# Petition — S & E Shipping Corp. v. United States (Nos. 79-1716, 79-1708, 79-1718)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2308%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980

## Text

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

S & E SHIPPING CORP., Petitioner,
We

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION, Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

ROBERT J. ABLES

1919 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20006
Telephone: 202/223-4000

Counsel for Petitioner

April 30, 1980

INDEX

Page
er SR a aad ce oe abe 6 ep eens Ce hee eb eh eneeteae 1
ak RE GRINS 6. 6 AO Sah 0 Oe bh eeld 64 sh ok Wb wee ove wee eee 2
CN PE RRUEME cic ci ee cere esieeseccevensececsos 2
Ce a ee PETC EETELS. TCT ETT Tree 2
SESCUCOLY PEGVISLONS ANVOLVER, 2 ccccccccsscccccaces 7
Reenpons for granting Che WEIE. .vcccccsccccccccsces 8

1. The decision below conflicts

with decisions of other courts

of appeal and the Supreme Court

as to the proper interpretation

and application of 49 U.S.C. §

3(4) and the National Transpor-

COCA POLLS s va boc Kec cerecwedesccccccescees 8
2. Statutory and public interest

considerations require the

Commission to protect water

carriers of exempt bulk com-

modities, the same as other

carriers. The Commission and

2Ower COUFC GiG NOt GO CHAS... ccvcceceseces « 22

COMIS LUD LON 0 ob 4 oc oc 6CC hee S Hees S Ke HER Es ecseeesedeses 24

CITATIONS
Cases:

American Express Co. v. South Dakota,

244 U.S. 617, 624 (1916)..... SP Sere ee ee ee es» 2G
District of Columbia v. Grimes,

Ss CRs: ROORTE CEPORD bc ececccawescoceces ll
Doraiswamy v. Secretary of Labor,

Saw Cue Bae, BOF EM. F LASTS) ccvccccvccvsceues ll
I.C.C. v. B & O Railroad,

BOS. Use Sees Sees OTe CABS) 6c cesta visccs coven &6
I.C.C. v. Mechling,

Bae Wek, SAT G Me BER LESS t ade cece pecde pence 17
Lake Carriers' Association v. U.S.,

399 F.Supp. 386 (N.D.OhiO 1975)... .cccccccccvee 18

Lenkin, et al v. District of Columbia,
461 F2d. 1215, 1230 fn. 113
(DABSEISCe CGE COLMMDAE CAICSULE) wo ciccccccocecesic 1l

7c

ii

Polisnik v. U.S.,

259 F2d. 951, 952 Em. 3 (1958) .. ccc cccccccscecs
Seatrain Lines, Inc. v. U.S.,

233 F.Supp. 199, 209 (D.N.J. 1964)... cece
Western Pacific Railroad Co. v. U.S.,

382 U.S. 237 (1965)
Western Pacific Railroad Co. v. U.S.,

263 F.Supp. 140, 145 (N.D.Cal. 1966)...........

Miscellaneous:

I.C.C. Annual Reports
Vol. 69, De WWeccececcccccccccecccesessccccccecs
Vol. 725 Bu AOBicccdcacceeseeewasesserdecscicer
Senate Report No. 91-1030,
9lst Cong. 2d session, Pp. 129... cece eeeesees

10
10,15,17

10,14

21
21

23

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

1980 Term

No.

S & E SHIPPING CORP., Petitioner,
Vv.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION, Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

The petitioner S & E Shipping Corp. respectfully
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the
decision and opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit entered in this pro-
ceeding on May 7, 1979.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (600 F2d 349)
appears in the Appendix to the petition by the State

2

of New York for the same writ of certiorari. S &E
Shipping Corp. has consulted with the state, and
adopts as its own the Appendix filed by the State of
New York.

JURISDICTION

The decision and order of the Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit was entered on May 7, 1979.
A timely petition for rehearing in banc was denied on
January 31, 1980 following an order by the court on
October 3, 1979 posing certain questions to all active
parties before deciding on a rehearing to clarify the
parties interests, financial and otherwise, with re-
spect to the rates in issue. Those questions were
answered on October 19, 1979. This petition for
certiorari was filed within 90 days of the date that
the petition for rehearing in banc was denied. This
Court's jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. Sec-
tion 1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the railroad unit train rates in issue
discriminate unlawfully against Great Lakes water car-
riers, such as S & E Shipping Corp., as connecting car-
riers at Buffalo, New York in water/rail competition
for carrying wheat from the north central states to a
shipper's facility in Pennsylvania in violation of Sec-
tion 3(4) of the Interstate Commerce Act and the
National Transportation Policy.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The cargo in dispute is grain (wheat). It origi-
nates in the north central states and is delivered in
bulk to milling centers in the east to be distributed

7T

3

and sold as flour to processors and consumers in the
north and mid Atlantic states.

The basic issue is the lawfulness of a unit train
rate on wheat from Minnesota and Wisconsin origins
(Twin Cities and Twin Ports) to Martins Creek, Pennsyl-
vania, which is 327 miles southeast of Buffalo, New
York. The tariff at issue is published by the Soo Line
Railroad Company (Soo) and Consolidated Rail Corporation
(Conrail) to apply during the open navigation season on
the Great Lakes. Wheat potentially can move to Martins
Creek over an all rail route via Soo to Chicago, thence
via Conrail to Martins Creek, or a lake-rail route via
water carrier to Buffalo, thence via Conrail to Martins
Creek. Soo and Conrail and other railroads also publish
a unit train rate from Twin Ports to Buffalo which is
designed to provide an alternative to the practice of
storing wheat in vessels during the closed navigation
season. This rate is not competitive with the lake
vessel charges available during the open navigation
season and generally does not move traffic during that
season.

In either case, the Soo and Conrail control the
ultimate delivered price of wheat since both, together,
establish the rate on the all rail route. Conrail,
alone, establishes the rate for the rail leg of the
lake-rail route. There is no dispute but that Conrail
has established charges for connecting water carriers
at Buffalo which are twice as much, on a ton mile basis,
as it charges for its rail connection with the Soo at
Chicago. 356 I.C.C. at 92.

Water carriers (which are called "boats" on the
Great Lakes, even though, frequently, they are larger
than ocean going vessels) are an integral part of the
national transportation system, particularly as they
Carry cargoes in bulk such as iron ore, coal, grain,
limestone, sand, cement and petroleum products. They
are essential for the commerce and defense of the
nation. When they carry such bulk commodities, they
are exempt from economic regulation by the Interstate

4

Commerce Commission (I.C.C. or Commissicn). 49 U.S.C.
903(b) .2/

Besides the two railroads who are proponents of
the disputed rail rates, the other active parties at
the court level are a shipper, a lake carrier, a state,
a maritime union and the Commission.2

ConAgra, Incorporated (ConAgra) is a milling com-
pany based in Omaha, Nebraska and is the shipper in-
volved in this dispute. The shipper supports the rail
rates.

S & E Shipping Corp., petitioner here, is a ship-
ping company on the Great Lakes. It is the largest car-
rier of grain by shipping companies operating on the
Great Lakes. The basic movement of grain by S & E (and
other water carriers) is from Twin Ports to Buffalo.

S & E opposes the railroad rates.

New York State represents the interests of Buffalo
and surrounding area in opposition to the rail rates.

The Seafarers International Union AFL-CIO (SIU)
represents certain maritime interests on the Great
Lakes and is opposed to the railroad rates.

1/ Citations to Title 49 of the U. S. Code are presented
herein as before the codification required by Public
Law 95-473 (Act of October 17, 1978, 92 Stat. 1466)
in order to conform to citations in this case by the
Commission and Court of Appeals.

2/ A measure of the significance of the case, in the
public interest, is the number of other parties
who participated actively in the proceedings below.
In addition to the parties in the appeal to the
courts, one party supported the rates; twenty op-
posed (including other railroads; millers; Boards of
Trade; public interest groups in Twin Ports, Seaway
Authority, Niagara Frontier and Erie County, New York;
and Great Lakes operators). There were also numerous
letters from senators and congressmen opposing the
rail rates.

5

The Interstate Commerce Commission heard the case
and decided that the railroad rates were lawful.

About 172 vessels in the Great Lakes fleet move
bulk commodities in the domestic commerce. The car-
riers and shippers negotiate rates and service, based
essentially on the law of supply and demand. They have
been doing business like this for generations - in the
case of S & E Shipping Corp. for almost 150 years. As
a result, trading patterns, facilities and people have
come to depend on the lake carriers and shippers con-
tinuing in such relationship.

One such fixture is Buffalo, New York.

For as long as can be remembered, grain has been
Carried by boat from the Twin Ports to the Buffalo
mills, made into flour and sold largely in the eastern
markets. Thus, Buffalo is the milling center of the
United States.

There has been no complaint through the years
about this arrangement - not from shippers, millers,
consumers, port interests on the Great Lakes, unions
or the working people - not even the government.

In this setting, ConAgra, out of Omaha, Nebraska,
decided to enter the eastern market. It did not join
the Buffalo millers. Instead, it set up operations in
Martins Creek. The shipper first looked to insure its
supply lines. Negotiations with the Soo and Erie
Lackawanna Railroad Company (later Conrail), produced
a unit train rate from Twin Ports and Twin Cities.
These rates became effective on June l, 1974.

In the navigation season on the Great Lakes (1i.e.,
when the lakes are not ice-bound), grain can be trans-
ported by boat to Buffalo and then by Conrail to Mar-
tins Creek. The sailing distance between Twin Ports
and Buffalo is 992 miles. The rail mileage between
Buffalo and Martins Creek is 327 miles. The rail mile-
age between Twin Ports and Martins Creeks is 1,383 miles.

e-*,

6

The through charge to Martins Creek, boat/rail per
CWT is about 72 cents.3/ In the off navigation season,
grain can be transported through Buffalo (which has a
unit-train rate from Twin Ports) and then by Conrail, at
88 cents per CWT.

The unit train rates on wheat direct from Twin
Ports and Twin Cities to Martins Creek were set at about
72 cents for the navigation season and 88 cents in the
off season. These rates were specifically set by the
railroads to match the boat/rail rate. The rail rate
by Conrail (which holds monopoly service east of Buffalo)
for the 327 mile segment beyond Buffalo is over 80 per-
cent of the all rail rate for 1,383 miles from Twin Ports.

The case dates back to 1972. Although ultimate find-
ings were favorable to the railroads, the Interstate Com-
merce Commission had also found, en route to its final de-
cision, that a first set of unit train rates was in viola-
tion of the Interstate Commerce Act because of an illegal
tie-in arrangement between the railroads and the shipper,
and, later, that the same set of rates without the tie-in
were unlawful from Twin Ports. The Court of Appeals in
its first decision found that Great Lakes bulk carriers
were entitled to protection under the Interstate Commerce
Act, despite contrary findings by the Commission. The
court set aside the Commission's order and remanded the
case to the Commission to determine whether the protested
rail rates violate Section 3(4) of the Interstate Com-
merce Act by discriminating against lake carriers as
connecting lines at Buffalo.

After the remand, the Commission decided there was
no such unlawful discrimination against lake carriers as
connecting lines. In reaching this judgment, the Com-
mission substituted Chicago for Buffalo as the point of

3/ All rates in issue have increased, proportionately,
since 1972.

7

connection between lake carrier and rail service. Also,
the Commission found that a hypothetical 50 car unit
train service from Buffalo to Martins Creek was not
practical and therefore could not cure the rate dis-
crimination which it had already found did exist as be-
tween the Chicago-Martins Creek and Buffalo-Martins
Creek rail segments. The Court of Appeals in its second
decision on the merits, by a split vote, sustained the
Commission. The dissenting judge (Timbers) on the se-
cond panel had written the opinion for @ unanimous panel
in the court's first consideration of the case. The two
judges in the majority (Van Graafeiland and Moore) had
not acted on the case before the remand to the Commission.

Upon request by S & E and other parties opposing
the disputed rail rates that the court reconsider the
decision in banc, the three judges who had decided the
case in the second panel requested the parties to answer
certain questions. In doing so, the court specifically
advised the parties that it would serve no useful pur-
pose to speculate on a Chicago connection between lake
and rail service because: “Once loaded at the source,
economy would demand a through lake trip to Buffalo”.
The court also advised the parties not to argue the
hypothetical case of bringing 5U-car unit trains into
Buffalo and shipping from that point to Martins Creek.
All active parties answered the question. The court,
with the same dissent, denied petitions for rehearing.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

49 U.S.C. §3(4)
- Connecting lines
49 U.S.C. §903(b)
- Bulk exemptions
49 U.S.C. §3(1)
- Interchange of traffic, prejudice
49 U.S.C. 10101
- National Transportation Policy
46 U.S.C. 1101
- National Maritime Policy
46 U.S.C. 1177, P.L. 91-469
(Rehabilitation Great Lakes Fleet)

*%

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

‘1. The Decision Below Conflicts With The Decisions Of

Other Courts Of Appeals And The Supreme Court As To
The Proper Interpretation And Application Of 49
U.S.C. §3(4) and the National Transportation Policy.

Section 3(4) of Title 49 provides with respect to
interchange of traffic that carriers shall “afford all
reasonable, proper, and equal facilities for the inter-
change of traffic" between their respective lines "and
connecting lines”. Further, with respect to such inter-
change, carriers "shall not discriminate in their rates,
fares and charges between connecting lines, or unduly
prejudice any connecting line in the distribution of
traffic....*.

Both majority and dissenting judge agree that "S & E
Shipping falls within the protective umbrella of Section
3(4)..." 600 F2d at 355, fn. 3.

The protested tariff is unlawful. It violates Sec-
tion 3(4) of the Act and is contrary to the National
Transportation Policy4/ in that Conrail while serving
the port o* Buffalo does not afford comparable rate re-
ductions or unit train service on wheat interchange be-
tween lake carriers and that railroad, nor does it af-
ford comparable rate reductions or unit train service on
flour milied in Buffalo and moving to eastern destina-
tions, such as New York and Philadelphia.

4/ 49 U.S.C. 10101. It is the policy of the United States
"to provide for the impartial regulation of the modes
of transportation" subject to regulation by the I.C.C.
and the Commission, in regulating those modes, among
other things, is “to recognize and preserve the in~
herent advantage of each mode of transportation”.

9

The protested tariff constitutes unfair and destruc-
tive competition in violation of National Transportation
Policy in that such tariff fails to recognize the inherent
advantage of Great Lakes water carriers to provide low
cost transportation service and the Commission has no dis-
cretionary power to approve any type of rate which reduces
the inherent advantage of water transportation in whole or
in part.

It is no longer in dispute that a rate differential,
unjustified by cost differences, has been shown. The Com-
mission so found. 356 I.C.C. at 92. The resulting ques-
tion, therefore, (as framed by Judge Timbers in his dis-
sent, at 2526) is whether the railroads can justify charg-
ing twice as much to transport wheat over a rail route
that connects with a water carrier than over the compet-
ing rail route that connects with another railroad, de-
spite the fact that the rail revenue yield on the water-
rail route is substantially higher than the yield on the
competing rail route.

The unjustified maintenance of a rate disparity be-
tween connecting lines is prejudical and discriminatory
and is specifically prohibited by 49 U.S.C. Sec. 3(4).

In its first decision reported at 346 I.C.C. 814,
the Commission did not reach the question of whether the
unit train rate discriminated against the lake carriers
because it held the lake carriers were not entitled to
the protection of the statute. The Court of Appeals in
its first decision held that the Commission erred in so
holding and remanded the proceeding to the Commission
“for the limited purposes of determining whether proposed
rates discriminate against the lake carriers as connect-
ing lines." 568 F2d at 897.

Protestants of the rail rates had previously con-
tended that the rate disparity was not cost justified,
i.e., that the cost of performing rail service over the
two competing routes did not justify disparate rate
treatment. Controlling precedent holds that if a rail-
road cannot cost justify that disparate rate treatment,

i.

10

the rates are discriminatory.- Western Pacific Railroad
Co. v. United States, 382 U.S. 237 (1965); Seatrain Lines
Inc. v. United States, 233 F.Supp. 199, 209 (D.N.J. 1964);
and Western Pacific Railroad Co. v. United States, 263
F.Supp. 140, 145 (N.D.Cal. 1966).

On remand, the Commission accepted additional evi-
dence showing the changes in the level of rates. The new
evidence showed that Conrail still charges twice as much
to transport 100 lbs. of wheat one mile when it connects
with a water carrier at Buffalo than when it connects ~
with a fellow railroad at Chicago. The Commission found
that this disparity in rate treatment could not be justi-
fied on the basis of relative costs. 356 I.C.C. at 92.
This should have put an end to the matter.

The Commission found, however, that since Conrail
could not perform the inter-train service from Buffalo
in connection with water carriers, no discrimination
existed. The complaint, however, is not that there is
no unit train service out of Buffalo but that the water
carriers are discriminated against at Buffalo because the
railroad rate is twice as much on a per mile basis when
the railroad connects with a water carrier than when it
connects with a fellow railroad and the railroads have
never justified this disparity.

A majority of the Second Panel of the Court of Ap-
peals based its decision on the ground that it would be
inefficient and uneconomical for Conrail to institute
unit train service fren Buffalo to Martins Creek, 600
F.Supp. at 352-353. It is to be emphasized, however,
that the fact that a hypothetical unit train service
cannot be instituted is wholly irrelevant to the deter-
mination of whether the rate in issue is discriminatory.
This was the controlling issue under the remand from the
Court of Appeals to the Commission. The court remanded
for the specific limited purpose of determining whether
the rate discriminates against lake carriers, that is,
whether the disparate rate treatment was cost justified
and not to consider the question of whether the lack
of unit train service from Buffalo to Martins Creek dis-

ll

Criminates against lake carriers. The latter question is
the only question addressed by the Commission on remand
and the only question affirmed by the majority opinion.
Clearly, therefore, as the dissenting opinion states

"The Commission on remand either has misconstrued [the
Court's] mandate or has ignored it." The majority de-
cision is thus based on a fundamental misunderstanding

of the court's prior opinion and the purpose of the re-
mand.

The two judges (Van Graafeiland and Moore) who were
not on the case before effectively told the one judge
(Timbers) who was on the case before and who had written
the opinion for a unanimous court, what the first panel
meant when it sent the case back to the Interstate Com-
merce Commission.

This was highly unusual. >_/

S/ Polisnik v. U.S., 259 F.2d 951, 952, fn 3, (1958) (Dis-
trict of Columbia Circuit). Three judge court felt
bound to affirm exclusionary rulings by District judge
even when they disagreed with his rulings, where the
court en banc had reaffirmed the rule that was the
basis for the ruling by the District judge. District
of Columbia v. Grimes, 404 F.2d 1337, :1342-43 (1968)
(District of Columbia Circuit). Court held defendant
could not be convicted without colliding head on with
established precedents and that it must follow earlier

rulings as they can only be overturned by court en banc.

Lenkin, et al. v. District of Columbia, 461 F.24 1215,
1230, fn. 113 (District of Columbia Circuit). S®anel
said it needed authority to overturn another panel.
Tulford v. Klein, 529 F.2d 377, 379 (1976) 5th Cir. LA.

"One panel of this court may not overrule another pre-
vous panel, absent controlling Supreme Court authority”.
Doraiswamy v. Secretary of Labor, 555 F.2d 832, 847 fn
9 (1978) (District of Columbia Circuit). Court, as a
panel, does not have authority to overturn holdings of
another panel. The proposal should have been addressed
to the court, en banc.

12

S & E had argued after the Commission's decision on
remand that the court wanted the Commission to decide if
there was discrimination, at Buffalo, not with the Chicago
connection, as determined by the Commission. Judge Tim-
bers apparently agreed with that argument. In addition
to his statement that the Commission disregarded the order,
he emphasized that the majority of the court had supported
a “hypothetical” unit-train service, which to him was
“totally beyond the scope of our mandate".

The force of the dissent and, perhaps, the argument
of protestants in their request for rehearing may have
prompted the court to consider the merits further. In any
event, the court propounded to the parties a series of
questions. There was no opinion from the court after re-
ceiving answers to the questions. But the questions re-
veal fundamental uncertainty about the case suggesting,
as petitioner contends, that an important national trans-
portation policy issue is at stake, which warrants review
by this Court.

Questions By The Court Of Appeals After Decision On
Merits. In the order by the second panel of the Court
of Appeals directing the parties to submit briefs in re-
sponse to questions, certain comments by the court, which
were pertinent to the questions asked, show that the dis-
sent is the better opinion.

The Court stated:

No interest would be served by
speculating on a Chicago lake-
rail interchange. Once loaded
at the source, economy would
demand a through lake trip to
Buffalo. Nor should there be
argument based on bringing 50-
car unit trains into Buffalo
and shipping from that point
to Martins Creek.

13

By this comment the court effectively disposed of
matters featured at earlier stages of this proceeding.
This is especially significant with respect to the
matter of the 50-car unit train service between Buffalo
and Martins Creek (the so-called hypothetical new unit-
train service). This was the sole basis for the Com-
mission's decision to permit “the railroads to maintain
a rail rate structure which discriminates against water
carriers at Buffalo", Majority Opinion at page 2527.

S & E submits that this effectively disposes of the
dispute, in accordance with Judge Timbers' dissent
wherein he stated at page 2527:

The railroads, in my view, have
totally failed to justify the un-
disputed rate discrimination
which has been found, permitting
ConRail to earn roughly twice as
much, after expenses, from its
Buffalo-Martins Creek route as
from its Chicago-Martins Creek
route.

The Court also stated:

However, the Buffalo-Martins
Creek rate is not per se deter-
minative of discrimination but
only as related to the total
rates from grain source to Mar-
tins Creek via lake-rail or
all-rail methods of transporta-
tion. We had assumed that this
Court was being asked ‘to order
the cancellation of the unit-
train rates from Twin Ports and
Twin Cities to Martins Creek be-
cause the Buffalo to Martins
Creek rates are proportionately
higher and more profitable’.

The proper comparison of rates is not all inclusive,

14

as stated, by determining the discriminatory nature of

the all-rail rates by comparing them with the rates from
grain sources to the ultimate destination on the lake-rail
route. The comparison made by the lower court ane~the
Commission is that described by Judge Timbers.

The facts are undisputable that a prima facie case
of discrimination, prohibited by Section 3(4), has been
presented in that there exists a disparity between the
rail portion of the ex-lake traffic and the proposed all-
rail rate.§/ the railroad cannot justify the undisputed
rate discrimination found which permits Conrail to earn
twice as much after expenses from its Buffalo-Martins
Creek route as from its Chicago-Martins Creek route.

The existence of discriminatory rates against lake
carriers in violation of Section 3(4) is determinative
of this proceeding in that the rail carriers failed to
justify these rate disparities, under the rule of Western

6/ Stated in somewhat different terms the district court
in Western Pacific Railroad Company v. United States,
263 F.Supp. 140, 145 (N.D.Cal. 1966) described the
discrimination as follows:

“Such discrimination exists when a carrier
(in this case Northern Pacific or Union
Pacific) enters into a joint through rate
arrangement with another connecting line
carrier (in this case Southern Pacific),
but refuses to enter into the same rate
arrangement with another connecting line
(in this case Western Pacific)."

15

Pacific Railroad Co. v. United States, 382 U.S. 237 (1965).2/

Actual Questions. The court inquired whether the 40-cent
rate from Buffalo to Martins Creek was discriminatory and
if so, how?

The question indicates fundamental uncertainty what
the court was deciding. In the opinion of the second panel
in discussing the 40-cent rate, the majority stated:

The rate eastward from Buffalo was
the same, however, regardless of
whether grain movement into Buffalo
from the west was by ship, rail, or
truck. Clearly, no carrier from
the west could claim that it was
being discriminated against because
of the higher Buffalo to Martins
Creek rate.

This statement must be read in conjunction with the
court's more recent comment introducing the questions
wherein it was stated:

“...the Buffalo-Martins Creek rate
is not per se determinative of dis-
crimination - but only as it is re-
lated to...fother rates])."

7/ The nature of this burden was described in a subse-
quent decision following the Supreme Court's mandate
in 263 F.Supp. 140 at 146 (N.D.Cal. 1966):

“The burden of proceeding would then shift

to defendants to prove some dissimilarity

of operating conditions that would sub-
stantially affect them in the event they

were required to grant equality of treatment.”

16

This more recent statement of the court is consistent
with the lake carriers' position and, more importantly,
with the distinctions drawn by the United States Supreme
Court dating back to the earliest decisions following en-
actment of the Interstate Commerce Act. See I.C.C. v.

B & O Railroad, 145 U.S. 263, 276, 277 (1892). Again in
American Express Co. v. South Dakota, 244 U.S. 617, 624
(1916) Mr. Justice Brandeis said:

"...rates may be within the zone of
reasonableness and yet involve un-
just discrimination (citing B & O
Railroad). Proceedings to remove
unjust discrimination are aimed di-
rectly at the relation of rates."
(emphasis the court's).

The lake carriers have never contended the 40-cent
rate from Buffalo to Martins Creek was discriminatory in
itself. This is so because the question of rate dis-
crimination concerns a relationship of rates and no pur-
pose can be served to attempt to evaluate a rate ina
vacuum unrelated to other rates or charges.

When the Buffalo-Martins Creek rate is related to the
all rail rate from Chicago to Martins Creek, the discrimi-
nation against S & E as a connecting carrier at Buffalo is
that the high rail rate out of Buffalo supports - subsi-
dizes it may be said - the very low rail rate out of
Chicago for Martins Creek. Since the basis for the rail-
roads charging high rates out of Buffalo is the low water
rate into Buffalo (thereby giving the railroads several
strings to pull in fashioning a rail rate into Martins
Creek from Chicago or Buffalo), the railroads are dis-
criminating against the low cost water carrier which the
National Transportation Policy, Section 3(4) and common
sense say should be preserved.

It follows that the high rail rate out of Buffalo
is discriminatory against lake carriers connecting at
Buffalo in violation of Section 3(4).

17

Question About Trans-Shipment At Buffalo. The court
also asked about the effect, if any, of a trans-shipment
of grain at Buffalo from lake to rail on the overall rates
from source to Martins Creek.

This question raises the rule of Western Pacific Rail-
road Co. v. United States, 382 U.S. 237 (1965), which the
court did not properly apply. Judge Timbers pointed out
it is undisputed on the record that a rate differential
exists, unjustified by cost differences, and that the
rule in Western Pacific places the burden on the railroads
to justify the differential on the basis of different
operating conditions - which they did not do.

The premise for any such justification was eliminated
by the court deciding not to consider the Commission's in-
vention of a Chicago connection. That is, the Commission
substituted Chicago for Buffalo to satisfy Section 3(4)
requirements after finding operational difficulties on a
service not in issue.

The difficulty with that finding, as Judge Timbers
pointed out in his dissent, is that it is not based on
“existing actual conditions but on a hypothetical new
unit-train service.” Railroads are entitled to take into
account their different operating costs in establishing
rates over two routes and charge different rates according-
ly. But that does not mean they can allege inefficiencies,
difficulties or mythical problems unrelated to costs as a
justification. The Supreme Court in I.C.C. v. Mechling,
330 U.S. 567 (1947) at 581, made this clear:

"But the extra service must fit the
extra charge and cannot justify lump
sum rate increases which cut into
the inherent advantage of cheaper
barge transportation which Congress
intended to guaranty to shippers."

On this basis, the trans-shipment of grain at Buffalo
from lake to rail has no relationship to the over-all
rates from source to Martins Creek other than the cost/

. a

18

revenue comparisons established in this record, namely,
that Conrail earns about “twice as much, after expenses"
in the rail segment of the water-rail route and this re-
flects disparity of treatment amounting to discrimination
under Section 3(4).

Question About All Rail Rates. Another question by the
court warrants special comment.

The court asked about the propriety of the all-rail
rates from the grain sources to Martins Creek.

As the court was still asking basic questions about
the dispute, even though this was the third time it was

considering the case on the merits, it was not thought to be

ungraceful to say that the court missed the good oppor-
tunity it had the first time it considered the case to
decide it on grounds on which the dispute is actually
based, i.e., prejudice to water carriers in violation
of the National Transportation Policy, supra.

The court had declined to rule upon the lake car-
riers' argument that the Commission erred in failing to
protect the lake carriers, the Port of Buffalo and other
Buffalo interests from prejudicial and discriminatory rail
rates and practices which were designed to divert wheat
traffic away from Buffalo because this claim, based on
Section 3(1) of the Act (49 U.S.C. §3(1)), had not been
presented to the Commission. The argument, however, had
been based on the National Transportation Policy.

The court did note that the argument was based
primarily on Lake Carriers' Association v. United States,
399 F.Supp. 386 (N.D.Ohio 1975) (three-judge court). The
decision in that case, under similar competitive condi-
tions, was for the lake carriers based on considerations
of the National Transportation Policy.

In deciding not to rule on this argument by the lake
carriers, the court could not find “exceptional circum-

19

stances which would impel us to consider the issue here
despite the failure to present it to the Commission."

This Court might conclude there were exceptional
circumstances.

Like the ship with a thousand leaks, lake carriers
were busy responding to every salvo by the Interstate
Commerce Commission. The Commission said, for instance,
lake carriers were not entitled to protection under the
Interstate Commerce Act because they were exempt bulk
carriers (for which the Commission had no taste, as
evidenced by almost yearly recommendations to Congress
since 1940, to eliminate the bulk cargo exemption - but
where the Congress went the other way and increased the
exemption); that lake carriers were not connecting car-
riers deserving of protection, even under Section 3(4);
that lake carriers were not deserving of consideration
on economic competition with railroads because they did
not provide the precise cost data which I.C.C. regulated
railroads were in a position to provide, etc.

Lake carriers had their hands full.

The Commission did not relent in its efforts to
sink the lake carriers even after the unanimous decision
of the first panel of the Court of Appeals in its first
decision that lake carriers were entitled to protection
and that S & E was a connecting carrier at Buffalo. Wit-
ness: the Chicago connection. While that court advised
lake carriers to disregard that issue, it cannot be dis-
missed from the water carriers' consideration of the case
that the Interstate Commerce Commission has gone to ex-
treme limits to see that water carriers, which are
mandated by Congress to be protected by the Commission
the same as any other mode of carrier, did not get re-
quired protection from undue prejudice and disadvantage
by the railroads.

As indicated, water carriers on the Great Lakes have
carried grain, satisfactorily, from the upper lakes to
Buffalo for a very long time. The railroads knowing of

20

the restrictions in the Interstate Commerce Act against
driving out service by a competing mode set rates speci-
fically to match the water rail rate from Twin Ports to
Martins Creek. Those rail rates will go up surely once
water competition is eliminated.

The National Transportation Policy forbids this re-
sult.

This Court should not, without review of lower court
and Commission proceedings, permit a new service which is
consciously and deliberately set up to eliminate the es-
tablished service, particularly as the Congress has in-
sisted that a carrier which has the inherent advantage
in cost or service should be preserved, in the public
interest.

2s Statutory And Public Interest Considerations Require
The Commission To Protect Water Carriers Of Exempt
Bulk Commodities The Same As Other Carriers - The
Commission And Lower Court Did Not Do This.

At the time the Commission authorized the protested
rail rates in 1976, it noted the prospects for the
imminent financial failure of the Erie Railroad and the
hope for its survival under the Rail Reorganization Act.
Indeed, the Commission gave the appearance of being a
cheerleader for the Erie. Although the Commission found
that the rail rates were not cost justified, it approved
them.

In its public interest deliberations, the Commission
should also have considered the positive action taken by
the Congress to upgrade the Great Lakes fleet.

The Merchant Marine Act, 1970, (46 U.S.C. 1101, P.L.
91-469 (1970)) was passed almost unanimously. For the
first time, Congress extended very substantial tax and
other financial aid to rehabilitate the domestic Great
Lakes fleet. Also, the Congress officially designated

21

the Great Lakes as the fourth seacoast of the United
States. Since that time, additional legislation has
been passed to enable the Corps of Engineers to extend
the navigation season on the lakes and to earmark speci-
fic percentages of government aid to upgrade Great Lakes
shipping.

As a result, more new boats were built for the
domestic Great Lakes service immediately after the 1970
Act than in the previous 45 years combined.

Since 1954, the Interstate Commerce Commission has
repeatedly recommended to the Congress that it repeal
the exemption for bulk cargo water carriers under Sec-
tion 303(b) of the Act. (49 U.S.C. §903(b)).

In its 68th annual report to the Congress in 1954,
the I.C.C. stated:

"...tiie exemption adversely affects
the public interest in stable, rea-
sonable and properly related rates
and makes effective regulation of
water transportation impossible..."
(p. 20).

In its 69th annual report in 1955, the I.C.C. repeat-
ed the statement and added that it favored bills which
would remove the bulk exemption for water carriers (p. 18).

In 1958, in its 72nd annual report, the I.C.C. ex-
pressly recommended the repeal of Section 303(b), giving
the following reasons for its recommendation:

“Because of the various exemptions
in part III of the act, the greater
percentage of all domestic for-hire
water transportation is free from
economic regulation by the Commis-
sion. The most significant of
these is the so-called bulk commod-
ity exemption.

22

This exemption puts the regulated
carriers to a distinct competitive
disadvantage and results in dis-
crimination between shippers and
localities. The public interest
in stable, reasonable, and proper-
ly regulated rates cannot find ex-
pression in the complete absence
of control of such a large segment
of the bulk-carrying trade.

Enactment of this recommended
amendment would go a long way to-
ward correcting this undesirable
Situation and would also con-
stitute an important step toward
equality of treatment of carriers
of the various modes." (p. 142).

The Commission again made this recommendation in
1961. It held to the same position in later years.

The Commission's fundamental opposition to exempt
dry bulk water carriers may be explained by its long
held economic philosophy that, in order to exercise its
responsibilities under the Act, it had to have equal
economic control of all carriers subject to its juris-
diction.

The Transportation Act of 1940 made water carriers
in the domestic commerce subject to the jurisdiction of
the I.C.C. From that time, the Commission has opposed
exemptions for bulk water carriers in order not to impinge
upon the effectiveness of the Act as a whole - as it
viewed its responsibilities. But, most significantly,
Congress has gone the other way. Over the opposition of
the Interstate Commerce Commission, bulk commodity exemp-
tions for water carriers under Part III of the Act have
been extended - not restricted. Whereas, previously,
there had been some statutory restrictions on the number
and kind of commodity exemptions, at present, the exemp-
tion in Section 303(b) applies "to the transportation by
water carrier of commodities in bulk".

23

The Commission's reactionary policy towards water
carriers has been emphasized not simply to dramatize that
the Commission erred in this case in its findings that
Great Lakes bulk carriers were not entitled to protection
as connecting lines under Section 3(4) of the Act. The
Court of Appeals in its first decision corrected that
error. But, the point of Commission opposition to exempt
water carriers warrants consideration because, after the
remand, the Commission had a special dilemma how to re-
spond to the court.

The Commission had found in its first decision that
the rail rates between Buffalo and Martins Creek were not
cost justified and, accordingly, that there was - or would
have been - discrimination against a carrier entitled to
protection as a connecting line. The Commission, however,
did not treat this question because it had found that the
lake carriers were not entitled to Section 3(4) protec-
tion. When the first court panel sent the case back and
asked for a finding about rate discrimination against
water carriers as connecting lines at Buffalo, the Com-
mission was without a basis to justify its earlier de-
cision supporting the protested rail rates. Since there
was already a presumptive finding of such discrimination,
the Commission had to find other justification. It came
up with "the Chicago connection". Setting up its own
straw man, it then knocked it down. Even the majority
of the court in the second panel saw through this and
specifically advised the parties not to brief the point.

The Commission's attempted circumvention of the
court's question, upon remand, is evidence of the Com-
mission's fundamental opposition to protection for bulk
water carriers. The lower court should have found this
to be error.

The Commission should not be permitted to disregard
legislation such as the Merchant Marine Act, 1970 or the
legislative history supporting that Act, which authorized
research projects to determine the adverse effect on
Great Lakes shipping by railroad rate structures. (Sen-
ate Report No. 91-1080, 9lst Cong. 2d Session., p. 129.)

r

24

Surely, the agency which has statutory responsibility

to maintain a balanced transportation system, including
water carriers of exempt bulk commodities, should not be
permitted to disregard the steady, deliberate enactment
of law which is specifically intended to sustain domes-
tic water transportation as a key segment of our national
transportation system. The statutory injunction to main-
tain this segment of the system is particularly signifi-
cant, currently, because of legislation in the transporta-
tion industries emphasing de-reculation. The Great Lakes
Carriers operate on competitive principles of the law of
supply and demand, satisfying shipper, industry and con-
sumer needs without the need for economic regulation by
federal agencies.

No sensible judgment can be made that legislation to
help railroads was intended at the same time to undermine
the positive program by Congress to build up and rely on
the nation's unregulated water carriers “to carry its
domestic water-borne commerce." 46 U.S.C. 1101.

A vital part of our national transportation system
is threatened by the railroad actions in this case.
Many jobs and people will be affected by the outcome.
There is concern for national commerce and defense. The
majority of the lower court did not seem sure of its
opinion. The dissenting member did. Decisions by other
Courts of Appeal and the Supreme Court are at odds with
the majority opinion. A writ of certiorari should be
granted.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue
to review the decision and order of the Second Circuit.

Respectfully submitted, .

foe J.
April 30, 1980 Counsel yBn itioner

25

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that on April 30, 1980, I mailed
to the following persons, postage prepaid, three copies
of the foregoing petition, in accordance with paragraph

3 of Rule 33, Rules of the Supreme Court.

Robert J.
1919 Penns
Washington, D. C. 20006

Counsel for Petitioner
S & E Shipping Corp.

General Counsel
Interstate Commerce Commission
Washington, D. C. 20423

Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D. C. 20530

C. Harold Peterson

Soo Line Railroad

804 Soo Line Building
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55440

Peter A. Greene

Conagra Incorporated
404 Farragut Building
900 - 17th Street, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20006

Gordon P. MacDougall

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and
Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission
1100 - 17th Street, N.W., Room 907
Washington, D. C. 20036

nia Avenue, N.W.

26

John A. Daily

Conrail

6 Penn Center Plaza
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19105

Jeremiah Jochnowitz
Assistant Solicitor General
Attorney General's Office
Capitol

Albany, New York 12223

David Jaffe

Schulman and Abarbanel
Empire State Building
350 Fifth Avenue

New York, New York 10001

6 100s

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2308%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
