# Amicus Brief — Alcoa Steamship Co. v. M/V Nordic Regent

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2428%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 890

## Text

S
eS 9, In THE
S Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Trerm, 1979

no 9 = 1857

ALCOA STEAMSHIP COMPANY, INC. (a New York Corporation),
Petitioner,

—against—

M/V NORDIC REGENT, her boilers, tackle, machinery and other appur-
tenances in rem, and NORCROSS SHIPPING CO., INC. (a Liberian
Corporation), as her owner in personam,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

MOTION AND BRIEF OF THE ASSOCIATION OF TRIAL
LAWYERS OF AMERICA AS AMICUS CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

THEODORE I. KOSKOFF
President
55 Chapel Street
P.O. Box 1698 :
Bridgeport, Connecticut 06604

ARTHUR ROTH
Chairman, Admiralty Law Section
1111 Ainsley Building
14 Northeast Ist Avenue
Miami, Florida 33132
GEORGE J. DUFFY

One Newark Street

ae New Jersey 07030

(201) 659-2635

Of Counsel

Adams Press Corp., 5 Commerce Street, Newark, N. J. 07102—(201) 623-8611

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Motion AND STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF THE ASSO-
CIATION oF TRIAL LAwyrerRsS oF AMERICA FOR LEAVE
TO INTERVENE AS Amicus CuRIAE In SUPPORT OF THE
a ee
Brief in Support of Motion:

Questions Presented ...W..........

Point I—The American citizenship and local resi-
dence of petitioner should be heavily weighted
in balancing the factors to be considered on
a motion to dismiss on the grounds of forum
REET TT

Point Il—The prospect of substantial prejudice
to the petitioner resulting from dismissal of
the case ought not to be equated with con-
siderations of “inconvenience” to the respond-
andalinittincciotien ib pctenniennenatiniiGlinisanitanniticciiansetnamteiind

Point [1[—Restatement of the factors which are
left to the discretion of the trial court is re-
quired, where the doctrine of forum non con-
Veniens iS INVOLVE oon... nee ceccecscceceeececcceceeroce

Conclusion

Cases Cited

Burt v. Isthmus Development Co., 218 F.2d 353 (5th
Cir.), cert. denied, 349 U.S. 922 (1955) uw.

Canada Malting Co., Ltd. v. Paterson Steamships,
RII EE RUC) nisescccecesccuceisssenesvencoowasconascesveressseres

PAGE

qn

li TABLE OF CONTENTS

Factors Etc., Inc. v. Pro Arts, Ine., 579 F.2d 215
(2nd Cir., 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 908 (1979) ..

Fitzgerald v. Texaco Inc., 521 F.2d 448 (2nd Cir. é
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1025 seivieeaiecoadh daeccoluaigenna

Gulf Oil Corporation v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501 (1947)

Koster v. Lumberman’s Mutual Casualty Co., 330
Ris NE cnadcinanianguqnsiaale

Mobil Tankers Co. v. Mene Grande Oil Co., 363 F.2d
611 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 945 (1966)

Williams v. Green Bay & Western RR, 326 U.S.
549 ......

Statute Cited

28 U.S.C.:
Sec. 1404(a) .

PAGE

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser TERM, 1979

No.

>
——_

ALCOA STEAMSHIP COMPANY, INC.
(a New York Corporation),

Petitioner,

—against—

M/V NORDIC REGENT, her boilers, tackle, machinery

and other appurtenances in rem, and NORCROSS
SHIPPING CO., INC. (a Liberian Corporation), as
her owner in personam,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

>.
- a

MOTION AND STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF THE

ASSOCIATION OF TRIAL LAWYERS OF AMERICA

FOR LEAVE TO INTERVENE AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONER

The Association of Trial Lawyers of America hereby
requests permission to file a brief Amicus Curiae in the
above matter. The Association of Trial Law yers of Amer-
ica is a national bar association consisting o* more than
forty thousand lawyers. By the terms of its By-Laws,
membership requires that the greater portion of a law-
yer’s practice be on behalf of plaintiffs in personal injury
litigation or workers’ compensation. The application to
be heard in this case is on behalf of those clients, past,
present and future, who make up our collective constitu-
ency and represent a large segment of the American pub-
lie who may be involved with the courts and the litigation
process in connection with a personal injury claim.

Many of our members are specially involved represent-
ing maritime plaintiffs and aviation plaintiffs, who would
be most likely directly affected by the outcome and se-
quelae from this case. We submit that the brief argu-
ments which we present, and which are based on the col-
lective experience of our members and put forward in
the interests of our clients, will be of assistance to the
Court.

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully prayed
that this Honorable Court accept this brief Amicus Curiae.

TrHeropore I. Koskorr
President
55 Chapel Street
P.O. Box 1698
Bridgeport, Connecticut 06604

ArtHur RotH
Chairman, Admiralty Law Section
1111 Ainsley Building
14 Northeast Ist Avenue
Miami, Florida 33132

Grorce J. Durry
Of Counsel
One Newark Street
Hoboken, New Jersey 07030

Questions Presented

I. May a District Court sitting in Admiralty dismiss
the Complaint of a local American resident corporation
on the grounds of forum non conveniens?

II. May purported “inconvenience” to the Respondent
be balanced, either in justice or in logic, against the
prospect of eliminating over ninety percent of Petitioner’s
recovery by dismissing the Complaint?

III. Should this Court re-examine and restate the doc-
trine of forum non conveniens in the light of present day
communications and transportation technology?

POINT I

The American citizenship and local residence of peti-
tioner should be heavily weighted in balancing the fac-
tors to be considered on a motion to dismiss on the
grounds of forum non conveniens.

The motor vessel Norpic Recent and the ecrporate Re-
spondent, Noreross Shipping Co., Inc., are wholly owned
by Anglo-Nordie Shipping Co., Ltd. Anglo-Nordie has an
office at Avenue of the Americas and 42nd Street in Man-
hattan. It is a Bermuda corporation, but has mortgaged
its fleet of vessels, including the M/V Norpic Recent, to
Morgan Guaranty Trust Company in New York. It also
acts as “General Agent” for the corporate owner by which
means in personam jurisdiction over Noreross was ob-
tained in this litigation. It was Anglo-Nordie which en-
. tered into the Charterparty by which tl > contractual rela-
tionship between Petitioner and the vessel was estab-
lished and circumscribed for the carriage of ore for Aleoa’s
account. The Charterparty called for litigation forum in
the Southern District of New York.

4

These multi-national vessel interests, who operate their
business, and obtain their financing and business customers
in New York City, have succeeded in ousting the New York
Petitioner from its own United States Court. We will not
discuss the frailties of the discretionary legal basis upon
which this was done, leaving those arguments to the well-
spoken petition-in-chief.

We do wish, however, to explore with the Court the
ramifications of the result in this case. Since a corporate
party is entitled to equal treatment and standing in our
courts just as an individual person, the ruling in question
paves the way for individual American citizens to have
their litigation relocated out of our courts and into for-
eign arenas, notwithstanding jurisdiction over a defend-
ant being present.

This will chill our heritage of free access to the courts.
And free access is one of the underpinnings of the doc-
trine of forum non conveniens insofar as part of that doc-
trine is that plaintiff’s choice of forum should rarely be
disturbed. More often than not, the individual American
citizen will sue a foreign defendant in a federal court on
a transitory cause of action basing jurisdiction on diver-
sity of citizenship. Procedurally, admiralty was unified
with the so-called “civil-side” of the District Courts in
1966. It can be predicted that only a further small step
need to be taken by a District Court in its discretion to
dismiss an American’s diversity suit against a foreigner,
if the principles endorsed by the Second Circuit in this
ease are left standing. Foreign persons and foreign cor-
porations can expect equal justice in our courts. The same
cannot be said for American citizens before the courts or
legal systems of all of the nations of the world.

We humbly urge that the Court reaffirm the holdings in
Mobil Tankers Co. v. Mene Grande Oil Co., 363 F.2d 611

(3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 945 (1966), and Burt v.
Isthmus Development Co., 218 F.2d 353 (5th Cir.), cert.
denied 349 U.S. 922 (1955), and reverse the Second Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals ruling in this case.

POINT II

The prospect of substantial prejudice to the peti-
tioner resulting from dismissal of the case ought not
to be equated with considerations of “inconvenience”
to the respondent.

The District Court considered the Trinidad forum as
possibly “less favorable” under circumstances where it
appears the difference in recovery would be in excess of
ninety percent. Fitzgerald v. Texaco Inc., 521 F.2d 448
(2nd Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1025, was cited as sup-
porting authority. But Fitzgerald is not authoritative. At
pp. 452, 453, the Court in that decision dealt with plain-
tiff’s argument that the general maritime law as applied
in England would be less favorable to them than the
American interpretation. In footnote 6 on page 452, Judge
Anderson sets forth his analysis that the interpretations
of the duty of an owner to mark a wreck under the gen-
eral maritime law are essentially the same in the English
courts as in American courts. Thus, the court did not
weigh the factor of less favorable legal rights in uphold-
ing the dismissal, but rather, it found the argument of
no merit or application to the circumstances of the case.
Reliance upon Canada Malting Co., Ltd. v. Paterson
Steamships, 285 U.S. 413 (1932), in support of this propo-
sition is likewise not well-founded. Canada Malting was
an all-Canadian litigation wherein it was held to be within
the diseretion of the District Court to dismiss the case
when the litigants were all citizens of the same foreign

state. The Supreme Court left to the Canadian court,
where litigation was already pending, the issue whether
the American Great Lakes situs of the collision would re-
quire the application of American collision law instead of
Canadian law.

It is respectfully submitted that the substantial legal
prejudice to the Petitioner far outweighed any “incon-
venience” to Defendant and the ruling below should be re-
versed.

POINT III

Restatement of the factors which are left to the dis-
cretion of the trial court is required, where the doc-
trine of forum non conveniens is involved.

This Court in Gulf Oil Corporation v. Gilbert, 330 U.S.
501 (1947), set forth a generalized enumeration of the
factors to be considered and the criteria to be followed
by trial courts in exercising discretion when applying the
doctrine of forum non conveniens. Gulf was prior to
§ 1404(a) of the Judicial Code, Title 28 U.S. Code, but
its teachings have survived the statutory enactment which
governs transfers within the District Court system. ‘The
doctrine leaves much to the discretion of the court to
which plaintiff resorts ...’ (330 U.S., page 508) with the
understanding that the trial court will be in the best
position to develop all of the salient factors which must
be considered in making the determination in a particu-
lar case. Unfortunately, the District Court in this instance
failed to follow elemental guidelines which have been
established regarding the precise identification of wit-
nesses who would be subject to inconvenience. (Factors
Eic., Inc. v. Pro Arts, Inc., 579 F.2d 215, 218 (2nd Cir.,

1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 908 (1979); cf. dissent Van
Graafeiland, C.J., A-36, Appendix B, Petition). That
would not justify reexamination of the governing criteria,
but rather, remand with instructions to follow the criteria.

In Koster v. Lumberman’s Mutual Casualty Co., 330
U.S. 518, it was stated that, while each case would turn
on its facts (p. 528; see also Williams v. Green Bay &
Western RR, 326 U.S. 549, 557), “Where there are only
two parties to a dispute, there is good reason why it
should be tried in the plaintiff’s home forum if that has
been his choice.” It should then be considered whether
the plaintiff’s choice of forum constitutes oppressiveness
and vexation to the defendant so as to be disproportion-
ate to plaintiff’s own convenience. The court’s own ad-
ministrative concerns may also be considered, but it is a
fact of life that New York is a pre-eminent commercial,
shipping, financial, and legal center, with a consequent
high incidence of litigation. Both parties here, essen-
tially, are “New Yorkers”.

Since there is no element of oppression in Petitioner’s
action, it is questionable whether the balancing should be
undertaken. But it is respectfully submitted that balance
of convenience, insofar as it may be a part of the entire
doctrine of forum non conveniens, must be considered in
modern terms. Routine depositions can be conducted in
one day’s time between most metropolitan centers in the
United States. It is generally easier and less expensive
for a lawyer handling a file to fly to a distant location
and take testimony rather than hire local counsel who
must then become familiar with the file in order to par-
ticipate.

We are also beyond the threshold of the great advances
in communication and electronics and, specifically, we re-
fer to the videotaped deposition. It has been a long-time

established practice particularly in admiralty cases to rely
extensively for proof at trial on depositions, and advances
in technology have made television more economical and
thus it will become an increasingly utilized tool in the
judicial process.

On the other hand, it can be argued that the trial courts
are in the best position to perform the cost analyses which
may be required to weigh the balance of convenience,
which would militate against the court speaking again on
this issue. But there was in this case a number of dis-
eretionary errors made which now carry the imprimatur
of the Second Circuit, and this in our humble opinion
requires reversal. The case also presents the opportunity
to restate the doctrine, and the call of Cireuit Judge
Oakes (concurring in the dissent, A-32, Appendix B) for
just such reexamination should be acted upon.

CONCLUSION

The erroneous dismissal of the American Petitioner’s
case from its own local District Court requires reversal.
The far-reaching effect of the decision below and mod-
ern transportation and communication technology re-
quires this Court to review the court-made doctrine of
forum non conveniens.

Respectfully submitted,

THEODORE I. Koskorr
President
55 Chapel Street
P.O. Box 1698
Bridgeport, Connecticut 06604

ArtHurR Roru
Chairman, Admiralty Law Section
1111 Ainsley Building
14 Northeast Ist Avenue
Miami, Florida 33132

Grorce J. Durry
One Newark Street
Hoboken, New Jersey 07030
Of Counsel

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2428%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
