# Motion to Dismiss or Affirm — Cruz v. New York

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2123%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Dismiss or Affirm
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 446 U.S. 901

## Text

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-6094

HECTOR CRUZ,
Appellant,

Vv.

iz
a ~ +4 24

MAR 82 (980

“

» Myparets er * Re

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

MARIO MEROLA
District Attorney
Bronx County
Attorney for Appellee
215 East 161 Street
Bronx, New York
(212) 590-2060

ALAN D. MARRUS

DAVID H. FROMM

Assistant District Attorneys
Of Counsel

‘wt

RK

ne

}

CETATIGNIS S Code eS ee See OO KORE CESOOERES SOHN OO CER OO EOC CES ROS

MOTION TO DISMISS OR APPT cccccdccccccccccceecccecececs
THE STATE STATUTES INVOLVED
AND THE NATURE OF THE CASE

The SCACUGR sc ccccsccccccececcccseccncecccccecccccccce

The Facts amd Proceedings BelOw....ceccsccsccecscees

ARGUMENT
POINT ONE
The Court lacks jurisdiction to hear this case
because the Court of Appeals order is not final.....
POINT TWO
This case presents no substantial question..........

CERPAS Re bees secncderoccedoecdecesocreccncecoecceoecens

PAGE

CITATIONS

Constitution

U.S. Const. amend MEV EVGERCENSON SAGE 60U40 80040 CRbd bs RSE wS

Statutes

N.Y. Vehicle & Traffic Law § 510(2)(9)(iii)
(McKinney Cum. Supp. oo. | ee eer

N.Y. Vehicle & Traffic Law § 510(2)(b)(i)
(McKinney Cum. Supp. Te PNas bbanueeensieeedensecce

N.Y. Vehicle & Traffic Law § 1192(1) and (3)
(McKinney Cum. Supp. NPs bb 606466 660s tba ceeres

N.Y. Vehicle & Traffic Law § 1192(5)
(McKinney Cum. Supp. WETOP TO ee eiCiwcbuuscesebaccewd

28 U.8.C. § Peer baeabeoelenecusdénsteectasdscoosecccatdse

Cases

Abney Ve United States, 431 U.S. 651 CTDT 7 deccccccccccess

Bass v. Commonwealth, 209 Va. 422, 164 S.E.2d 667 (1968).

Berman v. United States, 302 U.S. 211 (1937)..ccccscccces

Brooks v. State, 41 Md. App. 129, 395 A.2d 1224
. pec. App. WU 9664 6686655508 hOdSKbb OKéeedeoceee

Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568 (1942).........

Cohen v. Beneficial Loan Corp., 337 U.S. 541 (1949)......

Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379 (1979)...ccccccccccces

Conally v. General Construction Co., 269 U.S. 385 (1926).

Coopers & Lybrand v. Livesay, 437 U.S. 463 (1978)........

Nash Ve United States, 229 U.S. 373 CUPRS devssccesenacise

Parr Ve United States, 351 U.S. 513 a) |} Se

People Ve Cruz, 48 N.Y. 2d 419 | ee

People v. Cruz, 99 Misc.2d 634
. rm, Ist Dept. PTE Sahat bbs bones 64ee8 chanted

People v. Lambert, 395 Mich. 296, 235 N.W.2d 338 (1975)..

Smith Ve Goguen, 415 U.S. 570 | ae ee

Shaffer Ve Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 EoFT pedeseceesscesesévs

State Ve Bryce, 243 A. 2d 726 (Me. Wee cesecvcccecnessece

Thompson v. People, 181 (slo. 194, 510 P.2d 311 (1973)...

United States v. Channel, 423 F. Supp. 1017

United States Vv. Harris, 374 U.S. 612 (1956p cccccecccscce

United States v. MacDonald, 435 U.S. 850 (1978)...essees.

PAGE

2-3

4, 5

>

> YN vu On DD fe SY DH

3, 6, 7

re a ee a ee

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-6094

HECTOR CRUZ,
Appellant,

ON APPEAL FROM THE COURT OF
APPEALS OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

The Appellee moves the Court to dismiss the appeal herein or, in
the alternative, to affirm the order of the Court of Appeals of the State
of New York on the ground that the Court lacks jurisdiction within the
meaning of 28 U.S.C. 1257 because the order appealed fram is not final, and
on the ground that it is manifest that the question on which the decision
of the cause depends is so unsubstantial as not to need further argument.

ane

ee ee

THE STATE STATUTES INVOLVED
AND THE NATURE OF THE CASE

The Statute

This appeal raises the question of the constitutionality of New York

Vehicle and Traffic Law sections 1192(1) and 1192(3). They provide:
1. No person shall operate a motor vehicle while

his ability to operate such motor vehicle is
impaired by the consumption of alcohol.

* * *

3. No person shall operate a motor vehicle while
he is in an intoxicated condition.

A violation of section 1192(1), driving while impaired, is a traffic
infraction punishable by a fine of up to fifty dollars, imprisonment of up
to fifteen days, or both, and a mandatory 60-day suspension of driving
privileges. New York Vehicle and Traffic Law (hereafter referred to as
V.T.L.) §§ 510(2)(b)(i), 1800(b). A violation of section 1192(3), driving
while intoxicated, is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of no more than
$500, imprisonment of no more than one year, or both, and a mandatory

revocation of ones driver's license. V.T.L. §§ 510(2)(a)(iii), 1192(5).

“The Facts and Proceedings Below

On the evening of January 28, 1978, a police officer observed
appellant driving in an erratic manner on Third Avenue in Bronx County,
New York. When appellant drove through a red light the «fficer stopped him
and as appellant left his car, the officer detected a strong odor of
alcohol on his breath, saw that appellant's eyes were watery and blood
shot, that his speech was slurred, and that he was unsteady on his feet.
When asked to produce his driver's license and registration appellant threw
them at the police officer. After appellant admitted having a couple of
drinks, he was placed under arrest. Appellant, who refused to take a
breathalizer test, was charged by a misdemeanor complaint with violating
New York Vehicle and Traffic Law section 1192.

After a preliminary hearing, appellant made a pretrial motion to
dismiss the accusatory instrument on the ground, inter alia, that sub-
section 1 and 3 of section 1192 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law were so

vague as to violate the due process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

U.S. Const. amend. XIV. In a decision dated October 31, 1978, a Judge of
the New York City Criminal Court, granted defendant's motion. In a per
curium opinion with one Justice dissenting, the Appellate Term, First
Department, affirmed the Criminal Court's order dismissing the information.
People v. Cruz, 99 Misc.2d 634 (App. Term, Ist Dept. 1979). However the

Court of Appeals of the State of New York, finding the statute oonsti-
tutional, reinstated the accusatory instrument, and remitted the case to
the Criminal Court for further proceedings. Pecple v. Cruz, 48 N.Y.2d 419

(1979). At the present time the case is pending in the trial court.

a

> ties

ARGUMENT
POINT ONE
THE COURT LACKS JURISDICTION TO HEAR THIS CASE
BECAUSE THE COURT OF APPEALS ORDER IS NOT FINAL
The Court of Appeals of the State of New York rejected appellant's
constitutional challenge and remitted this case to the Criminal Court of
the City of New York where it is pending. Since there has been no final
judgment, and this case does not fall within the collateral order exception
to the final judgment rule, the order of the Court of Appeals is not
"final" within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. 1257. Thus, the Court lacks
jurisdiction to reach the merits of the case and should dismiss the
appeal.
The final judgment in a criminal proceeding is the sentence. Parr v.
United States, 351 U.S. 513, 518 (1956); Berman v. United States, 302 U.S.

211, 212 (1937). Since appellant has not been found guilty of any crime,
let alone sentenced, it is obvious that there has been no final judgment
in this case. Therefore, the question to finality must focus upon whether
this case is one of the small classes of cases that falls within the
“collateral order" exception to the final judgment rule as first announced
in Cohen v. Beneficial Loan Corp., 337 U.S. 541, 546-47 (1949). To come

within the exception, a case must pass three tests: (1) the decision must
fully dispose of the question of the constitutionality of the state
Statute; (2) the decision must resolve an issue completely collateral from
the principle issue in the case; and (3) the decision must involve an
important right which would probably be irreparably lost if review had to
await final judgment. United States v. MacDonald, 435 U.S. 850, 855

(1978); Abney v. United States, 431 U.S. 651, 658 (1977).

Although we recognize that the decision of the Court of Appeals has
fully disposed of the constitutional question and is completely collateral
to the central issue in the case, ie: whether or not appellant is guilty
of the offenses charged, the third factor has not been satisfied. No
important right of appellant would be “lost, probably irreparably" if
review had to await final judgment. See eg, United States v. MacDonald,

Supra at 860. The order denying appellant's motion to dismiss on due
process grounds is certainly reviewable after final judgment if appellant

is convicted of violating Vehicle and Traffic Law section 1192. See

Coopers & Lybrand v. Livesay, 437 U.S. 463, 468 (1978); United States

v. MacDonald, supra at 860-61.

Although appellant cites a number of cases in support of his con-
tention that the Court has jurisdiction, only two cases are worthy of

discussion. In Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977), the Court held

that the judgment of the Delaware Supreme Court, rejecting a due process
challenge to a state statute, was a final judgment. Id. at 195, n. 12.
However, the due process challenge in Shaffer did not involve the question
of vagueness as in the instant case, rather it concerned a question of
jurisdiction which went to the very power of the state courts to entertain
the action. Thus, the Court reasoned that, if the Delaware courts did not
have jurisdiction there should be no trial at all. Id. In the case at
bar there is no contention that the state court lacks jurisdiction.

Similarily, in Abney v. United States, supra, the court held that a

pretrial double jeopardy claim fell within the collateral order exception
Only because the very purpose of the Double Jeopardy Clause is to protect
individuals “against twice being put to trial for the same offense."

431 U.S. at 661. Rather, the case at bar, is governed United States v.

MacDonald, supra. In the instant case, appellant's due process claim, like

the speedy trial claim involved in MacDonald, does not "encompass a ‘right
not to be tried' which must be upheld prior to trial if it is to be enjoyed

at all." See, United States v. MacDonald, supra at 861. Therefore, since

appellant would not lose any right by waiting until there is a final

judgment in this case, the court lacks jurisdiction to entertain this

appeal.

POINT TWO
THIS CASE PRESENTS NO SUBSTANTIAL QUESTION

The question before the Court is whether subdivision 1 of New York
Vehicle and Traffic Law section 1192, which prohibits driving while the
ability to operate a motor vehicle “is impaired by the consumption of
alcohol," and subdivision 3, which prohibits driving “while . .. in an
intoxicated condition," are unconstitutionally vague in a case where the
driver has refused to submit to any scientific test for determining the
amount of alcohol he has consumed. It is manifest that this question is
so unsubstantial as not to need further argument.

Like the New York Court of Appeals every other jurisdiction to deal
with the question has had no difficulty distinguishing between intoxication
and impairment, People v. Lambert, 395 Mich. 296, 235 N.W.2d 338 (1975);

State v. Bryce, 243 A.2d 726 (Me. 1968), and has consistently rejected

claims that such statutes are unconstitutionally vague. Brooks v. State,

41 Md. App. 129, 395 A.2d 1224 (Ct. Spec. App. 1979); Thompson v. People,

181 Colo. 194, 510 P.2d 311 (1973); See United States v. Channel, 423 F.

Supp. 1017 (D. Md. 1976); Bass v. Commonwealth, 209 Va. 422, 164 S.E.2d

667 (1968). Appellant, on the other hand, can only support his position
by citing lower court cases in New York, decided prior to the Court of
Appeals decision in the instant case. Thus, it is obvious that there is no
conflict between any state or federal courts since the decisions of the
lower court's of New York have been effectively overruled by the Court of
Appeals decision in the case at bar.

The Court of Appeals, recognizing that the vagueness doctrine of the
due process clause requires that a criminal statute be sufficiently definite
to give a person of ordinary intelligence fair notice that his contemplated
conduct is forbidden by the statute, (Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379,

390 [1979]; United States v. Harris, 374 U.S. 612, 617 [1954]; Conally v.

General Construction Co., 269 U.S. 385, 391 [1926]), did not merely uphold

the consitutionality of the statutes but construed the words “impairea” and
"intoxicated". The Court of Appeals construed impairment to mean whether
"by voluntarily consuming alcohol, . . . [the driver] has actually impaired,
to any extent, the physical and mental abilities which he is expected to

possess in order to operate a vehicle as a reasonable and prudent driver."

48 N.Y.2d at 426-27 [emphasis added]. Recognizing that intoxication is a

greater degree of inebriation than impairment, the court construed intoxi-
cation to mean "when the driver has voluntarily consumed alcohol to the
extent that he is incapable of employing the physical and mental abil-
ities which he is expected to possess in order to operate a vehicle as a
reasonable and prudent driver." 48 N.Y.2d at 428 [emphasis added]. Thus,
it is clear that when a driver's ability to operate a motor vehicle is
adversely affected by alcohol to any extent he has violated Vehicle and

Traffic Law section 1192(1). On the other hand, where a driver has
consumed so much alcohol that his ability to operate a motor vehicle is
so effected by alcohol that he is incapable of operating a motor vehicle
as would a reasonably prudent driver, he has violated subsection 3 of
Vehicle and Traffic Law section 1192.

Since, in determining whether a statute is unconstitutionally vague,
this Court, does not merely deal with the statute on its face, but

also looks at the interpretation given the statute by the state court,

(Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568, 533 [1942], see Smith v.

Goguen, 415 U.S. 570, 573 [1974]), it is clear that there is no merit to
appellant's contention that there is no distinction between "impaired" and
"intoxicated."

Finally, while it is true that whether an individual is convicted of
the misdemeanor of driving while intoxicated or the traffic infraction of
driving while impaired will depend on his degree of inebriation, this
creates no constitutional problem. As this Court stated over 65 years ago,
"the law is full of instances where a man's fate depends on his estimating
rightly that is, as the jury subsequently estimates it, some matter of
degree." Nash v. United States, 229 U.S. 373, 377 (1913). Therefore,

since the court below has drawn a distinction between driving while

impaired and intixicated, it is manifest that no substantial question is

before this Court.

CONCLUSION

FOR THE REASONS STATED HEREIN, THIS
APPEAL SHOULD BE EITHER DISMISSED OR
AFFIRMED.

Respectfully submitted,

MARIO MEROLA

District Attorney
Bronx County
: Attorney for Appellee

ALAN D. MARRUS

DAVID H. FROMM

; Assistant District Attorneys
Of Counsel

andi toe ints.

nant

MARCH 1980

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_2123%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
