# Reply Brief — RODGERS v. UNITED STATES (Nos. 79-1030, 79-1028, 1029)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1487%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1979

## Text

¥
ys
a

s nee i
FILED 3

MAR 25 1980
IN THE | MICHAEL RODAK, JR. CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-1030

Harry W. Ropcers, II[T.,
Ernest N. Cory, JR.,
Petitioners,
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

PETITIONERS’ REPLY MEMORANDUM

A. RaAyMonpD RANDOLPH, JR.
THomas C, GREEN
RicHarD A. KAPLAN
SHarP, RANDOLPH & GREEN
Suite 501
1800 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 659-2400
Attorneys for Petitioner
Harry W. Rodgers, III

Wma. BraprorD REYNOLDS

SHaw, Pirrman, Ports &
TROWBRIDGE

1800 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 331-4100

Attorney for Petitioner
Ernest N. Cory, Jr.

Press or Byron 8. Apams Parntina, Inc., Wasuineton, D. OC.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-1030

Harry W. Ropoers, ITI,
Ernest N. Cory, JR.,
Petitioners,
Vv.

United States OF AMER'CA,
stespondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

PETITIONERS’ REPLY MEMORANDUM

1. In both this case and Bulluck v. Washington, 468
F.2d 1122 (D.C. Cir. 1972) (en banc), the order grant-
ing rehearing en banc ‘‘did not vacate the judgment
of the division” (tbid.). The equally-divided en banc
court in Bulluck held that it therefore had no power
to alter the outstanding gudgment of the panel. But
the equally-divided en banc court in this case exercised
that power by affirming petitioners’ convictions al-
though the judgment of the panel had set these aside.
We had supposed the conflict between these courts of

2

appeals was clear and direct, but the government says
there is ‘‘no merit’’ to. such a view.’

According to the government, it matters greatly that
the panel in Bulluck had affirmed the district court
while the panel here had reversed.’ But to accept that
proposition one would have to conelude not only that
Bulluck does not mean what it holds, but also that an
equally-split federal court has the power to affect a
judgment depending on what the judgment is and who
rendered it—a notion totally at odds with a century
and a half of federal adjudication.’

That history demonstrates one firm principle: no
ranmgen court, including an en banc court of appeals,
has the power to alter an outstanding judgment with-
out a majority vote.‘ The government says its position
adheres to that principle because “An equal division
of the en bane court of Sudieals means that a majority
of the judges to have passed upon the issue (including
the district judge) were in agreement with the ruling
from which the appeal was taken.’’* But the equal

—_-_--—

1 Brief in Opp., at p. 19 n.12.

.? Ibid. The government's idea apparently is that, despite Bulluck,
an equally-divided en banc District of Columbia Circuit might find
the power to affect an unvacated panel’s judgment of reversal
although the power is absent with respect to a panel’s judgment
of affirmance, We are left to wonder whether the power would be
present or lacking when the panel has affirmed in part and re-
versed in part, sustaining for example convictions on some counts
but reversing convictions on others.

° See our Petition (No. 79-1030), at pp. 16-18:

Brody henson ts ns RN lian ot a oped en
is why affirmance by an. equally-divided court is merely a declara-
tion of the deadlock, having no precedential value and having the
waa en
had never occurred.

"© Brief in Opp., at p.18.

EF

= See ch ON Sey eee Ago Sus Syed BAA Nt Wait OES ok lt

3

division means no such thing if, for example, the
panel’s majority in favor of reversal consisted of a
judge sitting by designation, as frequently occurs, In
that situation the government’s head-count would re-
sult in a tie if the vote of the trial judge were given
the same weight as a vote of a judge sitting on the
court of appeals; ° on the other hand, if one tallied only
the votes of judges who heard the case on appeal, there
would be a majority of one for reversal, yet the gov-
ernment would contend that the lower court judgment
should be affirmed. Furthermore, when an en bane
court of appeals splits evenly after a panel including
one or two judges sitting by designation unanimously
voted to set aside agency action upon direct review, the
‘‘majority” of judges who heard the case would favor
the panel decision. But under the government’s sub-
mission, the agency action would be allowed to stand
because the panel’s judgment was automatically va-
cated upon the grant of rehearing en banc.’

It is on this ground—that the grant of rehearing en
banc ‘‘itself vacate[s] the panel decision’ *—that the
government’s entire argument rests. It is a ground re-
jected in Bulluck, it has no statutory basis,’ and the
government has offered not a single reason” why this

*The judge sitting on the court of appeals by designation, who
voted opposite of the district judge, would not be a member of the
equally-divided en banc court of appeals. See 28 U.S.C. § 46(c).

’ Brief in Opp., at pp. 18-19.
* Brief in Opp., at p. 18.

*See 28 U.S.C. §46(c). The government itself recognizes as
much earlier in its Brief i in Opposition (see p. 16).

1° The italicized quotation from Judge Waterman’s dissenting
opinion in Farrand Optical Co. v. United States, 317 F.2d 875,

4

should be the rule except to say that it is so." On the
other hand, we have pointed out” that a vote to grant
rehearing en banc cannot also be considered a vote to
vacate the panel’s judgment, which is essentially a
vote on the merits, as this Court recognized in Moody
v. Albermarle Paper Co., 417 U.S. 622, 627 (1974). Cir-
cuit judges in favor of the panel’s decision may never-
theless vote for rehearing en banc. Indeed, when an
equal division results, ole can usually assume with
assurance that at least one of the judges who made up
the majority voting for rehearing en banc agreed with
the panel’s disposition.

In the absence of an announced rule, there is thus no
basis to suppose that a majority of the active circuit
judges not only voted to grant en banc review but also
decided to set aside the panel’s judgment. The Fourth
Circuit, like most of the courts of appeals, has no such
rule, its order granting rehearing en banc did not va-

886 (2d Cir. 1972), at p. 18 of the government’s Brief in Opposi-
tion, says only that it is ‘‘obvious’’ that a grant of rehearing
en banc has this result.

1 The government states (Brief in Opp. p. 17 n.11) that in light
of his dissenting opinion in Drake Bakeries, Inc. v. Local 50, 294
F.2d 399 (2d Cir. 1961), aff’d on other grounds, 370 U.S. 254
(1962), when the equally-divided en banc court, by a 4-2 vote,
affirmed the district court rather than the panel, and his silence
when a somewhat different result occurred in Farrand Optical
v. Umted States, supra, Judge Friendly must have changed his
view concerning the effect of a tie vote. We think this demon-
strates only that Judge Friendly decided to adhere to the principle
of stare decisis, particularly since the deadlocked en banc court in
Farrand Optical sent the case back to the court of appeals panel
: consider the appellate issues it had not reached in its original

ecision.

12 See Petition (No. 79-1030), at p. 18.

4)

cate the panel’s decision and its tie vote therefore could
not affect that decision, which should have been
affirmed.

2. Insofar as the government’s case against these
petitioners depended upon non-disclosure of certain
beneficial owners of Marlboro Racetrack, we have pre-
viously explained our legal position that petitioners
did not thereby violate the mail fraud statute. Peti-
tion (79-1030), at pp. 19-26. Instead of addressing
the fundamental statutory construction question raised
in our petition, the government recounts the evidence
in an attempt to make it appear that the statutory is-
sue is not properly presented.

With respect to these petitioners, however, the mail
fraud issue cannot be dismissed as nothing but a factual
dispute about the weight of the evidence. The evidence
relating to this issue is not in dispute. As the Govern-
ment points out, petitioner Cory withheld from the
State Racing Commission the identities of Hess, Kov-
ens and the Rodgers brothers as beneficial owners
(Brief in Opp., at pp. 7, 33-34). It is not disputed that
he did so intentionally in responding to official inquir-
ies about the beneficial ownership of Marlboro Race-
track (Brief in Opp. at p. 34). In fact, petitioner Cory
explicitly advised Racing Commissioner Jackson that
he could not disclose the ownership interests of his
clients because of ethical constraints imposed on him
by the attorney-client relationship (Tr. 6205-07). He
thus reported these ownership interests in the names
of nominees, including himself as “ Attorney,’’ Petition
(79-1030), at p. 20, with the affirmative representation
that none of the beneficial owners of Marlboro Race-
track was involved in a criminal enterprise or book-

6°

making (7d. at 21). Not only was this the standard re-
porting practice that had long been acceptable to the
Maryland State Racing Commission (id. at 21-22), but
the Attorney General of the State had advised the Rac-
ing Commissioner not to insist on further disclosure
from petitioner Cory in light of the attorney-client re-
lationship (Tr. 6207).

It is not a sufficient answer in these circumstances

for the government to assert simply that there was in-
tentional concealment of information in response to
official inquiries. That is conceded. However, the court
of appeals in United States v. Rabbit, 583 F.2d 1014,
1024 (8th Cir. 1978), clearly held that purposeful non-
disclosure was not reachable under the mail fraud
statute when the individual withholding information
was under no affirmative duty to disclose.** And that,
we submit, was the situation here. Petition (79-1030),
at pp. 23-25. Indeed, not only was there no affirmative
disclosure obligation, but also well-recognized ethical
constraints inherent in the attorney-client relationship
between petitioner Cory and the beneficial owners he
represented counselled against revealing their identi-
ties. To hold that such conduct violates the mail fraud
statute extends that criminal provision well beyond
any recognized bounds of statutory construction and
thus demands the attention of this Court.

3. Because the trial judge gave an instruction on
bribery with respect to two of the racketeering counts
(Counts 21 and 23), the government argues that the

** A majority of this Court has recently recognized the impor-
tance in a criminal context of establishing an affirmative duty to
disclose when the prosecution for fraud rests on evidence of non-
disclosure. Chiavella v. United States, No. 78-1202, 48 L.W. 4250

(March 18, 1980).

7

failure to include a bribery instruction in connection
with the mail fraud counts is of no material conse-
quence (Brief in Opp., at pp. 24-27). Insofar as peti-
tioners Rodgers and Cory are concerned, this position
is untenable.

Neither of these petitioners was indicted under
Count 21, and petitione. Cory was also not indicted
under Count 23." In its instructions, the district court
explicitly advised the jury that the charges given on
Counts 21 and 23 were meant to refer only to the de-
fendants named in those counts (Tr. 11481-82). There
is thus nothing to the government’s argument that the
bribery instruction in connection with the two racket-
eering counts was readily transferable (albeit sub
silento) to the mail fraud counts on which these peti-
tioners were indicted. |

Rather, in the circumstances of this case, the failure
to give a separate bribery instruction under the mail
fraud counts was clear error in regard to these peti-
tioners. As the government acknowledges, the theory
of the mail fraud prosecution “included bribery as one
of the ways in which fraud was committed’’ (Brief in
Opp., at pp. 25-26 n.19; emphasis in original). Thus, at
least with respect to one of the two theories advanced
by the prosecution, bribery was treated as an element
of the mail fraud offense.”* As such, the district court
was under an affirmative obligation to include an in-

14 While petitioner Rodgers was indicted under Count 23, the
district court entered a judgment of acquittal on this count. Peti-

tion (79-1028) App. 18a-19a n.3.

15 See United States v. Mandel, 591 F.2d 1347, 1365 (1979) ; see
also Judge Widener’s dissent below on rehearing en banc at 79-
1028 Pet. App. 5a-8a.

8

struction on bribery in its mail fraud charge even if not
requested to do so. L.g., United States v. Schmidt, 376
F.2d 751 (4th Cir.), certiorari denied, 389 U.S. 884
(1967). When, as here, such a request was made by the
defendants, the failure to give the instruction is re-
versible error. See Judge Widener’s dissent below on
rehearing en banc at Petition (79-1028) App. 8a-9a,
and the cases there cited.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

A. RAyMonp RANDOLPH, JR.
THOMAS C, GREEN

RicHarp A, KAPLAN

SHARP, RANDOLPH & GREEN

Suite 501

1800 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 659-2400

Attorneys for Petitioner
Harry W. Rodgers, III

Wo. Braprorp REYNOLDS

SuHaw, Pirrman, Ports &
TROWBRIDGE

1800 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 331-4100

Attorney for Petitioner
Ernest N. Cory, Jr.

March 1980

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1487%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
