# Opposition — Fazio v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2411%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 446 U.S. 981

## Text

a
‘

|

Supreme Court, U.S,
eos. ED

No. 79-1839 AUG2 0 1980
MI

In the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1979

. JR., CLERK

FREDERICK JOHN FAZIO AND JOSEPH HENRY
CUSANELLI, PETITIONERS

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

WabDE H. McCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

JANIS H. KOCKRITZ
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-1839

FREDERICK JOHN FAZIO AND JOSEPH HENRY
CUSANELLI, PETITIONERS

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether police officers, who had observed petitioners
unloading marijuana at an eight-acre private estate,
violated petitioners’ Fourth Amendment rights by
entering the grounds and building of the estate and
arresting petitioners without a warrant.

Jurisdiction
Statement
Argument

Conclusion

II

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Cases:

United States v. Williams, 573 F. 2d

SOD wiceeiedsee MME ncsesensecsecesccsccescees

Page
Copembcenn Ce cacesn ttt esassccncosnsscccccsccccccnec l
-seabaese EAM aaabartiesssensevsccseceseccvess |
_0echshneene aA EMIMsEatssesssensescccscceecscoess l
-nstnin tne MIRAabbesssesseeasccesccosccceee 4
nce Eausckescorseessouqecscccooes 7
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S.

QOD ccccccese el ietatssteteessecccesesvccccnse00 6
Dorman v. United States, 435 F. 2d 385 ........... 6
Frisbie v. Collins, 342 U.S. 519 oo... ceeeeeeeeeeeee 4-5
Payton v. New York, No. 78-5420 (Apr. 15,

nS 9 eee 4, 6
Rakas v. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128 wo... ceecceeeeeseeeeees 5
United States v. Crews, No. 78-777

EET 4
United States v. Kulcsar, 586 F. 2d

ee TTT 6
United States v. Santana, 427 U.S. 38 ......ccccceee 5
United States v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411... 5

Il

Page
Constitution and statutes:
United States Constitution, Fourth
PE Leencdidsaeneniesské Genseunntiadssanepecineteicietaboains 5
Re ie ete rc eek eased nin vcscimad asaanacenasiins l
Be Seis EES ‘sobiksani cian cesiisccnitiasachcesaaasiedvokenene l

Be Res. WE Setnesseitirinisnnteseiehieneinaresieli l

OPINIONS BELOW

The initial opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App.
la-15a) is reported at 611 F. 2d 1066. The supplemental
opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 16a-18a) is
reported at 615 F. 2d 685.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
February 14, 1980. A petition for rehearing was denied on
April 18, 1980. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on May 19, 1980 (a Monday). The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Southern District of Georgia, petitioners
were convicted of conspiracy to possess marijuana (21
U.S.C. 846) and aiding and abetting in the possession of
marijuana with the intent to distribute it (21 U.S.C.
841(a(1) and 18 U.S.C.’ 2).! Petitioner Cusanelli was
sentenced to a term of five years’ imprisonment; petitioner
Fazio was sentenced to four years’ imprisonment. The
court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App. la-15a).

The circumstances leading to petitioners’ arrests are
fully described in the opinion below. On July 21, 1978, a
county police sergeant began intermittent surveillance of a
Buick Rivera and its driver, who was later identified as
co-defendant John Barnes, as well as a 19 foot “Aqua

‘Petitioners were tried together with |2 co-deiendants: Scott Butler,
Michael Smith, Garrison Barnes, Robert Barnes, John Barnes, Jr.,
[Thomas Wingate, William Hiscock, George Holder, Robert Milne,
William McConaghy, Hugh McConaghy and John McConaghy.
John McConaghy was acquitted on all counts; the remaining
defendants, whose convictions were affirmed on appeal, have not
joined in this petition.

2

Sport” boat that was parked at a Ramada Inn motel near
Brunswick, Georgia (S.H. 34). On July 23, co-defendant
Robert Barnes joined John Barnes, his brother, and two
other co-defendants at the Ramada Inn (S.H. 35-36). The
four men transported the boat from the motel to a public
landing on the mainland, where they launched the boat
and proceeded by water to the nearby St. Simons Island
Marina (S.H. 35-36). Later that afternoon the two
brothers left the marina in the boat, proceeding north on
the Frederica River. They returned to the marina that
night. After the boat had made the same trip twice more
in the following two days, the county police sergeant
contacted the Drug Enforcement Administration, which
then joined in the surveillance (S.H. 37). On July 25, a
DEA agent flying over the area observed the boat while it
was docked at West Point Plantation, a private estate on
St. Simons Island that was then being rented by co-
defendants Michael Smith and Thomas Wingate.

Meanwhile, on July 24, the Barnes brothers, who had
checked into the Ramada Inn on July 20 (S.H. 34),
moved directly across the street to a Howard Johnson’s
Motel (S.H. 35). On July 26, the Barnes brothers went to
a Holiday Inn at the same intersection, where they had
dinner with petitioners and two other co-defendants who
were staying there (S.H. 44-45). The Barnes brothers
changed hotels again on July 27, when they moved to a
Sheraton Inn that was also located at the same
intersection (S.H. 35). On the same day, petitioner
Cusanelli was observed packing a jeep at the Holiday inn,
and petitioner Fazio and another co-defendant left the
Holiday Inn and proceeded north to Eulonia, Georgia, in
a large tractor-trailer truck (S.H. 46-47).

“The estate, which consists of eight acres, is enclosed by a fence on
three sides; it is bounded by the Frederica River on the fourth side.
[he property is accessible by only one road (S.H. 52, 84, 86-88).

3

The arrest took place on July 28. At about 6:00 p.m.,
the Barnes brothers launched the Aqua Sport from the St.
Simons Marina and headed north on the Frederica River
(S.H. 40). At 7:00 p.m., petitioner Fazio arrived with the
tractor-trailer truck at the West Point Plantation on St.
Simons Island (S.H. 48-49). Agents also saw the jeep
crossing over to the island. From the air, another DEA
agent.observed the Aqua Sport and a shrimp boat at the
plantation dock. Shortly after the tractor-trailer arrived,
the Aqua Sport sped north up the river (S.H. 40, 50).
Although night was falling, none of the plantation’s lights
was illuminated (S.H. 83).

At about 9:30 p.m., DEA agents and local police set up
surveillance of the plantation from a nearby dock and
property, from which they observed the plantation
through light amplifying “night goggles” (S.H. 58). An
arrest team was also posted along the road leading to the
plantation, and boats were stationed in the river to
observe possible activities there (S.H. 62, 88-89). From
their vantage point, agents observed people transferring
bundles, which appeared to contain marijuana, from the
shrimp boat to the dock, and then to land near the
tractor-trailer (S.H. 55, 57).

At this point, the officers had not yet deduced the
pattern of the operation. Because the officers had
observed the Aqua Sport leave the dock earlier and go
north, they speculated that the boat might have gone to
meet and return with another shrimp boat carrying more
marijuana (S.H. 94-95). They had no idea when the
tractor-trailer might leave the area. At approximately 2:30
a.m. agents heard the starting of an engine, which they
later determined to be that of a pickup truck, and they
saw the brake lights of a vehicle go on (S.H. 61). The
DEA agent in charge then decided that the loading

4

operation must have been completed and that the truck
loaded with marijuana was ready to leave. Consequently,
he ordered the agents to enter the property and make
arrests. As the officers moved closer to the plantation
house, people came out of the house and began carrying
bundles of marijuana from stacks near the truck into the
basement of the house (S.H. 64). Arrests were then made,
and the house was secured. Petitioner Fazio was arrested
in a bedroom of the house; petitioner Cusanelli was found
under the dock.

After the arrests, agents seized 191 bales of marijuana
that were in plain view on the ground near the truck and
the dock. The agent in charge then obtained search
warrants for the house, the vehicles and the hotel rooms
(S.H. 72-73; Tr. 394). The execution of those warrants
resulted in the seizure of an additional 661 bales of
marijuana and other evidence (S.H. 68, 93).

ARGUMENT

Petitioners contend that their warrantless arrests were
unlawful under Payton v. New York, No. 78-5420 (Apr.
15, 1980). Petitioner Fazio argues that the officers’
warrantless entry of the house violated his expectation of
privacy even if the officers had probable cause to enter the
plantation and arrest his co-defendants. Although
petitioner Cusanelli was arrested at the plantation’s dock,
rather than in the house, he contends that his arrest was
likewise illegal because the dock was part of the zone of
privacy surrounding the house and its curtilage.

At the outset, we note that petitioners had no right to
avoid trial even if the arrests were illegal; their remedy is
clearly limited to the suppression of any evidence that
might have resulted from the arrests. See Payton v. New
York, supra, slip op. 18 n.34; United States v. Crews, No.
78-777 (Mar. 25, 1980); Frisbie v. Collins, 342 U.S. 519,

5

522 (1952). Petitioners, however, do not and cannot point
to any evidence that was seized pursuant to their arrests.

Fazio, of course, was arrested while the officers were
securing a house that they knew through their own
observations to contain marijuana. It is undisputed,
however, that no evidence was seized from the house at
the time of Fazio’s arrest. Only after a search warrant had
been procured did the officers seize the marijuana that
they had observed being placed in the basement.
Petitioners have no basis for seeking suppression of
evidence seized at the house pursuant to a valid warrant
based on a showing of probable cause that was
independent of any observations made inside the house.’

Likewise, petitioner Cusanelli has no basis for com-
plaint because the bales of marijuana that were seized in
plain view were not the product of his arrest. From a
place where the agents were entitled to be, they observed
the movement of bales of marijuana by Cusanelli and his
co-defendants, who were in public view. See United States
v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411 (1976). Cusanelli had no
legitimate expectation of privacy in the plantation
grounds where he was visible to public view. United
States v. Santana, 427 U.S. 38, 42-43 (1976). Therefore,
the officers’ warrantless entry to arrest Cusanelli was
appropriate under Watson, and the seizure of evidence

3[n any event, it is questionable that petitioners’ mere presence on
the property created any interest protected by the Fourth Amend-
ment in these circumstances. See Rakas v. Illinois, 439 U.S. 128
(1978).

6

observed in plain view on the dock was valid. See
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 465 (1971).

Finally, the exigent circumstances surrounding the
unloading operation justified the warrantless entry in any
event. See Payton v. New York, supra, slip op. 10.
Officers conducting surveillance of the estate observed the
smugglers unloading the marijuana trom the boat, but
they had no idea when the truck might leave or the
smugglers might disperse. When they observed the Aqua
Sport proceed up the river again, they assumed that it had
gone to meet another shrimp boat with more marijuana.
In that case, the tractor-trailer might have stayed on the
estate for several more hours or even days, and more
smugglers might have arrived with more marijuana. Not
until the officers heard the sound of a truck engine did
they conclude that the loading operation was completed
and that the smugglers were probably beginning to escape
from the area. See Dorman v. United States, 435 F. 2d
385, 392-393 (D.C. Cir. 1970); United States v. Kulcsar,
586 F. 2d 1283, 1287 (8th Cir. 1978). In these cir-
cumstances, a warrantless entry was necessary to prevent
the smugglers from escaping under cover of darkness,
and, as the district court aptly noted, the officer in charge
would have been “derelict in his duties” if he had not
acted as he did (S.H. 122).4

4Moreover, the Fifth Circuit had held prior to Payton that
warrantless arrests in the home were permissible. See United States v.
Williams, 573 F. 2d 348 (Sth Cir. 1978). Thus, there is no suggestion
here that the officers acted in bad faith or in knowing disregard of
petitioners’ constitutional rights. Consequently, the purpose of the
exclusionary rule would not be served by applying Payton
retroactively in this case even if that holding were applicable in these
circumstances.

7

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. MCCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

JANIS H. KOCKRITZ
Altorney

AUGUST 1980

DO}J.-1980-08

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2411%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
