# Opposition — Sadlowski v. Marshall

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1935%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 447 U.S. 905

## Text

No. 79-1540

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

EDWARD SADLOWSKI, ET AL., PETITIONERS
v.
Ray MARSHALL, SECRETARY OF LABOR, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

! BRIEF FOR THE SECRETARY OF LABOR
IN OPPOSITION

WADE H. McCRrEE, Jr.
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
CARIN ANN CLAUSS
Solicitor of Labor

BEATE BLOCH
Associate Solicitor

Lots G. WILLIAMS
HELENE BOETTICHER
NorrIs R. SAUNDERS
JOSEPH M. WOODWARD
Attorneys
Department of Labor
Washington, D.C. 20210

= Ne eS

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-1540
EDWARD SADLOWSKI, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
RAY MARSHALL, SECRETARY OF LABOR, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE SECRETARY OF LABOR
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the court of appeals granting the
Secretary’s motion for summary affirmance (Pet.
App. 1a) is unreported. The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. 4a-17a) is reported at 464 F. Supp.

858.
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on November 30, 1979, and a petition for rehearing

(1)

2

was denied on January 24, 1980 (Pet. App. 2a).
The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on
April 2, 1980. The jurisdiction of this Court is in-
voked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the courts below erred in concluding that
the Secretary’s statement of reasons for declining to
file suit to overturn a union election demonstrated
that he had fully investigated petitioners’ allegations
of misconduct and that his determination was not
arbitrary, capricious or an abuse of discretion.

STATEMENT

Petitioners unsuccessfully competed for interna-
tional level union offices in the February 1977 United
Steelworkers of America election. After exhausting
internal union remedies, they complained of election
misconduct to the Secretary of Labor (App. 64-144),’
who has exclusive authority to seek judicial redress
in such cases under Title ITV of the Labor-Manage-
ment Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959, 29
U.S.C. 481 et seq.

Based on petitioners’ complaint, the Secretary initi-
ated a massive investigation of the Steelworkers’
election. Two hundred and fifty investigators were
assigned to the case and 5422 witnesses were inter-
viewed. Although the complaint alleged irregularities

1“App.” refers to the joint appendix that was filed in the
court of appeals.

3

in only 301 United States locals, the Secretary se-
lected 411 additional locals for investigation.* Peti-
tioners also challenged some Canadian results, but the
Secretary obviously could not conduct an investiga-
tion in Canada. Consequently, the Secretary secured
the assistance of the Government of Canada, which
convened an industrial inquiry board to investigate
those allegations.

Upon completion of the investigation, which in-
quired into all the issues raised in petitioners’ com-
plaint, the Secretary declined to file suit and issued
an 83-page Statement of Reasons supporting his
decision (App. 145-233). The Statement of Reasons
set forth the Secretary’s investigative findings with
respect to each of petitioners’ allegations, in a point-
by-point format, and analyzed all violations to deter-
mine whether—and to what extent—they “may have
affected the outcome of [the] election” (29 U.S.C.
482(c)). A tabulation of all possibly affected votes

2 Prior to the election, petitioners and the Union had both
requested that the Department of Labor undertake full and
complete supervision of the election. The Department declined
to do so because, except in the case of re-elections necessitated
by past election misconduct, the Department has no authority
to provide such assistance. Section 402(c) of the Act, 29
U.S.C. 482(c). However, “[t]he Department did agree to pro-
vide unprecedented technical assistance” (App. 147), which
included the presence of compliance officers on election day
and the assistance of Department officials in tabulating elec-
tion returns. Consequently, Department personnel had sub-
stantial first-hand information which assisted them in pin-
pointing additional locals that warranted investigation. The
investigation also focused on locals that either reported lop-
sided returns or failed to report returns (Pet. App. 8a).

4

demonstrated that the violations could not have
changed the outcome of the election in the United
States. The Statement also noted that the Canadian
investigation, over which the Secretary had no con-
trol, had not uncovered any evidence affecting the
validity of his conclusions (App. 145).° The Sec-
retary concluded that there had been no widespread
fraud or irregularities and that, “ ‘on the whole, the
election was conducted in accordance with the law
and with the Union’s constitution’ ” (Pet. App. 9a).

On February 14, 1978, petitioners brought this
action in the United States District Court for the
District of Columbia, complaining that the Secretary
had failed to conduct a proper investigation, that he
had breached his statutory obligation to act as their
“lawyer,” and that his Statement of Reasons was
arbitrary and capricious (App. 1-63). The Union
intervened as a defendant. The district court granted
defendants’ motions for summary judgment, finding
that the Secretary’s Statement “demonstrates that

8’ The Canadian investigation was headed by Roland Trem-
blay, a former provincial judge, who is also the president of
both the Economic Arbitrators of Canada and the Quebec
Arbitrators Conference (Pet. App. 8a). The Canadian report
(App. 268-294), which petitioners received in advance of the
Secretary’s Statement of Reasons (App. 145), concluded that
“Tt]he reasonable explanations put forth by trustworthy wit-
nesses have satisfied the Board as to the irregularities present
in the documents, and do not permit one to conclude that there
was any fraud, corruption, malfeasance, or even evil intent in
the conduct of the constitutional election of the United Steel-
workers of America, which took place in Canada on 8 Febru-
ary 1977” (App. 294).

————r"

5

each of [petitioners’] allegations was carefully inves-
tigated as were other possible violations not raised
by [petitioners]” and that “[t]he investigative find-
ings were considered and weighed in reaching the
conclusion that the violations that had occurred could
not have affected the election’s outcome” (Pet. App.
13a). The court rejected petitioners’ contention that
the Secretary had failed to act as their “lawyer” and
held that the Secretary had not abused his discretion
by declining to file suit (Pet. App. 16a-17a). The
court of appeals summarily affirmed (Pet. App. la).

ARGUMENT

1. In Dunlop v. Bachowski, 421 U.S. 560, 572-573
(1975), this Court held that the Secretary must give
reasons for declining to file suit under Section 402(b)
of the Act, 29 U.S.C. 482(b), but that judicial re-
view must “be confined to examination of the ‘rea-
sons’ statement, and the determination whether the
statement, without more, evinces that the Secretary’s
decision is so irrational as to [be] * * * arbitrary and
capricious.” * In particular, the Court stated that
“review may not extend to * * * trial of a complain-
ing member’s challenges to the factual bases for the
Secretary’s conclusion either that no violations oc-
curred or that they did not affect the outcome of the
election” (421 U.S. at 572-578).

4 This Court noted in Dunlop v. Bachowski, supra, 421 U.S.
at 574, that “review beyond the confines of the reasons state-
ment” might be warranted in certain unusual circumstances,
but the district court correctly found that no such circum-
stances were present here (Pet. App. 12a).

6

Although petitioners seek review on the ground
(Pet. 16) that the Secretary’s Statement of Reasons
was arbitrary and capricious on its face, the thrust
of their argument is that the Secretary erred by not
enlarging the scope of his investigation and by not
attributing greater weight to those violations that
he discovered (Pet. 17-20).° Contrary to this Court’s
holding in Bachowski, petitioners seek to challenge
the factual basis for the Secretary’s decision and to
have the courts substitute their judgment for that
of the Secretary, despite the statute’s reliance “upon
the special knowledge and discretion of the Secre-
tary for the determination of both the probable viola-
tion and the probable effect” (Dunlop v. Bachowski,
supra, 421 U.S. at 571). In any event, the Secre-
tary’s careful investigation, which went well beyond
petitioners’ allegations, speaks for itself.°

5 In effect, petitioners contend that they are entitled to the
expanded scope of review that this Court rejected in Bachow-
ski. Petitioners correctly note that the decision below (Pet.
App. 14a-15a) departs from the district court’s analysis in
Bachowski Vv. Brennan, 418 F. Supp. 147 (W.D. Pa.), appeal
dismissed, 545 F.2d 363 (3d Cir. 1976), with respect to the
appropriate methodology for assessing the effect of ballot
secrecy violations. The contrary decision of one district court
does not create a conflict that warrants this Court’s review.

® Moreover, the Secretary does not have the burden of
proving to a reviewing court that the violations did not affect
the election results. Petitioners’ reliance (Pet. 20-21) on Wirtz
v. Hotel, Motel & Club Employees Union, 391 U.S. 492 (1968),
is misplaced. In Wirtz, this Court held only that once the
Secretary has filed suit and proved the violations, the wnion
must carry the burden of showing that the violations did not
affect the result (id. at 506-509). Significantly different consid-

7

On its face, the Secretary’s Statement of Reasons
shows that he thoroughly investigated and considered
all of petitioners’ allegations before reaching his de-
cision (Pet. App. 18a). The district court correctly
held that the Secretary had not abused his discretion
in declining to file suit (Pet. App. 17a), and the court
of appeals correctly affirmed that ruling (Pet. App.
la). This essentially factual question does not war-
rant further review.

2. Petitioners’ contention (Pet. 14-16) that the
Secretary breached his duty to act as their “lawyer”
—-by failing to keep them fully apprised of the prog-
ress of his investigation—is likewise without merit.
This Court has repeatedly emphasized that the Sec-
retary has broad discretion in this area (Wirtz v.
Local 125, Laborers’ Union, 389 U.S. 477, 482-483
(1968); Calhoon v. Harvey, 379 U.S. 134, 140
(1964)), and it is clear that Congress did not in-
tend to have the Secretary’s discretion encumbered
by requiring him to act as a partisan during the in-
vestigatory stage.* The Secretary must exercise in-

erations are relevant to a court’s review of the Secretary’s
exercise of discretion in determining whether to sue. See
Wirtz v. Bottle Blowers Ass’n, 389 U.S. 468, 472 (1968).

7 Petitioners’ criticism (Pet. 11-12) of the Canadian investi-
gation is inapposite. The Secretary could not control the
conduct of that investigation, and he received no information
that affected the validity of the conclusions that his own inves-
tigation had reached (App. 145).

8 Indeed, the Secretary’s duty to be impartial during the
investigatory stage is clear from the fact that union mem-
bers may intervene once a lawsuit is filed, but only with

8

dependent judgment during the investigation and, as
the district court correctly held, “[o]nly after the
Secretary has [found probable cause and] instituted
suit does he assume a partisan role and become an
advocate for the complaining union member” (Pet.

App. 16a).

jon iy My gees -
Site 2am

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

WADE H. McCREE, JR.
Solicitor General

CARIN ANN CLAUSS
Solicitor of Labor

BEATE BLOCH
Associate Solicitor

Lois G. WILLIAMS
HELENE BOETTICHER
Norris R. SAUNDERS
JOSEPH M. WOODWARD
Attorneys
Department of Labor

May 1980

respect to those claims that the Secretary has judged to
be meritorious, because “Congress intended to insulate the
union from any complaint that did not appear meritorious to
* * * the Secretary” (Trbovich v. United Mine Workers, 404

U.S. 528, 587 (1972)).

oo. 8. Coveenment printing orrice; 1980 320294 314

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1935%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
