# Petition — Prevette v. North Carolina

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1991%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 447 U.S. 906

## Text

Gupreme Court, U,

FILED
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

MICHA EL a :
October Term, 1980 ROUSK, JR., CLERR

€9-1622

GAITHER DEAN PREVETTE, ET. AL..,
Petitioners,

-VS-

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the
North Carolina Court of Appeals

Roger W. Smith Thomas J. White

300 Branch Bank Building Post Office Drawer 3169
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 Kinston, North Carolina 28501
Telephone: (919) 821-4711 Telephone: (919) 527-8131
Counsel for Petitioners Counsel for Petitioners

Sutton and Wood

C. E. Gerrans

Post Office Box 3405

Kinston, North Carolina 28501

Telephone: (919) 527-6252

Counsel for Petitioners Prevette,
Stafford, St. John and Grimes

INDEX
CHRIS TUE aia ins cc caR Ree eA Ces uin Secidbuaceb es 4)
SUITE: 5. 2a a eR ha Sa cas PEL ANR TRS NORE H)
ND Fa ig ee cue Coens 5
Constitutional Provisions Involved................... 6
See, ES oh dk ona ce dG i cewiccacin se 6
Nature and Course of the Proceedings ........... 6
PMR GE TID PO. oo sisv nc cca cacscncccccceces 7
Reasons for Granting the Writ..................008: 10
A. Bases of Decision Below .................005: 10
B. Appropriateness of Review .................. 11
C. Tampere GE WAN ok cassis cade cease 16
Com bc case cebicebcis ced brid iee ck ctovouds. 17
Appendix I: Excerpts from Record ................. 18
Appendix II: Opinion Below .................ee0e- 21

CITATIONS

Agnello v. United States, 269 U.S. 20 (1925) ......... 12
Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753 (1979) ............ 15
Chapman v. United States, 365 U.S. 610 (1961) ...... 12
Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752 (1968) ............ 12
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971) ..... 12
Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200 (1979) .......... 17
Harris v. United States, 390 U.S. 234 (1968) .......... 13
Hester v. United States, 265 U.S. 57 (1924) .......... 16
Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 10 (1947) “F....... 12
Jones v. United States, 357 U.S. 493 (1958) .......... 12
Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) ........... 16
Lo-Ji Sales v. New York, 442 U.S. 319 (1979) ........ 17
Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., 436 U.S. 307 (1978) ....... 17
McDonald v. United States, 335 U.S. 451 (1948) ...... 12
Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438 (1928) ....... 16
Roaden v. Kentucky, 413 U.S. 496 (1973) ............ 15
Silverthorne Lumber Co. v. United States,

ee es Eee a oe aaa Rac bnasnwa ce 16
Stanford v. Texas, 379 U.S. 476 (1965) ............... 17
State v. Frizelle, 243 N.C. 40 (1955) ......cccccccccces 16
State v. Harrison, 239 N.C. 659 (1954) ............... 16
State wo. Twitty, 2 FOAL. TORE) asics ve cdccccsavacas 16
Taylor v. United States, 286 U.S. 1(1931) ........... 12
United States v. Jeffers, 342 U.S. 48 (1951) .......... 15
Vale v. Louisiana, 399 U.S. 30 (1970) ................ 12
Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 491 (1963) ...... 16

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1980

No.

GAITHER DEAN PREVETTE, ET. AL..
Petitioners,

-VS-

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the
North Carolina Court of Appeals

The Petitioners, Gaither Dean Prevette, William Norman
Stafford, Walter Lee St. John, Randy Marylon Grimes, Phillip
Mark Sutton, and Francis Earl Wood, respectfully pray that a
Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of
the North Carolina Court of Appeals in this proceeding on
November 6, 1979.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the North Carolina Court of Appeals is
reported in 43 N.C. App. 450, 259 S.E. 2d 595. The Judgment of
the Supreme Court of North Carolina, dismissing Petitioners’
Appeal and denying their Petition for Discretionary Review,
is reported in 299 N.C. 124, 262 S.E. 2d 8 (1980).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the North Carolina Court of Appeals was
entered on November 6, 1979. Petitioners’ Appeal and Petition
for Discretionary Review were denied by the Supreme Court
of North Carolina in an Order filed on January 17, 1980, and
this Petition for Certiorari was filed within 90 days of that date.
This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1257 (3).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the “plain view” doctrine authorize the warrantless
seizure of evidence from a back room of a residence after
evidence is observed in a front room of the residence?

2. Does the “‘plain view” doctrine authorize entry into a
residence after evidence is observed inside the residence by a
police officer standing outside the residence?

3. Is the “plain view” doctrine’s requirement of an initial
lawful intrusion satisfied where an officer observes contra-
band inside a residence, while looking through the front door
from the porch outside the residence, after going to the door in
response to an anonymous tip that contraband was present in
the residence?

4. Is the “plain view” doctrine’s requirement of an inad-
vertent discovery satisfied where an officer observes contra-
band inside a residence, while looking through the front door
from the porch outside the residence, after going to the door
for the purpose of trying to locate contraband in response to an
anonymous tip that contraband was present in the residence?

5. Is the “plain view” doctrine’s requirement of exigency
satisfied where an officer goes to a residence in response to an
anonymous tip that the residence was “hanging full” of
marijuana, detains a suspect outside the residence, observes
marijuana on the floor of a room inside the residence from his
position outside the residence, and would be unable to procure
a search warrant in less than one hour?

6. Does the “open fields’ exception to the Fourth Amend-
ment permit the search of farm buildings around a residence
that is 300 yards from the nearest (unpaved) public road, not
visible from the public road, and accessible only by a one-lane
farm road marked by a no trespassing sign and blocked by a
farm tractor?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment IV:

The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses,
papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and
seizures, shall not be violated, and no warrants shall issue but
upon probable cause, supported by oath or affirmation and
particularly describing the place to be searched and the
persons or things to be seized.

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV:

§1. All person born or naturalized in the United States, and
subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United
States and of the state wherein they reside. No state shall make
or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or
immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any state
deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor deny to any person within its jirisdiction
the equal protection of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Nature and Course of the Proceedings:

The Petitioners were charged in separate bills of indict-
ment, returned by the Lenoir County Grand Jury on
November 7, 1977, with the felonious possession with intent to
manufacture, sell and deliver the controlled substance
marijuana on September 22, 1977.

Prior to the trial, Petitioners moved to suppress all evidence
seized, on September 22, and 23, 1977, pursuant to a search of
land and buildings described as Wood’s Dairy Farm, Route 3,
La Grange, North Carolina.

In March, 1978, the motions to suppress came on for hearing
in Lenoir County Superior Court. The Court heard evidence
and argument and entered an Order denying the motions to
suppress.

Petitioners excepted to the Court’s Order, preserved their
right to appeal from that Order pursuant to N.C.G.S. §15A-

979, and entered pleas of guilty to the charges contained in the
indictments on March 23, 1978.

The Court entered judgments sentencing Petitioners Pre-
vette, Stafford, St. John, Sutton, and Wood to terms of
imprisonment of two years, and Petitioner Grimes toa term of -
probation of four years.

Petitioners gave notice of appeal to the North Carolina
Court of Appeals. In an opinion filed on January 16, 1979, that
Court remanded the case to Lenoir County Superior Court for
a factual determination of whether Petitioners had standing to
object to the search. State v. Prevette, 39 N.C. App. 470, 250
S.E.2d 682 (1979). The Supreme Court of North Carolina denied
Petitioners’ Petition for Discretionary Review of this decision.
State v. Prevette, 297 N.C. 179, 254 S.E.2d 38 (1979).

The Lenoir County Superior Court held a hearing on
September 4, 1979, and concluded that Petitioners did have
standing to challenge the legality of the search. Respondent
did not appeal from that determination.

The North Carolina Court of Appeals, in an opinion filed on
November 6, 1979, affirmed the Superior Court’s original
denial of Petitioners’ motions to suppress. State v. Prevette, 43
N.C. App. 450, 259 S.E.2d 595 (1979). Petitioners’ Appeal and
Petition for Discretionary Review, filed in the Supreme Court
of North Carolina on December 7, 1979, were dismissed and
denied by Order filed on January 17, 1980. State v. Prevette,
299 N.C. 124, 262 S.E.2d 8 (1980).

Statement of Facts:

At the initial hearing on Petitioners’ motions to suppress in
Lenoir County Superior Court, there was evidence to show
the following:

At about 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, September 22, 1977, Lenoir
County Deputy Sheriff Robert Pelletier received an anon-
ymous telephone call at the Sheriff's Office in the Courthouse
in Kinston, North Carolina. The caller said that “there was an
abandoned house near Wood’s Dairy Farm hanging full of
marijuana.” (Record on Appeal in the North Carolina Court of
Appeals, page 24.) The caller refused to meet with Deputy
Pelletier but told him that he (the caller) would be back in
touch later. (R.p. 24)

Deputy Pelletier notified Sheriff's Detective William E.
Smith and, after Pelletier completed an assignment as
security guard at the airport, he met at the Sheriff's Office

with Smith and three Kinston City Police Detectives at about
10:00 p.m. (R.p. 25)

Deputy Pelletier was familar with Wood’s Dairy Farm in the
Jenny Lind Section of rural Lenoir County, having been
raised in the old Herring house near there (R.p. 26, 31). The
Officers believed that the description given by the caller fit
both the Herring house and the Wood’s Dairy Farm residence
(R.pp. 24, 43, 52, 53). They believed the Herring house to be
abandoned (R. pp. 26) but were not sure whether the Wood’s
house was occupied or not (R.pp. 26, 39, 44, 63). At the Sheriff's
Office meeting, they discussed the insufficiency of the
information to obtain a search warrant and neither sought nor
obtained a search warrant from the Magistrate (R.p. 57) on
duty in the Courthouse, one floor below, and thirty or forty
yards from, the Sheriff’s Office (R.p 58).

Following a discussion of seversl minutes, the Officers
decided to ride up there (R.p. 25) and check the two houses
(R.p. 53) and the buildings on Wood’s Dairy Farm (R.p. 25).
Their purpose in going was to “look for the marijuana” (R.p.
33, 43, 54) and try “‘to get probable cause.” (R.pp. 43, 54). They
“were not going to call on anybody’s residence and ask any
questions.” (R.p. 43).

After a twenty-minute drive in two unmarked cars, they
arrived at the Herring house which they searched and found
to be empty (R. pp. 26, 31, 32, 44). They left there and drove
toward Wood’s Dairy Farm, going back to the paved road,
turning from there onto an unpaved road, and driving until
they reached the turn-off to the Wood’s Dairy Farm path (R.p.
32). This path, which served only, and led only to, the Wood’s
residence, was a “real crooked,” one-lane, two-wheel-rutted
farm road that went directly to the front of the Wood’s
residence (R. p. 32). From the unpaved state road to the Wood’s
residence, the path was several hundred yards long (R.p. 27)
and the house was not visible from the state unpaved road
(R.p. 38). About half-way along the path to the house, there was
a fence (R.p. 32).

The Officers turned onto this path and drove until they came
to a point where it crossed an earthen bridge (R.p. 32) on each
side of which was a ditch (R.pp. 38-39). On the bridge, blocking
the path, was a large farm tractor (R. pp. 27, 38). Beyond the
tractor, about fifty yards further up the path, the Officers
could see the Wood’s residence (R. p. 27). [To the left of the
tractor, a “No Trespassing”’ sign on a post was not seen by the
Officers at this time (R. pp. 27, 53, 65) but was seen by them,
“clearly readable” (Rp. 53), the next day (R.pp. 53, 65)].

The Officers stopped and exited their cars behind the tractor
(R. pp. 27, 46). It was about 11:00 p.m. (R. p.27). From this point,
they could see the house (R. p. 27). Deputy Pelletier saw that

the front porch light was on (R. p. 27). Sheriff's Detective Smith

saw that a light was on inside the house in either the kitchen or
den area (R. p. 46). City Police Detective Larry Green observed
“that there were lights on the inside of the house.” (R. p. 65).

Walking around the tractor, the Officers (all in plain clothes
except Pelletier) proceeded toward the front of the house with
their flashlights off(R. p. 46). As Deputy Pelletier walked onto
the front porch, there was a noise from the side of the house
“like somebody came out the side door” (R. p. 27), “like a door
slamming.” (R. p. 46). The Officers ran to the side yard and
observed a person “running all out” from the middle side of
the house. He ran and jumped into acorn field that was located
behind the house, about twenty yards from the back door of
the house, and landed in a lying position about five yards into
the field (R. p. 46). The Officers got the man to his feet and it
was Petitioner St. John. The Officers questioned him and he
denied living in the house or knowing who lived there ((R. p.
47). City Detective Green observed green residue on his
clothing and face and detected the odor of marijuana about his
person. (R. p. 66).

The Officers walked Petitioner St. John onto the front
porch and up to a doorway that opened into the house at the
end of the porch (R. p. 28). This doorway was barred by aclosed
screen (R. p. 28) and Deputy Pelletier detected no odor from
the house (R. p. 28) and observed nothing that he considered to
be contraband (R. p. 34). Sheriff's Detective Smith, however,
detected a “musky odor that smeiled like vegetable material of
some kind” and observed “scattered leafy material on the
floor” (R. p. 348) that he “guessed,” but did not know, was
marijuana (R. p. 55).

The Officers, led by Deputy Pelletier, then entered the
house (R. p. 29) into the kitchen, where they observed a
working refrigerator, canned goods, a stove, and table ware(R.
pp. 35, 37).

They then proceeded to search the house and found
bedrooms, a bath room, a small back room, beds, blankets, and
sheets (R. pp. 35, 37). In closets and a back bedroom, the
Officers found Petitioners Prevette, Stafford, and Grimes (R.
p. 67) and brought them to the front room with Petitioner St.
John (R. p. 30). Thereafter, on the floor of the small back room,
the Officers found a pasteboard box containing what they

believed to be marijuana stems (R. p. 29). The four Petitioners
in the front room were then arrested (R. p. 49). Some of the
Officers then went outside, checked the outbuildings, and,
after about ten minutes, reported back that they were full (R.
p. 30). Petitioner Sutton was then arrested after he approached,
and then tried to leave, the premises in a pick-up truck (R. pp.
50-51).

Thereafter, that night and the following day, Officers
searched the premises of the farm and found a ten-acre field of
plowed up marijuana stalks, a ten-foot high pile of marijuana
stalks, and a packhouse, three grain bins, and a tobacco barn
filled with marijuana (R. p. 93). Altogether, the material
discovered totalled approximately eight tons (R. p. 51). The
Officers took samples and destroyed the remainder (R. p. 52).

One or two weeks after these events, Sheriff's Detective
Smith prepared and filed an official report in which he
indicated that the officers had ‘‘stumbled across’ the
marijuana after going to the house to look for a suspect in a
breaking and entering case (R. p. 97). Later, he filed a second
report in which he told ‘exactly what had happened.” (R. p.
97).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. BASES OF THE DECISION BELOW

The North Carolina Court of Appeals held that the search
was proper and that marijuana seized from the residence and
the outbuildings was admissible. The Court based this decision
on the following conclusions:

1. The seizure of the marijuana from a back room of the
residence was justified by the officers’ observation of
marijuana scattered on the floor of a front room of the
residence (Implicit).

2. The “plain view” doctrine applies because officers may
enter and search a residence without a search warrant if they
observe, from outside the residence, contraband inside the
residence, so long as the conditions for application of the
doctrine are present.

3. The conditions for application of the “plain view”
doctrine were present in this case because the officers
observed and smelled marijuana inside the house, from their
position at the door outside the house, and

a. The officers were lawfully at the door out-
side the house,

10

b. The officers discovered the marijuana
inadvertently, and

c. The officers were confronted with
exigent circumstances.

4. The seizure of marijuana from the outbuildings around
the residence was proper because of the “open fields”
exception to the Fourth Amendment.

B. APPROPRIATENESS OF REVIEW

The decision of the North Carolina Court of Appeals is
appropriate for review by this Court because its major
premises, outlined above, are in conflict in principle with the
decisions of this Court.

1. Scope of the Plain View Search

The North Carolina Court of Appeals analyzed the search
issue in terms of the “plain view” doctrine. The Court found
the conditions of the doctrine satisfied and held that the
marijuana was properly seized from the residence because the
officers entered and seized marijuana after seeing and
smelling marijuana inside the house from their position
outside the house.

The marijuana seized from the residence—the marijuana at
issue in the case—was not the material that was seen inside the
house by the officers.

After the officers brought Petitioner St. John from the corn
field to the front porch of the house, Deputy Smith was able to
see through the screen door into the first room. In that room,
he saw “scattered leafy meterial on the floor.” It was “not in
large quantities, just scattered.” (R. p. 48). From this
observation, and the accompanying odor, he concluded that
the material was marijuana (R. p. 48).

At that time, all five officers “entered and proceeded to
search the house” (R. p. 37). Deputy Smith testified: “After we
got into the kitchen room, the officers started through the
house with their flashlights to see if there was any other
subjects in the house.” (R. p. 49). During the course of this
search, three of the Petitioners were found in the house (R. p.
29). P

After these people were found, they were brought to the
front room. Then, a pasteboard box was observed on the floor
of a back room. (R. pp. 29, 49). This box, described as being
“approximately 8 inches deep and 18 to24 inches wide,” had no

11

lid and was one-half to three-fourths full of what the officers
recognized as marijuana (R. pp. 29, 49). Deputy Smith seized
the box, carried it into the kitchen, and arrested the subjects
(R. p. 49).

(Apparently, the material first seen by the officers through
the screen door was not seized.)

The room in which the box was found was located at the back
of the house with two full rooms (kitchen and dining room)
between it and the door through which entry was made (R. p.
35). From the porch outside that door, “there would have been
no way possible to have seen the contents of the box ... in the
back room.” (R. p. 36).

The purpose of the plain view doctrine is to permit the
seizure of clearly visible items without the necessity of a
search warrant. Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 29
L.Ed. 2d 564, 91 S.Ct. 2022 (1971). And the scope of any search is
limited by the circumstances by which it is justified. Chimel v.
California, 395 U.S. 752, 23 L. Ed. 2d 685, 89 S. Ct. 2034 (1969).

The North Carolina Court of Appeals held, in effect, that a
house may be entered and completely searched if officers
outside the house see contraband anywhere inside the house.
That holding is not justified by any reading of the plain view
doctrine.

2. The Plain View Doctrine as Justification
for Entering A Residence.

The plain view doctrine does not provide justification for a
law enforcement officer to enter a private residence and seize
items located within the residence. Knowledge of the presence
of contraband within a residence, no matter how certain and
no matter how acquired, does not justify a warrantless entry
and seizure. Vale v. Louisiana, 399 U.S. 30, 26 L.Ed.2d 409, 90
S.Ct. 1969 (1970); Chapman v. United States, 365 U.S. 610, 5
L.Ed. 2d 828, 81 S.Ct. 776 (1961); Jones v. United States, 357 U.S.
493, 2 L.Ed. 2d 1514, 78 C.Ct. 1253 (1958); McDonald v. United
States, 335 U.S. 451, 93 L.Ed. 153, 69 S.Ct. 191 (1948); Johnson v.
United States, 333 U.S. 10, 92 L.Ed. 436, 68 S.Ct. 367 (1947);
Taylor v. United States, 286 U.S. 1, 76 L.Ed. 436, 52 S.Ct. 466
(1931); Agnello v. United States, 269 U.S. 20, 70 L.Ed. 145, 46
S.Ct. 4 (1925).

The North Carolina Court of Appeals relied on the language
of Coolidge v. New Hampshire, supra, to justify application of
the plain view doctrine in the present case. But Coolidge
involved the seizure of a vehicle from a driveway and a

12

subsequent search.of that vehicle. Nothing in that decision
suggests that an officer’s observation into a residence, from
outside the residence, dispenses with the requirement that the
decision to permit entry into a dwelling must be made by a
magistrate.

3. Lawfulness of the Officers’ Presence

If the plain view doctrine can justify entry into this
residence, and the seizure of the box of marijuana, then it can
do so only if the conditions for application of that doctrine were
present. The first of those conditions is that the officer making
the observation must have done so from a place where he had a
right to be. Coolidge v. New Hampshire, supra; Harris v.
United States, 390 U.S. 234, 19 L.Ed.2d 1067, 88 S.Ct. 992 (1968).

The North Carolina Court of Appeals recognized this
condition and found that the officers were properly on the
front porch at the door because they were there ‘“‘to conduct a
general inquiry and investigation.” State v. Prevette, supra at
455.

As will be discussed more fully in the following section, the
facts of this case do not support that conclusion. Both Deputy
Pelletier and Sheriff's Detective Smith testified that they
went to the residence to find the marijuana (R. pp. 33, 53). To
denominate such a mission an “investigation” does not alter
the fact that it was, in truth, a search.

Police officers, like other citizens, may go to the door of a
residence to make legitimate general inquiry. But, to permit
officers to go to the door of a residence in the dark of night,
looking for marijuana, after receiving an anonymous tip that
marijuana is present, would make a sham of Fourth
Amendment search warrant procedure. An officer in pos-
session of information establishing probable cause to search
may go to the door of a residence only if he first submits that
information to a magistrate and obtains a warrant. McDonald
v. United States, supra; Johnson v. United States, supra. It
would be anomalous indeed to permit an officer in possession
of information that arouses suspicion but does not establish
probable cause to go to the door of a residence in an effort to
see the contraband through a window or door.

4. Inadvertency of Observation

In Coolidge v. New Hampshire, supra, the Court held that
plain view justifies a seizure only if the evidence was
discovered inadvertently.

13

The North Carolina Court of Appeals recognized this
requirement but held that it was satisfied by the fact that the
officers saw marijuana inside the house through the screen
door.

The Court’s conclusion begs the question. The issue raised
by the inadvertency requirement is whether the officers
anticipated the discovery. Coolidge v. New Hampshire, supra.
As this Court pointed out in Coolidge, the requirement of
inadvertency has two purposes. First, it assures that officers
who have probable cause prior to the seizure secure a search
warrant. Second, it assures that officers who do not have prior
probable cause may not “justify a planned warrantless seizure
by maneuvering themselves within ‘plain view’ of the object
they want.” Id., n. 26, at 469, 29 L.Ed.2d at 585, 91 S.Ct. at 2052.

Under no reasonable analysis of the facts in this case may the
discovery of this marijuana be characterized as inadvertent.
Tested by the subjective intent of the officers, it is clear that
they went to the premises for the purpose of finding the
marijuana. The officers tesiified at the suppression hearing
that, when they left the Sheriff's Office for the Wood's Dairy
Farm area, it was their “intention to try to locate the
marijuana” (R. p. 54) and they “had no idea of going to any
houses in that area other than the two, the Herring house and
the Wood’s Dairy house.” (R. pp. 53, 73). When they parked
their cars on the Wood’s Dairy Farm road and started walking
toward the residence, they were “going there to look for the
marijuana.” (R. p. 33). Their “sole purpose in going there was
to seek the marijuana that had been described in the phone
call.” (R. p. 53). After the officers took custody of Petitioner St.
John outside the house, and walked him to the screen door,
Sheriff's Detective Smith looked in and saw material on the
floor. He testified: “I knew it was green vegetable material and
I guessed it was marijuana because I was looking for it and
expected it to be there.” (R. p.55). The evidence also indicates
that the officers consciously undertook a plan to make their
purposeful discovery appear to be inadvertent. Two weeks
after the seizure, Deputy Smith filed a report in which he
“gave the understanding” that they were looking for a
breaking and entering suspect and “stumbled on the house.”
(R. p. 97). One month later, he filed a revised report (R. p. 97).

Tested by objective standards, it would also be inaccurate to
describe the discovery as inadvertent. The information
received from the anonymous tipster was that there was a
house “hanging full of marijuana.” (R. p. 24). The only
conceivable purpose of an on-site examination of the two

ae

suspect houses would be to observe the marijuana. That is a
search.

The North Carolina Court of Appeals’ conclusion that this
discovery was inadvertent clearly conflicts with the decision
in Coolidge v. New Hampshire, supra.

5. Exigency of Circumstances

With the exception of consent and arrest searches, warrant-
less searches are not proper except in “exigent circumstances.”
Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753, 61 L.Ed.2d 235, 99 S.Ct 2586
(1979); Vale v. Louisiana, supra; Coolidge v. New Hampshire,
supra. Inconvenience and delay are not sufficient in them-
selves to constitute the exigent circumstances necessary to
justify a warrantless search. Johnson v. United States, supra.
What is required are “circumstances in which police action
literally must be‘r w or never’ to preserve the evidence of the
crime.” Roaden v. Kentucky, 413 U.S. 496, 505, 37 L.Ed.2d 757,
765, 93 S.Ct. 2796, 2803 (1973).

In the present case, the North Carolina Court of Appeals
concluded that the circumstances were exigent because, as the
Trial Court concluded, the contraband might be destroyed,
other suspects might be in the area, it would have taken an hour
to get a search warrant, and the possessors were aware of the
police presence.

The officers, however, had information that there was a
large quantity of marijuana. When they observed marijuana
in the house, they could have arrested Petitioner St. John and
secured the premises until asearch warrant could be obtained.
Coolidge v. New Hampshire, supra; United States v. Jeffers,
342 U.S. 48, 96 L.Ed. 59, 72 S.Ct. 93 (1951). In view of this option,
it can hardly be said that this was the kind of now or never
situation envisioned by Roaden v. Kentucky, supra.

6. The Open Fields Exception

After the subjects were rounded up, placed ‘in the front
room, and arrested, Deputy Pelletier watched them while
some of the other officers went ‘‘to check the rest of the
buildings.” (R. p. 30). After about ten minutes, one of the
officers returned and reported “that all the buildings were
full.” (R. p. 30). Thirty minutes later, Petitioners were taken to
the courthouse (R. p. 30). Subsequently, during the night and
the next day, all of the buildings were searched.

The North Carolina Court of Appeals approved this search
of the outbuildings on the basis that the Fourth Amendment
protection does not extend to “open fields.”

15

It is true that this Court has held that the Fourth
Amendment’s protection does not include open fields. Hester
v. United States, 265 U.S. 57, 68 L.Ed.2d 989, 44 S.Ct. 445 (1924).
This Court has also held that no Fourth Amendment issue
arises where evidence is obtained without a physical trespass.
Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438, 72 L.Ed. 944, 48S.Ct. 564
(1928). More recently, however, the Court has rejected
analysis of Fourth Amendment issues in traditional property
terms and has held that protection from unreasonable search
and seizure extends to what a person reasonably seeks to
preserve as private. Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 19
L.Ed.2d 576, 88 S.Ct. 507 (1967).

If one has a reasonable expectation of privacy in a public
telephone booth, as in Katz, supra, surely one has a reasonable
expectation of privacy in outbuildings located on a farm 300
yards from the nearest (unpaved) road, and accessible only by
a one-lane farm road marked by a no trespassing sign and
blocked by a tractor.

Even if the facts are analyzed in terms of property law, it is
not realistic to conclude that these farm buildings were
equivalent to open fields. In North Carolina, a person’s home
includes his dwelling and other buildings within the curtilage.
State v. Harrison, 239 N.C. 659, 80 S.E.2d 481 (1954). The
curtilage includes the land, enclosed or not, commonly used
with the dwelling. State v. Frizelle, 243 N.C. 49, 89 S.E.2d 725
(1955); State v. Twitty, 2 N.C. 102 (1794).

In any event, the grounds and outbuildings around the
Wood’s residence were searched, not because they were in
open fields, but because of the prior search of the residence.
Thus, evidence obtained as a result of that search was the
product of the illegality of the search of the residence and was,
therefore, inadmissible. Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S.
491, 9 L.Ed.2d 441, 83 S.Ct. 407 (1963); Silverthorne Lumber Co.
v. United States, 251 U.S. 385, 64 L.Ed. 319, 40 S.Ct. 182 (1920).

C. IMPORTANCE OF REVIEW

Review by this Court of the North Carolina Court of
Appeals’ decision 1s not only appropriate but important.

In the first place, review is important because each of the
separate components of the decision, discussed above, is an
important aspect of the law of search and seizure.

In the second place, review is important because of the
overall thrust of the opinion in the Court below. Reduced to its
essence, the case stands for the following proposition: A police

16

officer who receives an anonymous tip that contraband is
located in either one of two dwellings may go to those
dwellings in hopes of finding the contraband. That type of
door-to-door search smacks of the general warrant or writ of
assistance from which the Fourth Amendment provides
protection. Lo-Ji Sales v. New York, 442 U.S. 319, 60 L.Ed.2d
920, 99 S.Ct. 2319 (1979); Marshall v. Barlow’s Inc., 436 U.S. 307,
56 L.Ed.2d 305, 98 S.Ct. 1816 (1978); Stanford v. Texas, 379 US.
476, 13 L.Ed.2d 431, 85 S.Ct. 506 (1965).

When a police officer receives anonymous information, not
sufficient to establish probable cause, that contraband is
located in a particular residence, or in one of several
residences, may he goto the door to investigate? It isimportant
that the question be answered. As pointed out in Dunaway v.
New York, 442 U.S. 200, 213, 60 L.Ed.2d 824, 836, 99 S.Ct. 2248,
2257 (1979): ‘A single, familia: standard is essential to guide
police officers, who have only limited time and expertise to re-
flect on and balance the social and individual interests involved
in the specific circumstances they confront.”

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to review
the judgment and opinion of the North Carolina Court of
Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,
ROGER W. SMITH
300 Branch Bank Building
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
Telephone: (919) 821-4711
Counsel for Petitioners

THOMAS J. WHITE

Post Office Drawer 3169

Kinston, North Carolina 28501

Telephone: (919) 527-8131

Counsel for Petitioners Sutton and Wood

C. E. GERRANS
Post Office Box 3405
Kinton, North Carolina 28501
Telephone: (919) 527-6252
Counsel for Petitioners Prevette, Stafford,
St. John and Grimes
April 14, 1980

17

APPENDIX I

Excerpts from Record Indicating Presentation of Federal
Questions Below:

A. In the Trial Court, a motion substantially like the one
which follows, was filed on behalf of each Petitioner:

(From Record pages 18-20):

MOTION TO SUPPRESS AND EXCLUDE EVIDENCE —
NOS. 77 CR9031, 77 CR9032, 77 CR 9033 (Filed January 3, 1978)

NOW COMES the Defendant, Phillip Mark Sutton by
counsel of record Thomas J. White, and proceeding pursuant
to N.C.G.S. Section 15A-974 moves to suppress and exclude
certain evidence which the Defendant alleges was unlawfully
obtained, said evidence being the following:

All evidence consisting of or pertaining to approxi-
mately sixteen thousand pounds of material alleged
to be marijuana or any part thereof found and seized
on or about September 22 and 23, 1977, on land and in
buildings described as Wood’s Dairy Farm on Route
3, LaGrange, North Carolina, in Lenoir County,
North Carolina, and especially including, but not
limited to, the following: Cardboard boxes of green
vegetable material with gloves inside said boxes; two
feea bags of green vegetable material found near a
cow shelter; dried green vegetable plants in ashelter

or any other building near a dwelling; green vege-
table material found on and taken from certain farm
equipment located on the Wood’s Dairy Farm; and
any other green vegetable material found on the
premises known as Wood’s Dairy Farm on, in, or
about any of the buildings thereon, and any and all
paraphernalia seized which is designed to be or
could be used in or associated with the production,
manufacture, packaging, processing, repackaging,
possession, use, sale, or distribution of marijuana;
and any other articles seized or held by the State of
North Carolina which the aforesaid State intends to
offer or attempt to offer into evidence against the
Defendant, Phillip Mark Sutton.

a rns er

APPENDIX I

Grounds upon which this motion is interposed are
the following:

I. The vegetable material, plants, paraphernalia
and other objects and articles mentioned in this
MOTION TO SUPPRESS AND EXCLUDE
EVIDENCE were seized and possession of the same
obtained by means of a warrantless search of the
described premises under conditions requiring the
use of a valid search warrant, which search was
unreasonable, without the consent of any person,
without probable cause, not incidental to a valid
arrest, without said seized articles and objects being
in the category of contraband in plain view of
officers lawfully upon the premises where the same
was seized, and therefore unreasonable under the
protection provided by the Fourth Amendment of
the United States Constitution, and therefore, the
exclusion of said evidence so seized is required by the
Constitution of the United States and by the
Constitution of the State of North Carolina.

II. The exclusion of any statement whether oral or
written alleged to have been made by the
Defendant, Phillip Mark Sutton under the facts and
circumstances of the above numbered cases is
required by the provisions of the Fifth and Sixth
Amendments of the United States Constitution and
by Section 23 of Article I of the Constitution of the
State of North Carolina.

An Affidavit containing facts supporting this MOTION TO
SUPPRESS AND EXCLUDE EVIDENCE is attached.

WHEREFORE, the Defendant, Phillip Mark Sutton, prays
the Court:

1. That pursuant to N.C.G.S. Section 15A-977 (b) an order
issue which summarily suppresses the above described
evidence or, in the alternative;

2. That a hearing be had on this MOTION TO SUPPRESS
AND EXCLUDE EVIDENCE on the date the above numbered
cases shall be regularly set for motion and arraignment and
that at the conclusion of that hearing, the Court issue an order
suppressing and excluding the evidence described herein.

19

APPENDIX I

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED, this 30th day of December,
1977.

WHITE, ALLEN, HOOTEN,
HODGES & HINES, P.A.
Attorneys for Phillip Mark Sutton
By: s/Thomas J. White

Attorney

B. In the North Carolina Court of Appeals:
(From Record page 164):
ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR NO. 3:

For that his Honor erred in overruling and denying the
several Motions of the defendants to suppress and exclude
evidence.

EXCEPTIONS: NOS. (Omitted).

20

APPENDIX II.

OPINION BELOW

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA V. GAITHER DEAN PREVETTE, WILLIAM
NORMAN STAFFORD, WALTER LEE ST. JOHN, RANDY MARYLON
GRIMES, PHILLIP MARK SUTTON, anp FRANCIS EARL WOOD

No. 788SC753
(Filed 6 November 1979)

APPEAL by defendants from Cowper, Judge. Judgments
entered 23 March 1978 in Superior Court, LENOIR County. Heard
in the Court of Appeals 5 December 1978.

Defendants were charged with felonious possession of mari-
juana with intent to manufacture, sell, and deliver, a violation of
the North Carolina Controlled Substances Act. Each defendant
tendered a plea of not guilty, and the six cases were consolidated
for trial. All defendants moved to suppress the evidence, approx-
imately eight tons of marijuana, seized by officers. After a hear-
ing pursuant to Section 979(b) of Chapter 15A of the General
Statutes of North Carolina, the trial court found facts, made con-
clusions of law, and denied the motions. Each defendant then
entered a plea of guilty, judgments were entered, and defendants
appealed. Such facts as are necessary to this opinion appear
below.

Attorney General Edmisten, by Assistant Attorney General
Isham B. Hudson, Jr., for the State.

Gerrans & Spence, by C. E. Gerrans, for defendants Gaither
D. Prevette, William N. Stafford, Walter L. St. John, and Randy
M. Grimes.

White, Allen, Hooten, Hodges & Hines, by Thomas J. White
and W. H. Paramore III, for defendants Phillip M. Sutton and
Francis E. Wood.

MARTIN (Harry C.), Judge.

In State v. Prevette, 39 N.C. App. 470, 250 S.E. 2d 682, disc.
rev. denied, 297 N.C. 179, 254 S.E. 2d 38 (1979), this Court held
the stipulation by the state and defendants that all defendants
had standing to challenge the validity of the searches and
seizures was invalid and not binding upon it. We remanded to
superior court for a factual determination of whether defendants

21

APPENDIX II

or any of them had a protectible interest in the searched
premises under the Fourth Amendment of the United States Con-
stitution. A hearing was held 4 September 1979. That court found
facts and concluded that all defendants did have standing to
challenge the legality of the search. The state did not except to
this ruling of the trial judge; therefore, it is not presented to this
Court for review.

We now address the question whether defendants have a
meritorious challenge to the trial court’s denial of their motions
to suppress the evidence obtained by search and seizure.

Defendants initially object to certain findings of fact made by
the trial judge at the hearing on their motions to suppress. They
argue that these four findings are not supported by the evidence
and even conflict with it.

The judge found that after receiving a telephone call from an
“unknown tipster” who reported that a house near Wood's Dairy
Farm in Lenoir County was full of marijuana, Deputy Sheriff
Robert Pelletier discussed the tip with Kinston police officers.
Having decided that the information was not sufficient to obtain a
search warrant, “they decided to go to LaGrange to attempt to
get further information about the situation by conducting a
general inquiry and investigation of the area by determining
whether or not the houses were occupied and then interviewing
the occupants, if any; .. ..” Defendants’ objection to the quoted
portion of the finding is based on testimony by four of the officers
that their sole purpose in going to that section of the county was
to locate the marijuana referred to in the phone call.

When the trial judge's findings of fact are supported by com-
petent evidence they will not be disturbed on appeal, even though
the evidence is conflicting. State v. Small, 293 N.C. 646, 239 S.E.
2d 429 (1977); State v. Blackmon, 280 N.C. 42, 185 S.E. 2d 123
(1971). We find competent evidence in the record to support this
finding. Detective Lt. Smith of the sheriff's department testified:
“We just decided to get in the car and go up to Jenny Lind and
look for any signs of movement or anything else to give us an in-
dication of where we should be looking primarily. We did not real-
ly have a plan.” Furthermore, Smith testified: “We saw lights
there, we were going to try to find out who was there or
whatever. We were going to knock on the door.” Other portions
of the record also reflect the fact that the officers intended to
conduct a general investigation of the area.

22

APPENDIX II

The judge found that the officers proceeded to check out two
locations in the Jenny Lind section of Lenoir County, the site of
Wood's Dairy Farm. They approached a house at the second loca-
tion, using a dirt path. They had no search warrant. They en-
countered a tractor parked across the path. As they walked up to
the house they heard a back door slam. One of the defendants ran
from the door and attempted to hide in a cornfield. He was ap-
prehended and questioned. He went with the officers to the front
of (ve house. The officers stepped into the light at the front of
the house. The front door was open but a screen door barred the
entrance. Defendants object to the finding “that the officers
standing on the porch could see through this screen door; that
they then observed in plain view inside the house green
vegetable material scattered on the floor, which, in their opinion
appeared to be marijuana; also they smelled an odor from inside
which to them smelled like marijuana; .. ..” Here again, although
Deputy Sheriff Pelletier testified that he did not detect any par-
ticular odor and could not see contraband or anything he con-
sidered to be contraband from the screen door, two other officers
testified that they smelled marijuana and saw it scattered on the
floor inside the house. This was competent evidence to support
the challenged finding and it is conclusive on appeal.

The judge next found that the officers detected motion in the
front room of the house and heard a noise of something or some-
one moving through the cornfield. They then entered the house
searching for other suspects. Defendants object to the finding
“that they searched the house finding three other defendants and
additional marijuana in plain view; .. ..” There is evidence that
the pasteboard box of marijuana found in a back room of the
house did not have a lid on it. One officer said the marijuana was
“stacked in a pile protruding above the level of the box.” There
was evidence that another officer did not recall seeing anything
sticking out above the top of the box. Conflicts in the evidence
were for the trial judge to resolve.

Defendants finally object to the finding that in order to look
for anyone who might have made the noise in the cornfield, two
officers “proceeded outside and began to check the area, in the
process of which, Hollowell discovered in plain view marijuana in
some of the out buildings; .. ..” There is competent evidence to
support this finding that large quantities of marijuana were seen
in the barn and other outbuildings during the course of checking
the area for other suspects. Officer Harper testified:

APPENDIX II

We went outside and began looking around. Sgt. Hollowell
and myself. I walked towards the back of the house and made
a circle around the house. Sgt. Hollowell had walked out
towards the barn. I checked around the house and started
towards the barn out where Sgt. Hollowell was when he
called me to the area and shined his flashlight up in the loft
of the packhouse. And I shined mine there and we discussed
the large amount of marijuana.

. . . We had already looked in the packhouse and two
grain silos. The grain silos contained large amounts of mari-
juana in bundles.

Defendants argue in their brief that since a constitutional
challenge confronts this Court in the case at bar, they are entitled
to a careful study of the record. A detailed, careful examination of
the record has been made. The findings of fact made at the sup-
pression hearing are supported by competent evidence. Since we
so hold, we also find the court did not err in denying and overrul-
ing defendants’ requests for specific findings of fact.

Judge Cowper made sixteen conclusions of law, thirteen of
which are challenged by defendants, either wholly or partially. In
addition, defendant Sutton assigned as error conclusion of law
number fourteen, but he abandoned this assignment on appeal.
Defendants argue generally that the conclusions of law are in the
nature of findings of fact and are not supported by the evidence.
Specifically, they contend that none of the recognized exceptions
to the Fourth Amendment guarantee against unreasonable
searches and seizures is present in this case.

[1] In Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 29 L.Ed. 2d 564,
rehearing denied, 404 U.S. 874 (1971), the United States Supreme
Court held that under certain circumstances, police may seize
evidence in plain view without a search warrant. Crucial to this
plain view doctrine are the necessary circumstances: The officer
must have a right to be where he is when the evidence comes into
view, and he must inadvertently discover the incriminating ob-
ject. A further limitation on the doctrine is dictated under
Coolidge. Exigent circumstances must exist to justify a war-
rantless entry in order to seize evidence discovered in plain view.

In North Carolina a similar principle has been announced:

24

APPENDIX II

“When an officer’s presence at the scene is lawful (and at
least if he did not anticipate finding such evidence), he may,
without a warrant, seize evidence which is in plain sight and
which he reasonably believes to be connected with the com-
mission of a crime, even though the ‘incident to arrest’ doc-
trine would not apply; and such evidence is admissible.”

State v. Bagnard, 24 N.C. App. 54, 57, 210 S.E. 2d 93, 95 (1974),
cert. denied, 286 N.C. 416, 211 S.E. 2d 796 (1975). See State v.
Allison, 298 N.C. 135, 257 S.E. 2d 417 (1979).

[2] Judge Cowper concluded as a matter of law that the officers
were lawfully on the premises of Wood's Dairy Farm at the time
they approached the house, based on his finding of fact that they
went to that particular area to conduct a general inquiry and in-
vestigation. Entrance onto private property for the purpose of a
general inquiry or interview is proper. United States v. Brown,
457 F. 2d 731 (1st Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 843 (1972);
United States v. Knight, 451 F. 2d 275 (5th Cir. 1971), cert.
denied, 405 U.S. 965 (1972). Furthermore, officers are entitled to
go to a door to inquire about a matter; they are not trespassers
under these circumstances. Ellison v. United States, 206 F. 2d 476
(D.C. Cir. 1953). It was not erroneous for the judge to conclude
that the officers, standing on the porch of defendants’ house, were
lawfully at the scene.

The judge's conclusion of law that the officers, while standing
on the porch, “viewed in plain view and smelled on the inside of
the house what appeared to them to be marijuana” is amply sup-
ported by his findings of fact and therefore meets the standard of
appellate review.

The question remains whether the inadvertency requirement
of the discovery of the evidence in plain view is met in this case.
This Court recently confirmed the necessity of inadvertent obser-
vation of evidence in pointing out that the plain view exception to
the Fourth Amendment has been restricted to “instances where
the officer has legal justification to be at the place where he in-
advertently sees a piece of evidence in plain view.” State v.
Blackwelder, 34 N.C. App. 352, 355, 238 S.E. 2d 190, 192 (1977). In-
advertent means fortuitous, by chance. In State v. Howard, 274
N.C. 186, 162 S.E. 2d 495 (1968), we find: “If the officers’ presence
was lawful, the observation and seizure of what was then and
there apparent could not in itself be unlawful.” Jd. at 202, 162 S.E.
2d at 506. The judge's finding of fact that the officers could see

APPENDIX II

through the screen door and that they observed marijuana inside
the house fulfills the inadvertency requirement of plain view.

This same finding of fact supports the conclusion of law “that
this information, for the first time, gave rise to probable cause for
the officers to search the residence in a lawful manner; .. ..”
Keeping in mind the warning in Coolidge, supra, that plain view
of objects inside a house will furnish probable cause but will not,
without exigent circumstances, authorize entry to seize without a
warrant, we turn now to a review of the conclusion of law that
“officers were confronted with exigent circumstances which re-
quired immediate action on their part to search the residence and
premises not only for suspects but for more contraband;.. ..”

In one of the leading cases which discuss the exigent cir-
cumstances or emergency exception, United States v. Rubin, 474
F. 2d 262 (3rd Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 833 (1973), it is
acknowledged that emergency circumstances may vary from case
to case. Therefore, this Court must look to the record to see if,
upon the facts of this particular case, the judge was correct in
concluding that exigent circumstances were present. Although
the judge denominated certain findings as conclusions of law, we
read them as findings of fact and hold that they are supported by
competent evidence and that they do support the conclusion of
law that exigent circumstances were present. The relevant find-
ings are as follows:

5. That the quantity of marijuana observed by the of-
ficers on the inside of the house was such that it was not im-
probable that the contraband could be destroyed or secreted
by those desiring to do so, by whatever means, be they ex-
treme or not, the possessors might choose;

6. That at the time the officers gained their probable
cause, based upon the sounds that they heard in the area and
the impressions that they had obtained from the surrounding
circumstances, it was probable or reasonable for the officers
to conclude that other suspects might be in the area who,
under these circumstances, would present a danger to the of-
ficers’ safety, would escape, or destroy the evidence if not
prevented;

7. That at the time probable cause first ripened, the
degree of urgency for the officers to act became immediate;

26

enn Ee nn

APPENDIX II

that the amount of time it would have taken to get and serve
a search warrant was great in that they would have had to
have returned to Kinston, write out the affidavit, and return
again to Wood's Dairy, taking at least one hour;

8. That the officers had reasonable grounds to believe
that the possessors of this contraband were aware that the
police were on their trails and in pursuit;

[3] These factual findings must also support Judge Cowper's con-
clusion of law that the exigent circumstances were sufficient to
excuse the officers from the requirement of law to knock and an-
nounce prior to entry of the house. Defendants argue that the un-
contested failure of the officers to knock on the screen door or to
demand admittance before they entered the house should lead to
the suppression of all evidence seized or gained by the state as a
result of the alleged unconstitutional entry.

In State v. Watson, 19 N.C. App. 160, 198 S.E. 2d 185, cert.
denied, 284 N.C. 124, 199 S.E. 2d 662 (1973), it was recognized that
an entry which ordinarily required an announcement of purpose
and demand for admittance might be proper without these pro-
cedures under special and emergency conditions: “when it
reasonably appears that such an announcement and demand by
the officer and the delay consequent thereto would provoke the
escape of the suspect, place the officer in peril, or cause the
destruciton of [sic] disposition of critical evidence.” Jd. at 165, 198
S.E. 2d at 188. It is important to note that this principle applies
when a valid search warrant is the basis for the entry. Five years
later, in State v. Brown, 35 N.C. App. 634, 242 S.E. 2d 184 (1978),
this Court held that officers were not justified in making a forci-
ble, unannounced entry into defendant’s home based on their
reasonable belief that notice of their entry would result in the
destruction or hiding of evidence. In this case also, the officers
acted while executing a valid search warrant. The Court stated:
“In so far as State v. Watson, 19 N.C. App. 160, 198 S.E. 2d 185
(1973) is inconsistent with this opinion, we believe that it has been
overruled by G.S. 15A-251.” Jd. at 637, 242 S.E. 2d at 187.
N.C.G.S. 15A-251 governs searches made under warrants;
N.C.G.S. 15A-249, which is cited within N.C.G.S. 15A-251, also
governs searches under warrants. Our concern is whether in a
warrantless search made under the exigent circumstances excep-
tion the same exigent circumstances may also justify the failure
to knock and announce before entry.

APPENDIX II

We agree with the state’s argument that they may and, in
the case sub judice, do. It is clear from N.C.G.S. 15A-259 that the
requirements of Article 11 of Chapter 15A apply only to searches
made under warrants. The statute specifically provides: “Nothing
in this Article is intended to alter or affect the emergency search
doctrine.” In addition, N.C.G.S. 15A-231 states: “Constitutionally
permissible searches and seizures which are not regulated by the
General Statutes of North Carolina are not prohibited.” The ex-
igent circumstances found by the trial judge, which are adequate
to justify the warrantless search made by the officers in this case,
are also sufficient to excuse the officers from the knock and an-
nounce requirement.

Finally, although defendants concede that Fourth Amend-
ment protection against warrantless searches does not extend to
open fields, like the field near defendants’ house where marijuana
stalks were discovered, Hester v. United States, 265 U.S. 57, 68
L.Ed. 898 (1924); State v. Boone, 293 N.C. 702, 239 S.E. 2d 459
(1977), they argue that evidence of the marijuana stalks should
have been suppressed in accordance with the fruit of the
poisonous tree doctrine, established in Wong Sun v. United
States, 371 U.S. 471, 9 L.Ed. 2d 441 (1963). Since we agree with
Judge Cowper's conclusion that there was no illegality in the of-
ficers’ search of defendants’ house and premises, we find Wong
Sun inapplicable in this case.

The denial of defendants’ motions to suppress and exclude
the incriminating evidence found in and around their house as the
result of a warrantless search is

Affirmed.

Chief Judge MORRIS and Judge PARKER concur.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1991%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
