# Intervenors Reply Brief — Maryland v. Louisiana

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2148%3A29

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Intervenors Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 451 U.S. 725

## Text

‘Bupreme Court, 6S
FILED

AUG 81980:-»

RODAK, JR, CLERK
a

No. 83, Original

_

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1979

STATE OF MARYLAND, ET AL., PLAINTIFFS
Vv.

STATE OF LOUISIANA

REPLY OF THE UNITED STATES AND THE
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
TO EXCEPTIONS OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

TO THE REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MAS1 ER,
DATED MAY 14, 1980

WapbDE H. McCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

STUART A. SMITH
Assistant to the Solicitor
General

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

ROBERT R. NORDHAUS
General Counsel

' JEROME M. FEIT
Deputy Solicitor

J. PAUL DOUGLAS
Assistant Solicitor

Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission
Washington, D.C. 20426

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
PI ceniissinitcninsincsncnitiinmrssciitddenndbensisannindbeinadaaan 2
IEEIUIIN: \ninsncssennsxamiehsansnptiniensaataansacainenieniniadamanenieullin 9
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Alabama v. King & Boozer, 314 U.S. 1 ............. 6
Arizona v. California, 344 U.S. 919 0... 2
Canadian Superior Oil (U.S.) Lid., et al.,

Docket No. C177-802 (Mar. 28, 1978) ............ 8
Continental Oil Co., et al., 27 F.P.C. 96 ............ 8
Diamond National Corp. v. State Board of

Bgnemlipatbatt,, GES UB. TI ciccciseivessntosccineavienvers 6
Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental

ee I, EE RE. cecknpvieetencniecsrccrcnes +
Federal Land Bank v. Bismarck Lumber Co.,

ee TEP CURE TE: semedinanesiceiticetiridastomatecabihiaaaiatdiaiaidaataialés 6
Federal Power Commission v. Hope Natural

SD Gia ls SINE cncccincickcsdeneeoniiiiaass 7
First Agricultural Nat. Bank v. Tax Comm'n,

Se ED. Kettner 6
Galveston Electric Co. v. Galveston,

ee SA. SE antanesninianeiieshelnsbalibstellataiauiadinds nantes 7
High Island Offshore System, Docket Nos.

CP75-104, et al. (June 4, 1976) ............... cece 8
Kern-Limerick, Inc. v. Scurlock,

Ee i ED Wassninseishdannennelescieahaneaboatacammiaaa 6

Cases—Continued:

Mississippi River Fuel Corp. v. Federal

Power Commission, 163 F. 2d 433 .............
New Jersey v. New York, 345 U.S. 369 ........

Northern Natural Gas Co., 28 F.P.C. 1155,
affd sub nom. Mid-America Pipeline Co.

6 Us, Ry Be Bs BO wechapsochaphepesscececcscsenes

Northern Natural Gas Co. v. Kansas

Commission, 372 U.S. 84 sehaeasenesnaceassesesstones
Oklahoma v. Texas, 253 U.S. 465 ....ccccccccccceee

Pennsylvania v. West Virginia, 262 U.S.

TET cneincitilnncaviiiabdadswoniasiiisdidocbansasisniiese widths

Pipeline Costs Allocable To The
Transportation Of Liquids, Liquefiable

Hydrocarbons, etc., For Others, 47 F.P.C.

208, rev'd on other grounds sub nom.

Mobil Corp. v. FPC, 483 F. 2d 1238 ........

Public Service Commission of New York v.
Federal Power Commission, 467 F. 2d

NT. Mausiababeibdbediisisanialikebbiataclencanisadabmsicacarecs
Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330 ........

Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights

Organization, 426 U.S. 26 .o..cccccccccececceeeceeees

Tennessee Gas Pipeline Co., et al.,

Re IE alisleee sinisonshaniivkinsnconsicnaabarvasesebes

Texas Eastern Transmission Corporation,

PE ue iw SOP Medteisnisepnahinarsvdsetketinacsacesivarees

United States v. Mississippi Tax Comm'n,

NE ELIE Sientcheckiacniendcsteupsrsactonnrninvasseuaass

iil

Page
Cases—Continued:
Union Oil Company of California, et al.,
Docket No. C177-828, et al. (Apr. 2,
DPT incidsisbnitnctiaansteddcbdidetnsbaih tonbadenncapsasinninaninlioss 8
Utah v. United States, 394 U.S. 89 wu... eeeee 9
Wisconsin v. Illinois, 278 U.S. 367 ..........ccccceeeees 2
Statutes and rule:
Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act,
ee cs IIE didi acsitsavieicdanccannaiupdeeadnnestin 2
ee SERIE GR ene enemies ee Na 2
First Use Tax Act, La. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§ 47:1303C (West Supp. 1980) ............ ee
Miscellaneous:

Hearings on H.B. 768 Before the Comm. on
Ways and Means of the Louisiana House of
Representatives (June 5, 1978) ...............0006 6, 7

Hearings on H.B. 768 Before the Comm. on
Ways and Means of the Louisiana House of
Representatives (June 6, 1978) ..............ccee0e 6, 7

Hearings on H.B. 768 Before the Revenue
and Fiscal Affairs Comm. of the
Louisiana State (June 26, 1978) .................. 6, 7

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 83, Original
STATE OF MARYLAND, ET AL., PLAINTIFFS
¥.

STATE OF LOUISIANA

REPLY OF THE UNITED STATES AND THE
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
TO EXCEPTIONS OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

TO THE REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MASIER,
DATED MAY 14, 1980

In our brief amici curiae of June 1979 in support of the
plaintiffs’ motion for leave to file a complaint and our
brief amici curiae of November 1979 in support of
plaintiffs’ motion for judgment on the pleadings, we
advised the Court that both the United States and the
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission have a substan-
tial and immediate interest in this litigation involving the
Louisiana First Use Tax on natural gas.

As a consumer of natural gas in the operation of
military and civilian installations, the United States is
directly affected by the additional costs imposed by the
First Use Tax. The United States is also the lessor under
leases authorizing various persons to produce natural gas
from federal enclaves and the Outer Continental Shelf,
over which it has exclusive jurisdiction. If the federal
government’s lessees are compelled to pay the First Use
Tax, the revenues received by the United States from

|

?

2

these leases could be significantly reduced. Finally, the
Louisiana First Use Tax conflicts with the federal
regulation of the sale and transportation of natural gas in
interstate commerce. The impact of the Louisiana tax is
to increase the price of gas extracted from federally-leased
areas.

ARGUMENT

1. The Special Master correctly recommended that the
Court grant the motion of the United States and the
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission to intervene as
plaintiffs. As he noted in his report (page 5), while the
interest of the United States and the Commission is
somewhat different from that of the original plaintiffs,
“from the point of view of completing the litigation with
the participation of all parties which have a direct and
important interest in it, it is not only appropriate, but
highly desirable that the United States be joined as a
party.” In support of his recommendation, the Special
Master cited the fact that the United States is not only a
consumer of natural gas but has a separate interest
because of its responsibilities under the Outer Continental
Shelf Lands Act, 43 U.S.C. 1331-1343. Moreover, since
the plaintiffs rely upon actions of the United States and
the Commission for their claims as to the un-
constitutionality of the Louisiana First Use Tax, Fed. R.
Civ. P. 24(b) supports the federal intervention. See also
Wisconsin v. Illinois, 278 U.S. 367 (1929); Arizona v.
California, 344 U.S. 919 (1953); Oklahoma v. Texas, 253
U.S. 465 (1920); New Jersey v. New York, 345 U.S. 369,
373 (1953).!

‘Louisiana seeks to distinguish (Br. 36) Wisconsin v. Illinois, supra,
and New Jersey v. New York, supra, on the ground that “the United
States at no time appeared as an intervenor.” But the United States
was an active participant in subsequent proceedings in the former
case for many years, first as an amicus curiae (e.g., 352 U.S. 983, 984
(1957); 359 U.S. 963 (1959); 360 U.S. 712, 713, 714 (1959)), later as an

3

2. Louisiana argues that neither the United States nor
the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission should be
permitted to intervene as parties in this case and that the
Special Master erred in so recommending. In support of
its position, Louisiana claims that: (a) the United States
did not allege that the injuries for which it seeks redress
were directly caused by Louisiana (Br. 29); (b) that, even
as a consumer of natural gas, the United States has no
cause of action against Louisiana for increased costs of
gas because the tax is imposed upon the producer and
transporter of the gas and simply “passed on” to the
United States (Br. 29); and (c) that the Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission, and not Louisiana, is responsi-
ble for the pipelines’ passing on of the additional cost
represented by the tax to consumers such as the United
States (Br. 31). Moreover, Louisiana disputes (Br. 31) the
government’s claim that the United States is directly
affected by the tax in its capacity as a lessor under leases
authorizing production of naturai gas from _ federal
enclaves and the Outer Continental Shelf over which it

intervenor (361 U.S. 956 (1960)), and we contributed to the
formulation of the proposed decree that the Court entered on June
12, 1967. 388 U.S. 426. The potentially affected interests of the
United States included navigation in the Great Lakes, the St.
Lawrence Seaway and the Illinois Waterway, hydroelectric power
development on the Niagara and St. Lawrence Rivers, pollution and
other threats to public health in and around the Great Lakes, the
national interest in the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence system as a unique
natural resource, and finally, the maintenance of friendly relations
with Canada.

Moreover, while the United States did not intervene in New Jersey
v. New York, supra, the Special Master's (and our) citation of that
case is to the portion of this Court’s opinion denv:iig 4 motion by the
City of Philadelphia to intervene because its interests were adequately
represented by Pennsylvania. Here, by contrast while the United
States supports the plaintiff States, its concerns and interests are
different.

4

has exclusive jurisdiction. Finally, Louisiana contests (Br.
33-35) the proposed intervention of the Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission on the ground that there is no
conflict between the First Use Tax and the federal
regulation of the sale and transportation of natural gas in
interstate commerce.

a. The most cursory examination of the Complaint in
Intervention establishes that the United States has alleged
“injurfies] that fairly can be traced to the challenged
action of the defendant, and not injury that results from
the independent action of some third party not before the
court.” Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights
Organization, 426 U.S. 26, 41-42 (1976); Duke Power Co.
v. Carolina Environmental Study Group, 438 U.S. 59, 72,
74 (1978). Specifically, the United States alleges that it “is
a consumer of natural gas in the operation of military and
civilian installations and is thereby directly affected by the
additional costs imposed by the Louisiana First Use
Tax[,]” and that, as the lessor under leases authorizing
various persons to produce natural gas from federal
enclaves and the Outer Continental Shelf, it may suffer a
significant reduction in revenues from those leases if its
lessees must bear the First Use Tax.2 Complaint in
Intervention, paras. VI-VII.

Plainly, a decision by this Court will “redress the
claimed injuries.” Duke Power Co. v. Carolina En-
vironmental Study Group, supra, 438 U.S. at 74. If, as we
submit, the Court holds that the First Use Tax is
unconstitutional, the United States will not incur
additional operating costs and a potential loss of
revenues. If the tax is upheld, however, then the United

2{he government is not required to await the actual loss of
revenues before seeking relief. It is sufficient that the injury is
impending. Pennsylvania v. West Virginia, 262 U.S. 553, 593 (1923).

5

States will suffer the burden of these additional costs and
reduction in revenues.

b. Moreover, it is immaterial that the First Use Tax is
not imposed directly upon the United States. For present
purposes, it is sufficient that the First Use Tax triggers a
chain of -vents that results in the imposition of additional
costs upon the United States. That fact gives the United
States standing to pursue a cause of action against
Louisiana involving “a matter of grave public concern in
which the [plaintiff States and the federal government], as
the representative[s] of the public, h[ave] an interest apart
from that of the individuals affected. It is not merely a
remote or ethical interest but one which is immediate and
recognized by law” Pennsylvania v. West Virginia, 262
U.S. 553, 592 (1923). See also Reiter v. Sonotone Corp.,
442 U.S. 330, 339-344 (1979).

c. At all events, even if it were necessary that the First
Use Tax be imposed upon the United States, it is plain
that the Act requires that the tax will not be absorbed by
the pipelines but will be passed on to the ultimate
consumers. Section 47:1303C of the First Use Tax Act,
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. (West Supp. 1980), abrogates
“agreement[s] or contract[s} by which an owner of natural
gas at the time a taxable use first occurs claims a right to
reimbursement or refund of such taxes from any other
party in interest, other than a purchaser of such natural
gas * * * on the basis that this tax constitutes a cost
incurred by such owner by virtue of the separation or
processing of natural gas for extraction of liquid or
liquefiable hydrocarbons, or * * * any other grounds for
reimbursement or refund[.]” In its answer, Louisiana
admits that Section 47:1303C requires that the First Use
fax be passed along to natural gas consumers. It states
that “the sole purpose, intent, and application of [Section
47:1303C is] to ensure that the First Use lax will not

6

unreasonably burden any person within the interstate
commerce stream but will be passed along to the ultimate
users and consumers.” Answer, para. LX, at 21. “There
can be no doubt from the clear wording of the statute that
the [Louisiana] Legislature intended that this [First Use]
tax be passed on to the purchaser.” First Agricultural
Nat. Bank v. Tax Comm’n, 392 U.S. 339, 348 (1968). See
also United States v. Mississippi Tax Comm'n, 421 U.S.
599, 607-609 (1975); Diamond National Corp. v. State
Board of Equalization, 425 U.S. 268 (1976); Federal Land
Bank v. Bismarck Lumber Co., 314 U.S. 95, 97, 99 (1941);
Kern-Limerick, Inc. v. Scurlock, 347 U.S. 110 (1954);
Alabama v. King & Boozer, 314 U.S. 1 (1941).

The fact that the Act requires that the First Use Tax be
passed on to the ultimate consumer is further supported
by the authoritative legislative history, which takes the
form of statements made during the hearings before the
Louisiana legislature. Representative Tauzin, the sponsor
of the First Use Tax, and others stated that the effective
date of the tax had been deferred to give the pipelines
time to reflect the tax in their rates,} that the pipelines
would not bear the tax because they could pass it along to
their customers,’ that the tax had been structured to
require that it be passed along to the ultimate consumers
not to the gas producers,’ and that gas consumers in

‘Hearings on H.B. 768 Before the Revenue and Fiscal Affairs
Comm. of the Louisiana Senate 4, 5-6, 12-13 (June 26, 1978) (Rep.
lauzin) (hereinafter “Senate Hearings’); Hearings on H.B. 768
Before the Comm. on Ways and Means of the Louisiana House of
Representatives 2 (June 6, 1978) (Rep. Tauzin) (hereinafter “House
Hearings of June 6, 1978”).

‘Senate Hearings, 4, 5-6, 26-27 (Rep. lauzin); id. at 19 (Mr.
Garner); House Hearings of June 6, 1978, 3 (Rep. Vauzin).

*Senate Hearings, 3-5 (Rep. Tauzin); Hearings on H.B. 768 Before
the Comm. on Ways and Means of the Louisiana House of
Representatives 13 (June 5, 1978) (Rep. Tauzin) (hereinafter “House
Hearings of June 5, 1978).

7

Louisiana are protected from any im, act resulting from
the tax.° These remarks reinforce the explicit language of
Section 47:1303C and confirm our submission that
Louisiana has enacted an elaborate taxing scheme which
is designed to ensure that the tax will be borne solely by
consumers in other states. There is accordingly no basis to
Louisiana’s claim that the tax is not borne by the United
States in its capacity as a consumer of natural gas and as
a lessor of production areas in federal enclaves.

d. Given the plainly-stated prohibition of Section
47:1303C against the owner of the gas passing on the cost
of the First Use Tax to the producer, Louisiana blinks at
the realities of gas regulation and economics in conten-
ding that the imposition of the tax on the ultimate
consumer is a consequence of the voluntary actions of
either the pipelines or the Commission.

As regulated utilities, the pipelines are entitled to
recover in their rates prudently incurred costs including
taxes for “no public utility [can] be compelled to absorb
its own costs and not pass them on to the consumer.”
Public Service Commission of New York v. Federal
Power Commission, 467 F. 2d 361, 370 (D.C. Cir. 1972);
Federal Power Commission v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320
U.S. 591 (1944); Galveston Electric Co. v. Galveston, 258
U.S. 388, 399 (1922); Mississippi River Fuel Corp. v.
Federal Power Commission, 163 F. 2d 433, 437, 451
(D.C. Cir. 1947). Since the Louisiana tax at issue amounts
to approximately $225 million per year, the prohibition
against passing on the tax back to the producers virtually
requires the pipelines to pass it on to the consumers.

*Senate Hearings, 3-5, 13 (Rep. Tauzin); House Hearings of June 5,
1978, 4 (Rep. Tauzin), 5 (Rep. Bagart and Rep. Guidry), 6 (Rep.
Laborde), 8 (Rep. Bruneau); House Hearings of June 6, 1978, 10, 17
(Mr. Brooksher), 37 (Mr. Steimel), 40 (Rep. Leach).

8

There was nothing voluntary about such action. [he
pipelines cannot remain in business it they are required
ultimately to absorb this massive cost.

e. Finally, Louisiana contests the proposed interven-
tion of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. But
the conflict between Section 47:1303C of the First Use
Tax Act and the Commission’s exclusive regulatory
jurisdiction over the transportation and sale of natural gas
in interstate commerce could not be more palpable. The
Commission has consistently held that a pipeline’s natural
gas customers do not receive any benefits from the
pipelines transportation of liquid and __liquefiable
hydrocarbons for the owners, and that the costs
associated with the transportation and delivery of such
products at the inlet of a processing plant must be borne
by the producers, who benefit from such activities, and
not by the natural gas consumers.’ However, Section
47:1303C seeks to preclude the Commission from
classifying the First Use Tax as a cost associated with the
extraction of hydrocarbons. It does this by prohibiting the
pipelines from obtaining reimbursement from the owner
of the extracted hydrocarbons and requiring the pipeline
to seek reimbursement, if at all, from subsequent
purchasers, i.e., consumers, of the natural gas.

7Union Oil Company of California, et al., Docket No. C177-828, et
al., order at 7, 10-11 (Apr. 12, 1978); Canadian Superior Oil (U.S.)
Ltd., et al., Docket No. C177-802 (Mar. 28, 1978); High Island
Offshore System, Docket Nos. CP75-104, et a/., order at 10, 16-17, 18
(June 4, 1976); Tennessee Gas Pipeline Co. et al., 38 F.P.C. 691, 698
(1967); Northern Natural Gas Co., 28 F.P.C. 1155, 1163-1165 (1962),
aff'd sub nom. Mid-America Pipeline Co. v. KPC, 330 F. 2d 226
(D.C. Cir. 1964); Continental Oil Co., et al., 27 F.P.C. 96, 107-108
(1962); Texas Eastern Transmission Corporation, || F.P.C. 435, 447
(1952). See also Pipeline Costs Allocable To The Transportation Of
Liquids, Liquefiable Hydrocarbons, etc., For Others, 47 F.P.C. 208
(1972), rev'd on other grounds sub nom. Mobil Oil Corp. v. FPC, 483
F. 2d 1238 (D.C. Cir. 1973).

9

| The conflict between the Louisiana tax and the

at

Commission’s authority is therefore not an abstraction.
To the contrary, the First Use Tax trenches upon “matters
which directly affect the ability of the [Commission] to
regulate comprehensively and effectively the transporta-
tion and sale of natural gas, and to achieve the uniformity
of regulation which [is] an objective of the Natural Gas
Act [and the Natural Gas Policy Act].” Northern Natural
Gas Co. v. Kansas Commission, 372 U.S. 84, 91-92
(1963). In these circumstances, the Commission’s “right to
intervene [has] a substantial basis * * *, [and] it would
seem fairest to permit [it] to speak for itself.” Utah v.
United States, 394 U.S. 89, 92 (1969). See also Fed. R.
Civ. P. 24(b).
CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above and in the Special

Master’s Report, the motion of the United States and the

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission to intervene as
plaintiffs should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCRrEE, JR.
Solicitor General

STUART A. SMITH
Assistant to the Solicitor
General

ROBERT R. NORDHAUS
General Counsel

JEROME M. FEIT
Deputy Solicitor

J. PAUL DOUGLAS
Assistant Solicitor
Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission

AuGusT 1980

DO]. 1Ox0.08

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2148%3A29. Public record. Not legal advice.
