# Petition — California v. Musante

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2480%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 447 U.S. 919

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United IODAK, J. CLERR

October Term, 1980

e¥9- 1909

. THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Petitioner,

Vv.

MICHAEL MUSANTE,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
CALIFORNIA COURT OF APPEAL,
FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION TWO

GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN, Attorney General
ROBERT H. PHILIBOSIAN, Chief Assistant
Attorney General--Criminal Division
DANIEL J. KREMER,
Assistant Attorney General
HARLEY D. MAYFIELD,
Deputy Attorney General
JAY M. BLOOM,
Deputy Attorney General
110 West “A” Street, Suite 700
San Diego, California 92101
Telephone: (714) 237-7750

Attorneys for Petitioner

INTERIM PRINTING & MAILING COMPANY
1105 WEST MORENA BOULEVARD, SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA 92110 — 275-3050

JUN 4

i960

PO Oe ee eceanccmamanc

ote

TOPICAL INDEX

Pages
OPINION BELOW 1
JURISDICTION 2
QUESTIONS PRESENTED 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED 2 - 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 3-5
A. History of the Case 3 = 5
B. Statement of Facts 5 - 6
1. The Burglary Charge 5
2. The Possession of oe
Marijuana for Sale
Charge
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 7
ARGUMENT 7 =- 21
I THE WARRANTLESS
SEARCH OF THE BOX
WAS PROPER += 2a
CONCLUSION 21

APPENDICES

-ii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Arkansas v. Sanders (1979)
442 U.S. 753

Auto Equity Sales, Inc. v.
Superior Court (1962)
54 Cal.2d 450

California v. Minjares (1979)
443 U.S. 916

Cardwell v. Lewis (1974)
Si? G.8. S63

Carroll v. United States
(1925) 267 U.S. 132

Chambers v. Maroney (1970)
399 U.S. 42

Harris v. United States
(1968) 390 U.S. 234

Mapp v. Ohio (1961) 367 U.S. 643

Mincey v. Arizona (1978)
437 U.S. 385

Oregon v. Hass (1975)
420 U.S.714

People v. Cahan (1955)
44 Cal.2d 434

passim

15

16

-iii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(Continued)
Pages
CASES
People v. Dalton (1979) 11 ,32933¢
24 Cal.App.3d 850 14,15
People v. Minjares (1979) |
24 Cal.3d 410 10,11,15
People v. Musante (1980)
102 Cal.App.3d 156 14
People v. Solario (1977)
19 Cal.3d 760 16
People v. Upton (1968)
257 Cal.App.2d 677 11,14
Rakas v. Illinois (1978)
439 U.S. 128 14,15,16
South Dakota v. Opperman (1976)
428 U.S. 364 8
Stone v. Powell (1976)
428 U.S. 455 19,20
United States v. Chadwick 10,11,15,
(1977) 433 U.S. 1 16,17
United States v. Neumann

(8th Cir. 1978) 585 F.2d 355 17,18
United States v. Peltier

(1975) 422 U.S. 531 19

-iy-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
(Continued)

TEXT

Oakes, Studying the
Exclusionary Rule in
Search and Seizure (1970)
37 U. Chi. L.Rev.

Pages

19

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term 1980

No.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
Petitioner,
Vv.
MICHAEL MUSANTE

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE CALIFORNIA COURT OF APPEAL,
FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION TWO

Petitioner, the People of the
State of California respectfully requests
a writ of certiorari issue to review the
judgment of the California Court of
Appeal, Fourth Appellate District,
Division Two, which was entered on March
1l, 1980, and became final on April 24,
1980. (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 24a.)

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of
Appeal may be found at 102 Cal.App.3d
156, ___ ~Cal.Rptr. __—_. ~=AA copy of the
opinion appears as Appendix A to this
petition.

_o

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of
Appeal of California became final on
April 24, 1980. This petition for writ
of certiorari was filed within 90 days of
that date. This Court's jurisdiction is
invoked under 28 U.S.C. section 1257(3).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a thief of an auto-
mobile has an expectation of privacy in
closed containers in the automobile so
that police must obtain a search warrant
to search closed containers within the
automobile.

2. Whether the rule in Arkansas
v. Sanders (1979) 442 U.S. 753, should be
applied to the search in this case which
occurred in 1977.

3. Whether the exclusionary
rule should be modified or abolished as
its deterrent effect is questionable and
it does not foster- public belief in the
integrity of the judicial system.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

United States Constitution,
Amendment IV:

"The right of the people
to be secure in their persons,
houses, papers, and effects,
against unreasonable searches
and seizures, shall not be
violated, and no warrants shall

a Sea

issue, but upon probable cause,
supported by oath or
affirmation, and particularly
described the place to be
searched, and the persons or
things to be seized."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. History of the Case

A complaint filed in the
Municipal Court of San Bernardino County
charged respondent Michael Musante with
burglary (Pen. Code, § 459) in case
F-1114. (CT 6.)1/ On January 27, 1978,
an information was filed in CR 34522
charging respondent in count I with
receiving stolen property (Pen. Code, §
496), in count II with possession of
marijuana for sale (Health & Saf. Code,
§ 11359, subd. (a)), in count III with
transportation of marijuana (Health &
Saf. Code, § 11360), and in count IV with
taking or driving the vehicle of another
(Veh. Code, § 10851).

On February 6, 1978, respondent
entered a guilty plea in the municipal
court to the burglary charge in F-1114.
(CT 11-18.) On March 31, 1978, respon-
dent's motions to suppress evidence pur-
suant to Penal Code section 1538.5 and to
dismiss the information pursuant to Penal
Code section 995 were heard and denied in
case CR 34522. (CT 23.)

| 1. CT refers to the clerk's
transcript of the proceedings in the
superior court.

~~

On April 7, 1978, respondent
entered a guilty plea to the charge in
count II of the information in case CR
34522. As part of the bargain the
remaining counts in the information were
to be dismissed. (CT 27-28.)

On May 22, 1978, a motion to
withdraw the guilty plea to the burglary
charge in F-1114 was heard and denied.
(RT 5/22/78.) 2/

On June 5, 1978, respondent was
sentenced to state prison for three years
on ‘the burglary charge in case F-1114.

He was also sentenced to state prison for
24 months as to the marijuana case.
However, 16 months were to be stayed so
respondent would only serve a consecutive
term of 8 months as to that charge. (CT
47-51.)

He appealed from the judgments.
(C? $2-53.)

In a published opinion issued
on February 14, 1980, the California
Court of Appeal, Fourth Appellate
District, Division Two, reversed the con-
viction on the possession of marijuana
for sale charge (CR 34522) on the ground
the seizure of the marijuana was
improper. (Appen. A.)

Petitioner, the People of the
State of California sought a hearing

2. RT refers to reporter's
transcript of the proceedings in the
superior court.

x =

before the California Supreme Court, but
the request for a hearing was denied on
April 24, 1980. (Appen. B.)

The Court of Appeal and this
Court have refused to stay enforcement of
the judgment. (Appen. C.)

B. Statement of Facts

Re The Burglary Charge

Respondent's conviction on the
burglary charge rested upon his guilty
plea to the charge that he unlawfully
entered a dwelling belonging to an Escol
Moses in Lucerne Valley, California, with
the intent to commit theft. (CT 6.)

Re The Possession of Marijuana for
Sale Charge

On November 12, 1977, at about
1:25 a.m., Deputy Richard Crocker of the
San Bernardino County Sheriff's Office,
noted a car weaving slightly and moving
to the shoulder. After observing the car
weave, he followed it. Thereafter, the
vehicle went through an intersection at a
very slow speed and almost stopped at a
green light. The car continued onto the
freeway and continued to weave slightly.
He then stopped the vehicle, spoke to the
driver, checked her license, and admin-~
istered a field sobriety test. However,
he could not tell from her performance
whether she was under the influence.
Lacking the expertise to conclusively
determine the issue, he called to the
Highway Patrol for assistance.

aGe

(Preliminary Hg. Transcript, pp.
26-36.)

About 15 minutes later,
Officers Stevens and Hernandez of the
Highway Patrol arrived. Stevens con-
tacted Musante, a passenger in the
vehicle, while Hernandez administered a
sobriety test to the driver. Stevens
asked Musante whose car it was and
Musante indicated it belonged to the
driver and him as they were married.
Musante then removed the registration
from the car and showed it to the
officer. When the officer noted the VIN
number on the registration did not match
the VIN number of the car, he ran a
registration check. While he waited for
a response, Hernandez told him the driver
was not under the influence. During this
time Musante and the driver gave
conflicting stories with regard to
ownership of the vehicle. The registra-
tion check eventually indicated the car
had been stolen in Sonora, California, on
October 25, 1977. Musante and the
driver, a Miss Caston, were then
arrested.

While the contents of the
vehicle were being inventoried, an
electric blanket box was found in the
rear seat of the vehicle. The box was
opened and marijuana was found inside.
The box had been taped shut.
(Preliminary Hg. Transcript, pp. 41-55,
72-74.)

— oe
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents a fundamental
question regarding application of the
exclusionary rule: whether an automobile
thief may assert a legitimate right to
privacy as to closed containers in the
stolen car.

The State of California
believes an analysis of the contrasting
privacy expectations of the owner and the
thief of an automobile indicate it is
reasonable for the police to conduct a
warrantless search of closed containers
in a stolen vehicle. A thief should know
the inevitable capture of the car will
involve a search to determine ownership
and an inspection of any containers in
the car to determine their ownership.

This case is of nationwide
importance as it involves the extent to
which a thief may hide behind the shield
of the exclusionary rule and use it as a
sword to prevent proper police
investigation. It also raises fundamen-
tal questions as to whether our legal
system can recognize the right of a thief
to assert a legitimate expectation of
privacy in items contained inside a
vehicle the thief has stolen.

ARGUMENT
I

THE WARRANTLESS SEARCH OF THE
BOX WAS PROPER

Petitioner, the People of the
State of California, respectfully
requests this Court grant this petition

for writ of certiorari to consider the
fundamental question of whether a thief
who steals an automobile has any right to
privacy with regard to items inside the
automobile and whether the thief may assert
Fourth Amendment rights with regard to

the property in the stolen automobile.

Initially, it is well settled
police may stop and search an automobile
without a search warrant when they have
probable cause to believe the vehicle
contains contraband or evidence of a
crime. (Arkansas v. Sanders, supra, 442
U.S. 753, 760; Chambers v. Maroney (1970)
399 U.S. 42; Carroll v. United States
(1925) 267 U.S. 132.) The reason for
this rule is that the inherent mobility
of automobiles often makes it impractical
to obtain a warrant. (Arkansas v.
Sanders, supra, at p. 761; Chambers v.
Maroney, supra; Carroll v. United States,
Supra.) In addition, the configuration,
use, and regulation of automobiles often
dilute the reasonable expectation of pri-
vacy that exists with respect to dif-
ferently situated property. (Arkansas v.
Sanders, supra; South Dakota v. Opperman
(1976) 428 U.S. 364, 368; Cardwell v.
Lewis (1974) 417 U.S. 583, 590.)

However, in Arkansas v.
Sanders, supra, this Court concluded the
rules allowing warrantless searches of
automobiles did not apply to items inside
an automobile to which there was an
expectation of privacy such as personal
luggage. Consequently, if such items
were found inside a vehicle, they could
be seized, but a search warrant would be
required before the items could be
searched. (Arkansas v. Sanders, supra,

==

This Court also noted, however,

that not all items inside a vehicle were
entitled to such an expectation of

privacy.

Rather, a case by case deter-

mination would be required to determine
which items may only be searched with a

warrant.

The only specific holding in

Arkansas v. Sanders, supra, was that

luggage carried an expectation of privacy
and could only be opened and searched
with a warrant whether or not it was
inside a vehicle.

"Not all containers and

packages found by police during
the course of a search will
deserve the full protection of
the Fourth Amendment. Thus,
some containers (for example a
kit of burglar tools or a gun
case) by their very nature can-
not support any reasonable
expectation of privacy because
their contents can be inferred
from their outward appearance.
Similarly, in some cases the
contents of a package will be
open to ‘plain view,’ thereby
obviating the need for a
warrant. See Harris v. United
States, 390 U.S. 234, 236
(1968) (per curiam). There
will be difficulties in deter-
mining which parcels taken from
an automobile require a warrant
for their search and which do

not.

Our decision in this case

means only that a warrant
generally is required before

= Quen

personal luggage can be
searched and that the extent to
which the Fourth Amendment
applies to containers and other
parcels depends not at all upon
whether they are seized from an
automobile." (Arkansas v.
Sanders, supra, at pp. 764-
765, fn. 13.)

In the meantime, the California
Supreme Court reached a similar conclu-
sion. In People v. Minjares (1979) 24
Cal.3d 410, the California Supreme Court
relied on the prior opinion of this Court
in United States v. Chadwick (1977) 433
U.S. 1, and concluded once a closed con-
tainer found in an automobile comes under
the exclusive control of a police officer
an immediate search was no longer
necessary. Rather, a warrant had to be
obtained for a search of the container
unless exigent circumstances mandated an
immediate search. 3/

Based on this conclusion the
court held a tote bag found in an automo-
bile could not have been examined without
a search warrant. The court also noted
its holding was based on the federal
constitution as it intimated "no views on
how the validity of the search in this
case would be decided under the
California Constitution." (People v.
Minjares, supra, at p. 424, fn. 8.)

3. The Court denied a petition
for writ of certiorari in the case.
(California v. Minjares (1979) 443 U.S.
916.)

elle

All these cases were employed
by the California Supreme Court in People
v. Dalton (1979) 24 Cal.3d 850. In
Dalton, the California Supreme Court
relied on Chadwick, Sanders and Minjares,
and concluded a thief riding ins‘de an
automobile he had taken could assert a
right to privacy as to closed items
inside the automobile.4/ Accordingly, he
could challenge and have a court invali-
date a warrantless seizure of closed
items inside the vehicle such as a box.

The essential facts in the
instant case indicate officers stopped a
car which was being operated in an erra-
tic manner. Musante was the passenger
and his wife was the driver. Prompt
police investigation revealed the vehicle
had been stolen and Musante was arrested.
On the backseat the officers saw an
electric blanket box. It had a top on it,
but the top was not taped to the box,
The box was opened and marijuana was
located inside.

Under preexisting California
law the search and seizure would have
been proper as a thief could not procure
the benefits of the Fourth Amendment and
use them to shield him from a search of
the box. (People v. Upton (1968) 257
Cal.App.2d 677, 682-684. Nevertheless,
because of the Dalton decision, the Court
of Appeal was required to invalidate the
search of the box in the car on the
ground Musante, the man who had taken the

4. A petition for writ of cer-
tiorari was denied in Dalton on March 24,
1980. _—s«—*vu«. 8. °

=] 2@

car, had a right to privacy as to the box
inside the car. (See Auto Equity Sales
Inc. v. Superior Court 11563} 54 Cal.2d
450, 454-455 (decisions of the California

Supreme Court are binding on all lower
courts) .)

Petitioner believes fundamental
principals of constitutional law compel
the conclusion a thief of a vehicle
should not be able to assert a right to
privacy as to closed items inside the
vehicle the thief has taken.

Accordingly, it is requested this peti-
tion for writ of certiorari be granted to
reject such a result and to disapprove of
any language in Dalton to the extent it
intimates federal law grants a thief any
legitimate expectation of privacy in
closed items in a stolen vehicle.

The major problem with Dalton
is that the California Supreme Court
accepted the argument one who has stolen
an automobile may assert a right to pri-
vacy in the items in the automobile. The
rationale for his holding is that even if
a thief has no expectation of privacy in
the vehicle, he still would have an
expectation of privacy in the closed
items in the vehicle. The point being
the issue is not the validity of the car
search, but the validity of the search of
the item in the vehicle. (People v.
Dalton, supra, at pp. 858-859.)

However, the reasoning behind
this conclusion is flawed because the
interest of the thief in the vehicle can-
not be separated from the interest of the
thief in the items inside the vehicle.

o} Se

It makes no sense to hold a thief has no
right to privacy as to the stolen vehicle
and then permit him to insulate evidence
of a crime or instrumentalities of a
crime from the police by placing them in
closed items which were stolen along with
the vehicle, or placed in the vehicle by
the thief. A thief should have no legi-
timate expectation of privacy as to the
vehicle or items inside the vehicle.
Instead, a thief should know the inevi-
tible capture of the car will entail a
search to determine its ownership and an
immediate inspection of any containers to
determine ownership.

As Justice Gardner, of the
California Court of Appeal observed in
his concurring opinion below:

"When someone is driving my
stolen car, I think the police
have a right to arrest him and
to search him and all closed
containers therein. I do not
want that thief to have any of
my Fourth Amendment rights. Of
course, if the cops open a box
and find my stash of marijuana,
I have grounds to complain.

But if they open the box and
find the thief's stash he has
no legal right to complain. He
is not legally on the premises
to be searched and has no
standing to complain when the
police open closed containers
on those premises. But then,
of course, Dalton says he has
and that, to coin a phrase, is
that.

alte

"None of this is meant to
indicate that a burglar or a
car thief loses his Fourth
Amendment rights entirely. For
example, he can only be patted
down for weapons or destructive
evidence. The skin search
comes later -- during the
booking process. It simply
means he can't clothe himself
in my Fourth Amendment rights
-- which is exactly what the
court did in Dalton although it
denied doing it. I cannot see
any logic in insisting on the
issuance of a search warrant
before the officers conduct an
inventory of the contents of
closed containers therein. I
still think Upton was a good
law." (People v. Musante
(1980) 102 Cal.App.3d 156,
159-160.)

Support for our argument here
may also be found in Rakas v. Illinois
(1978) 439 U.S. 128. There passengers in
a vehicle challenged a police search of a
box in the glove compartment of the
vehicle as well as seizure of a rifle.
This Court rejected the notion the
passengers could assert any Fourth
Amendment claims as to the seizures
noting the Fourth Amendment only protects
those who can claim a legitimate expec-
tation of privacy with regard to the
invaded place. (Id., at pp. 141, 143-144,
and fns. 9, 12.) Obviously, if the
passengers of a vehicle had no legitimate
Fourth Amendment rights with regard to
the car, then Musante, who is a car

=o] 5.

thief, is hardly in the position of being
able to assert a legitimate expectation
of privacy as to items in the victim's
vehicle.

In addition, Musante cannot
assert Rakas cannot be applied here as it
is a rule of federal standing. Rakas
defines what legitimate-»interests may
constitutionally be protected by the
Fourth Amendment, it is not a narrow
decision concerning standing
requirements. (Id., at p. 139.)

Moreover, Musante cannot claim
Dalton and this case were only based on
the California Constitution and are thus
not affected by the Rakas decision.
Dalton was based on the decisions of this
Court in Sanders and Chadwick as well as
Minjares, which, as noted earlier, was
based on federal constitution. As Dalton
purports to interpret rights grante
under the federal Constitution, it is
obviously subject to the limits of Fourth
Amendment rights set forth in Rakas.
(Oregon v. Hass (1975) 420 U.S. 714,
719.)

Moreover, Mincey v. Arizona
(1978) 437 U.S. 385, does not assist
respondent. In Mincey this Court held a
defendant did not lose his Fourth
Amendment rights in his own residence by
having committed a murder there. The
point of Mincey being commission of a
crime does not deprive one of legitimate
Fourth Amendment rights. However, unlike
Mincey the defendants in Dalton and this
case simply have no legitimate expec-
tations of privacy to assert. They were

=16@

not the legitimate owners of the car
involved or necessarily the contents of
the vehicle.

United States v. Chadwick
(1977) 433 U.S. 1, and Arkansas v.
Sanders, supra, also do not compel a
contrary result. These cases discuss the
legitimate right to privacy of indivi-
duals in closed objects and indicate a
warrant is required before such objects
can be searched and seized. The crucial
point here is that a thief of an automo-
bile cannot assert any legitimate
interest in the privacy of the articles
contained therein,

Moreover, allowing a thief to
assert a right to privacy in closed items
in a stolen vehicle can only lead to
public questioning of the reasonableness
of our legal system. The exclusionary
rule is designed to deter unlawful acts
of law enforcement and to not make courts
party to police illegalities. This is
why illegally obtained evidence is
suppressed despite the culpability of the
accused, (Mapp v. Ohio (1961) 367 U.S.
643; People v. Cahan (1955) 44 Cal.2d
434.) In addition, the purpose of the
exclusionary rule is the protection of an
individual's legitimate right to privacy.
Yet it seems questionable that the legal
system should be in the business of
granting a thief a right to privacy in
items found in a stolen car. (People v.
Solario (1977) 19 Cal.3d 760, Rakas v.
Illinois, supra, at pp. 143-144, fn. 12.)
While this fact may be lost on some, it
is not lost on the public which, after
all, the law is really designed to protect.

oi Fe

Moreover, it seems worth noting
the exclusionary rule is not an end in
itself. Rather, it is merely a means of
protecting the rights of citizens from
unreasonable invasions of their right to
privacy in accord with the mandate of the
United States Constitution. (Arkansas v.
Sanders, supra, at p. 758.) However, a
thief simply cannot assert police acted
unreasonably by examining items in a
stolen car. If he steals the car, he can
hardly assert any rights as to the items
in the stolen car. Moreover, if the
items belong to the victim of the car
thief, the victim can always assert his
own right to privacy in the items. The
thief of the car can hardly be permitted
to steal the car and then claim the
owner's rights to items in the car had
been violated by police conduct.

It must also be noted that the
idea of giving a thief a right to privacy
as to items inside a car he has stolen
seems contrary to the very basis of the
Fourth Amendment which gives the people
the right to "be secure in their persons,
houses, papers, and effects, against
unreasonable searches and seizures."
(Emphasis added.)

Furthermore, federal law indi-
cates there is no right to privacy ina
closed container such as a box. Both
Chadwick and Sanders dealt with personal
luggage to which an individual could have
a reasonable expectation of privacy.
There is no reason to assume, however,
there is an expectation of privacy in an
unsecured box lying in plain sight in the
passenger area of a vehicle. (United

oite~

States v. Neumann (8th Cir. 1978) 585
F.2d 355, 360.) AS was noted in Neumann,
Supra, at pages 360-361: .

"This court is of the
opinion that the warrant
requirement in Chadwick should
not be extended to the facts of
this case. There is simply an
insufficient expectation of
privacy in an unsecured card-
board box sitting in plain view
in the passenger compartment of
an automobile. The arresting
officers merely lifted the lid
of the box and discovered a
large quantity of pills.

Unlike the situation in Stevie,
where the officers could have
seized and inventoried the
locked suitcase as a unit
without fear of loss or theft
of the contents, here it was
reasonable for the officers to
promptly examine the contents
of the box and later to have
the drugs properly inventoried
and secured. This procedure
protected the legitimate
interests of the arresting
officers, including protection
against unwarranted allegations
of theft or loss, and could
well have protected the
interests of the Neumanns in
having their property properly
identified, safely kept and
returned had not the box con-
tained a controlled substance."

-19-

Accordingly, having obtained
cause to seize and search the vehicle,
the officers had the perfect right to
conduct a warrantless search of the card-
board box to determine its contents.

It must also be noted the rule
enunciated in Arkansas v. Sanders, was
not espoused until 1979. Yet, the search
in this case occurred during 1977.
Accordingly, the officers acted in good
faith in accord with the law existing at
the time. Under these circumstances
there is no reason to apply the rule
espoused in Arkansas v. Sanders
retroactively. Such an application will
not deter future illegal conduct as the
police did not act illegally here.
Rather, they acted in accord with the law
as it existed at the time. Moreover,
prospective application of the Sanders
case will not place the courts in the
position of condoning any conduct that
was illegal at the time it occurred.
Thus, the conduct of the police should be
upheld here on the ground the Sanders
case should only be applied
prospectively. (United States v. Peltier
(1975) 422 U.S. 531.)

Finally, it would seem this
case presents an excellent example as to
why the exclusionary rule should be
reconsidered, First, recent studies have
not been conclusive as to whether the
exclusionary rule has deterred police
from unlawful conduct. (See Oakes,
Studying the Exclusionary Rule in Search
and Seizure (1970) 37 U. Chi. L.Rev.;
see Stone v. Powell (1976) 428 U.S. 465,
492-493. )

-20-

Moreover, the concept of
deterrence assumes most police conduct is
deliberate. However, this is not always
the case. An incorrect judgment may be
due to the pressure of making a split-
second decision in the field, an inabi-
lity to foresee changes in the law as in
this case, or to foretell the composition
and disposition of a particular court.
(See California v. Minjares (1979) 443
U.S. 916.)

In addition, it is often said
the exclusionary rule is needed to foster
respect for the court system by showing
the public the courts do not condone
illegal activity by law enforcement.

(See Stone v. Powell, supra, at pp.

489-491.)

Yet, it is difficult to see how
the results of this case in the state
courts would foster public respect for
the court system. A thief took the car
of another person and was then able to
assert a right to privacy as to items in
that car. The victim of the theft never
asserted any right to privacy as to the
car or the items inside or complained of
police conduct. Yet, the thief was per-
mitted to do so to have a court invali-
date a search which was proper at the
time it was conducted and have his con-
viction reversed. Such an Alice in
Wonderland result hardly fosters respect
for the legal system.

Accordingly, it is requested
certiorari be granted to determine
whether the exclusionary rule can be
applied in the manner it has been applied
or whether it should be abolished or
modified.

o2ie

Consequently, it is apparent
the instant case raises fundamental
questions as to the application of the
exclusionary rule to this case and the
validity of the rule itself. Because the
issues presented in this case are of fun-
damental importance to all persons in the
United States, it is requested this peti-
tion for writ of certiorari be granted.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it
is respectfully submitted that the
petition for writ of certiorari be
granted,

Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN,
Attorney General

ROBERT H. PHILIBOSIAN,
Chief Assistant Attorney
General--Criminal Division

DANIEL J. KREMER,
Assistant Attorney General

HARLEY D. MAYFIELD,
Deputy Attorney General

juty Attorney General

torneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX A

= An} o

[Filed February 14, 1980]
CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION
IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE
OF CALIFORNIA
FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION TWO
4TH CRIM. NO. 10041
(Sup.Ct.No. CR-34522/VCR-432)
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Plaintiff and Respondent,
Vv.
MICHAEL MUSANTE,

Defendant and Appellant

APPEAL from the Superior Court
of San Bernardino County. Donald R. Egan
and Don A Turner, Judges. Affirmed in
part; reversed in part.

Richard J. Weller, under
appointment by the Court of Appeal, for
Defendant and Appellant.

George Deukmejian, Attorney
General, and Michael E. Lasater, Deputy
Attorney General, for Plaintiff and
Respondent,

o fad =

Defendant pled guilty to
burglary. Insofar as this court is
concerned, he contends (1) that the trial
court failed to advise him of the direct
consequences of his guilty plea, and (2)
that the degree of burglary was not spe-
cifically designated although he was sen-
tenced for first degree burglary.

The lack of a certificate of
probable cause precludes consideration of
these contentions. We agree completely
with the stand taken by the court in
People v. Pinon, 96 Cal.App.3d 904 that
if Penal Code §/1237.5 is to retain any
viability in the statutory scheme,
appellate courts cannot engage in a
wholesale disregard of its procedural
requirements. Judicial economy, the
usual excuse for circumventing this
section, is a sorry excuse for ignoring a
statute which was enacted for that very
consideration.
rnert on Pp A-(r

The judgment of conviction of .
burglary will be affirmed.

At the same time the defendant
pled guilty to the burglary, he pled
guilty to possession of marijuana for
sale after an unsuccessful motion to
suppress. We review the motion to
suppress.

Stripped to their essentials
the facts are really quite simple.
Officers stopped a car which was being
operated in an erratic manner. Defendant
was the passenger; his wife the driver.
Prompt investigation revealed that the
car was stolen. Defendant and his wife

— ae

were arrested. On the back seat was a
large box described as an electric
blanket box. The box was opened and in
it was a large amount of marijuana. It
is the opening of this box which is the
bone of contention.

At the time of this hearing,
the issue seemed fairly clear. In People
v. Upton, 257 Cal.App.2d 677, it was held
that it was reasonable for officers to
search a stolen car and in so doing to
open suitcases or boxes found in that car
for the purpose of ascertaining ownership
or whether they contained any stolen
material. (See Witkin, California
Evidence 2d 1977, Supplement 4 120A.)
Applying upton to the facts of this case,
when the o cers found themselves in
possession of a stolen car, it would
appear reasonable for them to open the
box which from its markings contained an
electric blanket. It became necessary to
ascertain either ownership of the blanket
or whether it had been stolen,

Of course, Upton was decided
before the current spate of
footlocker/brief case/package/closed con-
tainer cases. (United States v.
Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1 [53 L.Ed.2d 538, 97
S.Ct. 2476]; Arkansas v. Sanders, __
U.S. . Ed. 2d Ls ae Sate

[ L
2586]; People v. Minjares, 24 Cal.3d 410;
People v. Dalton, 24 Cal.3d 850.) Upton
might have had continued vitality under
Chadwick, Sanders and Minjares. However,
Dalton shot Upton down in flames. Under
the circumstances almost identical to
those in the instant case, the Supreme

Court held that closed boxes or con-

o Awd o

tainers in a stolen vehicle cannot be
opened without a search warrant. Under
the compulsion of Dalton, we reverse the
conviction of possession of marijuana for

sale.

Affirmed in part; reversed in
part.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION.

/s/ Gardner

We concur:

/s/ Kaufman

/s/ McDaniel

- Ans o

Concurring opinion, Gardner,
P.J.

People v. Dalton, 24 Cal.3d
850, which compelled a reversal in this
case has a significant flaw. It is
wrong.

I fully recognize that under
the rulings of the Supreme Court, and if
that court wishes to jump off a figura-
tive Pali, I, lemming-like, must leap
right after it. However, I reserve my
First Amendment right to kick and scream
on my way down to the rocks below.

I have no quarrel with the
principle that the Fourth Amendment pro-
tects closed personal effects as well as
persons, houses and cars. After all, it
is rather specific in protecting the
rights of people to be secure in their
"persons, houses, papers and effects."
However, I think that if the authors of
the Fourth Amendment were aware of
Dalton, they would be turning over in
their graves.

I do not accept the concept
that a thief who steals my car thus wraps
himself in the mantle of my Fourth
Amendment rights. I do not quarrel with
the concept that the Fourth Amendment
protects people, not places. In our
case, the lawful owner of the car would
possess certain privacy rights concerning
his vehicle and its contents which rights
must receive the protection of the law.
However, the owner possesses no person
expectation of privacy as to contraband
placed in his car by others after the

= hof o

vehicle has been stolen. In order to
apply the vicarious exclusionary rule to
one in the defendant's position, it is
first necessary to create a theoretical
expectation of privacy in the vehicle
Owner as to the contraband of which he
knows nothing and which found its way
into his vehicle solely because the
vehicle was stolen from him. I decline
to accept the absurdity that the owner
has any expectation of privacy in
defendant's marijuana. I further contend
that the thief had no expectation of pri-
vacy as to any package in the stolen
vehicle.

Although Dalton denied that the
vicarious exclusionary rule was appli-
cable in this type of case, the court was
in error. In Dalton, the court said at
p. 859: "It is contended that appellant
may not contest the search of the car
under the vicarious exclusionary rule
because no interest of the owner of the
vehicle ws violated. (Citation.) Once
again it should be pointed out that
appellant is contesting the warrantless
search of the boxes, not of the car. He
never disclaimed any interest in the
boxes. Thus, the search of the boxes
does not involve the vicarious exclu-
Sionary rule. (Citations.)" This is
pure sophistry. Conceptually, Dalton
can't be upheld without resort to the
vicarious exclusionary rule. And when
that happens, the court comes slap dab up
against Solario.

In People v. Solario, 19 Cal.3d
760, the court held that a burglar is not
entitled to the protection of Penal Code

> an? oo

§ 844. It held that the vicarious exclu-
sionary rule does not enure to the bene-
fit of a burglar since the person whose
rights were theoretically violated was
the burglar's victim. The court made it
clear that Penal Code § 844 offers pro-
tection to the householder, not to the
burglar. As this court said in an
earlier case, with perhaps a touch of
hyperbole, a burglar cannot make another
man's home his castle. (People v. Ortiz,
276 Cal.App.2d 1, 5.) Neither can a car
thief make his victim's car his car for
the purposes of the vicarious exclu-
sionary rule. The concept was aptly put
in the concurring opinion in People v.
Shaw, 21 Cal.App.3d 710, 715, "To my mind
it borders upon the absurd to hold that a
thief should be given the benefit of a
constitutional right to an expectation of
privacy to a vehicle which he has
stolen,"

This is not to say that Fourth
Amendment rights are available only to
one who has clear title to property.
That Amendment protects persons without
title, e.g., one with a possessory
interest or anyone legitimately on the
premises or where the area is one to
which there was a reasonable expectation
of freedom from governmental intrusion.
(Mancusi v. DeForte, 392 U.S. 364 [20
L.Ed.2d 1154, 88 S.Ct. 2120]; Jones
v. United States, 362 U.S. 257 [4 L.Ed. 2d
697, 80 S.Ct. 725]; United States v.
Jeffers, 342 U.S. 48 [96 L.Ed. 59, 72
S.Ct. 93].)

The test for whether or not
there has been an unreasonable governmen-

- A=® o

tal intrusion, of course, is whether the
defendant had a reasonable expectation of
privacy. (People v. Edwards, 71 Cal.2d
1096, 1100.) Aye, there is the rub.
Unquestionably, a burglar has an
overwhelming expectation of privacy.
Actually, the entire criminal class, with
the possible exception of flashers,
operate entirely with a very real expec-
tation of privacy. However, this is not
a reasonable expectation which the courts
will recognize or enforce. The
criminal's right of privacy is always
subject to reasonable governmental
intrusion. Thus, to claim the protection
of the Fourth Amendment, one must be
legally and legitimately in the area
about to be entered and searched. A
simple example will suffice.

I was recently the victim of a
burglary. A neighbor had seen the entry
and, purely by accident, the police and I
arrived at the same time and while the
burglary was in full swing. The burglar,
Billy Bell, a well known local
professional, was apprehended under some
bushes in the backyard. He was hand-
cuffed and taken to the police car. The
officers then returned to the bushes and
in that area they found Billy's loot
scattered around. But what if Billy had
put his loot in a box, perhaps in a box
with the label "Private property of Billy
Bell, professional burglar. Keep out.”
Would the police have had to get a search
warrant to open that box? To me the idea
is downright silly. So, too, if a thief
is caught in possession of a stolen car,
why should he have any Fourth Amendment
rights over closed containers in the car?

o Ln} o

Perhaps thieves and burglars have dif-
ferent standards of protection. This, of
course, presents some rather prickly
equal protection problems. To me the
idea of giving car thieves or burglars
Fourth Amendment rights over closed con-
tainers in burgled houses or stolen cars
is simply preposterous. Nevertheless,
that is the result compelled by Dalton.

Dalton says that the officers
were not certain that the defendant had
stolen the car at the time the boxes were
searched. Of course, they were not.
Nevertheless, probable cause for an arrest
existed. If we have to wait for convic-
tions before officers can act, the
efforts to police officers to protect the
law-abiding public are going to be
somewhat curtailed. When someone steals
my car and I report it to the police, I
think they have probable cause to arrest
the driver and I don't think that a lack
of a conviction has anything to do with
the case. Actually, the odds are almost
prohibitive that the driver is the thief.
Of course, the insidious Dr. Fu Manchu
might have stolen it, then, disguised as
Honest John, used car salesman, sold it
to the innocent driver. (To avoid a
charge of racism, I will have Charley
Chan arrest Dr. Fu Manchu.) But all of
this has nothing to do with probable cause.
When someone is driving my stolen car, I
think the police have a right to arrest
him and to search him and all closed con-
tainers therein. I do not want that
thief to have any of my Fourth Amendment
rights. Of course, if the cops open a
box and find my stash of marijuana, I
have grounds to complain. But if they

- A-10 -

open the box and find the thief's stash
he has no legal right to complain. He is
not legally on the premises to be
searched and has no standing to complain
when the police open closed containers on
those premises. But then, of course,
Dalton says he has and that, to coin a
phrase, is that.

None of this is meant to indi-
cate that a burglar or a car thief loses
his Fourth Amendment rights entirely.

For example, he can only be patted down
for weapons or destructive evidence. The
skin search comes later -- during the
booking process. It simply means that he
can't clothe himself in my Fourth
Amendment rights -- which is exactly what
the court did in Dalton although it
denied doing it. I cannot see any logic
in insisting on the issuance of a search
warrant before the officers conduct an
inventory of the contents of closed con-
tainers therein. I still think Upton was
good law.

When, in Cahan, the Supreme
Court of this state adopted the exclu-
sionary rule, it made a commitment that
the courts would develop “workable rules"
and not indulge in "needless refinements
and distinctions" nor “introduce con-
fusion into the laws of criminal
procedure." (People v. Cahan, 44 Cal.2d
434, 3450.) That commitment was not only
commendable, it was necessary. Police
officers in the field making minute to
minute and second to second decisions
must have rules which are definite,
simple, plain, explicit and
understandable. Nevertheless, as I sur-

- A-ll -

vey the 400 to 500 cases collected in Mr.
Bell's splendid Compendium on Search and
Seizure, I cannot but observe that the
rules which have evolved constitute a
kind of encrusted ritual of rigid eti-
quette which is almost Byzantine in its
frozen formality and labyrinthine
protocol. Dalton simply adds, erro-
neously I submit, to this ever thickening
layer of legalisms and adds one more
barren technicality to this already
bloated and amorphous field.

I don't know how many car
thieves are apprehended each year, but in
each case any police officer worth his
salt is going to conduct an inventory to
ascertain the ownership and status of the
contents of the car because car thieves
are notoriously catholic in their thefts.
In so doing, it will be necessary to open
closed containers to ascertain ownership
and whether they contain stolen goods.
Under Dalton, they will have to secure a
search warrant for this task. This
simply imposes on the already heavy
workload of prosecutors and judges a
completely unnecessary burden because I
can't for the life of me imagine any
judge turning down such a request. So
where has anyone benefited from this
"needless refinement" to the exclusionary
rule?

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION.

_/s/ Gardner

P.J.

- A-l2 -

[Filed March ll, 1980]

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN
THE OFFICIAL REPORTS

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE
OF CALIFORNIA
FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION TWO
4TH CRIM. NO. 10041
(Sup.Ct.No. CR-34522/VCR-432)
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Plaintiff and Respondent,
Vv.
MICHAEL MUSANTE,

Defendant and Appellant.

ee ee ee ee ee ee eee ee ee

The opinion in the above case,
filed February 14, 1980, is modified by
the insertion of the following paragraph
on page 2, following the first paragraph
which concludes with the words ". . . was
enacted for that very consideration."

The inserted paragraph is as
follows:

- A-13 -

"However, just to avoid an
inevitable collateral attack on the basis
of inadequacy of counsel for not securing
a certificate of probable cause, we would
observe that the defendant's contentions
insofar as the burglary charge are
without merit. This was a plea bargain.
The defendant was advised of the direct
consequences of his guilty plea and that
advisement made it clear that he was
pleading guilty to first degree burglary.
The advisement was that he was to receive
a 2, 3 or 4 year state prison term. That
is the penalty attached to first degree
burglary. Second degree burglary is
punishable by either county jail or state
prison (Penal Code § 461). The state
prison term for second degree burglary is
16 months or 2 or 3 years (Penal Code §
18). Therefore, no question can arise as
to the fact that defendant pled guilty to
first degree burglary with the possible
penalty specified. Thus, defendant's
contentions if considered in spite of the
failure to secure a certificate of pro-
bable cause would be held to be
meritless."

With this modification, the
petition for rehearing is denied.

f/s/ Gardner

P.J.

I concur:

/s/ McDaniel

- A-14 -

[Filed March 12, 1980]

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE

OF CALIFORNIA

FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION TWO
4TH CRIM. NO. 10041
(Sup.Ct.No. CR-432 (VIC) )
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Plaintiff and Respondent,
Vv.
MICHAEL MUSANTE,

Defendant and Appellant.

THE COURT:

Due to a clerical error, the
Modification of Opinion on Denial of
Rehearing, filed March ll, 1980, was
stamped, ‘Not To Be Published In Official
Reports', and should have been stamped,

"Certified For Publication'.

Gardner, P.J.

ee ee ee ee ee ee eee ee ee

Presiding Justice

APPENDIX B

-B-l- °°:

CLERK'S OFFICE, SUPREME ‘COURT ,
4250 STATE BUILDING: t iy

San Francisco, CALirornta 94102 % >.
‘¢ ;

4/cr. No._10041__ |
People | f.
v8.
Musante =
Respectfully,

G. E. BISHEL
Clerk

In re:
3

ty

5068-677 11-78 46 OOP

APPENDIX C

- C-] -
[Filed May 19, 1980]
IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE
, OF CALIFORNIA
FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION TWO
4TH CRIM. NO. 10041
(County No. VCR 432)
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Plaintiff and Respondent,
Vv.
MICHAEL MUSANTE,

Defendant and Appellant

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee eee

THE COURT:

The request by respondent,
Attorney General, to recall and Stay
Remittitur, is DENIED.

Gardner, P.J.
Presiding Justice

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2480%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
