# Opposition — Treasurer, Prince George's County v. Washington National Arena Ltd. Partnership

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2492%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 834

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

No. 79-1921 FILES

IN THE SEP 15 1980
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1980 MICHAEL RODAK, !R., CLERK

TREASURER, PRINCE GEORGE’S COUNTY, MARYLAND,

Petitioner,
v.

WASHINGTON NATIONAL ARENA
LIMITED PARTNERSHIP, et al.,

Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND

GLENN TRUSSELL HARRELL, JR.

O'MALLEY, MILES,
FARRINGTON & McCARTHY
96 Harry S. Truman Drive
Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20870
(301) 350-1300

Attorney for Respondents,
Washington National Arena
Limited Partnership, Northampton
Carporation and Rosecroft Trotting
and Pacing Association, Inc.

and

GEORGE ALBERT BRUGGER

FOSSETT & BRUGGER
10210 Greenbelt Road
Seabrook, Maryland 20801
(301) 794-6900

Attorney for Respondents,
Alan I. Kay and Jerome D, Kay, as
General Partners of Greenbriar
Associates, a Maryland Limited
Partnership, and Alan I. Kay and
Allen E. Rozansky, as General
Partners of Cherry Glenr. Associates,
a Maryland Limited Partnership

Washington, OC « THIEL Ties © (202) 638-4621

(7)
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment to the United States Constitution, 07,
Articles 19 and/or 24 of the Maryland Declaration of
Rights prohibit an attempt by State and local government
to refuse to refund an admitted illegally collected higher
rate of taxation on the recordation of instruments
affecting land based on “‘curative’’ State legislation
enacted in 1976 that purported to validate the illegal
tax rate as of 1968.

(iit)
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED ..... ccc ccsrscccvcessvees i
SUPPLEMENTAL CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
AND STATUTES INVOLVED............02e eee eee 1
SUPPLEMENTAL STATEMENT OF THE CASE .......... 2
REASONS FOR DENYING A WRIT ............-006- 3
eT ee eh eee cect tee eee eee. 7
RESPONDENT’S APPENDICES:
A. General Resolution No, 21, Board of County
Commissioners of Prince George’s County,
| Ee ee eee ee la
B. Constitution of Maryland, Declaration of Rights, 7
I EES Pee ELT EET 2a
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: |
Block v. District of Columbia, 492 F.2d 646 (D.C. Cir.
EE EEE DE ee 5
Charlotte Harbor & Northern Ry. Co. v. Welles, 260 U.S.
EE EEE ee 6
Comptroller v. Glenn L. Martin Co., 216 Md. 235, 140
A.2d 288 (1957), cert. denied, 358 U.S. 820 (1958)...... 5
de Rodulfa v. United States, 461 F.2d 1240 (D.C. Cir.
eee ee cabs ee eee cece cee cee. 5
Del Vecchio v. Bowers, 296 U.S. 280 (1935)............. 3
Forbes Pioneer Boat Line v. Board of Commissioners,
eee abe ks cece eee s ences 5
Graham v. Goodcell, 282 U.S. 409 (1931)...........06. 5, 6
Maryland v. Baltimore Radio Show, Inc., 338 U.S. 912
Ces che See bbe ecseceeaseccecesces 3
Prince George’s County, Maryland v. White, 275 Md.
ERUEED coi ccc ccc cer ccccccce 2, 5, 6

PREVIOUS PAGE WAS BLANK

(iv)

Cases, continued: Page
Pruneyard Shopping Center v. Robins, _. U.S. —_,

100 S. Ct. 2085 (1980) ......... eee ee Se a eee 4
Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc., ~

Pe Ewa ke ot db Wee taueeeee yeas 0s Kukce
Simpson v. United States, 423 F. Supp. 720 (D. lowa

SPO 16.6 .Wik new ern 60 SKE CONN S £60 NASR as 5
Welch v. Henry, 305 U.S. 134 (1988) 2... eee ee ee ees 5

Constitutional Provisions:
Constitution of the United States, Amendment XIV,

sha a a kos Gill bs 6 Se ee a 2 ees i, 3, 4
Constitution of Maryland, Declaration of Rights,

EE 6k bid 06 RO Wa RES, Sle aoe cee eee
Constitution of Maryland, Declaration of Rights,

GE 5 Ge a ew ak Oe ce ie i, 2, 3

Statutes and Ordinances:

General Resolution No. 21, Board of County Com-
missioners of Prince George’s County, Maryland,
ROE Fae Ds COO 6 chic bee hb bs ebb rerecess 2

General Resolution No. 32, Board of County Com-
missioners of Prince George’s County, Maryland,
Adopted September 18, 1968... cece ccccccccccee 2

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

No. 79-1921

TREASURER, PRINCE GEORGE’S COUNTY, MARYLAND,

Petitioner,
v.

WASHINGTON NATIONAL ARENA
LIMITED PARTNERSHIP, et al.,

Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND

SUPPLEMENTAL CONSTITUTIONAL
PROVISIONS AND STATUTES
INVOLVED

The pertinent portions of the following, omitted by
the Petitioner in its Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
and appendices thereto, are printed in Respondent’s
Appendix:

Constitution of Maryland, Declaration of Rights;

Article 19;

General Resolution No. 21 of the Board of County
Commissioners of Prince George’s County, Mary-
land, Adopted May 10, 1968.

]

2

Petitioner failed to consult with Respondents concerning
the content of the appendices annexed to the Petition
for a Writ of Certiorari submitted to this Court by the
Petitioner.

SUPPLEMENTAL STATEMENT
OF THE CASE

Prior to establishing the rate of tax at $1.65 per $500
of consideration or secured debt, Prince George’s County,
Maryland, in the same year (1968) had set the rate at
$1.10 per $500 by adoption of General Resolution No.
21 of the Board of County Commissioners, reproduced
herein at p. la. It was General Resolution No. 21, and
not General Resolution No. 32 (purportedly resetting
the rate at $1.65 per $500), which the Court of Appeals
of Maryland had found to have been the lawful rate of
taxation in Prince George’s County, Maryland v. White,
275 Md. 314, 340 A.2d 236 (1975).

Footnote numbered 1 of the Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari implies that the Court of Appeals of Maryland
could only have relied on Article 24 (formerly Article 23
prior to November 7, 1978) of the Maryland Declaration
of Rights. Respondents argued below for the application
of Article 19 of the Maryland Declaration of Rights,
reproduced herein at p. 3a. The Court of Appeals of
Maryland, in rendering its decision (A. 24-45), accepted
Respondents’ arguments as a ground of its opinion that
the Petitioner’s actions impaired Respondents’ property
rights “‘in violation of the United States Constitution and
the Maryland Declaration of Rights.”

3

REASONS FOR DENYING A WRIT

The decision of the Maryland Court of Appeals in this
matter is supportable as a matter of State law alone,
and is not subject to review by the Supreme Court even
though the opinion also discussed and relied on prior
Supreme Court decisions and the Fourteenth Amend-
ment to the United States Constitution. Maryland v.
Baltimore Radio Show, Inc., 338 U.S. 912 (1950).
Provisions of the Maryland Declaration of Rights, specifi-
cally Articles 19 and 24, were argued in the court below.
The Court of Appeals of Maryland justified its holding in
the instant case by reference to the Maryland Declaration
of Rights as much as by any reference to the Fourteenth
Amendment of the Constitution of the United States.
Moreover, the only statutes or ordinances construed by
the Maryland Court are purely local in origin and impact.
The impact of the decision applied only to one County
(Prince George’s) in Maryland, and then only for the
period 1968-1976. Even within the limited time frame
involved, the number of taxpayers for which the ruling
has significance is finitely limited to those who pursued
their administrative remedies in a timely manner spe-
cifically as provided for by State and local statute and
ordinance. Denying the writ would be in keeping with
the Supreme Court’s refusal to review a case which is
based upon statutes confined in their operation to a
political subdivision or which declares the common law
of that political subdivision. Del Vecchio v. Bowers,
296 U.S. 280 (1935).

The decision of the Maryland Court of Appeals is sup-
portable solely on its view that Articles 19 and/or 24 of
the Maryland Declaration of Rights create rights vested
in Respondents which Petitioner’s conduct could not
impair. This is true regardless of whether the due process

4

clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution was correctly interpreted or applied
to the facts of the instant case. If the Maryland Court’s
view of Maryland constitutional provisions is more
expansive than holdings interpreting Federal constitu-
tional provisions, such a position by a state court has
recently been sanctioned by the Supreme Court in
Pruneyard Shopping Center v. Robins, __ U.S. __,
100 S.Ct. 2035 (1980). In Pruneyard (a freedom of
religion and expression case), a California State consti-
tutional provision similar to the U.S. Constitution’s First
Amendment was interpreted to create a more expansive
right than its federal counterpart.

No federal question of substance is presented by this
case; only the interpretation of a state statute as applied
to a county in that state is involved. No precedential
impact outside of Maryland will follow from the decision
below. A substantial federal question is not present
merely because a federal constitutional issue and deci-
sions of this Court are addressed in the opinion of the
State court, or because those issues abstractly considered
may present an intellectually interesting or solid problem.
Rice v. Stoux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc., 349
U.S. 70 (1955).

To the extent that a federal question (due process
clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Con-
stitution) was dealt with at all by the Court of Appeals
of Maryland, that court’s decision was in accord with
applicable prior decisions of the Supreme Court. The
crux of the case below was the ability of local govern-
ment to enact retroactive, curative legislation so. as to
validate an admittedly illegal rate of taxation that had
been collected by the County for eight (8) years. The
County attempted to use this act as a bar against tax-

5

payers who had already begun the process triggering
refunds to which they were entitled under a prior deci-
sion of the Maryland Court of Appeals in Prince George’s.
County, Maryland v. White, 275 Md. 314, 340 A.2d 236
(1975), declaring the rate of taxation illegal. The Court
of Appeals of Maryland in the instant case interpreted
as controlling Forbes Pioneer Boat Line v. Board of
Commissioners, 258 U.S. 338 (1922), which was in turn
applied and construed in Maryland by Comptroller v.
Glenn L. Martin Co., 216 Md. 235, 140 A.2d 288 (1957),
cert. denied, 358 U.S. 820 (1958). Forbes has been cited
and relied on in recent federal cases. Simpson‘v. United
States, 423 F. Supp. 720 (D. Iowa 1976); de Rodulfa v.
United States, 461 F.2d 1240 (D.C. Cir. 1972); Block
v. District of Columbia, 492 F.2d 646 (D.C. Cir. 1974).

In Simpson, supra, the federal government sought in
the year 1966 to tax the increased value of the assets
of petitioner’s company, a proprietorship electing to
be taxed at corporate rates, retroactive to the year 1960
when the election was made. The federal district court,
after discussing the relevant decisions of this Court on
the issue of retroactive legislation, and particularly Welch
v. Henry, 305 U.S. 134 (1938), stated:

The United States Supreme Court thus intimated
that there exists a time beyond which a taxing
statute may not constitutionally be given retroactive
effect. ... Regulation 1.1361-16(b), requiring at
least six years of retroactive taxation in this case and
on its face conceivably 10 years in the case of a
proprietorship electing under §1361(a) in 1955,
is in violation of the due process clause of the Fifth
Amendment and therefore invalid. 423 F. Supp. at
731.

Moreover, in Graham v. Goodcell, 282 U.S. 409, 426
(1931), this Court reiterated the general rule announced

6

in Forbes “that it is not consistent with due process to
take away from a private party a right to recover the
amount that is due when the act is passed.” The “cura-
tive”’ statute involved in Graham was upheld, but in so
holding this Court drew an important distinction which
separates the facts of that case from the case at bar.

It is apparent, as the result of the decisions, that a
distinction is made between a bare attempt of the
legislature retroactively to create liabilities for
transactions which, fully consummated in the past,
are deemed to leave no ground for legislative inter-
vention, and the case of a curative statute aptly
designed to remedy mistakes and defects in the
administration of government where the remedy
can be applied without injustice. 282 U.S. at 429.

This Court then cites the case of Charlotte Harbor &
Northern Ry. Co. v. Welles, 260 U.S. 8 (1922), for the
proposition that: ‘The power is necessary that govern-
ment may not be defeated by omissions and inaccuracies

in the exercise of functions necessary to its administra-
tion.” Emphasis added. 282 U.S. at 430.

Unlike the situations in Graham and Charlotte Harbor,
the statute involved in the present case did not seek to
rectify a “technical”? defect or an omission or mistake
in the authority of Prince George’s County to collect
recordation taxes at the’ $1.65 rate. Rather it sought to
supply a legislative intent and ability that had been found
in 1975 in Prince George’s County, Maryland v. White,
supra, to have been a nullity and void as far back as 1968.

7

CONCLUSION

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Court of
Appeals of Maryland should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

GLENN TRUSSELL HARRELL, JR.

O’MALLEY, MILES,
FARRINGTON & McCARTHY
96 Harry S. Truman Drive
Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20870
(301) 350-1300

Attorney for Respondents,
Washington National Arena
Limited Partnership, Northampton
Corporation and Rosecroft Trotting
and Pacing Associa‘éon, Inc.

and

GEORGE ALBERT BRUGGER

FOSSETT & BRUGGER
10210 Greenbelt Road
Seabrook, Maryland 20801
(301) 794-6900

Attorney for Respondents,
Alan I. Kay and Jerome D. Kay, as
General Partners of Greenbriar
Associates, a Maryland Limited
Partnership, and Alan I, Kay and
Allen E. Rozansky, as General
Partners of Cherry Glenn Associates,
a Maryland Limited Partnership

la

APPENDIX A

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
PRINCE GEORGE’S COUNTY

GENERAL PROPOSAL NO. 21—1968
GENERAL RESOLUTION NO. 21—1968

WHEREAS, the County Commissioners of Prince
George’s County are authorized by Chapter 301 of
the Acts of 1968, Maryland Laws, (an act to add new
Section 277(r) of Article 81 of the Annotated Code of
Maryland, 1965 Replacement Volume) to adopt by
resolution a rate of taxes for the recordation of instru-
ments conveying title to property and instruments
securing a debt:

SECTION 1. THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the
Board of County Commissioners for Prince George’s
County, that the tax imposed by Article 81, 277(a),
Annotated Code of Maryland, 1957 Edition (1965
Replacement Volume) on written instruments shall be
at the following rates:

In the case of instruments conveying title to property,
the tax shall be at the rate of $1.10 for each $500.00,
or fractional part thereof, of the actual consideration
paid, or to be paid; and in the case of instruments
securing a debt, the tax shall be at the rate of $1.10
for each $500.00 of the principal amount of the debt
secured.

The tax imposed shall be paid to and collected by the
Treasurer of Prince George’s County, and paid over by
said Treasurer to the County Commissioners.

SECTION 2. And be it further resolved, that this
Resolution shall take effect July 1, 1968.

2a
Adopted this 10th day of May, 1968.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS FOR
PRINCE GEORGE’S CCOUNTY, MARYLAND,

By:

Vice-Chairman

ATTEST:

/s/
Jean M. Schmuhl, Clerk

Sa
APPENDIX B

CONSTITUTION OF MARYLAND
DECLARATION OF RIGHTS

ARTICLE 19. Remedy for injury to person or property.

That every man, for any injury done to him in his
person or property, ought to have remedy by the course
of the Law of the land, and ought to have justice and
right, freely without sale, fully without any denial, and
speedily without delay, according to the Law of the
land.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2492%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
