# Opposition — City of Los Angeles v. Greater Westchester Homeowners Ass'n

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2215%3A02

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 449 U.S. 820

## Text

IN THE

it fs

October Term, 1979
No. 79-1406

City OF Los ANGELES, a municipal corporation,
Petitioner,
VS.
GREATER WESTCHESTER HOMEOWNERS ASSOCIATION, etc.,
et al.,
Respondents.

Respondents’ Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ
of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of California.

ALVIN G. GREENWALD,
GREENWALD AND GREENWALD,
6300 Wilshire Boulevard,
Los Angeles, Calif. 90048,

(213) 653-3973,

JERROLD A. FADEM,

MICHAEL M. BERGER,

FADEM, BERGER & NORTON,
501 Santa Monica Boulevard,
P.O. Box 2148,

Santa Monica, Calif. 90406,
(213) 451-9951,
Attorneys for Respondents.

Parker & Son, Inc., Law Printers, Los Angeles. Phone 724-6622

SUBJECT INDEX

Page
ND AREIERR ect EER ap er me Pe agree 2
Additiona! Statutes and Regulations Involved........ 2
NE Or Tn I on in < ed ra aa pe Sada cee ae 3
Reasons Why the Writ Should Be Denied .......... 6

|
Damage Actions Are Not ‘‘Federally Pre-empted’’.
Federal Statutes Expressly Authorize the Type of
Common Law Action at Bench ............... 6

2
All Branches of the Federal Government—

Legislative, Executive and Judicial—Have Re-
peatedly Re-affirmed the Power of Airport
Operators to Control Aircraft Noise............ 9

CN SS ooo ee ag ne ore ee 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page
Air Transport Assn. v. Crotti (N.D. Cal. 1975) 389
NR MN i 92s ae Sigs tas ky a} ape Wo owed 13, 15
British Airways Bd. v. Port Authority (2d Cir. 1977) 558
eS rele hb ol SNe ae URS Bh ee KE 12, 16
British Airways Bd. v. Port Authority (2d Cir. 1977) 564
ae Pa Wicks v CaN cn oA 456 5a 8 nee 12
City of Blue Ash v. McLucas (6th Cir. 1979) 596 F.2d
Pere a Sane one ty greene Ore aS See 12
City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc. (1973)
Oe Cee Ss cares ch anew sess 4 o 33, 43, 5
City of Inglewood v. City of Los Angeles (9th Cir. 1971)
ee ee ES oh ca aae ce ie a ee ied ake 94 65 00.4 7
Farmer v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters (1977) 430
Se Ne ee Nie ag Soins es waa ok ws 8
Griggs v. Allegheny County (1962) 369 U.S. 84 .... 3
Luedtke v. County of Milwaukee (E.D. Wis. 1974) 371
F.Supp. 1040, aff’d (7th Cir. 1975) 521 F.2d 387 . 8
Miree v. Dekalb County (1977) 433 U.S. 25........ 7
Nader v. Allegheny Airlines, Inc. (1976) 426 U.S. 290 8
National Aviation v. City of Hayward (N.D. Cal. 1976)
RT EET Shia a eens Peake wees 12, 13
Port of New York Authority v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc.
(6.D.N.¢. 1966) 259 F.Sapp. 145 2. cece eee 12
San Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon (1959) 359
aches Mae hiaa Mas pee oe hak eee PA a. 8
San Diego Unified Port Dist. v. Gianturco (S.D. Cal.
PPE ee FN Bs aS Nake aes ence ses e's 13
Schwartz v.. Texas (1952) 344 U.S. 199 ........... 6

ill

Page

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Carpenters (1978) 436 U.S.
ah Picked dnok suse oebkn eee Cues 8

United Construction Workers v. Laburnum Constr.
eee ek es eran 8

Miscellaneous

FAA, Aviation Noise Abatement Policy (Nov. 18, 1976)

Eee ee Oe e eT Tee OT Te ts 14, 15
Federal Register
43 Federal Register, p. ZO417 .. 2... ccc cc ccccces 14
44 Federal Register, pp. 9949, 9951 ............. . ii
Regulations
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 14, Sec. 36.5.3, 5, 10
Statutes

Airline Deregulation Act of 1978, 49 U.S.C. Sec.
DIE od Go geet Ode orion Cag mes bale 10, 11

Airport and Airway Development Act of 1970, 49
eg es EE a 6 be k 52 obeea ewan GS 7
California Constitution, Art. I, Sec. 1 ............. 9

Clean Air Amendments of 1970, 42 U.S.C., Sec.
MO, Van aks 8 kes aaa wee Lee 7

Federal Aviation Act of 1958, 49 U.S.C., Secs. 1301-
SEE Eee Tee oO er, eek woe. 7
Noise Control Act of 1972, 42 U.S.C, Sec. 4901(a)(3) 10
Noise Control Act of 1972, 49 U.S.C., Sec. 1431 ... 7
United States Code, Title 42, Sec. 7604(e) ....... a
United States Code, Title 49, Sec. 1305(b)(1) ..... a 2

United States Code, Title 49, Sec. 1506...1, 2, 7, 8, 17

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1979
No.79-1406

City OF Los ANGELES, a municipal corporation,
Petitioner,
vs.
GREATER WESTCHESTER HOMEOWNERS ASSOCIATION, etc.,
et al.,
Respondents.

Respondents’ Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ
of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of California.

The Respondents Greater Westchester Homeowners As-
sociation, et al. (hereafter, the Homeowners), forty-one
neighbors of Los Angeles International Airport who were
awarded damages because of the injurious way in which the
City of Los Angeles operates its airport, respectfully request
this Court to deny the petition for writ of certiorari.

In applying settled federal law, the California Supreme
_ Court (which unanimously reached the same conclusion as
the Superior Court and the Court of Appeal) simply held
a tortfeasor accountable for the consequences of its own
conduct. The City’s petition ignores its own causative role
in the Homeowners’ injuries. The California Supreme Court
did not (see 26 Cal.3d at 98-99). The City’s petition also
ignores express Congressional preservation of suits such as
this (49 U.S.C. $1506).

sntih ate

Question Presented.

(a) Where Congress, the Department of Transportation,
the FAA, the CAB and the federal judiciary have repeatedly
and consistently declared that airport operators have the
power to enact regulations to control noise generated by
aircraft using their facilities, and

(b) where Congress expressly says that—notwithstand-
ing its extensive federal regulatory scheme—common law
actions may coexist harmoniously with the federal regula-
tions, then

Question: is it proper for a court to determine that an
airport operator’s failure to properly exercise its noise con-
trol power renders the operator liable to its neighbors for
damage caused by such failure?

Additional Statutes and Regulations Involved.

The following pertinent statutes and regulations are not
cited or quoted in the petition.

49 U.S.C. §1506:

‘*Nothing contained in this chapter shall in any way
abridge or alter the remedies now existing at common
law or by statute, but the provisions of this chapter are
in addition to such remedies.’’

42 U.S.C. §7604(e):

**Nothing in this section shall restrict any right which
any person (or class of persons) may have under any
statute or common law to seek enforcement of any
emission standard or limitation or to seek any other
relief (including relief against the Administrator or a
State agency).”’

49 U.S.C. §1305(b)(1):

‘*Nothing in subsection (a) of this section shall be
construed to limit the authority of any State or political

oe

subdivision thereof or any interstate agency or other
political agency of two or more States as the owner or
operator of an airport served by any air carrier certif-
icated by the Board to exercise its proprietary powers
and rights.’’ (Section 105[b][1]; emphasis added.)

14 C.F.R. §36.5:

‘**Pursuant to 49 U.S.C. 1421(b)(4), the noise levels
in this part have been determined to be as low as is
economically reasonable, technologically practicable,
and appropriate to the type of aircraft to which they
apply. No determination was made, under this part,
that these noise levels are or should be acceptable for
operation at, into, or out of any airport.”’

Statement of the Case.

The City’s factual presentation lacks candor. It fails to
present to this Court the factual basis for the California
Supreme Court’s decision.

This suit seeks to have an airport operator accept the
financial responsibility for the consequences of operating
its airport in the manner it has chosen.

As the City acknowledges, this Court has established that
airport operators are liable for property damage caused by
, the noise of aircraft in flight. (Griggs v. Allegheny County
[1962] 369 U.S. 84.) The Griggs rule is not directly chal-
lenged by the City. But its rationale is sub silentio called
in question. The airport operator was held liable in Griggs
because of the operator’s choice of location, failure to ac-
quire buffer zones, and similar decisions which combined
to cause injury to nearby property.

The City’s petition opts for a neutron bomb approach:
i.e., the City acknowledges its duty to protect property, but
feels no responsibility for the people who live on the prop-
erty. Every level of California court expressly repudiated

aie ea

such an “‘ignore the people’’ approach (26 Cal.3d at 98).
It is no more persuasive this fourth time around.

The City does not challenge the sufficiency of the evi-
dence to sustain the judgment. That evidence demonstrated
the anguish suffered by the Homeowners because of the
way in which the City conducts its airport operations.

The trial court summed up the evidence as follows:

**The testimony of the plaintiffs as to the effects
suffered by them from the aircraft noise . . . estab-
lished that the jet aircraft noise interfered with person- ~
to-person conversation in the home, with the aility
to engage in normal telephonic communication, with
the ability to enjoy the use of the out-of-doors’ portion
of their property and with the ability to hear and enjoy
television programs; that such noise caused frequent
arousal from sleep and, in some cases, interfered with
the ability to engage in or to enjoy sexual relations.
With respect to family members of school age, the
testimony was to the effect that the jet aircraft noise
interfered with the ability to study in the home.’’ (Pet.,
App. C, p. 59).

**The defendant City’s acts of permitting jet aircraft
to use the runways of the Los Angeles International
Airport and emit the kind of noise which is injurious
to health or offensive to the senses so as to interfere
with plaintiffs’ comfortable enjoyment of their homes
constitute a method and manner of operating said Air-
port that creates a nuisance for which the defendant
City becomes liable in damages.’’ (Pet., App. C, p.
42).

Omitted entirely from the City’s factual statement is a
discussion of the acts of the City which caused the Home-

juigMiiss

owners’ injuries. Instead, the City prefers to place the blame
on **. . . aircraft in flight . . .’’ (Pet. 1, 2, 8, 12).

A fair presentation of the facts would have explained the
City’s active participation in the Homeowners’ injury. This
is discussed by the California Supreme Court, 26 Cal.3d
at 98-99. Suffice it to note at this point that it was the City
(not the pilots, the airlines or any other government agency)
that chose where to locate the airport, designed the airport,
decided on the location and direction of the runways, de-
cided how much neighboring property to acquire as a buffer
area, refused to institute noise control procedures and as-
siduously sought huge federal grants to expand its number
of jet operations without thought about the impact of the
increased use on its neighbors.

Although the airlines and aircraft using the airport possess
various certificates from the FAA and the CAB, none of
these certificates either authorizes or requires their use in
local situations where they may cause injury. Indeed, such
authorization is expressly disclaimed. E.g., while the FAA
certifies aircraft for use, its regulations warn:

**Pursuant to 49 U.S.C. 1421(b)(4), the noise levels
in this part have been determined to be as low as is
economically reasonable, technologically practicable,
and appropriate to the type of aircraft to which they
apply. No determination was made, under this part,
that these noise levels are or should be acceptable for
operation at, into, or out of any airport.’’ (14 C.F.R.
$36.5; emphasis added.)

Contrary to what one would conclude from the City’s
factual presentation, this suit asks the City to account for
its own actions.

That is all the judgment does.

iain,

REASONS WHY THE WRIT
SHOULD BE DENIED.

1

Damage Actions Are Not ‘‘Federally Pre-empted”’.
Federal Statutes Expressly Authorize the Type of
Common Law Action at Bench.

The City’s assertion that the Homeowners’ damages are
somehow ‘‘federally pre-empted’’ is puzzling. The federal
statutes dealing with aviation demonstrate the contrary.

Determining congressional intent to pre-empt or not
preempt is fundamental. It is intent which this Court has
repeatedly held to be determinative.

In Schwartz v. Texas (1952) 344 U.S. 199, 202, 203,
this Court stated:

“*If Congress is authorized to act in a field, it should
manifest its intention clearly. It will not be presumed
that a federal statute was intended to supersede the
exercise of the power of the state unless there is a clear
manifestation of intention to do so. The exercise of
federal supremacy is not lightly to be presumed.

‘*The principle thus applicable has been frequently
stated. It is that the Congress may circumscribe its
“ regulation and occupy a limited field, and that the in-
tention to supersede the exercise by the State of its
authority as to matters not covered by the federal leg-
islation is not to be implied unless the Act of Congress
fairly interpreted is in conflict with the law of the State.
[citations]’’ (Emphasis added.)
Well, then, what’s the situation at bench? Did Congress
intend a total pre-emption? Or, was its goal more limited?

Congress has enacted four groups of statutes regulating
aviation. Each of them preserves damage actions.

a, Om

The Federal Aviation Act of 1958, 49 U.S.C. §§1301-
1542 is the most pervasive. It occupies chapter 20 of Title
49 of the United States Code, and governs the CAB as well
as the FAA, and economic as well as safety and noise
regulation of civil aviation.

Notwithstanding this extensive regulation, 49 U.S.C.
§1506 expressly permits common law suits such as the
Homeowners’:

**Nothing contained in this chapter shall in any way
abridge or alter the remedies now existing at common
law or by statute, but the provisions of this chapter are
in addition to such remedies.’’ (Emphasis added.)

The Airport and Airway Development Act of 1970 (49
U.S.C. §§1701-1742) has been held expressly enforceable
by airport neighbors in suits against airport operators. City
of Inglewood v. City of Los Angeles (9th Cir. 1971) 451
F.2d 948, 955-956. See also Miree v. Dekalb County (1977)
433 U.S. 25.

The Clean Air Amendments of 1970 also expressly permit
suits by private citizens (42 U.S.C. §7604|e}):

**Nothing in iis section shall restrict any right which
any person (or class of persons) may have under any
Statute or common law to seek enforcement of any
emission standard or limitation or to seek any other
relief (including relief against the Administrator or a
State agency).’’ (Emphasis added.)

This is relevant because a jet’s black trail of exhaust emis-
sions, fumes and sooty fallout, are significant parts of the
injury to the Homeowners.

The aviation provisions of the Noise Control Act of 1972,
49 U.S.C. $1431, are codified as part of chapter 20 of Title
49 U.S.C. They are thus subject to 49 U.S.C. $1506 quoted
above.

= 2s

Indeed, this Court recently confirmed the propriety of
private, common law actions affecting aviation, though sub-
ject to exclusive federal (CAB) regulation. See Nader v.
Allegheny Airlines, Inc. (1976) 426 U.S. 290, 298-300.

Thus, assuming arguendo that Congress had an intent
that local regulation of flights be ‘‘pre-empted’’, private
actions for damages are permitted for adverse consequences
of the regulated (flight) activity."

This Court recently dealt with a similar problem (also
arising i California) under the National Labor Relations
Act. In Farmer v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters (1977)
430 U.S. 290, this Court vacated the judgment of a Cali-
fornia Court of Appeal and held that the National Labor
Relations Act did not pre-empt the right of a union member
to sue a union for tort in state court. In upholding the
individual’s right to maintain common law, state court suits
in a Federally regulated area, this Court emphasized the
state’s interest in protecting its citizens from tortious injury,
and the concurrent lack of Federal interest in protecting
tortious conduct from redress (430 U.S. at 299-303.)
(Likewise, see Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Carpenters (1978)
436 U.S. 180, 194-198; United Construction Workers v.
Laburnum Constr. Corp. (1954) 347 U.S. 656, 663-664.)

'In Luedtke v. County of Milwaukee (E.D. Wis. 1974) 371 F.Supp.
1040, aff'd, (7th Cir. 1975) 521 F.2d 387 (cited in the Petition), the
U.S. District Court dismissed the action against the airport operator on
the ground that the state court was the appropriate forum for trying all
claims—including claims for punitive damages (see 371 F.Supp. at
1044). That is hardly authority for dismissing a state court cause of
action. Indeed, it appears to be the contrary.

That is why the City’s reliance on San Diego Bldg. Trades Council
v. Garmon (1959) 359 U.S. 236, is misplaced. Garmon dealt with a
field almost totally pre-empted. That is not so here. But even in Gar-
mon’'s field (labor relations) this Court has consistently recognized
exceptions and permitted common law tort suits. And recall that in the
aviation context, there is express recognition of such suits (49 U.S.C.
§1506) which is absent in labor law.

ee

The same is true here. California courts have both a
Constitutional mandate (Cal. Const., Art.1, $1) and legit-
imate interest in protecting Californians from tortious injury
inflicted by jet noise and air pollution. Likewise, though
Congress has sought to foster aviation, it does not condone
nor require operation of jet airports in such a manner or
location that injury is inflicted on their neighbors. Quite the
contrary. As discussed below, the position of the Federal
government has been consistent and clear: it is the respon-
sibility of each airport operator to ensure that its airport is
operated under such local regulations as will avoid injury
to nearby people and property—even if that means excluding
noisy aircraft.

2

All Branches of the Federal Government—Legis-
lative, Executive and Judicial—Have Repeatedly
Re-affirmed the Power of Airport Operators to
Control Aircraft Noise.

It is startling that the City’s petition seeks to create the
impression that the Federal government has so occupied the
field that no room is left for airport operators—acting as
proprietors—to control what happens at their own facilities.
The City is able to so assert only by mis-stating the holding
in the authority it does cite (City of Burbank v. Lockheed
Air Terminal, Inc. [1973] 411 U.S. 624), * and by omitting
any but the most oblique reference’ to the continuous state-

*Burbank involved police power regulation by the city in which an
airport was located. It did not involve the power of an airport proprietor.

See Pet. 14 where, without noting the conflict with the sweeping
generalities presented elsewhere in the petition, the City says:

**Petitioner is not unmindful of the progeny of Burbank, which
recognize the power of an airport proprietor to impose reasonable
and nondiscriminatory airport use restrictions which do not create
a burden on interstate commerce.”’

Candor would seem to call for a discussion of—or at least a citation
to—‘*. . . the progeny of Burbank . . .”’

ensieliinss

ments to the contrary by the federal judiciary, Congress,
the Department of Transportation, the FAA and the CAB.
The California Supreme Court was not taken in by the City’s
evasion-of-contrary-authority ploy. The decision below sim-
ply applies settled federal law.

First. While attempting to provide federal impetus to
control noise, Congress has consistently recognized the role
of local government.

The Noise Control Act of 1972 provides:

**(3) that, while primary responsibility for control
of noise rests with State and local governments, Federal
action is essential to deal with major noise sources in
commerce control of which require national uniformity
of treatment.’’ (42 U.S.C. §4901[a][3]; emphasis
added.)

With respect to aircraft noise, the federal role has been to
establish certification standards for types of aircraft (Federal
Aviation Regulations, part 36). But these FAA standards—
on their face—authorize more stringent regulation by air-
port operators:

‘*Pursuant to 49 U.S.C. 1421(b)(4), the noise levels
in this part have been determined to be as low as is
economically reasonable, technologically practicable,
and appropriate to the type of aircraft to which they
apply. No determination was made, under this part,
that these noise levels are or should be acceptable for
operation at, into, or out of any airport.’’ (14 C.F.R.
§36.5; emphasis added.)

Moreover, the Airline Deregulation Act of 1978 provides:

‘*Nothing in subsection (a) of this section shall be
construed to limit the authority of any State or political
subdivision thereof or any interstate agency or other
political agency of two or more States as the owner

or operator of an airport served by any air carrier
certificated by the Board to exercise its proprietary
powers and rights.’’ (49 U.S.C. §1305[b][ 1]; emphasis
added. )

The CAB reads this section as preserving the proprietary
rights historically enjoyed by airport operators. In its initial
statement of policy under the Act (Feb. 7, 1979), the CAB
said:

**. . . State and local authorities may continue to ex-
ercise their proprietary powers and rights as owners or
operators of airports served by federally certificated air

carriers.”’ (44 Fed. Reg. 9949.)

**Finally, we conclude that Congress has not changed
the status quo with respect to the rights and powers of
local governments to take certain actions in their ca-
pacity as airport owners and proprietors under case
law. See, City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal,
Inc. 411 U.S. 624, 635, n.14 (1973).’’ (44 Fed. Reg.
9951.)

Congress has recognized the proprietary power of airport
operators to control noise, and the CAB and FAA acknowl-
edge that power.

Second. The Courts have confirmed this power. In the
Concorde controversy, the Second Circuit Court of Appeals
put it this way:

‘*The task of protecting the local population from
airport noise, however, has fallen to the agency, usu-
ally of local government, that owns and operates the
airfield. Air Transport Ass'n v. Crotti, 389 F.Supp.
58 [ND Cal. 1975] (three judge court); National Avia-
tion v. City of Hayward, 418 F.Supp. 417 (ND Cal.
1976). It seemed fair to assume that the proprietor’s
intimate knowledge of local conditions, as well as his

ak

ability to acquire property and air easements and assure
compatible land use, cf. Griggs v. Allegheny County,
369 U.S. 84, 82 S.Ct. 531, 7 L.Ed. 585 (1962), would
result in a rational weighing of the costs and benefits
of proposed service. Congress has consistently reaf-
firmed its commitment to this two-tiered scheme, and
both the Supreme Court and executive branch have
recognized the important role of the airport proprietor
in developing noise abatement programs consonant
with local conditions.’’ (British Airways Bd. v. Port
Authority [2d Cir. 1977] 564 F.2d 1002, 1010-1011;
emphasis added. )

In what has become a famous footnote, this Court ap-
provingly quoted some legislative history in City of Burbank
v. Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc. (1973) 411 U.S. 624, 635,
fn. 14:

‘*The letter from the Secretary of Transportation also
expressed the view that the proposed legislation will
not affect the rights of a State or local public agency,
as the proprietor of an airport, from issuing regulations
or establishing requirements as to the permissible level
of noise which can be created by aircraft using the
airport. Airport owners acting as proprietors can pres-
ently deny the use of their airports to aircraft on the
basis of noise considerations so long as such exclusion
is nondiscriminatory ... This portion as well was
quoted with approval in the Senate Report.’’ (Emphasis
added. )

The Burbank rule has been applied repeatedly by the

federal courts.” E.g., in National Aviation v. City of Hay-
ward (N.D. Cal. 1976) 418 F.Supp. 417, 424:

‘In addition to the cases quoted in the text, see British Airways Bd.
v. Port Authority (2d Cir.1977) 558 F.2d 75, 81-82; City of Blue Ash
v. McLucas (6th Cir. 1979) 596 F.2d 709, 712: cf. Port of New York
Authority v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc. (E.D. N.Y. 1966) 259 F.Supp.
745, 751-757.

es Oa

‘*Accordingly, while the Congressional purpose was
undoubtedly clear enough to the Burbank majority to
rule that a municipality’s police power regulations re-
garding aircraft noise at an airport, which it was not
the proprietor of, invaded an area exclusively reserved
for federal control, this court cannot, in light of the
clear Congressional statement that the amendments to
the Federal Aviation Act were not designed to and
would not ‘prevent airport proprietors from excluding
any aircraft on the basis of noise considerations,’ make
the same finding with respect to regulations adopted
by municipal airport proprietors.’’ (418 F.Supp. at
424; emphasis added; footnotes omitted.)

A three judge District Court explained it this way:

**It is now firmly established that the airport pro-
prietor is responsible for the consequences which attend
his operation of a public airport; his right to control
the use of the airport is a necessary concomitant,
whether it be directed by state police power or his own
initiative. . . . That correlating right of proprietorship
control is recognized and exempted form judicially
declared preemption by footnote 14.’’ (Air Transport
Assn. v. Crotti [N.D. Cal. 1975] 389 F.Supp. 58, 63-
64 emphasis added.)

Another court aptly summed it up:

‘*The courts recognize that an airport proprietor may
restrict the use of its facilities on the basis of noise
considerations without running afoul of the preemption
doctrine. [Citations]’’ (San Diego Unified Port Dist.
v. Gianturco [S.D. Cal. 1975] 457 F.Supp. 283, 291.)

The federal judiciary has thus repeatedly and unequivo-
cally confirmed the power of airport proprietors.

po Wee

Finally. The executive branch has repeatedly acknowl-
edged the scope of proprietor power. As the FAA summed
it up in June, 1978:

‘*Congress has the power under the Constitution to
regulate the operations of airports for noise abatement
purposes, but it has chosen not to do so. This congres-
sional policy leaves airport proprietors responsible for
the regulation of their airports for noise abatement
purposes. The proprietors may issue noise-related air-
port use restrictions that are not unjustly discriminatory
and do not impose an undue burden on interstate or
foreign commerce. The Chicago Convention and bi-
lateral air services agreements do not alter this basic
feature of American aviation law.’’ (43 Fed. Reg.
28417; emphasis added.)

‘*‘This recognition of the unique capacity and re-
sponsibility of the airport proprietor to effect a ‘rational
weighing of the costs and benefits of proposed service’
is the foundation of the ‘local option’ policy underlying
FAA noise abatement rulemaking since part 36 was
originally issued in 1969.’’ (43 Fed. Reg. 28417.)

This recent statement confirmed a November, 1976 FAA

policy decision (FAA, Aviation Noise Abatement Policy
[Nov. 18, 1976]):

‘Our concept of the legal framework underlying this
policy statement is that proprietors retain the flexibility
to impose such restrictions if they do not violate any
Constitutional proscription. We have been urged to
undertake—and have considered carefully and re-
jected—full and complete federal preemption of ihe
field of aviation noise abatement. In our judgment the
control and reduction of airport noise must remain a
shared responsibility among airport proprietors, users,

and governments.”’ (p. 34; emphasis added.)
‘The primary obligation to address the airport noise
problem always has been and remains a local respon-
sibility.”’ (p. 2)
In 1975, the Crotti court quoted the FAA as follows (389
F.Supp. at 64):

‘*The preamble to 14 C.F.R., Part 36, emphasizes
that local air proprietors have the responsibility for
determining the permissible noise levels for aircraft
using their airport:

*** Compliance with Part 36 is not to be construed as
a Federal determination that the aircraft is ‘‘accepta-
ble,’’ from a noise standpoint, in particular airport
environments. Responsibility for determining the per-
missible noise levels for aircraft using an airport re-
mains with the proprietor of that airport. The noise
limits specified in Part 36 are the technologically prac-
ticable and economically reasonable limits of aircraft
noise reduction technology at the time of type certi-
fication and are not intended to substitute federally
determined noise levels for those more restrictive limits
determined to be necessary by individual airport pro-
prietors in response to the locally determined desire
for quiet and the locally determined need for the ben-
efits of air commerce’; . . .”” (Emphasis added.)

In 1973, this Court—in Burbank—quoted a letter from
the Secretary of Transportation (the FAA is within the De-
partment of Transportation). The letter had been approv-
ingly quoted in House and Senate reports (411 U.S. at 635,
fn. 14):

‘‘the proposed legislation will not affect the rights of
a State or local public agency, as the proprietor of an
airport, from issuing regulations or establishing re-

pe EB

quirements as to the permissible level of noise which
can be created by aircraft using the airport. Airport
owners acting as proprietors can presently deny the
use of their airports to aircraft on the basis of noise
considerations so long as such exclusion is nondiscrim-
inatory.”’ (Emphasis by the Court.)
This acknowledgment has consistently been made by the
executive branch in litigation.
For example, in the Concorde litigation, the Court of
Appeals said:

**In response to our request, the United States filed
an amicus brief in which it urged that Secretary Cole-
man’s order was never intended to deprive the Port
Authority of the right to condition utilization of the
facilities at JFK on the Concorde’s compliance with
reasonable noise regulations. The Government, indeed,
went further, and denied that existing legislation au-
thorized the Executive under any circumstances to
preempt airport proprietors from promulgating their
own noise regulations.

‘*This conclusive statement of the United States po-
sition confirms our independent assessment of the pub-
lic record.’’ (British Airways Bd. v. Port Authority
[2d Cir. 1977] 558 F.2d 75, 81-82; emphasis added.)

In short, the legislative, executive and judicial branches
of the federal government have repeatedly and consistently
acknowledged the regulatory power of airport proprietors.

The California courts imposed liability because of the
City’s mis-use and non-use of its own power. Contrary to
the City’s petition, that is what this case is all about. It has
nothing to do with anyone other than the City ‘‘regulating”’

ae, Oe

the airport. The City has been held accountable for the way
it has used and abused its power. Courts have done that for
centuries.

Conclusjon.

Factually, the petition ignores the City’s active partici-
pation in the Homeowners’ injury.

Legally, the petition ignores most of the pertinent au-
thorities, and either over-simplifies, over-states or mis-states
the few authorities it cites.

The California Supreme Court merely held a tortfeasor
accountable for its own actions. That is clearly in line with
the Congressional design. That is why Congress expressly
preserved common law forms of action (49 U.S.C. $1506)
at the time it adopted the extensive federal regulatory format.
There is no need to disturb the judgment of the California

courts. The Respondents pray that the petition be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ALVIN G. GREENWALD,
DOROTHY THOMPSON,
GREENWALD AND GREENWALD,

JERROLD A. FADEM,

MICHAEL M. BERGER,

FADEM, BERGER & NORTON,
By MICHAEL M. BERGER,

Attorneys for Respondents, Greater West-
chester Homeowners Assn., et al.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2215%3A02. Public record. Not legal advice.
