# Petition — California v. Austin

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1497%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 445 U.S. 956

## Text

Gupreme Court, U. &
FILED

JAN 2% 1980

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES

, 1979
0. 2971041

| MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERNE.

State of California,
Pettittoner
VS.
4 Robert Stanley Austin,

Respondent

Petition For Writ of Certiorari
To The Appellate Department
Of The Superior Court
For the County of Los Angeles,
California

John A. Vander Lans
City Prosecutor

Robert. R. Recknagel
Assistant City Prosecutor

Gerry L. Ensley
Deputy City Prosecutor

By Gerry L. Ensley
Attorneys for Petitioner.

People of the State of California
400 W. Broadway

Long Beach, California 90802
Telephone: (213) 437-0711

ae

a
cor
ae
:

i
i
es
2%
+

a
eee
AR $
et
a
& .
3 :
pt
Rae vs
&
>
aes
F i
eet
Be

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. eeesenpezeeeeaeeeaese

State of California,

Lad . Petitioner —

vs.
Robert Stanley Austin,

Respondent

Petition For Writ of Certiorari
To The Appellate Department
Of The Superior Court-

For the County of Los Angeles,

California

John A. Vander Lans
City Prosecutor

Robert. R. Recknagel
Assistant City Prosecutor

Gerry L. Ensley :
Deputy City Prosecutor.
By Gerry L. Ensley
Attorneys for Petitioner.
People of the State of California
400 W. Broadway
90802

Mi Long Beach, California
- Telephone: (213) 437-0711

SUBJECT INDEX

Opinions Below

Jurisdiction

Questions Presented

Constitutional Provisions Involved
Statement

Reasons For Granting The Writ
Conclusion

Appendix

CITATIONS
Cases:

Boykin v.
08.206

Alabama, 395

¢

Faretta v. California,
422 U.S. 806, 835

Gideon v. Wainwright,
372: U.Sc2398

Gunn v. University Committee
399:..U.S...383, 390 -n..6

In re Birch, (1973) 10 Cal.3d
314,319, 321 [110 Cal.Rptr.
212,515 P 2d 12]

Cases:

In re Johnson, (1965) 62 Cal.2d

325, 331-333 [42 Cal.Rptr. 228,

398 P.2d 420]

In re Tah], (1969) 1 Cal.3d
iat Cal.Rptr. 572%, 460 P.2d

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 276,

298

People v. Black (1978) 68 I11.
App.3d [385 N.E.2d 899, 903].

People v. Enciso (1972) 25 Cal.
App.3d 49, 57 [101 Cal.Rptr.
590, 594].

People v. Fabricant (1979) 91
Cal.App.3d 706, 712 [154 Cal.
Rptr. 340, 343].

People v. Salazar (1977) 74 Cal.
App.3d 875, 889 (141 say tad olal
493,, 761}. ;

People v. Torres (1979) 96 Cal.
App.3d 14 [157 Cal.Rptr. 560].

Perez v. Ledesma, 401 U.S. 82,
87 n.3

Public Service Commission v.
ad Lines, 306 U.S. 204,

Cases: : Page

Russell v. State (1978) Ind.App. 23,25
378 N.E.2d 872, 881-882,
Garrard, P.J.

Stanley v. State (1977) 240 Ga. 18
341 [241 S.E.2d 173,177].

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY

28 U.S.C. 1257(3) 3
Vehicle Code § 23102(d)

ul

MISCELLANEOUS

American Bar Association Project 17
on Criminal Justice, Standards
Relating to the Defense PUREED 5
§ 5.2.

Miller, “Faretta v. California: 22

. The Law Helps Those Who Help

Themselves,” 28 Hast L.J. 283,
297-299 (1976)

Sue
LAS Se OSB
ee PCA a, 4° eee

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. eesetcesespeeeeese

State of California,
Petitioner
vs.
Robert Stanley Austin,

Respondent

Petition For Writ of Certiorari
To The Appellate Department
: Of The Superior Court
For The County of Los Angeles,
California

The Long Beach Prosecutor, on behalf
of the State of California, prays that a
writ of certiorari issue to review the
judgment of the Appellate Department of
the Superior Court, Los Angeles County,
California, entered October 22, 1979.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Appellate Department
of the Superior Court, Los Angeles County,
California, is unreported. We append it
herewith as Appendix A.

The federal constitutional issue to be
reviewed was initiated by People v. Torres
(1979) -96 Cal.App.3d 14 [157 Cal.Rptr.
560] in which we were also counsel of
record. Our petitions for rehearing and
hearing in the Supreme Court of California
were therein denied. We chose not to
petition for certiorari in Torres because
of the technical deficiency in the appel-
late record wherein the criminal defendant
was’ denied the relief which the instant
defendant has gained. Our inadvertent
"success" in Torres prevented us from
seeking further review therein. Public
Service Commission v. Brashear Lines,

306 U.S. 204, 206; Gunn v. University
Committee, 399 U.S. 383, 390 n. 53
Perez v. Ledesma, 401 U.S. 82, 87 n. 3.

3

Our instant case has reversed the con-
viction for failure to give the Faretta
“dangers and disadvantages" advisement at
a pretrial plea of guilty; Torres had
affirmed its conviction.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Appellate Depart-
ment of the Superior Court, Los Angeles
County, California was made and entered
October 22, 1979, and a correct copy
thereof is appended herein at Appendix A.
Our request for certification of the in-
stant decision to the California Court of
Appeal was made and denied on November 8,
1979. A correct copy thereof is appended
herewith as Appendix B. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1257(3).

4

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

It has never been the practice of
any California court (nor any other state
or federal court that we are aware of) to
require the giving of the Faretta
“dangers and disadvantages" advisement to
criminal defendants outside of the adver-

sary trial context. In the. pretrial, plea

of guilty context California requires

mandatory advisement of (1) the right to
the presence of counsel and/or appointed
counsel (hereinafter the "Gideon advise-

5

The instant decision has reversed
the conviction of a defendant who while
unrepresented pleaded guilty at arraign-
ment to a misdemeanor charge, admitting
the allegation of a prior conviction
(maximum $1000 fine. and/or 1 year in

‘jail, minimum 48 hours in jail and

$250 fine) of driving a vehicle under
the influence of alcohol. [California
Vehicle Code §23102(d)]. This reversal
was required because of the recent
decision of People v. Torres, supra,

construing the federal Faretta Sixth
Amendment right to appear pro se to
extend to the arraignment/plea of .

ment"), (2) jury trial, (3) confrontation
of witnesses, and (4) against self-incri-
mination. These four advisements collecti-

vely are called hereinafter the Boykin-
Tahl advisements, after California's
application of Boykin v. Alabama, 395
U.S. 238; in In re Tahl (1969) 1 Cal.3d
122 [81 Cal.Rptr. 577, 460 P.2d 499]; In
re Birch (1973) 10 Cal.3d 314, 319, 321
[110 Cal.Rptr. 212, 515 P.2d 12]. Other
advisements are also given, e.g., com-
pulsory process, speedy trial, etc., but
failure to give them is not deemed re-
versible constitutional error.

guilty as well as the adversary trial
context. Therefore, in California all
pro se pleas of guilty must include in
addition to Boykin-Tahi the Faretta
"dangers and disadvantages" advisement,
indeed, must require that to be the
initial waiver so that defendant's pro
se status is thereafter constitutionally
"valid" during the defendant's subse-
quent receipt and waiver of the Boykin-
Tahl advisements. The questions pre-
sented are:

6

1. Whether the Sixth Amendment's
right to proceed pro se in the adversary
trial context ‘also extends to the pre-
trial plea of guilty context.

2. Whether the “dangers and disadvan-
tages” advisement requisite for knowing
assertion of pro se representation at
trial (Faretta v. California, 422 .S.
806, 835) is also required at arraignment
in the plea of guilty context. (Johnson
v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 276, 298; Boykin v.

_ Alabama, supra).

3. Whether federalism is violated by
requiring states to adopt specific feder-
ally defined’ procedures and advisements -
for Sixth Amendment approval of a plea
of guilty.

4. Whether Faretta's "dangers and
disadvantages" advisement can be severed
from the adversary trial context to do
service pretrial as a Sixth Amendment
augmentation to Boykin-Tahl.

5. Whether some combination of advise-
ments other than the joinder of Faretta
with Boykin-fahl is constitutionally
adequate for a plea of guilty in state

7

court, e.g., deletion of both the
Gideon and Faretta advisements.

Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806,
835:

"When an accused manages his
own defense, he relinquishes, as
a purely factual matter, many of
the traditional benefits associ-
ated with the right to counsel.
For this reason, in order to
represent himself, the accused
must ‘knowingly and intelligently’
forego those relinquished benefits.
[citations]. Although a defendant
need not himself have the skill
and experience of a lawyer in order
competently and intelligently to
choose self-representation, he '
should be mage aware of the dangers
and disadvagttages of self-represen-
tation so that the record will
establish that ‘he knows what he
is doing and his choice is made
with eyes open.'" (Emphasis added).

“Although not stated in the
[Sixth] Amendment in so many words,
the right to self-representation
-- to make one's own defense person-
ally -- is thus necessarily implied
by the structure of the Amendment.”

Id. 422 U.S. at 819.

8

“The prosecution and amici
curiae on its behalf paint a
picture of fiscal disaster and
administrative chaos unless this
court adopts an all-encompassing
principle to the effect that a
trial court is never obligated at
arraignment to advise a person
accused on any misdemeanor of the
hazards of self-representation.

. . «. Leaving aside the proposi-
tion that controlling case law
emanating from the United States
and California Supreme Courts
mandates rejection of that
position. .

People v. Torres
(1979) 96 Cal.App.
3d 14 n.1 [157 Cal.
Rptr. 560, 562 n.1],
emphasis added.

"A waiver of counsel where the
charge is a serious one is knowing
and intelligent only if preceded
by an admonition that self-repre-
sentation is perilous. (People v.
Fabricant (1979) 91 Cal.App.3d
706, 712, 154 Cal.Rptr. 340.)"

Id. 157 Cal.Rptr.
at 562-563.

“ . . [T]he burden is on the
People to show that defendant was
'. . . made aware of the dangers
and disadvantages of self-repre-
sentation, so that the record
will establish that “he knows
what he is doing and his choice

9

is made with eyes open."
[citation]" (Faretta v.
California (1975) 422 U.S. 806,
835, 95 $.Ct. 2525, 2541, 45 L.
Ed.2d 562)"

Feorrs v. Fabricant
(1979) 91 Cal.App.3d
706, 712 [154 Cal.
Rptr. 340, 343].

"The Faretta court's acknow-
ledgement of the requirement
that a defendant must be posses-
sed of sufficient information
concerning the perils of self-
representation . . . has not
changed the law governing the
manner in which the process of
intelligent waiver must appear
in the record."

People v. Torres,
supra, 157 Cal.Rptr.
at 565.

"The statement on appeal
expressly states that appel-
lant [Austin] was not advised of
the dangers and disadvantages
of self-representation as
required by Faretta v. California
[citation]. The docket does
not contradict this. In People
v. Torres [citation] the Court
of Appeal addressed a factual
situation closely analogous to
the facts of this case.

10 r

‘ . After discussing waiver of
counsel in municipal courts, the
Torrea opinion goes on to state:
'If, ti.erefore, the record on
appeal of the case at bar compel -
ted the conclusion that Torres
was not advised of the dangers
of self-representation, reversal
of the judgment would be required. '
.. [citation]. We do not reach any
other issues."

People v. Austin, unpublished slip
opinion, p. 2, lines 1-21; emphasis
added.

STATEMENT

Our facts are undisputed. Respondent
was arrested about midnight on February
9, 1979 and charged that date with driving
his automobile under the influence of alco-
hol. A prior similar conviction occuring
November 16, 1978, was also charged.

At his arraignment, February 9, 1979,
Respondent was given en masse an oral
statement of his legal rights by the muni-
cipal court judge. Mass courtroom arraign-
ment of misdemeanor arrestees was approved
in California by In re Johnson (1965) 62

Cal.2d 325, 331-333 [42 Cal.Rptr. 228, 398
P.2d 420].

11

Among the orally recited rights were
the following: right to counsel and
appointed counsel, continuance to hire
counsel, public defender, speedy trial
(statutory time limits), public trial
by court or jury, reasonable bail, con-
frontation and cross-examination of
witnesses, to silence, remain off the
stand, compulsory process for witnesses
(for those pleading guilty the 4 Boykin-
Tahl rights are repeated), immediate
sentencing, sentencing considerations,
probation, dismissal after probation.

Each misdemeanor defendant is then
individually arraigned and asked if he
understood the earlier statement of
rights. Those pleading guilty are
again (a third time) reminded that such
a plea is a waiver of the 4 Boykin-

Tahl rights. Thereafter each individual

plea is taken. Procedures vary somewhat
among judges but generally follow the

foregoing, which was obtained from Judge
Zeiger, the instant arraigning judge,
regarding his practice in February,
1979. Court reporters are not custo-
marily used in the Long Beach Municipal

12

Court; one was not used herein.

Respondent was present in court on
February 9, 1979, and heard the fore-
going statement of rights. He there-
after chose to plead guilty and admit
the veracity of the alleged prior con-
viction. He was never. advised of the
“dangers and disadvantages" of repre-
senting himself at arraignment. He
personally and expressly waived counsel
pursuant to the “Gideon advisement" as
part of his Boykin-Tahl waivers.

Prior to sentencing Respondent moved
to set aside the plea as constitutionally
defective inter alia for fzilure to
advise of the "dangers and disadvantages"
of self-representation. The trial court
denied the motion, and Respondent
appealed. The Appellate Department of
the Superior Court reversed, declaring
itself bound by Torres in requiring
advisement of Faretta’s “dangers and
disadvantages" warning at arraignment,
and declared the instant plea of guilty
constitutionally defective. (Appendix A).

13

Our petition for certification for
higher review by the California Court of
Appeal was denied, thus rendering the
Appellate Department opinion final for.
all California purposes. (Appendix 8B).

Recently we obtained temporary stay of
enforcement of Torres to stop wholesale
invalidation of all pro se plea of guilty
convictions, thousands of which began to
be declared unconstitutional as soon as
Torres became final. The stay exists
pending your determination regarding
this Petition for Certiorari. Respondent
has been out of custody on bail through-
out these proceedings.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision below should be reviewed
because it (following forres) erroneously
interprets both (1) the substance of the
Paretta Sixth Amendment right and (2) the
function of the "dangers and disadvantages"
advisement to require said advisement as
a constitutional prerequisite for a plea
of guilty in a state court.

na

14

Thereby is that advisement severed from

its constitutional purpose, t.e., to
assure voluntary constitutional assertion
of the Faretta pro se right at trial, and
applied in its severed capacity as an
unwitting augmentation to the well-
settled pronouncements of Boykin-Tahl
(constitutional advisements and waivers
pursuant to a plea of guilty in state
court). Not only is that a misreading of
Faretta, but were the reading correct,

it still is non-sequitur that states
could not be free to tailor their own
advisements during the plea of guilty

so as to comply with Faretta wtthout
giving the “dangers and disadvantages"
advisement.

1. Faretta-Caltfornta, supra, was
never intended to apply in the non-
adversary (plea of guilty) context. The
Faretta right guarantees the constitu-
tional assertion of one's individualism
(usually to the detriment of substantial
justice) for a defendant in an adversary
criminal trial. The "dangers and disad-
vantages" advisement, as prerequisite
to knowing assertion of the Faretta |

15

right, protects society's constitutional
interest in fairness and defendant's
constitutional interest in voluntariness.
In the plea of guilty context the
interests of fairness (justice) and
voluntariness are protected by the
Gideon advisement as part of the Boykin-
Taht waivers. :
The Faretta pro se right, while fully
applying to pretrial adversary evidenti-
ary hearings, cannot apply to arraignment
because arraignment is never an adversary
evidentiary hearing. Since the substan-
tive Faretta pro se right does not exist

at arraignment, the “dangers and dis-

advantages" advisement -- necessary for «%
constitutionally "voluntary" assertion
of the substantive Faretta right
(Johnson v. Zerbst, supra) -- likewise
does not exist therein.

2. Faretta cannot exist at the plea

“of guilty because it is impossible for

a defendant to assert his right to
individualiem (". . . to go to jail
under his own banner," Blackmun, Jes
dissenting, Faretta, supra, 422 U.S.
at 849) when he has chosen to plead

16

guilty. Faretta is the Sixth Amendment
right to carry one's own adversary banner
in front of the trier of fact despite the
injustice which may result. How can that
interest in individualism be asserted in
the plea of guilty context, where defen-
dant has chosen to forego the possession
of any “banner” at all? By choosing not
to contest the charge(s), a defendant
cannot have any constitutionally protect-
able interest in asserting his individu-
alism. The Gideon advisement protects
defendant's interest in justice/fairness
and assures that his waiver of counsel is
knowing and voluntary (Boykin-Tahl).
Having protected defendant's interest in
justice/fairness, and no defense interest
in personal autonomy being thereafter
possible, we never reach the issue of
Faretta.

We express no opinion as to whether

Boykin v. Alabama, supra, needs augmenting.

We note only that this case does not pre-
sent that issue. Irrespective of the
desirability veZ non of expanding the
Boykin advisements, they cannot be
expanded (as was done herein) by wholesale

17

adoption of foreign Faretta principles,
which were designed to protect wholly
different constitutional interests.

3. Faretta is not necessary at
arraignment to protect defendant's
volition in choosing to plead guilty or
not guilty, since the plea must be
entered by defendant personally irrespec-
tive of the presence of counsel. The
defendant alone must decide what plea
to enter, whether to waive jury trial,
and whether to testify on his own behalf;
all other decisions are “the exclusive
province of the lawyer." American Bar
Association Project on Criminal Justice,
Standards Relating to,the Defense Func-
tien, § 3.2.

4. If the substantive Faretta right
and its obligatory “dangers” warning
apply to situations outside the adver-
sary evidentiary hearing context, such
as arraignment, there is no reasonable
limitation by which Faretta can be
restrained from expanding to “occupy
the field" now held by Gideon. The
Miranda warning, e.g., will now have
to include a Faretta warning in addition

18

to the Gideon advisement. cf. Stanley v.
State (1977) 240 Ga.. 341 [241 S.E.2d.
473.6: 177].

5. Even if arguendo the substantive
pro se right attaches at arraignment,
it does not follow that pre-advisement
thereof need be made. The “dangers and
disadvantages" advisement is triggered
only by affirmative assertion of the
pro se right at an adversary evidenti-
ary hearing, t.e., when defendant appears
pro se at such a hearing and announces
“ready to proceed." Defendant has there-
by chosen to assert his pro se right
(without advisement of the existence of
the pro se constitutional right), and
this triggers the Faretta "dangers"
warning to make the pro se assertion
sonstitutionally "voluntary" (Johnson
v. Zerbst, supra). But Faretta does
not require blanket advisement of the

“dangers” warning at arraignment because

defendant is not “asserting” anything.
The Torres opinion mistakenly assumes
that the pro se defendant at arraign-
ment is necessarily “asserting” his
waiver of counsel. The Gideon advisement

19

assures that defendant's appearance pro
se is constitutionally valid, z.e., his
waiver of counsel is knowing and volun-
tary.

Waiving counsel is not the same as
asserting the pro se Faretta right, which
thereafter requires the "dangers" warning.
A defendant can appear pro se totally ir-
respective of whether he waives counsel.
"Standby counsel" protects defendant's
Gideon interest (counsel/fairness) while
defendant simultaneously asserts his
Faretta pro se right at an adversary evi-
dentiary hearing. (Theoretically no
"dangers" warning need be given in "stand-
by" or “advisory” or “hybrid” counsel
cases because defendant's interest in
fairness is not being sacrificed. )
Waiving counsel without asserting defen-
dant's self-interest in individualism,
Z.e., pleading guilty at arraignment,
does not trigger the “dangers” warning
because no individualism is being
asserted, nor can be.

6. Torres erroneously construed the
Faretta “dangers” warning to be the
equivalent of informing a defendant of

20

his pro se right (which it clearly does
not), which existence-informing function
(advisement) is constitutionally required
for knowing voluntary waiver of the

right (Johnson v. Zerbst, supra; Boykin
v. Alabama, supra). Perceiving that the
Gideon advisement and the Faretta
"dangers" warning protect the identical
interest in defendant's justice/fairness,
indeed, they are obverse sides of the
same coin -- one stating affirmatively
the existence of the right to counsel,
the other warning negatively against
waiver thereof -- and seeing that the

Gideon advisement is necessary for knowing

waiver of counsel, Torres mistakenly ex-
tended the Faretta "dangers" warning,
analogous to Gideon, for knowing "waiver"
of the Faretta pro se right. Since the

Gideon advisement is clearly required by

Boykin-Tahl in the plea of guilty con-
text, so also, reasoned Torres, is the
"dangers" warning. But this puts the
cart before the (nonexistent) horse.
The horse is nonexistent because the
substantive Faretta pro se right does
not exist at arraignment. One need not

21

be advised of a right which has no exis-
tence at the time of the advisement. cf.
Reasons 1-4 herein. The cart is before

it because the Faretta “dangers” warning
does not advise of the existence of the
pro se right. To the contrary, it advises
against assertion of that pro se right.

An obverse Faretta advisement, advising of
the existence of the pro se right -- not
the “dangers and disadvantages" warning

-- has been consistently rejected in
California. ef. People v: Enciso (1972)
25 Cal.App.3d 49, 57 [101 Cal.Rptr. 590,
594], decided by the same court which
decided Torres, and People v. Salazar
(1977) 74 Cal.App.3d 875, 889 [141 Cal.
Rptr. 753, 761].

The confusion engendered by Faretta's
Boykin-like "record" requirement of advise-
ment of the "dangers" warning, without
requiring Zerbet-like advisement of the
existence of the right to self-represen-
tation (thus vitiating any knowing waiver
of the substantive pro se right) clearly
calls for explanation by this Court. It
is easy to misconstrue the Faretta
"dangers" warning as the equivalent of

22

Zerbst'’s existence-informing advisement
necessary for waiver thereof, which lat-
ter advisement must be contained in the
record and specifically articulated pur-
Suant to Boykin-Tahl for a valid plea of
guilty.

The most difficult issue presented
herein is not Faretta's "dangers" advise-
ment at arraignment, which is clearly
erroneous -- the Gideon advisement al-
ready performs that function -- but the
obverse advisement: the advisement of
the constitutional right to forego coun-
sel. Does Johnson v. Zerbst, supra,
require advisement of the existence of
the pro se right (not the "dangers"
advisement) for there to be valid waiver
of the pro se right by defendants who
exercise their Gideon right to counsel?
The answer is probably “yes", but it
depends upon whether counsel representa-
tion, as opposed to self-representation,
is the “natural state" of the accused
since Faretta. Cf. Miller, "Faretta v.
California: The Law Helps Those Who
Help Themselves," 28 Hast. L.dJ. 283,
297-299 (1976) and cases cited therein.

Pe age eee \

He

A variation on the federal “optional
notice" rule was recently decided in
Indiana, requiring advisement of the
pro se right (not the "dangers" advise-
ment) at arraignment. Russell v. State
(1978), Ind.App. 378 N.E.2d 872, 881-882,
Garrard, P.J., concurring. We suggest
the Indiana rule, giving contradictory
Gideon and pro se advisements, to be
inferior to the pre-Torres California
rule, giving only the Gideon advisement
at arraignment. cf. Reason 7 hereafter.

Clearly, states ought not to be
allowed to decide for themselves which is
the "natural state" of the accused, t.e.,
with or without counsel. The Sixth Amend-
ment precludes that. But it does not
preclude the states from tailoring their
own advisements within the scope of the
substantive constitutional rights.

Torres must be reversed by this Court
not only because it grossly misconstrued
Faretta, but so that the states are in-
formed that Faretta does not require _
wholesale renovation of state arraignment
procedures at a cost of millions of con-
victions obtained by pro se plea of

ems vA
at

24

guilty. Lacking prospective limitation,
Torres has now used Faretta to render un-
constitutional all California convictions
entered by way of pro se plea of guilty.
The slaughter is in the millions. Cf.
appendices to Justice Hanson's concurring
opinion in Torres, 157 Cal.Rptr. at 573-
575.

On the other hand, states must be
instructed that Faretta is not merely a
super-waiver of counsel, thus allowing
them to ignore the giving or recording of
the separate "dangers and disadvantages"
advisement when a criminal defendant
appears pro se at a state adversary
evidentiary hearing.

"Illinois has never required
that defendant be advised speci-
fically of the dangers and dis-
advantages of self-representation .
in addition to the admonitions of
Rule 401(a) [waiver of counsel]."

People v. Black
(1978) 68 I11.App.3d
309 [385 N.E.2d 899,
903].
Faretta is not modern augmentation to
the waiver of counsel; it is the asser-

tion of an independent constitutional

= EE

25

right. The vast majority of state
decisions regarding Faretta have con-
strued the "dangers" warning as merely —
adjunct to waiver of counsel, and there-
fore largely dispensed with it. This
needs your immediate correction, as
state courts are thereby violating an
express provision of Faretta, infecting
their pro se trials with reversible error.

7. Indiana's recent resolution of
which combination of constitutional ad-
visements should be given at arraignment
(Russell v. State, supra) reiterates
viable state alternatives in formulating
the advisements. Torres (and Austin
herein) erroneously assume that the
Sixth Amendment requires the Faretta
"dangers" advisement at arraignment.
While Torres and its progeny Austin are
clearly wrong, nevertheless it is pro-
bably true that (as with Indiana) some
form of advisement of the constitutional
right to proceed pro se is required.
Johnson v. Zerbst, supra.

What should be the form of the consti-
tutional advisements at arraignment?
Clearly the states should be free to

26

draft their own combinations of advise-
ments. Torres precludes any such state
autonomy:

“If, therefore, the record
on appeal of the case at bar com-
pelled the conclusion that Torres
was not advised of the dangers
of self-representation [at ar-
raignment], reversal of the
judgment would be required."

People v. Torres,
supra, 157 Cal.
Rptr. at 564.

If this Court decides that counsel
representation is no longer (since
Faretta) the "natural state" of the
accused, states should be allowed to re-
frain from giving the Gideon advisement
at arraignment. Giving both the Gideon ~
and the pro se (not the “dangers") ad-
visements would necessarily engender con-
fusion because of the contradictory
nature of those advisements. Cf. our
Petition for Hearing to the California
Supreme Court in Torres.

Review should be undertaken herein to
clarify that states are not precluded from
experimenting in their combinations of
constitutional advisements at arraignment

27

but are nevertheless required to give and
memorialize for the record the “dangers
and disadvantages" advisement for defen-
dants who appear pro se at adversary
evidentiary hearings.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons certiorari
should be granted herein.
DATED: December 14, 1979

John A. Vander Lans
Robert R. Recknagel
Gerry L. Ensley

Attorneys for

People of the State of California
400 W. Broadway

Long Beach, California 90802
Telephone: (213) 437-0711

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Opinion and Judgment of the
Appellate Department of the
Superior Court of the State of
California for the County of
Los Angeles

Order Denying Certification

Filed October 22, 1979
John R. Corcoran, County Clerk
By L. Swart, Deputy

APPELLATE DEPARTMENT OF THE
SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF
CALIFORNIA FOR THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

People of the State
of California, CR A 17231

pe ei Court No.
Plaintiff and }Municipal Court No.
Respondent, L 66293
vs. ‘opinion AND
Robert Stanley Austin} JUDGMENT
)
)

Defendant and
Appellant.

)

Appeal by defendant from judgment of the
Municipal Court. ast

Thomas Zeiger, Judge.

Judgment reversed and cause remanded to
trial court with instructions.

For Appellant - Steven M. Shaw

For Respondent - John A. Vander Lans,
City Prosecutor; By Gerry L. Ensley,
Deputy City Prosecutor

-000-

Appellant, without counsel entered a
guilty plea to a charge of violating
Vehicle Code section 23102, subdivision
(a) (driving under the influence). He
also admitted having suffered a prior

2

conviction under the same code section.
His claim on appeal is that the court
erred in denying his motion to withdraw
his guilty plea and his admission of the
prior. We agree.

The statement on appeal expressly
states that appellant was not advised
of the dangers and disadvantages of
self-representation as required by
Faretta v. California [1975] 422 U.S.
806. The docket does not contradict
this. In People v. Torres [1979] 96
Cal.App.3d 14, the Court of Appeal
addressed a factual situation closely
analogous to the facts of this case.
The Court held that the record there
was inadequate to establish appellant's
claim that he was not advised in accord
with Faretta. The docket entries in
the two cases .are almost identical.

The distinguishing feature in this case
is that the statement on appeal
establishes that the warning was not
given whereas in Zorres the statement
on appeal was silent on this issue.
Torres cites People v. Fabricant [1979]
91 Cal.App.3d 706, 712 for the proposi-

3

tion that, "A waiver of counsel where
the charge is a serious one is knowing
and intelligent only if preceded by an
admonition that self-representation is
perilous." (96 Cal.App.3d at p. 18.)

_ After discussing waiver of counsel in

municipal courts, the Torres opinion
goes on to state: “If, therefore, the
record on appeal of the case at bar
compelled the conclusion that Torres
was not advised of the dangers of self
representation, reversal of the judgment
would be required." (Id. at p. 20). We
do not reach any other issues.

The judgment is reversed and the case
is remanded to the trial court with

* instructions to permit the defendant to

withdraw his plea of guilty to the vio-
lation of Vehicle Code section 23102,
subdivision (a) and to withdraw his
admission of the prior conviction
under the same statute, and to rear-
raign him for plea on the original
complaint.
Judge Saeta
We concur. Presiding Judge Cole

Judge Dowds

APPENDIX “B”

Filed November 8, 1979
John R. Corcoran, County Clerk
By L. Swart, Deputy

APPELLATE DEPARTMENT OF THE
SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF
CALIFORNIA FOR THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

People of the State )Superior Court No.
of California, CRA 17231 ;

Platnet sy and. \i"epsan oN" "°°

Respondent,
ORDER DENYING
vs. )CERTIFICATION

Robert Stanley Austin

Defendant and
Appellant.

~~ N

THE COURT *
The petition of defendant [ste] for certifi-
cation of cause to the Court of Appeal
in the above-entitled case having been
filed and having been duly considered,
Said petition is hereby denied.

*Before Cole, P.J., Dowds, J. and
Saeta, J.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1497%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
