# Opposition — Kilroy v. Costle

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2336%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 825

## Text

le

aon
; Bipreme Court, U. & - ¥
' EPLap ©

f i
5

No. 79-1746 4 JUM 38 Iga

CREME, cc |
In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

JOHN B. KILROY, SR... PETITIONER
v.

DOUGLAS M. COSTLE, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENTS
IN OPPOSITION

WADE H. McCrer, JR.
Solicitor General

JAMES W. MoorMAN
Assistant Attorney General

JACQUES B. GELIN

EDWARD J. SHAWAKER
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

INDEX

IE NI nnn sce nccsscsccnsccecesevecncessasncernseceees
EES Rr en Oe AL a ee
I IN 6c innsssscccndabesbancneononnnshnitanvaivenansee
ND IIo aetecsescreccnscsnnvansecsnsensecssnssisssorerccses
Statement ............ Lichuepanieeiabosecinanatehelanpdensutisishnaananstens
sil hic wnic cicabicecicasapisinsebaovenabibmecvessoon

I

CITATIONS
Cases:

Costle v. Pacific Legal Foundation,
No. 78-1472 (Mar. 18, 1980), reversing

IE ME IN: ian esceientiasneninnnnshidlenmencnviensbine

State Water Control Board v. Train.

PT Wie BEN WHED . heceincsenencveves Dcievnidoasniccaidiniiliine

Statutes and regulation:
Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. (and Supp. II)

8 2 SN eee

Section 301, 33 U.S.C. (and Supp. II)

SE nucptiinbunhedcenbinbinseeredlambsetrsesesiiniegnenons

Section 301(b)(1)(B), 33 U.S.C.

I (iiss caccivesssuceveserabenninesreseenses

~ Section 301(h), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. ID.

ROTI keicinvcnonsnsinsepites ledionidsasiassaanssmelistende

Section 301(i), 33 U.S.C. (Supp. II).

III Ladbiasahsspiinulsdauadaesnicenbubiineiannbbines

sae 2

ae

il

Page
Statutes and regulation—(Continued):
Section 402, 33 U.S.C. (and Supp. II)
A eta ciel els cet nn cha tiadinas doceeuninn 2
Section S51 1(c), 33 U.S.C. 1371(c) ........ a
Section 511(c)(1), 33 U.S.C
a a i engislionanicioninde :
National Environmental Policy Act of 1969, |
A 5k acsdathesiesonscunensediawseos Zz
Pe I I dea sh cerca clei dsdnassss ESTEE He 7
ef eS: EY a SET See 6
Miscellaneous:

Senate Comm. on Public Works, 93d Cong..
Ist Sess., A Legislative History of the
Water Pollution Control Act Amendments
ee ee ee, 5) Ee nrennee 6

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-1746
JOHN B. KILROY, SR., PETITIONER
Ve

DouGLAS M. COSTLE, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENTS
. IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. Al-A4)
is reported at 614 F. 2d 225. The opinion of the district —
court (Pet. App. BI-B24) is reported at 440 F. Supp. 316.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
February 25, 1980. The petition for certiorari was filed on
May 3, 1980. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the district court properly denied a
preliminary injunction to prevent EPA from enforcing a
compliance schedule without preparation of an cen-
vironmental impact statement.

STATUTES INVOLVED
Pertinent portions of 33 U.S.C. 137I(e)1) and 42

U.S.C. 4332(2)(C) are set out at pages 3 and 4 of the
petition.

STATEMENT

This is yet another effort by petitioner to defeat a
project once proposed by the City of Los Angeles to
curtail sewage-sludge discharges into the Pacific Ocean. In
Costle v. Pacific Legal Foundation, No. 78-1472 (Mar. 18,
1980), petitioner and others—ultimately without success
sought to defeat the project by invalidating an NPDES
permit on the ground that it was issued in violation of the
public-participation requirements of the Clean Water Act,
33 U.S.C. (and Supp. Il) 1251 ef seg. In the present case,
petitioner (represented by Pacific Legal Foundation) seeks
to invalidate the permit on NEPA grounds.

The background is the same as in Cost/e. The City of
Los Angeles owns and operates the Hyperion Wastewater
Treatment Plant located in Playa Del Ray. California.
Since 1960, that plant has processed most:of the City’s
sewage, and discharged the wastes through three “out-
falls” into the Pacific Ocean. Under Section 402 of the
Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. (and Supp. II) 1342. EPA
and the State of California Regional Water Quality
Control Board have issued a series of permits allowing the
City to discharge wastes from this plant into the Pacific
Ocean. One such permit, issued on August 1, 1975,

3

conditioned continuing discharges from the Hyperion
Plant on compliance by the City with a schedule designed
to achieve full secondary treatment! of wastewater by
October I, 1979, and the gradual elimination of the
discharge of sludge into the ocean over a 30-menth period
following “concept approval” of a plan for alternative
disposal of the sludge. On January 24, 1977, the
expiration date of the permit was extended to June 30,
1977, and on June 2, 1977, the expiration date was
extended to December 17, 1979. See Costle v. Pacific
Legal Foundation, supra, slip op. 6-12."

The permit, as extended, required the City to phase out
sludge discharges into the ocean. The permit also set
interim compliance dates for completion of the plans and
specifications and commencement of construction of
interim sludge-handling facilities (see Pet. 5-6 n.1). The
permit, however, left to the City the nature and details of
the interim project.

On February 4, 1977, petitioner, the Pacific Legal
Foundation, and others sued EPA, the State Water
Resources Control Board, and other state and federal

‘Primary treatment” of sewage includes relatively simple
processes, such as settling solids out of the sewage. screening out
floatable objects, and removing oil and grease. “Secondary treat-
ment” removes a higher percentage of solids by methods such as
anaerobic digestion. Pursuant to Section 301(b)(1)(B) of the Clean
Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1311(b)(1)(B), publicly owned treatment plants
were generally required to achieve effluent limitations “based on
secondary treatment” by July |, 1977. See Cosile vy. Pacific Legal
Foundation, supra, slip op. 2-3.

?In that case, the Ninth Circuit found procedural errors in the June
2, 1977, extension of the permit. As a result. the court stayed the
compliance schedules incorporated in the permit. though leaving in
effect those requirements which were in effect on January 1, 1977. See
586 F. 2d 650. This Court reversed in Costle v. Pacific Legal
Foundation, supra.

4

defendants to enjoin the interim sludge project on the
ground that EPA should have prepared an environmental
impact statement before requiring the construction of an
interim sludge project. On March 29, 1977, the plaintiffs
filed a motion for a preliminary injunction to enjoin EPA
“from funding, requiring, directing implementation of, or
otherwise participating in the Interim Hyperion Sludge
Management Project” without first preparing an en-
vironmental impact statement. They also sought the same
relief against “all persons to whom knowledge of this
injunction shall come * * *.” On April 18, 1977, the EPA
voluntarily agreed to prepare an EIS before funding the
interim project (Pet. App. Cl-C5), but EPA refused to
eliminate the requirement in the permit that Los Angeles
construct interim sludge-handling facilities in accordance
with the specified schedule. As for all aspects other than
funding, the district court denied an injunction (Pet. App.
B1I-B24). The court found that Section 51 1(c) of the Clean
Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1371(c), expressly exempts NPDES
permits from the requirement of an EIS and, therefore,
EPA may properly require the City to carry out an
interim sludge-disposal project without first preparing an
EIS (Pet. App. B6-B7).2 The court of appeals affirmed
(Pet. App. Al-A4).

The plaintiffs had also sought a preliminary injunction against
EPA’s policy to eliminate the disposal of sludge in the ocean. The
court found that Section 301 of the Act, 33 U.S.C. (and Supp. I)
_I311, applies to sewage treatment plants discharging into the
contiguous zone, and that all such plants are subject to at least
secondary treatment under the Act. The court denied an injunction
(Pet. App. B8-B24).

On October 14, 1977, the petitioners filed .a motion requesting the
district court to reconsider its denial of the preliminary injunction.
After briefing, the district court affirmed its previous decision.

5

ARGUMENT

The decision of the court of appeals is correct and is
not in conflict with any decision of another court of
appeals or of this Court. In addition, a pending settlement
of the government’s enforcement action against the City
of Los Angeles has eclipsed whatever significance this case
might otherwise have had.

1. Section SI1(c)(1) of the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C.
1371(c)(1), states that, with the exception of grants for the
construction of public treatment works and the issuance.
of NPDES permits for new sources, “no action of the
Administrator taken [under the Act] shall be deemed a
major Federal action significantly affecting the quality of
the human environment within the meaning of the
National Environmental Policy Act of 1969.” Plainly, the
conditions in the NPDES permit requiring the City of Los
Angeles to phase out the discharge of sewage sludge into
the Pacific Ocean were neither a grant for a treatment
works nor a permit for the discharge from a new source.
Accordingly, no EIS was required for those conditions.

The NPDES permit also required the City to adhere to
a schedule for the construction of interim sludge handling |
facilities (Pet. 5-6 n.1). That schedule merely required that
some facilities be constructed in accordance with the
schedule as a means of assuring prompt compliance with
the prescribed schedule. Once again, under the language
of Section SII(c), the construction schedule for the
carrying out the interim project does not require the
preparation of an EIS because it is neither a grant nor a
new-source permit.

One purpose of the broad exemption in Section 511(c)
was to assure that the deadlines set out in the Clean
Water Act would not be delayed by the time required to

6

prepare and consider environmental impact statements.
The Conference Committee Report on the Federal Water
Pollution Control Act Amendment of 1972 stated:*

The sole purpose of the Act is the enhancement of
environmental quality. In the administration of the
Act, EPA will be required to establish numerous
guidelines, standards and limitations. With respect to
each of these actions, the Act provides Congressional
guidance to the Administrator in as much detail as
could be contrived. Virtually every action required of
the Administrator by the Act, however. involves
some degree of agency discretion, judgments in-
volving a complex balancing of factors that include
technological considerations, economic con-
siderations, and others. The Act seeks to guide the
Administrator, to the extent possible. in the matter of
assigning relative weight to the many factors that he
must consider.

If the actions of the Administrator under this Act
were subject to the requirements of NEPA, ad-
ministration of the Act would be greatly impeded.

With regard to publicly owned treatment works,
Section 301(b)(1)(B) set July 1, 1977, as the deadline for
the achievement of secondary-treatment standards. The
discharge of sludge by the City of Los Angles violates the
secondary-treatment requirement and should have ended
by July 1, 1977. See 40 C.F.R. 133.102.° Preparation of

4Senate Comm. on Public Works, 93d Cong.. Ist Sess.. A
Legislative History of the Water Pollution Control Act Amendments
of 1972, at 332 (Comm. Print 1973).

sSludge violates the component Tienitasions of the secondary-
treatment regulations.

7

an EIS prior to the phasing out of that discharge would
have had the effect of delaying the congressionally
mandated deadline and was therefore not required.®

To be sure, in Section 511(c) Congress prescribed an
EIS prior to federal funding of any publicly owned
treatment works. But EPA was authorized to require the
City to obey the compliance schedule without regard to
whether EPA would fund the interim sludge project or
any other project. EPA’s decision to do so in this case was
not a funding decision. It was simply an imposition of
permit conditions. Section 51 1(c) could not be clearer that
no EIS was required. See State Water Control Board vy.
Train, 559 F. 2d 921, 924 (4th Cir. 1977).

Petitioner contends (Pet. 8-10) that between the
decision below and this Court's decision in Cosz/e, he has
been deprived of any opportunity to be heard concerning
the environmental consequences of gradually reducing
sludge discharges into the ocean and disposing them in
landfills. This is not'so. Although the 1975 permit did not
identify the precise way in which the City would choose to
discontinue its sludge discharges, EPA invited public

*In the 1977 Amendments to the Clean Water Act. Congress made
a time extension possible under limited circumstances. The 1977
statute added Section 301(i), 91 Stat. 1584-1586, 33: ULS-C. (Supp. 1)
1311(1), which allows an extension of the deadline if construction of a
project was impossible by July 1. 1977. or if federal funds were not
available for a timely construction. [he 1977 Amendments also added
a new Section 301(h), 91 Stat. 1584. 33 ULS.C. (Supp. Th) Lath).
That section allows the Administration to issue an NPDES permit
modifying secondary-treatment standards for marine discharges if
certain strict conditions are met.

8

comment in 1975 on its proposal to require the City to
adopt some means to phase out sludge discharges.
Petitioner did not, however, object at that time.’

7As this Court observed in Cost/e (slip op. 18-19):

It is undisputed that the most controversial aspects of the
Hyperion permit—the compliance schedule for secondary
treatment, the “sludge-out” requirement, and the resultant
requirement that the city develop an alternative method of sludge
disposal—were all included within the 1975 permit. That permit
was issued following EPA publication of advance notice of its
tentative determination to revise the initial 1974 permit, and a
hearing on the proposed revisions. None of the respondents
objected to the issuance of the 1975 permit or requested an
adjudicatory hearing. We agree with the position advanced by
petitioner that respondents may not reopen consideration of
substantive conditions contained within the 1975 permit through
hearing requests relating to a proposed permit modification that
did not even purport to affect those conditions.

The EPA’s determination to modity the 1975 permit by
extending its expiration date to December 17. 1979. was made
followmg newspaper publication of the proposed action,
including notice: of an opportunity for submission of comments
and hearing requests. Respondent Los Angeles received an
individual notice of the EPA's tentative determination to extend
the permit, and raised no objection. Respondents PIF and
Kilroy, who argue that the EPA was aware of their interesi in the
Hyperion permit and their opposition to the Interim Sludge
Disposal Project, could have received such individual notice if
they had asked to be placed on the EPA’s mailing list tor notices
of proposed agency actions within the pertinent geographical
area. 40 C.F.R. §125.32(a)(3). They made no such request. Under
the circumstances, we think it reasonable that the Regional
Administrator decided to extend the expiration date of the
permit without another public hearing. on the grounds that the
public had not exhibited a significant degree of interest in the
action under consideration, and that information pertinent to
such a decision would not have been adduced if a hearing had
been held. This simply is not a case in which doubt existed
concerning the need for a hearing.

9

2. Subsequent events have all but mooted this case.
Under the 1975 time schedule the interim project should
have been completed by !978. Because of the stay of that
schedule by the Ninth Circuit in Costle, however, the
interim project was never built. Furthermore, since the
Costle decision, the United States and the City of Los
Angeles have entered into a settlement of the
government’s enforcement suit in United States v. Los
Angeles, No. CV 77-3047-HP (C.D. Cal.). Subject to
approval by the district court, the government agreed that
it will not enforce the sludge-out requirement until July 1,
1985. It is anticipated that this new deadline for
enforcement will permit a completely different method for
the disposal of the City’s sewage (see Br. in Opp. of State
of California at 3).*

*The consent decree itself (in paragraphs VI. VII, and VIII)
evidences the City’s abandonment of the interim-sludge project in
favor of the Hyperson Energy Recovery System. As PLF and Kilroy
stated in their petition for rehearing in Coste (at 4), “[t}his
project does not involve the trucking and dumping operations to
which Kilroy objects.”

10

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCree, JR.
Solicitor General

JAMES W. MoorMAN
Assistant Attorney General

JACQUES B. GELIN
EDWARD J. SHAWAKER
Attorneys

JUNE 1980

DOJ-1980-06

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2336%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
