# Amicus Brief — Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining & Reclamation Assn., Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2241%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 452 U.S. 264

## Text

No. 79-1538

EV TT ASV ES 4 O° 0 105.) GD: A

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1980

Cecit D. ANDRUS, SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR,
Appellant,

Vv.

VIRGINIA SURFACE MINING AND RECLAMATION

ASSOCIATION, INC., ET AL.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court
Western District of Virginia

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE PACIFIC LEGAL
FOUNDATION IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEES

RONALD A. ZUMBRUN
Pacific Legal Foundation
455 Capitol Mall, Suite 600
Sacramento, California 95814
Telephone: (916) 444-0154

RAYMOND M. MOMBOISSE
COUNSEL OF RECORD

EILEEN B. WHITE
Pacific Legal Foundation
1990 M Street, N.W., Suite 550
Washington, D.C. 20036
Telephone: (202) 466-2686

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Pacific Legal Foundation

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED....................... il
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE oeccccccccocoooo l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ..uw. >
Sea tinal ee ee RO Ce 5

I. THE SURFACE MINING CONTROL AND
RECLAMATION ACT VIOLATES THE
TENTH AMENDMENT BY USURPING THE
STATES’ TRADITIONAL POWER’ TO
REGULATE LAND USE 000 5

Il. THE SURFACE MINING CONTROL AND
RECLAMATION ACT REDUCES THE
VALUE OF APPELLEES’ LAND SO
SUBSTANTIALLY AS TO CONSTITUTE A
TAKING OF PRIVATE PROPERTY,
REQUIRING THE PAYMENT OF JUST
COMPENSATION oc ices 9

IN PROPERTY AGAINST GOVERN-
MENT INTRUSION IS A FUNDAMEN.-
TAL PRECEPT OF THE FEDERAL
| SR RURMTIES THC 9

RECLAMATION ACT'S LAND USE
PROVISIONS CONSTITUTE A TAKING 10

li

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES
Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40 (1960).........

Boston Chamber of Commerce v. Boston, 217 U.S.
a scsbutinepaneiesune

Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch) 87 (1810) .........
Goldblatt v. Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590 (1962)...

Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394 (1915) ccccseess-s. |

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979)...
Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U.S. 46 (1906) ou...
Keller v. United States, 213 U.S. 138 (1909) wo...
Lynch v. Household Finance Corp., 405 U.S. 538
I iileh iacdnctsntsnbanpnisncdieaeverescnanssencasseess
dina cesucetbdodehivessnncientnsepieinontsensesdss

Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New
I RM IE © BUTT D rsccvsscevecervssccccssocessscccescces

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393
anise ndeindacnsnntebnerecsineacesnoteteoses

Sinnot v. Davenport, 63 U.S. 227 (1859) ou...

Trustees of Dartmouth College v. Woodward, 17
Re Me WEEE D DED © BBED),.cccncccccosccecccoosececeseecsossese

United Siaies v. Dewitt, 76 U.S. 41 (1869) ww.

United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373
scl ik sien dehsanesbtssunennssinsnaaostsveecinishinenens

Page

iii

Village of Belle Terre v. Borass, 416 U.S. 1 (1974)...

Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Company, 272
A A OUI Bic diessecciss cithietcasagldemcicccadigaees oh cao

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

United States Constitution

STATUTES

‘Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of
1977, Pub. L. No. 95-87, 30 U.S.C. §§ 1201, et Seq.

ed cle | ) Tae ET
Br) We Rs ND sca sechncesssnininddccceacnins!

MISCELLANEOUS

Sackman, The Impact of Zoning and Eminent Do-
main Upon Each Other, 1971 Institute on Planning
Zoning and Eminent Domain 107............................

Siegan, Economic Liberties and the Constitution
CP inivchachaibbusbieiccinoiincsiiiaeeli eet eae ct

Page

9

6
passim
5,9,15
9

7
7
passim
passim
passim

6

No. 79-1538

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

CeciL D. ANDRUS, SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR,
Appellant,
we

VIRGINIA SURFACE MINING AND RECLAMATION
ASSOCIATION, INC., ET AL.,
Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court
Western District of Virginia

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE PACIFIC LEGAL
FOUNDATION IN SUPPORT OF APPELLEES

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Pacific Legal Foundation (PLF) respectfully submits this
brief in support of appellees Virginia Surface Mining and
Reclamation Association and the Commonwealth of Virginia
pursuant to Supreme Court Rule No. 36. Consent to the filing
of this brief has been granted by counsel for all parties. Copies
of these letters have been submitted to the Clerk of this Court.

PLF is a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization with offices in
Sacramento, California, and Washington, D.C., existing for the
purpose of engaging in litigation in matters affecting the broad
public interest. Policy for PLF is established by an independent
Board of Trustees composed of concerned citizens. The Board
evaluates the merits of any contemplated legal action and

2

authorizes such legal action only where PLF’s position has
broad support within the general community. The PLF Board
has authorized the filing of this brief.

The government is appealing from the decision of the
United States District Court of Virginia, Western District,
which held, inter alia, that: (1) Sections 515(d) and (e) of the
Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 19771 (Act),
which prescribe certain reclamation performance standards for
surface coal mining operations conducted on steep slopes,
violate the Tenth Amendment; and (2) Sections 515(d) and
(e) and Section 5222 of the Act take private property without
just compensation in violation of the Fifth Amendment. PLF
will address those issues, showing that the District Court’s
holdings were correct and should be upheld.

PLF’s concern in this proceeding is that the federal
government not interfere with constitutionally guaranteed pri-
vate property rights and the traditional regulation of those
property rights by the states rather than by the federal govern-
ment. PLF is also interested in insuring that when the federal
government does take property, it pays just compensation as
required by the Constitution.

PLF contends that when a law diminishes the value of
property to the point where it becomes virtually worthless, then
a compensatory taking has occurred. In this case, appellees’
property value is so regulated that there is no remaining
reasonably beneficial use. The Act caused this drastic dimin-
ution by preventing the appellees from taking advantage of the
‘abundant coal deposits that lie just under the surface of
appellees’ land. The impact extends, however, beyond the
landowner to the public seeking affordable energy sources.
Specifically, Sections 515(d) and (e) of the Act require ap-
pellees to restore the land to its approximate original contours
after strip-mining, a task which, from an economic standpoint,
makes it totally infeasible to mine the coal. In effect, the law
controls surface mining by preventing businesses from engaging

130 U.S.C. § 1265(d) and (e).
230 U.S.C. § 1272(e).

3

in it. PLF agrees with the District Court that the drastic
decrease in appellees’ land value caused by the Act constitutes a
taking for which just compensation must be paid in accordance
with the Fifth Amendment.

The provision requiring return to approximate originai
contours was drafted in disregard of plain common sense. For
example, if a community determines that some of the contours
resulting from surface mining serve a socially useful purpose,
this law does not permit those contours to remain. Instead, they
must be restored. In many Appalachian towns where leveled
land is at a premium, the prohibition against keeping leveled
ground in that condition creates serious problems. The District
Court found that steep-slope land restored to its approximate
original contour is worth between $5.00 and $75.00 per acre;
whereas if it were leveled, it would be worth between $5,000
and $300,000 per acre. The government’s solution to the Act’s
requirement that hillsides be restored (despite apparent local
preferences to the contrary) is, at least, novel. The government
argues that the Act does not prevent land from eventually
remaining with the contours created by surface mining. In
order to stay within the bounds of the law, one merely has to
restore the contours of the land—thereby gaining com-
pliance—and then bulldoze it a second time.3 Besides creating a
totally absurd result, that solution Causes considerable economic
waste.

Furthermore, notwithstanding the provisions of the Act,
other federal regulations have Surface mining in a regulatory
Stranglehold. The numerous regulations (e.g., Clean Air Act
and Water Pollution Control Act) provide ample federal
control over how surface mining is conducted while stil] protect-
ing the environment. The Act’s Provisions merely add to the
regulatory morass which already makes it difficult to conduct
surface coal mining operations.

This problem of regulatory overkill is especially counter-
Productive to the public interest where Surface coal mining is

3 Brief for the Secretary of the Interior at 35, 53.

4

concerned. Surface mining of domestic coal reserves, such as
those located in Virginia, provides one of the best solutions to
one of the gravest problems facing America—namely, its great
dependence on foreign sources of energy. Yet, even though the
coal produced from surface mines would provide a rapid and
cheap way to decrease that dependence, Sections 515(d) and
(e) and Section 522 of the Act not only stifle, but virtually shut
off that method of domestic energy production.

Finally, PLF strongly supports environmental protection.
PLF does not, however, believe that the goal of restoring a
pristine environment should be sought without regard to the
costs. Instead, PLF contends that there should be a balance
between environmental protection and the economic growth
required to maintain our civilized society. Requiring steep
slopes to be returned to their approximate original contours
does not strike a proper balance because it ignores several key
considerations: (1) more productive use can often be made of
level or gently sloping land than of steeply sloping land; (2)
requiring steep slopes to be restored often ignores the wishes of
local communities that require more level areas to sustain
growth; (3) the arbitrary imposition of requiring that surface-
mined land be returned to its approximate original contour can
have environmentally degrading effects in certain circum-
stances; (4) requiring a return to the original contour freezes
out small businesses which cannot afford the expensive restora-
tions, thus lessening competition, the foundation of our free
enterprise system; (5) prohibiting surface mining puts miners
out of work; (6) limiting coal production in this manner raises
the cost of coal to consumers; and (7) limiting the production
of coal—a plentiful domestic energy resource—is counter-
productive to the effort to decrease our dependence on foreign
supplies of energy.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The first question that PLF will address is whether the
Commonwealth of Virginia and its subdivisions’ control over

5

the traditional state and local power to regulate land use has
been usurped by the federal government in violation of the
Tenth Amendment. Specifically, Sections 515(d) and (e) of
the Act unlawfully infringe on states’ rights by stripping the
states of their power to regulate land use where surface mining
taxes place. The District Court correctly held that Congress did
indeed violate Tenth Amendment limitations on federal activi-
ties by enacting Sections 515(d) and (e) of the Act. PLF urges
that the Court affirm that decision.

PLF will also argue that Sections SIS5(d) and (e) and
Section 522 of the Act have rendered the appellees’ land
virtually worthless, constituting a taking requiring the payment
of just compensation. The Act’s Provisions require appellees’
Steep slopes to be returned to their approximate original
contour after surface mining and prohibits surface mining in
certain areas altogether. Compliance with these provisions,
however, destroys the value of appellees’ property by making it
economically infeasible, and in some instances simply unlawful
to mine the abundant mineral wealth. 5

ARGUMENT
I

THE SURFACE MINING CONTROL AND
RECLAMATION ACT VIOLATES THE TENTH
AMENDMENT BY USURPING THE STATES’
TRADITIONAL POWER TO REGULATE LAND USE

The basic structure of government contained in the United
States Constitution is that of a federal government of limited
Powers governing a union of states which possess the remainde:
of governmental power. This concept is expressed most clearly
in the Tenth Amendment, which States: “The powers not
delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibit-
ed by it to the States are reserved to the States respectively, or
to the people.” Thus, the federal government cannot validly
exercise powers other than those expressly granted to it.

6

It is well established that the Constitution does not grant to
the federal government the police power. (The police power is
the governmental power to subject individuals to reasonable
regulations in order to achieve such governmental objectives as
the public health, safety, and welfare. Goldblatt v. Hempstead,
369 U.S. 590 (1962).) Thus, Congress may not enact police
power regulations to operate within the territorial limits of a
state. United States v. Dewitt, 76 U.S. 41 (1869). The police
powers are instead reserved to the s.ates. Keller v. United
States, 213 U.S. 138 (1909); Sinnot v. Davenport, 63 U.S. 227
(1859). Their legislatures delegate the police power to local
governing bodies, and it is used to support various forms of
state and local regulation.

Land use regulation is one of the traditional police powers
exercised by the states and their political subdivisions. Village
of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Company, 272 U.S. 365 (1926).
Indeed, it is an essential state function because it allows the
States to balance environmental protection with the many types
of activities upon which their economies are based. This Court
has long held that each state has full jurisdiction to regulate the
land within its borders, without federal interference. For
example, in Kansas v. Colorado, 206 U.S. 46 (1906), Kansas
sued Colorado for diverting the waters of the Arkansas River
for the irrigation of lands in Colorado. The United States
intervened, claiming a right to control the waters of the river to
aid in reclamation of federally owned arid lands. It argued that
it had the right to use the waters pursuant to the Reclamation
Act, 43 U.S.C. §§ 371, et seg. The Court, in dismissing the
United States’ claim, relied upon Article IV, Section 3, clause 2,
of the Constitution which provides that Congress has the power
to make all necessary rules and regulations regarding its
property. The Court held that the provision limits Congress to
exercising its power over property belonging to the United
States, and does not allow for any legislative control over the
property of the individual states.

This Court should reaffirm the holding of Kansas here and
find that Congress cannot exercise legislative control over land
that it does not own in individual states. In promulgating the

7

Act, Congress decided that the regulation of surface mining and
reclamation basically belongs to the states because of the
differences in “terrain, climate, biologic, chemical and other
physical conditions in areas subject to mining operations.” 30
U.S.C. § 1201(f). However, the states have no choice but to
adopt the federal standards as their own or else hand over total
control of surface coal mining to the federal government.4
While the Clean Air Act and the Federal Water Pollution
Control Act have similar requirements, an important difference
is that air and water pollution are carried interstate. Land,
however, is unique in that it is permanently situated within a
State’s boundaries. Indeed, without that characteristic, the
definition of “boundaries” would be rendered meaningless.
Thus, the Act, by forcing states to adopt the federal regulations
as their own (if the states prefer not to engage in that charade,
the federal government will simply supply its own regulations )
denies the states their traditional broad discretion to legislate
pursuant to the police power “‘so as to increase the industries of
the state, develop its resources, and add to its wealth and
prosperity.” Keller, 213 U.S. at 145.

In addition to the Act being unconstitutional, its provisions
disregard totally the economic realities of the land. The Act’s
Provisions are impossible for appellees to comply with and still
Stay in business. For example, the Act requires that steep slopes
shall be returned to their approximate original contour after
Surface mining. Ninety-five percent of Virginia’s strippable
coal is located on slopes in excess of 20 degrees. To return
those slopes to their Original contour is such an expensive
_ procedure that to do so gives mine operators the choice of either
operating at a loss or setting the price of the coal at a level
which makes it noncompetitive. Either way the result is the
same for surface mine operators—bankruptcy. Apparently
Congress decided to sacrifice the livelihood of persons involved
in surface coal mining and also the energy that coal would
produce for America in favor of turning appellees’ land into a

“ Congress provided that each state must adopt mandatory standards as
determined by the Secretary of the Interior if it wishes to continue to regulate
land used for surface coal mining. 30 U.S.C. § 1253.

8

hill museum. Moreover, as the District Court recognized, since
so much of Virginia’s terrain is mountainous, a great need exists
for level land to build schools, airports, industries, recreation
areas, shopping centers, and for farming.

Another provision of the Act prohibits surface coal mining
near roads, public buildings, schools, churches, public parks,
community buildings, and cemeteries. 30 U.S.C. § 1272(e).
This is a biatant example of the federal government exercising
the police power to regulate land use. It is also an example of
wrongful meddling by the federal government with an integral
state function—namely, the right to decide how its land shall be
used. This Court has firmly held that such federal involvement
with functions which are integral to state governments is
unconstitutional. In National League of Cities v. Usery, 426
U.S. 833 (1976), at issue similarly was the constitutionality of a
federal statute which regulated an integral state function.
Specifically, the statute was the Fair Labor Standards Act
which extended minimum wage and maximum hour provisions
to almost all employees of the states and their political subdivi-
sions. This Court held that Congress may not exercise its power
to regulate commerce so as to force directly upon the states its
choices as to how essential decisions regarding the conduct of
integral governmental functions are to be made. 426 USS. at
851.

Governmental functions such as fire prevention, police
protection, sanitation, public health, and parks and recreation
are among those the Court considered to be integral govern-
_mental functions best left to the states. However, this Court
also noted that those examples are not an exhaustive catalogue
of “activities which are well within the area of traditional
operations of state and local governments.” National League of
Cities, 426 U.S. at 851 n.16. PLF believes that land use
regulation is rightfully one of those traditional functions belon-
ging to the states. Certainly land use regulation has traditio-
nally been, and still is, a basic and essential governmental
function of the states and their political subdivisions. 426 U.S.
at 855. Indeed, if this Court were to make a finding that land

9

use regulation is not an integral state function, it would then be
difficult to conceive of a basis upon which any other functions
would still be reserved to the states.

THE SURFACE MINING CONTROL AND RECLAMA-
TION ACT REDUCES THE VALUE OF APPELLEES’
LAND SO SUBSTANTIALLY AS TO CONSTITUTE A
TAKING OF PRIVATE PROPERTY, REQUIRING THE
PAYMENT OF JUST COMPENSATION

A. Protection of Personal Rights In Property Against Govern-
ment Intrusion Is a Fundamental Precept of the Federal
Constitution

American political scientists and legal scholars have point-
ed to protection of personal rights in property as the fundamen-
tal motivation for adopting the Constitution.5 The express
constitutional restrictions on governmental interference with
private property have been augmented by judicial doctrine.6
This Court has stated unambiguously that the Fifth Amend-
ment’s guarantee that private property shall not be taken for
public use without just compensation (applicable to the states
through the Fourteenth Amendment) operates as a limitation
on the exercise of the police power. Goldblatt, 369 US. 590;
Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922).

5 See B. Siegan, Economic Liberties and the Constitution at chs. 2-4
_ (1980).

6 For example, nineteenth century jurists broadly construed the Contract
clause of the United States Constitution, Article I, Section 10, as a means of
protecting vested property rights against unjust government interference.
E.g., Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch) 87 (1810): Trustees of Dartmouth
College v. Woodward, 17 US. (4 Wheat) 518 (1819).

10

B. The General Law Regarding Eminent Domain 2nd the
Police Power Demonstrate that the Surface Mining Con-
trol and Reclamation Act’s Land Use Provisions Constitute
a Taking

Even assuming, arguendo, that the Act does not usurp the
states’ traditional police power over regulation of land use, this
Court should still affirm the District Court’s holding that the Act
so diminishes the economic value of appellees’ land as to
amount to a taking of property without compensation in
violation of the Fifth Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution. The Fifth Amendment forbids federal actions which
abridge property rights, stating that:

“[NJo person shall...be deprived of life, liberty or
property, without due process of law; nor shall private
property be taken for public use, without just com-
pensation.”

It is well settled by this Court that under the Fifth
Amendment, property owners have a personal right to the use
and enjoyment of their property without unlawful deprivation.
Thus, the Court held:

“{A] fundamental interdependence exists between the
personal right to liberty and the personal right in property.
Neither could have meaning without the other.” Lynch v.
Household Finance Corp., 405 U.S. 538, 552 (1972).

This includes the right to possess, use, and dispose of property.
United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373, 377-78
(1945).

Governmental restrictions on the unfettered use of one’s
property have occurred traditionally in either one of two
generally recognized ways. The first is through the power of
eminent domain, in which private property is taken by the
government to further a public purpose. When such takings
occur, the landowner is constitutionally entitled to just com-
pensation, and title passes to the government. See Boston
Chamber of Commerce v. Boston, 217 U.S. 189, 195 (1910).

1]

The second method by which the government restricts
private land use is through the exercise of the police power.’
This method arose initially out of attempts by the government
to curb noxious activities by the landowner that constituted a
nuisance. See Hadacheck y. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394 (1915).
However the police power has been expanded to include
regulation of other than noxious uses. See, e.g., Village of Belle
Terre v. Boraas, 416 US. | (1974) (upholding zoning ordi-
nance which limited the occupancy of one-family dwellings to
traditional families or to groups of not more than two unrelated
persons). However, constitutional limits on the exercise of the
police power do exist: such power cannot be exercised in a
manner which imposes either arbitrary, discriminatory, or
otherwise unreasonable restrictions on the use of one’s private
property. Nor can it impose restrictions which eliminate the
possibility of making any reasonably beneficial use of the

property.

The instant case presents the issue of whether a federal
Statute which so regulates appellees’ land as to render it
valueless constitutes an unlawful taking of appellees’ property
in violation of the Fifth Amendment. In an inverse con-
demnation case squarely on point, Pennsylvania Coal Co., 260
U.S. 393, this Court held that a restriction on the right to mine
coal amounted to a taking of Private property requiring the
payment of just compensation. The Court acknowledged that
the state was exercising its police power in order to promote
public safety when it prohibited the extraction of coal in a way
that caused subsidence of the surface. However, the Court held
that the regulation was too restrictive to be upheld, pointing out
that “‘a strong public desire to improve the public condition is
not enough to warrant achieving the desire by a shorter cut than
the Constitutional way of paying for the change.” Pennsylvania

’ For a discussion of the distinction between eminent domain and the
police power, see Sackman, The Impact of Zoning and Eminent Domain Upon
Each Other, 1971 Institute on Planning, Zoning and Eminent Domain 107,
110-111.

12

Coal Co., 260 U.S. at 416. Likewise, this case is before the
Court for a determination that restrictions on mining are
excessive, even though they were enacted to promote public
safety.

Sections 515(d) and (e) require reclamation of surface
mined lands, but those provisions do so in a manner which
prevents Virginia surface miners from mining because the costs
of reclaiming lands in accordance with the Act are prohibitive.
Section 522 goes a step further by denying the landowners the
right to decide whether or not to mine their land. It specifically
prohibits (rather than regulates) surface mining on certain
specified lands. Thus, this case, so analogous to the facts in
Pennsylvania Coal Co., deserves the same outcome—namely,
invalidation of the unconstitutional provisions until such time as
just compensation is paid.

Moreover, this Court has held that the right to mine coal is
valuable because it can be exercised for profit. Thus, “to make
it commercially impracticable to mine certain coal has very
nearly the same effect for constitutional purposes as appropria-
ting it or destroying it.” Pennsylvania Coal Co., 260 U.S. at 414.
The District Court found, after a 13-day trial, that the Act
makes it commercially impracticable to surface mine coal in
Virginia. This Court should accept the District Court’s findings
and apply the holding in Pennsylvania Coal Co. to this case to
find that Sections 515(d) and (e) and Section 522 of the Act
constitute a taking.

This Court has stated that it is proceeding on a case by case
‘basis in inverse condemnation cases to determine when a
compensable taking has occurred. Penn Central Transportation
Co. v. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104 (1978). In Penn Central
Transportation Co., Penn Central was prohibited from devel-
oping the air space above the Grand Central Terminal pursuant
to New York City’s Landmarks Preservation Law. The Court,
in holding that there was not a taking, stated that Penn Central
had not been denied all reasonable use of the property.

By contrast, appellees are deprived of virtually all reason-
able use of their property. The only reasonable use for
appellees’ land is to remove and utilize the mineral wealth by

13

surface mining it. However, surface mining triggers the recla-
mation provisions of the Act which make it economic suicide to
proceed. Furthermore, the Act prohibits all surface mining in
certain specified areas. Thus, appellees cannot settle simply for
less profit as the plaintiff in Penn Central Transportation Co.
did. (Penn Central still maintained a profit from Grand
Central Terminal.) Instead, appellees’ land, so rich in mineral
wealth, is virtually valueless since the coal is marketable only
when removed from the ground.

Furthermore, in Kaiser Aetna vy. United States, 444 US.
164 (1979), this Court recently expanded its dicta from Penn
Central Transportation Co. that a state Statute which substan-
tially furthers public policies may so frustrate distinct
investment-backed expectations as to amount to a “taking.” In
Kaiser Aetna, a private developer in Hawaii converted an
inland pond contiguous to a navigable bay into a marina by
dredge and fill operations that connected the pond to the bay.
The United States Army Corps of Engineers (Corps) allowed
the construction of the marina without requiring a permit.
Later, the Corps contended that the developer was precluded
from denying the public access to the pond because, as a result
of the improvements, the pond had become a navigable water
of the United States. This Court held that the former pond
constituted navigable water subject to federal regulatory au-
thority. However, the Court concluded that the Fifth Amend-
ment’s Taking Clause precluded the federal government from
creating a public right of access to the pond, without com-
pensating the owner.

In examining the “taking” question, the Court identified
several factors of particular significance—the economic impact
of the regulation, its interference with reasonable investment-
backed expectations, and the character of the governmental
action. By applying those factors to appellees’ situation, it is
clear that their investment-backed expectations are thoroughly
dashed by the Act’s provisions and therefore a taking has
occurred. Due to the Act’s reclamation provisions and total
prohibitions from mining in certain areas, appellees are unable
to mine coal profitably, if at all. The severe economic impact of

14

the Act upon mine operators was shown unquestionably during
the District Court trial. Indeed, the Act is so restrictive that it
goes beyond the legitimate exercise of the police power to
regulate for the public health, safety, and welfare. Thus, it
requires that just compensation be paid to appellees or that the
Act be invalidated. As the Court has previously announced, the
Just Compensation Clause of the Fifth Amendment is intended
to

“bar Government from forcing some people alone to bear
public burdens which, in all fairness and justice, should be
borne by the public as a whole.” Armstrong v. United
States, 364 U.S. 40, 49 (1960).

15
CONCLUSION

PLF respectfully submits that the District Court properly
found that: (1) Sections 515(d) and (e) of the Surface Mining
Control and Reclamation Act violate the Tenth Amendment to
the Constitution by depriving the states of their traditional
power to regulate their land, and thus their economy; and (2)
Sections 515(d) and ( €) and Section 522 of the Act diminish
the economic value of appellees’ coal bearing land so drasti-
cally as to amount to a taking of property without just
compensation in violation of the Fifth Amendment to the
Constitution. Thus, the District Court’s ruling that those
sections are invalid should be upheld. Such a ruling would
allow a sharp increase in America’s use of domestic sources of
energy and, in turn, decrease our reliance on foreign supplies
which are subject to interruption, cutoff, and rapidly spiraling
prices. Increasing our energy self-sufficiency will benefit all
segments of American society; it will help our balance of
payments, lessen inflationary pressures, decrease the rate of
unemployment, and make our country more secure strate-
gically.

Respectfully submitted,

RONALD A. ZUMBRUN
Pacific Legal Foundation
455 Capitol Mall, Suite 600
Sacramento, California 95814
Telephone: (916) 444-0154

RAYMOND M. MoMBOISSE
COUNSEL OF RECORD

EILEEN B. WHITE
Pacific Legal Foundation
1990 M Street, N.W., Suite 550
Washington, D.C. 20036
Telephone: (202) 466-2686

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Pacific Legal Foundation

December, 1980

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2241%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
