# Petition — Harvey v. Harris Trust & Savings Bank

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1568%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 445 U.S. 929

## Text

®9-1117

Deeme Court, U. &
rib ED

DEC 28 1979

Iu the MICHAEL RODAK, 58., CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States

OcroseR TERM, 1979

BETTY SANDER HARVEY,
Petitioner,
vs.
HARRIS TRUST & SAVINGS BANK,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS

BETTY SANDER HARVEY,
834 Monroe Ave.
River Forest, IL 60305
Pro Se Petitioner

Dottie Naeem
UNITED STATES LAW PRINTING CO., CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60618 (312) 525-6581

7

PAGE
ro cn ecwerenccecvee 1
lc actepenenenicomini 2
LEN LST EC 2
Issues Presented for Review . ............2.......:c--ccsu-sceeceeseeeees 3
Constitutional Provisions Involved ...............0...2...--..----- 3
LES SE LEE ATO 4
Rd cotposmenbipecncnce 4)
Raising the Federal Questions -22002.2.....2...-e.-eseeeeeeemeeeeeee 6
Reasons for Granting the Writ ..20.0.22..2....ceeeeeee eee 8
Cogelusion sina inieliedaltcnschonitinatllen SSS 26
Appendices :
Appendix A—Opinion of Appellate Court, First
EERIE SESE IS ELSES RATT App. 1
Appendix B—Complaint 76L 20780 —W.0002...... App. 11
Appendix C—Trial Court’s Order of Dismissal,
I a ladies scatpisemavesnifienne App. 21
Appendix D—Last Will and Trust of Ernest J.
ESSERE GNSS i a App. 23
Appendix E—Report of Proceedings, June 22,
ee aah asctiaipltinsabiboeancebeconencoctenatte App. 29
Appendix F—Petition for Appeal to Ill. Supreme
I aaa cierrsdiamnesetopnconeeee -App. 30

Appendix G—Renunciation of Executor Harris
IE in I I orcs ence essencnseennere App. 41

ii
PAGE
Appendix H—Report of Proceedings, March 12,
1979 (oral argument)
PE I os Senciensnintacistoctienpsind thacnd App. 42
H-2—Renunciation as Executor ........ App. 44
Appendix I—Order of Circuit Court, Denying Mo-
tion to Vacate & Amend, Nov. 22, 1977 ........... App. 46
Appendix J—Order of Ill. Supreme Court Denying
petition for leave to Appeal ...................0.......... App. 47
Appendix K—Order denying petition for rehear-
SI eI i RR ies eccerctclaccbecinictnnch nb cccab vos -App. 48
Appendix L—Jury Demand ©... -App. 49
AUTHORITIES CITED
Cases
Anderson v. Anderson, 82 N.E. 311, 229 Ill. 538 ........ 12, 24
Anderson v. Laybeck, 145 N.E.2d 259, 264, 15 Ill. 2d 227 (12
Boyd v. Racine Currency, 81 Ill. App. 2d 140, 146 ........ 8
Buchalter v. New York, 319 U.S. 427, 87 L.Ed. 1492,
a in. BIR acon Nine ecards lphanaatcein enbinsaaiieed 22
Berna wi: Peet, 20 Th: BOG ans ssn hls 18
Button v. Wakelin, 15 P 2d 956, 41 Ariz. 84 0000... -
Citizens Savings v. Otto, 240 Ill. App. 567 0... 13
Citizens Savings and Loan v. Fisher, 214 N.E.2d 612,
Or dee ee OP ee a ee a ee 13
Diversey v. Neunkirchen, 370 Ill. 523, 19 N.E. 2d 363,
120 ALR 13965 .................. ; si 24

Dyreson v. Hughes, 76 N.E. 2d 809, 333 Ill. App. 1968... 14

Duncan v. Missouri, Mo. (1894) 145 S. Ct. 152, US 382,
es IE Seas ccincensanipiabpindenseitalectacsitoasnccetnaces NENTS 21

lili

PAGE

Ex Parte Stricker, ec Ky (1901) 109 F. 146 —.00000..... 22
Ex rel. Lawson v. Woodruff (1939) 184 So. 81, 134

BE REE AR ORE ROT en Mie Fk Ot RA Ee 21
Fellheimer v. Weis (1942) 316 Ill. App. 449, 45 N.E.

a a iad 24
Geneva Construction Co. v. Martin Trans., 122 N.E.2d

Se Re SO ol ll econ chicas canininlciainciainianlipndipeiiten 15

Gibbons v. Brandt, 170 F.2d 385, 69 S. Ct. 511, Til. 1948 12

Glicker v. Michigan Liquor Control Comm., CCA Mich.
CE BEE RN MS | co Rachcrhelapsinditieailenpincciteiinentatitdliiclahlasagicas 20

Greguske v. Oyster Bay, 19 Misc. 2d 763, N NS 2d 432 20
Hagar v. Reclamation Dist., 111 US 701, 28 L.Ed. 569,

i Oe CN ce ca gic clin itnnes ns tnebibeen eiloctinsnngs 22
Haines v. Kerner, 92 Sp. Ct. 594, 404 U.S. 819, 30 L Ed

RU IN oa ath ota dang ceeincnnipbincbnedabitigin 9
Hale v. Hale, 15 Ill. Dee. 85, 373 N E.2d 431 (1978) ...... 12
In Re Goldsworthy, 148 ALR 722, 45 NM 406, 115 P.2d

Ge Rag ARATE RRE RE IRSCSR ESSE Te Bene eee ea 18
In Re Heals Estate, 300 NYS 103, 110, 165 Mise. 46... 20
In Re Mourand, 83 F.2d 728 ............ ESOL AST eer eNOS 9
In Re Estate of Newman, 86 Nev. 151, 465 P 2d 616 .... 16
In Re Palmer’s Adm’s v. Mead, Conn. 149 —....0....... 20

Jackson v. Jackson, 14 N.E.2d 271, 294 Ill. App. 552 .... 15

’ J. J. Harrington v. Temmerman (1977) 8 Ill. App. 2d

483, 50 Ill. App. 3d 404, 365 N.B.2d 721 -W200... 8
Johnson v. Girvin, 61 Ill. App. 2d 47, 54 .0 2... 8

Kilmer v. Parrish, 144 Ill. App. 292 (1957) -....0......... 14

iv

PAGE

Kirkman v. Hamilton, 6 Pet. (U.S.) 20, 8 L.Ed. 306 ....
Kurry v. Frost, 204 Ark. 386, 162 S.W.2d 48 ...........

Lamonte v. Bellville, 41 Ill. App. 3d 697, 355 N.E.2d
CODE: ckcecnitechcenditipcnilaliicb lata i iia SET NO SS

Langnes v. Green, 282 U.S. 531, 75 L. Ed. 520 2.000...

Louis v. Barenfager (1967) 81 Ill. App. 2d 488, 218 N.E.
DE UD cnsccinsisisbcscnstcnintinbaebptenctateiciltanitidas daa ee ce Sd,

MacKenna v. i (1960) 7, Oe We Oe scriiaccees

Milkwagon Driver's Union of Chi. Local 753 v. Meadow-
moor Dairy, 619S.Ct. 552, 312 U.S. 287, 85 L.Ed.

Nelson v. Barker, Fed. Cas. No. 10, 101, 3 McLean 379
Payne v. Ostrus, Ca. 8, 50 F.2d 1039, 77 ALR 531 ........

People v. Schoos (1948) 399 Ill. 527, 78 N.E. 2d ALR
DO on cicte renee hnivsicnidinnineecgi catia ane aie

rE Cea TENE RMS ee oy. AMR Malas Cee

Rogers v. New York C. & St. L. Rwy. Co. (1946) 65
N.E. 2d 243, 328 IL App. 128 .......0..2..0..2 2.x...

Sabeth v. Handler Co., (1962) 102 Ill. App. 218, 234
NRE TOD Ni gascpnetcipnticnnichiltssts create aia ial

Schreiner v. City of Chi. (1970) 495 Ill. 617, 32 N.B.2d
BD ..iicisies einen nea fenton Geniincanistiinnl

Smith v. Niemann, 216 Ill. App. 179 20...

Snively v. Crownover (1947) 53 N.E.2d 321 Ill. App.
SD CE Po ar heviicinctethiecsncettnnidiies icotiane

Dayton wv. Maton © Baie. Ge sock pital

‘ilies ne

v
PAGE

Thomas v. Gouwens, 25 Ill. App. 3d 663, 323 N.H.2d
FE I i sisal eatsicniscadinmmnsio’ 15
U.S. v. Kern, DO NY, 8 F Supp. 296 .....22............:ceceeee 18

Wagner v. Anna, 296 N.E. 2d 589, 591, Ill. App. 3d 316 24
White v. Prenzler, 7 Ill. 2d 624, 131 N.H.2d 540, 543

TINIE pnecstalibslousccetntsccanhibsetbhemnpuaneticinemannapppiabiiantinibsetesstotes 12
Williams v. Comm. Nat. Bank, 49 Or. 492, 90 P 1012,
ON ca a ceeinhneviinncgudiniianonniniionene 10
Winger v. Chicago City Bank, 325 Ill. App. 459, 60
SRI I a sch ceca ininemsisonce 13
Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356, 30 L Hd. 220, 6 S. Ct.
a Loh od alideneislanasdiicbenseasebiigs 21

Iu the
Supreme Court of the United States

OctfoserR Term, 1979

No.
BETTY SANDER HAxVEY,
Petitioner,
vB.
HARRIS TRUST & SAVINGS BANK,
a Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS

Petitioner prays that a Writ of Certiorari be issued to
review the judgment of the Appellate Court of Illinois,
First Division entered in this case on June 4, 1979 (Ap-
pendix A), and orders of the Circuit Court of Cook County,
Illinois entered June 22, 1977 (Appendix C), and November
22, 1977 (Appendix [).

OPINION BELOW

The opinion below has been published in part, and may be
found at 73 Ill. App. 3d 280; 391 N.E. 2d 461 and is re-
printed herein as Appendix A.

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Appellate Court of Illinois, First
District (Appendix A) was entered on June 4, 1979. Peti-
tioner’s Petition for Rehearing was denied (Appendix K)
on July 9, 1979. Petitioner filed a Petition for Appeal as
Matter of Right, or in the alternative Petition for Leave
to Appeal to the Supreme Court of the State of Illinois,
which was denied October 1, 1979 (App. J). This petition
is filed within 90 days of the final order of the Supreme
Court of the State of Illinois. The jurisdiction of this
court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1257 (3).

HISTORY OF THE CASE

Your petitioner filed suit +76L 20780 (Harvey v. Harris),
with a jury;demand (App. L) in the Circuit Court of Cook
County, Chicago, Illinois, on November 12, 1976, alleging
breach of testamentary trust. Harris filed a Motion to
Strike and Dismiss whici was granted June 22, 1977. Mo-
tion to Vacate and Petition for Leave to Amend was denied
on November 23, 1977 (Appendix I.) The dismissal was af-
firmed on June 4, 1979 in the Appellate Court of the State
of Illinois, First District (Harvey v. Harris,) 78-322.

Petition for Rehearing (Harvey v. Harris #52313) was
denied on July 9, 1979, no opinion rendered. Petition for
Leave to Appeal to the Supreme Court of the State of
Illinois was denied on October 1, 1979, the Mandate being
entered on October 24, 1979.

3

ISSUES PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
xe

Is there any evidence which furnishes a legal and sub-
stantial basis for the dismissal of petitioner’s complaint
by the trial court and for the affirmation of such dismissgl
by the Appellate Court, or have such courts acted illegally?

II

Have the rights of due process and equal justice guar-
anteed to all citizens of the United States of America un-
der U. S. Constitution Amendment 14 (1) been denied to
petitioner by the very courts which are mandated to pro-
tect such rights?

Ii

Has petitioner wrongfully been denied her Right of
Trial by Jury guaranteed to all citizens of the United
States under U. S. Constitution Amendment 7 through the
baseless and unwarranted dismissal of her complaint, by
the very courts which are mandated to uphold such right?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the U. S. Constitution
provides in pertinent part:

‘¢. . . nor shall any state deprive any person of
... property ... without due process of law; nor deny
any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection
of the laws.’’

The Seventh Amendment to the U. S. Constitution prce-
vides in pertinent part:

‘‘TIn suits at common law, where the value in contro-
versey shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by
jury shall be preserved... .’’

4

STATUTES INVOLVED

Tilinois Revised Statutes, Chapter 83, Sec. 16 reads in
pertinent part:
‘*. .. actions on unwritten contracts, expressed or im-

plied . . . shall be commenced within five years next
after cause of action accrued.’’

Illinois Revised Statutes, Chapter 83, Sec. 17, reads in
pertinent part:

‘¢ ., Actions on written contracts ... or other indebt-
edness in writing shall be commenced within ten years
next after cause of action accrued.’’

Illinois Revised Statute, Chapter 83, Sec. 23 reads in
pertinent part:

‘¢. .. if a person liable to an action fraudulently con-
ceals the cause of action from person entitled there-
to, the action may be commenced at any time within
five years after person entitled to bring same dis-
covers that he has such cause of action.’’

Illinois Revised Statute, Chapter 110, Sec. 42 (2) reads
in pertinent part:

‘¢. .. No pleading is bad in substance which contains
such information as reasonably informs the opposite
party of the claim or defense which he is called upon
to meet.”’

Illinois Revised Statute, Chapter 110, Sec. 46 (1) reads
in pertinent part:
‘*. .. At any time before final judgment amendments
may be allowed on just and reasonable terms... .’’

Illinois Revised Statute, Chapter 110, Sec. 48 (3) states
in pertinent part:

‘*. .. In a motion to Dismiss .. . if a material and
genuine disputed question of fact is raised the court...
shall so deny (motion), if the action is one at law and
a jury demand has been filed by the opposite party in
apt time.’’

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner has been seeking recourse from the wrongful
acts of defendant the nominated executor-trustee of her
late father’s estate, for nearly nine years. Each lawyer
she retained has refused and failed to act on her behalf
and has instead worked to protect this powerful bank.
On November 12, 1976 petitioner filed complaint 76L20780
pro-se along with a jury demand, being well aware that her
only hope for justice lay in a jury hearing. Harris filed
a motion to dismiss along with affidavits. Such motion
should have failed since it did not conform to statutory re-
quirements and affidavits did not support the motion. At-
torney Donald Brewer volunteered to represent petitioner
in this matter on November 24, 1976, but instead acted as
had petitioner’s previous lawyers. On June 22, 1977 the
Circuit Court of Cook County entered an order dismissing
complaint, listing seven points, not one of which was valid
basis for dismissal.

Petitioner’s motion to vacate and amend was denied.
Thus her cause of action which was properly governed by
the 10 year statute was barred by the 5 year statute and her
pro se complaint was disposed of without a single amend-
ment and no jury hearing. After filing appeal 78-322
Brewer, unbeknown to petitioner did not raise the real
statutory issue on appeal, nor keep petitioner appraiser
of the status of her case and refused to communicate with
her. On February 10, 1979 petitioner dismissed Brewer.
Two weeks later she learned Brewer had not withdrawn
and oral argument was scheduled for March 12, 1979. On
that day, the court granted petitioner’s motion to remove
Brewer but refused to extend the time for oral argument.
Petitioner was obliged to argue the matter instanter with
no preparation or records. Further petitioner submits she
was prevented from pursuing her argument logically due
to the constant interruption by the court, raising irrelevant
matters.

6

In argument, defendant set forth three premises, each
of which was without merit, yet the Appellate Court af-
firmed dismissal of petitioner’s complaint. The opinion
reflects that such court disregarded all of petitioner’s oral
argument which under the circumstances of Brewer’s fail-
ure to raise the proper statutory matter, and his removal
was crucial. The Appellate Court denied petition for re-
hearing on July 9, 1979. The Illinois Supreme Court de-
nied petition for leave to appeal on November 1, 1979.

RAISING THE FEDERAL QUESTIONS

Constitutional questions were raised as follows. (1.)
Question of due process was raised in the original com-
plaint when plaintiff alleged that Harris had failed to
give notice of their intent to decline and renounce as execu-
tor. (2.) In the petition for rehearing, petitioner raised
the issue of breach of rights guaranteed her under U. S.
Constitution—Amendments 7 and 14, by the unwarranted
dismissal of her complaint. (3.) In Petition for Appeal as
matter of right or in Alternative Petition for leave to Ap-
peal to the Supreme Court of the state of Illinois, Peti-
tioner raised five constitutional issues concerning breach
of her Civil Rights: (a.) That the trial court had applied
one standard of law to her and a different one to defendant
in violation of the equal protection clause of U. S. Consti-
tutional Amendment 14, (b.) that by its baseless dismissal
of her complaint the court had denied petitioner her right
to remedy and justice provided for in Ill. Const. Article 1
Sec. 12. (c.) that the court by its unwarranted dismissal of
her complaint filed for jury, denied her U. S. constitution
Amendment 7 right to trial by Jury (d.) that the court’s
action in wrongfully applying the statute of limitations
jeopardizes the due process and equal protection of thou-
sands of Americans by establishing false case law . . . and
undermining the framework of the system of justice.

7

Petitioner apologizes to this court for her pro-se status
and respectfully asks this court’s forbearance. Petitioner
respectfully submits that self-representation is not by
choice but by necessity. In her nearly 9 year struggle for
justice petitioner has retained 8 lawyers and has inter-
viewed more than fifty others seeking help. She has ex-
hausted all possible sources of legal assistance and recourse
as well as her finances. Petitioner has no legal education
but diligently pursues knowledge in the law libraries, hop-
ing to preserve her right to redress in the courts, because
she had a deep and abiding faith in the American system
of justice.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I,

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO REVIEW
THE FINDINGS AND ACTS OF THE TRIAL AND
APPELLATE COURTS TO ASCERTAIN WHETHER
THE EVIDENCE FURNISHES ANY LEGAL AND SUB-
STANTIAL BASIS FOR THEIR DECISIONS IN DIS-
MISSING PETITIONER’S COMPLAINT AND AFFIRM-
ING SUCH DISMISSAL.

It is well se.led that ‘‘dismissal of a party’s action is
a drastic punishment and should not be invoked except in
cases where party shows deliberate disregard of the court’s
authority’’ 16 Ill. Law & Prac. § 31, p. 394. The record
plainly reflects plaintiff never showed a disregard for the
court’s authority. ‘‘Motion to Dismiss admits all facts
well pleaded and a cause of action should not be dismissed
unless it clearly appears that no set of facts can be proved
under pleadings which will entitle plaintiff to recovery.’’
16 Ill. Law Prac. § 43 p. 413. Fed. Rules of Civ. Proc.
rule 12-b 28 USCA, Louis v. Barenfager (1967) 81 Ill. App.
2d 488, 218 N.E. 2d 823, J. J. Harrimgton v. Temmerman
(1977) 8 Ill. App. 2d 483, 50 Ill. App. 3d 404, 365 N.E. 2d
721. Petitioner’s complaint clearly shows on its facts that
she could recover, (Appendix B) ‘‘On Motion to Dismiss
every intendment and fair in*erence is in favor of plead-
ing and if under any aspect uf facts stated, the plaintiff
could recover the motion should be denied.’’ Johnson v.
Girvim, 61 Tll. App. 2d 47, 54, Boyd v. Racine Currency, 81
Tll., App. 2d 140, 146. In the instant case all intendments
were in favor of defendant. It is further settled that ‘‘ plead-
ings must be liberally construed, ... and the court look to
substance rather than form when examining pleadings’’.

9

In Re Mourand, 83 F. 2d 728. The Trial court failed to do
this just as they failed to consider that ‘‘No pleading is
bad in substance which . . . informs the opposite party of
the nature of the claim or defense he is called upon to
meet.’’ Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 110 § 42 (2). Defendant acknow]l-
edged the action as breach of testamentary trust. Further
‘‘the complaint of a pro se plaintiff should be held to less
stringent standards than one drafted by an attorney.”’
Hames v. Kerner, 92 Sp. Ct. 594, 596, 404 U.S. 519, 30 L
Ed 2d 652 (1972)

All of the above principles reflect the impropriety of
the Dismissal of petitioner’s complaint. Examination of
the Order of Dismissal confirms there is no justification in

‘fact or law for dismissal.

Although the Motion to Dismiss contained ten allegations
the trial court made only seven findings (Appendix C.)
To wit: (1.) Harris never accepted or qualified as executor
(2.) Harris never accepted or acted as trustee, (3.) Harris .
accepted the assets under section 6-4, Ill. Pro. Act and pre-
served them, (4.) the widow renounced the will, (5.) As-
sets were distributed 14 each in accordance with probate
act. (6.) The statute of limitations Sec. 16 Oral contracts
bars this action (7.) Allegations of complaint are insuffi-
cient to sustain cause of action.

In examining these findings it is apparent that 1, 2, 3,
are improper rulings, in that a motion to dismiss admits
all facts well pleaded (Infra) and these findngs falsely and
wrongfully controvert the allegations in complaint (Ap-
pendix B Par. 5, 7, through 14). Further, disputed issues
of fact are for a jury. Findings 4 and 5 while true in content
only screen reality. Finding 4 ‘‘that the widow renounced,’’
and 5 ‘‘that the assets were distributed %4 each in keeping
with the probate act’’ were interjected to make it appear

10

that such renunciation invalidated the trust, resulting in
proper 14 distribution. However, decedent’s will specifi-
cally provided otherwise (Appendix D). This fact was
brought before the court in hearing on June 22, 1977.

‘‘Mr. Brewer: The will very explicitly said in case
my wife predeceased me... (the legal effect of re-
nunciation) then the items under the will and trust will
go as set forth in... sec. 2, Clause 3 as my will pro-
vides. So it does, that fine, she renounced, but there is
still a trust because the will very explicitiy sets forth
so.’’ (Appendix E pp. 21, 22)

It provided for distribution to Sander’s daughters, 14 each.
(Appendix D) Findings 6, ‘‘that the complaint fails to
state a cause of action’’ and 7 ‘‘that the complaint was
barred by Ill. Rev. Stat. 16... oral contracts’’ are incom-
patible, since ‘‘statute of limitations can never become op-
erative until there is a cause of action to which it may be
applied.’’ Williams v. Comm. Nat. Bank, 49 Or. 492, 90 P
1012, 91 P 443, Taylor v. Miles, 5 Kan. 493. In its opinion the
appellate court stated ‘‘ Betty Sander Harvey alleged in her
complaint that defendant accepted appointment . .-. as
executor-trustee . . . further that defendant breached the
testamentary trust.’’ (Appendix A p. 4 par. 3). If the Ap-
pellate Court so clearly understood the action to be breach
of testamentary trust, would not logic indicate that the
trial court did also since they applied a statute against it?
We must then conclude that a single reason remains for
dismissal. To wit: the 5 -ear statute of limitations, Ch. 83
$ 16. Was the application founded in law?

The complaint alleges breach of testamentary trust...
a written document. Appendix B p. 1 ‘‘Sander executed a
4 page written document ... wherein he did bequeath...
all of his residuary estate to... be held in trust.’’ p. 8 ‘‘as
a result of defendant’s breach of trust ...’’

eo

11
Illinois Revised Stat. ch. 83, Sec. 17 provides:
‘*Actions on ... written contracts ... or other indebt-

edness in writing shall be commenced within 10 years
next after cause of action accrued.”’

Petitioner’s complaint was filed on Nov. 12, 1976. Sander
died Jan._16, 1970 there could be no possible accrual until
after that date. It is apparent that Sec. 17 is the appli-
cable Section of Limitations and that the complaint was
filed timely. There is no justification for the dismissal
order of the trial court.

In his motion to vacate, petitioner’s attorney instead of
acting in the interest of his client, and raising the matter
of the ten year statute, interjected the issue of fraudulent
concealment, as well as whether the trial court abused its
discretion by denying petitioner’s attorney the right to
amend the pro-se complaint. Although both issues are
valid, they obfuscate the true issue... the 10 year statute.
The court should not have ruled upon the matter of con.
cealment, as it was an issue of fact for a jury.

Since the extra issues were raised and ruled upon by the
trial court, three issues were before the Appellate court to
wit: (1) whether the 5 year statute of limitations could be
invoked to dismiss the complaint. (2.) Whether fraudulent
concealment tolled the statute, (3) whether the court abused
its discretion in denying plaintiff’s attorney the right to
amend the pro-se complaint.

In examining the Appellate opinion it is difficult to as-
certain just what is obiter dicta and what are findings. The
court chose to comment on all ten allegations of Motion to
Dismiss when three had not been ruled upon, and therefore
were not properly before the court, and to review, (improp-
erly) the entire probate proceedings. Further the court in
its opinion made more than 20 false or seriously mislead-

12

ing statements, designed only to obfuscate the issues and
frustrate review. (Appendix F, Petition for Appeal pp. 25-
33) Putting aside the dicta it appears that the Appellate
court held: (I) the statute was not tolled by fraudulent
concealment, (II) that they were unable to review the
soundness of the trial court’s denial of Motion to amend
(III) that it was unnecessary to determine whether or not
a trust relationship existed. (IV) that the complaint was
barred by Ill. Rev. St. ch. 83, Sec. 16. We will examine
these individually.

(I) Ill. Rev. Stat. Ch. 83 Sec. 23 provides:

‘*Tf a person liable to an action fraudulently conceals
the cause of action from person entitled thereto, the
action may be commenced at any time within 5 years
after person entitled to bring same discovers that he
has such cause of action.’’

In that regard the appellate court’s Opinion set forth the
following misrepresentations (Appendix A p. 8): (a.)
‘‘Acts or misrepresentations affirmatively showing fraudu-
lent concealment by defendant which prevented plaintiff
from discovering she had cause of action, must be alleged.’’
The court errs. The case at bar concerns a trust relation-
ship and ‘‘it has been settled that failure to discover is
excused when parties are in a relationship to trust’’. An-
derson v. Laybeck, 145 N.E. 2d, White v. Prenzler, 7 Til. 2d
624, 131 N.E. 2d 540, 543 (1956) (b.) ‘‘Defendant must have
made representations or performed acts known by it to be
false, with intent to deceive plaintiff on which plaintiff re-
lied .. .’? Again the court errs. It is well established that
‘Fraud which tolls the statute can be mere silence.’’ Sa-
beth v. Handler Co (1962) 102 Ill. App. 218, 234 N.EB. 2d
738, Gibbons v. Brandt, 170 F. 2d 385, 69 S. Ct. 511, Ill.
1948, Hale v. Hale, 15 Ill. Dec. 85, 373 N.E. 2d 431 (1978).
... Assuming arguendo that representations and acts were

ee

13

necessary, such are clearly set forth in Complaint p. 4 par.
13, p. 15 par. 16, 17, p. 6 par. 18, 19. (Appendix B.) There
are six allegations of concealment yet the appellate court
states ‘‘we can find nothing in the record which would
suggest defendant made representations or performed
acts which fraudulently concealed a cause of action.’’
(c.) ‘‘When party affected by fraud might have dis-
covered it with ordinary diligence section 23 does not
come into play’’ Again the court errs. ‘‘failure to discover
fraud is excused where there is relationship of trust and
confidence and duty is imposed on trustee to disclose the
truth. In such cases running of the statute arises when
fraud is discovered.’’ Anderson v. Laybeck, Winger v. Chi-
cago City Bank, 325 Ill. App. 459, 60 N.E. 2d 560, 572, fur-
ther, ‘‘fraud may be predicated on false representations
and concealments although the truth could have been as-
certained by examination of public records’’ Citizens Sav-
ings and Loan v. Fisher, 214 N.E. 2d 612, 67 Ill. App. 29.
And ‘Negligence cannot be imputed to a defrauded party
so that he who commits fraud cannot escape liability. Smith
v. Niemann, 216 Ill. App. 179, Citizens Savings v. Otto, 240
Til. App. 567. Again ‘‘question of concealment within the
meaning of an exception to statute is proper one for the
jury.’ Kurry v. Frost, 204 Ark. 386, 162 S. W. 2d 48, Anno-
tation 10 ALR 2d 564, 565. By reason of the aforegoing
the Appellate court clearly erred in determining that fraud-
ulent concealment would not toll the statute. Its decision
conflicts not only with opinions of other appellate courts
but with those of this court.

(II) The second finding, that the Appellate court was
unable to determine the soundness of trial court’s denial
of Plaintiff’s counsel’s motion to file an amended complaint
... is an enigma, since the court ascribes their inability to
render a decision, to the failure of petitioner’s counsel to

14

include a copy of the proposed amended complaint in the
record. Under other circumstances such reason may be
valid, but surely not when the original complaint was pro
se.

The right to amend is an inherent right in Dlinois courts.
Ill. Rev. Stat. (1975) Ch. 110 § 46 (1) provides:

‘‘At any time before final judgment amendments may
be allowed on just and reasonable terms, introducing
any party... as plaintiff or defendant, discontinuing
any plaintiff or defendant, changing cause of action
or defense or adding new causes of action or defense

- . any proceedings which may enable plaintiff to
sustain the claim for which it was intended to be

brought, or the defendant to make a defense or assert
a cross demand.’’

If such liberality in amending is allowed generally, surely
a pro se complaint should be allowed amendment. In
Haines v. Kerner (infra), this court mandated that pro se
complaints should be held to less stringent standards, but
the appellate court by denying amendment held pro se
complaint to ‘‘more.’’

The principle of amending is rooted in common law 229

ce. C. Ill. 844, which permitted amendments to pleadings if
there was anything to amend.’’ Nelson v. Barker, Fed. Cas.
No, 10, 101, 3 McLean 379.

In Lamonte v. Bellville, 41 Ill. App. 3d 697, 355 N. EB. 2d
70, 71 it was held that: Amendments should be liberally al-
lowed to save rights and advance justice. This principle
has been vigorously upheld by Appellate courts. Kilmer v.
Parrish, 144 Ill. App. 279, Snively v. Crownover (1947) 53
N. E. 2d 321 Ill. App. 292 (1957), Dyreson v.. Hughes, 76
N.E. 2d 809, 333 Ill. App. 1968.

15

In Geneva Construction Co. v. Martin Trans., the court
stated: ‘‘The Civil practice Section pertinent to amend-
ment of pleadings is the culmination of legislative efforts
to enact a provision under which relation back of amended
pleading will be governed by considerations of fairness to
litigants rather than technical considerations.’’ Far from
allowing amendment for fairness, the trial court discour-
aged it. In fact the trial court specifically requested that
no amended complaint be filed until after final judgment.
Report of Proceedings, Motion to Vacate, confirms:

Mr. Brewer: ‘My client filed this complaint ini-
tially pro se. I believe I told your Honor that back
some months ago when I asked leave to file an amend-
ed complaint ... you said at that time you would
rather wait until after we have decided this motion.’’

Petitioner concedes that although the right to amend is
well established, it may still lie within the court’s discre-
tion. Yet, ‘‘even where decision is placed in discretion of
the court, the exercise of that discretion must be a sound
one.’’ Langnes v. Green, 282 U.S. 531, 75 L. Ed. 520. The
principle of amending is so sacred courts have held
‘‘Amendments may be made after verdict or judgment to
conform pleadings and proof.’’ Rogers v. New York C. &
St. L. Rwy. Co. (1946) 65 N.E. 2d 243, 328 Ill. App. 123.
In the case at bar, amendment was essential to make pleas-
ing conform with proof because, inter alia, when petitioner
filed such complaint she had not yet discovered the well
concealed fact that defendant had not renounced as trustee.

In Thomas v. Gouwens, 25 Ill. App. 3d 663, 323 N.E. 2d
829, 831, and Jackson v. Jackson, 14 N.E, 2d 271, 294 Ill.
App. 552 it was determined ‘‘Refusal of an amendment
which is germane to the original bill and presented for
purposes of making the allegations of bill comply with
proof, is an abuse of the trial court’s discretion.’’ The Ap-

16

pellate court’s argument, that they could not determine
the issue because they did not have a copy of the Amended
complaint is absurd. Does that court truly believe a pro-se
petition would not improve with a lawyer’s amendment?
This is tantamount to declaring that lawyers have no more
knowledge or ability in matters of law than laypersons.
Does this not make a travesty of the system of justice and
the honorable profession of law?

Clearly there was no basis in law or in fact for this
finding.

(III.) The Appellate court’s finding that ‘‘it was un-
necessary to determine the question of whether a trust re-
lationship existed, since any such relationship terminated
when plaintiff was informed of defendant’s renunciation
as executor trustee’’ is, of course, a determination in itself.
And it is an improper one because it sanctions the im-
proper act of the trial court in determining an issue of
fact in a Motion to dismiss. The issue was for jury 51
Am Jur 2d 488. The Appellate court is ingeniously deceit-
ful, . . . stating ‘‘when plaintiff was informed of defen-
dant’s renunciation”’ me did not renounce as Trus-
tee. (Appendix G) The fact that petitioner was informed
that it did, and that it fraudulently concealed the fact that
it did not, until after this complaint was filed, does not
excuse its fraudulently concealed breach of trust, nor dis-
solve the trust relationship. ‘‘ Renunciation of a trust can
be only by resignation with court approval, or with agree-
ment of the beneficiaries on satisfaction of all legal liabili-
ties to beneficiaries.’’ 76 AmJur 2d Ch 128 § 308 and ‘‘De-
clinatiow or refusal of a trust does not operate to defeat
or void the trust.’’ Re Estate of Newman, 86 Nev. 151, 465
P 2d 616. When this finding ‘‘that the relationship termi-
nated when defendant renounced, ‘‘is read in conjunction
with a previous misleading statement in the opinion (Ap-

*

17

pendix A p. 4) ‘‘(Petitioner ... alleged . . . defendant
breached the testamentary trust when it filed a renuncia-
tion of its appointment’’ it is apparent that once again
the court is screening reality to justify the Dismissal by
the five year statute. (note the court does not specify what
appointment.) As herebefore set forth it renounced as exe-
cutor only. (Appendix G) The fact is, petitioner did not
allege ‘‘breach through renunciation,’’ but clearly sets
forth the acts performed. (Appendix B, Par. 15 through
20). Petitioner readily acknowledges that her complaint
states ‘‘defendant renounced as trustee.’’ The fact that it
did not, was not discovered by plaintiff until December,
1976. The misconception was to be cured with Amendment,
which was denied. But Petitioner argued the matter in
oral argument Appendix H-2. The issue however is a moot
one in regard to preservation or sufficiency of petitioner’s
complaint. Whether or not defendant resigned does not
mitigate its breach of trust nor diminish its liability.

The finding is a non-sequitor however since if no,trust
relationship existed contrary to allegations in complaint,
the complaint could not be dismissed by statute. Williams
v. Comm. Nat. Bank, Taylor v. Miles. (Infra)

We must conclude then, if the appellate Court found it
unnecessary to determine the trust issue, the entire opinion
is a nullity, because the cause of action is Breach of testa-
mentary trust, and failure to determine the issue of the
relationship makes it impossible to justify dismissal by
any fact or law.

(IV) The conclusion of the Appellate court that ‘‘plain-
tiff’s complaint was filed November 12, 1976, over five
years after all pertinent events in this action transpired,
the suit is barred. See Ill. Rev. Stat. (1975) ch. 83 Sec. 16’’
is erroneous. Not once in its opinion does the court recite
Sec. 16, which provides:

ee

18

‘*. .. actions on unwritten contracts, expressed or im-

plied . . . shall be commenced within five years next

after cause of action accrued.’’
In its opinion the court acknowledged cause of action as
‘‘breach of testamentary trust.’’ (Appendix A p. 4 par. 3).
It cannot be disputed that a testamentary trust is a written
document (Appendix D). Ill. Rev. Stat. (1975) Ch. 83 Sec.
17 provides ten years in which an action on a written docu-
ment can be brought. There is no justification for applying
Ch. 83 Sec. 16. Further, fraudulent concealment was al-
leged tolling the statute. (Ill. Rev. Stat. Ch. 83, Sec. 23)

It is well settled that ‘‘a pleading which sets off statute
which is not applicable to cause of action to which statute
is interposed is bad . .”’ 54 CJS § 361 (b) and ‘‘where a
shorter period of limitations than the one applicable to
‘ase is pleaded, the plea is lost.’’ Button v. Wakelin, 15
? 2d 956, 41 Ariz. 84. Yet the trial court preserved the plea
and sanctioned it as did the Appellate court.

There was no justification for barring the complaint by
any statute since ‘‘defense of Limitations cannot be raised
in motion to Dismiss.’’ Burnap v. Wight, 14 Ill. 303. Fur-
ther Motion to Dismiss on plea of statute of limitations
should be denied as to an action which complaint did not
definitely fix date of accrual of cause of action’’ U. 8. v.
Kern, DC Ny, 8 F Supp. 296. Such date was not fixed
(Appendix B) as acknowledged by the court: ‘‘We should
note, plaintiff failed to indicate when she acquired knowl-
edge of the alleged concealed cause of action to commence
running of statute.’’ (Appendix A p. 8, par. 3)

‘“The law favors the right of action rather than the right
of limitation.’’ Re Goldsworthy, 148 ALR 722, 45 NM 406,
115 P2d 627. And ‘‘if there is any doubt as to which
of two statutes apply the longer rather than shorter is
preferred.’’ Payne v. Ostrus, Ca. 8 50 F.2d 1039, 77 ALR
531. Petitioner conceded that her attorney did not properly

19

bring this issue before the court, yet respectfully submits
there could be no question of the correct statute when
petitioner argued the point vigorously (Appendix H-1 Re-
port of Proceedings) concluding: ‘‘the point is there was
a will and trust, it was a written contract, and that carries
a ten year statute.’’

It is well established that a ‘‘statute of limitations ap-
plies only to the particular actions which it recites and no
others, and the court cannot under guise of construction,
apply statute of limitations to cases not within statutory
provisions.’’ Kirkman v. Hamilton, 6 Pet. (U.S.) 20, 8
L.Ed. 305. Yet the court in the case at bar did just that.

In reviewing the decisions of the lower courts it is ap-
parent that the above well established principles of law
were overlooked. Yet even if all of the foregoing were
not to be considered, there is still no conceivable justifica-
tion for dismissal of petitioner’s Complaint under Il. Rev.
Stat. Ch. 83, Sec. 16, because ‘‘Express trusts are exempt
from the statute of limitations or laches’’ Schreiner v.
City of Chi. (1970) 495 Ill. 617, 32 N.E. 2d 113. There
was no basis in either fact or law for the rulings of the
lower courts.

II

PETITIONER HAS BEEN DENIED HER RIGHT TO
DUE PROCESS AND EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE
LAW PROVIDED UNDER AMENDMENT 14, UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTION, BY THE VERY COURTS
WHICH SHOULD PROTECT SUCH RIGHTS.

Petitioner acknowledges that dismissal by Motion, of a
Complaint filed for jury may not in itself be a denial of due
process and equal protection clauses of Amendment 14.
However when the state court’s rulings are as unsubstanti-
ated as herebefore set forth (infra 7-19) the question of

20

equal protection and due process must come under scrutiny.
“The 14th amendment of the U.S. Constitution forbids a
denial of any fundamental principles of liberty and
justice.’’? 15 AmJur 2d §7. Yet the rulings of both courts
deny fundamental principles of justice because the rulings
are without substantiation in fact or law. They are in-
consistent with the doctrine of Stare Decises which re-
quires that ‘‘law clearly established by a court, should not
be lightly disregarded . . . but should be adhered to.”’
In re Hearles estate, 300 NYS 103, 109, 110, 165 Mise. 46.
*‘The doctrine rests upon the principles that law by which
men are governed should be fixed, definite, and known.’’
Petitioner submits law cannot be known if it is subject to
arbitrary application, as in the case at bar. In re Palmer’s
Adm’s v. Mead, Conn. 149, 157, 158 the court stated:
‘‘Stare Decises is eminently just. If law well established
may be annulled by an opinion, a foundation is laid for
the most restless instability . . . no system of inflexible
adherence to established law can be as pernicious, as cease-
less and interminable fluctuations.’’ In the instant case the
courts overlooked or misapprehended more than 12 provi-
sions of Ill. Statutes, along with supporting case law,
flagrantly disregarding the doctrine of stare decises as well
as the fact that ‘‘the proper function of courts is to admin-
ister justice in accordance with established rules of law.’’
20 Am Jur 2d VI § 64, Greguske v. Oyster Bay, 19 Misc.
2d 763, N NS 2d 432. The lower courts failed to perform
their function or fulfill their purpose. ~

In. Glicker v. Michigan Liquor Control Comm., CCA
Mich. (1947, 160 Fed. 96, the court held: ‘‘The purpose of
U.S. Constitution Amendment 14 Sec. 1 is to secure every
person within states jurisdiction against intentional and
arbitrary discrimination, whether incurred by express
terms of a statute or by its improper execution by the
courts.”’ And this court ruled ‘‘even if the law is fair

21

on its face and impartial in appearance, the14th Amend-
ment is violated, if the law is administered with an evil
eye and an unequal hand so as to make unjust and illegal,
discrimination between persons in similar circumstances.”’
Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356, 30 L Ed. 220, 6 S. Ct.
1046. This is a landmark case which has had wide applica-
tion.

On its face Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 83 Sec. 16 is fair and im-
partial. However when this 5 year siatute is applied to
bar a complaint that is properly governed by the 10 year
statute, it has been administered with an evil eye and un-
equal hand, making unjust and illegal discrimination be-
tween persons in similar circumstances, thereby breaching
Amendment 14. There are approximately 75,000 suits for
breach of contract filed in the Circuit Court of Cook County
each year. Of all those alleging breach of written contract
which petitioner has reviewed she has not found one which
was dismissed on Motion by reason of the statute of limita-
tions Ch. 83, Sec. 16.

In Duncan v. Missouri, Mo. (1894) 145 S. Ct. 152, US
382, 38 L. Ed. 485 this court held that ‘‘equal protection
of the law is secure if the laws operate on all alike so not
to subject the individual to arbitrary exercise of the pow-
ers of government’’.. . ‘‘Such powers include all who ex-
ercise those powers . . whether . . . legislative or judicial.’’
Ez rel. Lawson v. Woodruff (1939) 184 So. 81, 134 Fla. 437.

If the court applied to all other persons who filed suit for
breach of written agreement ... the same law . . Ill. Rev.
Stat. Ch. 83, Sec. 16 . . that was applied to petitioner,
then all such suits would be subject to dismissal five years
before the time provided by the law. Clearly then, the
laws of the state would be a mockery. Of what value is the
statute, Ch. 83, Sec. 17, designed to preserve actions stem-
ming from breach of written documents for ten years, if

22

the courts can intentionally and arbitrarily bar such suits
under the five year statute?

However, if the law provides ten years within which
a cause of action can be brought for breach of written
agreement, as it does, and all others, more than 32,000
yearly in Cook County, Illinois, who bring suit for such
reason are granted the ten years within which to file, as
the records reflect, while petitioner’s suit is dismissed as
barred within five years, it is apparent that petitioner’s
equal protection of the law is denied. ‘‘ When it is apparent
that the same law, or course of procedure would not and
could not lawfully be applied to any other person in the
state under similar circumstances, the equal protection
clause of the law is denied by state courts.’’ Ex Parte
Stricker, cc Ky (1901) 109 F. 145.

In Buchalter v. New York, 319 U.S. 427, 87 L. Ed. 1492,
63 S. Ct. 1129 this court ruled that the ‘‘due process clause
required that action by a state through any of its agencies
must be consistent with fundamental principles of liberty
and justice.’’ Could the courts actions in the instant case

. misrepresenting material facts, deciding other facts
in Motion to Dismiss. . . . intentionally discriminating
against petitioner by barring her suit which was properly
governed by the 10 year statute, by the 5... be consistent
with fundamentals of justice?

Since ‘‘due process of laws means that which the follow-
ing the forms of law is appropriate to the case and just
to the parties to be affected.’’ Hagar v. Reclamation Dist.,
111 US 701, 28 L. Ed. 569, 4 S. Ct. Petitioner submits her
due process has been denied. In MacKemnna v. Ellis (1960)
F’. 2d 592, 595 the court states: ‘‘It is basic to due process
that .. a person have a fair opportunity to tell his story in
a fair trial.. He is entitled to have the effective, whole-
hearted assistance of counsel . . . entitled to have a hearing
guided by a judge who is sensitive to duty of protecting
constitutional rights in all cases.’’

23

Petitioner has had none of these. The trial court mis-
applied the statute of limitations and other well established
principles of law, thus wrongfully dismissing her com-
plaint, denying her a fair opportunity to present her story
in a fair trial to a jury. Petitioner’s attorney refused and
failed to act on her behalf or raise the proper issue of the
ten year statute on appeal necessitating his dismissal.
The court denied time to obtain other counsel, thus denying
petitioner effective wholehearted assistance of counsel.
The trial court decided issues of fact in a motion to dis-
miss, removing them from jury hearing, misapprehended
or misapplied more than 12 statutory provisions, and
denied any and all amendment to a pro se com-
plaint. The Appellate Court sanctioned all of the wrong-
ful acts of the trial court, set forth 20 serious misrepre-
sentations of material fact (Appendix F, pp. 19-34) in
argument, decoying her from the issues. Clearly she did
not have hearings guided by judges who were sensitive to
protecting constitutional rights.

Petitioner respectfully submits her 14th Amendment
Rights were denied by the very courts which should pro-
tect them.

IIT.

PETITIONER HAS BEEN DENIED HER RIGHT TO
JURY TRIAL PROVIDED UNDER U. 8. CONSTITUTION
AMENDMENT 7, BY THE VERY COURTS WHO
SHOULD PROTECT SUCH RIGHTS.

Amendment 7 of the United States Constitution provides
in pertinent part:

‘‘In suits at common law, where the value in contro-
versy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by
jury shall be preserved.”’

24

In the instant case, the value in controversy is well over
$700,000, yet petitioner was deprived of her jury trial
by the unwarranted dismissal of her complaint. It is well
settled that ‘‘if a material question of fact is raised in an
action at law where a jury demand has been filed by the
party in opposition to the Motion to Dismiss, the trial
court must deny the motion.’’ Ill. Rev. Stat. (1975) ch. 110,
Sec. 48 (3) Pennington v. Jones, 46 Ill. App. 3d 65. Penning-

ton is a highly analagous case since it involves a fiduciary
relationship, as well as a pro-se plaintiff.

The right to jury is well established. In Wagner v. Anna,
296 N.E. 2d 589, 591, Ill. App. 3d 316 the court held ‘‘trial
by jury is a constitutional right. Dismissal is not available
on discretion.’’ In People v. Schoos (1948) 399 Ill. 527, 78
N.E. 2d ALR 1096 the court stated: ‘‘ All substantial in-
cidents and consequences which pertain to right of trial
by jury at common law, and its essential features, must be
preserved and its benefits secured to all entitled to the
right.’’

In Fellhewmer v. Weis (1942) 316 Ill. App. 449, 45 N.E.
2d 89 the court ruled: ‘‘Summary judgment may not be
used to impair right to jury trial, and in Diversey v.
Neunkirchen, 370 Ill. 523, 19 N.E. 2d 363, 120 ALR 1395
the court held that: ‘‘the trial of an issue of fact by af-
fidavits on motion to dismiss, would deprive the right to
jury trial.’’ In the case at bar that is precisely what the
court did. Further the affidavits were a nullity since they
did not support the motion. ‘‘ Where statute requires that
certain fact be shown, failure to state the facts requisite to
establish it renders the affidavit ineffectual.’’ Anderson
v. Anderson, 82 N.E. 311, 229 Ill. 538.

In commenting on the 7th Amendment, the Honorable
William O. Douglas and Owen J. Roberts wrote: ‘‘The
framers of the constitution considered the right to jury
trial to be of great significance. Experience has shown that

25
juries bring a quality of mercy and good common sense to
the administration of the laws, when lawyers and judges
forget where justice lies... . for hundreds of years they
have been an important safeguard between man and his
government.’’

Petitioner respectfully submits that she desperately
needs this safeguard.

For nearly 9 years petitioner has been seeking legal re-
dress in this matter through the Courts of Illinois. It
is a monumental task since defendant is a politically and
financially powerful bank, with great influence in the legal
community while petitioner is a mere woman. Petitioner
has had four written contracts with lawyers who have
agreed to sue defendant. They have demanded great sums
of money but have acted only in defendant’s interest. Space
will not permit review of the harassment and discrimina-
tion petitioner has suffered by the courts. As a last resort
petitioner filed this pro-se complaint with jury demand,
aware that her only hope for justice lay with a jury. This
effort too was frustrated by the court’s baseless dismissal,
upheld, improperly, by the Appellate Court. Petitioner
has an abundance of evidence to support the allegations in
her complaint. She asks only that she be given her con-
stitutional right to present it to a jury as Amendment 7
provides. The right was denied by the very courts which
should uphold it.

26

CONCLUSION

Petitioner believes the inferior courts have proceeded
illegally, and have breached her Civil Rights. There is no
other mode provided for reviewing the proceedings. ‘‘The
U. 8. Supreme Court has the ultimate power to search the
records in State Courts where a claim of constitutionality
is effectively made, so that no constitutional freedom, least
of all the guarantees of the Bill of Rights will be defeated
by unsubstantial findings of fact screening reality.’’ USCA
Cont. Amd. 1 et seq. and 14, Milkwagon Driver’s Union of
Chi. Local 753 v. Meadowmoor Dairy, 61 S.C. 552, 312 U.S.
287, 85 L.Ed. 836 ALR 1200.

WHEREFORE, petitioner prays a writ of certiorari be
granted; and, upon consideration of the substance of Peti-
tioner’s argument, the dismissal should be reversed as
repugnant to due process of law.

Respectfully submitted,

Betty Sanper Harvey

834 Monroe Ave.

River Forest, Illinois 60305
Pro Se Petitioner

APPENDIX

ns "

APPENDIX A

First Division
Filed June 4, 1979

78-322

BETTY SANDER HARVEY (a/k/a DAVIS), DOUGLAS
ALAN DAVIS and WILLAM PORTER DAVIS,

Plaintiff s-A ppellants,
vs.
HARRIS TRUST AND SAVINGS BANK,
Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the Circuit Court of Cook County.
Honorable Danieu P. Coman, Judge Presiding.

MR. JUSTICE CAMPBELL delivered the opinion of
the court:

This is an appeal taken by the plaintiff from orders
of the circuit court of Cook County granting the defen-
dant’s motion to strike and dismiss the complaint and
denying the plaintiff’s motions for leave to file an amended
complaint and to vacate the dismissal. The issues pre-
sented for review are: (1) whether the trial court abused
its discretion in denying the plaintiff’s motions; and
(2) whether there was sufficient proof of fraudulent con-
cealment of a cause of action by the defendant to serve to
avoid the applicable five-year statute of limitations. We
affirm.

The factual background giving rise to this action is as
follows:

Ernest J. Sander (decedent), died testate on January
16, 1970, survived by Emma Sander, his second wife, and
two daughters, Marjorie Sander and Betty Sander Har-
vey, the plaintiff herein. He was also survived by his
divorced first wife, Mae Sander, the mother of his two
daughters. At the time of his death Ernest J. Sander and

App. 2

his second wife, Emma, resided in Walkerton (Starke
County), Indiana.

The decedent’s will, which was dated December 27,
1955, nominated Chicago National Bank as the executor
and trustee. This bank merged with Harris Trust and
Savings Bank, the defendant herein. The record indicated
that on February 19, 1970, the decedent’s safe deposit box
at Mid-City National Bank was opened. The contents of
the box, which consisted of the decedent’s assets as well
as the aforementioned will, were turned over to the defen-
dant as the nominated executor. The will was filed in the
probate division of the circuit court of Cook County and,
thereafter, transferred to Starke County, Indiana.

The record shows that on April 30, 1970, a conference
was held in the defendant’s offices with the decedent’s
widow, two daughters and their attorneys in attendance.
At this conference the defendant stated that it would not
accept the appointment under the will as the executor and
trustee because of the failure of the decedent’s family to
cooperate with each other, the nature of the assets, and
the potential claims and liabilities that might arise as a
result of such appointment.

On May 4, 1970, Marjorie and Mae Sander opened pro-
bate proceedings by filing a petition for letters of adminis-
tration to collect in the probate division of the circuit
court of Cook County. Mae Sander, the decedent’s first wife,
was appointed administrator to collect in this proceeding.
She filed a motion to order the defendant to turn over
the decedent’s Illinois assets.

On July 13, 1970, the court ordered that this motion
be continued pending the appointment of an administrator
with the will annexed as requested in a petition filed by
Emma Sander in a second Illinois probate proceeding.’

1 Although the exact date of the filing of this petition is unclear,
the record indicates that it occurred shortly after Emma Sander
moved to Illinois on June 15, 1970.

App. 3

1a her petition Emma Sander nominated herself as ad-
ministrator with the will annexed. On July 17, 1970, Betty
and Marjorie Sander filed a cross-petition for letters of
administration with the will annexed in which they nomi-
nated Betty for the appointment and stated under oath
that the defendant refused to accept the nomination as
executor.

Meanwhile, on June 5, 1970, another probate proceeding
was instituted in the circuit court of Starke County, In-
diana. Letters of administration were issued to Emma
Sander and Betty Sander Harvey as co-administrators of
the decedent’s estate. The record shows that on May 6,
1970 the defendant filed a renunciation of its appointment
as executor in the circuit court of Starke County, Indiana.
Subsequently, on July 13, 1970, the defendant filed a re-
nunciation of its appointment as executor in the circuit
court of Cook County.

On September 9, 1970, Emma Sander, by an order of the
circuit court of Cook County, was appointed administra-
tor with the will annexed in the second Illinc.s probate
proceeding. The court then heard the motion raised by Mae
Sander in the first Illinois probate proceeding to order
the defendant to turn over the decedent’s Illinois assets.
This motion was denied. On September 23, 1970, Emma
Sander presented the defendant with a certified copy of
the order appointing her administrator with the will an-
nexed. The defendant then proceeded to deliver the as-
sets of the estate which had come into its possession as
the nominated executor to Emma Sander who in turn pre-
sented the defendant with a receipt. Thereafter, the de-
fendant had no further involvement with the decedent’s as-
sets or his estate.

In closing the first Illinois probate proceedings in con-
junction with her status as administrator to collect, Mae
Sander filed on December 4, 1970 a petition in lieu of a
final accounting. In filing an answer on December 8, 1970,

App. 4

Emma Sander, as administrator with the will annexed in
the second Illinois probate proceeding, stated that she and
the defendant, as the nominated executor, had diligently
collected and preserved the assets belonging to the dece-
dent in Illinois, Iowa and Indiana and, therefore, no fur-
ther action would be necessary to collect said assets.

On May 18, 1971, Betty Sander Harvey and Marjorie
Sander filed a petition for removal and to surcharge Em-
ma Sander as administrator with the will annexed. In
this petition they again stated that tie defendant had
refused to accept the nomination as executor and also
raised various issues charging loss, damage and waste in
connection with the assets of the decedent’s estate. They
further alleged that counsel for Emma Sander had harassed
and threatened them thereby causing a substantial delay
in the opening up of the administration of the estate in
Illinois. They contended that counsel for Emma Sander
had intimidated and threatened the defendant to such an
extent that it refused fo accept the appointment as the
decedent’s executor. On July 2, 1971, they filed an amended
petition for removal and to surcharge Emma Sander in
which they again stated that the defendant had declined to
accept the appointment as executor. The court held in
favor of Emma Sander and denied the petition.

On October 22, 1970, Emma Sander, as the decedent’s
widow, renounced the decedent’s December 27, 1955 will.
The assets of the decedent’s estate were sold and the pro-
ceeds distributed in accordance with the renunciation of
the will. Emma, as the widow, and Betty and Marjorie, as
the decedent’s daughters, were each to receive one-third
of the estate. Pursuant to a May 27, 1971 order in the
second Illinois probate proceeding the first partial distri-
bution of the proceeds was made with the delivery to the
above mentioned individuals of checks dated June 1, 1971,
in the amount of $20,000 each. The record fails to indicate
when the estate of Ernest J. Sander was actually closed.

App. 5

On November 12, 1976 Betty Sander Harvey filed the
present action in the form of a pro se complaint on be-
half of herself and her two sons, Douglas Alan Davis and
William Porter Davis, grandsons of the decedent against
the defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank.’ Betty
Sander Harvey, as the sole plaintiff, alleged in her com-
plaint that the defendant had accepted the appointment
under the decedent’s will as executor and trustee. She
further alleged that the defendant had breached the tes-
tamentary trust of the decedent when it filed a renuncia-
tion of its appointment. The plaintiff sought $750,000 in
damages as a result of this alleged breach.

On December 16, 1976, the defendant filed a motion to
strike and dismiss the complaint. It alleged that the
plaintiff’s claims had already been adjudicated in the cir-
cuit court of Cook County in a prior action filed by the
plaintiff against the defendant bank; that the claim as-
serted against the defendant is barred by the determination
of the issues or the opportunity to have such issues deter-
mined in the two aforementioned Illinois probate proceed-
ings; that the claim is barred by the statute of limita-
tions; that the defendant properly took possession of the
decedent’s assets and delivered them to the personal rep-
resentative of the estate; and that the plaintiff did not
state a cause of action against the defendant. The de-
fendant included affidavits and exhibits in support of said
motion. Included was the affidavit of Mr. Abbey Blatt-
berg, an attorney for the defendant, as well as the affidavit
of Mr. Daniel Engstrom, a vice-president of the defendant
bank. The plaintiff did not file any counter-affidavits.

The plaintiff subsequently retained legal counsel and
on February 24, 1977 her attorney filed an appearance
and made a jury demand. On June 22, 1977 the defendant’s

2 No appearance was made by the decedent’s grandsons nor was
an appearance made by an attorney in their behalf. Therefore,
they are not parties to this action.

App. 6

motion to dismiss the complaint with prejudice was sus-
tained by the trial court. In issuing said order the court
held that the defendant never accepted the nomination as
executor or trustee under the will of Ernest J. Sander and
stated further that the defendant properly took possession
of the decedent’s assets and preserved them until they
were turned over to Emma Sander as administrator with
the will annexed. The court also found that the allega-
tions in the complaint were insufficient to sustain a cause
of action and that pursuant to Section 16 of the Limita-
tions Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1975, ch. 83, see. 16), the plain-
tiff’s action was time barred.

The plaintiff’s counsel filed a motion, on July 18, 1977,
to vacate the June 22, 1977 order alleging fraudulent con-
cealment of a cause of action by the defendant. A motion
for leave to file an amended complaint was also filed by the

plaintiff’s attorney at that time. The defendant filed a,
response to these motions on October 7, 1977, in which it”

denied that there was a concealment of any cause of ac-
tion. Thereafter, a hearing was had on said motions and
they were denied with prejudice on November 23, 1977.
The plaintiff filed her notice of appeal on December 22,
1977, thus commencing the instant appeal.

The plaintiff initially ascribes error to the trial court’s
refusing to allow her leave to file an amended complaint
and denying her motion to vacate the dismissal. While it
is true that section 4 of the Civil Practice Act (Ill. Rev.
Stat. 1975, ch. 110, par. 4) provides that all sections of the
Act, including the one relating to the amendment of plead-
ings (see Ill. Rev. Stat. 1975, ch. 110, par. 46(1)) be liber-
ally construed, leave to amend the pleadings prior to the
entry of final judgment is within the sound discretion of
the trial court. (Beagley v. Andel (1978), 58 Ill. App. 3d
588, 374 N.E.2d 929; Erzrumly v. Dominick’s Finer Foods
(1977), 50 Tl. App. 3d 359, 365 N.E.2d 684.) <‘‘(T)he
denial of a motion to amend will not be regarded as preju-

App. 7

dicial error unless there has been a manifest abuse of dis-
cretion.’’ (Mundt v. Ragnar Benson, Inc. (1975), 61 Ill.
2d 151, 161, 335 N.E.2d 10; accord, Simon wv. Plotkin (1977),
50 Ill. App. 3d 603, 365 N.E.2d 1022.) It is also well settled
in Illinois that the decision to vacate and set aside judg-
ments rests within the sound discretion of the trial court.
Village of LaGrange Park v. Hess (1928), 332 Ill. 236,
163 N.E. 672; Czyzewski v. Gleeson (1977), 49 Ill. App. 3d
655, 365 N.E.2d 577.

The plaintiff asserts that considering the circumstances
in the instant case it was a manifest abuse of discretion for
the trial court to deny her motions. She asks this court to
apply more lenient procedural standards to pro se litigants
than is generally allowed attorneys. However, the Illinois
Supreme Court in Biggs v. Spader firmly established that
the pro se litigant must comply with the same rules of pro-
cedure required of attorneys. (Biggs v. Spader (1952),
411 Ill. 42, 103 N.E.2d 104; accord, National Bank of
Austin v. First Wisconsin National Bank of Milwaukee
(1977), 53 Ill. App. 3d 482, 368 N.H.2d 119.) Further-
more, although no counsel appeared of record for the plain-
tiff when the case was first filed on November 12, 1976,
counsel was retained and made an appearance and jury
demand on behalf of the plaintiff as early as February
24, 1977. This was four months prior to the hearing on
the defendant’s motion to strike and dismiss the complaint
and nine months before the defendant’s motion to vacate
was argued. It should be reiterated that at no time did
counsel for the plaintiff file any counter-affidavits. “Where
one party files an affidavit and the other party does not
file a counter-affidavit in response, the facts alleged in the
affidavit are taken as true. (Loughman Cabinet Co. v. C.
Iber and Sons, Inc. (1977), 46 Ill. App. 3d 873, 361 N.B.2d
379.) Therefore, the defendant’s uncontroverted affidavits
which accompanied its motion to strike and dismiss the
complaint must be taken as true. Finally, although the
plaintiff’s attorney withdrew prior to oral arguments in

App. 8

this court, he did so in response to the plaintiff’s motion
to discharge and her election to conduct oral arguments in
her own behalf.

The plaintiff’s second contention raised in this appeal is
that she should have been afforded an opportunity to
amend her complaint to show that the defendant had
fraudulently concealed a cause of action. She argues that
her action is not barred by the statute of limitations be-
cause section 23 of the Limitations Act (Ill. Rev. Stat.
1975, ch. 83, par. 23) is applicable in this case. We can-
not agree.

Section 23 of the Limitations Act provides:

‘‘If a person liable to an action fraudulently conceals
the cause of action from the knowledge of the person
entitled thereto, the action may be commenced at any
time within five years after the person entitled tu
bring the same discovers that he has such cause of
action and not afterwards.’’ (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1975,
ch. 83, par. 23.)
Acts or misrepresentations affirmatively showing fraudu-
lent concealment of a cause of action by the defendani
which prevented the plaintiff from discovering she had a
cause of action must be alleged by the party seeking to
avail herself of section 23 of the Limitations Act. (Brain.
erd v. Flannery (1978), 59 Ill. App. 3d 991, 373 N.E.2d 26;
Wilson v. LeFevour (1974), 22 Ill. App. 3d 608, 317 N.E.2d
772.) The defendant must have made representations or
performed acts which were known by it to be false, with
the intent to deceive the plaintiff, and upon which the
plaintiff detrimentally relied. (Wilson; Edwards v. Chi-
cago and Northwestern Railway Company (1967), 79 IIl.
App. 2d 48, 223 N.E.2d 163.) Furthermore, when the
party affected by the fraud might have discovered it with
ordinary diligence section 23 of the Limitations Act does
not come into play. (Bush v. Continenial Casualty Com-
pany (1969), 116 Ill. App. 2d 94, 253 N.E.2d 619.) Finally,
‘*(m)ere silence of the defendant and mere failure on the

App. 9

part of the plaintiff to learn of a cause of action do not
amount to such fraudulent concealment.’’ Chicago Park
District v. Kenroy, Inc. (1978), 58 Ill. App. 3d 879, 887,
374 N.E.2d 670; accord, Bush; Antczak v. Antczak (1965),
61 Ill. App. 2d 404, 209 N.H.2d 838.

Applying these principles to the case at bar, it is evi-
dent that the plaintiff has failed to meet the requirements
imposed by Section 23 of the Limitations Act. We can find
nothing in the record which would suggest that the defen-
dant made representations or performed acts which fraudu-
lently concealed a cause of action from the defendant. The
plaintiff’s claim is premised on the defendant’s failure to
perform an accounting. However, the failure on the part
of the defendant to perform an accounting of the assets
held by it does not by itself constitute fraudu.ent conceal-
ment. (See Kenroy, Inc.; Bush; Antczak.) The plain-
tiff should have requested an accounting.

We should note that the plaintiff failed to indicate when

_ she acquired knowledge of the alleged concealed cause of

action to commence the running of the statute of limita-
tions. In addition, the plaintiff has failed to incorporate
a proposed amended complaint into the record on appeal
alleging facts in support of her claim of fraudulent con-
cealment. Consequently, we are unable to review the
soundness of the trial court’s decision and must assume
that it did not abuse its discretion in denying the plain-
tiff’s motions for leave to amend the complaint and vacate
the dismissal. Lowrey v. Malkowski (1960), 20 Ill. 2d
280, 170 N.E.2d 147, cert. denied (1961), 365 U.S. 879,
6 L.Ed 2d 191, 81 S.Ct. 1029; Ereruwmly v. Dominick’s
Finer Foods (1977), 50 Ill. App. 3d 359, 365 N.E.2d 684.

We find it unnecessary to determine the issue discussed
by both parties as to whether or not a trust relationship
existed between the defendant and the decedent’s estate
because any such relationship which may have existed

—..

App. 10

terminated when the plaintiff became aware of the de-
fendant’s renunciation of its appointment as executor and
trustee. Indeed, there is evidence to suggest that the plain-
tiff was informed of the defendant’s renunciation as early
as April 30, 1970, while she attended a conference being
held in the defendant’s offices. In any event it is clear
that the plaintiff obtained knowledge of the defendant’s
renunciation no later than July 2, 1971 when in filing an
amended petition for removal and to surcharge Emma
Sander she stated under oath that the defendant had de-
clined to accept the appointment. We conclude, therefore,
that since the plaintiff’s complaint was filed on November
12, 1976, over five years after all of the pertinent events
in this action had transpired, -he suit is barred. See
Ill. Rev. Stat. 1975, ch. 83, sec. 16.

We should also note that the plaintiff has not offered
any reason why the matters raised herein could not have
been brought to the attention of the probate court. The
plaintiff was a party to or had a chance to participate in
two Illinois probate proceedings and thus had ample op-
portunity to present all the matters deemed necessary
in that court.

For the foregoing reasons the orders of the circuit court
of Cook County are affirmed.

Affirmed.
GOLDBERG, P.J., and McGLOON, J., concur.

STATE OF ILLINOIS

COUNTY OF COOK

App. 11

APPENDIX B

SS

ee

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF COOK COUNTY,
ILLINOIS COUNTY DEPARTMENT, LA'W DIVISION

BETTY SANDER HARVEY (AKA DAVIS), DOUGLAS
ALAN DAVIS, WILLIAM PORTER DAVIS,
Plaintiffs,
v.

HARRIS TRUST AND SAVINGS BANK, an

Illinois Corpora‘ion
Defendant

NO. 76 L 20780

COMPLAINT AT LAW

NOW COME the plaintiffs, BETTY SANDER HARVEY
(AKA DAVIS), DOUGLAS ALAN DAVIS, and WII-
LIAM PORTER DAVIS, and complaining of the defen-
dant, HARRIS TRUST AND SAVINGS BANK, an Illi-
nois corporation, state as follows:

1. That they are heirs of the Estate of Ernest J. San-
der, deceased, which matter has been instituted and is pend-
ing in the Probate Division of the Circuit Court of Cook
County, Illinois, under general +70P5652, Docket 746, Page
551.

2. That during his lifetime, the decedent Ernest J.
Sander did execute a four-page written document, known

as a Last Will and Testament, under date of December

App. 12

27, 1955, wherein he did give, devise, and bequeath all of
his residuary estate to the Chicago National Bank, a Na-
tional Banking Association, as trustee in trust for the
purposes set forth in the aforesaid Last Will and Testa-
ment, and as executor of same.

3. That the said decedent Ernest J. Sander further
provided in his last will and testament that the income
from the trust estate shall be used for the maintenance and
welfare of his wife, Emma Sander, payments to be not less
than $50 per week. Upon the death of said wife ‘‘the trus-
tee shall divide the whole of the capital of such trust estate
then remaining, including all gains and increases of capital
thereof, if any, into two (2) equal parts or shares and shall
convey transfer and pay 1 (one) of such equal shares to
each of my daughters ... In the event of the death of
either daughter ... prior to complete distribution of her
share ... such share or remainder ... shall be distributed
... to her descendants.’’ Betty Sander Harvey (aka Davis)
is the daughter of Ernest J. Sander, deceased, and Douglas
Alan Davis and William Porter Davis are sons of said
Betty Sander Harvey (aka Davis).

4. That thereafter, and prior to the death of the said
decedent, Ernest J. Sander, which date of death is January
16, 1970, the assets of the said Chicago National Bank were
acquired by the defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank,
an Illinois corporation, and merged with the assets of said
bank.

5. That through the aforementioned transaction, said
defendants, Harris Trust and Savings Bank, became the
successor of the business of the said Chicago National
Bank, and was responsible for all of its obligations, assets,
and liabilities. Therefore, the defendant, Harris Trust and
Savings Bank, became the executor, trustee of the Estate of
Ernest J. Sander, deceased, under the terms of the ex-
press testamentary trust of Ernest J. Sander, deceased, as
set forth in 9 C.J.S. section 468 page 928: ‘‘A bank which

App. 13

acquires the assets of another bank under circumstances
showing that it is a legal successor of such other bank
becomes liable for the debts and obligations of the old bank,
although the transaction may not be strictly a consolidation
or merger, as where the purchasing bank takes over all the
assets of the other bank, assumes all its known liabilities,
and causes such other bank to discontinue business by a
voluntary liquidation. ”’

This fact was reaffirmed by Mr. Ralph Blaha, attorney,
acting for the Harris bank, in a letter to the decedent,
Ernest J. Sander’s surviving spouse, dated January 23,
1970: to wit that Harris Trust and Savings Bank ‘‘suc-
ceeded Chicago National Bank in all trust matters where
it had been named.’’

6. That on July 1, 1969, approximately six months prior
to his death, the decedent Ernest J. Sander, apparently
responding to a June 26, 1969 letter from the Harris Trust
and Savings Bank, did confirm by letter, his last will and
testament dated December 27, 1955, that it created a trust,
that Chicago National Bank was named both executor trus-
tee and that said will was in his safe deposit box.

7. That subsequent to the death of Ernest J. Sander,
the defendant Harris Trust and Savings Bank was repre-
sented by Mr. N. Daniel Engstrom at the examination of
the decedent’s safe deposit box #3450 at the Mid City
National Bank of Chicago, 807 West Madison Street, Chi-
cago, Illinois, which fact is attested to by the document
subtitled ‘‘Schedule of Contents’’ dated February 19,
1970. It states: Information supplied by Mr. N. Daniel
Engstrom, Harris Trust and Savings Bank.

8. That on February 20, 1970 the Harris Bank through
their attorney, Mr. Ralph Blaha, caused the last will and
testament of the decedent, Ernest J. Sander, to be filed
in the Probate Division of the Circuit Court of Cook Coun-

ty Illinois.

App. 14

9. That on or about February 25, 1970, representatives
of the Harris Trust and Savings Bank, Mr. Braddock, Mr.
Engstrom, and others, met with one of the plaintiffs,
Betty Sander Harvey (aka Davis) to discuss the circum-
stances surrounding the decedent’s death and a possible
wrongful death suit, stemming from said death.

10. That the defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank,
on March 4, 1970, removed and took custody of all the
assets and property, including stocks, bonds, deed to prop-
erty, insurance policy, and last will and testament, which
reposed in the decedent, Ernest J. Sander’s safe deposit
box. The aforementioned act was confirmed in a letter
addressed to Phillip Makin on March 4, 1970.

11. That subsequently on March 10, 1970, Mr. Phillip
Makin, an attorney acting on behalf of the said Emma
Sander, sent to the Harris Trust and Savings Bank fur-
ther assets and property of the decedent Ernest J. Sander,
including dividend checks from Adams Express Co., North-
ern Illinois Gas, Studebaker \Worthington, Commonwealth
Edison, Voting Proxies for 1970 meeting of Adams Ex-
press, American Motors, and check book of Ernest J.
Sander from the Harris Trust and Savings Bank, Chicago,
all of which were accepted by said defendant, Harris Trust
and Savings Bank.

12. That on March 23, 1970, said Attorney Mr. Phillip
Makin sent to 'N. Daniel Engstrom of the Harris Trust and
Savings Bank further property and assets of the decedent,
Ernest J. Sander, including his personal and corporate in-
come tax returns, dividend checks from St. Regis Paper,
U. S. Steel, tax bill from treasurer’s office, Allamakee Coun-
ty, Iowa, cancelled checks, correspondence photocopies of
dividend checks and Form 1099 Dividend Records... all
of which the defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank,
accepted. The defendant also procured an extension agree-
ment from the IRS to prepare and file the 1040 tax return.

13. That on a number of occasions, one of the plain-
tiffs, Betty Sander Harvey (aka Davis), conversed with

App. 15

“=

the defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank, concerning
problems in the estate, the corporation of the decedent, and
wrongful acts of an attorney, Mr. Phillip Makin, in regard
to the decedent’s estate, and on each occasion she was re-
assured by Mr. N. Daniel Engstrom that the assets of
Ernest J. Sander, deceased, were securely in the keeping
of the defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank.

14. That through all of the above mentioned acts the
defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank, did accept,
affect, and establish said Bank’s appointment as trustee
of the Estate of Ernest J. Sander, deceased, as set forth in
76 Am Jur. 2nd section 124.

‘‘ Acceptance of a trusteeship ordinarily may be made
without any formality. Such acceptance may be effected,
established or proved by . . . acts fairly implying con-
sent,’’ as established in Hoffman v. Gould 64 NE 2nd 773,
327 Ill. App. 428. ‘‘Exercising power over property is an
acceptance of trust.’’

15. That subsequent to the aforementioned facts the
defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank took no action
whatsoever to open the probate proceedings but rather
allowed Mr. Phillip Makin, an attorney retained by said
Emma Sander, to collect the assets, control the decedent’s
business and take possession of the decedent’s personal
property contrary to 35 Ill LP section 142 p 328 which
stutes : ‘

‘(Tt is the exclusive right and duty of the trustee to col-
lect or reduce to possession the property and assets which
belong to an estate within a reasonable time. (Holyoke v.
Con Ill Bank 104 NE 2nd 838) and further contrary to 32
Ill D 295 Key 181

‘Where trustee holds legal title to trust property with
right of possession, he cannot remain dormant with im-
punity; and the mere fact that party from whom trustee
must obtain property is evidently a reputable attorney at
that time, does not excuse the trustee’s failure to take steps

App. 16

to secure trust property, nor change legal duty of trustee.’’

‘*Where trustee alone has sole power to invest and rein-
vest trust property, it is emphatically trustees duty to
take possession thereof.’’

The defendant allowed said Phillip Makin to take posses-
sion, in spite of the fact that said Phillip Makin had already
shown his bad faith by attempting to gain access to the
decedent’s safe deposit box after his death, claiming he
was alive; by representing that the decedent’s will was in-
valid, since said Phillip Makin had drawn subsequent wills;
and by representing that said Emma Sander was Admin-
istrator of the Estate on January 27, 1970. All of the afore-
mentioned facts were untrue, designed to destroy the trust
of Ernest J. Sander and all were known to Harris Trust
and Savings Bank. Yet said Bank allowed Phillip Makin
to intermeddle in the duties which were rightfully those of
the defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank. It would
have seemed that the defendant would have acted with un-
told authority and utmost haste to protect the estate.

16. That unbeknown to the plaintiffs, on March 13, 1970,
Mr. Ralph Blaha, attorney for Harris Trust and Savings
Bank, appeared in Probate Court and effected a transfer
of the decedent’s will to Starke County, Indiana. The
plaintiffs have since learned that the decedent, Ernest J.
Sander, filed his Income Tax Return from the State of
Illinois, and took great pains to preserve his legal residency
in said state. The transfer was unwarranted and ques-
tionable in nature and caused the estate to suffer great
financial loss as well as confusion and complications in the
probate matters.

17. That on June 5th with the full knowledge and con-
sent of defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank, an
Estate was opened in the Circuit Court of Starke County,
Indiana #3481 in which the Plaintiff Betty Sander Harvey
(aka Davis) and Emma Sander were appointed co-adminis-
tratrix. Said proceeding was unproper, unbeknown to the

App. 17

plaintiff at the time, since the will and trust were still in
effect. It was further improper since said Emma Sander,
who had formerly resided in the State of Indiana, had
moved to Chicago on or before May 1, 1970, and therefore
neither administrator was a resident of the State of Indi-
ana, as required by law. ‘Thus plaintiff Betty Sander
Harvey (aka Davis) was unwittingly made a party to the
wrongful acts, well known to the defendant, Harris Trust
and Savings Bank.

18. That on the thirteenth day of July 1970 which was a
full six months lacking three days after the death of said
decedent, Ernest J. Sander, during all of which time the
defendant Harris Trust and Savings Bank had been acting -
in the Estate of said decedent, said Bank filed a document
in the Circuit Court of Cook County which reads: ‘‘This
matter coming on to be heard upon the motion of Ralph C.
Blaha, attorney for Harris Trust and Savings Bank, pre-
senting the Renunciation and Declinations of Harris
Trust and Savings Bank, together with Continental
Tllinois’’ (Continental Bank being successor trustee
named in the decedent’s trust). By causing their
attorney Ralph Blaha to concurrently, in one docu-
ment, file their renunciation and the declination of the
successor trustee Continental Illinois Bank, they willfully
and wrongfully but effectively destroyed the trust of
Ernest J. Sander. This is clearly a travesty of the law and
contrary to just practice to wit: ‘‘A trust will not be per-
mitted to fail for want of a trustee.’’ 90 CJS section 211 p
139. (DeKorwin v. 1st National Bank of Chicago 70 S Ct.
1028 339 US 982 94 6ed 1386)

90 CJS section 217 p 158, 159: ‘‘A court of equity or its
equivalent may and ordinarily will appoint a trustee where
the designated trustee refuses, or neglects to execute the
trust . . . or declines after accepting . . . or where the
qualified or acting trustee withdraws on his own petition. ”’
Why was not this done?

The Plaintiff Betty Sander Harvey (aka Davis), heir at
law, received no written notice of the intention of the defen-

App. 18

dant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank, to withdraw from
its trusteeship, nor was said Plaintiff notified of the date
the Defendant would petition to withdraw, nor was said
Plaintiff present in court when such petition was heard.

Further, to the best knowledge of the Plaintiff, no ac-
counting was ever presented to the Court by the Defendant,
Harris Trust and Savings Bank, at the time of their re-
nunciation, prior thereto or subsequent thereto. And al-
though a trustee may under proper circumstances with-
draw or resign, the law clearly requires from said trustee,
an accounting.

19. That subsequent to the withdrawal of the defendant,
Harris Trust and Savings Bank, the Plaintiff learned that
in violation of section 3 of the trust instrument by which
the Harris Bank agreed to ‘‘hold, manage lease, care for
and protect said trust estate,’’ they in fact allowed the
decedent’s business, an Illinois corporation known as John
Sander Inc., to be wrongfully usurped and controlled by
Attorney Phillip Makin and his client, Emma Sander. Then
without the knowledge of the plaintiffs, the defendant, Har-
ris Trust and Savings Bank who had by the trust instru-
ment sole direction over the said corporation, allowed the
voluntary cessation of operations of said corporation to
be effected. Trusts are always imperative and are obliga-
tory on the conscience of the person entrusted (65 CJP
218 note 7) ‘‘they are made with strict reference to their
faithful execution and it has been said the entire doctrine
of trusts rests on the principle that equity regards that as
done which should be done. Since the primary object of a
trust is to confine the powers of the beneficiary and deprive
him of any power to dispose of and manage the trust.’’
Kilgore v. State Bank of Colusa 21 NE 2nd 9 300 Ill App
404 affirmed 25 NE 2nd 29 372 Ill 578

The heirs were not only powerless, they were eaiitnaped.
and did not learn of such act for several years.

App. 19

20. That the Harris Trust and Savings Bank did breach
the testamentary trust of the decedent Ernest J. Sander
after they had accepted the same which breach resulted in
waste, loss and untold damages to the estate of the dece-
dent, and to the Plaintiffs Betty Sander Harvey (aka
Davis), Douglas Alan Davis, and William Porter Davis.
That among these losses are the decrease in the value of
the decedent’s securities, the unaccounted for dividends
from said securities, the total dissolution of the decedent’s
corporation, whose stock was evaluated by Carl Safanda
of the defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank, in a re-
port dated April 21, 1970 to be worth $85.09 per share of
which there were 999, the building at 1053-55 West Lake
Street which was estimated to be $100,000, all of the rents
collected by the corporation and various bank accounts, as
well as approximately $25,000 spent by the plaintiffs, dur-
ing the six years they have sought redress in courts for
the losses incurred from the breach of the trust of the
decedent Ernest J. Sander in the Harris Trust and Sav-
ings Bank.

The plaintiffs further state that they, and in particular
Betty Sander Harvey (aka Davis), have suffered inestim-
able physical and emotional strain and damage and fur-
ther have devoted untold hours of time which, during the
six years, could have been used for gainful employment.

The Plaintiffs further state that as a result of the failure
of the defendant Harris Trust and Savings Bank to fulfill
the terms of the decedent’s trust, the plaintiffs have had
their confidence in the institutions of banking and law,
which are two of the undergirding institutions in our
American society, undermined and damaged beyond com-
prehension—for all of which the defendant Harris Trust
and Savings Bank is clearly responsible as stated: ‘‘In
accepting a trust, trustee is presumed to know obligation
and limitations connected with his high office and if he
transgresses, must abide by the consequences.’’ Piff v.
Berresheim 405 Ill. 617 Martin v. Rodeford trust 281 Tll 441

App. 20

A trustee after he has accepted i
pted the office, cannot dis-
charge himself from liability merely by a subsequent resig-
Prk 35 Ill. L P section 106 p 301 96 CJS section 225 p

“A trustee has the duty of protecting and preserving the
trust properly from loss and injury, and he is liable for a
loss resulting from his failure to exercise reasonable care
prudence and diligence.’’ Holyoke v Continental Il Bank
1952 104 NE 2nd 838 Strauss v. Chicago Title and Trust
1933 273 Ill App 63

As a result of the defendant Harris Tru i

st and Sa
Bank’s breach of trust of the decedent Ernest J. Sander
the plaintiffs have been damaged in the sum of seven him
dred fifty thousand dollars ($750,000.00).

Wherefore, the plaintiffs Betty Sander Harvey (aka
Davis), Douglas Alan Davis, and William Porter Davis
_ - the court enter a judgment against the defendant

arris Trust and Savings Bank for seven h
thousand dollars. atonal

/8/ Betty Sander Harvey
Betty Sander Harvey (aka Davis)

Betty Sander Harvey
Attorney Pro Se

and for Plaintiffs
834 Monroe Avenue
River Forest, Ill. 60305
369-6549

Subscribed and sworn to
(SEAL) before me this 12th day
of November, 1976
/8/ Phil E. Gierman
Notary Public

App. 21
APPENDIX C
IN THE

CIRCUIT COURT OF COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS
COUNTY DEPARTMENT — LAW DIVISION

No. 76 L 20780

BETTY SANDER HARVEY (a/k/a DAVIS), DOUGLAS
ALAN DAVIS, and WILLIAM PORTER DAVIS,
Plaintiff's,
v.

HARRIS TRUST AND SAVINGS BANK,
Defendant.

ORDER

THIS CAUSE coming on to be heard upon the motion
of Defendant, Harris Trust and Savings Bank (hereafter
‘‘Harris’’), to Strike and Dismiss the Complaint, and the
Court having before it said Complaint, Motion and the
Affidavits filed by Defendant, Harris, in support of said
motion, and having heard the statements and arguments of
counsel for the parties herein, finds that:

Defendant, Harris, never accepted or qualified as Ex-
ecutor under the will of Ernest J. Sander, Deceased.

Harris never accepted or acted as the trustee under
the trust set forth in said Will of Ernest J. Sander, De-
ceased.

Harris in taking possession of assets of Ernest J.
Sander after his death and preserving them until it turned
them over to the Administrator With the Will Annexed
after her appointment, acted under and pursuant to the
lilinois Probate Act, Section 6-14 (formerly Section 79).

App. 22

The Will of Ernest J. Sander, Deceased, was renounced
by the widow, Emma Sander, on October 22, 1970, p ir-
suant to order of this Court entered on that date.

The assets of the Estate were distributed one-third
(44) each to the widow and the two daughters, Betty and

Marjorie in accordance with Sections 2-8(a) and (c) of the
Illinois Probate Act.

The Statute of Limitations—Section 16—‘‘Oral con-
tracts—Arbitration awards—Damage to property—Pos-
sessory actions—Civil actions’’ of Chapter 83 of the IIli-

nois Revised Statutes bars this and an .
y cause of act
by the Plaintiffs. ction

The allegations of the Complaint are insufficient to sus-
tain a cause of action.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the Complaint be
and the same hereby is stricken and this cause of action is
hereby dismissed with prejudice.

ENTER:

Judge Daniel P. Coman
JUN 22 1977

Cireuit Court

App. 23

APPENDIX D

LAST WILL AND TESTAMENT
of
ERNEST J. SANDER

I, ERNEST J. SANDER, of Chicago, Illinois, make this,
my Last Will and Testament and revoke all former Wills
and Codicils by me made.

FIRST: I direct my Executor to pay out of the prin-
cipal of my estate all my just debts, funeral expenses and
costs of administration. I further direct my Executor to
pay out of the principal of my estate, or to make deposits
therefrom to secure such payments, all estate, inheritance,
transfer and succession taxes, including any interest and
penalties thereon, which may be assessed in any way by
reason of my death, and I hereby waive on behalf of my
estate any right to recover from any person, including any
beneficiary of insurance on my life, any part of such taxes
so paid.

SECOND: I give and bequeath all my clothing, jewelry,
personal effects, house furnishings, automobiles and other
articles of household or personal use or adornment, to my
wife, EMMA SANDER, if she survives me, otherwise to
my surviving children, to be divided equally among them
as they determine, or if they fail to agree upon such divi-
sion within six (6) months after my death, then as my
Executor shall determine.

THIRD: All the residue of my estate and property,
real and personal, wheresoever situated, including all
lapsed legacies and devises, I give, devise and bequeath to
CHICAGO NATIONAL BANK, a national banking as-
sociation, 120 S. LaSalle St.,

Ernest J. Sander
D.C.H.

WFL

RCB

App. 24 App. 25
to cause any securities or other property, real or per-

preinater set forthe ees sca sonal, belonging to the trust estate to be held or

hereinafter set forth.

SECTION 1: The entire net income from the trust
estate, commencing at the time of my death, shall be
paid to my beloved wife, EMMA SAN DER, in con-
venient installments during her lifetime. In addition
to the foregoing provision in favor of my said wife,
the Trustee shall be fully authorized to pay to my
said wife such sums from the principal of the trust
estate as in its sole discretion shall be necessary or
advisable from time to time, for the medical care,
comfortable maintenance, and welfare of my said wife,
taking into consideration all other income and cash
resources available to my said wife for such purposes
and all sources known to the Trustee. Payments to
my wife, EMMA SANDER shall not be less than
Fifty Dollars ($50.00) per week, including any So-
cial Security payments to her as my dependent.

SECTION 2: Upon the death of my said wife,
EMMA SANDER, the Trustee shall divide the whole
of the capital of such trust estate then remaining, in-
cluding all gains and increases of capital thereof, if any,
into two (2) equal parts or shares, and shall convey,
transfer and pay over one (1) of such equal parts or
shares to each of my daughters, MARJORIE H. SAN-
DER and BETTY MAE DAVIS, if they shall be then
living. In the event of the death of either of my
daughters prior to complete distribution of her share,
then upon such child’s death, such share or the re-
mainder thereof, shall be distributed per stirpes to her
then remaining descendants, if any, or if none, then per
stirpes to my then living descendants.

SECTION 3: The Trustee shall hold, manage,
lease, care for, and protect said trust estate and col-
lect the income therefrom, all in accordance with its
best judgment and discretion, being fully authorized

registered in its name or in the name of its nominee

or in such other form as it deems best without dis-

closing the trust relationship. Any leases that may

be made may commence at the time of making or on

a future day and may be for any period of time the

Trustee thinks best, though extending beyond the term
of the trust. The Trustee may continue to hold any

property or securities received at the commencement

of the trust. The Trustee shall be authorized to in-
vest and reinvest the trust estate as shall be permitted
by law and by the statutes of the State of Illinois. It
is also authorized to borrow money, to extend or re-
new any existing indebtedness, and to mortgage or
pledge any property in the trust estate; and no pur-
chaser or mortgagee shall be obliged to see to the ap-
plication of any purchase or mortgage money. The
Trustee may vote either in person or by general or
limited proxy, or refrain from voting, any corporate
securities for any purpose. The Trustee may exercise
or sell any subscription or conversion

Ernest J. Sander
D.C.H.
WFL
RCB
2.

rights, and may avail itself of any options or benefits
under any life insurance policies; it may consent to
or join in any voting trusts, reorganizations, consoli-
dations, mergers, foreclosures, and liquidations, and
in connection therewith, may deposit securities with
or under the direction of any protective committee
under such terms as the Trustee may deem advisable,

~
App. 26

and may accept and hold any securities or other prop-
erty received through the exercise of any of the fore-
going powers. The Trustee is authorized to settle,
compromise, contest, prosecute, or abandon claims in
favor of or against the trust estate as it may deem
advisable. For the purposes aforesaid, the Trustee
may execute and deliver all proper and necessary in-
struments and may give full receipts and discharges.
The Trustee shall also have the power to determine
how all receipts and disbursements, including the
Trustee’s compensation, shall be credited, charged, or
apportioned as between income and principal, and the
decision of the Trustee shall be final and not subject to
question by the beneficiary of the trust. The Trustee
is authorized in its sole discretion to divide or dis-
tribute the trust property in undivided interests or in
kind, or partly in cash and partly in kind, and to sell
such property as the Trustee may deem advisable for
the purpose of making division or distribution. The
judgment of the Trustee as to values for the purpose
of such division or distribution shall be binding and
conclusive on all persons.

SECTION 4: The Trustee shall render to the bene-
ficiary of the trust estate statements of account of its
receipts and disbursements as Trustee hereunder at
least semi-annually. The Trustee shall be entitled to
receive a fair and just compensation for its services
hereunder and shall also be reimbursed for all reason-
able expenses incurred in the management and pro-
tection of the trust estate.

SECTION 5: Im the event of the dissolution or
resignation of the Trustee hereunder, CONTINENTAL
ILLINOIS NATIONAL BANK AND TRUST COM-
PANY OF CHICAGO is hereby appointed Successor
Trustee to administer the trust estate, with all of the

App. 27

duties, rights, titles and powers, as if originally
named as Trustee.

FOURTH: In the event that my said wife, EMMA
SANDER shall predecease me, or if my said wife and I
shall die in a common accident or common disaster, or
under such circumstances as to render it difficult or im-
possible to determine with certainty whether or not my
said wife survived me, then and in any of such events, the
trust herein created shall not come into being and my
Executor shall make distribution to my children, or their
issue, as in Section 2, Clause Third, in this my Will,
provided.

FIFTH: I hereby appoint CHICAGO NATIONAL
BANK Executor of this, my Will. I give to my Executor
full power and

Ernest J. Sander

D.C.H.
WFL
RCB
3.

authority to sell at such time or times as it, in its abso-
lute discretion, shall deem best at public or private sale
and without order of court any property, real or personal,
belonging to my estate. During the period of adminis-
tration of my estate, my Executor is authorized and em-
powered to join with my Trustee in the exercise of all
powers and discretions given to my Trustee, and to the
extent that my Executor has sole custody or control of
any property, it is given with respect to such property
all the powers and discretions herein conferred upon the
Trustee, the same to be exercised by said Executor with-
out application to or confirmation by any court. In the
event of the dissolution or resignation of the Executor
herein named, CONTINENTAL ILLINOIS NATIONAL

App. 28

BANK AND TRUST COMPANY OF CHICAGO is here-
by appointed Successor Executor, with all of the duties,
rights and powers as if originally named as Executor.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my
hand and seal this 27 day of December, A. D. 1955.

Ernest J. Sander (SEAL)

The above and foregoing instrument, consisting of four
(4) typewritten pages, this one included, each of which
bears the signature of the Testator, ERNEST J. SAN-
DER, was on the day of the date thereof signed, sealed,
published and declared by the Testator as and for his
Last Will and Testament, in the presence of us, who at his
request and in his presence and in the presence of each
other, have hereunto subscribed our names as witnesses
hereto; believing the said Testator, ERNEST J. SANDER
to be of sound and disposing mind and memory at the
time of so subscribing our names.

Name: Dorothy C. Holmes
Address: 1109 Holley Court, Oak Park, Ill.

Name: William F. Lentsch
Address: 7420 N. Campbell Ave., Chicago, Ill.

Name: Ralph C. Blaha
Address: 747 N. Leamington Ave., Chicago, Ill.

App. 29
APPENDIX E

I believe it was,—now I turned it over and lost it. Yes, 2-8.

‘‘Tf a will is renounced in the manner provided by

this section, any future interest which is to take affect

in possession or enjoinment at or after the termina-

tion of the estate or other interests given by the will

of the surviving spouse, takes affect as though the sur-

viving spouse had pre-deceased the testator, unless

the will expressly provides that in a case of re-

nunciation the future interests shall not be acceler-
ated.’’

The will very explicitly said in case my wife pre-deceases
me or we die in a common disaster, then the items under
the will and trust will go as set forth in the paragraphs
previous to the paragraph making that statement and
I can read it to you exactly. ‘‘As in Section 2, Clause 3,
as my will provides.’’ So, it does, that’s fine that she
renounced, but there is still a trust because the will very
explicitly sets forth. So, I think that Harris’s position
in trying to say there is no trust that is kind of without

App. 30

APPENDIX F
B.

In delivering its opinion, the Appellate Court set forth
more than twenty incorrect and/or misleading represen-
tations made by defendant as true. This is difficult to
understand since these misstatements were brought before

the court in the oral argument. They include but are
not limited to the following:

p. 1. par. 2.

Ernest Sander died . . survived by his second wife.
THE RECORD WILL SHOW THAT ON JULY 13, 1971
AN AMENDED ORDER OF HEIRSHIP WAS EN-
TERED IN THE ESTATE OF SANDER WHICH OR-
DER HELD THAT SANDER’S ONLY HEIRS WERE
HIS TWO DAUGHTERS.

p. 1. par. 2.
At the time of his death Sander resided in Walkerton,
Indiana.
THE RECORD WILL SHOW THAT SANDER’S LEGAL
RESIDENCY WAS IN ILLINOIS.

p. 1. par. 3.
The will was filed in the cireuit court of Cook County
and subsequently transferred to Indiana.
THE COURT FAILS TO STATE THAT IT WAS THE
DEFENDANT WHO WRONGFULLY TRANSFERRED
TO INDIANA WITHOUT KNOWLEDGE OF PLAIN-
TIFF.

p. 2. par. 1.
The record shows that on April 30, 1970, a confer-
ence was held in defendant’s office with decedent's

widow, two daughters and their attorneys in at-
tendance.

THE RECORD WILL SHOW THAT SAID MEETING
WAS ATTENDED ONLY BY PLAINTIFF, HER SIS-

App. 31

TER AND PLAINTIFF’S MOTHER’S ATTORNEY.
PLAINTIFF AND HER SISTER HAD NO LEGAL
COUNSEL.

p. 2. par. 1.
At this conference defendant stated it would not accept
the appointment as executor trustee because of the
failure of the decedent’s family to cooperate with
one another.
DEFENDANT DID NOT STATE IT WOULD NOT AC-
CEPT THE APPOINTMENT. IT STATED ONLY
THAT IT BELIEVED IT WOULD NOT BE IN ITS
BEST INTEREST TO DO SO...AND THAT IT
WOULD ADVISE THE DAUGHTERS AT A FUTURE
DATE OF THE DECISION. IT DID NOT SO ADVISE.
FURTHER THERE WAS NO LACK OF COOPERA-
TION BETWEEN MEMBERS OF THE DECEDENT’S
FAMILY, EXCEPT THAT WHICH THE BANK, AND
THE LAWYERS FOR EMMA AND MAE DEVISED.

p. 2. par. 2.

Marjorie and Mae opened probate proceedings.
ONLY MAE OPENED SUCH PROCEEDINGS, MAR-
JORIE HAD NO COUNSEL.

p. 2. par. 3.
On July 17, 1970, Betty and Marjorie filed a cross-
petition for letters of administration.
MAE’S ATTORNEY FILED SAID PETITION ON
MAE’S BEHALF.

p. 2. par. 4.
On May 6, 1970 defendant filed a renunciation in the
Circuit Court of Starke County.
THE RECORD WILL SHOW SUCH PETITION WAS
FILED JUNE 5, 1970, THE SAME DAY THE ESTATE
WAS OPENED IN STARKE COUNTY.

App. 32

p. 2. footnote 1.
The record is unclear as to when Emma filed a peti-
tion in Illinois to be appointed A/W/W/A .. . but indi-
cates it was after Emma moved to Illinois on June
15, 1970.

THE RECORD WILL SHOW EMMA’S PETITION WAS
FILED AUGUST 21, 1970, AND THAT EMMA MOVED
TO ILLINOIS ON MAY 1, 1970. HER APPOINTMENTS
IN ILLINOIS AND INDIANA WERE BOTH IMPROP-
ER SINCE A VALID WILL AND TRUST EXISTED.
FURTHER SHE WAS NOT AN INDIANA RESIDENT
AS THE LAW REQUIRES.

p. 3. par. 3.
Emma stated that she and defendant had diligentiy
collected and preserved the assets.

DEFENDANT DID INDEED COLLECT THE ASSETS
AS EXECUTOR. HOWEVER, THE RECORD CLEAR-
LY STATES THAT SUCH ASSETS WERE NOT PRE-
SERVED. THIS IS A QUESTION OF FACT WHICH
MUST BE DETERMINED IN COURT. (SEE AP?EN-
DIX, EXHIBITS)

p. 4. par. 2.
Assets of decedent’s estate were sold and proceeds
distributed in accordance with the renunciation of the
will. One third each to Emma as widow, and to each
of decedent’s two daughters.

THIS IS ENTIRELY FALSE. THE EFFECT OF RE-
NUNCIATION WAS THAT THE WIDOW HAD PRE-
DECEASED THE TESTATOR. IN THAT EVENT THE
WILL PROVIDES THAT THE PROCEEDS WERE TO
PASS ONLY TO DECEDENT’S DAUGHTERS. THE
ASSETS WERE NOT DISTRIBUTED IN ACCORD-
ANCE WITH THE RENUNCIATION ... EMMA
WRONGFULLY RECEIVED MORE THAN ONE.
THIRD.

App. 33

p. 4. par. 2.
The record fails to indicate when the estate of Ernest
J. Sander was actually closed.

ALTHOUGH PLAINTIFF HAS TWO CONFLICTING
DOCUMENTS CONCERNING THE CLOSING, ON
JULY 28, 1979, SHE OBTAINED A CERTIFIED COPY
OF AN ORDER REFLECTING THAT SUCH ESTATE
WAS CLOSED NOVEMBER 29, 1976. PLAINTIFF
RECEIVED NO NOTICE OF SUCH HEARING. IN
RAMSAY v. RAMSAY, 10 Ill. 2d 459, THE COURT
RULED:

Role as trustee could not be assumed until the estate

was closed, when the jurisdiction of the probate court

over the matter would cease.

THEREFORE PLAINTIFF’S COMPLAINT COULD
NOT BE BARRED BY STATUTE, SINCE IT WAS
FILED NOVEMBER 12, 1976, AND DEFENDANT’S
ROLE AS TRUSTEE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED
UNTIL NOVEMBER 29, 1976.

p. 4. par. 2.
No appearance was made vy decedent’s grandsons,
nor an appearance made by an attorney in their behalf.
Therefore, they are not parties to this action.
DECEDENT’S GRANDSONS WERE NAMED AS CO-
PLAINTIFFS IN THIS COMPLAINT AND WERE
PARTIES THERETO. PLAINTIFF’S ATTORNEY
FAILED TO FILE HIS APPEARANCE FOR THEM.

p. 4. par. 5.
Plaintiff did not file counter affidavits.

PLAINTIFF RESPECTFULLY SUBMITS THAT
PLAINTIFF’S ATTORNEY DID NOT FILE COUNTER
AFFIDAVITS DESPITE THE FACT THAT PLAIN-
TIFF MARKED EACH FALSIFICATION IN DEFEN-

App. 34

DANT’S AFFIDAVITS, VERIFIED SAME WITH
LEGAL DOCUMENTS AND GAVE THEM TO HER
ATTORNEY WHO ASSURED HER COUNTER AFFI-
DAVITS WOULD BE FILED. PLAINTIFF BROUGHT
THIS BEFORE THE COURT IN HER ORAL ARGU-
MENT.

p. 6. par. 3.
Plaintiff asks court to apply more lenient procedural
standards to pro se litigants than is allowed to attor-
neys ... Illinois Supreme Court in Biggs v. Spader
established pro se litigants must comply with same
rules of procedure required of attorney.

THE COURT ERRS. AT NO TIME DID PLAINTIFF
ASK FOR MORE LENIENT PROCEDURAL STAN-
DARDS. BIGGS v. SPADER IS NOT AN ANALOGOUS
CASE. IN BIGGS v. SPADER, THE LITIGANT’S AP-
PEAL WAS DISMISSED BECAUSE HE FAILED TO
INCLUDE A COPY OF THE ORDER OR AN AB-
STRACT IN THE RECORD ON APPEAL. PLAIN-
TIFF IN THIS INSTANT DID NOT FAIL TO FILE
PROPER DOCUMENTS OR FOLLOW PROPER PRO-
CEDURE. PLAINTIFF PROPERLY RELIES ON
U.S. SUPREME COURT (1972) HAINES v. KERNER,
404 U.S. 519, 30 L.Ed. 2d 652, 92 S. C. 594, 596 WHICH
PERTAINS TO THE SUFFICIENCY OF A COM-
PLAINT AS DOES THE QUESTION RAISED IN THE
INSTANT CASE.

HAINES ESTABLISHED:

The complaint of a pro se plaintiff cannot be held to
the same stringent standards as formal pleadings
drawn by an attorney. Since it did not appear beyond
doubt that plaintiff could prove no set of facts in
support of his claim, he was entitled to the oppor-
tunity to offer proof.

App. 35

HAINES IS AN ANALOGOUS CASE, AND SUPER-
CEDES BIGGS BOTH IN THAT IT IS A 1972 RULING
AND THAT IT IS AN OPINION OF THE UNITED
STATES SUPREME COURT.

p. 7. par. 1.
At no time did counsel for plaintiff file counter affi-
davits.

THE COURT REPEATS THIS POINT AS IF TO ES-
TABLISH THE VALIDITY OF SUCH AFFIDAVITS.
HOWEVER, SUCH AFFIDAVITS ATTACHED TO
THE MOTION TO DISMISS ARE A NULLITY. THEY
CANNOT BE CONSIDERED WITH THE SECTION 45
OBJECTIONS BECAUSE SUCH AFFIDAVITS AND
EXHIBITS DO NOT SUPPORT ALLEGATIONS OF
DEFECTS IN THE COMPLAINT. MUTUAL TOBAC-
CO CO. INC. v. HALPIN (1953), 414 Ill. N.B. 2d 155;
ELLIOTT v. ILLINOIS CENTRAL R.R. (1948), 318 Ill.
App. 112, 119, 47 N.E. 2d 375; LOUIS v. BARENFANGER
(1967), 81 Ill. App. 2d 68, 235 N.B. 2d 851. NOR CAN
THEY BE USED TO SUPPORT THE PART OF THE
MOTION FILED UNDER SECTION 48, SINCE THEY
MERELY CONTROVERT THE ALLEGATIONS OF
THE PLAINTIFF’S COMPLAINT. SINCE A MOTION
TO DISMISS CONCEDES AS TRUE ALL FACTS
WELL PLEADED, THE AFFIDAVITS HAVE NO
MEANING AND THE ALLEGATIONS IN THE MO-
TION TO DISMISS SHOULD HAVE FAILED. 0’FAL-
LEN DEVELOPMENT C. v. RING (1976), 37 Ill. 2d 84,
994 N.E. 2d 782; LOGAN v. PRES. ST. LUKES HOSP.
(1968), 92 Ill. App. 2d 68, 235 N.E. 2d 851.

p. 8. par. 1.
Acts or misrepresentations affirmatively showing
fraudulent concealment must be alleged.

App. 36

THE APPELLATE COURT ERRS. IT HAS BEEN
HELD IN WOOD v. WILLIAM, 142 Ill. 269:
Defendant. can fraudulently conceal without some af-
firmative act, but the onus is on plaintiff to prove it.

IN SABETH v. HANDLER CO. (1968), 102 Ill. App. 2d
218, 234 N.E. 2d 728 THE COURT RULED:
The representations made by defendant constitute in
our opinion at the very least a statement that would
amount to fraudulent concealment.

THUS STATEMENTS TOO, NOT JUST ACTS, ARE

CONSTRUED AS CONCEALMENT. SABETH CAR-

RIED THE PREMISE EVEN FARTHER STATING:
Fraud which tolls the statute can be mere silence.

GIBBON v. BRANDT, 170 F. 2d 385, 69 S. Ct. 511 Ill; IN

GRUNDY COUNTY NATIONAL BANK v. WESTFALL,

301 N.E. 2d 28, 13 Ill. App. 3d 839,
Statute of frauds which has as its purpose the preven-
tion of fraud will not be permitted to be used where
the effect would be to accomplish a fraud and if facts
are such that it would be a virtual fraud to permit
defendant to interpose the statute, the court will not
listen to that defense.

FURTHER DEFENDANT AND PLAINTIFF WERE
IN A RELATIONSHIP OF TRUST.
The failure to discover is excused when parties are
in a relationship of trust, and duty is imposed on trus-
tee to disclose the truth; Anderson v. Laybeck, 154

N.E. 2d 259.
p. 8. par. 2.
We can find nothing in the record which would suggest

that the defendant made representations or performed
acts which fraudulently concealed a cause of action.

App. 37

DESPITE THE FACT THAT ACTS OR REPRESEN-
TATIONS OF CONCEALMENT ARE UNNECESSARY
AS HEREABOVE SET FORTH PARTICULARLY
SINCE THE COMPLAINT IS UNDER 10 YEAR STAT-
UTE, EXAMINATION OF PLAINTIFF’S COMPLAINT
WILL INDEED FIND THINGS IN THE RECORD SUG-
GESTING FRAUDULENT CONCEALMENT TO WIT:

Paragraph 13: On a number of occasions plaintiff
conferred with defendant, on each occasion she was
reassured that the assets of the decedent were securely
in keeping of defendant.

paragraph 15: Defendant allowed Phillip Makin to
control decedent’s business and take possession of de-

cedent’s personal property ... in spite of the fact
that Makin had already shown his bad faith.

paragraph 16: Unbeknown to plaintiff on March 13,
1970, attorney for Harris . . . effected a transfer of
decedent’s will to Indiana. Plaintiffs have since
learned ... decedent took great pains to preserve his
legal residency in Illinois.
paragraph 17: With full knowledge of defendant, an
estate was opened in Indiana. Said proceeding was
improper since the will and trust were still in effect
... and neither administrator was a resident of Indi-
ana, as required by law... Plaintiff was unwittingly
made a party to the wrongful acts well known to the
defendant.
paragraph 18: That on the 13th day of July ... six
months lacking 3 days after decedent’s death, . . . dur-
ing all of which time defendant had been acting . . .
defendant filed a document stating: Motion of Attor-
ney for Harris Bank presenting renunciations and de-
clinatiens of Harris . . . together with Continental
Tilinois.

Plaintiff received no written notice of the intention
of defendant ... nor was plaintiff notified of date nor

App. 38

was plaintiff present in court when petition was heard.
To the best of plaintiff’s knowledge, no accounting
was presented to the court by defendant.

paragraph 19: Subsequent to withdrawal of defen-
dant, plaintiff learned that it allowed decedent’s busi-
ness to be wrongfully usurped and controlled. Then
without plaintiffs knowledge, defendant . . . who had
by the trust instrument sole direction over said corpo-
ration allowed the voluntary cessation of operations of
said corporation to be effected.

The heirs were not only powerless, they were unin-
formed. Clearly the record shows concealment.

p. 9. par. 2.
We find it unnecessary to determine the issues... of
whether or not a trust relationship existed because . . .
any such which may have existed terminated when
plaintiff became aware of defendant’s renunciation of
its appointment as executor trustee.

PLAINTIFF RESPECTFULLY POINTS OUT THAT
ONCE MORE THE APPELLATE COURT MISREPRE-
SENTS A MATERIAL FACT. DEFENDANT DID NOT,
AT ANY TIME RENOUNCE AS TRUSTEE. ITS CLE-
VERLY WORDED RENUNCIATION WAS DESIGNED
TO DECEIVE PLAINTIFF INTO BELIEVING THAT
THEY HAD DECLINED TO ACT AS TRUSTEE ...
AND IT WORKED SO WELL, IT WAS NOT UNTIL
NOVEMBER 24, 1976, that plaintiff learned they had not.
(see appendix)

p. 9. par. 2.
We conclude . . . since plaintiff’s complaint was filed
November 12, 1976 over 5 years after all pertinent
events in this action had transpired the suit is barred
ILL. Rev. Stat. 1975 Ch83 Sec. 16.

App. 39

THUS THE COURT ERRED ONCE MORE. PLAIN-
TIFF’S COMPLAINT STATES
paragraph 2: During his lifetime, decedent .. . did
execute a 4 page written document known as a last will
and testament ... wherein he did give devise and be-
queath all his residuary estate to Chicago National
Bank as trustee in trust for the purposes set forth in
aforesaid will and testament and as executor of same.
paragraph 4: That the assets of Chicago National
Bank were acquired by Harris.
paragraph 5: That Harris became executor trustee
under the terms of the express testamentary trust as
set forth in OC. J. S. vol 9 Sec. 468 p. 928: Bank which
acquires assets of another .. . assumes all its known
liabilities.
paragraph 14: That through all of the above acts de-
fendant did accept ... appointment as trustee.
Acceptance of trusteeship ordinarily may be made
with no formality.
Acceptance be affected by acts complying consent.
Hoffman v. Gould 64 N. BE. 2d 773 327 Ill. App. 428:
Exercising power over property is an acceptance

of trust.
paragraph 20: That Harris did breach the testamen-
tary trust of decedent . . . which breach resulted in

waste, loss, and untold damages. side
As a result of defendant’s breach of trust, plaintiffs

have been damaged...

WHEN PLAINTIFF’S COMPLAINT SO PLAINLY
SETS FORTH THE DEFENDANT’S BREACH OF A
WRITTEN DOCUMENT WHICH CARRIES A TEN
YEAR STATUTE, CLEARLY THE APPELLATE
COURT ERRED IN BARRING SUCH COMPLAINT BY
ILL. REV. STAT. 1975 Ch 83 see. 16.

App. 40

THE COGENT STATUTE IS ILL. REV. STAT. 1975 Ch
83 Sec. 17. WHILE THE SECTION OF PLAINTIFF’S
COMPLAINT THAT RELATED TO THE BREACH OF
FIDUCIARY DUTY IS GOVERNED BY ILL. REV.
STAT. 1975 Ch 83, Sec. 23.

p. 9. par. 3.
Plaintiff has not offered any reason why matters raised
herein could not have been brought to the attention of
the probate court.

FOR REASONS UNKNOWN TO PLAINTIFF, THE AP-
PELLATE COURT HAS CHOSEN TO DISREGARD
PLAINTIFF’S COMPLAINT AS WELL AS PLAIN-
TIFF’S ORAL ARGUMENT. PLAINTIFF RESPECT-
FULLY STATES THAT CONCEALED MATTERS
COULD NOT BE RAISED AS PLAINTIFF SET FORTH
IN HER COMPLAINT, AND WHEN DISCOVERED,
COULD NOT BE RAISED IN COURT WHEN PLAIN-
TIFF’S ATTORNEYS FAILED AND REFUSED TO
DO SO.

App. 41
APPENDIX G

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF COOK COUNTY,
ILLINOIS
COUNTY DEPARTMENT PROBATE DIVISION

ESTATE OF ERNEST J. SANDER, Deceased

No. 70 P 5652 "
Docket 746
Page 551

ORDER
(Filed JUL 13 1970)

This matter coming on to be heard upon the motion of
Ralph C. Blaha, attorney for Harris Trust and Savings
Bank, presenting the Renunciations and Declinations of
Harris Trust and Savings Bank, together with Continental
Illinois National Bank and Trust Company, Successor
Executor under the Will of Ernest J. Sander, deceased ;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that leave be and the same
is hereby granted to Harris Trust and Savings Bank
(which merged with Chicago National Bank), and ontinen-
tal Illinois National Bank and Trust Company, to file their
Renunciations and Declinations as Executor and Succes-
sor Executor instanter.

Matthew J. Danaher
Clerk of the Circuit Court
Enter :

/s/ Ilegible
Judge
Name Ralph C. Blaha
Attorney for Harris Trust and Savings Bank
Address 100 W. Monroe St.
Chicago, Illinois 60603
Telephone An. 3 5730

App. 42
APPENDIX H-1

JUSTICE McGLOON: 1 might say in passing that your
attorney prepared a very good brief.

MS. HARVEY: Yes, Your Honor, he had prepared a
very good brief.

That’s what I’m saying. All of my attorneys had pre-
pared very good briefs. They just, somehow or other, failed
to bring the real facts before the court.

You find nowhere in there that Mr. Brewer says that the
lady is alleging violation of a written agreement which
carries a ten year statute, which my complaint alleges.

And so, my point is that the lower court had no right to
dismiss it because there was a ten year statute on it.

Further, Mr. Blattberg says these things. In his affidavit
he says, all these matters have been decided by a prior
complaint before the court when, in fact, a motion to dis-
miss decides nothing.

It was never tried.

I’d like to get the matter before a jury, which is what I
have been petitioning for all along, because I do not hold
the judges responsible at all.

The fact is, the—the facts are never brought before the
judges.

And so, that is my contention, that the complaint carried
a ten year statute, and it was dismissed on the grounds that
it was the same as the previous complaint which carried a
five, and that I did allege fraudulent concealment of the
other acts which does toll the statute.

So, in all, I do not feel the complaint should have been
dismissed.

Thank you, Your Honor.

THE COURT: We’ll hear from the other side now, if
you please.

MR. BLATTBERG: May it please the court, I repre-
sent the appellee, Harris Trust and Savings.

App. 43

This kind of argument is a very difficult one for me to
try to respond to as to—because there’s an attempt here
to try to testify at the same time as making an argument.

I’d like to say that we supported our motions to strike
and dismiss with affidavits and those affidavits were not
responded to. There were no counter-

It’s very clear that they were very careful to try and
preserve this knowledge, and—and they did a very good
job of it.

I found out none of it. I had suspicions. Until I began
writing, I knew none of it.

The point is that, before the court this morning, the mat-
ter is that there was a will and a trust. It was a written

instrument.

The Harris Bank did not act properly in regard to it.
That is a violation of a contract, and that carries a ten year

statute.
Thank you, Your Honor.
THE COURT: Case is taken for a decision.
Will you call the next case, please.

* * * & &

App. 44
APPENDIX H-2

record, a great many of the assets had been done away
with, unquote, including my father’s corporation, prior to
Harris’ declining to act as executor,

And may I respectfully point out, they never did decline
to act as trustee, so there was no possible way we could
be protected.

These things are not brought out by my attorney, and I
must bring them before the court, because I have no other
forum in which to bring these things forth.

I had never seen Mr. Blattberg’s document here or I
would have been trying—I probably would have had coun-
sel replaced before this, but I never saw it.

JUSTICE CAMPBELL: Mrs. Harvey, let’s see if I
understand you.

First, you’re saying there was an attorney for your
mother in the Probate Court?

MS. HARVEY: Yes, Your Honor.

JUSTICE CAMPBELL: And, secondly, there’s a sec-
ond attorney prior to Mr. Brewer?

MS. HARVEY: Yes, Your Honor.

JUSTICE CAMPBELL: And Mr. Brewer was the (in-
audible) in renouncing (inaudible to reporter) ?

MS. HARVEY: No, Your Honor, according to the Pro-
bate Act, I now know they are either to renounce or decline
within thirty days.

The truth of the matter was, when their renunciation—
and again I point to the court—executor only. They never
did renounce as trustee which allowed the decedent’s trust
to die. 7

Not only that, but they went in simultaneously with Con-
tinental Illinois who was the successor executor trustee.

The successor and the trustee renounced simultaneously
without notifying the heirs and without going in to have
a successor appointed.

App. 45

And this was done after they obviously had found out
what had happened to the corporation, because I had their
receipts to the fact that they had gone over all of the docu-
ments, and have a receipt from the man who was managing
it, so they knew full well what happened.

The corporation, unbeknown to me, all the assets had
been dissipated and had ceased to function, by the records
they filed with the tax authorities of Chicago in—before
June of 1970.

that the executor, if he declines, is by law required to ac-
count to the trustee.

And that probably explains why Harris didn’t renounce
their appointment as trustee, because then there was no one
except Harris to account to Harris.

Now, if this isn’t concealment, I don’t really quite know
what to term it, Your Honors.

We had no knowledge whatsoever.

I didn’t even know, because of the way they filed the peti-
tion and headed it, that the executor trustee, Harris, were
renouncing and declining their appointment as executor.

Even the first three or four times I read that document,
until, as a matter of fact, Mr. Brewer, my attorney, pointed
it out to me in December of 1976.

I wasn’t aware that they had declined to act as trus-

tee,

So, I say, by all these things, there has been fraudulent
concealment.

Furthermore, I attempted many times to get the records
on the corporation known as John Sander, Incorporated

from Harris Bank.

App. 46
APPENDIX I

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF
COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS
COUNTY DEPARTMENT—LAW DIVISION

BETTY SANDER HARVEY (a/k/a DAVIS), DOUGLAS
ALAN DAVIS, and WILLIAM PORTER DAVIS,

Plaintiffs,
v.
HARRIS TR

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1568%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
