# Opposition — Swinehart v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2354%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 827

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
Pia Se

No. 79-1770 JUL 9 1980

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

ROBERT J. SWINEHART, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

WADE H. MCCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

Louis M. FISCHER
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

Un the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-1770

ROBERT J. SWINEHART, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

7 BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the government violated petitioner’s rights
through the consensual recording or subsequent use of
certain conversations that petitioner had, prior to the
return of this indictment, with a business associate
who was also an attorney.

7%

II
TABLE OF CONTENTS

SNE HIND 6 iis ohn sccinbawbeasss Wisc eeuee
RR es ea ree,
NONE «40th pies, dof a dhialt eerie Ss oath 596 b aps
I Se Gc the. Ce ds bok pase cas tesa ns
RIN BPE Re a sae Vhs ca dd eve os des

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
Clark v. United States, 289 U.S. 1 .......
Grand Jury Empanelled February 14,
1978, In re, 603 F.2d 469 ..............
Hoffa v. United States, 385 U.S. 293 .....
Lopez v. United States, 373 U.S. 427 .....
Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45.........
United States v. Aldridge, 484 F.2d 655,
cert. denied, 415 U.S. 921..............
United States v. Landof, 591 F.2d 36 .....
United States v. Levy, 577 F.2d 200 ......
United States v. Morrison, 602 F.2d 529,
cert. granted, No. 79-395 (June 30,

United States v. Stern, 511 F.2d 1364, cert.
denied, 423 U.S. 829...................

Velsicol Chemical Corp. v. Parsons, 561
F.2d 671, cert. denied, 435 U.S. 942 ....

Constitution, statutes and rule:

United States Constitution:
Fourth Amendment .................
Fifth Amendment ...................
Sixth Amendment ............. 2, 3, 4, 5

Pe MO is Sslb a 6 dative awk cisiivascuh

or)

a, &

Ill

Constitution, statutes, and rule, continued:

Oe Fe ee ee
Ge by A Ae | Pee Seen arte

Miscellaneous:
8 Wigmore, Evidence (McNaughton rev.

ES ES Sos i ais aig lath w dtd eae

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-
12a) is reported at 614 F.2d 853.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App.
13a-14a) was entered on January 17, 1980, and a peti-
tion for rehearing was denied (Pet. App. 15a) on
March 7, 1980. On April 4, 1980, Mr. Justice Brennan
extended the time within which to file a petition for a
writ of certiorari to and including May 6, 1980 (Pet.
App. 17a), and the petition was filed on May 5, 1980.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Petitioner and co-defendant Robert Perry were in-
dicted on June 29, 1978, in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania on 21
counts of embezzlement from an employee benefit fund
(18 U.S.C. 664) and bankruptcy fraud (18 U.S.C. 152),
arising out of the bankruptcy of Hourly Messengers, a
Philadelphia delivery service, of which petitioner and
‘Perry were majority shareholders and principal offi-
cers. The bankruptcy petition was filed in 1974. In
1976, while petitioner’s fraudulent activities were on-
going, the government secured the cooperation of at-
torney Arthur Kafrissen, another shareholder in
Hourly Messengers, who agreed to record his conver-
sations with petitioner. The government provided

2

petitioner with the recorded conversations after his
indictment in June 1978.

In October. 1978 a two-week suppression hearing
was held on petitioner’s and Perry’s claims that the
government had improperly derived evidence from
immunized testimony that they had given at a cred-
itors’ meeting. Transcripts of the taped conversations
between petitioner and Kafrissen were marked as
exhibits at the suppression hearing, and petitioner did
not contend at that time that the government had vio-
lated his attorney-client privilege or Sixth Amendment
rights.

The trial court denied the suppression motions. Plea
negotiations followed and, on October 16, 1978, both
defendants entered into substantially identical plea
agreements. Petitioner pleaded guilty to five counts of
the indictment, and the government agreed that an
appropriate sentence would be 18 months’ imprison-
ment, five years’ probation, and restitution (Pet. App.
3a). The plea agreement provided that petitioner
would “fully cooperate” with the government by giving
truthful testimony and “unreserved disclosure,” and
further required that he “take” any polygraph exam-
inations that the government might request (Pet. App.
3a-4a). Moreover, the agreement gave the govern-
ment ‘“‘sole discretion” to determine whether
petitioner’s cooperation had been sufficient (Pet. App.
@ 4a).

When petitioner failed a polygraph examination
prior to sentencing, the government concluded that he
was not cooperating as required by the agreement,

3

and it refused to recommend the sentence that had
been agreed upon (Pet. App. @@ 4a-5a).

Petitioner then moved to withdraw his guilty plea
or, alternatively, for specific enforcement of the
agreement. The district court heard evidence and con-
cluded that the government had not abused its discre-
tion in refusing to recommend the 18-month sentence
(Pet. App. @ 5a-6a).1 The government’s evidence
showed how the polygraph had been interpreted and
why the government concluded that petitioner had
provided inconsistent information. That conclusion was
based upon the polygraph results, upon information
supplied by the Philadelphia District Attorney, and
partly upon two recorded conversations between
petitioner and Kafrissen (Pet. App. 5a n.1).? The dis-
trict court denied petitioner’s motion, sentenced him to
three years’ imprisonment and five years’ probation,
and imposed a requirement of restitution (Pet. App.
6a).

In the decision that is challenged here, the court of
appeals vacated and remanded, holding that a further
hearing was necessary to determine the validity of
petitioner’s contention that the plea agreement re-

1Co-defendant Robert Perry had entered into a plea agree-
ment that was virtually identical, except that his recommended
term of imprisonment was to be only one year and one day (Pet.
App. 3a). The court found that Perry had also breached the
agreement, and he was sentenced to 18 months’ imprisonment
(Pet. App. 6a). :

2The district court admitted the conversations, not for the
truth of the matters asserted therein, but for the limited pur-
pose of demonstrating inconsistencies in the information that
petitioner had provided under the agreement (see Sentencing
Transcript (“S. Tr.”) 218-219).

4

quired him only to “take’—rather than “pass”’—~a
polygraph examination. Petitioner also argued that his
attorney-client privilege or Sixth Amendment rights
had somehow been violated, but the court of appeals
rejected that contention, noting that petitioner had
failed to establish the existence of an attorney-client
relationship with Kafrissen, that petitioner had not.
preserved his objection at the suppression hearing and
that the trial court had not relied on the tapes in im-
posing sentence in any event (Pet. App. 5a n.1). Judge
Sloviter dissented on the ground that the attorney-
client privilege claim should also be remanded for fur-
ther fact-finding (Pet. App. @ 10a-12a).

ARGUMENT

1. We note at the outset that petitioner’s conviction
and sentence have been vacated by the court of ap-
peals and the case has been remanded for further
findings on the issue of petitioner’s compliance with
the plea agreement. It is possible that petitioner will
succeed in showing that the agreement required him
only to submit to—rather than pass—a polygraph
examination, in which case petitioner may be entitled
either to plead anew or to obtain specific performance
of the agreement. In any event, petitioner’s present
claim is interlocutory and need not be reviewed at this
stage of the proceedings.

2. On the merits, petitioner’s contentions are un-.
founded. The recording of petitioner’s conversations
with Kafrissen, which occurred with the latter’s con-
sent, did not violate petitioner’s rights under the
Fourth, Fifth or Sixth Amendments. Petitioner volun-

5

tarily chose to engage in conversations with Kafrissen,
whose consent precluded any claim that petitioner’s
Fourth or Fifth Amendment rights were violated. See
Hoffa v. United States, 385 U.S. 293 (1966); Lopez v.
United States, 373 U.S. 427 (1963). Petitioner’s Sixth
Amendment claim would also lack merit, even if he
had been consulting Kafrissen as an attorney, because
the recordings were made almost two years before the
return of this indictment, well before any “critical
stage” of this prosecution (S. Tr. 215-216; Court of
Appeals Supplemental Appendix (“App.”) 114-A). See
Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45 (1932).

3. Petitioner apparently contends that the govern-
ment’s limited use of the recordings to demonstrate its
basis for abandoning the plea agreement violated
either his attorney-client privilege or some other un-
specified rights related thereto. That argument lacks
merit for several reasons. First, there was no violation
of any valid attorney-client privilege. The district
court apparently held that the privilege was waived
under the fraud exception (S. Tr. 218-219), while the
court of appeals held that petitioner had not carried his
burden of proving that Kafrissen was his lawyer (Pet.
App. 5a n.1). Since there was no valid attorney-client

3Petitioner contends generally (Pet. 9) that the government’s
misconduct tainted the prosecution from the outset and “cannot
result in a constitutionally valid conviction.” While it is difficult
to respond to petitioner’s generslizations, petitioner apparently
conceives of Kafrissen’s cocperation as government misconduct
that:‘somehow violated the Sixth Amendment by violating
petitioner’s attorney-client privilege. Both courts below have
held that no valid attorney-client privilege was involved here.
The’ district court apparently held that the attorney-client
privilege had been waived because of petitioner’s on-going fraud

6

privilege in either event, neither the creation nor any
subsequent use of the tapes was improper. Second,
petitioner’s objection to the tapes was untimely.
Petitioner was provided with the tapes before he en-
tered his guilty plea, and he was thus well aware of

(S. Tr. 218-219), while the court of appeals found that petitioner
had not even established that Kafrissen was his attorney (Pet.
App. 5a n.1).

The court of appeals properly held that petitioner had not car-
ried the burden of proving an attorney-client relationship. See
In re Grand Jury Empanelled February 14, 1978, 603 F.2d 469,
474 (3d Cir. 1979); United States v. Landof, 591 F.2d 36, 38 (9th
Cir. 1978); United States v. Stern, 511 F.2d 1364, 1367 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 829 (1975). At sentencing,
petitioner’s counsel baldly asserted that Kafrissen was
petitioner’s attorney at the time of the consensual overhearings
(S. Tr. 217, 335). Petitioner makes the same generalized asser-
tion here (see Pet. 3), but the record flatly contradicts it. Kaf-
rissen testified that he was himself represented by counsel dur-
ing the relevant period, and the only reference to petitioner was
as a “former” client (Suppression Hearing Transcript (7th day)
(“H. Tr.”) 7-39 to 7-42, 7-44 to 7-45 ). Petitioner did not chal-
lenge that characterization. The only evidence that even tends
to support petitioner’s contention consists of a few isolated ref-
erences to legal matters that petitioner has distilled from the
voluminous transcript of the overhearings (see Pet. App. 22a-
24a). Those references are not persuasive. Given a continuing
business relationship, particularly a relationship in which one of
the principals is a lawyer and the business is engaged in illegal-
ity, it is inevitable that business discussions will occasionally in-
volve matters that have legal significance. Such isolated refer-
ences are insufficient, however, to establish the existence of an
attorney-client relationship. See 8 Wigmore, Evidence § 2292
(McNaughton rev. ed. 1961). Moreover, the record clearly es-
tablishes an on-going fraud that would defeat the attorney-client
privilege in any event. Clark v. United States, 289 U.S. 1
(1933); United States v. Aldridge, 484 F.2d 655 (7th Cir. 1973),
cert. denied, 415 U.S. 921 (1974). There is thus no basis for as-
serting that the government acted improperly in obtaining Kaf-
rissen’s cooperation in its investigation of petitioner.

7

whatever claim he might have had. He had a two-week
suppression hearing on his claim that the government’s
evidence was derived from immunized testimony. If
petitioner believed that the tapes had been created in
violation of his rights under the Sixth Amendment or
the attorney-client privilege, or that their use would
violate those rights, he should have moved to suppress
or for other appropriate relief at that time. See Fed.
R. Crim. P. 12. Instead, he chose to enter a plea with
full knowledge of the underlying facts.

4. Petitioner also complains that his rights were de-
nied by the court’s use of the tapes at sentencing. That
contention has no merit because the record contains no
evidence to suggest that the district court considered
the recordings in determining the sentence to be im-
posed. The district judge specifically stated that he
was “starting from scratch” in determining an appro-
priate sentence, without any reliance on the plea
agreement, and that he was well familiar with the na-
ture of petitioner’s criminal conduct and the harm that

*Petitioner attempts to explain his inaction by stating that
the government had “advised defense trial counsel that it would
not use the transcripts” (Pet. 3). The affidavit of petitioner’s
trial counsel, however, states only that he was advised “that the
government did not intend to use the transcripts of taped con-
versations between [petitioner] and Arthur Kafrissen as part of
their evidence-in-chief” (Pet. App. 25a; emphasis added). If
there had been any merit to petitioner’s contention that the rec-
ordings violated a genuine attorney-client relationship, it is in-
conceivable that he would have failed to pursue his claim simply
because of that representation. Moreover, if the conversations
had been privileged, petitioner’s failure to protect the privilege
would have resulted in a waiver long ago. See Velsicol Chemi-
cal Corp. v. Parsons, 561 F.2d 671 (7th Cir. 1977), cert. denied,
435 U.S. 942 (1978).

8

had been done (App. 96-A to 97-A, 103-A). The court
made no reference to the recorded conversations,
which it had previously admitted only for the limited
purpose of determining whether the plea bargain had
been breached (S. Tr. 218-219).

5. Petitioner erroneously asserts that the decision
below is inconsistent with the Third Circuit’s prior de-
cisions in United States v. Morrison, 602 F.2d 529 (3d
Cir. 1979), cert. granted, No. 79-395 (June 30, 1980),
and United States v. Levy, 577 F.2d 200 (8d Cir.
1978). Petitioner’s assertion is ill-founded in that those
cases both involved situations in which the existence of
a valid attorney-client relationship was not at issue.
Because petitioner is unable to prove the existence of
any attorney-client privilege that could survive his
on-going fraud, the holdings of those cases are inappo-
site, and this Court’s decision in Morrison could not
affect the outcome here.5

5We reiterate in this connection that this case is presently at
an interlocutory stage. Accordingly, even in the unlikely event
that this Court’s decision in Morrison could have some rele-
vance to petitioner’s situation, there is no reason to delay fur-
ther proceedings in the district court pending disposition of
Morrison.

9
CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. MCCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

LouIsS M. FISCHER
Attorney

JULY 1980

w U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1980 323768 25

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2354%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
