# Opposition — Alcoa Steamship Co. v. M/V Nordic Regent

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2428%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 890

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-1857

Aucoa SteamMsHie Company, Inc.,
Petitioner,

- against -

M/V Norvic Recent, her boilers, tackle, machinery and
other appurtenances in rem and Norcross Surppine Co.,
Inc., as her owner in personam,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Houturs M. Waker, Jr.
40 Wall Street
New York, New York 10005
(212) 344-4700
Attorney for Respondent

JosePH T. STEARNS
Vera EK. WEINBERG
Of Counsel

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..020u......2......c.-cecccscsce-- 1
oe ine Fi gg) hy Sh canoe ene 2
ak eens Ce ee COM nn eee 2
as SIIIIE ees Alenthcaniesceinsnrsarcenanensics 2

b. Litigation History . 3
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT .................... 4

Pornt I—The Gilbert Criteria Give Due Considera-
tion To Plaintiff’s Expressed Preference Of Forum
And Are Broad Enough To Insure A Just Result
In All Forum Non Conveniens Cases Irrespective
Of The Citizenship Of The Parties .. 8

(A) The American Citizenship Of The Plaintiff
Does Not Justify Creating A Special Rule Of
Forum Non Conventens .............-..-.-0-eceeeeeseeseesee 12

(B) Significant Policy Considerations Support
Adherence To A Uniform Standard For
Determination Of Forum Non Conveniens
RENEE SEARS a Re TE 18

Pornt I]—The District Court Has Discretion To Dis-
miss Under The Doctrine Of Forum Non Conven-
tens Notwithstanding Any Prospect Of A Lesser
Recovery By Plaintiff In The Alternative Forum... 19

TENN, sctachtheknseeectesisenstticassigcastephinhngtnnseseninenctengiitgiee 24

ii

TABLE OF CASES

PAGE
Abouchalache v. Hilton Int'l Co., 464 F. Supp. 94
IR I tlic a 10
Black Diamond 8.8. Corp. v. Robert Stewart & Sons,
Ltd., 336 U.S. 386 (1949) 22
Burt v. Isthmus Development Co., 218 F.2d 353 (5th
Cir.), cert. denied, 349 U.S. 922 ET 15
Canada Malting Co. v. Paterson Steamships, Ltd., 28
U.S. 413 (1932) ... 20, 21
Farmanfarmaian v. Gulf Oil Corp., 588 F.2d 880 (2d
Cir. 1978) 10, 13, 18, 19
Fitzgerald _v. Texaco, Inc., 521 F.2d 448 (2nd Cir.
1975), cert. dented, 423 U.S. 1052 (1976) —..... 10, 19, 20
Founding Church of Scientology of Washington, D.C.
v. Verlag, et al., 536 F.2d 429 (D.C. Cir. 1976) _...... 15
Frangiskatos v. Konkar Maritime Enterprises, S.A.,
471 F.2d 714, 715 (2d Cir. 1972) (per curiam) ........ 10
Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501 (1947) 1, 4, 5,

6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17, 18, 20

Kloeckner Reederei Und Kohlenhandel G.M.BH. v.
A/S Hakedal (The Western Farmer), 210 F.2d 754
(2d Cir. 1954), appeal dismissed, 348 U.S. 801

(1954) .21, 22
Koster v. Lumbermen’s Mutual parents Co., 330 U.S.
518, 524 (1947) 11

Mizokami Bros. of Arizona, Inc. v. Baychem Corp.,
556 F.2d 975 (9th Cir. 1977) (per curiam), cert.
denied, 434 U.S. 1035 (1978) “ 10, 13

Mobil Tankers Company, S.A. v. Mene Grande Oil Co.,
363 F.2d 611 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 945
(1966) 14, 15

Mohr v. Allen, 407 F. Supp. 483 (S.D.N.Y. 1976) _.... 17

M/S Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., 407 U.S. 1
(1972) 18, 20

iit

PAGE
Oceanic Steam Navigation Co. v. Mellor, 233 U.S.

REINER GH RTLE SRO EON ae 22
Paper Operations Consultants Int’l, Lid. v. S.S. Hong

Kong Amber, 513 F.2d 667, 671 (9th Cir. 1975) ...... 10
Schertenleib v. Traum, 589 F.2d 1156, 1164 (2d Cir.

IIE © dhs cacectininan tapacesbeieniadvebalaieslibebtioe ncinietacaniphinnaniabbiigeasiniiies 10, 22
Swift & Co. Packers v. ‘Pidiaiinie Colombiana del

Caribe, S.A., 339 U.S. 684, 697 (1950) ......0.00....2...... 12
Texaco Trinidad, Inc. v. Astro Exito Navegacion S.A.,

Panama, 437 F. Supp. 331 (S.D.N.Y. 1977) ........... 10, 17
United States v. Reliable Transfer Co., 421 U.S. 397,

404 (1975) - 20
Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612 (1964) ................ 21, 22
Vanity Fair Mills v. T. Eaton Co., 234 F.2d 633, 645-46

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 352 U.S. 913 (1956) ............. 10, 14
Yerostathis v. A. Luisi, Ltd., 380 F.2d 377, 378 (9th

Be TE saetalichiahecactchtinnioeicecthscncpcicbihliantiniesnsteajestenlintsionenenecegiin 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Agreement on Trade Relations, Mar. 17, 1978, United
States-Hungary, T.I.A.S. No. 8967 .........0.2..00..........- 18

Treaty of Friendship, Establishment and Navigetion,
Feb. 21, 1961, United States-Belgium, 14 U.S.T.
BO I ini cibces ii cisniclbihieiciasolesainsetieseisdinieeasibanticestintanicwonene 18

Treaty on Friendship, Commerce and Navigation,
Oct. 1, 1961, United States-Denmark, 12 U.S.T.

908, 912 piciieie Daisies ccaneh aailigiaaais baa tai 18
STATUTES

i Ngo Oy ES. SS eneeeeeeee neem aeenren teroeeeoran 2

a WP ioc cetdenges Saineieevncanceinncbenevsseinetnnne 10, 21, 22

I al ieeatlcbaemticdoend 2, 21

RR Te ID iscsi 5

iv

MISCELLANEOUS
PAGE
Bickel, The Doctrine of Forum Non Conveniens As
Applied In The Federal Courts In Matters of
Admiralty, 35 Cornell L.Q. 12 (1949) 2.00.2. 11
Braucher, The Inconvenient Federal Forum, 60
BEV DATIOY., Fatly, Ge CRIED esiecsesescstcnnsnscncescnensnnenicnncn 10, 11

Owen, The Origins and Developments of Marine
Collision Law, 51 Tulane L. Rev. 759, 806-07 (1977) 10

Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws § 84, Com-

I Fe IRR elas tasincichiareeintcdinantmensdenceaeinhanaihecetins 9
RESTATEMENT (SeconD) or Conruict or Laws § 84,
a 9

Wilson, Access-To-Courts Provisions im U.S. Com-.
mercial Treaties, 47 Am. J. Int’l Law, 20, 45
SI astesetcactanieiooccsceiioniiess scetbedaasiocagshibeesadeveadnessesanbetiiesoninsece 18

20 Harv. Int’] L.J., 404, 411 n.40 (1979) -W0 ee. 18

IN THE
Supreme Cot of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-1857

Aucoa SteamsHip Company, Inc.,
Petitioner,
- against -

M/V Norpic Recent, her boilers, tackle, machinery and
other appurtenances in rem and Norcross Surprine Co.,
Inc., as her owner in personam,

Respondent.

ESE

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO THE PETITION OF ALCOA

STEAMSHIP CO., INC. FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND
CIRCUIT

Respondent respectfully requests that this Court deny
the petition for writ of certiorari to review the en banc
decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit dated February 25, 1980, vacating the judg-
ment and opinion of the panel on rehearing dated January
10, 1979. The panel on rehearing had reversed the judg-
ment and opinion of the same panel dated August 31, 1978.
The en banc decision affirmed the judgment of the United
States District Court for the Southern District of New York
dated January 17, 1978, conditionally dismissing this ad-
miralty suit under the doctrine of forum non conveniens.

Questions Presented

1. Does the standard established by this Court in Gulf
Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501 (1947) for determining

2

motions to dismiss on forum non conveniens grounds apply
to all litigants?

2. Did the district court err in granting the motion to
dismiss on forwm non conveniens grounds knowing that
petitioner, if successful in the alternative forum, would
recover less than the $3.5 million maximum recovery from
any limitation fund available in the United States?

Statutes Involved

Involved in this case are art. III $2, cl. 1 (The “arising
under” and Admiralty Clauses) of the Constitution of the
United States, and 46 U.S.C. §183(a) (The Limitation of
Shipowners’ Liability Statutes), which are printed in Peti-
tion, Appendix A.

Statement of the Case
a. The Facts.

This action to recover for property damages arises from
the allision on January 2, 1977 of the M/V Norpic Rer-
GENT (the vessel) with a transfer station ore pier owned
and operated by petitioner, Aleoa Steamship Company, Ine.
(Alcoa) and located in Port Tembladora, Trinidad, West
Indies. Petitioner has conducted business at the ore transfer
terminal in Trinidad for over 25 years. The vessel was
owned by respondent Norcross Shipping Co., Ine. (Nor-
cross) a Liberian corporation, and was manned by Italian
officers and crew.

On the day of the accident, the M/V Norpic Recent
was invited by the Trinidadian Pilots’ Association to pro-
ceed to a point one-half to one mile from the pier, and was
also advised that a pilot would be waiting. No pilot was
there when the vessel arrived. Shortly before entering this
_zone of invitation, according to the captain, the vessel en-

3

countered a current driving against her starboard side; the
pilot assigned to handle the vessel, in his statement, charac-
terized these local phenomena as “surface and subsurface
currents.” The captain tried to maneuver without success,
and the vessel struck the pier.

At the time of the allision, the vessel’s owner, respondent
Norcross had chartered the vessel to Anglo-Nordic Ship-
ping Co., Ltd. which, in turn, had chartered it to petitioner
Aleoa. Since no dispute arose under either of the charter-
parties as a result of the accident of January 2, 1977, the
language and clauses of the contracts are irrelevant to the
issue at bar.

b. Litigation History

Petitioner commenced the instant admiralty action in the
United States District Court for the Southern District of
New York to recover for property damage to its pier
in Trinidad, allegedly resulting from the negligence of the
vessel and its captain. Petitioner named as defendants
the M/V Nororc Recent and its owner Norcross, and served
process on its agent in New York.

Shortly after the accident, respondent commenced a
limitation proceeding in Trinidad which establishes its pres-
ence there for purposes of suit by petitioner. Additionally,
respondent has given a letter of guarantee to petitioner
that a Trinidadian judgment would be satisfied and agreed
that this could be made a condition for the dismissal of
the action, as the district court subsequently so ordered.

On February 4, 1977 respondent moved to dismiss the
action under the doctrine of forum non conveniens. After
taking the motion to dismiss on submission based on the
pleadings, affidavits, briefs and letters of the parties, the
district court conditionally granted the motion on J anuary
17, 1978.

4

On August 31, 1978 the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit affirmed the district court in a 2
to 1 opinion. Upon rehearing, the same panel—with one
judge changing his vote—withdrew the original panel’s
affirmance and reversed the district court. Upon rehearing
en banc directed to the second panel decision, the United
States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit vacated the
judgment and opinion of the panel on rehearing and
affirmed by a 7 to 2 vote! the judgment of the district court
in an opinion dated February 25, 1980.

Reason for Denying the Writ

The Court of Appeals for the Second Cireuit en banc
properly affirmed the district court’s sound exercise of dis-
cretion in dismissing the case after applying the test estab-
lished by this court in Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330
U.S. 501 (1947), for determining motions to dismiss
on grounds of forum non conveniens. In so deciding the
en banc court reaffirmed the applicability of the Gilbert
criteria, which has been established law for more than three
decades. After finding ample justification for the district
court’s discretionary dismissal under the Gilbert test, the
en banc majority rejected the claim of petitioner that in the
circumstances of this case a different standard ought apply.
It was unsucessfully urged that because petitioner, part of
a multinational business enterprise is incorporated in New
York and, hence, is an American citizen, its choice of forum
should not be disturbed, despite the fact that this litigation,
which involved claim of damage to no doubt well insured
property, arises from a perhaps ultimately inevitable acci-
dent occurring in the 25 year continuous course of operation

1. Judge Gurfein, who was a member of the en banc court,
unfortunately died on December 16, 1979. Prior to his death, he
had voted to affirm the judgment of the district court. He did not
have the opportunity, however, to see the en banc court's opinion
prior to his death. (Petition A-3).

5

by this American corporation of an “offshore” facility.
There is before this court no issue of the district court’s
abuse of the discretion accorded it under Gilbert. There is,
further, no serious argument made by petitioner that the
Southern District of New York is a convenient forum for
this purely local matter, or that to a degree or other re-
spondent will not be disadvantaged by a trial in petitioner’s
chosen forum. Having, on the basis of the record in the
district court, lost as it were “fair and square” under the
Gilbert criteria, this disappointed petitioner plunges on,
urging this court to forge what is unquestionably a new
rule of law whereby an American plaintiff will be all but
immune from a motion to dismiss on grounds of forum non
conveniens. That is to say, petitioner urges that a degree
of injustice should properly be inflicted upon a defendant,
or that, at minimum, he should be required to bear all
manner of inconvenience, and be no less than heavily bur-
dened if not oppressed, should that result happen to suit
the interest of an American plaintiff. Thus, according to
petitioner, no matter how local the controversy or remote
from the American forum the defendant, or how perma-
nently international the nature of the enterprise, and apart
from considerations of convenience or concern for the
equality of a foreign defendant’s rights, an American plain-
tiff in cases of this sort should be allowed a virtually un-
limited right to embrace, when advantageous, a part of the
laws of the United States, 46 U.S.C. §183(a), regarding
maritime limitations of liability. And if this court cannot,
or will not, adopt this parochial and discriminatory view,
petitioiner then implores the Court to hold dismissal on
forum non conveniens grounds inappropriate when re-
covery in the alternative forum is markedly less than that
provided by the forum chosen, in order, of course, to
achieve precisely that more favorable result.

Surely petitioner would have the court ignore the under-
lying facts: (1) when the ore transfer station was con-

6

structed more than one quarter of a century ago, in an
apparent expression of a deliberate choice by petitioner
to forego the “advantages” of American law with respect,
for example, to taxes and labor, Alcoa knew, or should have
known, that if the pier were struck and damaged by a vessel
the owner could, under the law of Trinidad, raise as a de-
fense a limitation of liability statute less favorable on cer-
tain facts than that provided by the laws of the United
States. Alcoa was at the time of the decision to shelter this
aspect of its far-flung business operations under the laws
of Trinidad, aware that limitation statutes are arbitrary,
and hence never nfair, and are, purely and simply, expres-
sions of a public policy to which this petitioner was no doubt
all too exquisitely attuned with respect to other aspects of
its Trinidad operation. This multinational corporation
must surely have considered, before embarking on this off-
shore profit maximizing enterprise, the possibility of litiga-
tion of this kind in Trinidad, along with such other factors
as the apparent advantage gained by the, perhaps, more
favorable tax and labor laws.

The exquisitely drawn criteria set forth in the landmark
ease of Gulf Oil v. Gilbert, indeed, mark it as a case for all
plaintiffs whose choice of forum is challenged. Save for
differing amounts of recovery, which if considered would
render the doctrine of forum non conveniens impotent, all
of the arguments raised in this petition and possibly all
previous petitions are met, including the question of
whether defendant was vexed and harassed by plaintiff’s
forum selection. A plaintiif can demand no more than that
the judge fairly consider all the factors in exercising his
discretion.

We can do no better now than to turn to the language of
the district court, which gave rise to the controversy before
this Court:

This Court is persuaded that the lack of a sub-
stantial nexus between this controversy and the

7

Southern District of New York combined with the
inconvenience and possible prejudice to the defend-
ant resulting from retention of jurisdiction here—
which substantially outweigh any inconvenience
plaintiff may suffer—renders this an inappropriate
forum; an evaluation of the contentions of the parties
compels the conclusion that the litigation of this
case can be conducted most expeditously and inex-
pensively in Trinidad.

Nor does plaintiff’s asserted interest in the con-
venience of its expert witnesses weigh heavily, since
they will have to travel some distance to trial
regardless of its location. This is also true, of
course, with respect to witnesses from the crew of
the M/V Nordic Regent. On the whole, however,
the availability and convenience of the witnesses
militates most strongly toward dismissal in this
case. The dock workers, pilot personnel and repair
witnesses are concededly residents of Trinidad. As
recognized by this Court in Gulf Oil v. Gilibert,
supra at 511, 67 S.Ct. at 844,

[T]Jo fix the place of trial at a point where liti-
gants cannot compel personal attendance and may
be foreed to try their cases on deposition, is to
create a condition not satisfactory to court, jury
or most litigants. Nor is it necessarily cured by
the statements of plaintiff’s counsel that he will see
to getting many of the witnesses to the trial * * *.

Most importantly, the inability to implead the
pilot association here, which is not challenged by
plaintiff, may seriously prejudice the defendant.
The inability to implead other parties directly in-
volved has been recognized as a factor to be weighed
against retention of jurisdiction, ...

These factors substantially outweigh plaintiff's
choice of forum—even though plaintiff correctly
argues that courts are more reluctant to deprive a
plaintiff of that choice where dismissal would force

8

an American citizen to seek redress in a foreign
eourt. An American citizen does not, however, en-
joy an absolute right to sue in an American court.
[Petition A-76-78 ]

This Court therefore should deny the petition for writ
of certiorari, and leave undisturbed the consistent line of
decisions by the lower courts which reflect the appropri-
ateness of the Gilbert standard.

POINT I

THE GILBERT CRITERIA GIVE DUE CONSIDERATION TO
PLAINTIFF’S EXPRESSED PREFERENCE OF FORUM AND
ARE BROAD ENOUGH TO INSURE A JUST RESULT IN ALL
FORUM NON CONVENIENS CASES IRRESPECTIVE OF THE
CITIZENSHIP OF THE PARTIES.

In Gulf Ou Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 507 (1947),
this Court approved the inherent authority of federal courts
to decline to exercise jurisdiction under the doctrine of
forum non conveniens where the litigation could more ap-
propriately proceed in a foreign tribunal. In so doing,
this Court recognized that an alternative forum can, at
times, maximize the ends of justice and better serve the
convenience of all concerned by ensuring that the contro-
versy proceeds in the forum that has the best and most con-
vient access to the sources of proof.

The factors enumerated by Mr, Justice Jackson in writ-
ing for the majority in Gilbert to be considered by courts
in their determination can be divided into two categories;
the interests of the litigants and the interests of the public.
The interests of the litigants include the relative ease of
access to sources of proof; the availability of compulsory
process for the attendance of unwilling witnesses, and the
cost of obtaining attendance of willing witnesses; the pos-
sibility of a view of the premises, if a view would be appro-

9

priate to the action; questions as to the enforeability of a
judgment ; relative advantages and obstacles to a fair trial;
and all other practical problems that make trial of a case
easy, expeditious and inexpensive. The interests of the
publie include, administrative difficulties stemming from
court congestion; a local interest in having localized con-
troversies decided at home; and avoidance of unnecessary
problems in conflicts of laws and in law foreign to the
forum.?

Regarding plaintiff's choice of forum, the majority
stated:

It is often said that the plaintiff may not, by choice
of an inconvenient forum “vex,” “harass,” or “op-
press” the defendant by inflicting upon him expense
or trouble not necessary to his own right to pursue
his remedy. But unless the balance is strongly in
favor of the defendant, the plaintiff’s choice of
forum should rarely be disturbed. Jd, at 508.

Of necessity, application of the Gilbert standard leaves a
great deal to the discretion of the trial courts who must
weigh the facts and circumstances of each ease in balancing
the convenience of the parties, Restatement (Second) of
Conflicts of Laws § 84, Comment b (1971), a fact recognized
and approved by this court in Gilbert:

Wisely it has not been attempted to catalogue the
circumstances which will justify or require either
grant or denial of remedy. The doctrine leaves
much to the discretion of the court to which plaintiff
resorts, and experience has not shown a judicial
tendency to renounce one’s own jurisdiction so
strong as to result in many abuses. 330 U.S. at 508
(footnote omitted). [Petition A-27].

By declining to define an “all purpose rule” and instead,
setting forth the relevant factors to be taken into account

2. Jd. at 507-508. The Court is also respectfully. referred to the
opinion of the district court in the Memorandum and Order of Judge
Conner, January 17, 1978 (Petition A-74).

10

by the trial court in exercising its discretion, factors which
may vary from case to case but are nevertheless always
present be it 1947 or 1980, this Court ensured the continu-
ing vitality of the Gilbert standard; a standard which the
federal courts have reaffirmed repeatedly.’

The reason for the longevity of the Gilbert standard and
its subsequent expansive application by the state courts,
most notably in New York,‘ as well as the reliance placed
upon it by Congress in codifying the doctrine of forwm non
conveniens in 28 U.S.C. $1404(a), the transfer statute, is
readily apparent; it requires, and indeed, “nicely blends”,
considerations of harassment by the parties with a balanc-
ing of conveniences. Braucher, The Inconvenient Federal
Forum, 60 Harv. L. Rev. 908, 923 (1947). In so doing the
Gilbert standard fulfills the principle function of the doc-
trine of forum non conveniens, the avoidance of forum shop-
ping.’ As this Court realistically recognized in a comment

3. The Court is respectfully referred to the opinion en banc of
the Second Circuit (Petition A-28). See also, Farmanfarmaian v.
Gulf Oil Corp., 588 F.2d 880 (2d Cir. 1978); Schertenleib v. Traum,
589 F.2d 1156, 1164 (2d Cir. 1978); Mizokami Bros. of Arizona,
Inc. v. Baychem Corp., 556 F.2d 975 (9th Cir. 1977) (per curiam),
cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1035 (1978); Fitzgerald v. Texaco, Inc., 521
F.2d 448 (2d Cir. 1975), cert, denied, 423 U.S. 1052 (1976);
Paper Operations Consultants [nt’l, Ltd. v. S.S. Hong Kong Amber,
513 F.2d 667, 671 (9th Cir. 1975); Frangiskatos vy. Konkar Mari-
time Enterprises, §.A., 471 F.2d 714, 715 (2d Cir. 1972) (per
curiam); Yerostathis v. A. Luisi, Ltd., 380 F.2d 377, 378 (9th Cir.
1967); Vanity Fair Mills v. T. Eaton Co., 234 F.2d 633, 645-46
(2d Cir.) , cert. denied, 352 U.S. 913 (1956); Accord, Abouchalache
v. ‘Hilton Int'l Co., 464 F. Supp. 94 (S.D.N.Y. 1978); Texaco
Trinidad, Inc. v. Astro Exito Navegacion §.A., Panama, 437 F.
Supp. 331 (S.D.N.Y. 1977).

4. For a comprehensive discussion of the evolution of the forum
non conveniens doctrine, see en banc opinion beginning on page
A-18 of the Petition.

5. The authority of United States federal courts to so decline
jurisdiction has tended in the past to minimize the effect of forum-
shopping generated by such international disparities in maritime law
as those raised in the instant case. See generally Owen, The Origins
and Development of Marine Collision Law, 51 Tulane L. Rev. 759,
806-07 (1977). Moreover, the doctrine of forum non conveniens

11

particularly apposite to the instant case, “a plaintiff some-
times is under temptation to resort to a strategy of forcing
the trial at the most inconvenient place for an adversary,
even at some inconvenience to himself.” Gilbert, 330 U.S.
at 507.

But for the suggestion of petitioner in the instant case
and the dissenting opinion of Judge Van Graafeiland in the
en banc opinion of the Second Circuit that Koster v. Lum-
bermen’s Mutual Casualty Co., 330 U.S. 518, 524 (1947)
states the rule, no alternative test or standard has been
advanced for resolving forum non conveniens determina-
tions. Moreover, respondent respectfully submits that
Koster is but a pragmatic application of the Gilbert stand-
ard; not an exception to it.®

Indeed, petitioner seeks to disguise its real purpose by
characterizing the result, and justifying need for review by

has been applied most flexibly by the federal courts in admiralty
cases. Bickel, The Doctrine of Forum Non Conveniens As Applied
In The Federal Courts In Matters Of Admiralty, 35 Cornell L.Q. 12
(1949); Braucher, supra, at 920-921.

6. In Koster, decided on the same day as Gilbert and in a
majority opinion written by the same judge, Mr. Justice Jackson,
this Court affirmed the dismissal of a derivative action commenced
in the Eastern District of New York by a New York plaintiff against
Illinois defendants on grounds of forum non conveniens. In so do-
ing, this Court observed:

[Plaintiff should not be deprived of the presumed advantages
of his home jurisdiction except upon a clear showing of facts
which either (1) establish such oppressiveness and vexation
to a defendant as to be out of all proportion to plaintiff's
convenience, which may be shown to be slight or nonexistent,
or (2) make trial in the chosen forum inappiopriate because
of considerations affecting the court’s own administrative and
legal problems. /d. at 524.

The factors weighed in Koster are precisely those announced in Gil-
bert which reflect the court’s public interests concerns and the pri-
vate interests of the parties. Moreover this Court in Koster stated
“lcorporate citizenship] might be entitled to little consideration
under the doctrine of forum non conveniens, which resists formaliza-
tion and looks to the realities that make for doing justice.” Id. at
528.

12

the Court, in terms of a pendulum swung too far. But the
Gilbert criteria, by design, keep all points in range of any
just pendulum swing, requiring only a proper exercise by
the district court of informed discretion. What petitioner
seeks is not restoration of an appropriate flexibility but a
return to rigidity; a result where there is no pendulum
swing, no comparison or weighing of the objectives sought
to be achieved by the forwm non conveniens doctrine, but
a rule of law favoring an American citizen’s forum choice
at a cost amounting to abandonment of the concept.

(A) The American Citizenship Of The Plaintiff Does Not
Justify Creating A Special Rule Of Forum Non Conveniens.’

Neither this Court nor any federal court of appeals has
held that a special rule of forum non conveniens other than
Gilbert governs where, as here, the action is brought by an
American citizen and there is an alternative forum abroad.

In Swift & Co. Packers v. Compania Colombiana del
Caribe, S.A., 339 U.S. 684, 697 ( 1950), this Court expressly
refused to decide the question whether United States admir-
alty courts may decline jurisdiction over libels brought by
United States citizens. Writing for a unanimous Court,
Mr. Justice Frankfurter suggested, however, that such dis-
missal on forum non conveniens grounds in favor of litiga-
tion in a foreign forum would be proper if conditioned on
an assurance that the respondent would appear in the alter-
native foreign forum and provide appropriate security. In
the instant case, the dismissal was so conditioned and there
is no dispute with respect to the conditions.

More significantly, in the two most recent circuit court
cases dealing with this issue, the Second and Ninth cireuits
have applied the Gilbert standard in reviewing lower court
dismissals on grounds of forum non conveniens where, as
here, the plaintiff was an American citizen or one entitled

7. See the opinion en banc of the Second Circuit (Petition A-31).

13

to the rights of an American citizen. Farmanfarmian v.
Gulf Oil Corp., 588 F.2d 880 (2d Cir. 1978) ; Mizokami Bros.
of Arizona, Inc. v. Baychem Corp., 556 F.2d 975 (9th Cir.
1977) (per curiam), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1035 (1978).

In Farmanfarmaian v. Gulf Oil Corp., 588 F.2d 880 (2d
Cir. 1978), the Second Circuit affirmed the district court’s
dismissal of an action by an Iranian citizen, who under @
bi-lateral treaty between the United States and Iran had
“access to [this] country’s courts on terms no less favorable
than those applicable to nationals of the court’s country,”
id. at 882, citing 8 United States Treaties and Other Interna-
tional Agreements 900, 902-03 (1957). In that case, the
plaintiff commenced an action in the Southern District of
New York against eleven American companies for breach
of contract and tortious interference with contract rights.
Recognizing that the district court “applied the same forum
non conveniens standards as would be applied were the
plaintiff an American citizen,” id., the court unanimously
affirmed the dismissal in favor of litigation in the alterna-
tive foreign forum. <A writ of certiorari was not sought.

Similarly, in Mizokami Bros. of Arizona, Inc. v. Baychem
Corp., 556 F.2d 975 (9th Cir. 1977) (per curiam), cert.
denied, 434 U.S. 1035 (1978), the Ninth Circuit upheld the
lower court’s dismissal of an action by an American plain-
tiff in favor of litigation in Mexican courts. There, a United
States importer of Mexican produce sued a German corpo-
ration and its Mexican and American subsidiaries in federal
district court for the District of Arizona to recover for loss
arising from excessive chemical contamination to a produce
shipment. Approving the district court’s exercise of dis-
cretion under the Gilbert standard, the court affirmed the
dismissal under the doctrine of forwm non conveniens. Tn
so deciding, the Ninth Circuit concluded:

The plaintiff falls back on-its United States citizen-
ship as the sole and only basis for suing these de-
fendants in a court of the United States. This is

14

not enough. In an era of increasing international
commerce, parties who choose to engage in interna-
tional transactions should know that when their for-
eign operations lead to litigation they cannot expect
always to bring their foreign opponents into a United
States forum when every reasonable consideration
leads to the conclusion that the site of the litigation
should be elsewhere. Jd. at 978 (emphasis added).

While courts have expressed a “reluctance”, see, e.g.,
Vanity Fair Mills v. T. Eaton Co., 234 F.2d 633, 645 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 352 U.S. 871 (1956), to dismiss an action
brought by an American plaintiff under the doctrine of
forum non conveniens, these courts have not adopted a
standard different from Gilbert; they have merely required
that the balancing of Gilbert factors strongly favor a more
appropriate, convenient and less prejudicial forum.

Any contention that the holding of the en banc court
below is inconsistent with decisions of the Third, Fifth,
and District of Columbia Circuits has no merit; each of the
eases relied upon by petitioner is factually distinguishable.

In Mobil Tankers Company, S.A. v. Mene Grande Oil Co.,
363 F.2d 611 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 945 (1966),
the Third Cireuit held improper the district court’s dis-
missal of an American libelant on forum non conveniens
grounds. In that case, as here, the court applied the Gilbert
criteria in determining the motion to dismiss. There, how-
ever, unlike the instant case, the court concluded that the
record was devoid of evidence that the retention of juris-
diction by the district court would seriously prejudice the
defendant. /d. at 614-15. Here, the district court expressly
concluded that:

The lack of a substantial nexus between this contro-
versy and the Southern District of New York com-
bined with the inconvenience and possible prejudice
to the defendant resulting from retention of jurisdic-
tion here—which substantially outweigh any incon-
venience plaintiff may suffer—renders this an
inappropriate forum. ... [Petition A-76].

15

Most importantly, the inability to implead the Pilot
Association here, which is not challenged by plaintiff,
may seriously prejudice the defendant. ... [ Petition
A-78] (emphasis added).

In Mobil Tankers, the relinquishment of jurisdiction would
have relegated the libelants to a foreign forum in which the
mode of trial, the lack of adequate pre-trial procedures, and
a limitation on the manner in which expert testimony can
be offered did not comport with American concepts of fair-
ness. Here; in contrast, the petition raises no such ques-
tion of fairness. [Petition A-29 n.16].

In Burt v. Isthmus Development Co., 218 F.2d 353 (5th
Cir.), cert. denied, 349 U.S. 922 (1955), the Fifth Circuit
held improper the dismissal of a contract action by a New
York plaintiff against a Texas corporation on a forum non
conveniens basis since any inconvenience to the defendant
was offset by factors other than the plaintiff’s citizenship.
Id. at 358. In so holding, the Fifth Cireuit concluded that
the defendant’s incorporation in the forum state, the com-
pounded disadvantage of inconvenience to the plaintiff, and
the personal presence in the forum by a witness heavily re-
lied upon by the defendant militated against dismissal. Jd.
None of these factors is present in the instant case.
Further, the Fifth Cireuit found unnecessary in that case
“flatly to hold that no discretion exists in any ... case
[brought by a resident citizen] to decline jurisdiction.” Jd.
at 357. Writing for the court, Judge Dawkins stated:

Experience has taught that such a holding may
prove unsound in extreme cases; and the Supreme
Court in the Swift case ... declined to pass upon a
similar point. We leave that question open. Id.
(citation omitted).

In Founding Church of Scientology of Washington, D.C.
v. Verlag, et al., 536 F.2d 429 (D.C. Cir. 1976), the Court
of Appeals for the District of Columbia reversed a dis-

16

missal of a libel action by a District of Columbia corpora-
tion against a New York corporation. The District of
Columbia Circuit held that the lower court abused its dis-
cretion under Gilbert in dismissing on forum non con-
veniens grounds based only upon a consideration of the
drawbacks of one forum and not on a weighing of the rela-
tive advantages of each forum. The court there found it
“of great significance” that, unlike the instant case, both
the plaintiff and the defendant were residents of the
United States and that the plaintiff sought damages for
alleged tortious conduct in the District of Columbia, i.e.,
the original forum. Jd, at 435. That case, unlike here, pre-
sented “important questions ... which will turn on evidence
collected in the United States on questions which may be
controlled by local law.” Jd. at 436 (citation omitted).
There, unlike the instant case, many of the witnesses whom
the plaintiff would be required to call were from the
United States. Jd.

In the instant case respondent respectfully submits that
the district court, in the sound exercise of its discretion,
properly applied the Gilbert criteria and did not err in
conditionally dismissing the action as determined by the
Second Circuit.

The facts of this case lead to the inescapable conclusion
that this controversy lacks any substantial nexus to the
Southern District of New York. Additionally, the respond-
ent would be seriously prejudiced by its inability to
implead here a party directly involved, the Trinidadian
Pilots’ Association, and by the absence here of compulsory
process over Trinidadian fact witnesses required to prop-
erly defend this action on the issue of liability and damages.
This possible serious prejudice combined with the incon-
venience to respondent resulting from retention of jurisdic-
tion, substantially outweigh any possible inconvenience to
petitioner that would result from litigation in a forum
where petitioner conducts business activities and with

17

which petitioner presumably is “not... unfamiliar.” [Peti-
tion A-79].

Applying the Gilbert standard, recently several other
judges in the Southern District of New York have dismissed
actions by American citizens or residents on grounds of
forum non conveniens in favor of litigation in a foreign
forum.

In Texaco Trinidad, Inc. v. Astro Exito Navegacion S.A.,
437 F. Supp. 331 (S.D.N.Y. 1977), an admiralty case, the
defendant’s ship damaged the plaintiff’s jetty while in the
process of mooring in Trinidad. After the plaintiff, a
United States corporation, sued the defendant, a Pana-
manian corporation, in the United States federal court, the
defendant moved to dismiss on grounds of forum non con-
venvens in favor of trial in Trinidad. In that case, as here,
the limitation of liability statute which likely would be
applied by a court in Trinidad favored the defendant.
There, as here, the plaintiff opposed the motion on the
basis of its United States citizenship by incorporation and
the unfavorable limitation law to which it would be subject
in the foreign forum. Dismissing the action, the court con-
cluded that the nature of the action was wholly local and
observed that the plaintiff’s United States citizenship by
incorporation was merely a factor to be considered, and
did not control “if the balance of factors tips heavily in
favor of defendants.” Jd. at 333-34.

Similarly, in Mohr v. Allen, 407 F. Supp. 483 (S.D.N.Y.
1976), plaintiff, an American citizen, sued on the basis of a
purported oral contract with a Mexican national to develop
hotel property in Mexico. The court noted that Mexico was
the clear locus of events and applied the Gilbert standard.
Notwithstanding the American citizenship of the plaintiff,
the court dismissed the action (conditionally) resting its
decision on forum non conveniens as an alternate ground.
(This Court is respectfully referred to the opinion en banc
of the Seeond Circuit [Petition A-24].

18

(B) Significant Policy Considerations Support Adherence to a
Uniform Standard For Determination Of Forum Non
Conveniens Motions.

The recent decision by the Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit in Farmanfarmaian, 588 F.2d 880 (1978),
supports adherence to the uniform standard of Gilbert as a
matter of policy. The Treaties of Friendship, Commerce
and Navigation, and similar agreements, maintained be-
tween the United States and many foreign nations include
“no less favorable” treatment clauses like that found in the
treaty addressed in Farmanfarmaian. See, Wilson, Access-
to-Courts Provisions in U.S. Commercial Treaties, 47 Am.
J.Intl. Law, 20, 45 (1953) ; 20 Harv. Intl L. J., 404, 411 n.40
(1979) (relevant treaties summarized); Agreement on
Trade Relations, Mar. 17, 1978, United States - Hungary,
T.LA.S. No. 8967; Treaty of Friendship, Establishment and
Navigation, Feb. 21, 1961, United States— Belgium, 14
U.S.T. 1284, 1289; Treaty of Friendship, Commerce and
Navigation, Oct. 1, 1961, United States— Denmark, 12
U.S.T. 908, 912. Adoption of a more stringent forwm non
conveniens standard would give rise to new problems, as
recognized by Judge Timbers, writing for the en banc
majority below:

The courts either would be obliged to apply this
same vexation standard to foreign nationals who are
the beneficiaries of such clauses, thus barring dis-
missal for all practical purposes and crippling the
concept of forum non conveniens, or they would have
to do violence to our treaty obligations which of
course are paramount under the Constitution.
[Petition A-15]

Moreover, fundamental fairness coupled with commer-
cial reality mandates that foreign corporations be accorded
equal treatment in United States courts. This Court in
M/S Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., 407 U.S. 1 (1972),
an admiralty case, eschewed a parochial approach in the
related area of enforcement of contractual choice-of-forum

19

clauses which send an American plaintiff to a foreign
tribunal. Vacating the decision of the Fifth Cireuit Court
of Appeals en banc, this Court there upheld the validity
of a contract forum—selection clause which required trial
in England by an American plaintiff. There, this Court
observed :

We cannot have trade and commerce in world
markets in international waters exclusively on our
terms, governed by our laws and resolved in our
eourts. Jd. at 9.

Adoption of the parochial approach urged by petitioner
would confer upon multinational corporations, shopping for
a favorable forum, the best of all possible worlds. Such
corporations could move for dismisisal on the ground of
forum non conveniens—as Texaco did in the landmark Sec-
ond Cireuit case of Fitzgerald v. Texaco, Inc., 521 F.2d 448
(2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1052 (1976), and the
oi! companies did in Farmanfarmaian v. Gulf Oil Corp.,
588 F.2d 880 (2d Cir. 1978)—when they believe their inter-
est will be best served by trial abroad and, of course, resist
forum non conveniens on the grounds that they are an im-
mune American citizen when they have chosen to bring suit
in an American court not surprisingly also in furtherance
of their own best interest.

To summarize, the petition for writ of certiorari should
be denied thereby leaving undisturbed three decades of con-
sistent decisions all of which apply the workable criteria
of Gilbert.

POINT I

THE DISTRICT COURT HAS DISCRETION TO DISMISS
UNDER THE DOCTRINE OF FORUM NON CONVENIENS
NOTWITHSTANDING ANY PROSPECT OF A _ LESSER
RECOVERY BY PLAINTIFF IN THE ALTERNATIVE FO2UM.

The proper application of the doctrine of forum non con-
veniens is not dependent upon whether the alternative
forum provides a more or a less favorable recovery.

20

Canada Malting Co. v. Paterson Steamships, Ltd., 285 U.S.
413 (1932); Fitegerald v. Texaco, Inc., 521 F.2d 448, 453
(2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1052 (1976) ; cf. M/S
Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., 407 U.S. 1, 8 n.8 (1972)
[enforcing a contract forum selection clause, despite a
lesser limitation fund in the alernative forum, England
(z.e. slightly in excess of $80,000), than in the United States
(i.e. $1,390,000)]. As recognized recently by the Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit in Fitzgerald v. Texaco,
Inc., 521 F.2d 448, 453 (2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S.
1052 (1976):

A district court has discretion to dismiss an action
under the doctrine of forum non conveniens, however,
even though the law applicable in the alternative
forum may be less favorable to the plaintiff’s chance
of recovery. Canada Malting Co., Ltd. v. Paterson
Steamships, 285 U.S. 413, 418-20, 52 S.Ct. 413, 76
L.Ed, 837 (1932). A contrary holding would emas-
culate the doctrine, for a plaintiff rarely chooses to
bring an action in a forum, especially a foreign one,
where he is less likely to recover. But the issue re-
mains one of balancing the relevant factors, inelud-
ing the choice of law. (emphasis added) .®

Adoption of another rule would encourage precisely the
type of “transoceanic forum shopping” that the doctrine
of forum non conveniens has heen designed to prevent, sec
Gilbert, 330 U.S. at 507, and that has been criticized in recent
years by this Court, see United States v. Reliable Transfer

8. Counsel for the petitioner misinterprets the meaning of the
last phrase above. His interpretation ignores the essential holding
of the court in Fitzgerald. Affirming dismissal of the action, the
court there held that the possibility of a lesser recovery by the plain-
tiff in the alternative forum was outweighed by “the clear prejudice
which defendants would suffer if jurisdiction were retained, together
with considerations of public interest, and the factors of convenience
.... Id. at 453. Moreover, among the factors expressly considered
by the court in Fitzgerald to weigh against the retention of jurisdic-
tion in the Southern District of New York was, as here, the “in-
reg to implead other parties directly involved in the controversy.”
Id. at 453.

21

Co., 421 U.S. 397, 404 (1975). Under United States statutes,
the limitation fund comprises pending freight and the value
of the vessel owner’s interest in the vessel, measured after
the casualty. 46 U.S.C. § 183. If the casualty here had
resulted in total loss of the M/V Norpic Recent, since
there would have been a virtual nil fund, it is more than
fair to conclude that petitioner would have initiated litiga-
tion in Trinidad and certainly not in any United States
court.

Any contention that the possibility of a lesser recovery
by the petitioner in the alternative forum precludes forum
non conveniens dismissal is without merit. In Canada
Malting Co., Ltd. v. Paterson Steamships, Ltd., 285 U.S.
413 (1932), this Court rejected such a contention in affirm.
ing the district court’s decision to decline to exercise juris-
diction, despite the difference in Canadian and United
States laws governing the extent of recovery for cargo
damages. See also Kloeckner Reederei Und Kohlenhandel
G.M.B.H.v. A/S Hakedal (The Western Farmer), 210 F.2d
754, 756 (2d Cir. 1954), appeal dismissed, 348 U.S. 801
(1954), in which Judge Learned Hand characterized the
difference in recovery as “irrelevant.”

The language in Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612
(1964), cited by petitioner, has no application to the in-
stant case. In Van Dusen, the lower court’s decision to
transfer forty wrongful death actions under the federal
transfer statute, 28 U.S.C. §1404(a), was remanded for
reconsideration with directions that transfer, if any, should
be conditioned on the transferee district court applying the
state law that would have been applied by the transferor
district court, including the transferor court’s choice of
law rules. In that case, the Court specifically construed the
narrow statutory language of §1404(a) as a “federal
judicial housekeeping measure dealing with the placement

22

of litigation in the federal courts and generally intended

. simply to authorize a change of courtrooms.” Jd. at
637. This Court has never imposed such a restriction on
the inherent authority of the federal district courts to dis-
miss, as in the instant maritime case, pursuant to ghe com-
mon law—or non-statutory—doctrine of forwm non con-
veniens. See Schertenletb v. Traum, 589 F.2d 1156, 1166
(2d Cir. 1978). Indeed, this Court in Van Dusen express-
ly declined to extend its ruling to the issue in the instant
case, and limited its decision to transfers sought by a
defendant under § 1404(a):

We do not and need not consider whether in all cases
§ 1404(a) would require the application of the law of
the transferor, as opposed to the transferee State.
We do not attempt to determine whether .. . the
same considerations would govern ... if it was con-
tended that the transferor State would simply have
dismissed the action on the ground of forum non con-
venrens. 376 U.S. at 639-40 (footnotes omitted)
(emphasis added).?

In any event, dismissal in the instant case is consistent
with practical justice and results in no unfairness to peti-
tioner by the prospect of recovering less than 3.5 million

9. Van Dusen is further distinguishable from the instant case to
the extent any difference in recovery there turned on the application
of conflicting state substantive law. Here, in contrast, any difference
in recovery arises from the fact that we are dealing with two different
limitation of liability statutes, which are considered procedural mat-
ters applied by each forum. Cf. Oceanic Steam Navigation Co. Vv.
Mellor (The Titanic), 233 U.S. 718 (1914); Black Diamond SS.
Corp. v. Robert Stewart & Sons, Ltd. (The Norwalk Victory), 336
U.S. 386 (1949); Kloeckner Und Kohlenhandel v. A/S Hakedal
(The Western Farmer), 210 F.2d 754 (2d Cir. 1954), appeal dis-
missed, 348 U.S. 801 (1954). Even assuming arguendo that limi-
tation of liability statutes were viewed as substantive, petitioner could
take no comfort from the fact because under traditional conflicts of
law principles the substantive law of Trinidad would be applied by
the trial court thus making appropriate the lesser limitation. This
perhaps, best demonstrates why petitioner shopped for an American
forum in this case.

23

dollars in Trinidad.” As stated by the majority en banc
below:

[Ijt is not at all unfair for [petitioner] to recover
the lesser amount. Its pier was in Trinidad. It was
not likely to go traveling. As long as it did not,
Trinidad’s damage limitation law governed. It would
be unfair to impose an additional recovery against
appellee when appellant, fully familiar with the law
of the place where it maintained a permanent busi-
ness, could have insured its additional risk in a pru-
dent fashion. There is no reason to suppose that it
has not done so. [Petition A-29].

Petitioner is neither left without a remedy nor remitted
to an inadequate forum. There is no suggestion in the
record that Trinidad’s common law judicial system is de-
void of due process. Further, dismissal does not deprive
petitioner of security it otherwise would have had. Respon-
dent has submitted to the jurisdiction of the Trinidad courts
and has given a letter of guarantee that a judgment against
it in Trinidad will be satisfied. (Jd. at A-29).

10. Petitioner contends that dismissal will result in its loss of
almost $8,000,000. Respondent submits that this statement, coming
from experienced maritime counsel, familiar with all the facts, is dis-
ingenuous. Both the district court and counsel were aware that the
value of the vessel after the casualty was $3.5 million—the maximum
amount of any limitation fund in an American court. Consequently,
the difference between the amount of the limitation funds in the
United States and Trinidad is not nearly as dramatic and suggested
by petitioner. In this context, respondent’s estimate of the cost of
repair is only $1.5 million. It should also be pointed out that if
petitioner proves that the shipowner had privity or knowledge of the
negligence resulting in the casualty full damages are recovered in
both jurisdictions under the respective limitation of liability statutes.

The references to $8 million in damages is both misleading and
inconsistent with traditional notions of fair play. It should also be
noted that petitioner unilaterally altered the official caption of this
action on the cover and first page of its petition for writ of certiorari
and likewise on each of its appellate briefs in the court below, adding
parenthetical descriptions of the parties in furtherance of its parochial

argument.

24

Conclusion

For the stated reasons, the petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari should be deried.

Dated: New York, New York
June 20, 1980

Respectfully submitted,

Hotuis M. Waker, JR.
40 Wall Street
New York, New York 10005
(212): 344-4700
Attorney for Respondent
JosEPH T. STEARNS
Vera EK. WEINBERG
Of Counsel

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2428%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
