# Petitioners Reply Brief — Parratt v. Taylor

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2325%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 451 U.S. 527

## Text

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1980

ROBERT PARRATT and
FRANCIS LUGENBILL,

Petitioners,
Vv.
BERT TAYLOR, JR.,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

PETITIONERS' BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO MOTION TO DISMISS

PAUL L. DOUGLAS
Attorney General

J. KIRK BROWN

Assistant Attorney General

State of Nebraska
2115 State Capitol Building
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509
Tel. (402) 471-2682

Attorneys for Petitioners

RECEIVED

DEC 27 1980

Urrivc UF THE CLERK
SUPREME COURT, U.S.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Introduction------------------------------------ 1
Argument:
I. This case is not moot------------------ 1
II. A. Issues capable of repetition------- 1
B. Issues evading review-------------- 2
III. Constructive class action-~------------- 4
IV. Need to resolve significant questions-- S

V. Public policy considerations----------- 6

Conclusion-~------------------------------------- 7
TABLE OF CASES

Baker v. McCollan, 443 U.S. 137 (1979) ---------- 3

Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972) Sees ee eee 4

Gilligan v. Morgan, 413 U.S. 1 (1973)----------- 5

Nebraska Press Association v. Stuart,

427 U.S. 539 (1976) ------------------------ 2
Procunier v. Navarette, 434 U.S. 555 (1978)----- 3
Richardson v. Ramirez, 418 U.S. 24 (1974)------- 5
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) --------------- 4
Sniadach v. Family Finance Corp, 395 U.S.

337 (1969) --------------------------------- 6
Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 393 (1974) -------------- 4
Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. Interstate

Commerce Commission, 219 U.S. 498 (1911)--- 3
United States v. W. T. Grant Co., 345 U.S.

629 (1953) --------------------------------- 5
Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147 (1975)------ 2

TABLE OF STATUTES
42 U.S.C. §1983--------------------------------- a, 4, 3
TABLE OF OTHER CITATIONS
Annot. 44 L.Ed.2d 719 (1976) -------------------- 6
Note: Mootness in the Supreme Court, 88
Harv.L.Rev. 373 (1974) -----~-------------- 6

Brief of the State of New Jersey as Amicus
Curiae, Parratt and Lugenbill v. Taylor,
United Supreme Court, No. 79-1734---------- 3

INTRODUCTION

On October 20, 1980, this Court found this case worthy
of consideration and granted a Writ of Certiorari. The
petitioners' brief on the merits and six amicus briefs
representing the interests of 30 states and one private
organization were filed with this Court on or before December
4, 1980. Within a week of these filings the respondent filed
his motion to dismiss this case as moot.

The respondent alleges, and the petitioners have no
present means of verifying, that he has been paid a sum of
money equal to the amount of the judgment questioned in this
case. The money was allegedly paid by a person "not a party
to the action."! Petitioners can assure this Court the money
in question did not come from them, anyone acting with their
permission or on their behalf.

The petitioners continue in their desire to have the
issues raised by their petition for certiorari resolved by
this Court, and strongly urge that the respondent's motion
to dismiss be denied.

ARGUMENT
I.
THIS CASE IS NOT MOOT.
A.

The facts presented by the respondent do not effect the
relationship of the parties or the judgment now before this
Court. At best the respondent's allegations pray this Court

to provide them an opportunity to alter the stacus of this

case in the future.

lthe petitioners have been able to verify that the offer
to pay the sum in question was extended tc respondent's counsel
by attorney Robert M. Mark, an associate with the law firm of
Sonnenschein, Carlin, Nath and Rosenthal, Chicago, Illinois.
Mr. Mark and other representatives of that firm have refused
to discuss the details of the offer with petitioners’ counsel
but have provided conflicting information regarding whether
the sum in question comes from Mr. Mark, the firm or an unnamed
client of the firm.

The judgment challenged remains a potential source of
liability for the petitioners, and we question the respondent's
ability or authority to dismiss this matter once it has gone
on sudan: In essence, the respondent alleges that he is
now prepared to release the judgment against the petitioners.
This would amount to a satisfaction of the judgment in question
and would not effect its precedential value.

It is the law of this case, and not $23.50, which prompted
the Petition for Writ of Certiorari in this case. The fact that
the respondent has now found an unnamed benefactor to whom it
is worth at least $23.50 to see that the issues presented here
are not considered by this Court, should not obscure the fact
that nothing has materially changed in this case. The relation-
ship between the respondent and the petitioners is no different
today than it was when the Writ of Certiorari was granted. The
respondent is simply $23.50 richer.

The question of whether the respondent has any right under
42 U.S.C. §1983 to the judgment presently before this Court
remains significant and worthy of consideration and resolution
by this Court.

B.

We note the respondent cites no authority in support of
his argument that the facts he alleges moot this case. We
believe this lack of cited authority clearly reflects the lack
of that proposition's merit.

This situation does not fall within the normal concepts
of mootness which underlie this Court's Rule 53. No accord
or resolution has been reached between the parties to this
case, nor do the petitioners unilaterally desire this case
dismissed. No party to this action is now deceased.

This case does not represent a situation mooted by the

passage of time. E.g., Nebraska Press Assoc. v. Stuart, 427

U.S. 539 (1976); Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147 (1975).

It does represent a unique attempt by parties not before this

Court to remove a case from the docket.

It.

In Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. Interstate Commerce

Commission, 219 U.S. 498 (1911), this Court first announced

the proposition that questions "capable of repetition, yet
evading review" should not be denied an opportunity for redress.
Assuming for the moment that the respondent's allegations do
present a question of mootness, we believe this case clearly
raises the same public policy considerations which led to the

result reached in the case above.

A.
ISSUES CAPABLE OF REPETITION

The issues in this case are Clearly capable of repetition.
Petitioner Parratt continues in his position as Warden of the
Nebraska State Penitentiary and inmate claims for property
lost or destroyed in that institution continue to arise. Not
only is petitioner Parratt's exposure to liability under the
reasoning of the judgment in this case capable of repetition
locally, but nationally these questions continue to arise with
regularity. Including this case, Writs of Certiorari have been
granted on the negligence issue raised by this case three times

in the last three years. Procunier v. Navarette, 434 U.S. 555

(1978); Baker v. McCollan, 443 U.S. 137 (1979). The issues

presented by this case are Clearly capable of repetition.

B.
ISSUES EVADING REVIEW

The issues presented by this case are also likely to evade
review. One of the issues presented by this case is that the
amount in controversy may be de minimus under the Fourteenth
Amendment. The emounts at issue in prisoner property loss
claims are generally small. See, Brief of the State of New
Jersey as Amicus Curiae, p. 5.

Yet if we assume this case is moot, as argued by the
respondent, it is moot solely due to the desire of a person
or persons unknown to render it so. Although the motivations

of these persons may be unarticulated, their goals are obvious.

They do not want this case considered ahd resolved by this
Court. If they are successful in their attempt to buy this
case off of this Court's docket, there will be nothing to
prevent similar actions in the future. Their expenses were
negligible. The same pressing issues could repeatedly be
removed from this Court's consideration and the matter will

thus effectively evade review.

Itt.
CONSTRUCTIVE CLASS ACTION

The petitioners are officials and employees of the State
of Nebraska's prison system. As such they are constantly
exposed to the possibility of being named as a defendant in
actions brought pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1983. Yet as defendants
the petitioners have no means of resolving their respective
rights under 42 U.S.C. §1983, regardless of the similarity
of their situation to governmental defendants elsewhere,
except as individuals.

This Court now has before it the amicus curiae briefs of
30 states and one private entity, all representing interests
similar to those typified by the individual petitioners present
here. In effect, this Court now has before it a constructive
class of persons similarly situated who may practically join
together only in this forum to urge the vindication of their
mutually held rights and interests.

The proposition that this Court will continue to hold and
review classes raising issues Significant to a class regardless
of the changing status of individual members of that class is

well recognized. Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 393 (1974); Roe v.

Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973); Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330 (1972).

The same public policy considerations which led to the
decisions in the cases noted above strongly mitigate in favor
of the retention of this case upon the docket of this Court.
Nowhere but in this forum may issues of the Significance of

those presented by this case be effectively resolved. The

split of authority among the circuit courts noted in our Petition
for Writ of Certiorari as well as the interest expressed by the
amicus curiae before this Court cry out for a resolution of

these questions. All involved deserve an interpretation of

the rights and remedies afforded by 42 U.S.C. §1983 which may

be applied uniformly throughout this country.

Iv.
NEED TO RESOLVE SIGNIFICANT QUESTIONS
This Court has also recognized the need (if not the
necessity) of resolving pressing issues regardless of arguments
that a case may be moot. Whether a case is to be removed from
the docket of this Court as moot rests within the discretion

of this Court. In Gilligan v. Morgan, 413 U.S. 1 (1973), the

record clearly established that none of the party plaintiffs
or defendants had a current interest in the issues raised by
the case.
Some basis, therefore, exists for a conclusion
that the case is now moot; however, on the record
before us we are not prepared to resolve the case
on that basis and therefore turn to the important
question whether the claims alleged in the complaint.
are justiciable.
Id. 413 U.S. at 5. Before this Court the practical necessities
of resolving important questions should be given precedence

over technical concepts of mootness. Richardson Vv. Ramirez,

418 U.S. 24 (1974). A heavy burden is placed upon a party
seeking to moot a case before this Court to show that the
issues raised are not likely to recur or the case will be
retained to vindicate the “public interest in having the

legality of the practice settled." United States v. W. T.

Grant Co., 345 U.S. 629, 633 (1953).

42 U.S.C. §1983 is uniformly applicable to all who have
come forward seeking a resolution of these issues. This case
is confined to a sufficiently specific factual situation that
a decision here on the merits would effectively eliminate the
necessity for future repetitious litigation. 42 U.S.C. §1983

represents established legislation which is not currently subject

to experimentation, change or development by either the legisla-
tive or executive branches of government. All of these factors
lend weight to the conclusion that this case should be retained.

Note: Mootness in the Supreme Court, 88 Harv.L.Rev. 373 (1974);

Annot. 44 L.Ed.2d 719 (1976).

Vv.
PUBLIC POLICY CONSIDERATIONS
Finally, we believe the means employed by the respondent
and his clandestine supporters raise significant issues of
public policy in the administration of this Court's docket.

Those persons?

spearheading this attempt to remove this case
from the docket have expressed the opinion to petitioners’
counsel that this is not the kind of case this Court should
be deciding. They therefore have altruistically, albeit
anonymously, moved to assist in relieving this Court of that
burden.

This type of thinking completely ignores the fact that
this Court has already reviewed this case on the Petition for
Certiorari and deemed it worthy of the time and effort necessary
to review it on the merits. The respondent's allies apparently
view the decision of this Court to grant certiorari as erroneous
and have expressed to petitioners’ counsel their further belief
that daliverine a check for $23.50 plus interest to respondent's
counsel was the most fiscally expenditious means available to
correct that error. The presumptuousness of their thinking is
impressive, and if appropriate could have denied us such legally

significant rulings as that in Sniadach v. Family Finance Corp.,

395 U.S. 337 (1969), which involved a Similarly "insignificant"
sum.

This Court, the petitioners and the public should have a
right to know who is attempting to influence the workings of
this Court. If there are persons who believe that our Petition
for Certiorari was improvidently granted or that the petitioners

should not prevail on the merits they certainly are afforded

2See, footnote 1.

.

the opportunity to express those beliefs as amicus curiae
before this Court. In that posture both the strength of
their logic and the virtue of their motivations may be
evaluated and debated openly. To date, both the petitioners
and this Court have been denied the opportunity to make such
an evaluation.

Public confidence and professional respect for this
Court hinge to a great extent upon the fact that an opportunity
is afforded in this forum for a full airing of divergent view-
points as they might affect decisions which will always have
significance beyond the parties directly involved. To allow
the respondent to succeed on his motion to dismiss we believe
would depreciate these essential values.

The question is whether this Court or unnamed third
parties are to control the docket of this Court. The answer
we hope will lead to the conclusion the respondent's motion
should be denied.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons above we urge this Court to deny the
respondent's motion to dismiss and allow this case to proceed
to a resolution on its merits.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT PARRATT and FRANCIS
LUGENGILL, Petitioners,

By PAUL L. DOUGLAS
Attorney General

A stant Attorney General
2U45 State Capitol
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509
Tel. (402) 471-2682

Members of the Bar of the
United States Supreme Court

Attorneys for Petitioners

©

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

ROBERT PARRATT and
FRANCIS LUGENBILL,

October Term, 1980

No. 79-1734
Petitioners,

CERTIFICATE OF
PERSONAL SERVICE

)
)
)
)
)
Vv. )
)
BERT TAYLOR, JR., )
)
Respondent. )
I hereby certify that three copies of the Petitioners’
Brief on the Merits have been served upon the respondent by
mailing said copies, first class postage prepaid, addressed
to the respondent's attorney, Mr. Kevin Colleran, 1900 First
f
National Bank Building, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509, on this 244
day of December, 1980.

PAUL L. DOUGLAS
Attorney General

Agsiistant Attorney General
21¥5 State Capitol
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509
Tel. (402) 471-2682

Members of the Bar of the
United States Supreme Court

Attorneys for the Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2325%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
