# Reply Brief — Metropolitan School District v. Buckley

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2546%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 838

## Text

Mii i x

SEP 10 1980

MICHAEL RODAK JR. CLERK

r=

No. 79-1975

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

THE METROPOLITAN SCHOOL DISTRICT
OF PERRY TOWNSHIP,
MARION COUNTY, INDIANA,

Petitioner

US.

DONNY BRURELL BUCKLEY and ALYCIA MARQUESE
BUCKLEY, by their parent and next friend, Ruby L.
Buckley, on behalf of themselves and all Negro school age
children residing in the area served by the original
defendants herein; UNITED STATES OF AMERICA: the
BOARD OF SCHOOL COMMISSIONERS OF THE
CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA; et al.,

Respondents

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court of Appeals
For the Seventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONER.

DONALD A. SCHABEL,
One Indiana Square, Suite 3300,
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204,
(317) 632-2670,

Attorney for Petitioner.

Central Publishing Company, Inc., Indianapolis, IN 46206

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Page
Evans v. Buchanan, 393 F.Supp. 428 (D.Del.
1975), aff'd 423 U.S. 963 (1975) ........... cece eens 3
Hills v. Gautreaux, 425 U.S. 284 (1976).............. 6
Milliken v. Bradley, 418 U.S. 717 (1974) ......... 2,3,4,6,7
Spencer v. Kugler, 404 U.S. 1027 (1972), affirming
ooo F .pupp. 12386 (D.N.J. 1971) ......ccccccccecces 4
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education,
eM oa, or Us cav'nns cdc. cdcdvcseceee 5
United States v. Scotland Neck City Board of Education,
ee i ae vcd-o's «vd bac'a doesn 000 08 4
Wright v. Council of the City of Emporia, 407 U.S.
I AeA a Ne i ee ai ce oe 4
Statutes
Delaware Educational Advancement Actof 1968 .... 3

The School Corporation Reorganization Act of 1959,
ARG id CES. oes ee 3

No. 79-1975

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

THE METROPOLITAN SCHOOL DISTRICT
OF PERRY TOWNSHIP,
MARION COUNTY, INDIANA,

Petitioner

v8.

DONNY BRURELL BUCKLEY and ALYCIA MARQUESE
BUCKLEY, by their parent and next friend, Ruby L.
Buckley, on behalf of themselves and all Negro school age
children residing in the area served by the original
defendants herein; UNITED STATES OF AMERICA; the
BOARD OF SCHOOL COMMISSIONEFs; OF THE
CITY OF INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA; et al.,

Respondents

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court of Appeals
For the Seventh Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONER.

This reply brief by petitioner The Metropolitan School
District of Perry Township, Marion County, Indiana
(hereinafter called “Perry”), is addressed to arguments
first raised in the briefs in opposition filed by respondents

2

Buckley, The Board of School Commissioners of the City of
Indianapolis, Indiana (hereinafter called the “Indianapolis
Public Schools” or “IPS”), and the United States of
America. The common theme of the three briefs is that
Perry’s petition for certiorari does not challenge the
correctness of the constitutional standards applied by the
courts below but seeks no more than to have this Court
review concurrent findings of fact by the two courts below.
Nothing could be further from the truth. Of the three
questions presented for review by Perry’s petition, only the
first question challenges the sufficiency of the record
evidence to sustain the findings made, and a very obvious
and exceptional showing of error can be made. On the other
hand, the second and third questions stated challenge the
constitutional standards applied by the courts below in
imposing an interdistrict remedy as a cure for a single
district de jure segregation problem.

That an interdistrict remedy is not warranted in this case
is clear from Milliken v. Bradley, 418 U.S. 717 (1974). Inthe
opening paragraph of the Court’s opinion in that case it was
said:

“We granted certiorari in these consolidated cases to
determine whether a federal court may impose a
multidistrict, areawide remedy to a single district de
jure segregation problem [1] absent any finding that
the other included school districts have failed to
operate unitary school systems within their districts,
[2] absent any claim or finding that the boundary lines
of any affected school district were established with
the purpose of fostering racial segregation in public
schools, [8] absent any finding that the included
districts committed acts which effected segregation
within the other districts, and [4] absent a meaningful
opportunity for the included neighboring school
districts to present evidence or be heard on the
propriety of a multi-district remedy or on the question
of constitutional violations by those neighboring
i al (Bracketed numerals supplied) (418 U.S. at

3

Of the missing factors noted by the Court in Milliken,
only factor [4], procedural due process, has been supplied in
the case at bar. The three substantive factors are also
absent here.

With respect to factor [1], the district court in its 1979
opinion stated that “there is no evidence that any [suburban
school district] has operated anything other than a unitary
school system.” (Joint Appendix, p. A114)

With respect to factor [2], there could be no finding that
the boundary lines of Perry and the other Marion County
school districts were originally established with the
purpose of fostering racial segregation in the public
schools. The School Corporation Reorganization Act of
1959, IC 20-4-1, pursuant to which the eleven Marion
County school corporations were created and their
boundaries fixed, was not one of the statutes attacked in the
amended complaint of respondents Buckley as unconstitu-
tional. Nor did respondents Buckley make an attack on the
validity of the proceedings by which the Marion County
school corporations were created under the said statute.
Respondents Buckley conceded that the Marion County
school corporations were validly created pursuant to a
valid statute.

The claim of respondent IPS that Evans v. Buchanan,
393 F. Supp. 428 (D. Del. 1975), aff'd 423 U.S. 963 (1975),
presented “an almost identical situation” is without merit.
(Brief, pp. 20-21) In Evans a three-judge district court held
that the provisions of the Delaware Educational
Advancement Act of 1968 excluding the Wilmington school
district from eligibility for consolidation were unconstitu-
tional. This Court summarily affirmed. The comparable
Indiana legislation is The School Corporation Reorganiza-
tion Act of 1959, IC 20-4-1, which contained no such
exception to its applicability. Both the district court and
the court of appeals, in denying motions to convene a three-
judge court in the case at bar, have held that the

4

constitutionality of the Indiana school reorganization
statute is not involved in this case.

Nor is this a case like Wright v. Council of the City of
Emporia, 407 U.S. 451 (1972), and United States v.
Scotland Neck City Board of Education, 407 U.S. 484
(1972), where it was attempted to create new school
districts out of portions of de jure segregated school
districts that had not yet completed desegregation. The
suburban school districts involved in the case at bar, and
their predecessors, have never been a part of the IPS
district, or its predecessors. The township school districts
in Marion County have been in existence as long as the IPS
district, 7.e., since 1852.

The majority of the court of appeals held that this case
fits squarely within the rule of Milliken that an
interdistrict remedy is appropriate “where district lines
have been drawn on the basis of race.” (Joint Appendix, p.
A21) On the other hand, Circuit Judge Tone, in his 1975
dissenting opinion, observed that “[f]ailing to redraw the
school district lines does not seem to me to be ‘redrawing
school district lines’” (Supplemental Appendix, p. A3l, n.
7), and the district judge agreed in his 1979 opinion. (Joint
Appendix, p. 109) Be that as it may, failing to redraw school
district lines would be a constitutional violation only if the
General Assembly of Indiana had an affirmative
constitutional duty to expand the boundaries of IPS, the
only dual-school system in the county, to include the
territory of the other ten unitary school systems once it
decided to reorganize civil government in the county so that
IPS could have desegregated its schools by spreading its
black school population throughout the area of the county.
(Joint Appendix, pp. A64-A65) But the existence of such an
affirmative constitutional duty was rejected by this Court
in Spencer v. Kugler, 404 U.S. 1027 (1972), affirming 326 F.
Supp. 1235 (D.N.J. 1971).

5

With respect to factor [3], there has been no finding that
‘the suburban Marion County school districts committed
acts that effected segregation within IPS. Among the
issues of fact considered by the district court in its 1973
opinion was whether or not any of the suburban Marion
County school corporations had acted to promote
segregation either within IPS or within their own
boundaries. (IPS Appendix, p. 16a) The court found that
there was no evidence that any of them had committed acts
of de jure segregation directed against Negro students living
within their respective borders. (Ibid., p. 29a) Although the
court noted that the suburban Marion County school
districts had resisted countywide consolidation when it was
proposed in 1960, the court conceded their right to do so
under existing law. (Jbid., p. 30a) Toward the end of the
opinion, the court observed that it “was pleased to learn
from the evidence of the recognition giving to Negro
students by their fellow white students in the few suburban
schools which they attended, and of the honors, both
scholastic and otherwise, which such Negro students have
earned in such schools.” (Ibid., p. 48a) Included in such
evidence was the fact that during the 1971-72 school year at
petitioner Perry’s Southport High School a black girl had
been elected home-coming queen by the student body.

Although the suburban Marion County school districts
committed no acts that effected segregation within IPS, the
courts below held that the action of respondents The
Housing Authority of the City of Indianapolis and the
Metropolitan Development Commission of Marion County
in locating all public housing projects within the
boundaries of the Indianapolis Public Schools, without any
discriminatory action by the school authorities, was a
constitutional violation requiring remedial action by an
interdistrict school desegregation decree. While respondents
IPS and United States concede that this precise question
was expressly left undecided in Swann v. Charlotte-
Mecklenburg Board of Education, 402 U.S. 1, 22-23 (1971),

6

they, nevertheless, argue that the Court should not decide it
in this case for various specious reasons. It is highly
significant that not one of the respondents opposing Perry’s
petition for certiorari mentions the discussion in the
petition (pp. 19-20) to the effect that the remedy most
closely tailored to fit the constitutional violation would have
been a remedial decree against the authority and the
commission directing them, in accordance with Hills v.
Gautreaux, 425 U.S. 284 (1976), to locate public housing in
the authority’s area of operation lying outside the
boundaries of IPS, whereas the remedy approved by the
courts below impermissibly restructures and displaces the
authority of school districts that have not been implicated
in the constitutional violation.

In sum, this case, contrary to the contentions of the
respondents opposing certiorari, presents for review far
more than purely factual matters. As stated in Milliken,
418 U.S. at 746, the constitutional right of the black pupils
represented by the respondents Buckley is to attend a
unitary school system in IPS. The interdistrict remedy
ordered by the district court and approved by the court of
appeals “can be supported only by drastic expansion of the
constitutional right itself, an expansion without any
support in either constitutional principle or precedent.”
Ibid., at 747. This case surely merits review so that this
Court can examine the constitutional standards applied by
the courts below.

Additionally, as already stated, a very obvious and
exceptional showing of error can be made in the findings,
approved by the court of appeals, that the actions of the
Indiana General Assembly—in failing to expand the
boundaries of IPS to the county limits when in 1969 it
reorganized and consolidated various but not all city and
county civil governmenial functions in Marion County—
and of the Housing Authority of the City of Indianapolis
and the Metropolitan Development Commission of Marion
County—in locating all public housing projects within the

7

boundaries of IPS—were done, at least in part, with a
racially discriminatory intent and purpose. The three
dissenting opinions of Circuit Judge Tone amply
demonstrate such error. (Joint Appendix, pp. A28-A53,
A81-A83; Supplemental Appendix, pp. A26-A35)

The basic difficulty with this case is that the courts below
have ignored the controlling principle “that the scope of the
remedy is determined by the nature and extent of the
constitutional violation.” Milliken, supra, 418 U.S. at 744.
The nature and extent of the constitutional violation
necessarily must be determined first before a remedy of
proper scope can be fashioned. But as observed by Judge
Tone (Joint Appendix, pp. A29-A30), the reason why this
case has had such a checkered history and pended for so
many years is that the district court, ignoring the
controlling principle, first settled on an interdistrict
remedy for the de jure segregation in IPS and then
commenced a search for a constitutional violation to
support it. Consequently, in this case the nature and extent
of the constitutional violation has been determined by the
scope of the remedy previously selected.

Respectfully submitted,

DONALD A. SCHABEL,
One Indiana Square, Suite
3300,

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204,
(317) 632-2670,

Attorney for Petitioner.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2546%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
