# Petition — Akron v. Akron Center for Reproductive Health, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2149%3A01

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 462 U.S. 416

## Text

Office «Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

S1-700 |. oe

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,
CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1981
No.

CITY OF AKRON, Ae
Petitioner,
-US-
AKRON CENTER FOR
REPRODUCTIVE

HEALTH, INC., et al.,
Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

ROBERT D. PRITT
Director of Law

City of Akron

166 South High Street
Akron, OH 44308
216-375-2031

Attorney For Petitioner

-QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the state's interest in maternal
health and wellbeing is such that it may regulate
abortion in a reasonable manner which is not unduly
burdensome, even during the first trimester of
pregnancy.

2. Whether a child under the age of fifteen
years can be required to obtain the consent of one
parent or her legal guardian or a court order
authorizing the minor to consent to an abortion.

3. Whether the state can require the physician
personally to inform the woman of facts relating to
her pregnancy, the abortion procedure, fetal
development, and agencies available to assist her.

4, Whether the state can require the physician
personally to counsel the patient with respect to the
risks and technique of the abortion prior to
performing the abortion.

5. Whether the state can require a waiting
period of twenty-four hours between the signing of an
informed-consent form and the performance of an
abortion.

6. Whether the term "humane" as it relates to
the disposal of fetuses in Section 1870.16 is void for
vagueness, and if so, whether the term is severable
from the balance of the section in accordance with
City Council's express intent that the provision be
severable.

-ji-

PARTIES
Petitioner, the City of Akron, was Defendant

below along with John Ballard, Mayor; Dr. C. William
Keck, Director of Public Health; and Peter Oldham,
Prosecutor. Co-Defendants in the trial court were
Dr. Francois Seguin and Mrs. Kathleen Black who
were permitted to intervene "in their individual
capacity as parents of unmarried daughters of child-
bearing age" and who were permitted to appear as
amici. curiae on all issues in the case. The
Respondents in this litigation are Akron Center for
Reproductive Health, Inc.; Akron Women's Clinic,
Inc.; Womencare, Inc.; and Dr. Bliss, a physician who
had worked in one of the abortion clinics and who
claimed to represent the rights of clinic patients who
desired abortions.

=~

Questions Presented
Parties

Table of Contents
Table of Authorities
Opinions Below
Jurisdiction

Statutory Provisions

Statement of the Case
Reasons for Granting the Writ

I,

THE RULING BELOW CONFLICTS
WITH THE DUE PROCESS STANDARD
APPLIED BY THIS COURT IN
DETERMINING THE CONSTI-
TUTIONALITY OF ABORTION
REGULATIONS IN THAT THE
APPELLATE COURT (A) FAILED TO
DETERMINE WHETHER THE
REGULATION WAS "UNDULY
BURDENSOME," AND (B) PROHIBITED
ALL DIRECT FIRST-TRIMESTER
REGULATION.

The Appellate Court failed’ to
determine whether the regulation was
"unduly burdensome."

The Court of Appeals erred _ in
prohibiting all direct regulation of
first-trimester abortions.

THE RULING BELOW CONFLICTS
WITH PRINCIPLES ENUNCIATED IN

IV.

TABLE OF CONTENTS (CONTINUED)

PRIOR DECISIONS OF THIS COURT
AS TO THE FACIAL
CONSTITUTIONALITY OF REQUIRING
PARENTAL OR JUDICIAL CONSENT

TO AN IMMATURE,
UNEMANCIPATED MINOR'S
ABORTION.

THE COURTS BELOW ERRED IN
RULING THAT SECTION 1870.06(B),
WHICH ENSURES THAT THE
CONSENT FOR AN ABORTION IS
TRULY INFORMED CONSENT, WAS
UNCONSTITUTIONAL.

The information required to be provided
by the attending physician in
accordance with Section 1870.06(B) is
accurate and is not unduly burdensome
on a pregnant woman's right to an
abortion.

Even if parts of Section 1279.06(b) were
unconstitutional, the courts below
failed to sever such subsections in
accordance with clear legislative
intent.

THE COURT OF APPEALS FAILED TO
RECOGNIZE THE STATE'S
LEGITIMATE INTEREST IN
PROTECTING THE WOMAN'S HEALTH
BY REQUIRING PHYSICIAN-PATIENT
COUNSELING PRIOR TO THE
PERFORMANCE OF AN ABORTION.

THE COURT OF APPEALS FAILED TO
RECOGNIZE THE STATE'S
LEGITIMATE INTEREST IN

Page

15

15

17

22

TABLE OF CONTENTS (CONTINUED)

PROTECTING THE WOMAN'S HEALTH
BY REQUIRING A TWENTY-FOUR-
HOUR WAITING PERIOD BETWEEN
THE SIGNING OF AN INFORMED-
CONSENT FORM AND THE
PERFORMANCE OF AN ABORTION.

THE TERM "HUMANE" AS USED IN
SECTION 1870.16 Is NOT
UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE, AND
EVEN IF IT WERE, IT SHOULD HAVE
BEEN SEVERED FROM THE BALANCE
OF THE SECTION IN ACCORDANCE
WITH THE LEGISLATIVE INTENT.

Conclusion

26

28
31

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Akron vy, Scalera, 135 Ohio St. 65,
19 N.E. 2d 279 (1939) 14

ird, 428 U.S. 132
(1976) 7, 8, 14, 15, 19, 27, 28
Bellotti v, Baird, 443 U.S.
622 (1979) 10, 13, 24
Buckley v, Valeo, 424 U.S, 1 (1976) 21
Champlin Refining Co. v. Corporation
Commission, 286 U.S. 210 (1932) 21, 30
Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379 (1979) ll, 24
Connecticut v. Menillo, 423 U.S. 9 (1975) 8, 9, 23
, 428 U.S.
901 (1976) 8, 9, 19, 29
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) 23
Harris v. McRae, 448 U.S. 297 (1980) 8, 10
450 U.S,___,

67 L. Ed. 2d 388 (1981) 8, 9, 14, 15, 18, 25, 27, 28
Lies v. Cleveland Ry. Co., 101 Ohio St. 162,
128 N.E. 73 (1920) 14
Maher vy. Roe, 432 U.S, 464 (1977) 7, 8, 16, 18, 19

Margaret S. v. Edwards, 488 F. Supp. 181
(E.D. La. 1980) 19

- vi -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (CONTINUED)
Page

Planned Parenthood v, Ashcroft, 483 F. Supp. 679,
(W.D. Mo. 1980) r'
Nos, 80-1130 and 80-1530 (8th Cir. July 8, 1981) 24

P

yv. Danforth, 428 U.S. 52 (1976)
6, 7, 8, 9, ll, 12, 19, 24, 27, 28

Planned Parenthood Assn. v. Fitzpatrick
401 F. Supp. 554 (1975), aff'd Franklin

v. Fitzpatrick, 428 U.S. 901 (1976) 19, 29, 30
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) 5, 6, 7, ll, 23, 24
Thone v. Womans Services, P.C,, ___U.S.

___, 69 L. Ed. 2d 414 (1981) 8, 9, 14, 15, 19, 25, 27
Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589 (1977) 7
Women's Community Health Center v. Cohen,

477 F. Supp. 542 (D. Me. 1979) 20

a v. Scott, 449 F. Supp. 1302
N.D. Il. 1978) 21

- vii -

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit, rendered on June 12, 1981, has been
reported as Akron Center for Reproductive Health,
Inc. v. City of Akron, 651 F. 2d 1198 (1981). The
opinion of the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Ohio, Eastern Division, rendered
on August 22, 1979, has been reported as Akron
Cente. for Reproductive Health, Inc. v. City of
Akron, 479 F. Supp. 1172 (N.D. Ohio 1979).

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit was entered on June 12, 1981. A
petition for rehearing was filed with the Court of
Appeals by the Petitioners, the Respondents, and the
Defendant-Intervenors. The Court of Appeals denied
all parties' petitions for rehearing. The Defendant-
Intervenors' petition for rehearing was denied on July
22, 1981. This petition for certiorari was filed within
ninety (90) days of that date. This Court's
jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section
1254(1).

- viii -

_STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United S ’
Section i

All persons born or naturalized in the United
States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United States and of the state wherein
they reside. No state shall make or enforce any law
which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of
citizens of the United States, nor shall any state
deprive any person of life, liberty or property without
due process of law; nor deny to any person within its
_jurisdietion the equal protection of the laws.

Ohio Constitution Art. XVIll, Section 3

Municipalities shall have authority to exercise
all powers of local self-government and to adopt and
enforce within their limits such local police, sanitary
and other similar regulations, as are not in conflict
with general laws.

Ohio Revised Code Chapter 215]
Ohio Rules of Juvenile Procedure
3 Ohio Admini my 370 -

(A) The fetus shall be disposed of in a humane
manner.

(B) No person shall experiment upon or sell
the product of human conception which is aborted.
Experiment does not include autopsies pursuant to
sections 313.13 and 2108.50 of the Revised Code.

Akron Ordinance No, 160-1978

- ix -

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Ordinance No, 160-1978 was enacted by the
Akron, Ohio, City Council on February 28, 1978, in
order to provide its citizens with the highest standard
of health care. The ordinance, which is set forth in
the Appendix, amended and supplemented Chapter
1870, entitled "Regulation of Abortions," of the
Codified Ordinances of The City of Akron.

In order to promote the health and safety of
women seeking abortions, the City Council enacted
the ordinance which sets forth a number of require-
ments relating to the performance of abortions. One
of the requirements, here in controversy, is that a
woinan prior to performance of the abortion give an
informed consent after consultation with her
physician, Section 1870.06(B) provides that "[i]n
order to insure that the consent for an abortion is
truly informed consent ... ," the attending physician
must inform every abortion patient of several
enumerated factors relating to a woman's condition
of pregnancy and to the unborn child.

Section 1870.06(C) requires that the attending
physician provide certain information to the woman
regarding the risks associated with her pregnancy and
the abortion technique to be employed as well as a
general description of tire medical instructions to be
followed subsequent to the abortion. In addition, any
other information which in the physician's judgment
is relevant to her decision to have an abortion or

she

} carry the pregnancy to term may be given. The
testimony at trial by physicians working for local
abortion clinics established that the physicians
themselves neither personally consult nor counsel
patients prior to an abortion. (Joint App. p. 544)!,
Rather, non-physician counselors provide such
services to a woman prior to her abortion. Several
physicians testified at trial that proper medical
practice required that a physician counsel the
woman, (Joint App. pp. 184, 661, 723-724).

Section 1870.07 of the ordinance requires that
there be a twenty-four-hour delay between the time
a woman signs the consent form required by Section
1870.06 and the abortion procedure. This section is
modified by a section which waives the twenty-four-
hour delay in the case of a medical emergency which
poses an immediate threat and grave risk to the life
or physical health of the pregnant woman. The
District Court found that this regulation did not
unduly burden the woman's decision and that it
furthered the important state interest of insuring
"that a woman's abortion decision is made after
careful consideration of all the facts applicable to
her particular situation." 479 F. Supp. at 1204,

Section 1870.05(B) provides that the consent of

1All citations to the record below are to the
Joint Appendix filed by counsel for the clinics, Dr.
Bliss, the parents, and the City of Akron with the
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.
-2-

one of her parents or her legal guardian must be
obtained prior to an abortion upon a pregnant girl
under the age of fifteen years, or, in the alternative,
a court may provide consent where the parent or
guardian is unavailable or refuses consent. State law
provides the procedure to be followed in such a
judicial proceeding.

Plaintiffs alleged jurisdiction in the District
Court under the First and Fourteenth Amendments to
the United States Constitution, 28 U.S.C. Section
1331, 28 U.S.C. Sections 1343(3) and 1343(4), 42 U.S.C.
Section 1983, and 28 U.S.C. Sections 2201 and 2202.

On April 19, 1978, an action challenging the
facial validity of Ordinance No. 160-1978 was
instituted. The ordinance was to have become effec-
tive May 1, 1978, but a preliminary injunction
restraining its enforcement was entered on April 27,
1978, by the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Ohio, the Honorable Leroy J.
Contie, Jr., presiding. A trial on the merits was held
September 5-21, 1978. A final decision on the merits
was rendered on August 22, 1979, holding Sections
1870.05, 1870.06(B), 1870.09, and 1870.16 of the
ordinance unconstitutional and permanently enjoining
the enforcement of those provisions.

On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit affirmed in part and reversed in
part the judgment of the District Court. The Court

-3-

of Appeals opinion, issued June 12, 1981, held Sections
1870.05(B), 1870.06(B), 1870.06(C), 1870.07, and 1870.16
unconstitutional (the District Court's finding that
Section 1870.09 was _ unconstitutional was _ not
appealed).

The Court of Appeals denied motions for
rehearing timeiy filed by the parties, and this
petition for writ of certiorari followed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE RULING BELOW CONFLICTS WITH THE
DUE PROCESS STANDARD APPLIED BY THIS
COURT IN DETERMINING THE CONSTI-
TUTIONALITY OF ABORTION REGULATIONS
IN THAT THE APPELLATE COURT (A)
FAILED TO DETERMINE WHETHER THE
REGULATION WAS "UNDULY
BURDENSOME," AND (B) PROHIBITED ALL
DIRECT FIRST-TRIMESTER REGULATION.

A. The Appellate Court failed to determine
whether the regulation was "unduly
burdensome."

Following this Court's decision of Roe v. Wade,

410 U.S, 113, 163 (1973), in which it was stated that the
"state's important and legitimate interest in the

health of the mother" became compelling at the end

of the first trimester of pregnancy, both State and
District Courts have periodically held any regulation
of first-trimester abortions to be impermissible.2

2s shown by the Court of Appeals holding that

"if a regulation resulted in a legally significant
impact or consequence on a first-trimester abortion
decision, it is invalid." 651 F, 2d at 1204,

«$=

Subsequent to Roe vy. Wade, however, this Court has
made clear that the states have the right to regulate
abortions performed during the first three months of
pregnancy so long as such regulation does not "unduly
burden" a woman's constitutionally-protected right to
have an abortion.

This permitted regulation of first-irimester
abortions first unfolded in Planned Parenthood of
Central Missouri v. Danforth, 428 U.S. 52 (1976),
wherein this Court upheld a state statute requiring
the informed written consent of a woman, in the first
trimester of pregnancy, and requiring certain
recordkeeping and reporting by those providing the
abortion. In its discussion, this Court noted that:

[T] he state may not restrict the decision of the
patient and her physician regarding abortion during
the first stage of pregnancy . .. [However] the
imposition by §3(2) of such a requirement (prior
written consent) for termination of pregnancy even
during the first stage, in our view, is not in itself an
unconstitutional requirement. (Emphasis added) 428
U.S. at 66-7.

Thus not all regulation of first-trimester
abortions impermissibly interferes with a woman's
protected decision to have an abortion, and the
questioned regulation need not always serve a
compelling state interest in order to be
constitutional. This is shown by this Court's
statement in Danforth that the record-keeping
requirement:

. . » if not abused or overdone, can be useful to
the state's interest in protecting the health of its
female citizens, and may be a resource that is
relevant to decisions involving medical experience
and judgment. (Emphasis added) 428 U.S. at 81.

It is apparent that a lesser standard of review was
utilized by this Court in evaluating’ the
constitutionality of the regulation.

Interpreting the standard to be applied in deter-
mining whether or not a regulation was valid, this
Court, in Bellotti v, Baird, (Bellotti D, 428 U.S, 132,
147 (1976), noted that in Danforth, it had been:

. » » held that a requirement of written consent
on the part of a pregnant adult is not unconstitutional
unless it unduly burdens the right to seek an
«ortion." (Emphasis added.)

The unduly burdensome standard of review
enunciated by this Court in Danforth and Bellotti I
was said, in Maher v, Roe, 432 U.S. 464, 473 (1977), to
balance the woman's interest against the nature of
the state's interference in exercising that right. In

Maher, the Court noted that:

Whalen [v., Roe, 429 U.S. 589 (1977)], makes
clear, the right in Roe vy. Wade can be understood

only by considering both the woman's interest and the
nature of the State's interference with it. 432 U.S.
at 473.

Granted, an abortion regulation must not unduly
burden a woman's constitutionally-protected right to
have an abortion. However, the Court of Appeals

refused to even make such an inquiry of the Akron
2

Ordinance. Connecticut v. Menillo, 423 U.S, 9 (1975);
Danforth, supra; Bellotti_I, supra; Franklin _v.
Fitzpatrick, 428 U.S. 901 (1976); Maher, supra; Harris

v. McRae, 448 U.S, 297 (1980); and H, L. vy,
Matheson, 450 U.S. ___., 67 L. Ed. 2d 388 (1981).

B. The Court of Appeals erred in prohibiting
all direct regulation of first-trimester
abortions,

In applying a two-tier analysis to the Akron
abortion ordinance, the Court of Appeals incorrectly
interpreted prior decisions of this Court, especially in
light of the recent decisions of Matheson, supra, and
Thone_v. Womens Services, P.C,,__U. S,_., 69 L,
Ed, 2d 414 (1981), and in effect held all first-trimester
regulation to be impermissible.

Initially, the Appellate Court looked to "the
nature of the particular regulatory provision,"
inquiring as to whether or not the regulation had a
"legally significant impact or consequence’ on
the right of a pregnant woman, in consultation with a
physician, to choose to terminate her pregnancy."
Accordingly, if there was no legally significant
impact or consequence, no constitutional issue was
raised. Where the regulation resulted in a legally
significant impact or consequence, the Court further
required that the "regulatory provision serve a
legitimate and compelling state interest." But, only
if a compelling state interest were found would it
further inquire as to whether the regulation imposed

a

an "undue burden" on the abortion decision. 651 F, 2d
at 1204,

This "two-step analysis" required by the Court
of Appeals also provided that first trimester regula-
tions are per se invalid if they result in a legally
significant impact or consequence, holding as a
matter of law that the state has no compelling
interest during the first trimester. 651 F. 2d at 1204.
Such a _ standard of review goes far beyond the prior
decisions of this Court allowing the direct regulation
of first-trimester abortions. Menillo, supra;

Danforth, supra; Franklin, supra; Matheson, supra;
Thone, supra.

Recently, in Matheson, this Court upheld a
requirement of prior parental notice where a minor
seeks an abortion. The Court recognized that:

As applied to immature and dependent minors,

the statute plainly serves the important considera-
tions of family integrity and protecting adolescents

which we identified in Bellotti 1... The Utah
statute is reasonably calculated to protect minors in
appellant's class a enhancing the potential for
parental consultation concerning a decision that has
potentially traumatic and permanent consequences,
(Emphasis added), 450 U.S, __, 67 L. Ed. 2d at 399.
In so holding, this Court apparently did not apply a
compelling state interest test. But even if such a
test must be met, it is implied that the state has such
an interest in this and all other first-trimester
abortion regulations which have been held
constitutional by this Court.

er

Of key importance is the fact that the
regulation was one imposed on first-trimester
abortion decisions and one which resulted in a legally
significant impact, and, yet, the regulation was
constitutionally permissible. Unquestionably, a
statute requiring parental notification of a minor's
decision to have an abortion results in a legally
significant impact on the minor's constitutionally
protected decision. In recognizing the impact such a
regulation has, this Court stated:

That the requirement of notice to parents may
inhibit some minors from seeking abortions is not a
valid basis to void the statute as applied to appellant
and the class properly before us. The Constitution
does not compel a state to fine-tune its statutes so as
to encourage or facilitate abortions. To the
contrary, state action "encouraging childbirth except
in the most urgent circumstances" is "rationally
related to the legitimate governmental objective of

protecting potential life." Harris v. McRae, supra.

The regulation, however, is not unconstitutional
merely because it has a legally significant impact on
the first-trimester abortion decision.

In determining the constitutionality of an
abortion regulation, this Court has_ consistently
required only that the regulation not be unduly
burdensome. Bellotti v. Baird, (Bellotti II), 443 U.S.
622, 640 (1979), the mere fact that thc regulation
pertained to the first trimester of pregnancy did not
automatically invalidate the provision.

When viewed in this light, the sections of the
Akron ordinance here under review are clearly

mn

constitutional as they do not unduly burden the
woman's right to seek an abortion. The Court of
Appeals' two-tier analysis conflicts with the standard
of review thus far enunciated by this Court in that it
prohibits all direct regulation of first-trimester
abortions on the basis of there being no compelling
interest per se during the first trimester. Regulctory
provisions applicable to first-trimester abortion
decisions are not unconstitutional simply because
they have a legally significant impact on a first-
trimester abortion decision. Such a test is merely
conclusory and no test at all. In effect, the legal
significance of a regulation would hinge on whether
its impact is "legally significant." As stated by Judge
Kennedy in her dissenting opinion:

. - » the Supreme Court has never suggested the
analysis put forth by the majority. It has sometimes
suggested that a compelling state interest is
necessary to justify any state regulation of abortion
during the first trimester, but that language has
always been far broader than required by the facts
before it. With the exception of the passage in
Colautti, supra, and a part of Planned Parenthood, all
of the cases since Roe have suggested that the proper
standard is simply whether a regulation that does not
effectively prohibit abortions is "unduly burdensome"
to the decision whether or not to abort. The Court's
decisions are all consistent with that standard. 651 F.
2d at 1215.

Il. THE RULING BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
PRINCIPLES ENUNCIATED IN~ PRIOR
DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AS TO THE
FACIAL ’ CONSTITUTIONALITY OF
REQUIRING PARENTAL OR JUDICIAL

CONSENT TO AN IMMATURE,

UNEMANCIPATED MINOR'S ABORTION,

The Supreme Court first addressed the issue of
requiring a parent's consent to a minor's abortion in
Danforth, supra, 428 U.S. at 72-75, in which it was
held that a blanket requirement that an unmarried
girl obtain parental consent to an abortion was
unconstitutional as it imposed an absolute veto power
over a minor's decision to have an abortion. As the
District Court recognized:

. . » the court (in Danforth) specifically noted,
however, that its holding should not be read as a
suggestion that all minors have the capability of
giving effective consent to the performance of an
abortion. 479 F. Supp. at 1201,

The Akron ordinance under consideration,
Section 1870.05(B), is directed at minors unable to
give an effective consent and in so regulating it does
not provide anyone with an "absolute veto." Section
1870.05(B) provides that the consent of one parent or
the legal guardian must be obtained prior to an
abortion upon a pregnant minor under the age of
fifteen years or, in the alternative, a court may
provide consent where the parents or guardian are
either unavailable or refuse consent. The applicable
procedure to be followed in a _ juvenile judicial
proceeding where a minor is seeking court approval
of an abortion is provided by state law under Chapter
2151 of the Ohio Revised Code and the Ohio Rules of
Juvenile Procedure. As such provisions were not

-12-

constitutionally challenged "as applied" to judicial
proceedings in which a minor seeks an abortion, and
since the District Court made no finding as to their
operation and effect, these provisions cannot form
the basis for holding that Section 1870.05(B) is
unconstitutional.

When faced with a similar regulation requiring
parental consent to a minor's abortion, this Court in
Bellotti I] expounded upon the constitutionality of
such provisions, stating that:

. . . if the state decides to require a pregnant
minor to obtain one or both parents' consent to an
abortion, it also must provide an alternative
procedure 22 whereby authorization for the abortion
can be obtained ... mn. 22 ... we discuss the
alternative procedure described in the text in terms
of judicial proceedings. We do not suggest, however,
that a state choosing to require parental consent
could not delegate the alternative procedure to a
juvenile court or an administrative agency or officer.
Indeed, much can be said for employing procedures
and a forum less formal than those associated with a
court of general jurisdiction. 443 U.S. at 643,

The Akron ordinance provides such an "alterna-
tive procedure" whereby authorization for the
abortion can be obtained in accordance with the
constitutional requirements enunciated by this Court
in Bellotti Il, Section 1870.05 does not purport to
determine either the nature of the judicial
alternative or the procedure to be followed in such
cases, as state law provides a mandatory procedure
to be followed in juvenile proceedings. The City of

-13-

Akron is prohibited under the Ohio Constitution from
legislating in areas in which the state has enacted
general laws. Ohio Const. Art. XVIII, Section 3,
Any attempt by the City to so legislate would be a
nullity under Ohio law. Lies v. Cleveland Ry, Co.,
101 Ohio St. 162, 128 N.E. 73 (1920). Akron v.
Seslerg, 135 Ohio St. 65, 19 N.E. 2d 279 (1939). As
the statutory provisions governing juvenile judicial
proceedings were not constitutionally challenged in
these proceedings, the Akron ordinances should
properly be reviewed in light of a constitutional
judicial alternative.

It is not to be assumed that during the course of
the juvenile proceedings the Court will not construe
the ordinance in a manner consistent with the
constitutional requirement of a determination of the
minor's ability to make an informed consent. So
construed, the regulation is constitutionally
permissible. Unless and until the section is
challenged by a minor who claims to be mature or
emancipated, a holding that Section 1870.05(B) is
unconstitutional is improper and premature, In
Bellotti I, supra, and in Matheson, supra, this Court
refused to strike down legislation on its face without
a state court's determination as to construction and
application of the laws in question.

Recently, this Court vacated the decision of
the Court of Appeals, in Thone, supra, wherein it had
held a parental consultation requirement to be

-14-

constitutional. In vacating the Court of Appeal's
decision in Thone, this Court remanded for
reconsideration in light of the recent decision in
Matheson, .supra,

The Court recognized that:

As in Bellotti l, supra, "we are concerned with a
statute directed toward minors, as to whom there are
unquestionably greater risks of inability to give an
informed consent." Id,, at 147. 450 U.S, _, 67 L.
Ed, 2d 399.

Finally, it must be stressed that the parental
consent provision here under consideration applies

only to minor girls fourteen years of age and under.

Ill. THE COURTS BELOW ERRED IN RULING
THAT SECTION 1870.06(B), WHICH ENSURES
THAT THE CONSENT FOR AN ABORTION IS
TRULY INFORMED CONSENT, WAS
UNCONSTITUTIONAL.

A. The information required to be provided
by the attending physician in accordance
with Section 1870.06(B) is accurate and is
not unduly burdensome on a pregnant
woman's right to an abortion.

Section 1870.06(B) provides that an attending
physician must inform a woman prior to an abortion
of several enumerated factors, including that she is
pregnant, the number of weeks elapsed, information
regarding fetal development, possible complications,
that abortion is a major surgical procedure, and the
availability of agencies to assist her. This require-

ment is designed to protect the woman and ensure

that her consent will be truly informed. Such a
-15-

provision strikes a reasonable balance between the
woman's right of privacy and the state's interest in
maternal health and ensuring the informed consent of
the patient. Maher, supra, 432 U.S, at 473, It is
important that “he woman have this information
prior to the abortion.

_ Contrary to the Respondents' allegations in the
courts below, nothing in this section denies the
physician flexibility, as Section 1870.06(C) expressly
permits the physician to:

- » « provide her with such other information
which in his own medical judgment is relevant to her
decision as to whether to have an abortion or carry
her pregnancy to term.

Only with such knowledge as that required by Section
1870.06(B) can the pregnant woman make a truly
informed decision.

The District Court made no findings of fact
regarding the subsections involved. Its decision was
simply based upon its ruling that the state cannot
"specify what each patient must be told." 479 F.
Supp. 1203. The Court improperly stated that
"defendants were unable to prove that some of the
matters required to be told a patient as facts by
Subsection (B) were true." 479 F. Supp. 1203.
However, the burden of proof was the Respondents'
as to the untruthfulness of any such facts, which
they failed to show. The courts below erred in not
upholding Section 1870.06(B) in its entirety.

-16-

B. Even if parts of Section 1870,06(b) were
unconstitutional, the courts below failed to
sever such subsections in accordance with clear
legislative intent.

Section 1870.06(B) was struck down in its
entirety by the District Court notwithstanding that
several subsections were found constitutional.
Subsections (1), (2), (6), and (7) are doubtless
rationally related to a woman's maternal health and
do not unduly burden her decision to have an
abortion. Such subsections should have been severed
from the subsections found to be unconstitutional.

Subsections (1), (2), (6), and (7) provide
respective'y that prior to the giving of an informed
consent, a woman is to be told by her attending
physician (1) that she is pregnant, (2) the number of
weeks that have elapsed from the probable time of
conception, (3) that there are numerous public and
private agencies available to her with birth control
information and that, upon request, the physician will
give her a list of such agencies and the services
available, and (4) that there are numerous public and
private agencies which are available to assist her
during pregnancy and after the birth of her child if
she chooses not to have an abortion and that, upon
request, the physician will provide her with a list.

Not only are these requirements not unconstitu-
tional, but they contain information necessary for a
patient to make an informed decision. Indeed, it is

-l7-

hard to dispute a regulation which requires a
physician to tell a woman prior to an abortion that
she is pregnant and the number of weeks that have
elapsed since she conceived. It can, likewise, not be
doubted that birth control is relevant information to
the woman and that such information bears an
important relation to the maternal health of the
woman. The final regulation is designed not only to
encourage childbirth, but also to insure that the
woman makes a truly informed decision, and as such,
is valid. Matheson supra, In upholding a state's
preference for childbirth, in Maher, supra, this Court
stated:

We think it abundantly clear that a state is not
required to show a compelling interest for its policy
choice to favor normal childbirth. ...

An informational requirement, such as that
contained in the Akron ordinance, was recently
approved in a footnote by this Court in Matheson.
The statute under review in that case provided that
no abortion could be performed

. » » Unless a "voluntary and written consent" is
first obtained by the attending physician from the
patient. In order for such a consent to be ‘voluntary
and informed' the patient must be advised at a
minimum about available adoption services, about
fetal development, and _ about foreseeable
complications and risks of an abortion." 450 U.S,
—___., 67 L. Ed. 2d at 393.

Following the decision in Matheson, this Court

-18 -

vacated an order, in Thone, supra, which had
invalidated a detailed informed consent provision in
the Nebraska statute.

Regarding a woman's informed consent, this
Court has frequently recognized that:

The decision to abort, indeed, is an important,
and often a stressful one, and it is desirable and
imperative that it be made with full knowledge of its
nature and consequences. Danforth, supra, 428 U.S.
at 67; see also, Franklin v. Fitzpatrick, 428 U.S. 901
(1976); Bellotti J, supra; and Maher, supra.

This Court approved an informed consent

provision in Franklin v. Fitzpatrick, supra, which
affirmed the three-judge District Court's decision in

Planned Parenthood Association v. Fitzpatrick, 401
F, Supp. 554 (1975). The District Court, in upholding

the provision, noted that:

In that event, while telling a patient that the
law requires such advice, the Act does not foreclose
the physician from putting this statement in
perspective for a given patient by reassurances, or by
comparing the risks of other options. Proper
counseling, it would appear, could incorporate the
information demanded by the state and tailor the
comprehensive advice to the individual case, 401 F.
Supp. at 588.

In keeping with the concern expressed for the
patient's informed consent in Danforth, the District

Court, in Margaret S, v. Edwards, 488 F. Supp. 181
(E.D. La., 1980), severed unconstitutional sections

from constitutional sections of an informed consent
requirement. The District Court upheld a regulation
requiring that a woman be informed that she is

-19-

pregnant; the number of weeks elapsed; the
particular risks associated with her pregnancy and
the abortion technique to be employed; medical
instructions to be followed subsequent to the abortion
to insure safe recovery; information as to public and
private agencies available and the location of public
mental health agencies for post-partum psychological
damage.

Similarly, in the case of Women's Community
Health Center vy. Cohen, 477 F. Supp. 542 (D. Me.
1979), the District Court refused to preliminarily
enjoin a statute similar to the Akron ordinance,
except for a fetal information requirement, holding
that the plaintiffs had failed to show a sufficient
likelihood that the consent requirement unduly
burdens a woman's abortion decision.

Out of the seven subsections of Section
1870.06(B), four are clearly constitutional and should
have been severed from those held unconstitutional.
The district court quite liberally applied the sever-
ability clause, Section 1879.19, to numerous sections,
even severing words and phrases out of sentences,
and yet refused to apply severability to Section
1870.06(B) which could have been severed quite easily
in accordance with the intent of the framers of
Chapter 1870. In failing to sever the subsections, the
courts below ignored the clear legislative intent as
expressed in Section 1870.19.

The test to determine severability as stated by

- 20 -

the District Court in Wynn v. Scott, 449 F. Supp.
1302, (N.D. Ill. 1978), is: (1) are the sections so
intertwined that structurally and logically a constitu-

tional defect in one will taint the remainder; (2) what
is the will of the legislature; (3) is the statute a
product of impermissible state purpose; that is, does
every section, in fact, discourage and frustrate the
abortion decision; and (4) is it possible to predict
what the legislature would do if part of the act were
held unconstitutional?

The subsections are not so intertwined that any
defects in subsections 3, 4, and 5 taint the remainder.
If severed, 1870.06(B) will be completely comprehen-
sible and will clearly inform a physician of what must
be told a woman prior to obtaining her informed
consent. The informational requirement aids the
patient in making a truly informed decision.

The severability of a section, as enunciated by
this Court in Buckley v. Valea, 424 U.S, 1, 108 (1976)
was stated as follows:

Unless it is evident that the legislature would
not have enacted those provisions which are within
its power, independently of that which is not, the
invalid part may be dropped if what is left is fully
operative as a law. Champlin _Refini

Corporation Commission, 286 U.S. 210 (1932).

The lower courts found that the
unconstitutional sections did not require that the
entire ordinance be struck down. 651] F. 2d at 1200.
This finding should be applied to the severability of

- 2) -

Section 1870.06(B) and its subsections which, if
severed, would require the attending physician to
communicate the information in subsections 1, 2, 6,
and 7 to the patient. Such a requirement is not
unconstitutional. The courts below have failed to
effectuate the express legislative intent of the City
Council by severing the unconstitutional sections of
1870.06(B).

IV. THE COURT OF APPEALS FAILED TO
RECOGNIZE THE STATE'S’ LEGITIMATE
INTEREST IN PROTECTING THE WOMAN'S
HEALTH BY REQUIRING PHYSICIAN-
PATIENT COUNSELING PRIOR TO THE
PERFORMANCE OF AN ABORTION.

In order to protect the health and safety of
women seeking abortions, the City Council, in
Section 1870.06(C), requires that the attending
physician inform the pregnant woman:

. . . Of the particular risks associated with her
own pregnancy and the abortion technique to be
employed, including providing her with at least a
general description of the medical instructions to be
followed subsequent to the abortion in order to insure
her safe recovery; and shall in addition provide her
with such other information which in his own medical
judgment is relevant to her decision as to whether to
have an abortion or carry her pregnancy to term.

In reversing the District Court's finding that
this section was ccrstitutional, the Court of Appeals
stated that "Section 1870.06(C) impinges on the
medical judgment of the attending physician..." 651
F, 2d at 1207. No finding, however, was made that
the section interfered with the woman's right to

- 22 -

decide to have an abortion. The core of the
constitutional protection recognized in Roe v, Wade,
supra, is the woman's right to have an abortion in

consultation with her physician. This constitutional

protection does not guarantee "a physician freedom
to practice medicine free of state regulation." 479
F, Supp. at 1198. The privacy of Roe v, Wade is not
simply a right of personal privacy or a "right to your
own body," but the privacy of the relationship
between the woman and her physician, just like the
privacy of the marital relationship in Griswoid vy.
Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965).

Section 1870.06(C) was enacted to ensure that
the consultation protected in Roe v. Wade actually
takes place. As stated previously, it is the current
practice of Akron abortion clinics not to provide such
consultation between physician and patient. 479 F.
Supp. at 1204. The necessity for consultation prior to
the abortion, however, was undisputed. This section
does not interfere with the woman's fundamental
right to decide whether to terminate her pregnancy.
Rather, it ensures the participation of the attending
physician in a vital decision.

The physician-patient relationship is an
essential component of the woman's constitutional
right to decide to have an abortion, as made clear by
the decisions of this Court. Most notably, in
Connecticut v. Menillo, 423 U.S, 9 (1975), this Court

upheld criminal sanctions imposed against violators
- 23-

of a state statute which prohibited anyone other than
a physician from performing an abortion.

In upholding a provision similar to that
contained in the Akron ordinance, the District Court,

in Planned Parenthood v, Ashcroft, 483 F., Supp. 679
(W.D. Mo. 1980), r'vsd on other grounds, Nos. 80-1130
and 80-1530 (8th Cir. July 8, 1981), stated that:

The Supreme Court has emphasized _ the
participation and responsibility of the woman's
physician regarding the decision to have an abortion
and has noted the legitimacy of the state's interest
that she make the decision with full knowledge of its
nature and consequences. Planned Parenthood vy,

supra. A requirement that the attending
physician personally provide information regarding
the abortion decision furthers that interest and is not

unconstitutional. Planned Parenthood v. Ashcroft,
supra at 28.

The giving of the information contained in
Section 1870.06(C) "enhances, rather than restricts,
the woman's freedom of choice." (Dissenting
opinion), 651 F. 2d 1217. Such information does not
confine the physician's discretion, but simply
reiterates his common law and ethical duty. This
court has repeatedly recognized the importance of
the physician-patient relationship to the abortion
decision. Roe vy, Wade, supra, 410 U.S, at 163, 164;
Danforth, supra, 428 U.S, at 61; Bellotti II, supra,
443 U.S. at 641 n. 21, 643. In Colautti v. Franklin,
439 U.S. 379, 387 (1979), this court observed that:

Roe stressed repeatedly the central role of the
physician, both in consulting with the woman about

- 24-

whether or not to have an abortion, and in
determining how any abortion was to be carried out.
Most recently, this Court, in Thone, supra, vacated
the Court of Appeals order invalidating a detailed
informed consent provision in the Nebraska statute
applicable to first-trimester pregnancies and
remanded for further consideration in light of
Matheson, supra.

In holding Section 1870.06(C) to be constitu-
tional the District Court recognized that by requiring
the attending physician to provide such information,
the effectuation of the abortion decision was thereby
made more expensive. Such an impact, however, did
not invalidate the provision. A reasonable balance
was struck between the state's interest in the health
of its female citizens and the woman's rights. The
District Court stated:

That impact is not so great as to require a
compelling state interest to support the requirement
that the "counseling" be done by the physician rather
than by another individual. Akron's City Council
could well have rationally concluded that because of
the special relationship between a patient and her
physician, such "counseling" should be done by the
physician. In so doing, it would be furthering a valid
state interest in the health of its female citizens.
479 F. Supp. at 1204.

Section 1870.06(C) of the Akron ordinance does
not impermissibly interfere with the physician-
patient relationship which is so fundamental to the
constitutionally protected right to decide to have an
abortion. Rather, it furthers a valid state interes. in

-25-

the health of its female citizens and assures that the
woman's consent will be truly informed.

V. THE COURT OF APPEALS FAILED TO
RECOGNIZE THE STATE'S’ LEGITIMATE
INTEREST IN PROTECTING THE WOMAN'S
HEALTH BY REQUIRING A TWENTY-FOUR-
HOUR WAITING PERIOD BETWEEN THE
SIGNING OF AN INFORMED-CONSENT FORM
AND THE PERFORMANCE OF AN ABORTION,
The imposition of a twenty-four-hour delay

between _ the time a woman — signs the

informed-consent form and the abortion procedure
was found by the District Court not to be unduly
burdensome on the woman's decision to have an
abortion. 479 F. Supp. at 1204, In reaching this

decision, the District Court held that Section 1870.07

furthered the important state interest of insuring

"that a woman's abortion decision is made after

careful consideration of all the facts applicable to

her particular situation." 479 F. Supp. 1204,

On appeal, the District Court's holding was
reversed. The Court of Appeals stated that "since
Section 1870.07 causes a legally significant impact or
consequence on the abortion decision, it cannot be
applied to first-trimester abortions." 651 F.2d at
1208. The Court of Appeals, thus, invalidated this
section only because it impacted on decisions to have

- 26 -

an abortion during the first three months of
pregnancy. The proper standard of review, as
discussed earlier, requires that in considering the
regulation the focus be placed on the burden imposed
on the woman's decision to have an abortion.
Danforth, supra; Bellotti l, end Matheson, supra.

A parental notification requirement was upheld
by this Court in Matheson, even though it resulted in
a legaliy significant impact on the minor's constitu-
tionally protected decision to have an abortion during
the first trimester of pregnancy. In so holding, this
Court recognized "that the requirement of notice to
parents may inhibit some minors from seeking
abortions." The Court, however, stated that this was
not "a valid basis to void the statute," 450 U.S.
——, 67 L. Ed. 2d at 400.

Following the decision in Matheson, this Court
vacated the judgment of the Eighth Circuit Court of
Appeals in Thone, supra, wherein a forty-eight-hour
waiting period had been held unconstitutional. In
vacating the judgment, this Court remanded the case
to the Court of Appeals for reconsideration in light
of its decision in Matheson. It is apparent that a
first-trimester regulation is not automatically
invalid.

It is important to note that the twenty-four-
hour waiting period requirement is inapplicable in the
case of a medical emergency which poses an

-27 -

immediate and grave risk to the life and physical
health of the pregnant woman under Section 1870.12.
The medical expert testifying for the clinics testified
that the waiting period would not create a significant
risk to the patient's physical health. (Joint App. p.
82, 94, and 118). The section is thus drawn so as not
to impose an undue burden on the patient.

By delaying the effectuation of the abortion
decision, a reasonable balance is struck between the
State's important interest of ensuring careful
consideration of that decision by the woman and the
woman's right to decide to have an abortion. The
District Court, in accordance with the standard of
review enunciated by this Court, found that the
regulation did not unduly burden the woman's consti-
tutional rights. In reversing the District Court, the
Court of Appeals applied an overly stringent standard
of review to the regulation which conflicts with the
standard enunciated by this Court. Danforth, supra;
Bellotti I, supra; and Matheson, supra.

VI. THE TERM "HUMANE" AS USED IN SECTION
1870.16 IS NOT UNCONSTITUTIONALLY
VAGUE, AND EVEN IF IT WERE, IT SHOULD
HAVE BEEN SEVERED FROM THE BALANCE
OF THE SECTION IN ACCORDANCE WITH
THE LEGISLATIVE INTENT.

The courts below found Section 1870.16 tobe

- 28 -

unconstitutionally void for vagueness. This was due
to the fact that the section which deals with the
disposal of the remains required that it be done in a
humane and sanitary manner. The District Court
found that the word "humane" was void for
vagueness. The overall intent of the section is, as
was noted in _Planned Parenthood Assn, _v,
Fitzpatrick, 401 F. Supp. 554, 573 (i975), aff'd
Franklin v. Fitzpatrick, 428 U.S. 901 (1976), "to
preclude the mindless dumping of aborted fetuses on
garbage piles." In Fitzpatrick, the three-judge
District Court upheld a regulation which provided
that the Department of Health make regulations for
the humane disposal of remains.

The language used in this section was largely
taken from a state regulation which provides that
"the fetus shall be disposed of in a humane manner."
3 Ohio Administrative Code 3701-47-05 1979. In light
of the intent of Section 1870.16, it is clearly not void
for vagueness.

Even if the term "humane" were found to be
void for vagueness, the entire section should not have
been struck down. By severing the term "humane"
and allowing the balance to remain, the District
Court would have insured two goals: (1) that
potential criminal liability could not be founded on an
ordinance which local abortion clinics might have
difficulty construing and (2) that the health and
safety of the Akron community would be furthered by

- 29 -

providing for the sanitary disposal of the fetus. It
can hardly be doubted that the health of the
Community would be furthered by such a requirement
and that such a regulation is reasonably within
Akron's power. Planned Parenthood Assn, v. Fitz-
Patrick, 401 F. Supp. 554 (1975).

In addition, by so severing the section the
courts below would have been following the manifest
intent of the City Council which had provided in
Section 1870.19 that a finding of unconstitutionality
of one provision was not to result in the striking of

the entire ordinance. Champlin, Supra,

- 30 -

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should
issue to review the judgment and opinion of the Sixth
Circuit.

Dated October_!G _, 1981.
Re pectfully submitted,

Ret [) Pah

ROBERT D. PRITT
Director of Law

The City of Akron

304 Municipal Building
Akron, OH 44308-1655
(216) 375-2031

Attorney for Petitioner

xe

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2149%3A01. Public record. Not legal advice.
