cccccvcscccvvvcveseeves 16
Ill.Rev.Stat. ch.106 3/4 §3 (Supp. 1980-81) ............. 16
Meme eet. ©23-132 (1974) 0... cvvcwcccvcccscvvvencs 16,23
_ La.Rev.Stat.Ann. §9:397.1 (West.Supp. 1980)........... 16
Me./Rev.Stat. tit. 19 §279 (Supp. 1980-81).............. 17
Md. Ann. Code art. 16 §66G (Supp. 1980).............. 16
ee eee, mm, BZ5:496 (19TS) oi ccccecccadsccesvoce 16
1980 Minn.Sess.Law.Serv. ch.589 § 19 (West)
(to be codified as Minn.Stat. §257.69) ............005. 16
Miss.Code Ann. §93-9-25 (1972)... ... cece eee e cece 17
Nev. Rev.Stat. $56.020 (1979)... .cvcccccresccccvsccces 17

N.H.Rev.Stat.Ann. § 522.3 (1974) ....... cee eeeee ee eens 16

(x)

N.Y.Fam.Ct.Act §532 (McKinney Supp. 1976-79) ....... 16
ee | ee ee ae 1]
N.C.Gen.Stat. §8-50.1 (Supp. 1979)............0.cc0 eee 16
N.D. Cent. Code § 14-17-15 (Supp. 1977) ............... 16
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 3111.16 (Baldwin 1976).......... 17
Ov. Rev, Bint 6209. 256. C107 EP ocd te ca ciclo ee kk 16
42 Pa. Cons, Stat. Ann. §6132 (Purdon Supp. 1980)...... 16
R.I. Gen. Laws § 15-8-13 (Supp. 1980)...............05. 17
ck | | RNAI gi ag ee a 28
Tenn.Code Ann. § 24-716 (Supp. 1979) .............000. 17
Tex.Fam.Code Ann. § 13.03 (Vernon Supp. 1980)........ 16
BP Mas eT MMOD oe ois ok oo 55 dbbc vice cede: 2
oR a er 28,37
Utah Code Ann. § 78-25-23 (1977) .. 00... cece cece acces 16
Va. Code §20-61.2 (Supp: 1980) ..........cccccccccsccs 17
Wash.Rev.Code Ann. § 26.26.140 (Supp. 1980-81)....... 17
Wis.Stat.Ann. §52.36 (West Supp. 1980-81).......... 17,23
bo eS oe 17
OTHER AUTHORITIES

Arther & Reid, Utilizing the Lie Detector Technique to
Determine the Truth in Disputed Paternity Cases, 45

J. Crim.L., Crimonology & Police Sci. 213 (1954)...... 15
The Book of the General Laws for the People Within the

Jurisdiction of Connecticut (1673) ...........6. ceccuee 33
GD CPM Gas ehe IPT ons vc cccccceccccccccccvecces 28
120 Cong.Rec. 40321 (1974). .......cccccccccccccccccce 37

H.R. 17045, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974)...... bekecrsueas 37

(xi)

H.R. Rep. No. 93-1643, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974),
reprinted in [1974] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.
I Rndarsarie Varin k aad s eeu san hoicare acd eve 37

Interview with Herbert Silver, M.D., Director of Blood
Bank and Immunohematology, Hartford Hospital, in Hartford,
Connectiont (October 27, 1960) oo. c ic iecccsccdctecess 4

ee NO EE, ss i vic 64 his os b bende Melon a kbce es 17

Krause, Joint AMA-ABA Guidelines: Present Status
of Serological Testing in Problems of Disputed Parentage,
Pe, ED CUTE occ decays cdma eo 0 cae eke 12

Larson, Blood Test Exclusion Procedures in Paternity
Litigation: The Uniform Acts and Beyond, 13 J.Fam.L. 713

| SEE ORR ere BG Sree Pe LE tT AE at On EO OE I Me SCR 13
L. Lattes, Individuality of the Blood in Biology and in
Clinical and Forensic Medicine, (rev. ed. 1932)........ 10

Letter from Thomas W. McKean, Director, Indiana
Child Support Division, Department of Public Welfare
to IV-D Deputy Prosecuting Attorneys (December 4, 1979)
(unpublished letter on file in the office of appellant’s

MLE ME POPE Slee, ERE EC ark ie ep Ora 17
McCormick’s Law of Evidence (2d ed. 1972)............. 12
Oaks, Ethics, Morality, and Professional Responsibility,

ESTE dees Ba BON OPE CAFE) hve desc vnndacscceccve 22
229 Parl. Deb. H.L. (5th Ser.) 1090 (1971) (remarks

rs sd tus wealbe'e Vein bis 15
S. Schatkin, Disputed Paternity Proceedings

SOs MS BRM Cvrecass the oy eae Veh ekcaus tee kt 10,11,14
Schiff, The Medico Legal Significance of Blood Groups,

BET See EM Fal CAGES) ow cic cicdiaccoscsice GQ. 10,14

S. Rep. No. 93-1356, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974),
reprinted in |1974] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 8133. 37

P. Speiser & F. Smekal, Karl Landsteiner (1975)......... 10

(xii)

Sussman, Blood Grouping Tests, 40 Am.J. Clinical
Pubeinty SE GR esc ca ciscibi vcs sh.

Terasaki, Resolution by HLA Testing of 1000 Paternity

Cases Not Excluded by ABO Testing, 16 J.Fam.L.
543 (1978)

A. Weiner, Blood Groups and Transfusion (3d ed. 194)...

Te ne Oe MOE Bi 810) te Win ae ee eke ee iia ee

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

No. 79-6779
WALTER LITTLE,
Appellant,
Vv.
GLORIA STREATER,
Appellee.

ee }

ON APPEAL FROM THE APPELLATE SESSION
OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF CONNECTICUT

BRIEF FOR APPELLANT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Appellate Session of the Superior
Court of Connecticut (J.A. 25) is unreported. The order of
the Supreme Court of Connecticut denying certification is
reported at 180 Conn. 756, 414 A.2d 199 (1980). No
opinions were filed by the Superior Court of Connecticut at
the trial level.

5

JURIS DICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court rests upon 28 U.S.C. § 1257
(2) (1976), the validity of Conn.Gen.Stat. § 46b-168
(1979) having been drawn into question on the ground of its
being repugnant to the Constitution of the United States as
applied in this case and the decision of the Appellate Session
of the Superior Court of Connecticut being in favor of its
validity.

The judgment of the Appellate Session of the Superior
Court of Connecticut was entered on April 1, 1980. A
Notice of Appeal to this Court, a copy of which appears at
p.4a of the Appendix to the Jurisdictional Statement, was
duly filed in the Appellate Session of the Superior Court on
June 3, 1980. The case was docketed in this Court and a
Jurisdictional Statement filed on June 16, 1980. This Court
noted probable jurisdiction on October 6, 1980. (J.A. 27.)

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Due Process and Equal Protection
Clauses of Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States. That section provides, in
relevant part, that:

[Nor shall any State deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor

deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

This case also involves Conn.Gen.Stat. § 46b-168
(1979). That statute provides that:

In any proceeding in which a question of paternity is an
issue, the court, on motion of any party, may order the

mother, her child and the putative father or the husband
of the mother to submit to one or more blood grouping
tests, to be made by a qualified physician or other
qualified person, designated by the court, to determine
‘whether or not the putative father or the husband of the
mother can be excluded as being the father of the child.
The results of such tests shall be admissible in evidence
only in cases where such results establish definite
exclusion of the putative father or such husband as such
father. The costs of making such tests shall be chargea-
ble against the party making the motion.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On May 21, 1975, Gloria Streater, the appellee, gave
birth to a female child, Kenyatta Chantel Streater. The sole
factual issue in this case is whether Walter Little, the
appellant, is Kenyatta’s biological father.

Appellee was, at the time of Kenyatta’s birth, a recipient
of public assistance. As a requirement of continuing eligi-
bility for such assistance, she was compelled by Conn.Gen.
Stat. §46b-169 (1979) to disclose the name of Kenyatta’s
putative father to the Connecticut Department of Social
Services.' The name she gave to a Department repre-
sentative was Walter Little. (J.A. 14.)? The Department of
Social Services then retained an attorney to bring a paternity
action against appellant. (J.A. 10.)°

'The Connecticut Department of Social Services has since been
renamed the Department of Income Maintenance. Conn.Gen.Stat.
§17-1b (1979),

*Kenyatta Streater’s Birth Certificate omits all information con-
cerning the identity of her father. (R. 30.)

The State of Connecticut expended $332.20 in court costs and

attorney's fees in suing appellant, an amount later taxed to appellant as
costs. (J.A. 20.) }

On July 11, 1977, appellee signed a petition seeking a
judgment that Walter Little was the father of her child. (J.A.
3.) The action was filed in what was then termed the Court of
Common Pleas, Geographical Area No. 6, in New Haven,
Connecticut.* Walter Little was, at the time, incarcerated in
the Connecticut Correctional Institution, Enfield. (J.A. 18.)

As discussed at pp. 10-11, infra, modern medical tech-
nology has developed standard blood grouping tests that
scientifically and conclusively exonerate more than 90% of
all falsely accused defendants in paternity proceedings.
These tests were readily available in Connecticut at the time
this action was instituted at a cost of $250.5 Appellant,
however, was completely without assets and had no income
other than a nominal prison stipend. (J.A. 7.) His incarcera-
tion, of course, precluded any chance that he would be able
to earn the laboratory fee. He was, in a word, indigent.* He
consequently filed a Motion For Blood Grouping Test In
Forma Pauperis on November 28,'1977. The Motion
recited the facts of his indigency and requested a court order
requiring appellee and her child to submit to a blood
grouping test and a further order that the cost of such test be
paid by the State of Connecticut. (J.A. 5.) On December 5,
1977, however, this Motion was denied by the court to the
extent that it requested that the cost of such tests be paid by
the State. (J.A. 8.)

‘The Court of Common Pleas was merged with the Superior Court of
Connecticut on July 1, 1978, while this case was awaiting trial.
Conn.Gen.Stat, §51-164s (1979).

‘Interview with Herbert Silver, M.D., Director of Blood Bank and
Immunohematology, Hartford Hospital, in Hartford, Connecticut
(October 22, 1980). The cost of the test has recently been increased to
$460. Id.

‘The trial court later specifically found appellant to be indigent. (J.A.
23.)

The paternity action itself was tried before the court’ on
September 28, 1978. Appellant was still incarcerated at the
time of trial and had been unable to afford a blood grouping
test. Consequently, no such test was ever taken. (J.A. 12.)
After the trial, on October 4, 1978, the court entered an
order finding that appellant was the father of the child in
question. (J.A. 2.)®

At a hearing in damages on October 16, 1978, the court
found appellant liable for a total of $6,974.48 for the
maintenance and support of the child in question through
October 31, 1978, and attorney’s fees. (J.A. 20.) Under
Connecticut law, appellant will be additionally obligated to
provide support for the child in question for the duration of
her minority. Conn.Gen.Stat. §46b-215(a) (1979). The
sole recipient of this judgment is the Connecticut Depart-
ment of Finance and Control. (J.A. 21.)

Appellant appealed on the issue of whether the trial court
erred in denying his Motion that the cost of a blood grouping
test be paid by the State. On February 29, 1980, the
Appellate Session of the Superior Court found no error. The
Supreme Court of Connecticut denied certification on April
1, 1980.

"Defendants in paternity proceedings in Connecticut, irrespective of
means, may obtain jury trials only upon payment of a $45 fee.
Conn.Gen.Stat. § 52-258 (1979). See Robertson v. Apuzzo, 170 Conn.
367, 365 A.2d 824, cert. denied, 429 U.S. 852 (1976).

®Appellant admitted at the trial to a single act of intercourse with
appellee at about the time Kenyatta Streater was conceived (J.A. 17),
but presented testimony that appellee had also been intimate with a
number of other men at the same time. Although appellee admitted «
history of intimacy with one of appellant’s witnesses, she denied that she
had had sexual relations with any man other than appellant at the time of
conception. (Untranscribed portion of September 28, 1978, testimony.)
The trial judge evidently considered appellee to be the more credible
witness.

6

HOW THE CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTION
WAS RAISED AND DECIDED BELOW

At the earliest stage of the proceedings below, appellant
raised the claim, in his Motion For Blood Grouping Test In
Forma Pauperis, that the denial of an opportunity to obtain a
blood grouping test because of his indigency “would deprive
him of property without due process of law and deny to him
the equal protection of the laws in violation of the Fourteenth
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States.” (J.A.
5.) At this time, Conn.Gen.Stat. § 46b-168 (1979) had not
been construed as requiring the costs of blood grouping tests
to be charged to the party moving for the tests irrespective of
his means. Since the statute was not considered to be
controlling by the trial court or either of the parties? there was
no occasion at the trial level to drawits validity into question.
The trial court’s denial of appellant’s Motion that the costs of
blood grouping tests be paid by the State, however, plainly
constituted a rejection of his constitutional claims. '°

Appellant appealed to the Appellate Session of the
Superior Court of Connecticut, reiterating his constitutional
claims in his Assignment of Errors. While the instant case
was on appeal, however, the Appellate Session rendered its
decision in Ferro v. Morgan, 35 Conn. Supp. 679, 406 A.2d
873, cert. denied, 177 Conn. 753, 399 A.2d 526 (1979). In
Ferro, the Appellate Session, for the first time, construed
Conn.Gen.Stat. § 46b-168(1979) as mandating that the

*Conn.Gen. Stat. § 46b-168 (1 979) was not mentioned by the court or

either party during the hearing on appellant’s Motion. Transcript of
December 5, 1977.

‘In making its post-trial F indings, the trial court expressly rejected
appellant’s constitutional claims. (J.A. 23.)

costs of blood grouping tests be charged to the party moving
for such tests, irrespective of his means, and upheld the
Constitutionality of this newly enunciated statutory re-
quirement.

The Appellate Session considered appellant’s constitu-
tional claims in the instant case in light of its intervening
decision in Ferro v. Morgan. It explicitly considered these
claims as drawing the constitutionality of $46b-168 into
question and expressly concluded that the statute does not
violate the constitutional rights of indigent putative fathers.
(J.A. 25.) The Supreme Court of Connecticut denied
certification.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
I.

Modern blood grouping tests conclusively exonerate more
than 90% of all falsely accused defendants in paternity
proceedings. Conn.Gen.Stat. § 46b-168 (1979), which de-
nies access to such tests to all defendants unable to pay for
them, violates the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment. Its denial of highly probative evidence solely
on the basis of indigency is inconsistent with this Court’s
repeated concern for accuracy in the judicial process. A
hearing characterized by such a denial is, moreover, not
constitutionally meaningful where the person denied is an
involuntary litigant; where he faces potential criminal con-
sequences if he loses; where the State, with all its power and
resources, is the real party haling him into court; where his
indigence is caused by his incarceration by that very State;
where a state evidentiary rule renders his testimony legally

—

8

insufficient to overcome the plaintiff's testimony, thus
requiring him to produce other evidence if he is to prevail;
and where the thing at issue is not something entirely
reducible to monetary terms, but the paternity of a child.

Il.

Connecticut’s blood test rule creates two classes of
involuntary litigants; those with assets, who can purchase
swift, scientific, and reliable justice; and those without
assets, who are thrust into swearing contests in which the
pans of justice are loaded against ihem. Because there is no
rational relationship between the ability to afford a labora-
tory fee and paternity or nonpaternity, and because the
litigation at issue is fraught with criminal implications and
has a direct impact on a family relationship, the egregious
disparity in the quality of justice afforded these two classes of
involuntary litigants denies indigent putative fathers the
equal protection of the laws.

ARGUMENT

I. THE DENIAL OF BLOOD GROUPING
TESTS TO A DEFENDANT IN A PA-
TERNITY PROCEEDING SOLELY BE-
CAUSE OF HIS INDIGENCY VIOLATES
THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE.

The novelty of the constitutional issue presented by this
case should not obscure the palpable injustice that the
appellant has suffered. The State of Connecticut caused
Walter Little to be summoned into court where he was

required to prove that he was not the biological father of
Kenyatta Streater.'’ He had a single realistic means of
defending himself. A standard laboratory test, that scien-
tifically and conclusively exonerates more than 90% of all
falsely accused putative fathers, was readily available. The
test, however, cost $250, and Walter Little had nothing. He
was, moreover, precluded from raising this modest fee
because he was incarcerated by the very State that was
haling him into court. His request that the State pay for the
test was denied. The test remained tantalizingly out of reach.
The court thereafter pronounced him a parent, with all of the
responsibilities that that status entails, and pronounced
Kenyatta Streater the daughter of a criminal, solely on the
basis of conflicting testimonial evidence. This procedure did
not comport with the fundamental requirements of the
Fourteenth Amendment.

A. The unique importance of blood grouping tests
in paternity litigation.

The fundamental unfairness involved in the denial of
blood grouping tests to an indigent putative father results
from the unique importance of those tests in paternity
litigation and from the special characteristics of paternity
proceedings that distinguish them from garden variety civil
actions. A proper appreciation of the importance of blood
tests requirés a brief description of their nature and history.

Inherited characteristics have doubless been used in the
determination of paternity since ancient times, and judicial
references to the genetic knowledge of the day date back

\1\Appellant’s evidentiary burden is discussed at pp. 30-32, infra.

10

almost two centuries. See Commissioners of Almshouse v.
Whistelo, 3 Wheeler’s Crim. Cas. 194, 235 (N.Y. Gen.
Sess. 1808). The discovery of human blood groups by Karl
Landsteiner in Vienna at the beginning of this century, for
which he received the 1930 Nobel Prize for Medicine, ulti-
mately made it possible to scientifically exonerate innocent
putative fathers on a wholesale basis.

Landsteiner’s announcement in 1901 that human blood
could be classified into three distinct groups (a fourth group
was discovered in 1902) explained the hitherto unintelligible
disasters that had previously resulted from attempted blood
transfusions. Although it did not occur to Landsteiner at the
time that serological propeties might be inherited, their
application to paternity problems was recognized by two of
his German colleagues in 1911. The first theory of heredity
of the classical blood groups was mathematically revised in
1924. It thus became possible to scientifically prove that a
given man could not possibly be the father of a given child.
Thereafter, nothing stood in the way of applying blood tests
in paternity actions. P. Speiser & F. Smekal, Karl
Landsteiner, 91-93 (1975).

Courts in Europe were quick to utilize this opportunity to
scientifically exclude innocent putative fathers. Blood tests
were used in more than 5000 legal actions in Germany alone
between 1924 and 1929. Schiff, The Medico Legal Sig-
nificance of Blood Groups, 217 The Lancet 921, 921-22
(1929). Courts in Austria, Scandinavia, and Italy soon
followed. L. Lattes, Individuality of the Blood in Biology
and in Clinical and Forensic Medicine 253-54 (rev. ed.
1932).

Courts in this country responded somewhat more slowly.
Although a putative father was exonerated by a blood test in
Commonwealth v. Zammarelli, 17 Pa. D.&C. 229 (1931),

1]

a well-reasoned New York decision ordering such a test was
reversed on appeal. Beuschel v. Manowitz, 151 Misc. 899,
271 N.Y.S. 277, rev'd per curiam, 241 App. Div. 888, 272
N.Y.S. 165, motion for leave to appeal denied, 265 N.Y.
509, 193 N.E. 295 (1934). The New York Legislature,
however, quickly passed a series of iaws authorizing courts
to order blood grouping tests in a variety of legal disputes,
1935 N.Y. Laws chs. 196-98, and an irreversible evi-
dentiary trend had begun. The Connecticut courts were,
ironically, among the first to recognize the evidential value of
blood tests in paternity cases. See, Domonkos ex rel.
Herman v. Rotundo, 4 Conn. Supp. 29 (C.P. 1936). In
1936, the Supreme Court of South Dakota became the first
state court of highest jurisdiction to acknowledge the useful-
ness of blood tests in the judicial truthseeking function. State
v. Damm, 64 S.D. 309, 266 N.W. 667 (1936).

Judicial acceptance of the reliability of blood grouping
tests in excluding the paternity of innocent putative fathers is
now, for all practical purposes, complete and universal. The
most prolific commentator on paternity litigation has noted:

As far as the accuracy, reliability, dependability -
even infallibility - of the test are concerned, there is no
longer any controversy. The result of the test is
universally accepted by distinguished scientific and
medical authority. There is, in fact, no living authority
of repute, medical or legal, who may be cited ad-
versely. ...

[T]here is now. . .practically universal and ananimous

judicial willingness to give decisive and controlling
evidentiary weight to a blood test exclusion of paternity.

1 S. Schatkin, Disputed Paternity Proceedings §9.13 at 9-
38-40 (rev. ed. 1979).

As judicial acceptance of blood grouping tests has grown,
the tests themselves have become capable of exonerating a

12

steadily increasing percentage of innocent putative fathers. A
few years ago a falsely accused man had only a 50-55%
chance of scientifically proving his nonpaternity. See State y.
Fowler, 277 N.C. 305, 308, 177 S.E. 2d 385, 387 (1970);
McCormick’s Law of Evidence §211 at 519 (2ded. 1972),
Those statistics are now ancient history. There hias, in recent
years, been a scientific “revolution” in the use of blood group
Systems in cases of disputed paternity as a result of the
introduction of the HLA (for human, leukocyte, antigen)
system of testing. Terasaki, Resolution by HLA Testing of
1000 Paternity Cases Not Excluded by ABO Testing, 16
J.Fam.L. 543 (1978).

Whereas previous tests were based on red blood cell
groupings, the HLA test is based on tissue typing of the white
blood cells. See Cramer v. Morrison, 88 Cal. App. 3d 873,
877-78, 153 Cal.Rpotr. 865. 867 (1979) (discussing Dr.
Terasaki’s trial testimony). It is readily available, reasonably
inexpensive, and dramatically effective. It conclusively ex-
cludes 91% of falsely accused putative fathers, in the case of
blacks," and 93% in the case of whites. Krause, Joint AMA-
ABA Guidelines: Present Status of Serological Testing in
Problems of Disputed Parentage, 10 Fam.L.Q. 247, 258
Table 3 (1976). Accord, Hepfel v. Bashaw, 279 N.W. 2d
342, 347 (Minn. 1979): State ex rel. Ortloffv. Hanson, 277
N.W.2d 205, 207 (Minn. 1979); Lascaris v. Lardeo, 100
Misc. 2d 220, 222, 417 N.YS. 2d665, 666 (1979). This
effectiveness is sufficiently great to distinguish modern blood

"The Appellate Session of the Superior Court of Connecticut has
grounded its recent blood test decisions on this badly outdated factual
assumption. Ferro v. Morgan, 35 Conn. Supp. 679, 685, 406 A.2d 873.
877, cert. denied, 177 Conn. 753, 399 A.2d 526 (1979),

Both of the named parties in the instant case are black.

13

grouping tests from virtually all other conceivable items of
potentially exculpatory evidence and to make the denial of
those tests to indigent putative fathers an injustice of
constitutional proportions.

The availability of this scientific evidence is crucial in
paternity litigation because testimonial evidence in such
proceedings is inherently susceptible to doubt. In a series of
recent cases involving discriminations against illegitimate
children, this Court has repeatedly noted the peculiar dif-
ficulties involved in proving the paternity of such children.
Parham v. Hughes, 441 U.S. 347, 355 (1979) (plurality
opinion); id. at 360 (Powell, J. concurring); Lalli v. Lalli,
439 U.S. 259, 268-69 (1978) (plurality opinion); Trimble v.
Gordon, 430 U.S. 762, 772 (1977); Gomez v. Perez, 409
U.S. 535, 538 (1973). See Caban v. Mohammed, 441 U.S.
380, 405 (1979) (Stevens, J. dissenting); Stanley v. Illinois,
405 U.S. 645, 665 (1972) (Burger, C.J. dissenting). Perhaps
the best judicial expression of these difficulties of proof was
written by Justice Brennan when he sat on the Appellate
Division of the New Jersey Superior Court:

[I]n the field of contested paternity. . .the truth is so
often obscured because social pressures create a con-
spiracy of silence or, worse, induce deliberate falsity.

The value of blood tests as a wholesome aid in the

quest for truth in the administration of justice in these
matters cannot be gainsaid in this day.

Cortese v. Cortese, 10 N.J. Super. 152, 156, 76 A.2d Tat,
719 (1950).

Testimony from accurate or reliable eye-witnesses is rarely
available in paternity cases since the sexual activities at issue
“usually take place in intimate and private surroundings, and
the self-serving testimony of a party is of questionable
reliability.” Larson, Blood Test Exclusion Procedures in

14

Paternity Litigation: The Uniform Acts and Beyond, 13
J.Fam.L. 713, 713 (1974). The peculiar unreliability of
testimonial evidence in paternity actions is a particularly
grave matter because every scientific Study done on the
matter indicates that a very large number of defendants in
such proceedings have been falsely accused.

The advent of blood grouping tests has made it possible to
measure the percentage of innocent putative fathers with
some precision In 5500 paternity actions litigated in Europe
in the 1920’s blood tests exonerated defendants in 8% of the
cases. Since the blood tests of that day were incapable of
excluding more than 16% of all innocent putative fathers, the
first scientific commentator observed that “roughly every
second man had been denounced unjustly.” Schiff, The
Medico legal Significance of Blood Groups, 217 The Lancet
921, 922 (1929) (emphasis added). A later study of 6655
paternity cases in several European countries also concluded
that “[H]alf of the defendants in these cases were falsely
accused.” A. Weiner, Blood Groups and T\ ransfusion 383
(3d ed. 1943). Studies in this country have reached similar
conclusions. One survey of 1000 disputed paternity cases in
New York City in which blood tests were used showed that
39.6% of men denying paternity were falsely accused.
Sussman, Blood Grouping Tests, 40 Am.J.Clinical
Pathology 38,38 (1963)."* For the results of other blood test
Studies yielding similar statistical results see 1 S. Schatkin.

'‘Perhaps even more disturbing, a companion Study demonstrated that
18% of paternity defendants who admitted paternity “were not the

i)

Disputed Paternity Proceedings, § §9.05-9.09 at 9-12-26
(rev. ed. 1979)."°

Scientific evidence is typically superior to testimonial
evidence for a number of obvious reasons. But the gulf that
yawns between modern blood test evidence on the one hand
and the self-serving testimony of parties on the other in
paternity litigation is vast beyond compare. We do not
suggest, of course, that it is impossible for a factfinder in a
paternity case to arrive at the correct result by hearing
testimony. In some cases it will be obvious who is telling the
truth and who is not; in others the correct result may be
arrived at by what is more or less a guess. We do suggest,
however, that false testimony and innocent defendants are
commonplace in paternity proceedings and that, in the
absence of blood test evidence, it is inevitable that innocent
men will be convicted with an intolerable regularity.

The denial of this crucial evidence to indigent defendants
typically deprives them of the only persuasive evidence they
could possibly present in court, and thereby renders the

'SLie detector studies have yielded similar results. A six year study of
disputed paternity cases in Chicago, in which the parties submitted to
polygraph tests following their courtroom testimony, showed that ‘93
percent of the tested parties lied in some respect when they testified in
court as to their sexual relationship,”’ and that in over 47% of the cases
the complainant ‘’was reported lying when she denied having intercourse
with anyone else but the defendant during the conception period. In the
great majority of cases the lying mother confessed to the lie-detector
examiner that she had lied in court.”’ Arther & Reid, Utilizing the Lie
Detector Technique to Determine the Truth in Disputed Paternity
Cases, 45 J.Crim.L., Criminology & Police Sci. 213,215, 217 (1954).

Such statistical evidence corroborates the frequently cited remarks of
Lord Merthyr in the House of Lords. “In my experience of these cases,
apart from one other class - namely, fish-poaching cases - there is no
class of case in which there is a greater degree of perjury in the courts.”
229 Parl.Deb.H.L. (Sth ser.) 1090 (1961).

16

resulting judgmental process infinitely more Capricious.
These factual considerations, combined with the distinctive
legal characteristics of paternity proceedings discussed infra,
bring the injustice worked upon Walter Little to the heart of
the historic concerns of the Fourteenth Amendment.

B. The Requirements of the Due Process Clause.

Nothing is more remarkable in this case than the almost
total isolation of Connecticut law. The only State other than
Connecticut that requires all defendants in paternity pro-
ceedings, irrespective of means, to pay for blood grouping
tests in advance of trial or otherwise do without such evidence
altogether is North Carolina.'* The vast majority of Ameri-
can jurisdictions, either expressly or by implication, provide
some mechanism giving indigent putative fathers access to
blood tests.'’ The constitutional ruling of the court below in

See N.C.Gen.Stat. §8-50.1 (Supp. 1979).

‘Twenty-five states and the District of Columbia expressly allow the
costs of such tests to be charged to the State, county, municipality, or a
public agency. Of these, nineteen states and the District of Columbia do
so by statute. Ala. Code tit. 26 § 12-5 (1 977); Ark. Stat.Ann. § 34-705. 1
(1962); Cal. Evid. Code §894 (Deering 1966), see B. v. Superior
Court, 86 Cal. App. 3d 1006, 150 Cal.Rptr. 586 (1978);
Haw.Rev.Stat. §584-16 (1976); Idaho Code §7-1117 (1979); Ill.
Rev. Stat. ch.106 3/4 §3 (Supp. 1980-81); Kan. Stat. § 23-132 (1974)
(the fees are subsequently taxed as costs); La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §9:397.1
(West Supp. 1980); Md. Ann. Code art. 16 §66G (Supp. 1980); Mich.
Stat. Ann. § 25.496(c) (1974); 1980 Minn. Sess. Law Serv. ch. 589§ 19
(West) (to be codified as Minn. Stat. § 257.69); N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§522.3 (1974); N.Y. Fam. Ct. Act § 532 (McKinney Supp. 1976-79),
see People ex rel. Van Epps v. Doherty, 261 App. Div. 86,24N.Y.S. 2d
821 (1941); N.D. Cent. Code § 14-17-15 (Supp. 1977); Or. Rev. Stat.
§ 109.256 (1979); 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6132 (Purdon Supp.
1980); Tex. Fam. Code Ann. § 13.03 (Vernon Supp. 1980) (ifthe Texas
Department of Human Resources “‘is a party of the suit’’); Utah Code

(continued)

17

(Jeotnote continued from preceding page)

Ann. §78-25-23 (1977); Wis. Stat. Ann. §52.36 (2) (West Supp.
1980-81) (the fees are subsequently taxes as costs); 16 D.C. Code
§ 2343 (1973). The Supreme Courts of Colorado, Massachusetts, and
West Virginia have held payment by the State to be constitutionally
required. Franklin v. District Court, 194 Colo. 189, 571 P.2d 1072
(1977), commonwealth v. Possehl, 355 Mass. 575, 246 N.E.2d 667
(1969); State ex rel. Graves v. Daugherty, 266 S.E.2d 142 (W.Va.
1980). Such tests are judicially charged to the State in New Jersey by the
inherent power of the courts in that State. Smith v. Walker, 138
N.J.Super. 187, 350 A.2d 319 (1975). Such tests are charged to the
State in Kentucky by virtue of Ky.Op. Att’y Gen. 65-391. In Indiana, it
is the policy of the Department of Public Welfare to pay for blood tests
where the prosecuting attorney requests such a test or where the parties
stipulate that the test results will be admitted into evidence. Letter from
Thomas W. McKean, Director, Indiana Child Support Division,
Department of Public Welfare to IV-D Deputy Prosecuting Attorneys
(December 4, 1979) (unpublished letter on file in the office of appellant’s
attorney).

In addition, the statutes of five states give the courts of those states
unlimited power to determine how and by whom such costs shall be paid.
Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 19§ 279 (Supp. 1980-81); Miss. Code Ann. § 93-9-
25 (1972); Nev. Rev. Stat. §56. 020 (1979); Ohio Rev. Code Ann.
§3111.16 (Baldwin 1976); R.I. Gen. Laws § 15-8-13 (Supp. 1980).
These statutes clearly provide local courts with the necessary authority
to order that such costs be paid by the state where one or both of the
parties are indigent. Ohio courts have not, however, been in agreement
on whether that state should be charged in cases involving indigent
defendants. Compare Walker v. Stokes, 45 Ohio App.2d 275, 344
N.E.2d 159 (1975) (holding such payment to be constitutionally
required) with Bigsby v. Bates, 59 Ohio Misc. 51, 391 N.E.2d 1384
(C.P. 1978) (holding free blood tests not required in light of Walker v.
Stokes, 54 Ohio App.2d 119, 375 N.E.2d 1258 (1977) (stripping state
of its power to jail for nonsupport).

Somewhat more ambiguously, the statutes of five more states simply
provide that local courts “may” in their discretion, order such costs to
be paid by the parties. Ga. Code § 74-311 (Supp. 1980); Tenn. Code
Ann. § 24-716 (Supp. 1979); Va. Code § 20-61.2 (Supp. 1980); Wash.
Rev. Code Ann. §26.26.140 (Supp. 1980-81); Wyo. Stat. § 14-2-114
(1978). These statutes appear to provide local courts with at least some
authority to charge such costs to the state where one or both of the parties
are indigent.

18

the instant case is no less idiosyncratic. Every state appellate
court outside of Connecticut that has considered the issue has
concluded that putative fathers may not constitutionally be
denied access to blood tests on the basis of indigency.
Franklin v. District Court, 194 Colo. 189, 571 P.2d 1072
(1977); Commonwealth v. Possehl, 355 Mass. 575, 246
N.E.2d 667 (1969); Walker v. Stokes, 45 Ohio App. 2d 275,
344 N.E.2d 159 (1975); State ex rel. Graves v. Daugherty,
266 S.E 2d 142 (W.Va. 1980).'* A consideration of the

(footnote continued from preceding page)

Although the relevant statutes in Alaska are unclear, courts in that
State would, in all probability, order such payment by virtue of Reynolds
v. Kimmons, 569 P.2d 799 (Alas. 1977) (holding that indigent putative
fathers have a due process right to counse! where the complainant is
represented by the State). In Nebraska, a District Court judge ordered
the costs of blood tests to be paid from public funds in an illegitimacy
case remanded by the Supreme Court of Nebraska in Ford vy. Ford, 191
Neb. 548, 216 N.W.2d 176 (1974). Ford v. Ford, Doc. 655, No. 275
(Dist. Ct. Douglas Cty. Neb. Feb. 21, 1975). The laws of the remaining
eleven States (Arizona, Delaware, Florida, lowa, Missouri, Montana.
New Mexico, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, and Vermont)
are unclear.

'8A Family Court judge in New York has also reached this conclusion
in a particularly well-reasoned opinion. Lascaris v. Lardeo, 100
Misc.2d 220, 417 N.Y.S. 2d 665 (Fam.Ct. 1979). See Reynolds vy.
Kimmons, 569 P.2d 779 (Alas. 1977), and G. v. R., 95 Misc. 2d 273,
407 N.Y.S. 2d 414 (Fam. Ct. 1978) (giving indigent putative fathers the
constitutional right to counsel). Cf M. ex rel. T. v. S., 169 N.J. Super.
209, 404 A.2d 653 (1979); Lurry v. Mills, 152 N.J. Super. 127, 377
A.2d 804 (1977); Smith v. Walker, 138 N.J. Super. 187, 350 A.2d 319
(1975) (giving indigent putative fathers the right to a blood test by virtue
of the inherent powers of the New Jersey courts but drawing extensively
on constitutional precedent and reasoning).

This single exception to this unbroken line of cases in other states is
Bigsby v. Bates, 59 Ohio Misc. 51, 391 N.E.2d 1384 (C.P. 1978),
holding that free blood tests are not required in Ohio in light of Walker v.
Stokes, 54 Ohio App. 2d 119, 375 N.E. 2d 1258 ( 1977) (stripping Ohio
of its power to jail for non-support). Because Bigsby is merely a
memorandum of a single trial judge its authority is limited even in Ohio.
It plainly has no relevance to states such as Connecticut which retain full
power to jail for nonsupport. See Conn.Gen.Stat. § § 46b-215, 53-304
(1979),

19

fundamental requirements of the Due Process Clause and of
the distinctive legal characteristics of paternity proceedings,
makes it clear that the profound isolation of Connecticut law
on this issue is eminently deserved.

We start with the proposition that the fact that a man is
haled into court as a civil, as distinct from a criminal,
defendant does not wholly strip him of basic constitutional
protections. He has an indubitable right to be heard. Daniel
Webster argued in the Dartmouth College case that “the law
of the land” is “‘a law which hears before it condemns; which
proceeds upon inquiry, and renders judgment only after
trial.” Trustees of Dartmouth College v. Woodward, 17
U.S. (4 Wheat.) 518, 581 (1819). This Court noted well
before the Civil War that in our jurisprudence “‘no man shall
be condemned in his person or property without... an
opportunity to make his defense,” Boswell’s Lessee v, Otis,
50 U.S. (9 How.) 336, 350 (1850), and repeated this
observation a number of times before finally giving it
constitutional significance in Hovey v. Elliott, 167 U.S. 409,
45,444 (1897). See Windsor v. Mc Veigh, 93 U.S. 274, 277
(1876); Baldwin v. Hale, 68 U.S. (1 Wall.) 223, 233 (1864);
Nations v. Johnson, 65 U.S. (24 How.) 195, 203 (1861).

This fundamental theme has continually. recurred in this
century.'? This Court stated in Mullane v. Central Hanover
Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 313564950), that:

Many controversies have raged about the cryptic and
abstract words of the Due Process Clause but there can
be no doubt that at a minimum they require that
deprivation of life, liberty or property by adjudication be
preceded by notice and opportunity for hearing ap-
propriate to the nature of the case.

''See Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 US. 371, 377-78 n.3 (1971).

In a perhaps even more celebrated statement, this Court
declared in Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371, 377
(1971), a case involving civil plaintiffs, that ‘‘[D]ue process
requires, at a minimum, that absent a countervailing state
interest of overriding significance, persons forced to settle
their claims of right and duty through the judicial process
must be given a meaningful opportunity to be heard.”

Boddie was, of course, concerned with a class of litigants
(in that case, would-be divorce plaintiffs) who were literally
excluded from the courtroom by a filing fee, just as the
defendants in Hovey, Windsor, and Baldwin had been totally
denied an opportunity to appear in cases involving their
property interests. Bui although the physical opportunity to
appear in the courtroom, without more, doubtless satisfies the
notice and hearing requirements of the Due Process Clause in
the typical civil case, it does not follow that such an
opportunity, in and of itself, necessarily satisfies those
requirements in every case. This Court has, by way of
analogy, never been satisfied with the mere assertion of
notice. Rather, it has assiduously scrutinized forms of notice
to ensure that such notice is meaningful. Mullane is a well-
known example of this scrutiny; other examples stretch back
to Nations and Boswell’s Lessee.

This Coutt’s pronouncements in Mullane and Boddie
similarly indicate that the requirement of the Due Process
Clause that civil defendants be granted an opportunity to
appear has a qualitative aspect and is not in every case
satisfied by the mere form of a hearing. Mullane’s language, if
not its holding, indicates that there must be an “‘opportunity
for hearing appropriate to the nature of the case,” 339 U.S. at
313 (empnasis added). Boddie emphatically states that there
must be a meaningful opportunity to be heard,” 401 U.S. at

21

377 (emphasis added). It is implicit in these pronouncements
that in limited circumstances, where the outcome of a
nominally civil action is particularly consequential, this court
has reserved the power to scrutinize the hearing given an
involuntary litigant to ensure that it is, in some fundamental
sense, meaningful. It is our contention that, if a defendant in a
paternity proceeding is, solely because of indigency, denied
an otherwise readily available laboratory test that con-
clusively exonerates more than 90% of all innocent de-
fendants, he has been denied a meaningful hearing in the
constitutional sense of that term.

The denial of a blood test under these circumstances is the
denial of a meaningful hearing in part because the resulting
suppression of such an overwhelmingly probative item of
evidence will inevitably “impede unacceptably the truth-
finding functions of judge and jury.” United States v. Payner,
100 S.Ct. 2439, 2445-46 (1980). Payner is only the most
recent example of this Court’s repeated concern for accuracy
in the judicial process. In a series of cases involving the fourth
Amendment tnis Court has given constitutional significance
to the jurisprudential notion that adjudications of fact should
be grounded *“‘on the basis of all the evidence which exposes
the truth.” Alderman vy. United States, 394 U.S. 165. 175
(1969). See Rakas v. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128, 137 (1978):
United States v. Ceccolini, 435 U.S. 268, 276 (1978): Stone
v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465, 490 (1976).

There is, thus, a “strong interest under any system of
justice of making available to the trier of fact all concededly
relevant and trustworthy evidence which either party seeks to
adduce.” Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433, 450 ( 1974),
This interest is in part philosophical. “The end of litigation is
justice. Knowledge of the truth is essential thereto.” Union

22

Pacific Railway v. Botsford, 141 U.S. 250, 258 (1891)
(Brewer, J. dissenting).2° There is also a more pragmatic
strain to this interest. If the courts of this country either
directly or indirectly suppress highly probative evidence and
proceed on the basis of infinitely less reliable evidence to
render factual adjudications the accuracy of which is open to
obvious doubt, what this Court has called “‘the moral force”’
of the law, 7 re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 364 (1970), will be
ineluctably diluted. Such a deflection of “the truthfinding
process. ..may well have the. . . effect of generating disrespect
for the law and the administration of justice.”’ Stone v. Powell,
. supra, 428 U.S. at 490-91.

These considerations have historically been at the heart of
judicial rulings concerning blood tests. The first appellate
decision affirming the reliability of blood tests declared that
“The primary function of the judiciary is the administration
of justice, and justice can never be rightly administered
unless truth be first ascertained as nearly as may be.”’ State
v. Damm, 64S.D. 309, 316, 266 N.W. 667,670 (1936). As
noted, supra, Justice Brennan as a state appellate judge
spoke of blood grouping tests as “‘a wholesome aid in the
quest for truth in the administration of justice.” Cortese v.
Cortese, 10N.J. Super. 152, 156,76 A.2d 717, 719 (1950).
It is particularly important that when this Court considered
the somewhat different blood tests at issue in Schmerber v.
California, 384 U.S. 757 (1966), and Breithaupt v. Abram,
352 U.S. 432 (1957), it upheld them in large part on these
grounds. Society, the Court stated in Breithaupt, has an
interest ‘‘in the scientific determination of intoxication. . . .

2’Our goals are truth and justice, and procedures are but means to
these ends.” Oaks, Ethics, Morality, and Professional Responsibility,
1975 B.Y.U. L.Rev. 591, 596 (1975).

23

And the more so since the test. . -may establish innocence,
thus affording protection against the treachery of judgment
based on one or more of the senses.” 352 U.S. at 439.

There are obvious and necessary limits on this Court’s
power to ensure that judicial proceedings are meaningful and
accurate in fact. The decisions of this Court cannot bestow
our society with the resources to provide, for example,
counsel and expert witnesses to uncounted numbers of civil
litigants. Such accounterments are, in any event, typically
marginally helpful rather than absolutely crucial to the
accurate adjudication of fact. The denial of readily available
blood tests to indigent putative fathers is, however, a quite
different matter. This denial is at once the deprivation of an
indispensible and irreplacable opportunity of exoneration
and an injustice readily correctible by this Court at an almost
pitifully modest cost to society.?! Justice Frankfurter sug-
gested a like distinction in the Griffin case:

Law addresses itself to actualities. . . Of course a
State need not equalize economic conditions. A man of
means may be able to afford the retention of an
expensive, able counsel not within reach of a poor
man’s purse. Those are contingencies of life which are
hardly within the power, let alone the duty, of a State to
correct, or cushion. But when a State deems it wise and
just that convictions be susceptible to review by an
appellate court, it cannot by force of its exactions draw a
line which precludes convicted indigent persons, for-
sooth erroneously convicted, from securing such a
review merely by disabling them from bringing to the

*!In this respect, it is important to note that a provision by the State of
blood tests to indigent putative fathers in advance of trial need not be a
gratuitous subsidy. The cost of the test could be taxed as costs to the
losing party. See Kan. Stat. §23-132 (1974): Wis. Stat. Ann.
§52.36(2) (West Supp. 1980-81).

7

on

24

notice of an appellate tribunal errors of the trial court
which would upset the conviction were practical op-
portunity for review not foreclosed.

Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S. 12, 23 (1956) (Frankfurter, J.
concurring). |

Similarly where a standardized, universally recognized
laboratory test that conclusively establishes nonpaternity in
more than 90% of all cases involving falsely accused
defendants is readily available, the State may not disable
indigent defendants, forsooth innocent, from bringing this
evidence to the notice of the trial court. Without this
evidence, the indigent defendant is placed in a swearing
contest”? with the plaintiff in which the judge?’ must, often
desperately, rely on his subjective instincts, rather than hard
scientific data, as to which witness is telling the truth. This
denial of evidence obviously robbed the hearing below of a
great deal of meaning. Had this not been a paternity action,
the hearing might well have remained constitutionally
meaningfui. But, in this case, considerations arising from the
unique legal character of paternity litigation and the cir-
cumstances of the defendant collectively require an un-
usually stringent standard of judicial review, which, if
exercised, must necessarily conclude that the denial of a
blood test made the proceedings below unmeaningful in a
constitutional sense.

First. This action involves the denial of an essential item
of evidence to a defendant. This Court has drawn a
constitutional distinction between the rights accorded per-
sons involuntarily ‘“ ‘haled into court’ by the State” and

221n Connecticut, moreover, this swearing contest is one that is heavily
biased in favor of the plaintiff. See pp. 30-32, infra.

23Not, in Connecticut, a jury. See n.7, supra.

25

voluntary litigants seeking to use rights as a sword rather
than a shielf. Ross v. Moffittt, 417 U.S. 600, 610-11 (1974).
Boddie v. Connecticut recognized that the principles of due
process enunciated by this Court over the years have
typically concerned the “rights of defendants compelled to
litigate their differences in the judicial forum.” 401 U.S. at
785. The truly novel feature of Boddie was its extension of
those rights to a class of civil plaintiffs on the basis of the
State’s monopoly of divorce adjudication. The appellant in
the instant case need not, of course, be analogized to a
defendant; he is a defendant.

This obvious fact serves to readily distinguish the instant
case trom United States v. Kras, 409 U.S. 434 (1973)
(refusing to waive filing fees to an indigent petitioner in
bankruptcy), and Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656 (1973)
(refusing to waive filing fees to an indigent wishing to appeal
a denial of welfare benefits). Ortwein and Kras were
grounded on “the existence of alternatives. . . to the Judicial
remedy” available to the litigants in those cases. Ortwein,
supra, 410 U.S. at 659. In contrast, “the utter exclusiveness
of court access and court remedy. .. was a potent factor in
Boddie.” Kras, supra, 409 U.S. at 445. The appellant here
did not choose to file a legal action as one of several available
paths to relief. Rather, the State caused the appellee to
summon him to court against his will. His presence in court
was wholly involuntarily, and he is entitled to all of the due
process protections traditionally accorded to involuntary
litigants.

Second. In Connecticut, as in most States, a losing
defendant in a paternity proceeding becomes subject to a
number of potential criminal and quasi-criminal sanctions
not present in the ordinary civil case.?4 The appellant here

**The perhaps unparalleled absence of such sanctions in Ohio was the
basis of the memorandum decision in Bigsby v. Bates, discussed inn.18.
supra.

26

has, of course, already been found liable for thousands of
dollars in support payments and is additionally obligated to
provide support for the child in question for the duration of
her minority. Conn.Gen.Stat. §46b-215(a) (1979). Should
he subsequentily fail to comply with any support order he
will be subject to imprisonment for contempt of court. Jd.
Even more seriously, appellant will further be subject to
criminal prosecution and imprisonment for nonsupport.
Conn.Gen.Stat. §53-304(a) provides that:

Any person who neglects or refuses to furnish
reasonably necessary support to his. . . child under the
age of eighteen. . . shall be deemed guilty of nonsupport
and shall be imprisoned not more than one year, unless
he shows to the court. . . that, owning to physical
incapacity or other good cause, he is unable to furnish
such support. .. . [T]he term “‘child’’ shall include one
born out of wedlock whose father. . . has been adjudged
the father by a court of competent jurisdiction.

While § 53-304 as acriminal statute requires proof beyond a
reasonable doubt of each of the elements of nonsupport, the
statute makes it clear that the issue of paternity itself, once
adjudicated in a paternity proceeding, is res judicata and
cannot be relitigated.

The initial paternity proceeding, therefore, has ines-
capable criminal overtones. This characteristic renders the
action quasi-criminal in nature** and has been influential in

?SAlthough the Supreme Court of Connecticut characterized paternity
proceedings as “‘civil” rather than “criminal” in Robertson v. Apuzzo,
n.7 supra, such an adroit act of pigeonholing erases neither the existence
of the criminal sanctions discussed in the text nor the fact that these
sanctions are not involved in the ordinary civil case. Cf Smith v.
Bennett, 365 U.S. 708, 712 (1961) (“The availability of a procedure to
regain liberty lost through criminal process cannot be made contingent
upon a choice of labels’’). It is, of course, implicit in our entire argument
that paternity proceedings are demonstrably different from garden-
variety civil litigation and that the civil/criminal distinction is therefore
hardly talismanic.

27

persuading a number of state courts that the denial of blood
tests in such an action is inconsistent with the dictates of the
Fourteenth Amendment. See Franklin v. District Court,
194 Colo. 189, 191 n.1, 571 P.2d 1072, 1074 n.1 (1977);
Walker v. Stokes, 45 Ohio App. 2d 275, 278, 344. N.E. 2d
159, 161 (1975); State ex rel. Graves v. Daugherty, 266
S.E. 2d 142, 146 (W.Va. 1980). Butin any event, regardless
of labels, the proceeding below implicated appellant’s
liberty, as well as property, interests, and therefore warrants
an appropriately elevated level of scrutiny.

Third. Although the instant case is nominally a private
affair, it is in fact a case in which the full power of the State
has been brought against an indigent defendant in a judicial
proceeding. In the first place, of course, the proceeding
below was conducted in a state court and affirmed by a state
appellate tribunal. ‘The judicial action. . . bears the clear
and unmistakable imprimatur of the State.” Shelley v.
Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1,20(1948). The State, moreover, lurks
in the background of every paternity proceeding in Con-
necticut by virtue of the potential criminal and contempt
sanctions discussed supra. But the State is much more
directly involved in the instant case. Since appellee is a
recipient of public assistance, the decision to summon
appellant into court was made not by her but by the
Connecticut Department of Social Services. That Depart-
ment referred this case to appellee’s eventual attorney “‘for
prosecution”’(J.A. 10). The State not only paid that attorney
some $300 to prosecute appellant (J.A. 20) but is the actual
recipient of the several thousand dollars of support money
awarded by the trial court (J.A. 21).

This procedure is, in fact, mandated by both state and
federal law. Conn.Gen.Stat. § 46b-169(a) (1979) compels
the mother of any child born out of wedlock to disclose the

ia

28

nameof the child’s putative father to the welfare authorities if
the child is a recipient of public assistance.** That statute
further compels her ‘‘to institute an action to establish the
paternity of said child.”’ Connecticut’s requirement is,
furthermore, mandated by 42 U.S.C. §654 (4) (1976),
which requires the States “‘to establish the paternity” of
illegitimate children receiving AFDC payments and ‘“‘to
secure support for such child from his parents.’’?’ See 45
C.F.R. §232.12 (1979). Because of these requirements,
State action has been institutionalized in paternity pro-
ceedings involving recipients of public assistance.

It has been clear since the Civil Rights Cases, 109 U.S. 3
(1883), that the abrogation and denial of rights by the States
‘““was the great seminal and fundamental wrong which was
intended to be remedied”’ by the Fourteenth Amendment.
Id. at 18. But as this Court has also observed, ‘‘Conduct that
is formally ‘private’ may become so entwined with govern-
mental policies or so impregnated with a governmental
character as to become subject to the constitutional limita-
tions placed upon state action.” Evans v. Newton, 382 U.S.
296, 299 (1966). See Burton v. Wilmington Parking
Authority, 365 U.S. 715 (1961). Such “state action”
permeated the entire proceeding in the instant case. Because

The constitutionality of this disclosure requirement has been twice
before this Court but was left unresolved by the Court on both occasions.
Maher v. Doe, 432 U.S. 526 (1977); Roe v. Norton, 422 U.S. 391
(1975).

7Although Connecticut's statutory requirement, originally enacted
by 1971 Conn.Pub.Acts. No. 439 § 4, predates the federal one, enacted
as part of the Social Services Amendments of 1974, 88 Stat. 2337,
2359-60, the federal statute has now largely preempted the field, and
Connecticut is no longer free to significantly alter its requirement.
[Very little area is left open for state action.”” Doe v. Maher, 414
F.Supp. 1368, 1378 (D.Conn. 1976), vacated, 432 U.S. 526 (1977).

9

of this undeniable fact, the legal actions of the appellee,
nominally a private citizen, were essentially the actions of
the State for purposes of the Fouirteenth Amendment.*

Fourth. It is of particular significance in this case that the
reason that Walter Little was so poor as to be unable to
afford a modest laboratory fee was that he was incarcerated
by the very State that was simultaneosly expending the
necessary funds to hale him into court. This incarceration, of
course, rendered him indigent beyond peradventure. Phy-
sically cut off by the State from any opportunity of employ-
ment, the small sums that were within the “‘able-bodied
reach” of the petitioner in bankruptcy in United State sv.
Kras, 409 U.S. 434, 449 (1973), were beyond the wildest
dreams of the appellant in this case. He quite simply had no
ability to present any defense requiring any expenditure of
funds whatsoever. See Klapprott v. United States, 335 U.S.
601, 614 (1949) (plurality opinion).

While the States are, of course, free to imprison persons in
punishment for crime, the litigational disabilities that
inevitably attend incarceration impose some corresponding
responsibilities on the incarcerating authorities. This Court
has long prohibited prison officials from physically impeding
their charges from sending petitions to the Courts. Cochran
v. Kansas, 316 U.S. 255 (1942); Ex parte Hull, 312 U.S.
546 (1941). The Court has, however, also acknowledged the

**See G.v. R., 95 Misc. 2d 273, 275-76, 407 N.Y.S. 2d 414, 416
(Fam.Ct. 1978). The facts of this case make it unnecessary for the Court
to decide the much more difficult question of whether an indigent
defendant in a paternity proceeding brought by a plaintiff unassisted by
the State is also constitutionally entitled to a blood test. We note,
however, that this latter problem is much more academic than real since
few if any private individuals, as distinct from the State, will choose to
retain counsel and pay the necessary court fees to bring a lawsuit against
an indigent.

30

tact that, for an incarcerated person, mere physical access to
the Courts, without more, is often constitutionally insuf-
ficient. Thus, inJohnson v. Avery, 393 U.S. 483 (1969), the
Court held that, in the absence of some viable alternative, the
States may not prohibit ‘jailhouse lawyers” from assisting
their fellow inmates in the preparation of petitions for habeas
corpus relief. In doing so, the Court recognized that “In the
case of all except those who are able to help themselves. . .
the prisoner is, in effect, denied access to the courts unless
such help is available.” 393 U.S. at 488.

But this Court has also required the States to shoulder
affirmative responsibilities to offset the litigational difficul-
ties necessarily confronting prisoners. ”? In Bounds v. Smith,
430 U.S. 817 (1977), the Court held that, in the absence of
some reasonable alternative, state prison officials must
provide their charges with adequate law libraries. The Court
emphatically stated that it will require “remedial measures
to insure that inmate access to the courts is adequate,
effective, and meaningful.”’ Jd. at 822. But just as the
physical ability to communicate with the courts is often
unmeaningful to prisoners who lack all access to legal
materials, physical presence in court will sometimes be
unavailing if a prisoner defendant lacks all access to the only
effective evidence that he could possibly produce. It follows
from Bounds that, if the States choose to litigate against their
prisoners, this Court should scrutinize the hearings given
those inmates to ensure that, in some fundamental sense,
they are “adequate, effective, and meaningful.”

Fifth. The factors of involuntariness, potential criminal

29Cf, Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 103 (1976) (establishing “the
government’s obligation to provide medical care for those whom it is
punishing by incarceration’’).

3|

sanctions, state action, and an incarcerated defendant, taken
together, strongly indicate that a celebrated line of this
Court’s decisions involving the rights of indigent criminal
defendants is applicable to the instant case. In Griffin y.
Illinois, 351 U.S. 12 (1956), this Court held that the
Fourteenth Amendment compels a State to furnish a
transcript of his criminal trial to an indigent criminal
defendant on appeal. Noting the disparity between the
ability of indigent and non-indigent defendants to obtain
adequate appellate review under then-existing practice, a
plurality of the Court decided the case on the broad ground
that ‘“There can be no equal justice where the kind of trial a
man gets depends on the amount of money he has.”’ Jd. at 19.
Following Griffin, the Court required the provision of
appointed counsel on an appeal as of right from a criminal
conviction in Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353 (1963).

Under the principle of these cases, the States are obligated
to provide indigent criminal defendants with items of
evidence necessary for pretrial preparation. See Britt y.
North Carolina, 404 U.S. 226, 227 (1971) (“[T]he State
must provide an indigent defendant with a transcript of prior
proceedings when that transcript is needed for an effective
defense or appeal’’); Roberts v. LaVallee, 389 U.S. 40, 42
(1967) (“[D]ifferences in access to the instruments needed
to vindicate legal rights, when based upon the financial
situation of the defendant, are repugnant to the Constitu-
tion’’). The Court has further made it clear that Griffin and
Douglas are not dependent upon nomenclature and that they
apply to at least some nominally civil proceedings. See
Gardner v. California, 393 U.S. 367 (1969) (habeas
corpus); Long v. District Court, 385 U.S. 192 (1966)
(habeas corpus); Lane v. Brown, 372 U.S. 477 (1963)
(coram nobis); Smith v. Bennett, 365 U.S. 708 (1961)

32

(habeas corpus). Even more important, this Court has
extended the principle of Griffin to a case involving a mere
$250 fine. Mayer v. City of Chicago, 404 U.S. 189 (1971).
In doing so the Court looked in part to the practical effects of
the proceeding involved. “‘A fine,” it observed “‘may bear as
heavily on an indigent accused as forced confinement.” Jd.
at 197.

While criminal defendants stand on a particularly exalted
constitutional plane for obvious reasons, the underlying
principles involved in the Griffin-Roberts-Britt-Mayer line
of cases are plainly relevant to the instant case. Here, as in
those cases, the full power of the State has been brought
against an indigent defendant in a judicial proceeding. Here,
as in those cases, the defendant is indigent because he is
incarcerated by the very State that has summoned him into
court. And here, as in those cases, the defendant, because of
his indigence, has been deprived of an item absolutely
crucial for an effective presentation of his case.

At bottom the common property of Griffin and the instant
case is an abiding, fundamental unfairness. Disparities
between private litigants and their resources are an in-
escapable fact of life and are hardly repugnant to the
Constitution. But when “‘the State with all its resources and
power,” Green v. United States, 355 U.S. 184, 187 (1957),
hales into a court a man whom it has rendered indigent by
incarceration in a case pregnant with criminal implications
and there denies him a readily available laboratory test that
has a greater than 90% chance of conclusively proving his
innocence, the heavy-handed role that the State is choosing
to assume does not rest easily with the requirements of due
process. This “suppression by the prosecution of evidence
favorable to an accused”’ may not be accomplished with the
same culpability as the suppression in Brady v. Maryland,

33

373 U.S. 83, 87 (1963), but it is no less real. This Court has
noted in Wardius v. Oregon, 412 U.S. 470, 474 (1973), that
“[T]he Due Process Clause. . .does speak to the balance of
forces between the accused and his accuser.” See United
States v. Ash, 413 U.S. 300, 309 (1973). In the instant case,
that ‘balance of forces” was egregiously unfair and worked a
correspondingly unfair result. It is the historic role of this
Court in such cases “‘to keep the balance true.” Snyder v.
Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97 (1934).

Sixth. In Connecticut this imbalance of forces is further
exacerbated by a unique evidentiary burden placed upon
defendants in paternity proceedings. Since the enactment of
Connecticut’s original bastardy statute in 1672, plaintiffs
and defendants in paternity actions have been placed in
dramatically unequal positions. The language of the original
Statute gives some indication of the idiosyncracy that has
historically marked this area of the law:

[T]he man charged by the Woman to be the F ather,
she holding constant in it (especially being put upon the
real discovery of the truth of it in the time of her travel)
shall be the reputed Father, and accordingly be liable to
the charge of maintenance. . -notwithstanding his
denyal; unless the circumstances of the case and pleas

be such on the behalf of the man charged, as that the
Court. . .shall see reason to acquit him.

The Book of the Generai Laws for the People within the
Jurisdiction of Connecticut 6 ( 1673).

Bastardy actions, moreover, provided the sole exception
to the common law rule that parties to legal actions could not
testify on their own behalf. As the Supreme Court of
Connecticut later explained:

[I]n cases of illegitimate children, it was considered

SO unjust that the mother should bear, not only the
suffering and danger attendant upon maternity, but in

ve

“

34

addition the whole expense of supporting her child,
when there was another equally in fault, to say the least,
in respect to its birth, that an exception was made of
suits brought by her for the maintenance of the child,
and she was allowed to testify who was its father under
certain safeguards provided by the statute.

Booth v. Hart, 43 Conn. 480, 485 (1876). The putative
father, on the other hand, was not permitted to testify, id. at
486, but was considered protected by the requirement that
the mother be examined under oath and put to “discovery in
the time of her travail,’’ Town of Chaplin v. Hartshorne, 6
Conn. 41, 44 (1825). It was “‘recognized as a fact, es-
tablished by human experience, that, at such a time, a
woman in her anguish would be apt to speak as to that matter,
and to speak the truth.”’ State v. Sebastian, 81 Conn. 1,7, 69
A. 1054, 1056 (1908). If the defendant were to prove
himself innocent, he was compelled to do so “‘by other
evidence than his own.” Booth v. Hart, supra, 43 Conn. at |
480.

This review of colonial bastardy law has been necessary
because certain of its basic evidentiary anomalies persist in
Connecticut to this day. Although 1848 Conn.Pub.Acts. ch.
44§ 1 eliminated the testimonial disqualification of parties,
including putative fathers, the Supreme Court of Con-
necticut compensated for this change by nullifying the
statutory requirement that the mother be put to the discovery
in the time of her travail. Booth v. Hart, supra. Bastardy
proceedins,s thus became swearing contests, but contests in
which the defendant was placed at a singular disadvantage.
As the Supreme Court of Connecticut explained in Mosher
v. Bennett, 108 Conn. 671, 674, 144 A. 297, 298 (1929),
the mother’s constancy of accusation is sufficient to make
out a prima facie case. ‘““The prima facie case so made out
places upon the reputed father the burden of showing his

ae

er

35

innocence of the charge, and under our practice he must do
this by other evidence than his own.” Id. (emphasis added).

Under this rule the instrinsic imbalance present in
bastardy proceedings prior to the 1848 qualification statute
has been, if anything, exacerbated. The mother need not be
“put to the discovery” because the putative father can now
testify, but although the putative father may now testify his
testimony will do him no good unless he manages to find
other evidence to support his defense. His testimony, no
matter how credible, is legally insufficient to outweigh the
plaintiff's testimony, no matter how incredible, in the pans of
justice. This is very much the law in Connecticut today. See
Kelsaw v. Green, 6 Conn. Cir. Ct. 516,276 A.2d 909 (App.
Div. Cir. Ct. 1971). Given this evidentiary requirement, a
blood grouping test is even more important to the defendant
that it would otherwise be. This rule not only renders “‘the
balance of forces” in a proceeding agaist an indigent yet
more egregiously unfair, but strips a hearing where the
defendant has been denied such a test of much of whatever
meaning it might have otherwise possessed.

Finally. It is of the utmost importance that the thing at
issue in the instant case is not a contract for the delivery of
potatoes or the title to a parcel of land or the monetary
damages attendant upon an automobile accident but the
paternity of a child. This Court has long rejected the Platonic
doctrine that the State should control the parent-child
relationship according to its own notions of expediency. See
Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 401-02 (1923). “The
child is not the mere creature of the State.”’ Pierce v. Society
of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510, 535 (1925). In this case, however,
the State has brought an unwilling defendant and an
unrepresented child before its own court system and ju-
dicially established a parent-child relationship between

36

them while abjuring the use of the most probative available
evidence to determine whether such a relationship in fact
exists. The Court should not countenance this cavalier
treatment of the parties involved.

This Court has, in recent years, recognized that both unwed
fathers and illegitimate children possess certain substantive
rights under the Fourteenth Amendment. Stanley v. Illinois,
405 U.S. 645 (1972), established that an unwed father has
an “‘interest. . .in the children he has sired and raised [that]
undeniably warrants deference and, absent a powerful
countervailing interest, protection.” Id. at 651. Cf: Caban v.
Mohammed, 441 U.S. 380 (1979) (invalidating a gender-
based statute disabling an unwed father from blocking the
adoption of his child).

This case, to be sure, is in many ways the converse of
Caban and Stanley. The fathers in those cases were
attempting to assert parental rights, while the appellant here
denies that he is, in fact, a parent. But the establishment of a
parental relationship, even under these circumstances, not
only entails the obvious financial responsibilities that have
been thrust upon the putative father but quite possibly a host
of other legal, moral, and emotional responsibilities that
cannot even be forseen at the present time. The establish-
ment of such a relationship by judicial fiat should thus invoke
the same basic protections that would attend the termination
of that relationship.

There is, moreover, another interest present in the instant
case. The court below not only made Walter Little a parent
while depriving him of the crucial evidence necessary to
defend that ailegation, but it simultaneously made Kenyatta
Streater his daughter. The fact that the State has chosen to
use its judicial machinery to pronounce this child the
daughter of a criminal on less than the best available

37

evidence is a poignant indication of its cavalier approach toa
judicial proceeding that should be characterized by the most
painstaking thoroughness.

This is particularly ironic because Congress, in enacting
42 U.S.C. §654 (1976), which compels the States to bring
paternity proceedings against the putative fathers of il-
legitimate AFDC recipients, plaintly intended the States to
endeavor to establish the biological relationships involved
accurately. The Senate Committee on Finance stated in its
report:

The Committee believes that an AFDC child has a
right to have its paternity ascertained in a fair and
efficient manner unless identification of the father is
clearly against the best interests of the child. Although
this may in some cases conflict with what a social
worker considers the mother’s short term interests, the
Committee feels that the child’s right to support,
inheritance, and to know who his father is deserves the
higher social priority.

S. Rep. No. 93-1356, 93d Cong. 2d Sess. 51 (1974),
reprinted in [1974] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 8133.
8154-55,%°

This Court has established that children born out of
wedlock have some minimal constitutional rights to support,
see Gomez v. Perez, 409 U:S. 535 (1973), inheritance, see
Trimble v. Gordon, 430 U.S. 762 (1977), and to a

‘Interestingly, when the Senate first considered H.R. 17045. 93d
Cong., 2d Sess. (1974), the vehicle by which 42 U.S.C. § 654 (1976)
was ultimately to be enacted, it amended that bill to establish a national
system of laboratories that would provide state courts with blood test
evidence. 120 Cong. Rec. 40321 (1974). This amendment was later
deleted by a conference committee, H.R. Rep. No. 93-1643, 93d Cong.,
2d Sess. 30 (1974), reprinted in [1974] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News
8161, 8162, possibly because of civil libertarian fears about the intended
use of the tests as positive, as well as negative, evidence of paternity.

38

continuing relationship with their biological fathers, see
Caban v. Mohammed and Stanley v. Illinois, supra. “(T]he
child’s right to support, inheritance, and to know who his
father is” recognized by the Senate Committee on Finance is
thus a judicially cognizable interest as well. The Supreme
Court of Nebraska has noted that a child’s interest in a
judicial proceeding “‘may be adverse to both parents in the
case.” Ford v. Ford, 191 Neb. 548, 549-550, 216 N.W. 2d
176, 177 (1974). The judicial determination of parentage
will have “a much deeper impact upon the children as they
grow older as to their identity, the procuring of their
necessary support from the real father, inheritance rights,
and many others.” Jd. at 550, 216 N.W. 2d at 177.

Under these circumstances, it is in the interest of both the
putative father and the child in question that, if a parent-child
relationship exists, its existence be determined accurately.
To deprive the parties of an accurate determination of
paternity solely because of the poverty of the putative father
“needlessly risks running roughshod over the important
interests of both parent and child.” Stanley v. Illinois,
supra, 405 U.S. at 657. We respectfully submit that the
State of Connecticut has indeed run roughshod over these
important interests in the instant case.

The distinguishing characteristics of this case collectively
indicate that the Court should give the quality of the hearing
afforded appellant a particularly rigorous scrutiny. If, as we
have urged, the Due Process Clause does speak to the
qualitative aspects of the hearings afforded involuntary
litigants in cases where family rights are at issue and the
balance of forces egregiously unfair, the hearing afforded

39

appellant in this case must be deemed deficient. The denial
of access to a readily available laboratory test, that con-
clusively excludes more than 90% of all falsely accused
men, to the defendant in this case solely because of his
proverty rendered the swearing contest in which he was
necessarily placed unmeaningful in a constitutional sense.

“[A]bsent a countervailing state interest of overriding
significance,” this denial of “a meaningful opportunity to be
heard” was a denial of due process. Boddie y. Connecticut,
401 U.S. 371, 377 (1971). But here, as in Boddie, the
State’s only legitimate countervailing interest is ‘“‘resource
allocation or cost recoupment.” Jd. at 382. That justification
was offered and rejected in Boddie. It is, if anything, even
less convincing in the instant case, where the State is
aggressively using its judicial system to gain monetary
judgments from indigent defendants. This justification
should be rejected. The State is not, under the Due Process
Clause, free to deny such overwhelmingly probative evi-
dence to indigent persons, particularly its own indigent
prisoners, that it chooses to hale into court.

Il. THE DENIAL OF BLOOD GROUPING
TESTS TO A DEFENDANT IN A PA-
TERNITY PROCEEDING SOLEY BE-
CAUSE OF HIS INDIGENCY DENIES
HIM THE EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE
LAWS.

Connecticut’s requirement that all defendants in paternity
proceedings, irrespective of means, must pay for blood
grouping tests in advanceof trial or do without them
altogether not only works a palpable injustice on the
individual parties in any given proceeding but has a per-

40

vasive and pernicious effect on the entire system of paternity
law. The requirement has ineluctably resulted in a dual
system of justice.

Because of the extraordinary frequency with which
modern blood grouping tests conclusively exclude falsely
accused putative fathers there is, needless to say, no question
that nonindigent defendants who dispute their paternity will
utilize these tests. In return for the payment of a modest
laboratory fee, more than 90% of all innocent nonindigent
defendants obtain swift, scientific, and absolutely un-
impeachable exonerations. Indigent defendants, on the other
hand, are summarily placed in swearing contests in which
the pans of justice are loaded against them. These are
contests, moreover, in which even the fairest and most
conscientious judges can rarely claim to render decisions not
open to doubt. There are, consequently, two dramatically
different systems of justice: a reliable one for defendants with
assets and an unreliable one for the poor. This glaring
disparity is inconsistent with the historic requirements of the
Equal Protection Clause.

Conn.Gen.Stat. §46b-168(1979) applies on its face to
rich and poor alike. But as this Court noted in Griffin v.
Illinois, 351 U.S. 12, 17 n.11 (1956) (plurality opinion),
‘“{A] law non-discriminatory on its face may be grossly
discriminatory in its operation.” Here the Connecticut
statute worked an invidious discrimination against appellant
solely because he was unable to pay the laboratory fee. See
Williams v. Illinois, 399 U.S. 235, 242 (1970).

This Court observed in Harper v. Virginia Board of
Elections, 383 U.S. 663, 668 (1966), that “Lines drawn on
the basis of wealth or property, like those of race, are
traditionally disfavored.”’ Economic barriers are par-
ticularly disfavored when they impede effective access to the

4]

courts. Thus, in Griffin v. Illinois, supra, the Illinois rule
requiring all defendants in noncapital criminal cases,
whether indigent or not, to purchase a Stenographic tran-
script of the trial proceedings for use on appeal was deemed
to “effectively den[y] the poor an adequate appellate review
accorded to all who have enough money to pay the costs in
advance.” Id. at 18 (plurality opinion). Griffin’s broad
holding that ‘‘There can be no equal justice where the kind of
trial a man gets depends on the amount of money he has,”’ id.
at 19, is grounded in the requirements of equal protection as
well as those of due process. This is similarly the case with
Griffin’s progeny, discussed at pp. 28-29, supra.

In its most celebrated and thorough analysis of the
requirements of the Equal Protection Clause vis-a-vis
discrimination against the indigent, this Court noted the
common properties of the Griffin line of cases:

The individuals, or groups of individuals, who con-
stituted the class discriminated against in our prior
cases shared two distinguishing characteristics: be-
cause of their impecunity they were completely unable
to pay for some desired benefit, and as a consequence,

they sustained an absolute deprivation of a meaningful
Opportunity to enjoy that benefit,

San Antonio Independent School District y. Rodriguez,
411 U.S. 1,20 (1973). The school financing system at issue
in Rodriguez was held not to violate traditional concepts of
equal protection because it did not discriminate “against a
class of definably ‘poor’ persons.” id. at 22, and because, in
that case, “lack of personal resources has not occasioned an
absolute deprivation of the desired benefit,” id. at 23. The
Court acknowledged, however, that a case involving an
inflexible tuition fee that some pupils could pay and others
could not “would present a far more compelling set of
circumstances for judicial assistance.” Jd. at 25 n.60.

42

In contrast to Rodriguez, the instant case presents a
classic example of a prohibited discrimination against the
poor. The inflexible laboratory fee necessary to obtain a
blood test creates two sharply distinguished classes of
paternity defendants: those who happen to have the modest
personal resources necessary to pay the fee, and those who
do not. The putative fathers lacking such resources must,
moreover, completely do without the desired scientific
evidence, while the nonindigent readily obtain that evidence
and, if falsely accused, are overwhelmingly likely to con-
clusively prove their innocence. And, just as “‘the ability to
pay costs in advance bears no rational relationship to a
defendant’s guilt or innocence,” in a criminal case, Griffin v.
Illinois, supra, 351 U.S. at 17-18 (plurality opinion), the
putative father’s ability to pay for a blood test bears no
rational relationship to his paternity or nonpaternity.

We recognize that in United States v. Kras, 409 U.S. 434
(1973), and Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656 (1973), this
Court found that the bankruptcy and appeal filing fees at
issue in those cases did not violate the Equal Protection
Clause. Those cases involved litigation “in the area of
economics and social welfare,” United States v. Kras,
supra, 409 U.S. at 446. Paternity litigation cannot, how-
ever, be so described. As is discussed at some length in the
due process portion of this Brief, pp. 22-36, supra, paternity
proceedings are marked by certain characteristics, notably
their quasi-criminal nature and their direct impact on family
relationships, that readily distinguish them from typical civil
proceedings involving issues entirely reducible to monetary
terms. A putative father’s interest in the accurate de-
termination of his paternity, in particular, should “come to
this Court with a momentum for respect lacking when appeal
is made to liberties which derive merely from shifting

43

economic arrangements.” Kovacs vy. Cooper, 336 U.S. 77,
95 (1949) (Frankfurther, J. concurring). See Stanley y.
Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 651 (1972).

Connecticut’s draconian blood test rule is, in any event,
far more pernicious than the filing fees at issue in Kras and
Ortwein. Its influence is systemic. The litigants in those
cases were would-be plaintiffs.*! If they did not have the
necessary funds when they sought to file their claims they
could at least hope to litigate those claims at a later date
when the necessary funds had been acquired. Moreover, as
the Court emphasized, they had at least some alternatives to
the judicial remedy. Ortwein, supra, 410 U.S. at 659. But
putative fathers are, by definition, defendants. They cannot
wait for more prosperous days to litigate their claims.
Rather, they must appear in court at a date certain, with or
without the necessary evidence. It is because of this
inescapable fact that Connecticut has created a dramatic and
unconscionable disparity between classes of involuntary
litigants. Nonindigent putative fathers can purchase reliable,
Scientific justice; indigent ones cannot. In the words of
Justice Black, writing for the plurality in Griffin v. Illinois,
‘Such a denial is a misfit in a country dedicated to affording
equal justice to all.” 351 U.S. at 19. Justice Frankfurter
may, however, be permitted the final observation:

To sanction such a ruthless consequence, inevitably
resulting from a monetary hurdle erected by a State,
would justify a latter-day Anatole France to add one
more item to his ironic comments on the ““majestic

equality” of the law. “The law, in its majestic equality,
forbids the rich as well as the poor to sleep under

‘Although the welfare recipients in Ortwein were technically
appellants, they were seeking an initial judicial review of their welfare
claims in the Oregon Court of Appeals, and were thus plaintiffs in effect.
Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656, 658 (1973).

44

bridges, to beg in the streets, and to steal bread.” (John
Cournos, A Modern Plutarch, p. 27.)
The State is not free to produce such a squalid
discrimination.
Griffin v. Illinois, supra, 351 U.S. at 23-24 (Frankfurter, J.

concurring).

CONCLUSION

Conn.Gen.Stat. §46b-168 (1979), violates the Due
Process and Equal Protection Clauses of the Fourteenth
Amendments. The judgment of the Appellate Session of the
Superior Court of Connecticut should therefore be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

JON C. BLUE
Legal Assistance to Prisoners
340 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, Connecticut 06106
(203) 566-2030

Court-appointed Counsel
for Appellant

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385007_0010%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
