# Amicus Brief — Alcoa Steamship Co. v. M/V Nordic Regent

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2428%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 890

## Text

NS Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

“29-185?

ALCOA STEAMSHIP COMPANY, INC.
(a New York Corporation),
Petitioner,
against

M/V NORDIC REGENT, her boilers, tackle, machinery
and other appurtenances in rem and NORCROSS
SHIPPING CO., INC. (a Liberian corporation), as
her owner in personam,

Respondent.

a

MOTION AND BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN INSTITUTE
OF MARINE UNDERWRITERS AS AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI! TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Water E. Matoney
Dovue.as A. JACOBSEN
14 Wall Street
New York, New York 10005
(212) 732-4646
Attorneys for Amicus
Curiae American Institute
of Marine Underwriters

Rosert 8. Burrick

14 Wall Street
New York, New York 10005 .

Of Counsel

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Motion:
Statement of Interest of the Amicus Curiae in Sup-

port of the Petition for Certiorari ........... 1
Brier:
Questions NN oe ge 4
ON ete 4
Reasons for Granting Certiorari .................. 5

Introduction ..... msde asta cdecekeDelakess 5

A. To resolve confusion among the circuits, this
Court should set guidelines as to when, if
ever, an American plaintiff may be denied a
right of recourse in the federal courts ...... 6

B. This Court should set the standards control-
ling when if ever, an American plaintiff can
--be sent to a foreign tribunal ............... 9

C. Judicial economy and court congestion should
not be the ultimate factors in forum non
conveniens dismissal relegating an American

plaintiff to a foreign tribunal ............. 12
IN Rid bccuta ca UR haVs Ce cWadwae ces icks bea h es 16
CITATIONS

Cases:
Petition of Bloomfield Steamship Co., 422 F. 2d 728
NG IN Sing Spi acceGu bhp dan pada ees Ka, 9

Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., 407 U.S. 1 (1972). .6, 9, 11

ii TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Burt v. Isthmus Development Co., 218 F. 3d 353 (5th
Cir.), cert. denied, 349 U.S. 922 (1955) ........ 8

Chicot County v. Aterwood, 148 U.S. 529 (1893) .... 138
Farmanfarmiam v. Gulf Oil Corp., 588 F. 2d 880 (2d

SE 5-5 ain oha hd UE IG Es eked ceeded ia ws 14
Founding Church of Scientology v. Verlag, 536 F. 2d
eet Ca Os ROTOR. oi cbne ss soba cur keeaeesess 8
Gulf Ou Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501 (1947) ..4, 6,9, 10,
| 11,12
Hoffman v. Goberman, 420 F. 2d 423 (3rd Cir. 1970) 8
Hyde v. Stone, 20 How. 170 (1858) .............05. 13

Kloeckner Reederei und Kohlenhandel, G.M.b.H. v.
A/S Hakedal, 210 F. 2d 754 (2d Cir. 1954), appeal

dismissed per stipulation, 348 U.S. 801 (1954) .. 9
Koster v. Lwmbermens Mutual Casualty Co., 330 U.S.

OE, Shs peek wi ae keke kh bak e'seceekeks 6, 7, 12
Leasco Data Processing Equipment Corp. v. Maz-

well, 468 F.2d 1326 (2d Cir. 1972) ............. 10
In Re The Louisville Underwriters, 134 U.S. 488

E eahG AES cd euA> 0d anne We tke eh kee es 6 9
McClellan v. Corland, 217 U.S. 268 (1910) .......... 13

Mobil Tankers Co., S.A. v. Mene Grande Oil Co., 363
F. 2d 611 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 945

DS a Seg SRE A oe 8, 10
Poseidon v. Schiffahrt, G.M.b.H. v. M/S Netuno, 474

i ee A Es BTR) vhs bcs vcccvspicee sacs 9
Thermtron Products, Inc. v. Hermansdorfer, 423 U.S.

IS oo roe Soh Sada ns SR a os ho ee a Pe 13
Statutes:

a NY 5 0 as Vac Wind hoe eeeeetenine 12

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No.

Atooa Steamsuip Company, Inc.
(a New York Corporation),
Petitioner,
against

M/V Norpro Recent, her boilers, tackle, machinery and
other appurtenances in rem and Norcross SHIPPING
Co.,*Ino. (a Liberian corporation), as her owner
im personam,

Respondent.

Motion and Statement of Interest of the Amicus
Curiae in Support of the Petition for Certiorari.

The American Institute of Marine Underwriters
(AIMU) is a national trade association of 122 insurance
companies, each of which is authorized to engage in the
business of marine insurance in one or more states of the
United States.

Issues of extreme importance to AIMU and its member
companies are presented by the petition for certiorari.
AIMU’s membership underwrites approximately 90% of
the marine insurance written in the United States. This
insurance covers vessels and cargoes engaged in world
wide commerce and losses that may occur anywhere in
the world. In filing this brief amicus curiae, AIMU is
acting in support of the American marine insurance
community.

2

The United States District Courts have traditionally
been forums where a United States citizen would be af-
forded the opportunity to litigate his claims. AIMU is
deeply concerned that the rights of its members be pro-
tected and that American plaintiffs not be denied the
opportunity to litigate their claims in the United States.

AIMU’s interest in this petition also arises out of a
desire for uniformity and certainty in maritime law
throughout the federal courts of the United States. The
decisions of the Southern District of New York Court
and the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit en banc
are in this instance contrary to the great weight of au-
thority and seriously effect the American insurance
community.

The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit and the
District Court of the Southern District of New York, in
particular, have historically been principal tribunals for
the trial in the United States of maritime cases, no matter
where arising. The refusal of the District Court to ex-
ercise its jurisdiction in a case such as this, where plaintiff
is an American citizen and resident and defendant is doing
business in New York, seriously affects the rights of
AIMU’s membership, and indeed, of all American inter-
ests with respect to foreign trade. Since New York is
the nation’s largest port and its principal center for ship-
ping, marine insurance and chartering, it is frequently the
only place in the United States where jurisdiction can be
obtained over a given foreign defendant or vessel in an
admiralty case.

The decision of the Second Circuit fails to recognize the
needs of all Americans involved in international commerce,
including the shipping industry and insurance community.
AIMU is confident that if consideration is given to all of
_ the potential effects of the en bane decisicn, this Court will

3

maintain the uniformity and harmony of the law on forum
non conveniens.

AIMU first participated in this case on rehearing to
the Second Circuit Court of Appeals amicus curiae. It
was then ordered by that Court to submit a brief in sup-
port of its position to the en banc panel as a party recog-
nized as having a legitimate interest in the forum non
conveniens issues to be considered. Acceptance of AIMU’s
brief amicus curiae in support of the petition for certiorari
is consistent with proceedings thus far conducted in this
matter.

In view of the foregoing reasons, AIMU respectfully
prays that this Honorable Court accept its brief amicus
curiae.

Respectfully submitted,

Water FE. Matoney
Doveias A. JACOBSEN
14 Wall Street
New York, New York 10005
(212) 732-4646
Attorneys for Amicus
Curiae American Institute
of Marine Underwriters

Rosert S. Burriox

14 Wall Street
New York, New York 10005

Of Counsel

4

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF MARINE
UNDERWRITERS AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUP-
PORT OF THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF CER-
TIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Questions Presented

A. Does the decision of the en banc majority of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit decided
on February 25, 1980 so confuse the uniformity and
harmony of the decisions of the United States Supreme
Court and the Courts of Appeals in other Circuits as
to require the supervision of this Court?

B. When, if ever, can an American citizen be relegated
to a foreign tribunal and sent abroad on the basis of
forum non conveniens?

C. Should judicial economy and court congestion have any
effect on a district court’s evaluation of forwm non
conveniens dismissal of an American plaintiff to a
tribunal of a foreign country?

Statement of Facts

In Alcoa Steamship Company, Inc. v. M/V Nordic
Regent, 453 F.Supp. 10 (S.D.N.Y. 1978), Alcoa Steamship
Company, Ine. [petitioner herein], a New York corporation,
commenced an action in the United States District Court
for the Southern District of New York against the M/V
Nordic Regent, in rem, and against her owner, Norcross
Shipping Company, a Liberian corporation, in personam,
for damages caused by the vessel when it collided with
Aloca’s pier at Point Tembladora, Trinidad, causing dam-
ages of approximately $8,000,000.00.

5

The judgment of the United States District Court con-
ditionally dismissed the action on grounds of forum non
conveniens.

On appeal, a divided panel of the United States Circuit
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit affirmed the
district court’s judgment. On rehearing, the original
panel’s order of affirmance was withdrawn, and the dif-
ferently divided panel issued a new order reversing the
district court’s judgment.’ On en banc consideration of the
appeal, the judgment and opinion of the panel on rehearing
was vacated, and the judgment of the district court was
reaffirmed.®

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI

Introduction

The effect of the holding of the Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit is that an American citizen no longer has a
right to the availability of an American court. To ac-
complish this result, the Second Circuit sets up a new
framework for determining forwm non conveniens dis-
missal which places an onerous burden on the American
plaintiff rather than the defendant. The ultimate deciding
factor appears to be the availability of calendar time in the
court’s docket. Thus, the decision seriously threatens to
eliminate the right of an American plaintiff to sue a
foreign defendant in an American court based upon
the court’s admiralty jurisdiction. It also undermines the
separation of powers doctrine in which the legislative

* Alcoa Steamship Company, Inc. v. M/V Nordic Regent, F.2d,
slip op. 4587 (2d Cir. decided August 31, 1978).

* Alcoa Steamship Company, Inc. v. M/V Nordic Regent, F.2d,
slip op. 5367 (2d Cir. decided January 10, 1979).

* Alcoa Steamship Company, Inc. v. M/V Nordic Regent, F.2d,
slip op. 5945 (2d Cir. decided February 25, 1980) (en banc).

6

branch is empowered to establish courts of competent
jurisdiction to hear disputes involving a foreign subject
matter.

A. To Resolve Confusion Among the Circuits,
This Court Should Set Guidelines as to When,
if Ever, an American Plaintiff May Be Denied
A Right of Recourse in the Federal Courts.

In Gulf Ow Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501 (1947),
the Supreme Court established that even a non-resident
plaintiff’s choice of forum should not be disturbed unless
the balance of convenience is strongly in favor of the
defendant. The Court reiterated this standard using
stronger language in Koster v. Lumbermens Mutual
Casualty Co., 330 U.S. 518 (1947), which was decided on
the same day as Gulf Oil, when it held that a resident
plaintiff’s choice of forum should not be disturbed ‘‘except
upon a clear showing of facts which . . . establish such
oppressiveness and vexation to a defendant as to be out
of all proportion to plaintiff’s convenience... .’’ Id. at
524. The burden of such a showing is cast upon the de-
fendant in either case. The burden should be heavier with
respect to relegating a resident plaintiff to another country
than with respect to a non-resident plaintiff. Neither of
the above cases involved relegating a resident American
plaintiff to a tribunal in a foreign country.

The only exception to this standard was announced by
the Supreme Court in Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., 407
U.S. 1 (1972). In Bremen, the Court held that a con-
tractual forum selection clause freely bargained for be-
tween an American plaintiff and a foreign defendant should
bind the parties to the forum chosen in the contract. If an
American plaintiff seeks to avoid the contractually chosen
forum by commencing an action in its home jurisdiction,
then that plaintiff must meet the heavy burden of showing
that trial in the contractual forum would be so ‘‘manifestly
and gravely inconvenient’? that it would be ‘‘effectively
deprived of a meaningful day in court.’’ Jd. at 19.

7

In Alcoa, there was a forum selection clause for the
Southern District of New York with respect to charter
party disputes between plaintiff and defendant’s sole
shareholder. This was ignored by the court below and
instead, the en banc decision placed a similar burden upon
this American plaintiff seeking to commence suit in the
United States District Court for the Southern District of
New York as it would if Alcoa had agreed upon a Trinidad
forum. Alcoa contains no contractual aspects at all, but is
a pure tort situation wherein defendant’s vessel struck
plaintiff’s pier.

The en banc Court accepted defendant’s contention that
since the New York forum was inconvenient to the foreign
defendant, then the American plaintiff must prove that
transfer to a Trinidad tribunal would deprive it of sub-
stantial justice and due process of law. The Court arrived
at this conclusion by obverse reading of the decision in
Koster which provided two independent tests for analyzing
forum non conveniens issues:

‘*Where there are only two parties to a dispute, there
is good reason why it should be tried in the plaintiff’s
home forum if that has been his choice. He should
not be deprived of the presumed advantages of his
home jurisdiction except upon a clear showing of facts
which either (1) establish such oppressiveness and
vexation to a defendant as to be out of all proportion
to plaintiff’s convenience, which may be shown to be
slight or nonexistent, or (2) make trial in the chosen
forum inappropriate because of considerations affect-
ing the court’s own administrative and legal problems.
In any balancing of conveniences, a real showing of
convenience by a plaintiff who has sued in his home
forum will normally outweigh the inconvenience the
defendant may have shown.’’ 330 U.S. at 524 (em-
phasis added) Alcoa at 5954 (en banc)

The Alcoa decision ignored the first part of the Koster
test by rejecting petitioner’s contention that where an

8

American plaintiff is suing a foreign defendant, then plain-
tiff’s action may be dismissed on forwm non conweniens
grounds only if defendant meets its burden of showing
vexation or oppression.

This decision by the Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit has created a split among the Circuits. Courts in
various other Circuits have expressed judicial reluctance
to deny an American citizen the right to sue in his home
forum by requiring the defendant to present clear evidence
of extreme circumstances making it materially unjust to
the defendant that jurisdiction remain in the American
courts. Hoffman v. Goberman, 420 F.2d 423, 426 (3rd Cir.
1970); Mobil Tankers Co., S.A. v. Mene Grande Oil Co.,
363 F.2d 611, 614 (3rd Cir.) cert. denied, 385 U.S. 945
(1966); Burt v, Isthmus Development Co., 218 F.2d 353,
357 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 349 U.S. 922 (1955) ; Founding
Church of Scientology v. Verlag, 536 F.2d 4299, 436 (D.C,
Cir. 1976). Inconvenience suffered by the defendant is not
sufficient to meet this criterion without additional proof
of an intent by plaintiff to vex or harass. Founding
Church of Scientology v. Verlag, supra at 436; H offman v.
Goberman, supra at 426; Mobil Tankers Co., S.A. v. Mene
Grande Oil Co., supra at 614.

Petitioner’s contention that defendant has the burden
of proving ‘‘vexation’’ is soundly based not only in Ameri-
can jurisprudence but the law of England as well. Ina
footnote, the en banc Court in Alcoa recognized that the
position advocated by Alcoa was the ‘*English standard
for granting a motion to dismiss on the basis of forum non
conveniens [which] required a showing that the trial of the
case in the chosen forum would be vexatious and oppres-
sive’? Alcoa at 5992, n. 3 (en banc) (emphasis added). The
Second Circuit failed to acknowledge that this is also
United States law.

In any event, the significance of English decisions in
areas of admiralty law should not be so lightly brushed

9

aside. In Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., supra, the
Supreme Court set aside years of American precedent dis-
approving forum selection clauses. According great weight
to the approach followed in England, the Court: decided to
enforce the clause in conformity with English decisions.
The Court specifically noted the long experience of English
courts in admiralty litigation. Jd. at 12.

A motion to dismiss a complaint on the basis of forum
non conveniens should be subject to special scrutiny in a
case such as the one at bar. By the very nature of ad-
miralty law, involving ships moving in international trade,
traveling in international waters, an interested party may
well expect to be involved in extensive far-flung litigation.
Lowsville Underwriters, 134 U.S. 488 (1890); see Petition
on Bloomfield Steamship Co., 422 F.2d 728, 736 (2d Cir.
1970). Hence, in admiralty, even an “alien plaintiff has
the privilege of suing an alien defendant wherever he
can serve him, or attach his property; and . . . if the
defendant would avoid the suit, he must show that he
will be unfairly prejudiced, unless it be removed to some
other jurisdiction.” Kloeckner Reederei und Kohlen-
handel G.M.b.H. v. A/S Hakedal, 210 F.2d 754, 756 (2d
Cir. 1954), appeal dismissed per stipulation, 348 U.S. 801
(1954); see Poseidon v. Schiffahrt, G.M.b.H. v. M/S
Netumo, 474 F.2d 208, 205 (5th Cir. 1973). Should the
rights of a resident U.S. plaintiff be less than those of a
non-resident alien plaintiff?

B. This Court Should Set The Standards Con-
trolling When, If Ever, An American Plain-
tiff Can Be Sent to a Foreign Tribunal.

In rejecting petitioner’s contention to apply the “vexa-
tious standard” in the instant case, the Second Circuit
also adopted the district court’s wooden analysis of the
factors set forth in Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, supra, which
the en banc Court held must be considered with regard to

10

a forum non conveniens analysis. Factors of “private”
interest to be considered include:

“' . . Telative ease of access to sources of proof;
availability of compulsory process for attendance of
unwilling, and the cost of obtaining attendance of
willing witnesses; possibility of view of premises, if
view would be appropriate to the action; . . . all
other practical problems that make trial of a case
easy, expeditious and inexpensive[ ;] the enforceability
of a judgment if one is obtained . . . [and] the rela-
tive advantages and obstacles to a fair trial.’’

Id. at 508.

The factors of “public” interest to be evaluated are as
follows: administrative difficulties resulting from litiga-
tion piling up in congested centers instead of being
handled at its origin; jury duty burdening the people of
the community which has no relation to the litigation;
local interests in having localized controversies decided at
home; and application of foreign law.

The district court blindly applied these factors to the
instant case by reciting that the accident, damage and
tortious conduct occurred in Trinidad; some of the wit-
nesses which may be called are from Trinidad; the tides
and currents around Trinidad may effect the trial of the
case; the pilots’ association may be impleaded if the case
was tried-in Trinidad; and the law of Trinidad and
Tobago may be applied. Alcoa at 5972 (en banc). How-
ever, defendant offered no positive evidence or affidavit
‘o the effect that retention by the U.S. courts would be
unjust. Leasco Data Processing Equipment Corp. v.
Maawell, 468 F.2d 1326, 1344 (2d Cir. 1972); Mobil
Tankers Co., S.A. v. Mene Grande Oil Co., supra at 614.

This manner of analyzing the Gilbert factors is anach-
ronistic to modern admiralty litigation. The difficulty of
obtaining distant witnesses (a problem which often arises

11

in cases of a maritime nature) has been largely alleviated
by the use of deposition testimony. The significance of
this trend was recognized by the majority in the Bremen
case, supra, where Chief Justice Burger wrote that “it is
not unusual for important issues in international ad-
miralty cases to be dealt with by deposition.” The effec-
tiveness of this method was also recognized by the Bremen
Court where it was noted that ‘‘[bJoth the District Court
and the Court of Appeals majority appeared satisfied
that [defendant] could receive a fair hearing . . . by
using deposition testimony of its witnesses from distant
places . . .’? Bremen, supra at 19.

Easy access to sources of proof and witness testimony
no longer presents the problem it did when the Gilbert
case was decided. As aptly pointed out by Judge Oakes
in the Alcoa case, “there are several jets a day between
New York and Trinidad to transport witnesses, docu-
ments, and lawyers if need be.’’ Alcoa at 5974 (en banc)
(Judge Oakes concurring in dissenting opinion).

Furthermore, enforceability of a judgment no longer
presents an obstacle in most cases. Letters of undertaking
or bonds are generally put up by the insurance companies
involved to insure payment of any judgment.

These are the practical realities of present day admiralty
litigation which make the ‘‘trial of a case easy, expeditious
and inexpensive’* and which must be properly weighed
in a forum mon conveniens analysis. In light of these con-
siderations, the balancing of all pertinent factors would
clearly not weigh in favor of the foreign defendant.

* Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, supra at 508.

%

12

C. Judicial Economy and Court Congestion
Should Not Be the Ultimate Factors in Forum
Non Conveniens Dismissal Relegating An
American Plaintiff to a Foreign Tribunal.

The en banc opinion of the Second Circuit relied to a
great extent on the 1947 decision of this Court in Gulf Oil
Corp. v. Gilbert, supra, which recognizing that a plaintiff’s
choice of forum should rarely be disturbed, nevertheless
gave discretion to the district judge in ruling on a motion
to dismiss based upon forum non conveniens if certain
criteria were met. However, Gulf Oil involved the transfer
of an action, brought by a nonresident, from one state in
the United States to another.’ Mr. Justice Jackson speak-
ing for this Court never intended to emasculate the rights
of resident United States citizens by forcing them from
their legitimate home forum where they have jurisdiction
over defendants and requiring them to litigate in a foreign
tribunal. Gulf Oil merely sought to relegate the plaintiff
to an equally competent federal court which had a closer
nexus to the disputed issue.

Moreover, the en banc Court’s interpretation of the deci-
sion in Koster, swpra, announcing two independent criteria
to determine the proper forum for resolution of a dispute,
allows a district court to dismiss an American plaintiff’s
action on the sole criterion that trial in the chosen forum
would be inappropriate because of ‘‘considerations affect-
ing the court’s own administrative and legal problems.”’
Id. at 524. This means that a U.S. citizen’s action can be
dismissed to a foreign forum where he may (and in this

* The Gulf Oil decision was codified into law the following year
by the enactment of 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a) which provides:

“(a) For the convenience of the parties and witnesses, in the
interest of justice, a district court may transfer any civil
action to any other district or division where it might
have been brought.’’

13
4
case would) recover far less of his provable loss simply
because of an overburdened federal docket.

The congested federal courts do pose a serious threat
to judicial efficiency and this dilemma has resulted in
movements for judicial reform by Congress such as the
elimination of diversity jurisdiction. However, eliminat-
ing diversity jurisdiction would simply relegate the plain-
tiff to an equally capable state court, not deprive him of
any American forum. Federal district courts have at-
tempted to utilize other recognized doctrines, such as re-
manding cases removed from the state court or abstaining
from hearing certain cases. Once again, the effect of
these decisions is to relegate the plaintiff to the state
court.®

The potential prejudice in future cases from the broad
statement of dismissal in Alcoa cannot be underestimated.
It goes beyond the immediate fact that a judgment in
Trinidad would be limited to approximately $570,000 while
a judgment in a U.S. court could exceed $8,000,000. It
extends to the unknown elements involved in a foreign
trial and the undercurrent of prejudice against American
citizens which permeates the world news. Judge Van
Graafeiland, in dissenting from the Alcoa (en banc)
majority succinctly observes:

“The economic demands of the poorer countries and
their nationalistic treatment of foreign investments

6 However, this Court in Thermtron Products, Inc. v. Hermans-
dorfer, 423 U.S. 336, 344-45 (1976), citing McClellan v. Corland,
217 U.S. 268 (1910), Chicot County v. Aterwood, 148 U.S. 529
(1893) and Hyde v. Stone, 20 How. 170 (1858), has warned
that .. . “an otherwise properly removed action may no more be
remanded because the district court considers itself too busy to try
it than an action properly held in the federal court in the first in-
stance may be dismissed or referred to state courts for such
reason,” Such a statement should, no doubt, be looked at more
strictly where the effect of the district court’s ruling would pre-
elude an American plaintiff from access to any United States court.

14

are evidence to some of a ‘fissuring of planetary
policy that is both wide and deep.’ ‘Barriers of
emnity and fear’ divide many of this planet’s in-
habitants. Armed conflict, terrorism, and rebellion
vie for international headlines. American citizens are
held hostage in American embassies. Stable govern-
ments and independent judiciaries are hardly uni-
versal phenomena.”

Alcoa (dissent) (en banc), supra, at 5979.

Furthermore, the retention of jurisdiction in an Ameri-
can court would not offend the sovereignty of the Republic
of Trinidad and Tobago. The Alcoa case involves two
corporations neither of which is incorporated in Trinidad.
The vessel was owned by a Liberian corporation and the
pier was owned by an American corporation. Trinidad
has no interest in this dispute other than the fortuitous
fact that the allision occurred there. Thus, the Trinidad
court would be in no better position than the U.S. Court
to hear the dispute.’

The inequity of the Alcoa en bane decision derives from
the fact that an American corporate plaintiff, paying a
considerable amount of tax dollars into the local economy,
is being denied access to the local district court because the
trial might be costly and burdensome. Consequently, a
Liberian defendant, incorporated in Liberia merely to
streamline its costs, is able to force an American plaintiff
out of its own courts under the guise of a forum nom con-

* The facts in the instant matter are unlike those in Farman-
farmaian v. Gulf Oil Corp., 588 F2d 880 (2d Cir. 1978). There,
plaintiff, a non-resident alien (an Iranian citizien) with no connec-
tion to the United States, unsuccessfully sought to use an Ameri-
can Court to resolve a dispute involving Islamic and civil law
arising out of an alleged conspiracy to breach contractual rights
in a stock option plan. But consider the difficulties an American
— would encounter if relegated to the Iranian courts in
such a case.

15

veniens argument. The en bane decision enables it to fur-
ther streamline these costs by obtaining jurisdiction in a
foreign forum which severely restricts the U.S. citizen’s
potential recovery.

Congress has chosen to rigidly regulate the United States
shipping industry, requiring some of the highest safety
and wage standards throughout the world. The practical
effect of these measures is that a small country such as
Liberia, which imposes minimal governmental control,
boasts a flourishing shipping industry, while our marine
industry and the international corporations involved in it,
struggle to compete. In view of the United States maritime
policy, the courts should exhibit a parens patriae attitude
towards its domestic shipping industry and to Americans in
general, and give an American corporate plaintiff the
protection of its home forum barring any denial of due
process or substantial justice to a foreign defendant.

In this case sub judice, no basic injustice has been in-
dicated by the defendant. More importantly, the burden of
proving an intent to ‘‘vex’’ or ‘‘harass’’ was never re-
quired of the defendant. Norcross Shipping’s motion to
dismiss on grounds of forum non conveniens was supported
by ‘‘two short, almost cursory, affidavits of one of defend-
ant’s New York attorneys, with an attached affidavit of the
ship’s master . . . .’’ Alcoa, supra, at slip op. 4585
(August 31, 1978) (Judge Van Graafeiland, dissenting).
The substance of these documents merely asserted an in-
convenience to the defendant.

In affirming the district court’s ‘‘convenience standard”’
as a method of determining the appropriate forum, the
en banc Court heavily emphasized the factor of court ef-
ficiency and expediency. This emphasis, however, sacrifices
the most important consideration of a forwm non conveniens
analysis—to do substantial justice.

16

CONCLUSION

In view of the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully
urged that the petition for a writ of certiorari be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Watrter EF. Maroney
Doveias A. JACOBSEN
14 Wall Street
New York, New York 10005
(212) 732-4646
Attorneys for Amicus
Curiae American Institute
of Marine Underwriters

Rosert 8S. Burriok

14 Wall Street
New York, New York 10005

Of Counsel

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2428%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
