# Petition — Pearson v. Texas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1548%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 446 U.S. 912

## Text

Supreme Court, U & \
FILED

JAN 14 1980

MICWAEL RODAK, JR., CLERR

WRMAU* 2 =e Newt EDS S.A... ee act

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
January Term, 1980

no. €9=10986

JUDITH LEIGH PEARSON, Petitioner,
Vv.
STATE OF TEXAS, Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE TEXAS COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

Stephen E. van Gaasbeck
LYTLE & VAN GAASBECK
1227 S. W. Military Dr.
San Antonio, Texas 78221

January 9, 1980

INDEX
Page
Opinion Belowecccccccccccccccsceee L
JULLISGICCIONs cccccccccccccscccscce L
Qustions Presented. ccrccccccecees
Statement of the CaSC.ccccccccces
Reasons for granting the writ....
I. The decision of the Texas
Court of Criminal Appeals
conlicts with the deci-
sions of this Court. .... 6
II. The opinion of the Tex.
Ct. Cr. App. totally ig-
nored the petitioner's
assertion of her fourth
amendment protection a-
gainst unreasonable ar-
rest, search and seizure. 12
ConCclusionececccccccccceccccssecsce 13
APPENdixeccceccccccccccccccccAPPe 1

ov WwW Nh

.

CITATIONS
Mincey v. Arizona
437 U.S. 385,98 S.Ct. 2408 (1979)
ere ee re ee ee
U.S. v. Peltier
422°U.S. 531,..95.$.Ct 2313 (1971)
hed ken wen Ops ated bau
Brown v. State
475 S.W.2d 938 (1971)
ee ccecevececscccel Oe9
Chimel v. California
393) UsG, 452; 985 S.Ct. -203¢
(1969)
ee rere eee
Coolidge v. New Hampshire
405 0.8; ..443;91. 8.6. 2022
(1971) :
vh aee hak ae
Katz v. U.S:
sae: U.82. 347, 66:8.Ct. 507

ane ee ee re Pee

Davis v. Mississippi

394 U.S. 721 (1969) cccccccccceeell
NASTU v. State

cause no. 58,059 (10/79)

not published as of this date...10
Kemner v. State

cause no. 55,786 (11/79)

not published as of this date...10
Brown v. Illinois

See UsGs SEO CA9TS)icc cwoceece sO li

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
January Term, 1980

No.

JUDITH LEIGH PEARSON, Petitioner,
Ve
STATE OF TEXAS, Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE TEXAS COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

The petitioner Judith L. Pearson
respectfully prays that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue to review the judgment
and opinion of the Texas Court of Crim-
inal Appeals entered on October 17,
1979.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Texas Court of
Criminal Appeals and the opinion dis-
senting to the denial of the petition-
er's Motion for Rehearing can be found
at 587 S.W.2d 393 and in the appendix.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Texas Court of

Criminal Appeals was entered on October

1

—ss "

17, 1979 when on that date the peti-
tioner's tiemly filed Motion for Re-
hearing was denied. This court's jur-
isdiction is envoked under 28 U.S.C.
Sec. 1257. (3).
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the warrantless
"murder scene" search of the petition-
er's apartment was unconstitutional
even though it occurred prior to this
court's decision in Mincey v. Arizona,
437 U.S. 385, 98 -S. Ct. 2408.

2. Whether handwriting samples

taken pursuant to an unconstitutional
arrest made for the purpose of gather-
ing evidence should be excluded from
use in trial.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On April 9, 1976 at 6:30 p.m.
Houston Police officers and investi-
gators were called to the petitoner's
apartment by the management of the
apartment complex where pétitioner re-
sided with her three year old daughter
Tamara. The call reported a dead body
in the petitioner's residence and when
they arrived at the scene the security
guard let them into the apartment
where they observdi several persons
comforting the petitioner who was cry-
ing. ‘They were taken to Tamara's bed-
room by the security guard where they
found her dead, lying in bed. A note
was pinned to her blouse stating "I'm
sorry I had to kill such a beutal (sic)
little girl in or to (sic) teach you
a lesson. Next time it will be you".
She was strangled to death.

The officers conducted an immedi-
ate search of the entire apartment

(kitchen, two bedrooms, and living room)
for evidence (not to determine the pre-
sence of additional victims). They

had no search warrant, nor did they
obtain the petitioner's consent. In
the living room they found a folder
with several notebooks inside. They
took out the notebooks, opened them and
read their contents. One notebook con-
tained a story in the petitioner's
handwriting. The story described an
incident which involved a threat to the
petitioner's daughter that occurred

two years prior to her actual death.
The story was written while the peti-
tioner lived in Georgia. The facts of
the story (which was intended for pub-
lication) were strikingly similar to
the actual killing of Tamara.

The petitoner was arrested at 9:00
pem. that night and taken to the Houston
Police Department. The purpose of this
arrest was to obtain her statement (R
239,282). After obtaining her statement
the police continued to hold her in the
city jail, ‘questioning her for four days
(R 282) taking finger prints and hand-
writing samples and searching her a-

“

partment (without a warrant). On her
fourth day of detention, handwriting
samples were taken from her (after giv-
ing her the Miranda warnings). It was
only then that she was taken before a
Magistrat> (R 320,322). During these
four days she was allowed to see only

a minister (once) and a friend (once)
(R: 323)

The petitoner filed a motion to
Supress the seized notebook citing the
unconstitutional nature of the search
and seizure as ground for exclusion.
This motion was denied by the trial
court.

During trial on January 24, 1977
the same objection was raised and over-
ruled. Her motion for new trial cited
the failure to exclude the story as a
ground for new trial. The motion was
denied. The unconstitutional search
and seizure of the story was timely
raised on appeal to the Texas Court of
Criminal Appeals.

The Court of Criminal Appeals in
it's opinion of June 21, 1978 agreed
that the search was illegal according
to Mincey v. Arizona, 437 U.S. 385,

98 S.Ct. 2408, but constured U.S. v.
Peltier, 422 U.S. 531,..95 8.Ct.. 2313

(1975) to mean that Mincey should not
be applied retroactively and affirmed
the trial court's judgment. Petitioner
filed a timely Motion for Rehearing
which was denied.

During trial the petitoner ob-
jected to the admission of the hand-
writing samples on the grounds that
they were the fruits of an unconsti-
tutional arrest. The trial court ig-
nored the Fourth Amendment grounds,
overruling the objection stating that
the taking of handwriting samples did
not violate Fifth Amendment guarantees.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT
I. THE DECISION OF THE TEXAS COURT OF

CRIMINAL APPEALS CONFLICTS WITH THE

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

(A) Regarding the unconstitutional
search of the petitoner's apartment
this court ruled in Mincey that the
"murder scene exception" to the search
warrant requirement created by the Ari-
zona Supreme Court was not a valid ex-
ception and therefore searches relying
on it were unconstitutional.

In 1971 the Tex. Ct. Cr. App. cre-
ated a murder scene exception identic-
al to Arizona's in Brown v. State, 475
S.W.2d 938 (1971).

In it's opinion in the petitoner's
appeal the Tex. Ct. Cr. App. held that
Mincey did not apply to her case stat-

ing "We hold that because the search
and trial in this case occurred before
the decision in Mincey v. Arizona, su-

pra, when Brown v. State, supra, was

still good law, the disposition of the
appellant's first ground of error is

controlled by Brown instead of Mincey."
The Tex. Ct. Cr. App. cited Peltier as

authority for this reasoning.

. The Tex. Ct. Cr. App.'s opinion
conflicts directly with several of
this court's opinions by stating that
Brown was "good law" at the time of
the petitioner's trial.

(1) It conflicts with the Mincey
opinion in which this court specifical-
ly stated that none of the arguments
in favor of the "murder scene" rule per-
suades us of the validity of the gen-
ric exceptions delineated by the Arizo-
na Supreme Court."

(2) It conflicts with this court's
opinion in Chimel v. California, 395
U.S. 752, 985 S.Ct 2034 (1969) which
held that the scope of a search under

an exception to the search warrant re-
quirement must be stricly limited to
the circumstances which rendered the
search permissable. Since Brown pur-
ported to allow a full evidentry search
of a residence at the discovery of a
dead body, it was in conflict with
Chimel and therfore it was not even
"good law" at the time of its crea-
tion,

(3) In holding that the denial of
retroactive effect of Mincey is just-
ified by Peltier, the Tex. Ct.Cr. App.
is in direct conflict with Peltier it-
self.

This court's opinion in Peltier

specifically limits its application

to cases which "have broadened the ex-
Cclusionary rule." Mincey did not en-
large defendant's constitutional rights
nor did it broaden the exclusionary
rule. It is the petitioner's position,
supported by Mincey, that the search

of her apartment was unconstitutional

even if the Mincey opinion had not been
handed down.

The Tex. Ct. Cr. App. construes
Peltier as creating a "good faith rule"

allowing unconstitutionally seized ev-
idence to be admitted if the searching
officers were relying in good faith u-
pon the state of the law at the time
of the search.

Actually Peltier dealt with evi-
dence ‘seized in a type of search which

had been permitted for years; had con-
Sistently withstood judicial challen-
ges; was sanctioned by legislation and;
provided for by adminsitrative regu-
lations. The search in the petitoner's
case was not sanctioned by legislation
Or adminisrative regulations and the
only court decisions permitting it were
in direct conflict with the opinions

of this court. Therefore, for the
searching officers to have been "rely-
ing in good faith" to Brown they had

to be in bad faith in respect to Chimel,
Supra: Coolidge v. New Hampshire 403
U.S. 443, 91 S.Ct 2022 (1971) and Katz
v. United States 389 U.S. 347, 88 S.Ct.
507.

—_—
.

(4) Texas is continuing to erron-
eously apply Peltier and will do so
until stopped by this court. See Kem-
ner v. State, cause no. 55,786 (11/79)
and NASTU v. State, cause no. 58,059
(10/79) both of which are not published

as of now.

(B) In respect to the admission
of the handwriting samples, the Tex.

Ct. Cr. App.'s opinion is in direct
conflict with this court's holding in
Davis v. Mississippi, 394 U.S. 721
(1969) and Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S.
590 (1975).

In Davis this court held that finger
prints taken as a result of an uncon-
stitutional arrest were to be excluded
from evidence as a fruit of that arrest.

In Brown v. Illinois this court
held that a confession taken as a re-
sult of an unconstitutional arrest is to
be excluded as a fruit of that arrest.

The Brown opinion listed several
tests to determine a casual connection
between the arrest and the taking of
evidence:

(1) The absence of intervening
circumstances = In the petitioner's case

10

the only intervening circumstance was
the giving of the Miranda warning which
alone is insufficient, Brown v. Illi-

nois, supra.

(2) The flagrancy of the illegal
arrest -— In the petitioner's case
the illegality was flagrant. She was
taken to the police station without a
warrant or exigent circumstances, no
attempt was made to obtain a warrant,
she was held for four days before be-
ing brought downstairs and charged be-.
for a magistrate, she was allowed only
two visits during that period of time.

(3) The purpose of the illegal de-
tention - In the petitioner's case the
purpose was to gather evidence. The
prosecutor stated during the hearing
of the petitioner's objection to the
handwriting evidence that "as far as
the arrest goes, the evidence is that
she was taken from the scene to be
questioned and as the circumstances be-
came known she remained in custody"
(R 320).

Further, the police did not take
her to a magistrate until the moment
after they convinced her to give the

11

handwriting samples.
II. THE OPINION OF THE TEX. CT. CR. APP.

TOTALLY IGNORED THE PETITIONER"S

ASSERTION OF HER FOURTH AMENDMENT

PROTECTION AGAINST UNREASONABLE

ARREST, SEARCH AND SEIZURE.

Through out the entire legal pro-
cess of the trial and appeal of her
case the petitioner has asserted that
the evidence was taken in violation of
her Fourth Amendment rights. The trial
court and Tex. Ct. Cr. App. have tot-
ally ignored the petitioner's asser-
tion of this right and instead have
treated her objection as an assertion
of the Fifth Amendment. To allow to
stand is to effectively deny the pet-
itioner the protection of the Fourth
Amendment which she had repeatedly
asked to be enforced. The reported
opinion in the petitioner's case will
serve as additinal precedent for the
continued admission of handwriting sam-
ples and fingerprints taken direclty as
a result of unconstitutional arrests.

12

LS ss see» “em mmm emma tla, aes mmm mann mms i lanl

CONCLUSION
For these reasons, a writ of cer-
tiorari should issue to review the
judgment and opinion of the Fifth Cir-
cuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen E. van Gaasbeck
LYTLE & VAN GAASBECK

1227 S. W. Military Dr.
San Antonio, Texas 78221

January 9, 1980

~ 23

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this day
of January, 1980, three copies of
the Petition for Writ of Certiorari

were mailed, postage prepaid to
Mr. Carol Vance, District Attorney,

Harris County Courthouse, Houston,
Texas 77002

I further certify that all parties re-
quired to be served have been served.

Stephen E. van Gaasbeck
LYTLE & VAN GAASBECK
1227 SW Military Dr.

San Antonio, Texas 78221

APPENDIX

OPINION OF THE TEXAS COURT OF
CRIMINAL APPEALS

JUDITH LEIGH PEARSON, Appellant
No. 58,055 vs. ---Appeal from
HARRIS County
THE STATE OF TEXAS, Appellee
OPINION
This is an appeal from a con-

viction for murder; punishment was
assessed by the court at life.

The sufficiency of the evidence
is not challenged. Although three
grounds of error are asserted in the
brief, the second was abandoned at
Oral argument, leaving two issues for
consideration in this appeal.

In her first ground of error ap-
pellant contends the trial court er-
roneously admitted papers and writ-
ings seized during a search of the
homicide scene. As pointed out in her
supplemental brief, this search and
seizure were in violation of the prin-
ciple announced in Mincey v. Arizona,
U.S. , 98 S.Ct. 2408, 57
L.Ed.2d 290 (197 8). The search was
conducted on April 9, 1976, and the
trial in this case was in January of
1977. Thus both the search and trial
were conducted prior to the decision

in Mincey v. Arizona, supra. At that

time the common law "exigency rule" a-
llowed such homicide scene investiga-
tions. Brown v. State, 475 S.W.2d

938, 948-950. We are therefore con-
fronted with the question of the retro-

active effect of Mincey.

In United States v. Peltier, 422
U.S. 531, 95 S.Ct. 2313, 45 L.Ed.2d
374 (1975), the court discussed the
retroactivity of exclusionary rule ca-

ses from the perspectives of both the
imperative of judicial integrity and
the deterrence rationale:

"Since 1965 this Court has repeat-
edly struggled with the question of
whether rulings in criminal cases
should be given retroactive effect.

In those cases '(w)here the major
purpose of new constitutional doctrine
is to overcome an aspect of the crim-
inal trial that substantially impairs
its truth-finding function and so rai-
ses serious questions about the ac-
curacy of guilty verdicts in past
trials, ‘Williams v. United States,

401 U.S. 646, 653, 91 S.Ct. 1148, 1142,
28 L.Ed.2d 388 (1971), the doctrine

————— meee ow ee

has quite often been applied retroac-
tively. It is indisputable, however,
that in every case in which the Court
has addressed the retroactivity prob-
lem in the context of the exclusionary
rule, whereby concededlyrelevant ev-
idence is excluded in order to enforce
a constitutional guarantee that does
not relate to the integrity of the
factfinding process, the Court has
concluded that any such new constitu-
tional principle would be accorded only
prospective application. Linkletter
v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618, 85 S.Ct. 1731,
14 L.Ed.2d 601 (1965); Johnson v.
New Jersey, 384 U.S. 719, 86 S.Ct.
1772, 16 L.Ed.2d 882 (1966); Stovall
v. Denno, supra; Fuller v. Alaska, 393
U.S. 80, 89 S.Ct. 61, 21 L.Ed.2d 212
(1968); Desist v. United States, 394
U.S. 244, 89 S.Ct. 1030, 22 L.Ed.2d
248 (1969); Jenkins v. Delaware, 395
U.S. 213, 89 S.Ct. 1677, 23 L.Ed.2d
253 (1969); Williams v. United States,
Supra, Hill v. California. 401 U.S.
797, 91 S.Ct. 1106, 28 L.Ed.2d 484
(1971).

"We- think that these cases tell

us a great deal about the nature of

the exclusionary rule, as well as some-
thing about the nature of retroactiv-
ity anaysis. Decisions of this Court
applying the exclusionary rule to un-
constitutionally seized evidence have
referred to 'the imperative of judi-
cial integrity." Elkins v.United
States, 364 U.S. 206, 222, 80 S.Ct.
1437, 1446, 4 L.Ed.2d 1669 (1960),
although the Court has relied princi-
pally upon the deterrent purpose ser-
ved by the exclusionary rule. See Mapp
v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643, 81 S.Ct. 1684,
6 L.Ed.2d 1081 (1961); Lee v. Florida,
392 U.S. 378, 88 S.Ct 2096, 20 L.Ed.2d,
1166 (1968), See also United States

v. Calandra, 414 U.S. 338, 94 S.Ct.
613, 38 L.Ed.2d 561 (1974); Michigan
v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433, 94 S. Ct.
2357, 41 L.Ed.2d 182 (1974). And see
also Oaks, Studying the Exclusionary
Rule in Search and Seizure, 37 U.Chi.
L.Rev. 665, 668=672 (1970).

"When it came time to consider
whether those decisions would be ap-
plied retroactively, however, the
Court recognized that the introduction

of evidence which had been seized by
law enforcement officials in good-faith
compliance with then-prevailing con-
stitutional norms did not make the
courts ‘accomplices in the willful
disobedience of a Constitution they are
sworn to uphold.’ Elkins v. United
States, supra, 364 U.S., at 223, 80
S.Ct. at 1447. Thus, while the ‘'im-
perative of judicial integrity' played
a role in this Court's decision to
overrule Wolf v. Colorado, 338 U.S. 25,
69 S.Ct. 1359, 93 L.Ed. 1782 (1949),
see Mapp v. Ohio, supra, 367 U.S., at
659, 81 S.Ct. at 1693, the Mapp de-
cision was not applied retroactively:
"Rather than being abhorrent at the
time of seizure in this case, the use
in state trials of illegally seized
evidence had been specifically author-
ized by this Court in Wolf.' Linklet-
ter v. Walker, supra, 381 U.S., at 638,
85 S.Ct., at 1742 (footnote ommitted).
Similarly, in Lee v. Florida, supra,
this Court overruled Schwartz v. Texas,
344 U.S. 199, 73 S.Ct. 232, 97 L.Ed.
231 (1952), and held that evidence
seized in violation of Sec. 605 of the

Federal Communications Act of 1934, 48
Stat. 1103, 47 U.S.C. Sec. 605, by
state officers could not be introduced
into evidence at state criminal trials:
"" (T)he decision we reach today |
is not based upon language and doctrin-
al symmetry alone. It is buttressed
as well by the "imperative of judicial
integrity." Elkins v. United States,
364 U.S. 206, 222, (80 S.Ct. 1437, 1446
4 L.Ed.2d 1669). Under our Constitu-
tion no court, state or federal, may

serve as an acoomplice in the willful
transgression of "the Laws of the Uni-
ted State," laws by which "the Judges
we

in every state (are) bound...
392 U.S., at 385-386, 88 S.Ct. at 2101

(footnotes ommitted).

"But when it came time to consider
the retroactivity of Lee, the Court
held that it would not be applied ret-
roactively, saying:

"“"Retroactive application of Lee would
overturn every state conviction obtain-
ed in good-faith reliance of Schwartz.

Since this result is not required by
the principle upon which Lee was

ee

decided, or necessary to accomplish its

purpose, we hold that the exclusionary

rule is to be applied only to trials

in which the evidence is sought to

be introduced after the date of our

decision in Lee.' Fuller v. Alaska,

supra, 393 U.S., at 8l1, 89 S.Ct. at 62.
"The teaching of these retroactiv-

ity cases is that if the law enforce-
ment officers reasonable believed in
good faith that evidence they had sei-
zed was admissible at trial, the ‘im-
perative of judicial integrity’ is not
offended by the introduction into evi-
dence of that material even if de >
cisions subsequent to the search or
seizure have broadened the exclusion-
ary rule to encompass evidence seized
in that manner. It would seem to
follow a fortiori from the Linkletter

and Fuller holdings that the 'impera-
tive of judicial integrity' is also

not offended if law enforcement offi-
Cials reasonably believed in good faith
that their conduct was in accordance

with the law even if decisions subse-
quent to the search or seizure have
held that condudt of the type engaged

in by the law enforcement officials is
not permitted by the Constitution. For,
although the police in Linkletter and

Fuller could not have been expected to
foresee the application of the exclu-
sionary rule to state criminal trials,
they could reasonably have entertained
no similar doubts as to the illegality
of their conduct. See Wolf v. Colorado,
336 U.S. , at 27, 69 8.Ct.. at 1361s
Sec. 605 of the Federal Communications
Act of 1934; cf. Nardone v. United
States, 302 U.S. 379, 58 S.Ct. 275,
82 L.Ed. 314 (1937).

"This approach to the ‘imperative

of judicial integrity' does not differ
markedly from the analysis the Court
has utilized in determinging whether
the deterrence rationale undergirding
the exclusionary rule would be further-
ed by retroactive application of new
constitutional doctrines . See Link-
letter v. Walker, supra, 381 U.S., at
636=637, 85 S.Ct., at 1741-1742; Fuller
v. Alaska, supra, 393 U.S., at 81, 89
S.Ct., at 62; Desist v. United States,
supra, 394 U.S. at 249-251, 89 S.Ct.,
at 1033-1035. In Desist, the Court

explicitly recognized the interrela-
tion between retroactivity rulings and
the exclusionary rule; '(W)e simply
decline to extend the court-made ex-
clusionary rule to cases in which its
deterrent purpose would not be served.'
394 U.S., at 254-n. 24, 89 S.Ct., at
1036.

"This focus in the retroactivity
cases on the purposes served by the
exclusionary rule is also quite in
harmony with the approach taken gen-
erally to the exclsuionary rule. In
United States v. Calandra, 414 U.S.,
at 348, 94 S.Ct. 613, 620, 38 L.Ed.2d
561, we said that the exclusionary

rule ‘is a judicially created remedy
designed to safeguard Fourth Amendment
rights generally through its deterrent
effect, rather than a personal consti-
tutional right of the party aggrieved.'
It follows that ‘the application of the
rule has been restricted to those areas
where its remedial objectives are
thought most efficaciously served.'

Ibid. We likewise observed in Michigan

v. Tucker, 417 U.S., at 447, 94 S.Ct.

2357, 2365, 41 L.Ed.2d 182:

"'The deterrent purpose of the ex-
Clusionary rule necessarily assumes
that the police have engaged in will-
ful, or at the very least negligent,
conduct which has deprived the defen-
dant of some right. By refusing to
admit evidence gained as a result of
such conduct, the courts hope to in-
still in those particular investigat-
ing officers, or in their future count-
erparts, a greater degree of care to-
ward the rights of an accused. Where
the official action was pursued in com-
plete good faith, however, the deter-
rence rationale loses much of its
force.'"

We hold that because the search
and trial in this case occurred before
the decision in Mincey v. Arizona,

Supra, when Brown v. State, supra, was

still good law, the disposition of
appellant's first ground of error is
controlled by Brown instead of Mincey.
The ground of error is overruled.

In the other ground of error pre-
sented by appellant, she contends that
handwriting samples taken from her and
used as evidence in the case were the

product of an illegal arrest. She ar-
gues the arrest was illegal because

she was not taken before a magistrate
until four days after her arrest and
after the handwriting samples were ta-
ken. We note that handwriting samples
do not violate the privilege against
self-incimination, Olson v. State, 484
S.W.2d 756, and that no casual connect-
ion between the failure to take her be-

fore a magistrate and the taking of the
handwriting samples was shown. Hester
v. State, 544 S.W. 2d 129. 134-135.

The ground of error is overruled.

The judgment is affirmed.

ODOM, Judge

(Delivered July 3, 1979)

By: Panel 3, 2nd Quarter, 1979, composed of

Wendell A. Odem, Judge
W.T. Phillips, Judge
W.C. Davis, Judge

JUDITH LEIGH PEARSON, Appellant
No. 58,055 vs. -=--Appeal from
HARRIS County
THE STATE OF TEXAS, Appellee
DISSENTING OPINION ON THE DENIAL
OF APPELLANT'S MOTION FOR REHEAR-
ING EN BANC

I cannot agree that Mincey v.
Arizona, U.S. ,98 $.Ct.
2408, 57 L.Ed.2d (1978), is not ret-
roactive. The Supreme Court in Mincey

—

did nothing more than apply well-esta-
blished Fourth Amendment law. The
opinion in Mincey, 98 S.Ct. at 2412-
2413, states:

- e e The Fourth Amendment pro-
scribes all unreasonable searches and
seizures, and it is a cardinal princi-
ple that "searches conducted outside
the judicial process, without prior
approval by judge or magistrate, are
per se unreasonable under the Fourth
Amendment -- subject only to a few spe-
cifically established and well-deline-
ated exceptions." Katz v. United
States, 389 U.S. 347, 357, 88 S.Ct.
507, 514, 19 L.Ed.2d 576; also South
Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S. 364, 381,

A DON es

96 S.Ct. 3092, 3103, 49 L.Ed.2d 1000
(POWELL, J., concurring); Coolidge v.
New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 481, 91
S.Ct. 2022, 2045, 29 L.Ed.2d 564; Vale
v. Louisiana, 399 U.S. 30, 34, 90

S.Ct. 1969, 1971, 26 L.Ed.2d 409; Terry
vy. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 20, 88. S.Ct. 1868,
1879, 20 L.Ed.2d 889; Trupiano v.
United States, 334, U.S. 669, 705, 68
S.Ct. 1229, 1232, 92 L.Ed. 1663.-The
Arizona Supreme Court did not hold

that the search of the petitoner's
apartmeht fell within any of the except-
ions to the warrant requirement pre-
viously recognized by this Court, but
rather that the search of a homicide
scene should be recognized as an ad-
ditional exception,

Several reasons are advanced by
the State to meet its "burden...
to show the existence of such an ex-
ceptional situation" as to justify
creating a new exception to the war-
rant requirement. See Vale v. Louisi-
ana, supra, 399 U.S., at 34, 90 S.Ct.,
at 1971, Jeffers v. United States, 343
U.S. 48, 51, 72 S.Ct. 93, 95, 96 L.Ed.
59. None of these reasons, however,

persuades us of the validity of the gen-

eric exception delineated by the Ari-
zona Supreme Court.

“2 2 hold that the "murder
scene exception" created by the Ari-
zona Supreme Court is inconsistent with
the Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments
-- that the warrantless search of Min-
cey's apartment was not constitution-
ally permissible simply because a hom-
icide had recently occurred there.”

(footnote omitted)

Mincey did not announce any new
rule of law, or represent a "sharp
break in the web of the law." See
United States v. Hart, 546 F.2d 798
(9th Cir. 1976). What Mincey did was

mend a break in the law caused by a
number of cases which gradually evolved
into the so-called "murder scene ex-
ception" to the warrant requirement.

As pointed out in Mincey, this is not
and never has been a valid exception

to the warrant requirement. It appears
tohave evolved from cases which held
that a warrantless entry into a home
was justified in the event the police

ae A AE NANI a i al 5

ens

had reason to believe that a person was
dying or otherwise in need of immediate
aid. See United States v. Barone, 330
F.2d 543 (1964) ;Wayne v. United States,
318 F.2d 205 (1963). This is a recog-
nized exception to the warrant re-
quirement. See Mincey, 98 S.Ct. at
2413-2414. Once inside, the officers
may seize incriminating evidence that

is in plain view, or inspect the prem-
ises to make sure that all danger has
passed and the situation is under con-
tol, as these are also recognized
exceptions. See Mincey, 98 S.Ct. at
2414. But a general search of the
premises for incriminating evidence,
after the emergency has subsided, is
not and has never been justifiable.
The majority states that at the
time of the search in this case the
"common law ' exigency rule' allowed
such homicide scene investigations, '
citing Brown v. State, 475 S.W.2d 938
(Tex. Crim. App. 1971). To the extent
that Brown and its isolated companions
Tocher v. State. 501 S.W.2d 921 (Tex.
Crim. App. 1973), and Corbett v. State,
493 S.W.2d 940 (Tex. Crim. App. 1973),

authorized searches under the "murder
scene exception," they were not based
on precedent and were clearly contrary
to established Fourth Amendment law.
It is reasonable to assume that a law-
yer familiar with search and seizure
law would have recognized these cases
as a substantial departure from estab-
lished law, and could have advised
interested parties that these cases re-
presented unsound authority.

I see no reason to retroactively
apply such sparse case law that has
been open to serious question since
its inception. I would hold that since
Mincey simply applied existing search
and seizure law and stated nothing
that we did not know already, it should
be applied retroactively. Compare
United States v. Hart, supra; United
States v. Martinez, 526 F.2d 954 (1976).

United States v. Peltier, 422 U.S.
531, 95 S.Ct. 2313, .48:L.EBa.28 374
(1945), does not require a different
result. The 9th Circuit Court of Ap-
peals had held in Peltier that the de-
cision in Almeida-Sanchez v. United
States, 413 U.S. 266, 93 S.Ct. 2535,

7 L.Ed.2d 596 (1973), holding a war-
rantless border search of an auto-
mobile unconstitutional, was to be ap-
lied retroactively because the deci-
sion overruled not prior Supreme Court
decision and reaffirmed established
law. In reversing the Ninth Circuit
in Peltier, the Supreme Court noted
that border searches of the type
struck down by Almeida-Sanchez had
been upheld by the courts for 20 years.
and that the border patrol agents

were acting under the express author-
ity of a statute and long-standing ad-

ministrative regultations. It con-
cluded from this that the officer's
conduct in performing the searches and
seizures was not "blameworthy." The
case law on the "murder scene except-
ion" is sparse, of dubious origin,
without statutory approval, and has
been openly contrary to established
Fourth Amendment law from the begin-
ning. The conduct of the officers in
this case cannot be labeled blameless.
Finally, although the Court in
Peltier engaged in a general discussion
of the retroactivity of exclusionary

rule cases, Peltier didnot establish
per se rule that cases which extend
the scope of the excluiionary rule
should not be applied retroactively.
To accept it as such would be to adopt

just the "mechanical approach" to the
issue of retroactivity that the Court
in Peltier repudiated.

I dissent to the denial of appel-
lant's motion for rehearing.

PHILLIPS, Judge

(Delivered October 17, 1979)
En Banc

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1548%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
