# Opposition — General Footwear Co. v. American Footwear Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1665%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 445 U.S. 951

## Text

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OotosER TzRM, 1979
No. 79-1224

GenERAL Footrwean Company Limirep,

and
UntversaL City Srupios, Ino.,
Petitioners,
agaist
AmERIOAN Footwear CORPORATION,
Respondent.

a
a

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO THE
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LawRENCE RosENTHAL
Attorney for Respondent
730 Third Avenue

New York, New York 10017

Of Counsel:

Buium, Kapuan, FrrmpMan, SruBERMAN & BERAN

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Question Presented for Review 2
Corrected Statement of the Case 2

Reasons Why The Writ Should Be Denied 5

l. This Case Was Decided On
Its Facts And Presents No
Important Issues 5

2. There Is No Conflict
Between The Second and

Fifth Circuits 7

Conclusion be

ii

TABLE OF CITATIONS
CASES Page

Boston Professional Hockey Assoc.,
Inc. v. Dallas Cap & Emblem Mfg.,
Inc.
510 F.2d 1004 (5th Cir. 1975),
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 868.... 8,9

D C Comics, Inc. v. Powers,
465 F.Supp. 843 (S.D.N.Y.
Dee Seba Chan ew kes whe wake oe 10,11

Flexitized, Inc. v. National
Flexitized Corp.
335 F.2d 774 (2d Cir. 1964),
cert. denied, 380 U.S.913
(1965) ecccecs TTT eee Te svecse 20

HMH Publishing Co. v. Brincat,
504 F.2d 713 (9th Cir. 1974).. 10

National Lampoon,Inc. v.
American Broadcasting Co.
376 F.Supp. 733 (S.D.N.Y.
1974), aff'd, 497 F.2d
1343 (2d Cir. 1974)
POE CUE SO cee ce taccceveccses LO

iii

CASES Page

United Drug Co. v. Theodore
Rectanus Co.
248 U.S. 90 (1918)......2.200- 6

STATUTES

15 U.S.C. §SLLL4. cc. ccccccee cccee 8

15 U.S.C. §$lL{A5 ..cccccccccccsccese Sil

RULES

Rule 19, Rules of the Supreme
Ee on ies ‘a boa 6 hb 06 re ee eh eee 5,7

In The
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1979
No. 79-1224
GENERAL FOOTWEAR COMPANY, LIMITED,
and
UNIVERSAL CITY STUDIOS,INC.,
Petitioners,
against
AMERICAN FOOTWEAR CORPORATION,
Respondent.

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO THE
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondent American Footwear Corpo-
ration respectfully requests that this
Court deny the petition for writ of cer-
tiorari, seeking review of the Second
Circuit's opinion in this case. That
opinion is now reported at 609 F.2d 655.

QUESTION: PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
Petitioners' "question presented

for review" is not merely partisan. The
"question" is an argument grounded on
"facts" not found in the record and
contrary to the facts as found by the
district court and accepted by the Sec-
ond Circuit. Simply stated, the issue
presented is:

Whether the descriptive non-trade-
mark usage of a dictionary term in a
television series gives the owner of the
series the exclusive right to use that
term as a trademark for footwear, so as
to bring within the ambit of 15 U.S.C.
§1125 the first user of the term as a
trademark for footwear, in the absense
of any predatory trading on the tele-
vision series.

CORRECTED STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Again, in their "statement of the

case", Petitioners have gone beyond
partisanship to misstatement and mis-
characterization. Inasmuch as sufficiently
complete statements of the facts are
contained in both the Second Circuit and
the district court opinions reproduced

in the Appendix to the Petition (herein-
after referred to as "A "), it suffices
here to note the following salient facts
ignored by Petitioners, as found by the
district court and as adopted by the
Second Circuit:

a. The term “bionic” is a diction-
ary term meaning "(t]he science of de-
Signing instruments or systems modeled
after living organisms", and is not a
coined term. (Al4, A30).

b. The term "bionic" was used
descriptively by Universal, and not as a
trademark. (A8-9, A31,33).

c. The licensing program of Uni-
versal's licensing agent, Merchandising,
was a character endorsement program and
not a program to license "bionic" as a
trademark. (A7, A31,33). It should be
noted that the titles of the television
shows were "THE SIX MILLION DOLLAR MAN"
and "THE BIONIC WOMAN". |

d. American was the first entity
to adopt the term "BIONIC" as a trade-
mark for footwear and was the first
entity to seek registration of that term
as a trademark for footwear. American

4
adopted the trademark upon advice of into believing that any sponsor-
, - ship arrangement existed between
counsel and applied for federal registra Universéat's SY Ghows ané Americes's

tion before any charge of infringement | product.
by Universal. (A6-7,17,A27-29,34). (A8 at n.2). The district court was so
e. American always clearly unimpressed with this “evidence" that it
identified itself as the source of its . found it unworthy of mention despite the
boots. (A6, 8 (and n.2), A27-28, 30-31). stress placed thereon in Petitioners'
f. American made no effort of any briefs.
kind to associate its boot with Univer- g- There is no likelihood that the
sal's television series or to exploit public would confuse American's BIONIC
the reputation and good will engendered boot as emanating from or having connect-
by the television series. (A8, 13, A30- ion with any of Petitioners. (A4, A33).
31, 33). The “running girl" poster, the |
sole evidence relied upon by Petitioners | REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD
to the contrary, was dismissed by the | BE DENIED
Second Circuit as follows: ; 1. This Case Was Decided On

Its Facts And Presents No
Important Issues

conceding that American's "Bionic
Boots" were not designed to be
the functional equivalent of this case out of proportion to reality
track shoes, an advertisement
for footwear does lend itself ]
to a running pose. Moreover, this Court. A consideration of the
the similarities between the
poster and the scenes from the
TV shows are not so marked case was decided on its facts and not on
that, when the poster is display-
ed together with numerous and
prominent references to American Petitioners. Petitioners' claims were
sc aiiaceie orubant gerehaect not defeated by reason of the Second
would be likely to be misled Circuit's application of the standard

Petitioners attempt to aggrandize

in an attempt to come within Rule 19 of

Second Circuit opinion reveals that this

the lofty principles enunciated by

for “likelihood of confusion".

Rather, Petitioners’ trademark
Claims were defeated by reason of their
failure to prove that either Universal's
descriptive, non-trademark use of the
dictionary term "bionic" or Merchan-
dising's program of licensing the THE
SIX MILLION DOLLAR MAN and THE BIONIC
WOMAN characters created a property
right in the term "bionic" per se for
footwear, no less for all goods. A
trademark right is not "a right in gross
or at large like a statutory copyright
or a patent for an invention" and "([t]here
is no such thing as property in a trade-
mark except as a right appurtenant to an
established business or trade in connect-
ion with which the mark is employed."
United Drug Co. v. Theodore Rectanus
Co., 248 U.S. 90, 97 (1918). While
Petitioners' claim to trademark rights
in gross in “bionic” must fall as a
matter of law, in fact it never gets off
the ground by reason of Petitioners’
failure to prove the existence of any
trademark right in “bionic” per se.

Petitioners’ unfair competition
Claims were likewise defeated on the

facts, and not the law. Petitioners
failed to prove any act of unfair
competition by American. Unlike the
defendants in the cases relied upon by
Petitioners, American made no effort of
any kind to associate its boot with
Universal's television shows or with any
of the characters in those shows. Rather,
American, at all times, made it clear
that its BIONIC boot was an American
product.

The opinion of the Second Circuit
in no way interferes with the licensing
of legitimate "properties" generated by
the television and movie industries.
Prove a property right or predatory
conduct by the defendant and the Second
Circuit will provide a remedy. Fail to
prove either, as Petitioners did here,
and you are no more likely to gain relief
in Texas then in New York.

2. There Is No Conflict Between
The Second and Fifth Circuits

In an alternative attempt to come
within Rule 19 of this Court, Petitioners
attempt to create a conflict between the
Second and Fifth Circuits where none
exists. |

Petitioners rely on Boston Profes-
sional Hockey Assoc., Inc. v. Dallas Cap
& Emblem Mfg., Inc., 510 F.2d 1004 (5th
Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 868.
In the Boston case, the defendant copied
the uncopyrighted team symbols of plain-
tiff professional hockey teams after
being denied a license and sold the
team symbols as embroidered cloth emblems.
The Fifth Circuit faced a difficult
conceptual problem in that plaintiffs'
trademarks were being sold by defendant,
the dominant feature of the emblems (the
"goods") being the trademarks. The
court grounded its decision on three
factual determina- tions not present in
the instant case. Id. at 1011. The
court's analysis of the secondary meaning
requirement under 15 U.S.C. §1114 (in-
fringement of a federally registered
trademark - a section not at issue in
this petition), did not reject "source
of origin" as a focal point of con-
fusion, but rather, found a likelihood
of confusion in the sale of trademark
symbols by a defendant who knew that the
buyer would conclude that the source and
origin of the trademark symbols were

plaintifts. In other words, the likeli-
hood of confusion was grounded on a
finding of an intent to confuse.

The Boston case is distinguishable
from the instant case on its facts. In
Boston the defendant sought a license
from plaintiffs, appropriated established
trademarks and used such trademarks in a
manner intended to associate its emblems
with plaintiffs' teams and to exploit
the reputation and good will engendered
by such teams. Id. at 1011-1012. In
the instant case, Respondent made no
request for a license, appropriated no
trademark of Petitioners and, as found
by the courts below, made no effort to
associate its boot with Universal's
television series or to exploit the
reputation and good will engendered by
the television series. (A8). Having
found no indicia of predatory conduct
sufficient to satisfy the likelihood of
confusion test (Al3), the Second
Circuit turned to the main branch of the
test for likelihood of confusion, "the
likelihood that the consuming public
will be confused as to the source of the

10

allegedly infringing product", and found
no such likelihood. (Al6).

The Second Circuit would have grant-
ed a remedy to the plaintiffs in the
Boston case, given the proof of pred-
atory conduct by the defendants. Cf.
Flexitized, Inc. v. National Flexitized
Corp., 335 F.2d 774 (2d Cir. 1964),
cert. denied, 380 U.S. 913 (1965);
National Lampoon, Inc. v. American

Broadcasting Co., 376 F.Supp. 733
(S.D.N.Y. 1974), aff'd, 497 F.2d 1343
(2d Cir. 1974) (per curiam). On the
other hand, given the facts in this

case, Petitioners could not have pre-
vailed in any circuit. Cf. HMH Publish-
ing Co. v. Brincat, 504 F.2d 713, 718-20
(9th Cir. 1974) (preliminary finding of
no likelihood of confusion, based on the

descriptive nature of the trademark and
the remoteness of the respective pro-
ducts of the parties, overcome by
presence of predatory conduct).

D C Comics, Inc.v. Powers, 465 F.
Supp. 843 (S.D.N.Y. 1978), also relied
upon by Petitioners, is likewise dis-
tinguishable on its facts. In DC
Comics the court found predatory conduct

4d.

by defendants - the contents and promo-
tion of defendants’ newspaper was built
thematically around plaintiff's Superman
character. In the instant case, "there
was no proof that American's advertising
was built thematically around Universal's
television shows ...." (Al3). DC

Comics merely demonstrates that had

Petitioners proved either predatory
conduct or pertinent trademark rights,
they would have been granted a remedy
by the Second Circuit.

Accordingly, there is no conflict
between the Second and Fifth Circuits
in connection with the "likelihood of
confusion" test, nor did the Second
Circuit err in applying that test in
this case.

CONCLUSION
The decision of the Second Circuit

denying Petitioners’ claims under 15
U.S.C. §1125 is manifestly correct. No
conflict between the circuits has been
demonstrated. No important question of
federal law unsettled by this Court has
been presented. Accordingly, it is
respectfully submitted that the petition

12

for certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Lawrence Rosenthal
Attorney for Respondent
730 Third Avenue

New York, New York 10017

Of Counsel:
BLUM KAPLAN FRIEDMAN
SILBERMAN & BERAN

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1665%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
