# Petition — Raymond W. Anderson and Paul W. Keve v. Thomas H. Winsett

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2585%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 1093

## Text

JUN 20 1980

IN THE
MICHAEL RODAK, JR.. CLERR

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1979.

No. 79-2014

RAYMOND W. ANDERSON and PAUL W. KEVE,
Petitioners,

v.

THOMAS H. WINSETT,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT.

REGINA MULLEN SMALL
State Solicitor

JOHN ALEXANDER PARKINS, JR.
Assistant State Solicitor

Joun J. PoLx

Deputy Attorney General
Delaware Department of Justice
State Office Building

820 N. French Street

Wilmington, Delaware 19801
(302) 571-3881

Attorneys for Petitioners

international Printing Co., 711 So. 50th St., Phila., Pa. 19143 — Tel. (215) 727-8711

INDEX TO BRIEF.

Page
OMI SS en bals «owe se vha phd dbp ae (ebb kee bONaS 1
SE Wn Waste sas kice eek cas pom paanaad chagiewa’ 2
RINE MINI reid s CAs cs ceed ot wacbabeseeknwebe 2
PORE cari ari ew vk Chics tae oS age a WeheR Map eee’ 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .............00000ee00: 6
I. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Conflicts With
Decisions 08: Tile Coat aires cick. Seas 6
II. The Reasoning and Result Reached by the Court of
Appeals Far Transcend the Bounds of this Particular
RIMES ih CS a5 RED HSAs HEE AREA OTA 0 he 8
PE eT ee Tee er ONT Tere peas ren pier ll
APPENDIX:
Court of Appeals Judgment on Rehearing ............ Al
fe ee rr ae oe A3
Sy TN RINNE eh loki es vnccnea ns oa chennes A43
RENEE ENE GUNUIIEED ov Spies CvieecccaWekaccaaemaunas A44

EN DIO. a Sic aici wad ckantabewdck occa A55

TABLE OF CITATIONS.

Cases: Page
Bell v. Wolfish, — U. S. —, 60 L. Ed. 2d 477 (1979) ...... 9
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U. S. 564 (1972) .......... 6,7
‘Goss v. Lopez, 419 U. S. 565 (1975) .........ccccececeees 6
Greenholtz v. Inmates of the Nebraska Penal and Correctional
Complex, 442 U. S. 1, 60 L. Ed. 2d 668 (1979) ...... 6,7, 10
Kelly v. Johnson, 425 U. S. 238 (1976) .............0000e 6
Meachum v. Fano, 427 U. S. 215 (1976) ................. 4,6,9
Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U. S. 593 (1973) ............... 6
Preiser v. Rodriguez, 411 U. S. 475 (1973) ............... 9
Vitek v. Jones, — U. S. —, 63 L. Ed. 2d 552 (1980) ....... 6
Wolff vy. McDonnell, 418 U. S. 539 (1974) ................ 6
Wood v. Strickland, 420 U. S. 308 (1975) ................ 9
Statutes:
I MI io yj 5's ss ov aoe oe cesdnc ovens 4,9
N, J. Rev. Stat. tit. 30 § 1B-3 (Cum. Supp. 1979) .......... 9
N. Y. Correction Law § 45 (McKinney Cum. Supp. 1979) .. 9
Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 61, § 460.3 (Cum. Supp. 1979) ........... 9
cael kik y Be x’ Ba Bis ¥hb.04 o bicooies 2
i oss ce wha Slo lv'g. oo 5s Gi Gdifinc a's 2
I Ss soon kck ace vc vsien oececcacvies 2

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1979

No.

RAYMOND W. ANDERSON and PAUL W. KEVE,
Petitioners,

wD.

THOMAS H. WINSETT,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT.

Petitioners respectfully request that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue from this Court to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit in
the above-captioned cause.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit is not yet reported. It is set out in the Appendix
hereto at pages A-3 to A-42. The opinion of the United
States District Court for the District of Delaware is re-
ported at 443 F. Supp. 1369. It is set out in the Appendix
at pages A-44 to A-54.

2 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

JURISDICTION.

The opinion and order of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit were filed on March 24,
1980. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1254.

QUESTION PRESENTED.

Do state statutes specifying humane treatment of
prisoners with an eye toward their rehabilitation create
a liberty or property interest which requires federal ju-
dicial review of classification decisions?

STATEMENT.

This case involves a due process challenge by Re-
spondent (the “prisoner”) to the denial of his application
to participate in a discretionary work release program.’
Specifically at issue is the Court of Appeals’ determination
that a liberty interest existed in this case even though
prison officials were vested with discretion in admitting
inmates to the program.

The prisoner is a Delaware inmate serving a life sen-
tence for the 1963 murder of a Delaware state policeman.
He claims that he was denied due process because the
denial of his three applications for work release was moti-
vated by prison officials’ fear of possible retaliation by

1. This case first arose in the District of Delaware. Jurisdic-

oo (3) conferred upon the District Court by 28 U. S. C. §§ 1331,

In addition to his due process claim, the prisoner also raised
an equal protection claim which was not based upon any allega-
tion of class-based discrimination. The District Court denied the
claim. Because of its resolution of this case, the majority of the
Gourt of Appeals did not reach this issue.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 3

the Delaware General Assembly (most likely in the form
of budget, personnel and program cutbacks) and of ad-
verse public reaction.

Delaware’s work release program permits participat-
ing prisoners to hold jobs in the outside community.
Inmates frequently live in a low security residence main-
tained by the Delaware Department of Correction. In-
mates residing in this facility are subjected to compara-
tively few restrictions and are usually free to leave the
residence during daylight hours.’

The prisoner made his first application for work re-
lease in 1974. Although the prisoner met certain criteria
for eligibility, petitioner Anderson, the warden, exercised
his statutory veto power and denied the prisoner's appli-
cation “due to the sensitivity of his offense.”

In 1976 the prisoner filed a second application. At
the time this application was filed petitioner Keve, who
was Acting Commissioner of the Delaware Department of
Correction, was making efforts to arrange for the prisoner’s
transfer to the Minnesota prison system. These efforts
were being made at the request of the prisoner.

The District Court found that both the 1974 and
1976 denials were motivated “at least in substantial part”
by the prison officials’ fear of retaliation by the Delaware
General Assembly. However, it found that the Commis-
sioner deferred a decision on the second application be-
cause he felt that the potential transfer to Minnesota
would ultimately be of more benefit to the prisoner.

The prisoner's third application was denied in 1977.
By the time of the third denial, petitioners no longer
occupied their official positions. The District Court found
that the third denial was not motivated by any concern

2. On occasion the Delaware Department of Correction has

also operated a smaller work release program out of one of its se-
cure facilities.

4 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

for possible retaliation by the General Assembly. This
finding was uncontested on appeal.

The District Court, adhering to this Court’s teach-
ings in Meachum v. Fano, 427 U. S. 215 (1976), denied
the prisoner’s due process claim, It found that the Dela-
ware statute authorizing the work release program did
not bestow on this prisoner a right to participate in that
program. Likewise, it held that the Department's regula-
tions did not give the prisoner a right to participate in
the program. Since the prisoner had no cognizable en-
titlement t0~partigipate in the program, the trial court
concluded that the prisoner had ng liberty or property
interest at stake.

The history of the prisoner's appeal is somewhat
unusual. The appeal was argued before a three judge
panel of the Third Circuit in December, 1978. In the
Spring of 1979, without having issued an opinion, the
Court of Appeals sua sponte directed that the matter be re-
argued before the court en banc. ‘The matter was
reargued in November, 1979, and the divided court issued
its opinion on March 24, 1980.

The Court of Appeals reversed the District Court’s
holding that the prisoner had no protectible liberty or
property interest. The prisoner conceded that the statute
authorizing the work release program did not create such
an interest, and the Court of Appeals recognized that the
pertinent regulations vested prison officials with discretion
in approving or rejecting applications. The Court of
Appeals instead focused on another statute specifying in
broad terms that prisoners be treated “humanely, with
effort directed to their rehabilitation ....” Del. C. Ann.
tit. 11, §6531 (A55). The court concluded that this
statute limited the discretion of the prison officials. With-
out finding any specific regulatory or statutory entitlement,
it found that the statutory directive to treat prisoners

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 5

humanely creates a liberty interest because the prison
officials’ exercise of discretion must be consistent “with
the purpose and policy behind work release.” (Slip Op.
21, A23). According to the Court

We hold that a state-created liberty interest in work
release arises when a prisoner meets all eligibility re-
quirements under the state statutes and the exercise
of the prison authorities’ discretion is consistent with
work release policy.”

(Id., A23-24)

6 ; Petition for Writ of Certiorari

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.

IL

The Decisions of the Court of Appeals Conflicts
With Decisions of This Court.

In any due process analysis, the first step must be a
determination whether there has been a deprivation of life,
liberty or property. Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U. S.
564 (1972) (procedural due process); Kelly v. Johnson,
425 U. S. 238 (1976) (substantive due process). In this
case the Court of Appeals concluded that the prisoner was
deprived of a liberty interest in connection with the denial
of his application for work release despite the fact that
acceptance into that program is discretionary with prison
officials. This determination conflicts with previous deci-
sions of this Court.

The prisoner's valid criminal conviction and sentence
extinguished his right to freedom from confinement.
Vitek v. Jones, — U. S. — , 63 L. Ed. 2d 552 (1980).
Thus he must find any liberty interest in work release in
state statutes or prison regulations. The prior opinions
of this Court demonstrate that he must show a clear en-
titlement to participate in work release in order to estab-
lish such an interest. Compare Goss v. Lopez, 419 U. S.
965, 573 (1975) (“legitimate claims of entitlement to a
public education” sufficient); Wolff v. McDonnell, 418
U. S. 539, 557 (1974) (“statutory right to good-time”
sufficient); Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U. S. 593, 601
(1973) (understanding equivalent to tenure created 2
sufficient “claim of entitlement”); with Greenholtz v. In-
mates of the Nebraska Penal and Correctional Complex,
442 U. S. 1, 60 L. Ed. 2d 668 (1979) ( possibility of parole
insufficient ); Meachum v. Fano, 427 U. S. 215 (1976)

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 7

(expectation of remaining in same prison insufficient);
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U. S. 564 (1972) (expecta-
tion of non-tenured teacher to be rehired insufficient ).°
As this Court has at least twice stated:

“[T]o obtain a protectible right

‘a person clearly must have more than an abstract
need for it. He must have more than a uni-
lateral expectation of it. He must instead, have
a legitimate claim of entitlement to it.”

Greenholtz, supra, 60 L. Ed. 2d at 675, quoting Board of
Regents v. Roth, 408 U. S. 564, 577 (1972) (emphasis
added in petition). No opinion of this Court holds that
a mere expectancy, premised upon the anticipated favor-
able exercise of discretion by a decision maker, constitutes
a protectible liberty interest.

Contrary to this principle, the Third Circuit made
no finding that a specific statute or regulation conferred
on the prisoner an entitlement to participate in the work
release program. Indeed, the prisoner conceded that the
statute authorizing the work release program did not con-
fer upon him a right to participate in the program (Slip
Op. at 17, Al9) and the Court of Appeals acknowledged
that the Department of Correction regulations conferred
discretion upon the prison officials in selecting inmates to
participate in the program (Slip Op. at 18, A20-21), The
absence of any finding of a specific entitlement is under-
scored by the Court of Appeals’ apparent rejection of the
requirement of such a finding:

The trial court’s reasoning, which apparently
would limt protectible interests solely to those which
can be described as vested rights, effectively ar-

3. Emphasis in the parenthetical explanations added.

-*

’*?

8 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

rogates to the States the power to devise both the
interests protectible by due process and the process

which is due.
(Slip Op. at 20, A23) (emphasis added).

Without finding any specific entitlement, the Court
of Appeals in an unwarranted quantum leap held the Due
Process clause requires that the admitted discretion of the
prison officials be exercised in a manner consistent with
what that court perceived as the statutory policy under-
lying the work release program. In effect the Court of
Appeals has put the cart before the horse, for it has reached
the substantive due process issue (the exercise of discre-
tion consistent with the “policy” of the program) in order
to create the requisite entitlement. It is respectfully
urged that dissenting Circuit Judge Weis correctly ap-
praised the majority's holding when he wrote:

“[C]arving out a due process right to work release
because of its otherwise illusory character confuses
what process is due with the question whether a pro-
tectible interest exists.”

(Slip. Op. at 38, A41).

Il.

The Reasoning and Result Reached by the Court
of Appeals Far Transcend the Bounds of
This Particular Case.

The holding of the Court of Appeals has the effect
of subjecting any discretionary decision by prison admin-
istrators to judicial review via the Due Process clause.
Although the Third Circuit's ruling was based in part
upon its interpretation of a state statute, its effect extends

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 9

beyond Delaware because of the prevalence of statutes
of similar import.*

The statute from which the Court of Appeals in-
ferred a policy for work release is broad in scope. It is
not limited to work release but rather applies to all
“[p]ersons committed to the care of the Department [of
Correction].” Del. C. Ann. tit. 11, §6531. Since the
statute applies to all phases of prisoner life, there is no
reason to believe that even the most routine discre-
tionary decisions by prison officials are now subject to
judicial review under the Due Process clause. The scope
of such decisions now reviewable is limitless. If the rea-
soning of the Third Circuit is allowed to stand, the Due
Process clause will force prison administrators to prove
daily in court that routine matters such as internal trans-
fers and security restrictions are consistent with the policy
of “ ‘humane’ treatment, ‘rehabilitation,’ and ‘return to the
community as safely and promptly as practicable.” (Slip
Op. at 19, A22).

In short, the Court of Appeals’ analysis places the
federal courts astride the day-to-day decisions of prison
administrators. This Court has repeatedly stated that
federal courts do not sit to supervise prison administra-
tors. Bell v. Wolfish, — U.S. —, 60 L. Ed. 2d 447 (1979);
Meachum v. Fano, 427 U. S. 215, 228-9 (1976); Preiser
v. Rodriguez, 411 U. S. 475, 491-2 (1973); accord Wood
v. Strickland, 420 U. S. 308, 326 (1975) (“§ 1983 was not
intended to be a vehicle for federal court correction of
errors in the exercise of . . . discretion [by administrators]
which do not rise to the level of violation of specific con-
stitutional guarantees.”). Yet this is precisely the result
which is obtained from the Court of Appeals’ reasoning.

4. See, e.g., N.J. Rev. Stat. tit. 30 § 1B-3 (Cum. Supp. 1979);

N.Y. Correction Law § 45 (McKinney Cum. Supp. 1979); Pa. Stat.
Ann. tit. 61, § 460.3 (Cum. Supp. 1979).

10 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

If that reasoning is not refuted, the widespread existence
of statutes such as Delaware’s will transform federal courts
into arenas wherein prisoners can air even their most trivial
grievances.

Further, the holding of the Court of Appeals will
operate as a deterrent to programs requiring prison offi-
cials to predict inmate behavior. These predictions are
often made on the basis of subjective evaluations which
can not always be articulated in traditional findings.
Greenholtz, supra, 60 L. Ed. 2d at 676. But prison offi-
cials will henceforth be reluctant to deny prisoner appli-
cations unless they are able to articulate reasons which
are consistent with some statutory policy. In such cases
the prison administrator is faced with a Hobson’s choice:
either approve the application against his instincts or face
a suit for damages. The ultimate result will be the cur-
tailment of programs dependent upon successful predic-
tion of inmate behavior or the elimination of statutes
advocating humane treatment and _ rehabilitation of
prisoners.”

5. An additional burden faces prison administrators. In light
of the now widespread liberty interest, the specter of constant due

process hearings in connection with formerly administrative deci-
sions now confronts them.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 11
CONCLUSION.

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should issue a
writ of certiorari to review the opinion and judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

REGINA MULLEN SMALL,
State Solicitor,

JoHN ALEXANDER PARKINS, JR.,
Assistant State Solicitor,

Joun J. Poxk,

Deputy Attorney General,
Delaware Department of Justice,
State Office Building,

820 N. French Street,
Wilmington, Delaware 19801
(302) 571-3881

Attorneys for Petitioners.

Appendix.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For THE Tuirp Circuit

No. 78-1344

THOMAS H. WINSETT,
Appellant
v.

F. EARL McGINNES, Secretary of the Department of
Health and Social Services; PAUL V. KEVE, Direc-
tor of Adult Corrections; RAYMOND W. ANDER-
SON, Superintendent of Delaware Correctional
Center; DONALD R. DAVIS, Deputy Superintend-
ent of the Delaware Correctional Center; MILTON
HORTON, Acting Chief of Adult Corrections;
JAMES T. VAUGHN, Commissioner of Department
of Corrections; WALTER W. REDMAN, Superin-
tendent of Delaware Correctional Center

(D. C. Civil No. 74-210)

On APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES Districr Court
FOR THE DisTRICT OF DELAWARE

Present: Serrz, Chief Judge and AupisErt, ADAMS,
Grppons, ROSENN, HunTER, WEIs, GARTH,
HIGGINBOTHAM and S.oviter, Circuit

Judges
(Al)

-%

A2 Court of Appeals Judgment on Rehearing
JUDGMENT ON REHEARING.

This cause came on to be heard on the record from
the United States District Court for the District of Dela-
ware and was argued by counsel on December 11, 1978
and reargued en banc on November 8, 1979.

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and
adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the said Dis-
trict Court, filed January 31, 1978, be, and the same is
hereby reversed insofar as it dismisses Winsett’s action for
damages against Superintendent Anderson and Commis-
sioner Keve, affirmed insofar as it dismissed Winsett’s
damages claim against Commissioner Vaughn, Superin-
tendent Redman, and Assistant Bureau Chief Horton, and
in the denial of injunctive relief on the ground of moot-
ness; and the cause is remanded to the said District Court
for further proceedings consistent with the opinion of this
Court. Each side to bear its own costs.

ATTEST:
THOMAS F. QuINN
Clerk
March 24, 1980

Certified as a true copy and issued in lieu of a formal man-
date on April 15, 1980.

Test: THomas F. Quinn

Clerk, United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

Court of Appeals Opinion A3

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 78-1344

THOMAS H. WINSETT,
Appellant

.

F. EARL MCGINNES, Secretary of the Department of
Health and Social Services; PAUL W. KEVE, Direc-
tor of the Delaware Division of Adult Corrections;
RAYMOND W. ANDERSON, Superintendent of
Melaware Correctional Center; DONALD R. DA-
VIS, Deputy Superintendent of the Delaware Cor-
rectional Center; MILTON HORTON, Acting Chief
of Adult Corrections; JAMES T. VAUGHN, Com-
missioner of Department of Corrections; WALTER
W. REDMAN, Superintendent of Delaware Correc-
tional Center

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES District CouRT
FOR THE DistTRiCT OF DELAWARE

(D.C. Civ. No. 74-210)

Argued December 11, 1978
Before: Grppons, VAN DuseEN, ROSENN, Circuit Judges

Argued Before Court In Banc November 8, 1979
Before: Sertz, Chief Judge, ALpisERT, ADAMS, GIBBONS,
RosENN, HunTER, Weis, GARTH, HIGGINBOTHAM,
SLoviTER, Circuit Judges

(Opinion filed March 24, 1980)

7%

A4 Court of Appeals Opinion

ARLEN B. MEKLER, ESQUIRE (Argued)
1700 Farmers Bank Building
Tenth and Market Streets
Wilmington, Delaware 19801
Attorney for Appellant

JOHN A. PARKINS, JR. (Argued)

Assistant Attorney General

Department of Justice

State Office Building

820 French Street

Wilmington, Delaware 19801
Attorney for Appellee

OPINION OF THE COURT.

ROsENN, Circuit Judge

This appeal requires us to determine whether cer-
tain Delaware prison officials violated an inmate’s con-
stitutional rights when, because of their fear of adverse
public reaction and legislative reprisals against the prison
system, they denied his applications for work release.

Following the denial of his work release applications,
the inmate, Thomas H. Winsett, brought a civil rights ac-
tion in the United States District Court for the District of
Delaware under 42 U. S. C. § 1983 (1976) and the four-
teenth amendment to the federal constitution. In this
action, Winsett sought compensatory and punitive dam-
ages as well as injunctive and declaratory relief. The
prayer for injunctive relief, inter alia, sought to restrain
the prison officials from considering possible public reac-
tion and possible reprisal by the Delaware General Assem-
bly when evaluating his future applications for admission
to the program. Following a lengthy trial, the district
court rejected Winsett’s claims and entered judgment in
favor of the defendants. This appeal followed.

Court of Appeals Opinion fete

We conclude that the request for injunctive relief is
moot; that Winsett’s prayer for damages is permissible as
to two of the defendants, subject to certain findings to be
made by the district court concerning official immunity
and the measure of plaintiff's injury; and that his request
for declaratory relief, insofar as it is a predicate to dam-
ages, should be granted if the trial court finds that dam-
ages may be awarded. Accordingly, the district court
judgment will be vacated in part, reversed in part, and
remanded for further proceedings not inconsistent with
this opinion.

I,

Winsett was convicted in 1964 and sentenced to life
imprisonment for the felony murder of Robert Paris, a
Delaware State Police Officer. The killing aroused a per-
vasive public outrage throughout the state.’ As certain
prison officials would later put it, “Winsett [was] singled
out for more public and political attention than other in-
mates we know of [,] even those whose crimes were more
serious... .”

Winsett was duly confined in the Delaware Correc-
tional Center to begin his sentence. During the next ten
years leading up to the initiation of this litigation, Win-
sett was a model prisoner. He pursued courses in heating
and air conditioning, did maintenance work for the prison,
wrote weekly articles about prison life in a prison news-
paper, and got along well with other inmates and officers.
On September 16, 1974, believing himself to be sufficiently
rehabilitated to adjust to life outside the prison, Winsett
requested classification to work release status. 425 F.Supp.
at 610. Work release is a program by which prisoners are
permitted to maintain employment in the community

1. See Winsett v. McGinnes, 443 F. Supp. 1369, 1369-70 (D.

Del. “gui Winsett v. McGinnes, 425 F. Supp. 609, 610 (D. Del.
1976).

A6 Court of Appeals Opinion

while still under correctional supervision. Releasees return
to a correctional institution or a residential center after
the completion of each workday. The work release pro-
gram in Delaware is governed by 11 Del. C. § 6533(a).
That section, at the time of Winsett’s initial application,
provided:

(a) The Department may adopt rules and regu-
lations governing the employment or education of
trustworthy inmates outside the institution . . . ex-
cept that whenever the Department requests place-
ment of inmates in a school of a reorganized school
district, the approval of the board of education of
that district shall be a prerequisite to such place-
ment...”

Pursuant to this statutory authority, the Delaware De-
partment of Corrections adopted a set of rules, also appli-
cable at the time of Winsett’s September, 1974 applica-
tion for work release.’ Together, the statute and the

2. This section was somewhat revised by an Act of August 5,
1976, 60 Del. Laws, c. 705, codified in 11 Del. C. §§ 6533(a),
6533A. The changes do not affect the disposition of this case.

3. The rules in effect at that time were entitled “Criteria and
Procedure fur Statewide Work Education Release.” They pro-
vided:

I. Basic Criteria, All Institutions:

1. Written one year of release or parole eligibility date.

2. Demonstrated interest in personal improvement; prog-
ress toward increased maturity and self understanding. This
will be evaluated on basis of inmate’s work habits, program
participation and general adjustment.

II. Basic Procedures:

1. Written application is submitted by inmate, following

— it is considered by and must be approved successively

y:
a. Classification team
b. Work/education release staff
c. Superintendent

Court of Appeals Opinion A7

rules established a vital rehabilitative system, one which
the Delaware Division of Adult Corrections has acknowl-
edged as among “the final steps in . . . provid[ing] treat-
ment and training of inmates with an end result of their
being ‘able to take their place in society as law-abiding
citizens upon their release.”

Approval for work release requires the concurrence
of three levels of decisionmakers. A prisoner must first
apply to an appropriate “classification team.” In Win-
sett's case, this first level review was carried out by the
Minimum Security Building Classification Team. That

3. (Cont'd. )
III. Variations:
1. Delaware Correctional Center
a. Applicant must be assigned to Minimum Building
before he can apply.
b. Application is made to the Minimum Classification
team first, then to the Institutional Classification Team.
2. Sussex Correctional Institution
Classification Committee makes final decision.

3. Women’s Correctional Institution
No variation from basic.

IV. Specific Criteria for Admission to Plummer Center:
1. Six months to parole eligibility or release.

2. Sufficient experience in the work/education release pro-
gram at the institution to have demonstrated a stable, depend-
able work and adjustment record.

3. Family or personal history associated with Wilmington
area,

4. A score of at least 34 points on the scoring tool used by
Plummer Center.

5. Approval by the Director, the Superintendent of the
institution, and the State Work Release Supervisor in the case
of any inmate with a sex crime or crime of violence.

Norte: Exceptions can be made to all of the above procedures.
Exceptions must be approved by the Superintendent and Super-
visor for Work/Education Release. If there is a conflict between
these two, it is to be resolved by a committee of the Superin-
tendent. State Supervisor for Work/Education Release, and
Assistant Director for Community Services.

"Ss

A8 Court of Appeals Opinion

team approved his application for work release. Its
recommendation was then forwarded to the so-called In-
stitution Classification Committee which also approved
Winsett's application. 433 F. Supp. at 1370; 425 F. Supp.
at 610.

As Winsett’s application was working its way up to
Superintendent Raymond W. Anderson for his final ap-
proval, public opposition to granting work release to
Winsett became increasingly evident. One manifesta-
tion of this growing opposition was an August 7, 1974
letter addressed to Delaware Correctional Center Super-
intendent Anderson and written by Delaware State Sen-
ator Cicione. The letter strongly condemned what the
Senator believed to be Anderson’s intention to prepare
Winsett for work release. “As a State Senator,” the au-
thor declared, “I demand that you reconsider and retract
the actions already taken and take immediate steps to re-
turn Winsett to the ranks of regular prison restrictions.”

The letter elicited an equally strong response from
Superintendent Anderson. On August 8, 1974, more
than a month before Winsett applied for work release,
defendant Anderson wrote the Senator, informing him
that “as long as I am Superintendent of the institution, I
shall never be able to entertain any requests from Tom
[Winsett] in regards to Work Release... .” The Senator
“greatly appreciated” this response and “commend|ed
Anderson] for [his] stand on not allowing Mr. Winsett to
participate in the work-release program.” On September
26, 1974, Superintendent Anderson rejected Winsett’s
application for work release.

Thereupon, on October 15, 1974, Winsett initiated
this action. He alleged that the defendants’ decision was
predicated on the “sensitivity” of his offense, and charged
that such a factor is “a legally impermissible” basis for

Court of Appeals Opinion A9

evaluating work release applications.. Winsett proceeded
against F. Earl McGinnes, Secretary of the Delaware De-
partment of Health and Social Services, Paul W. Keve,
Director of the Delaware Division of Adult Corrections
and later Acting Commissioner of the Delaware Depart-
ment of Corrections, Raymond W. Anderson, Superintend-
ent of the Correctional Center, and Donald Davis, Deputy
Superintendent of the Delaware Correctional Center.‘

While this action was pending in the trial court,
Winsett applied a second and third time for work release.
His second application, filed in early March of 1976, was
approved by both the Minimum Security Building Clas-
sification Team and the Institution Classification Com-
mittee. However, Milton Horton, then Assistant Director
of the Adult Division, recommended that Winsett’s “ap-
plication be deferred until [a] decision on [the] transfer”
was made.* Paul Keve, who was Acting Commissioner of
the Department of Corrections at the time, agreed and
the application was deferred, but was formally recorded
as a denial.

Winsett filed his third and final application for work
release in November, 1976. Again he was approved by
the Minimum Security Building Classification Team and
the Institution Classification Committee. A third com-
mittee, newly created by the General Assembly and-en——-—-----
titled the Institutional Release Classification Board, also

4. Defendants’ motion for a directed verdict as to F. Earl
McGinnes and Donald R. Davis was granted at the close of the

plaintiffs case. 443 F. Supp. at 1 n. 1. Winsett has not
appealed that disposition.

5. See 443 F. Supp. at 1370. The “transfer” referred to by
Horton was a project, ultimately unsuccessful, that Keve had been
developing for several months. Essentially, Keve had hoped to
work out a contract with the Corrections Department of the State
of Minnesota under which the interstate transfer of certain inmates
could be accomplished. It was felt that this project would be
especially suitable for Winsett.

Al0 Court of Appeals Opinion

approved Winsett’s application. The application was
vetoed, however, by Milton Horton, now Assistant Bu-
reau Chief of Adult Correction. Horton advanced three
reasons for his veto decision: (1) the seriousness of the
offense; (2) the lack of a certified parole release date.
which he believed was required by the existing guide-
lines; and (3) Winsett’s previous history of model con-
duct during incarceration in other institutions for offenses
committed prior to the Paris murder, and that his good
conduct during his present incarceration should therefore
be given less weight. This veto was approved by then
Commissioner James T. Vaughn.

Following the denials of Winsett’s second and third
applications for work release, additional defendants Mil-
ton Horton, James Vaughn, and Superintendent Walter
W. Redman were joined in the action. On December
30, 1976, the district court, in a preliminary jurisdictional
ruling, held that plaintiff's request for injunctive relief,
insofar as it sought his immediate admission to work re-
lease, would be denied. 425 F. Supp. at 613. The court
based its ruling on the Supreme Court’s decision in
Preiser v. Rodriguez, 411 U. S. 475 (1973), which held
that “when a state prisoner is challenging the very fact
or duration of his physical imprisonment, and the relief
he seeks is a determination that he is entitled to immedi-
ate release or a speedier release from that imprisonment,
his sole federal remedy is a writ of habeas corpus[,]” with

‘

6. There is no record of any motion by Winsett to join these
defendants, and the testimony at trial indicates that the partici-
pated only in their official capacities. We will assume that these
defendants were joined as subsequent prison officials as to whom
injunctive or declaratory relief, barring similar decisions in the
future, might be applicable. Because of our disposition of Win-
sett’s plea for equilnhle relief, however, see —_ at 11-12 and note
11, our consideration of these defendants as formal parties has no
effect on their or anyone else’s liability.

Court of Appeals Opinion All

the attendant requirement of exhaustion of state reme-
dies. 411 U. S. at 500. Winsett has not appealed from
that decision. The court also held that Winsett’s claims
for damages, and for declaratory relief as a predicate to
damages, could be entertained on the merits. 425 F.
Supp. at 612-13. Implicitly, the court further held that,
insofar as Winsett’s plea for injunctive relief was intended
not to secure his immediate release but simply to prevent
the future application of impermissible standards in evalu-
ating his work release requests, that injunctive action
could be heard in a federal forum.

Winsett's case went to trial on July 21, 1977. At the
outset, his lawyer made clear that the primary objection
was to the allegedly impermissible standards used in re-
jecting Winsett’s applications for work release. Superin-
tendent Anderson acknowledged the correspondence
with Senator Cicione, and admitted that the Senator’s
Chairmanship of the Joint Finance Committee was a
matter of particular concern to the administration of the
corrections system. He also acknowledged that he had
been aware of the possibility that Paui Keve might not be
confirmed by the Senate, given its displeasure with the
prison system. Anderson was also examined with re-
spect to his answers to certain interrogatories which
seemed to indicate that his rejection of Winsett’s initial
application was influenced primarily by public pressure
in general and the complaints of “[t]he State Police and
certain Senators” in particular.

Appellee Keve’s testimony was even more revealing.
The Legislature, Keve noted, had given the corrections
department certain privileges pertaining to programs such
as work release and furloughs and had amply demon-
strated to him “its readiness very quickly to withdraw
such privileges . . . whenever there was disappointment

Al2 Court of Appeals Opinion

on their part with the way that the Department exer-
cised these.” Keve saw his role as one of protecting the
“inmate population as a whole” where their privileges
might be jeopardized by actions taken in a particular
case. Although he did not think that his rejection of
Winsett’s second application was influenced by the Leg-
islature’s possible refusal to confirm him as Commis-
sioner, he admitted that he was conscious of this hazard.
However, he satisfied himself that he adhered to deci-
sions which he conscientiously regarded “as right and
best for the Department rather than those decisions
which simply would protect my job.”

Keve acknowledged that if he had taken steps toward
granting Winsett work release, relations between the
prison system and the legislative leadership would have
suffered.’ Indeed, he noted, the rejection of Winsett’s
second application had nothing at all to do with the
existing eligibility criteria. Rather, it was the result of
“intense legislative pressure.” Had it not been for this
pressure, Keve admitted, Winsett would have gone on
work release. Although this pressure apparently was not
formal legislative action, it was very difficult for him to

7. With respect to tensions in the summer of 1976 between the
Department and legislative leadership, Keve testified:

9 No. I am saying that were you to take steps which
would have been positive with respect to Tom Winsett’s work
release, that it would have endangered or at least made more
difficult your relationships with the powers in the General

Assembly?

A. Yes, it would have. We were already having various
kinds of problems with the Legislature being very critical of
the Department's operation, I would say from, oh, very early
spring in 1976 right on through the summer. There were
efforts in the Senate while it was still in session up to the end
of June to make demands upon the Governor for my discharge,
for instance, and frequent calls for changes; and, as I said, at
the same time there were bills being pushed through the
Legislature to circumscribe our privilege of extending outside
status to inmates.

Court of Appeals Opinion Al3

take “any kind of decisive action in that particular job
without incurring some displeasure of somebody and
very, very frequently legislators.” He knew he could ex-
pect some “praise from one kind of legislator and inten-
sive criticism from another kind.” He therefore had to
weigh Winsett’s best interests and the effect of his release
on the overall program and other inmates.* The trial
court rendered its decision on January 31, 1978. It found
that the denials of Winsett’s first and second applications
for classification to work release “were motivated at least
in substantial part by prison officials’ concern about a
possible retaliation by the Delaware General Assembly.”
443 F. Supp. at 1371. In the case of the second denial,
the court was convinced that “Acting Commissioner Keve
believed that he had an alternative approach to work re-
lease which would better serve Winsett’s interests.” Id.
The court further found that the rejection of Winsett’s
third application “was not motivated by [a] concern with
possible retaliation by the General Assembly or by a
concern for public reaction.” Id.

8. Later in the examination of Commissioner Keve, the court
attempted to elicit from the witness precisely how great a factor
in his consideration of Winsett’s second application was the Legis-
lature’s intervention. Keve commented:

There is another factor, and in one sense you can say it is
a different factor and in another it is inseparable. . . . i
one I mentioned, the fact that if Mr. Winsett had been put
into work release, my assessment of his chances of le,
assuming he is still in Delaware, were such that I would have
to assume that he would be in a work release much longer
than what we would consider an optimum safe period of time
for a person to be in work release, and that certainly was a
factor that would reasonably give us much pause. t you
see, it is still related to the same basic background condition
because you ask, why was he probably not going to get parole
very soon, and it goes right back to the same things, the public
and legislative attitudes which the Parole Board also realis-
tically had to give much weight to.

Al4 Court of Appeals Opinion

Although it found the first two rejections to have
been largely the product of prison officials’ concern of
possible legislative retaliation, the trial court nevertheless
held that neither Winsett’s due process nor equal pro-
tection rights had been violated. To invoke a due process
claim, the court noted, a party must first establish that he
had a protectible interest. Surveying the work release
statute and the regulations promulgated thereunder, the
court rejected Winsett’s contention that they created a
vested law right to which due process should attach.

The trial court also rejected Winsett’s equal protec-
tion claim. It held that his failure to allege or prove any
class-based discrimination precluded recovery under the
Equal Protection Clause. Accordingly, although it ac-
knowledged the rather striking irregularities in the first
two refusals of his work release applications, the trial court
denied all of Winsett’s requests for relief,

Winsett appealed. On May 17, 1977, while the ap-
peal was pending, Winsett was granted parole with the
condition that he be transferred to a correctional institu-
tion in another state and serve four years in that institu-
tion prior to his release to parole supervision. On
November 16, 1978, Winsett was transferred to Kilby Cor-
rectional Facility near Montgomery, Alabama. As we ex-
plain in more detail below, this transfer measurably
changes the scope of available relief.

II.

We note at the outset that whatever may be the de-
fendants’ substantive liability, Winsett’s demands for in-
junctive relief is now moot. The only injunction sought
by Winsett in this appeal is one to restrain the defendants
from continuing to rely on allegedly impermissible criteria
in evaluating his future applications for work release.

Court of Appeals Opinion Al5

Because Winsett has now received a conditional parole,
is no longer subject to Delaware’s jurisdiction, and shows
no interest in returning,” his injunctive request no longer
implicates “an actual controversy . . . at [this] stage . . .
of review. ...” Steffel v. Thompson, 415 U. S. 452, 459
n. 10 (1974)."° There is no evidence on the record sug-
gesting that Winsett is currently harmed in any respect by
whatever legislative animosity influenced past evaluations
of his work release petitions. Cf. Super Tire Engineering
Co. v. McCorkle, 416 U. S. 115 (1974) (even though in-
junction was dissolved with the end of a strike, employers
still retained sufficient interests and injury to warrant dec-
laration that state welfare benefits plan for strikers was
invalid ); Carroll v. President & Commissioners of Princess
Anne, 393 U. S. 175, 178 (1968) (court decision continues
to affect official response to rally). Nor do we have any
reason to suppose that there may be future occasions on
which Winsett will again confront similar treatment. Cf.
Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. 1.C.C., 219 U. S. 498,
515 (1911) (short term orders of ICC are capable of
repetition, yet evading review). Furthermore, Winsett did
not file his complaint as a class action, in which the need
for injunctive relief often survives the mootness of the class
representative's interest. See, e.g., Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U. S.
393 (1975).

Winsett’s transfer to Alabama vitiates any need to en-
join the application of allegedly impermissible criteria in
his case, and because none of the exceptions to the tradi-
tional mootness doctrine is present, we will vacate the dis-
trict court’s disposition of plaintiff’ 6 injunctive claim and

{
9. Indeed, Winsett indicated to the examining psychiatrist that
he planned to return to Alabama once he was paroled because his
parents and siblings are located there.

10, See Note, The Mootness Doctrine in the Supreme Court,
88 Harv. L. Rev. 373, 374-77 (1974).

Al6 Court of Appeals Opinion

remand with a direction to dismiss." United States v.
Munsingwear, Inc., 340 U. S. 36, 39 (1950).

Ill.

Although Winsett’s claim for injunctive relief is now
mooted, his claims for damages, and for declaratory relief
as a predicate to damages, are not. Although he has not
demonstrated that the threatened application of impermis-
sible criteria poses any likelihood of ongoing or prospective
harm, it is conceivable that past applications may give
rise to damages. For example, prison officials acknowl-
edged at trial that work release may favorably affect an
inmate's chances for an early parole. In addition, work
release is a source of wages for the working inmate.
Where such claims remain, the foreclosure of injunctive
relief does not moot a party’s entire clause of action.2 We
therefore turn to Winsett’s substantive attack on the al-
legedly impermissible criteria applied in his applications
for work release.

A. Due Process

Winsett argues in this court, as he did in the district
court, that the Delaware Department of Correction, by
establishing a work release program and by promulgat-
ing standards for its administration, created a protectible

11. Because Winsett’s suit tor injunctive relief must be va-
cated, there can be no liability assessed against defendants Horton,
Vaughn and Redman. See note 6 supra.

To the extent that Winsett’s claim for declaratory relief is also
addressed to the future application of impermissible criteria, the
disposition of that claim will also be vacated with similar instruc-
tions. Insofar as the pant A is simply a predicate to a
damage award, it survives this dismissal. Cf. Wolff v. McDonnell,
418 U. S. 539, 554-55 (1974) (declaratory judgment as a predicate
to a damage award survives dismissal of injunctive claim where
latter is held to be available only through a separate habeas corpus

proceeding ).
12. See Note, supra note 10, 88 Harv. L. Rev. at 373.

Court of Appeals Opinion Al7

state law interest in participation in the program by eligi-
ble inmates. He contends that the use of impermissible
criteria by the Department in denying him access to the
work release program denied him his right to “liberty”
guaranteed by the fourteenth amendment.

Winsett's due process claim has beth procedural and
substantive overtones. It is procedural in the sense that
the alleged use of impermissible criteria by the Depart-
ment denied Winsett of the process of work release ap-
plication review required under the Delaware regulations.
His due process claim is substantive in the sense that re-
gardless of any procedural rights, the application of
impermissible criteria deprived him, as contrasted with
other eligible inmates, of access to the work release pro-
gram. Regardless of whether Winsett’s due process claim
is substantive, procedural, or an amalgam of both, he must
have a protectible liberty or property interest in order to
invoke the protection of the fourteenth amendment. We
therefore first consider whether any protectible fourteenth
amendment interest is implicated in the Delaware work
release program.

It is well-settled that when a person is lawfully in-
carcerated for the conviction of a crime, that person’s
constitutional rights become circumscribed. Price v.
Johnston, 334 U. S. 266, 285 (1948). The Supreme
Court has been careful to indicate, however, that although
a prisoner's rights “may be diminished by the needs and
exigencies of the institutional environment, a prisoner
is not wholly stripped of constitutional protections when
he is imprisoned for crime. There is no iron curtain
drawn between the Constitution and the prisoners of this
country.” Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U. S. 539, 555-56
(1974).

Inasmuch as a prisoner’s liberty is most directly im-
plicated by his imprisonment, the Supreme Court has

Al8 Court of Appeals Opinion

struggled to define the extent of a prisoner's fourteenth
amendment liberty interest. The Court has been gener-
ally reluctant to find a constitutionally protected liberty
interest while a prisoner is still under actual confine-
ment.” In Meachum v. Fano, 427 U. S. 215 (1976), the
Court held that no protectible liberty interest was impli-
cated when prison authorities sought to transfer a pris-
oner from one facility to another. Most recently, in In-
mates of the Nebraska Penal Correctional Complex v.
Greenholtz, 442 U. S. 1, 99 S. Ct. 2100 (1979), the Court
held that no liberty interest was implicated by the mere
existence of a state parole system. Although the Court
had held in Morrisey v. Brewer, 408 U. S. 471 (1972)
that a liberty interest was implicated in parole revocation
procedures, the Court in Greenholtz drew a crucial dis-
tinction between parole revocation which deprives one
of the liberty one has and discretionary parole release
which denies a conditional liberty that one desires, 442
U. S. at 9-10. Thus, there is no constitutionally mandated
right to enter a discretionary parole release program.
Even if the Constitution is not the source of a pris-
oner'ss potential liberty interest in various aspects of his
confinement, the Supreme Court has been willing to ex-
tend fourteenth amendment protection when a state has
itself created a liberty interest in the form of a specific
guarantee. In Wolff, supra, the Nebraska legislature had
provided for a “good-time credit” system under which a
prisoner's sentence could be reduced for good behavior.
Under this system, good-time credits could only be for-
feited through “serious misconduct.” The Court held
that because the state created the right to good-time

13. The Court has been willing to find a cng 4 interest once
a prisoner has regained his freedom even though that freedom is
subject to revocation and circumscribed by conditions of parole.
See Morrisey v. Brewer, 408 U. S. 471 (1972) (liberty interest in

parole revocation ).
=

Court of Appeals Opinion Al9

credits which could only be removed if the prisoner en-
gaged in serious misconduct, “the prisoner’s interest has
real substance and is sufficiently embraced within Four-
teenth Amendment ‘liberty’ to entitle him to those mini-
mum procedures appropriate under the circumstances
and required by the Due Process Clause to insure that
the state-created right is not arbitrarily abrogated.” 418
U. S. at 557. Indeed, the Court’s non-recognition in
Meachum of a constitutional liberty interest in prison
transfers must be viewed in light of the absence of any
state-created right to remain in the prison of original com-
mitment. See 427 U. S. at 226-27.

But the Court in Greenholtz acknowledged that al-
though there was no constitutionally cognizable liberty
interest in access to a discretionary parole system, “the
expectancy of release provided for in [the Nebraska pa-
role] statute” may be entitled to some measure of consti-
tutional protection. 442 U. S. at 12. The Court cau-
tioned, however, that the existence of a statutorily created
liberty interest depends upon the statutory language and
“must be decided on a case by case basis.” Id.

From this review of Supreme Court precedent, it be-
comes evident that Winsett’s claim of a liberty interest in
participation in the Delaware work release program must
be grounded either in the Constitution or in the statutorily-
set schema for work release in Delaware. Winsett does
not press for a constitutionally-based liberty interest in
work release. He also concedes that the language of 11
Del. C. § 6533 does not create a protected interest en-
titling him to participate in the work release program.
The fundament of his claim is the set of regulations
promulgated by the Department to implement the basic
legislative grant of authority to create a work release pro-
gram. It is this set of comprehensive regulations which
Winsett claims creates the liberty interest subject to four-
teenth amendment protection.

A20 Court of Appeals Opinion

Initially, we do not believe that Winsett’s concession
that the statute itself does not create the state-created
right is fatal to his case, for we believe the right may be
established in the regulations implementing the statute.
In Durso v. Rowe, 579 F. 2d 1365 (7th Cir. 1978), cert.
denied, 439 U. S. 1121 (1979), the Seventh Circuit, al-
though declining to find a liberty interest in a work re-
lease statute, nevertheless held that if the prisoner could
establish as a matter of practice that his work release
program would not be revoked absent a rule violation, he
had an interest protected by due process. Id. at 1371.
Therefore, under Durso, the Due Process Clause may be
triggered in a work release program not only by statu-
torily created rights but also by official policies or prac-
tices. This is precisely the basis of Winsett’s argument.
We must therefore turn to the regulations governing work
release in Delaware to ascertain if they have created a
protectible liberty interest.

The district court in the instant case declined to find
a state-created liberty interest because, even though
Winsett met all the criteria for eligibility, it believed that
the work release statute and regulations did not deprive
the program of its “essentially discretionary character.”
443 F. Supp. at 1373. Although it acknowledged Winsett
did meet all the criteria for work release but was denied
work release status by the exercise of the prison officials’
discretion, the court concluded Winsett never had any
state-created entitlement to work release. We disagree.

The work release statute and the regulations envision
the grant of work release when a prisoner meets certain
eligibility criteria and the prison authorities, exercising
their sound discretion, concur that work release is appro-
priate. The presence of discretion on the part of the
prison authorities in the work release program does not
negate the possibility that a state-created entitlement to

_

Court of Appeals Opinion A21

work release may exist, because we do not view the prison
authorities’ discretion as absolute. If the prison authori-
ties could by the arbitrary exercise of discretion deny a
work release application to a prisoner even though he met
all eligibility requirements, then any entitlement to work
release would be illusory rather than real. The trial
court apparently perceived the discretion vested in the
Delaware prison authorities as unbridled, rendering any
claim of entitlement to work release an illusion. We are
not persuaded, however, that the Superintendent's discre-
tion under the state regulations in granting work release is
as boundless as the trial court believed.

The authority of the Department of Corrections to
adopt regulations governing work release stems from the
work release statute, 11 Del. C. § 6533(a). Although the
trial court may be correct that the regulations adopted do
not exhaust the criteria pertinent to a decision whether
or not to grant work release, it is by no means clear that
the Superintendent may, under the rules, invoke any cri-
terion he chooses. First, the state has established an
elaborate institutional system for processing work release
applications, a system that at various times has included
at least two and sometimes three separate committees
whose recommendations were forwarded to the Superin-
tendent. We cannot believe that those committees,
whose function apparently involved making rather de-
tailed evaluations of inmates’ fitness for work release,
were intended to be overridden for any reason chosen by
the Superintendent, however unrelated to the statutory
purpose of section 6533.

More critically, 11 Del. C. § 6533(a), under which
the regulations were promulgated, is itself subordinate
to section 6531, which sets forth the programs—includ-
ing work—which the Commissioner must establish and

A22 Court of Appeals Opinion

the purposes those programs must serve. That section
provides, in pertinent part:

Persons committed to the institutional care of
the Department shall be dealt with humanely, with
effort directed to their rehabilitation, to effect their
return to the community as safely and promptly as
practicable. The Commissioner shall establish the
following programs, and may establish others: Edu-
cation, including vocational training; work; case work
counselling and psychotherapy; library and religious
services; commissary; and shall institute procedures
for the study of classification of inmates for these
purposes.

The regulations promulgated under section 6533 (a )
must thus satisfy the broad dictates of section 6531:
“humane” treatment, “rehabilitation,” and “return to the
community as safely and promptly as practicable.” Thus,
these are benchmarks which delineate the perimeters of
the Superintendent's exercise of discretion, unlike
Meachum v. Fano, supra, where the discretion to trans-
fer under state law was absolute. Here, the “regulations
imposed on the Superintendent indicate that discretion
may be exercised only within established parameters.”
Tracy v. Salomack, 572 F. 2d 393 (2d Cir. 1978).

The trial court correctly noted that some other rel-
evant considerations—among which it included the prog-
nosis for the inmate’s behavioral adjustment, the risk of
flight, and the inmate’s personal safety—are not specified
in the regulations. But those were not the considerations
which the trial court found to have motivated the prison
officials in evaluating Winsett’s first two applications.
Had they been, they could certainly have been justified
as consistent with the policies of section 6531. Instead,

Court of Appeals Opinion A23

the underlying reason for the adverse decisions on Win-
sett’s applications was a lurking fear that an approval
would possibly invoke unfavorable public reaction and
legislative reprisal. This fear was sparked by communica-
tion from one or more of the legislators. Although these
reasons may have significance in the broad administra-
tion of a prison system, no place has been provided for
their consideration in the exercise of discretion whether
to grant or deny a prisoner work release under the regu-
latory provisions.

The trial court’s reasoning, which apparently would
limit protectible interests solely to those which can be
described as vested rights, effectively arrogates to the
States the power to devise both the interests protectible
by due process and the process which is due. Thus, in
the trial court’s view, whenever a State conditions an
otherwise protectible interest on the outcome of a highly
discretionary process, however arbitrary and inadequate
in practice, the interest is defeasible and not entitled to
due process safeguards. Such a construction of the rel-
evant law is unacceptable. Meachum v. Fano, supra,
does not entail such a construction. There, after all, the
Court noted that there was no state statutory predicate
whatsoever for the right to remain in one prison until
certain specified events occurred. Thus, however vital to
an inmate’s interests was the desire to remain in one
prison, there was no state-sponsored expectation inter-
est which due process would protect.

In Delaware, there are specific criteria for work re-
lease which we believe if met, give rise to a liberty inter-
est in work release. Although discretion is vested in the
prison authorities to grant or deny work release, that dis-
cretion must be exercised consistently with the purpose
and policy behind work release. We hold that a state-

A24 Court of Appeals Opinion

created liberty interest in work release arises when a pris-
oner meets all eligibility requirements under the state
regulations and the exercise of the prison authorities’ dis-
cretion is consistent with work release policy. We con-
clude that Winsett had a protectible liberty interest in
work release because he met all eligibility criteria under
the Delaware regulations and the considerations influenc-
ing the discretionary denial of work release, namely con-
cern for public reaction and fear of legislative reprisals,
were outside the legitimate bounds of the prison officials’
discretionary power. In other words, had they acted
within the permissible scope of their discretion, Winsett
would have been granted work release. To hold otherwise,
would mean that the state-created interest in work release
for eligible prisoners could be overriden simply by the
prison officials’ abuse of discretion. We therefore conclude
that Winsett had a liberty interest protectible under the
fourteenth amendment’s guarantee of due process.

Having concluded that Winsett has a protectible state-
created interest in work release, we must now consider
whether its denial could have violated the fourteenth
amendment’s guarantee of due process. Winsett’s argu-
ment is primarily substantive in nature. The consideration
of impermissible criteria, fear of public outcry and legisla-
tive reprisal, brought different treatment to Winsett than
any other applicant to the work release program. We,
however, perceive Winsett’s argument as more properly im-
plicating procedural due process rights. If the prison of-
ficials considered the extraneous criteria of public opinion
and legislative reaction, the normal procedure for consider-
ing work release applications was distorted to Winsett’s
detriment. Under the work release program, the applicant
is entitled to have his application approved if all eligibility
criteria are met and the prison authorities approve the ap-
plication. If the authorities do not properly exercise their

Court of Appeals Opinion A25

discretion, the process due under the work release program
is denied.

We believe that Winsett has made out a case of dep-
rivation of his procedural due process rights in the denial
of his first two work release applications. The district
court found, as we have previously noted, that Winsett’s
first and second applications for work release were re-
jected, at least, in substantial part by prison officials be-
cause of a fear of legislative reprisals against the prison
system as a whole. The State of Delaware does not con-
tend that these findings were clearly erroneous. We can
only conclude that in considering the extraneous criteria,
Superintendent Anderson and Commissioner Keve violated
the procedure to be accorded Winsett’s work release ap-
plication, and that Winsett has a cause of action against
them for the alleged deprivation of procedural due
process.”*

14. The dissent would allow public opinion to enter into the
administrative decisionmaking process as a permissible and even
a element in granting or denying work release by prison
officials. Dissenting opinion typescript at pp. 9-12. Under the
dissent’s thesis, prison officials could legitimately consider in the
exercise of their discretion what they perceive may be public
reaction, regardless of its lack of bearing on the prisoner’s quali-
fications for participation in work release under the established
state steadied, Such form of decisionmaking could be dangerous
to and destructive of procedural due process. Public opinion
against a prisoner could be orchestrated on notes and chords as
discordant as race, creed, ethnic background, labor activities,
political views, or other factors having no pertinence to a prisoner’s
rehabilitative progress and fitness to participate in a work release
program.

We do not deny that society has a legitimate interest in insur-
ing the punishment of crime, especially serious felonies. But
society also recognizes that more often than not there is a terminal
point to retribution and that it should, as Delaware has done, con-
cern itself with the rehabilitation and return of the prisoner to a
productive role in the community. When a state undertakes to
provide a work release program for the rehabilitation of its prison-
ers, some degree of imprecision in determining the eligibility of
the candidates may be tolerated. But when discrepant treatment

A26 Court of Appeals Opinion

B. Equal Protection

The trial court rejected plaintiff's equal protection at-
tack on the criteria applied to his work release requests.
It did so on the ground that Winsett did not allege a
class-based discrimination. Because we have found those
criteria impermissible on due process grounds, we express
no views on Winsett’s equal protection contentions.

IV. Official Immunity

Because the district court found that no constitutional
rights were violated, it did not have occasion to reach the
issue of the applicability of the good faith immunity de-
fense to Commissioner Keve and Superintendent Anderson.
The defendants contend that even if this court finds that
Winsett’s constitutional rights were violated, we may not
assess damages against Commissioner Keve. Relying on
the Supreme Court’s decisions in Wood v. Strickland, 420
U. S. 308 (1975), and Procunier v. Navarette, 434 U. S.
555 (1978), defendants argue that Commissioner Keve en-
joys an official immunity from recoveries in damages.
They also observe that should we find Superintendent An-
derson liable, we must remand to the district court for find-
ings as to Anderson’s possible immunity. Because the
district court made no findings as to either Keve or Ander-
son’s immunity, we believe it necessary to remand the case
to the district court.

14. (Cont'd. )

between prisoners is purposeful and participation in work release
is daniel to one prisoner only because of the Superintendent's
amorphous perception of public opinion, then the laudable pur-
poses of a structured program are skewed by a basic lack of fair-
ness. If work release for a prisoner is not determined solely on
the basis of the statutory and regulatory criteria established by
the state but may also depend upon what may be perceived public
reaction to it, these extraneous considerations can cut both ways.
Not only can worthy work release applications be thereby denied
but similar influences may compel admittance to the program of
undesirable and unqualified applicants.

Court of Appeals Opinion A27

In Wood v. Strickland, supra, the Supreme Court

recognized a qualified immunity for school board mem-
bers. The Court held that

a school board member is not immune from liability
for damages unJer § 1983 if he knew or reasonably
should have known that the action he took within
his sphere of official responsibility would violate the
constitutional rights of the student affected, or if he
took the action with the malicious intention to cause
a deprivation of constitutional rights or other injury
to the student.

420 U. S. at 322. More recently, in Procunier v.
Navarette, supra, the Court applied Wood to an inmate’s
§ 1983 damage action against prison officials. It also
made clear that Wood established two separate grounds
for rejecting official immunity in a particular case. First,
the Court stated:

[T]he immunity defense would be unavailing to
petitioners if the constitutional right allegedly in-
fringed by them was clearly established at the time
of their challenged conduct, if they knew or should
have known of that right and if they knew or should
have known that their conduct violated the consti-
tutional norm.

434 U. S. at 562.

On remand, the district court should consider
whether, even though we have found the denial of work
release by defendants Anderson and Keve to be constitu-
tionally infirm, they are entitled to the benefit of good
faith immunity for actions of officials when they are
sued for damages pursuant to section 1983. In that con-
nection, it clearly will be relevant for the court to con-

A28 Court of Appeals Opinion

sider whether the interest which they violated was “clearly
established at the time of their challenged conduct,” and
whether there were any other factors which could have
given them reason to know that their conduct was con-
stitutionally defective.

The second branch of the Wood decision authorizes
liability when the official has acted with “malicious in-
tention” to deprive the plaintiff of a constitutional right
or to cause him “other injury.” Procunier, supra, 434
U. S. at 566. “This part of the rule,” the Court has ob-
served, “speaks of ‘intentional injury, contemplating that
the author intends the consequences of his conduct.”
Id. The court will also need to_consider whether its find-
ing that “Commissioner Keve believed that he had an al-
ternative approach to work release which would better
serve Winsett's interests,” 443 F. Supp. at 1371, should
shield him from liability under the second branch of the
Wood formulation of good faith immunity. The record
amply corroborates Keve’s efforts to obtain for Winsett a
transfer to the Corrections Department in Minnesota, a
transfer which he expressly believed would result in an
‘earlier, and safer, parole. Although Winsett may well
have been injured through a loss of earnings and a denial
of early parole, the record may preclude a finding on
remand that Commissioner Keve acted maliciously toward
Winsett.

We agree with the defendants that the case must be
remanded to the trial court for findings as to possible
malice on the part of Superintendent Anderson. Winsett
does not challenge this suggestion. We believe that
there is ample evidence in the record from which the
district court may make the requisite findings with re-
spect to the applicability of the good faith immunity de-
fense and that there is no requirement to adduce any ad-

Court of Appeals Opinion A29

ditional testimony. Accordingly, we will remand the case
to the district court in order that it make the requisite
findings as to Anderson’s liability in damages under the
malice test articulated in Wood.

V. Proof of Actual Damages

Because it believed that the defendants’ rejection of
Winsett's work release applications violated none of his
constitutional rights, the trial court had no occasion to
assess what damages Winsett may properly collect. On
remand, the trial court, if it finds Anderson and Keve li-
able, shall ascertain the appropriate measure of damages.

VI. Conclusion

We are not unmindful that sixteen years ago, Winsett
was found guilty of the wanton slaying of a Delaware
State Police officer. The public outrage generated by that
murder apparently has not yet subsided. However, the
strength of our legal system is the recognition of the right
of all American residents to have their individual cause—
even though it be merely an interest in a rehabilitation
process—considered on its merits. The right to due
process is fundamental in our legal system and must, of
necessity, preclude consideration of impermissible reasons.
Due process may not be sacrificed because of public out- °
rage and blinding passions of society. Public outrage may
at times perform a useful function in our society, but it
serves no purpose in fairly and objectively judging the
merits of a person for access to a rehabilitation program.

Accordingly, the judgment of the district court will
be reversed insofar as it dismisses Winsett’s action for
damages against Superintendent Anderson and Commis-
sioner Keve, affirmed insofar as it dismissed Winsett’s
damage claim against Commissioner Vaughn, Superin-

A30 Court of Appeals Opinion

tendent Redman, and Assistant Bureau Chief Horton, and
in the denial of injunctive relief on the ground of moot-
ness. The case will be remanded for further proceedings
not inconsistent with this opinion.

Each side to bear its own costs.

Weis, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

I would affirm the judgment of the district court.
The case is now reduced to a damage suit against two
individuals, Anderson and Keve, resting on two separate
incidents, Anderson’s rejection of Winsett’s application
for work release in 1974, and Keve’s veto in 1976. Al-
though the liability theory underlying each is the same,
it is desirable to treat the claims against the defendants
separately. I believe the record requires a conclusion
that Keve is entitled to official immunity and that the
plaintiff has not established a claim against Anderson.

A court should not decide a constitutional question
if the record supports some other ground that would
obviate the need to make such a determination. Ash-
wander v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 297 U. S. 288, 347
(1936) (Brandeis, J., concurring). In my view, it is
consistent with this policy to decide a case, when possible,
on the basis of immunity, and I therefore apply that ra-
tionale to Keve’s case. As to Anderson and the 1974 in-
cident, however, the findings of the district court are not
sufficient to support a decision on immunity at this point.
Thus, it is necessary to address the constitutional issue
in his case. Although this prevents complete avoidance
of the constitutional question, deciding Keve’s immunity,
confines the liberty interest inquiry to Anderson’s case.

Court of Appeals Opinion A3l
I

I would not remand the case to the district court for
specific findings on the immunity of defendant Keve. I
agree that the guidelines discussed by the court, particu-
larly the two-step analysis set out in Procunier v. Navar-
ette, 434 U. S. 555 (1978), are the considerations that
apply. In my view, however, the record is adequate
to make the determination in this court. For example, in
Reese v. Nelson, 598 F. 2d 822 (3d Cir. 1979), we ana-
lyzed the record in a case submitted to a jury and found
that the evidence required a finding of immunity as a
matter of law. Here, by contrast, the task of evaluating
the immunity issue is less complex because we have the
benefit of the district judge’s findings and opinion.

The first step is to decide whether a clearly estab-
lished constitutional right should have been apparent to
Keve in 1976. That assumes, of course, that such a con-
stitutional right exists, a premise I accept only arguendo.
The majority opinion does not cite any cases handed
down before 1976 even arguably close to the circum-
stances present here, nor has my research uncovered any
such authority. No Supreme Court case to that date
had discussed the subject of conditional release eligibility,
nor were there any opinions of this court holding that
such an interest was protectible. Accordingly, there is
nothing to demonstrate that the interest that Keve argu-
ably violated was “clearly established at the time of [the]
challenged conduct.” Procunier v>’Navarette, supra at
562. Because he could not reasonably have been expected
to be aware of a constitutional right that had not yet
been judicially declared, Keve did not act in disregard of
established law.

The second inquiry of the immunity analysis is sub-
jective—whether the defendant acted with malicious

A32 Court of Appeals Opinion

intent to cause a deprivation of constitutional rights or
other injury to the plaintiff. Stated inversely, “The offi-
cial himself must be acting sincerely and with a belief
that he is doing right... .” Wood v. Strickland, 420 U. S.
308, 321 (1975).

The trial court credited Keve’s testimony that be-
cause of the likely public and legislative reaction to the
plaintiff's work release status. Winsett faced far more
hazards than other inmates. Under these circumstances,
it was more feasible to secure parole or work release after
a transfer to another state, and Keve was negotiating
such a transfer at the time he disapproved Winsett’s ap-
plication. The court said, “In the case of the second
denial, I am convinced Acting Commissioner Keve be-
lieved that he had an alternative approach to work release
which would better serve Winsett’s interests.” Winsett v.
McGinnes, 443 F. Supp. 1369, 1371 (D. Del. 1978). This
finding belies any inference of malice on the part of de-
fendant Keve and satisfies the subjective test of sincerity
and a “belief that he is doing right.” Having met both
phases of the immunity test. Keve is entitled to the judg-
ment entered in his favor by the district court.

II
A

Since Anderson’s conduct occurred two years before
Keve's, it is even more apparent that the former meets
the requirements under the first phase of the immunity
inquiry. But I cannot complete the second step in the
analysis because the district court did not make any find-
ings on Anderson’s subjective intent, and the record does
not support appellate resolution of this question.

Anderson did testify that he declined to approve the
work release application because he feared for Winsett’s

Court of Appeals Opinion A33

safety. This apprehension was the result of at least one
telephone call to the prison threatening harm to Winsett
if he were put on work release. Anderson attributed the
threats to public reaction fueled by press reports, letters
to the editor, and the opposition of the state police. The
defendant bore Winsett no animosity and said that some
years earlier he had offered use of his home to Winsett as
a place to visit his son on Christmas Day. Indeed, in
1976, Anderson appeared in Winsett’s behalf before the
Parole Board to urge an out-of-state parole. The defend-
ant testified that his job was protected by the merit sys-
tem and denied that he succumbed to pressure from the
state senator in Winsett’s case.

Although Anderson’s testimony would support a find-
ing that he acted in subjective good faith, I do not have
the benefit of the trial judge’s credibility determinations
and, consequently, cannot pass upon the defendant’s im-
munity at this point.’ I therefore turn to the issue of the
alleged constitutional violation.

B

I start with the assumption that a discretionary
work release program and discretionary parole system
basically require the same analysis to determine if there
is a protectible interest that invokes due process stand-
ards. The majority’s reference to Greenholtz v. Inmates
of the Nebraska Penal Correctional Complex, 442 U. S. 1
(1979), leads me to believe that there is no disagreement
between us on that score. We part company on whether
the circumstances warrant finding that Winsett had a

1, Winsett was not the only person who was denied work re-
lease after public outcry. Norman Parson, who had been con-
victed of the attempted rape and brutal murder of a young girl,
also alleged that because of intense public resentment he had been
denied furloughs and work release. See Parson v. Keve, 413 F.
Supp. 111 (D. Del. 1976).

'*

A34 Court of Appeals Opinion

state-created liberty interest in an expectancy of work
release status. In my view, the majority's conclusion is
contrary to the Court’s holding in Greenholtz.

In that case the Supreme Court addressed the ques-
tion, whether due process applies to discretionary parole-
released determinations. Initially the opinion noted that
decisions of the executive branch, especially with respect
to the “sensitive choices” to grant parole, “however seri-
ous their impact, do not automatically invoke due process
protection.” 442 U. S. at 7. The “public-interest pur-
poses of rehabilitation and deterrence” may prompt the
state to be either general or specific in enumerating the
factors that the parole authorities should consider. “It
is thus not surprising that there is no prescribed or defined
combination of facts which, if shown, would mandate re-
lease on parole. ... In each case, the decision differs
from the traditional mold of judicial decision making” in
that the parole determination is a “predictive judgment as
to what is best for the individual inmate and for the com-
munity.” Id. at 8. In that connection, the Court found
that in passing on parole the decisionmaker must consider
whether, in light of the nature of the crime, the inmate’s
release would minimize the gravity of the offense, weaken
deterrent impact on others, and “undermine respect for
the administration of justice.” Id.

Two theories were proffered in support of the claim
to due process protection of a prisoner’s expectancy of
release on parole: first, that the word “liberty” in the due
process clause included a prisoner’s interest in the possi-
bility of parole whenever a state establishes a parole sys-
tem; second, that the particular statutory language in-
volved in the case gave rise to a state-created liberty
interest in release on parole. The Court rejected the
former but accepted the latter. It found a liberty interest
created by a state statute directing that the Parole Board

Court of Appeals Opinion A35

~-.

“shall order” a prisoner's release “unless” it found certain
enumerated conditions to justify a denial.

The Court emphasized the essentially discretionary
nature of parole but held that the “unique structure and
language” of the statute under review created an expect-
ancy of release that satisfied the claim to constitutional
protection. As the majority recognizes, however, the
Court stressed that “whether any other state statute pro-
vides a protectible entitlement must be decided on a case-
by-case basis.” Id. at 12. Thus, discretion in the granting
of parole is the general rule and generates no protectible
interest. Only when discretion is restricted by statutory
language that mandates the parole authorities to grant
release does a liberty interest come into being. It is the
statute’s command, not discretion, that creates the interest.

This, however, is not the test adopted by the major-
ity. Instead the formula used is “that a state-created lib-
erty interest in work release arises when a prisoner meets
all eligibility requirements under the state regulations and
the exercise of the prison authorities’ discretion is consist-
ent with work release policy.” Majority Opinion at A23-24
(emphasis added). As I read it, Greenholtz does not
recognize a protectible interest if the “discretion” is merely
“consistent with” a state statute. The dissent in that case
calls attention to the majority's use of the word “shall.”
442 U. S. at 29 n. 9, and as the Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit remarked in Boothe v. Hammock, 605 F.
2d 661 (1979), “the ‘shall/unless’ formula was decisive
for the court.” Id. at 664. The Second Circuit féund
that in New York, while guidelines were “used to struc-
ture the exercise of discretion,” the state system did not
establish a scheme whereby parole -“shall be ordered un-
less specified conditions are found to exist.” Id. Accord-
ingly, no protectible interest arose. Other courts of
appeals and district courts addressing the identical issue

A36 Court of Appeals Opinion

have adopted this interpretation of Greenholtz. See, e.g.,
Wagner v. Gilligan, 609 F. 2d 866 (6th Cir. 1979); Shir-
ley v. Chestnut, 603 F. 2d 805 (10th Cir. 1979); Robin-
son v. Mabry, 476 F. Supp. 1022 (E. D. Ark. 1979);
Austin v. Armstrong, 473 F. Supp. 1114 (D. Nev. 1979):
Campbell v. Montana Board of Pardons, 470 F. Supp.
1301 (D. Mont. 1979).

In 1974 there was no mandatory language in the Dela-
ware statute authorizing the promulgation of regulations.
It merely stated that the department “may” establish such
rules.” That is not enough. I would concede that rules
using mandatory language would suffice, but I find no
such wording here. The regulations merely list some gen-
eral (not all-inclusive) standards. They speak in terms
of “basic criteria” and “basic procedures.” Nowhere is
there language requiring that if these criteria are met the
authorities “shall” grant work release status. Indeed,
“basic procedures” state that approval must be given at
three different levels. By no fair construction can this
language be interpreted to mean that those approvals
“shall” be given. See Shirley v. Chestnut, supra at 806-07.

I am convinced that the majority's “consistent with”
test does not comply with the stringent requirements of
Greenholtz, which I read as insisting upon “mandated
by” or “directed by.” Having failed to meet that standard,
therefore, Winsett failed to establish a protectible inter-
est. The only other way that a liberty interest could be
created would be through the alternative theory of a pris-
oner's expectancy of conditional release expressly rejected

2. The statute was amended in 1976 to substitute the word
“shall” for the word “may.” 60 Del. Laws c. 705, §1 (1976),
amending Dex. Cope ANN. tit. 11, § 6533. Even if this amendment
antedated Winsett’s initial application for work release, however,
my view of this case would remain unchanged. Under either
version of the statute, the regulations actually adopted would have
to be taken into account because the enabling statute does not
delineate eligibility requirements.

Court of Appeals Opinion A37

in Greenholtz and by the majority here. That approach
would build on Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U. S. 471 (1972),
and derive a liberty interest in the possibility of release
from the Constitution itself.

The Morrissey Court held that a parolee’s interest in
not having his parole revoked is an interest protected by
due process. Central to this holding was the parolee’s re-
liance on at least an implicit promise that his freedom
would be taken away only if he failed to live up to the
parole conditions—the “essence of parole.” Id. at 477,
482. For this reason the Court concluded that the ter-
mination of parole liberty inflicts a “grievous loss” on the
parolee, The interest in continued release, therefore, rose
to the level of “liberty” protected by the due process clause
independent of the statutory or regulatory language estab-
lishing the parole system.

In Greenholtz the claimants argued that the interest
at stake in both a parole-revocation decision and a parole
determination is the same, and the two situations should
be accorded the same constitutional protection, 442 U. S.
at 9. In rejecting this argument the Court again empha-
sized the predominately discretionary nature of parole
and stressed the crucial difference between the grant and
revocation of parole—“being deprived of a liberty one
has .. . and being denied a conditional liberty that one
desires.” Id. In addition, the Court noted that revoca-
tion of parole involved the comparatively simple task of
resolving the factual question of whether a violation had
occurred, The parole release decision by contrast may. be
made “ ‘for a variety of reasons and often involves no ‘tore
than informed predictions’” as to what best would serve
correctional purposes or the interest of the prisoners, Id.
at 10, quoting Meachum v. Fano, 427 U. S. 215, 225
(1977).

The Court made it clear that the possibility of parole
provides no more than a hope that it will be obtained.

A38 Court of Appeals Opinion

“To that extent the general interest asserted here is no
more substantial than the inmate’s hope that he would not
be transferred to another prison, a hope which is not pro-
tected by due process.” Id. at 11. To support this last
point, the Court cited Meachum v. Fano, supra, where it
was held that a prisoner could be transferred at the dis-
cretion of prison officials, “for whatever reason or for no
reason at all.” 427 U. S. at 228.

The practical effect of the holding in the case at
bench—given the lack of regulatory or statutory language
limiting the discretion of the prison authorities—is to find
an implied promise in any work release program that an
application will be denied only for cause. This is precisely
the line of analysis that was rejected by the Greenholtz
Court when it distinguished Morrissey, and I do not agree
that Greenholtz should be circumvented in this fashion.*

C

Even if contrary to my view, the “consistent with”
standard can be squeezed into the Greenholtz mold, how-
ever, I do not accept the majority's narrow reading of
“work release policy.” The majority finds this policy not
in the regulations or in the enabling statute, but in § 6531
of title 11 of the Delaware Code, which governs in gen-
eral the treatment of “persons committed to the institu-
tional care of the Department [of Correction].” The
statute provides that such persons are to be treated hu-
manely and guided toward rehabilitation. I gather that
in assessing work release applications, the majority would

3. In meeting the plaintiff's equal protection claim, the district
court obseived that-there was no proof of class-based discrimina-
tion but only an assertion of an individual misapplication of state
law. The court, relying on Beck v. Washington, 369 U. S. 541
(1962), found the claim to be without merit. Winsett v. McGinnes,
supra at 1373-74. Under the circumstances I do not find this con-
clusion to be erroneous and, in view of the majority’s approach,
see no need for elaboration.

Court of Appeals Opinion A39

approve such factors as risk of flight, the inmate’s personal
safety, and the prognosis for the inmate’s behavioral ad-
justment. See Majority Opinion at A20-24. Although it
understandably does not attempt to delineate definitively
the outer perimeters of matters it believes to be within the
officials’ discretion, “concern for public reaction,” at least,
is outside the pale.

I cannot accept this restriction because nothing in
the enabling statute suggests that the Department of
Correction was not to have very wide discretion in imple-
menting a work release program, and the regulations
themselves do not impose any stringent guidelines. In
recognizing such matters as “what is best for the com-
munity,” weakening deterrent effect on others, and un-
dermining respect for the administration of justice as ap-
propriate considerations for parole release, Greenholtz
cannot be reconciled with the majority's view that it is
improper for prison officials to allow “concern for public
reaction” to enter into the determination of whether to
grant work release privileges.‘

Moreover, reliance upon § 6531, without any consid-
eration of the standards for parole enunciated in § 4347,
is an illogical limitation on the prison officials’ discretion.
Analogizing to the standards governing the parole deci-
sion would be appropriate since the regulations on work
release refer to eligibility for parole and, obviously, the
requirements for the two are interrelated. As shown in
footnote 8 of the majority opinion, eligibility for parole
was one of the critical factors affecting the decision to

4, In late 1976, the Delaware legislature created the Institu-
tional Release Classification Board to pass on all releases and con-
sisting of seven members, three of whom were to be private
citizens appointed by the Council on Administration of Justice.
Det. Cope Ann. tit. 11, §6529A (Michie 1979). According to
testimony, the three private citizens were to reflect public senti-
ment.

A40 Court of Appeals Opinion

grant work release. According to the prison officials who
testified at trial, the denial of parole after work release
had been granted was a devastating experience for
a prisoner, and, consequently, if early parole could not
reasonably be anticipated, work release was contraindi-
cated.

In Delaware, parole may be granted when there is a
reasonable probability that the person can be released
“without detriment to the community or himself.... A
parole shall be ordered only in the best interest of so-
ciety....° Drx. Cope Ann. tit 11, § 4347 (Michie 1979).
In the case of an offender convicted of first degree murder
—as is true of Winsett—the immediate family of the
victim may testify before the Parole Board. Id. § 4350(b).
Others presenting “information or arguments to the
Board” are to do so in writing. Id. § 4350(a). Thus, in
Delaware, the decision to grant parole necessarily involves
greater discretion than simply deciding whether “humane
treatment and rehabilitation” are at stake. The Board.
may consider potential detriment to the community and
the other factors listed in Greenholtz, including public .
opinion.°

If, as the majority holds, the improper exercise of
discretion impinges upon a protectible interest, the
bounds of legitimate discretion must be expanded to in-
clude consideration of the public interest in deterrence
and respect for the administration of justice. Public opin-
ion is not an impermissible factor.

The trial judge stated that the denial of Winsett’s
application was motivated, in substantial part, by “prison
officials’ concern about a possible retaliation by the Dela-
ware General Assembly.” Winsett v. McGinnes, supra at

5. In his letter to the state senator, reggae ong Anderson
referred to the concern of Mrs. Paris, the widow of the state police
officer whom Winsett shot and killed.

Court of Appeals Opinion A4l

1371. Whether the court referred to personal or institu-
tional repercussions is not apparent from the opinion. In
his testimony, Keve said that over the years the legisla-
ture had given the Department of Correction the privi-
lege of implementing work release and furlough pro-
grams. But the legislature also had demonstrated that it
would quickly revoke that power if the program proved
disappointing. As Keve explained, he “had to be con-
cerned with the inmate population as a whole and not
exclusively with the advantage that should be given to
any one case.” He faced the possibility that anything
done for Winsett that would smack of extra privilege
“might cause legislative reaction that would cut back the
privileges for all other inmates, and this was a distinct,
you know, kind of jeopardy. . . .”

The point at which “legislative oversight” exceeds
its proper limits and unduly infringes upon exeuctive or
agency action as well as individual interest is not always
clearly marked. The majority feels that the boundary
was crossed in this case and faults the two corrections
officials for not stoutly resisting what is viewed as an in-
vasion. Because they and not the invaders are defendants,
it is the corrections officials who will be exposed to a
damage assessment should their immunity defense fail in
the trial court.

I cannot help but wonder if the court has reached
this stage because it, too, has wandered outside its sphere
by groping to find a protectible interest where none exists,
Arbitrariness is anathema to the judicial mind. But carv-
ing out a due process right to work release because of its
otherwise illusory character confuses what process is due
with the question whether a protectible interest exists.
Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U. S. 539, 556-58 (1974). I
fear the court has disregarded Greenholtz’s caution that

A42 Court of Appeals Opinion

“there simply is no constitutional guarantee that all ex-
ecutive decisionmaking must comply with standards that
assure error free determination.” 442 U. S. at 7. Ina
similar vein, Meachum warned against “subject[ing] to
judicial review a wide spectrum of discretionary actions
that traditionally have been the business of prison admin-
istrators rather than of the federal courts.” 427 U. S. at
225.
I would affirm the judgment of the district court.

District Court Order A43

IN THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
For THE DisTrRicT OF DELAWARE

Civil Action No. 74-210

THOMAS H. WINSETT,
Plaintiff,
v. .

F. EARL McGINNES, Secretary of the Department of
Health and Social Service; PAUL W. KEVE, Direc-
tor of the Delaware Division of Adult Corrections;
RAYMOND W. ANDERSON, Superintendent of
Delaware Correctional Center; DONALD R. DAVIS,
Deputy Superintendent of the Delaware Correctional
Center,

Defendants.

ORDER.

Tus 31st day of January, 1978, for the reasons
stated in the Court’s Opinion of this date,

Now, therefore, Ir Is Orperep that judgment is
entered in favor of the defendants and against plaintiff.

WALTER K. STAPLETON
United States District Judge

A44 District Court Opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT,
D. DELAWARE.

Jan. 31, 1978.

Civ. A. No. 74-210.

THOMAS H. WINSETT,
Plaintiff,

v.

F. Earl McGINNES, Secretary of the Department of
Health and Social Services; Paul W. Keve, Director
of the Delaware Division of Adult Corrections; Ray-
mond W. Anderson, Superintendent of Delaware
Correctional Center; Donald R. Davis, Deputy
Superintendent of the Delaware Correctional Center,

Defendants.

Arlen B. Mekler, Wilmington, Del., for plaintiff.
John A. Parkins, Jr., Asst. Atty. Gen., Dept. of Justice,
Wilmington, Del., for defendants.

OPINION.

STAPLETON, District Judge:

This 42 U. S. C. § 1983 action is brought by Thomas
Winsett, an inmate at the Delaware Correctional Center
(“D. C. C.”). Plaintiff complains that the defendant
prison officials ' have denied him classificatign to the work

1. Defendants’ motion for a directed verdict as to Donald R.
Davis and F. Earl McGinnes was granted at the close of plaintiff's
presentation of his case. Transcript C-49-67.

District Court Opinion A45

release program at D. C. C. in violation of his rights to
due process of law and equal protection under the Four-
teenth Amendment. Plaintiff seeks compensatory and
punitive damages, as well as a declaratory judgment and
an injunction prohibiting further infringement.? This
Opinion sets forth the Court’s findings of fact and conclu-
sions of law following a trial on the merits.

Winsett was sentenced in 1964 to a term of natural
life after having been found guilty of the murder of State
Police Officer Robert Paris. The killing caused a substan-
tial public reaction in the State of Delaware, and is still
the subject of deep resentment on the part of some
citizens.

Winsett has applied for work release classification
three times and on each occasion has been turned down.
He claims that he met all established criteria for work re-
lease status and that each denial was motivated wholly,
or at least in substantial part, by prison officials’ fear of
possible retaliation by the Delaware General Assembly
(most likely in the form of budget, personnel or program
cutbacks) and of adverse public reaction. Plaintiff main-
tains that such fears are impermissible reasons for denial
of work release status.

Winsett’s first turndown for work release classification
was received by him on September 26, 1974. Winsett had
applied for work release status, had been approved at the
first level by the Minimum Security Building Classifica-
tion Team, and had been approved at the second level
by the Institution Classification Committee. At the third
and final level of screening, however,—that of the Super-

2. This Court previously dismissed plaintiff's claim of entitle-
ment to an injunction directing that he be classified io work release
on the authority of Preiser v. Rodriguez, 411 U. S. 475, 93 S. Ct.
1827, 36 L. Ed. 2d 439 (1973). Wéinsett v. McGinnes, 425 F. Supp.
609 (D. Del. 1976).

A46 District Court Opinion

intendent (at this time defendant Raymond W. Ander-
son)—Winsett was informed that his application could
not be approved “due to the sensitivity of [his] offense”.
(PX 1). The criteria and procedure for work release
that were in effect at this time (DX 9) required final ap-
proval by the Superintendent. (Paragraph II l.c of DX 9).

During August, 1974, Winsett’s case had been brought
to the public's attention via copies of a letter to Superin-
tendent Anderson delivered to the Delaware State News,
News-Journal Papers and WAMS radio station, among
others, in which a State senator announced his shock and
dismay that Winsett might be considered for work re-
lease. Anderson responded by letter, sending copies to
the same news media and others. In his letter Anderson
denied any intention of placing Winsett on work release
and stated his position as being “as long as I am Superin-
tendent of the Institution, I shall never be able to enter-
tain any requests from Tom [Winsett] in regards to work
release....” (PX 7 letter of August 8, 1974).

Winsett initiated the instant suit in October, 1974.

The second turndown for work release classification
came on May 14, 1976, and the circumstances surround-
ing it are somewhat more complicated. At that time de-
fendant Paul Keve was Acting Commissioner of the Dela-
ware Department of Corrections and defendant Milton
Horton was Assistant Director of the Adult Division. The
criteria for work release status had changed by March of
1976, prompting Winsett to make a second application
for work release classification. (Transcript A-31). The
departmental policy then was that any classification for
outside status (including work release classification) had
to be approved by Acting Commissioner Keve, if the in-
mate in question had committed a crime of violence.
(Transcript E-9). Horton, pursuant to Keve’s request,

District Court Opinion A47

would make specific recommendations for approval or
denial of outside status.

Winsett's application was approved at the first level
by the Minimum Security Building Classification Team.
The application was forwarded to the Institution Classi-
fication Committee. A rule had been adopted requiring
a letter of employment to be filed with the application
before it could be considered. Winsett had not met this
requirement initially, but did obtain a letter of offer of
employment (PX 11) and refiled his application. Once
again the Minimum Security Building Classification Team
approved his application, as did the Institution Classifica-
tion Committee. Horton recommended, however, that
Winsett's “application be deferred until [a] decision on
[the] transfer.” (DX 8). Keve agreed and the application
was deferred, but formally recorded as a denial.

The transfer referred to by Horton in his recom-
mendation to Keve was a project that had been develop-
ing for some months. Essentially, Keve had hoped to
work out a contract with the Correction Department of
the State of Minnesota wherein the interstate transfer of
certain inmates could be accomplished. It was felt that
this project would have been especially suitable for Win-
sett. As Keve testified:

... [P]robably the best thing to do in the case of Mr.
Winsett was to effect a transfer of him to some other
state where the extreme sensitivity to this case would
be substantially diluted. I felt that whatever time
he might be considered truly appropriate for parole,
work release, whatever it might be, that it would be
much more feasible for it-to be accomplished if he
were in another state at some distance from Delaware
where there was extreme public and legislative

A48 District Court Opinion

sensitivity to anything at all that happened in his
case.

Testimony of Keve, Transcript E-12.

... I had what I thought was good reason to believe
that in addition to the natural hazard that any inmate
faces in going into a work release situation, Mr. Win-
sett faced far more hazards because of the intense
sensitivity to the case—intense public reaction and
legislative reaction to anything done for or to Mr.
Winsett that would smack of any kind of extra
privileges.
Testimony of Keve, Transcript E-15.

Based on the record before me, I conclude that the
first and second denials of Winsett’s application for classi-
fication to work release were motivated at least in sub-
stantial part by prison officials’ concern about a possible
retaliation by the Delaware General Assembly. In the
case of the second denial, I am convinced Acting Com-
missioner Keve believed that he had an alternative ap-
proach to work release which would better serve Winsett’s
interests.

The third and final denial for work release classifica-
tion was received by Winsett on January 7, 1977. In late
1976, the General Assembly created another team that
would approve work release classification applicants—the
Institutional Release Classification Board. Winsett resub-
mitted his application for work release status. Again he
was approved by the Minimum Security Building Classi-
fication Team, and the Institution Classification Commit-
tee, as well as the newly created Institutional Release
Classification Board. His application was vetoed, however,
by Milton Horton, Assistant Bureau Chief of Adult Cor-
rection. Horton advanced three reasons for his veto deci-

District Court Opinion A49

sion: (1) the seriousness of the offense, (2) the lack of a
certified parole release date, which he believed was re-
quired by the existing guidelines,’ and (3) the fact that
Winsett had had a previous history of model conduct dur-
ing incarceration in other institutions for other offenses
occurring prior to the Paris murder and that, therefore,
his good conduct during his present incarceration should
be given less weight. This veto was approved by Com-
missioner Vaughn.

It is unnecessary to pass upon Horton’s construction of
the guidelines then in effect. I credit his testimony regard-
ing the reasons for his actions and conclude that the third
denial of Winsett’s application for work release was not
motivated by his concern with possible retaliation by the
General Assembly or by a concern for public reaction.

Plaintiff makes two arguments: (1) that defendants’
denial of his application for work release status deprived
him of a liberty interest without due process of law, and
(2) that such denials violated his equal protection rights.
I deal first with the due process argument.

3. Horton interpreted the guidelines (see PX 8, attachment at
p. 1, paragraph II A) to require Winsett (who was sentenced to
natural life and had no good time release date) to be certified for
parole before he could be considered eligible for work release.
He and several other witnesses testified that experience with work
release programs has shown that inmates who have no near pros-
pect of release are not good candidates for a situation invo ving
continuous day-to-day contacts with free citizens. Whatever ma
be the merits of this view or Horton’s construction of the wor
release guidelines of the Department of Corrections, they do not
integrate well with the views of some members of the Board of
Parole who have stated that they would like to see how Winsett
would fare on work release before making an affirmative decision
on parole. (PX 3, 4,5). While this difference in approach be-
tween members of these two State agencies have understandably
been frustrating to Winsett, I do not believe it gives rise to a
federal question. Winsett has now been on furlough for some

time and his experience on furlough will doubtless be made avail-
able to the Parole Board when it again reviews his case.

e%

A50 District Court Opinion

In order to invoke a due process claim, a party must
first establish that he has been deprived of a liberty inter-
est. Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U. S. 471, 92 S. Ct. 2593,
33 L. Ed. 2d 484 (1972); Goldberg ve Kelly, 397 U. S.
254, 90 S. Ct. 101 Ed. 2d 287 (1970). Plaintiff
argues that “by Fearn yes release program and by
promulgs*'g standards for it dpainistration, the Depart-
ment |vt Corrections] has become bound by its decision
and has created a vested state law right in the participa-
tion by eligible inmates in the work release program”. PI.
Reply Br. p. 2.

I find this argument unpersuasive. Prior to August

5, 1976 the relevant Delaware statute regarding work re-
lease was 11 Del. C. § 6533(a) which provided:

(a) The Department may adopt rules and regu-
lations governing the employment or education of
trustworthy inmates outside the institutions and fa-
cilities under the jurisdiction of the Department, ex-
cept that whenever the Department requests place-
ment of inmates in a school of a reorganized school
district, the approval of the board of education of that
district shall be a prerequisite to such placement, and
tuition shall be paid under the terms of Chapter 6 of
Title 14.

The 1976 amendment, among other changes, substituted
“shall” for “may”.

This statute permitted, and later required, the De-
partment to create and maintain a work release program.
I do not believe that the Courts of Delaware would con-
strue it, however, as bestowing on any individual inmate a
legally enforceable claim to work release status. More-
over, I reach the same conclusion with respect to rules
adopted by the Department of Corrections pursuant to this

District Court Opinion A51

statutory authority. The rules in effect at the time of the
initial turndown were entitled “Criteria and Procedure for
Statewide Work Education Release”. While they state
general criteria of eligibility,‘ it is apparent that they were

4, I.

I.
2.

II.

Ill,

to

Basic Criteria, All Institutions:
Within one year of release or parole eligibility date.

Demonstrated interest in personal improvement; prog-
ress toward increased maturity and self understand-
ing. This will be evaluated on basis of inmate’s work
habits, program participation and general adjustment.

Basic Procedures:

. Written application is submitted by inmate, followin

which it is considered by and must be approve
successively by:

a. Classification team
b. Work/education release staff
c, Superintendent

Variations:

. Delaware Correctional Center

a. Applicant must be assigned to Minimum Building
efore he can apply.

b. Application is made to the Minimum Classification

Team first, then to the Institutional Classification
Team.

. Sussex Correctional Institution

Classification Committee makes final decision.

. Women’s Correctional Institution

No variation from basic.

. Specific Criteria for Admission to Plummer Center:
. Six months to parole eligibility or release.
. Sufficient experience in the work/ education release pro-

=_ at the institution to have demonstrated a stable,
ependable work and adjustment record.

. Family or personal history associated with Wilmington

area.

. A score of at least 34 points on the scoring tool used

by Plummer Center.

. Approval by the Director, the Superintendent of the

institution, and the State Work Release Supervisor in
the case of any inmate with a sex crime or crime of
violence.

Se ee ee

A52 District Court Opinion

not intended to substitute an exclusive list of objective
requirements for the discretion of the prison administra-
tion. They refer only to institutional adjustment, for ex-
ample, and make no mention of other obviously relevant
consideration such as the prognosis for behavioral adjust-
ment, risk of flight, and the personal safety of the inmate
after admission to work release. I mention these relevant
factors not because I am persuaded that they should or
did influence any decision in plaintiff's individual case,
but rather for the purpose of demonstrating that the rules
established only minimum guidelines for eligibility and
did not deprive the work release program of its essentially
discretionary character. Similar observation could be
made about the other guidelines which have been in effect
between September of 1974 and the present time.

The conclusion that the statute and rules gave Win-
sett no legally cognizable claim of entitlement to work
release under Delaware law is dispositive of his claim that
he has been denied due process of law. If a prisoner has
no legally cognizable claim of entitlement, there is no
liberty interest, the denial of which would bring the Due
Process Clause into play. Meachum v. Fano, 427 U. S.
215, 96 S. Ct. 2532, 49 L. Ed. 2d 451 (1976). As the
Supreme Court observed in Moody v. Daggett, 429 U. S.
78, 97 S. Ct. 274, 50 L. Ed. 2d 236 (1976), in the context of
federal incarceration:

In Meachum v. Fano ... , for example, no due process
protections were required upon the discretionary
4, (Cont'd. )

Note: Exceptions can be made to all of the above procedures.
Exceptions must be approved by the Superintendent and
Supervisor for Work/Education Release. If there is a
conflict between these two, it is to be resolved by a com-
mittee of the Superintendent, State Supervisor for Work/
Education Release, and Assistant Director for Community
Services.

District Court Opinion A53

transfer of state prisoners .... The same is true of
prisoner classification and eligibility for rehabilitative
programs in the federal system. Congress has given
federal prison officials full discretion to control these
conditions of confinement, 18 U. S. C. § 4081, and
petitioner has no legitimate statutory or constitutional
entitlement sufficient to invoke due process.

429 U. S. at 88, fn. 9, 97 S. Ct. at 279.

Both Meachum and Daggett involved procedural
rather than substantive due process claims. But the
Supreme Court's recent analysis in the substantive due
process area suggests to this Court that a protected liberty
interest must also be identified before substantive due
process comes into play and that one’s interest in being free
of arbitrary state action is not, per se, a protected liberty
interest. Kelly v. Johnson, 425 U. S. 238, 96 S. Ct. 1440,
47 L. Ed. 2d 708 (1976). In Meachum, the court stressed
the fact that a lawfully incarcerated prisoner has already
been deprived of his liberty through due process of law
and concluded that his interest in participation in less re-
strictive custody is not a protected liberty interest absent
some state created claim of entitlement. The court’s ap-
proach suggests to me that its view would be the same in
the context of substantive as well as procedural due
process. As the court observed in Montanye v. Haymes,
427 U. S. 236, 96 S. Ct. 2543, 49 L. Ed. 2d 466 (1976):

... As long as the conditions or degree of confinement
to which the prisoner is subjected are within the
sentence imposed upon him and are not otherwise
violative of the Constitution, the Due Process Clause
does not in itself subject an inmate’s treatment by
prison authorities to judicial oversight. . . .

427 U. S. at 242, 96 S. Ct. at 2547,

A54 District Court Opinion

Nor can I conclude that plaintiff is entitled to relief
based on his equal protection claim. He has neither al-
leged nor proved any class based discrimination. He
complains of individual decisions about his own conditions
of confinement because they have been influenced by what
he considers to be considerations unrelated to the purpose
of the work release program.’ Even if he were right, how-
ever, misapplications of State law do not constitute in-
vidious discrimination which violates the Equal Protection
Clause. As the Supreme Court observed in Beck v. Wash-
ington, 369 U. S. 541, 82 S. Ct. 955, 8 L. Ed. 2d 98 (1962)
“were it otherwise, every alleged misapplication of State
law would constitute a federal question”. Accordingly,
I conclude that plaintiff's equal protection claim is also
without merit. See Durso v. Rowe, 430 F. Supp. 49 (N. D.
Ill. 1977) which rejects an equal protection claim on sub-
stantially identical facts.

Judgment will be entered for the defendants.

5. While plaintiffs argument is frequently cast in terms of
“impermissible reasons” having played a part in the denial of work
release, he does not, and poe? g not on this record, maintain that
they have come as a result of his exercise of a First Amendment or
other constitutionally secured right or, as noted above, because of
a suspect classification.

Statute Involved A55

STATUTE INVOLVED.

Persons committed to the instifutional care of the De-
partment shall be dealt with humanely, with effort di-
rected to their rehabilitation, to effect their return to the
community as safely and promptly as practicable. The
Commissioner shall establish the following programs, and
may establish others: Education, including vocational
training; work; case work counselling and psychotherapy;
library and religious services; commissary; and shall in-
stitute procedures for the study of classification of inmates
for these purposes. Subject to the limitations of existing
structures, rooms for the housing of inmates shall have
adequate privacy, light and sanitary facilities, and per-
sonal needs, including facilities for visits by relatives and
friends, shall be provided at a normal level.

§ 6531. Treatment programs; ian

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2585%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
