# Opposition — Alton Box Board Co. v. Three J. Farms, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1463%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 445 U.S. 911

## Text

JAN 832 1980 Vi

:
’

MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK

ttm

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1979

No. 79-1005

ALTON BOX BOARD COMPANY, et al.,
Petitioners,
v.

THREE J FARMS, INCORPORATED, et al., in behalf of
themselves and all other parties similarly situated and
circumstanced,

Respondents.

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

I. Walton Bader
Bader and Bader
65 Court Street
White Plains, New York 10601
(914) 682-0072
Attorneys for Respondents

Robert L. Stoddard
Moore, Stoddard, Stoddard & Wood
207 Magnolia Street
Spartanburg, S. C. 29301
(803) 582-5622
Attorneys for Respondents

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1979

No. 79-1005

ee a ee

ALTON BOX BOARD COMPANY, et al.,

Petitioners,
v.

THREE J FARMS, INCORPORATED, et al., in behalf of
themselves and all other parties similarly situated and

circumstanced,
Respondents.

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

I. Walton Bader
Bader and Bader
65 Court Street
White Plains, New York 10601
(914) 682-0072
Attorneys for Respondents

Robert L. Stoddard
Moore, Stoddard, Stoddard & Wood
207 Magnolia Street
Spartanburg, S. C. 29301
(803) 582-5622
Attorneys for Respondents,

ee a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
Counter uestion Presented .....c. ccc cccccnsccess 1
Counter-Statement of the Case ..........0.0c0cc00. 2
Reasons for Denying the Writ .............-+e-eee- 2

1. So long as a court remands an action under any
rational basis under 28 USC 1447 (provided that
the case is not a civil rights action) the Order of
Remand is not reviewable for any cause
RPC CE CCT Ee TT LTTE LET 2

2. The real basis of the present petition is to prevent
state court consideration of exclusively stateclaims 4

ee ewe cae ae Pewee ee 5
Appendix

A—Opinion and Order of October 13, 1978 of the
United States District Court for the District of
eae aie eee areas Al

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE
Cases:
Cort v. Ash, 422 US 66 (1974) .......ccccccccccccees 4
Gravitt v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 430 U.S.
eo NG op etree err rrr eT ere ee ee ee 4
In Re La Providencia Development Corporation, 405
F.2e 251 (let Cir. 1969) 2.0 cccccnsccsccsseszecons 4
Piper v. Chris-Craft Industries, 430 U.S. 1 (1977)..... 4
Santa Fe Industries, Inc. v.Green, 430 U.S.462(1977) .. 4
Sullivan v. Simons, 337 F.2d 239 (4th Cir. 1964)...... 4

Thermatron Products, Inc. v. Hermansdorfer, 423 US
336, 96 Sup.Ct. 584, 46 L.Ed. 2d 542 s.r 3

Volvo of America Corporation v. Schwarzer, 429 US
1331, 97 Sup.Ct. 284, 50 L .£b.236. 273 (ISTE) ccc vewass 1,2

Statutes and Regulations:

BO UIT. BOG oo cc cccceccesvceviveccuseureeeecs 1,2, 3,4

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1979

No. 79-1005

ALTON BOX BOARD COMPANY, et al.,

Petitioners,
v.

THREE J FARMS, INCORPORATED, et al., in behalf of
themselves and all other parties similarly situated and
circumstanced,

Respondents.

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Counter-Question Presented

Respondents submit that there is really only a single
question presented to this Court in this Petition and the law
is well settled in connection therewith. The single question is
that, where a Court grants remand under 28 USC 1447(c),
and where the Order of remand has any legal basis what-
soever, the Court thereafter loses jurisdiction over the case
and cannot change its mind for any reason.

Respondents submit that the law is well settled in this
connection, the most recent case being Volvo of America vs.
Schwarzer, 429 US 1331, 97 Sup. Ct. 284, 50 L.Ed 2d. 273.

While respondents will respond to the other questions
presented in this petition, it is submitted that the above
counter-question effectively disposes of the petitioner's
arguments and that the grant of a petition for a writ of
certiorariin this case would merely burden this Court witha
re-definition of already well-defined law.

Counter-Statement of the Case

On the argument of the present case before the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, in response to
a question from Circuit Judge Field, the attorney for the
respondents (Petitioners here) was specifically asked whether
there was any additional fact which was brought to the
attention of the Court in the respondent’s memorandum
submitted to the Court after the Court withdrew its initial
Order of Remand and the papers that had previously been
submitted to the Court in connection with the stay applica-
tion which had been initially denied by the District Judge.
The respondents (Petitioners here) conceded that no such
new matter was presented. This significant fact has not been
brought to the attention of this Court by the petitioners and
this fact, even standing alone, is sufficient to warrant sum-
mary denial of this petition.

POINT ONE

So long as acourt remands an action under any rational basis
under 28 USC 1447 (provided that the case is not a civil
rights action) the Order of Remand is not reviewable for any
cause whatsoever.

The precise question involved in this petition came up for
review before Mr. Justice Rehnquist in Volvo of America Corpo-
ration vs. W. Schwarzer, supra. In that case the District Court
granted remand of a State Anti-Trust Action (even though
the requisite diversity was present) upon the ground that
only a few members of the class had the requisite jurisdic-
tional amount. In denying a stay application in that matter
Mr. Justice Rehnquist held as follows (97 Sup. Ct. 285):

The flaw in this argument is that, while the District
Court may have been wrong in its analysis, it clearly
stated, citing to Section 1447 (c), that it considered itself
without jurisdiction. The District Court therefore
or it was acting in accordance with Section 1447(c),
which allows a remand where an action is “removed
ek Saat and without jurisdiction.” Review of this
or

er, therefore, is presumptively barred by the opera- .

tion of 28 U.S.C. Section 1447(d).

We held last term in Thermatron Products, Inc. vs. Her-
mansdorfer, 423 US 336, 96 Sup. Ct. 584, 46 L.Ed 2d 542
(1976), where the District Court ordered a remand
because of its crowded docket, that Section 1447(d) did
not bar review of remand orders ‘issued on grounds not
authorized by Section 1447(c)’. (citation omitted) But
the District Court here did base its order on 1447(c).
Thermatron is of no help to applicant as the remand was
explicitly based on an alleged erroneous finding that the
court ‘does not have jurisdiction of this action’. (citation
omitted) Applicant’s position would mean that any
allegedly erroneous application of Section 1447(c) would
be reviewable by writ of mandamus, leaving the Section
1447(d) bar extant only in the case of allegedly proper
applications of Section 1447(c), a reading too Pickwick-
ian to be accepted and contrary to the clear language in
Thermatron.

In Thermatron, supra, itself, at 423 US 343 the Court held
as follows:

“It is unquestioned in ;this case and conceded by peti-
tioners that this section (Section 1447[d]) prohibits
review of all remand orders issued pursuant to Section
1447(c) whether erroneous or not***If a trial judge purports
to remand ‘improvidently and without jurisdiction’ his
order is not subject to challenge in the court of appeals,
by mandamus or otherwise.” (emphasis supplied.)

The original Order of the District Court (See Appen-
dix annexed to this Response) specifically remanded the case
under 28 USC 1447(c) the Order of October 13th, 1978 reads
in part as follows:

“Having among its parties three plaintiffs and one
defendant who are citizens of South Carolina and one
plaintiff and seven defendants who are citizens of New
York, this case lacks complete diversity of citizenship
among all of the parties and is not sustainable in this
court under 28 USC 1332. In addition no federal ques-
tion is involved, leaving this Court without any jurisdic-
tion over the case. Under these circumstances, it is the
duty of this Court pursuant to 28 USC 1447(c) to
remand the case to the state court’

Thus, the case at bar is merely one of a long series of cases
holding that, where a District Court remands an action, and
there is any reasonable basis for its action, its action so

4

remanding the case is not subject to review and the District
Court cannot thereafter change its mind. See, for example,
Gravitt vs. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 430 US 723 (1977);
Sullivan vs. Simons, 337 F.2d. 239 (4 Cir. 1964); In Re La Providen-
cia Development Corporation, 405 F.2d. 251 (1 Cir. 1969).

Petitioners cite a number of cases holding that a District
Court has Rule 60(b) power to review its own orders and
judgments and to correct them. This is true, of course, in
cases properly before District Courts. However Congress, in
its wisdom, did not give District Courts the power to review
remand orders after they were issued. Indeed, if this Court
were to so hold the provisions of 28 USC 1447(d) would be
eroded since the power of a court to review orders and
judgments under Rule 60(b) is very wide and, given this
power, acase could conceivably “ricochet” between state and
federal forums indifinitely.

POINT TWO

The real basis of the a petition is to prevent state court
consideration of exclusively state claims.

While “POINT ONE” of this response disposes of the
issues involved in this petition, the respondents point out
that the real reason for the present exercise is to attempt to
prevent State Court consideration of State Law Claims.
Thus, while the Federal Anti-Trust Laws provide for treble
damages for price fixers, South Carolina State Anti-Trust
Laws, and the laws of Kansas and Missouri, provide for
reimbursement of the full purchase price to the purchasers of
price-fixed goods. In the Corrugated Container Anti-Trust Litiga-
tion the defendants have been able to” buy off” class anti-trust
claims for less than 3 cents on the dollar of sales. Contrary-
wise, in the case of South Carolina, no State Court would
approve such a settlement where the “exposure” is 100% of
the sales price of the goods. This, of course, was the reason
that the State Court issued its injunction against settlement
of these claims without its approval.

This Court has repeatedly held that purely State Claims
will not be adjudicated by Federal Courts. See, for example,
Cort vs. Ash, 422 US 66 (1974); Santa Fe Industries, Inc. vs. Green,
430 US 462; Piper vs. Chris-Craft Industries, 430 US 1.

CONCLUSION

The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit should be in all
respects denied.

Dated: January 2, 1980

Respectfully submitted,

BADER and BADER
Attorneys for Respondents
I. WALTON BADER 65 Court Street

of counsel White Plains, New York 10601

APPENDIX TO PETITION FOR A WRIT
OF CERTIORARI

Order of US District Court of District of South Carolina
Remanding Cause to Court of Common Pleas of Spartan-
burg County Dated October 13, 1978 (61-68)

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH CAROLINA
SPARTANBURG DIVISION
Civil Action No. 78-1257

Three J Farms, Incorporated; U.S. Textile Corporation; Sha-
piro & Son Bedspread Corporation; and Troy H. Cribb &
Sons, Inc., in behalf of themselves and all other parties sim-
ilarly situated and circumstanced,

Plaintiffs,
vs
Alton Box Board Company, et al.,
Defendants.

This action was removed by defendants from the Court of
Common Pleas, County of Spartanburg, South Carolina, to
this court on July 31, 1978, and is presently before the Court
on the motion of plaintiffs to have the case remanded to that
state court. As could be expected of any suit that alleged
extensive antitrust violations on the part of approximately
40 defendants, there has been a flurry of procedural activity
since the case’s recent arrival in this court. The plaintiffs base
their claim against the defendants on the antitrust provisions
of the South Carolina Code, Section 39-3-10 et seq., S.C. Code
(1976), alleging that certain concerted action by the defend-
ants in the corrugated container industry violated these pro-
visions. The Judicial Panel on Miultidistrict Litigation in
response to sizable number of lawsuits over the nation with
similar allegations ordered a large number of these actions
from cther jurisdictions to be transferred to the United
States District Court for the Southern District of Texas for

A2

coordinated or consolidated pretrial proceedings pursuant to
28 U.S.C. Section 1407. In re Corrugated Container Antitrust Litiga-
tion, 441 F.Supp. 921 (1977). On August 11, 1978, the Panel
issued a conditional transfer order removing this action to
the Texas court in reliance on its earlier rulings regarding
similar litigation.

Plaintiffs have objected to the transfer by the Panel and
on August 16, 1978 filed a notice of opposition with the
Panel. On this same day, plaintiffs also filed in this Court
their motion to remand the case to the state court from
which it arose. Plaintiffs then filed with the Panel a motion to
vacate the conditional transfer order and a memorandum in
support of that motion. Meanwhile, the defendants made
motion before this Court for an order staying further pro-
ceedings until the Panel’s determination regarding the plain-
tiff’s motion to vacate the action taken earlier by that body.

Once a transfer by the Panel of a case becomes final and
the transfer order is filed with the clerk of the transferee
court, the transferor court loses all jurisdiction and power
over pretrial proceedings until the action is later returned to
it. However, if notice of objection to a conditional transfer
order is filed with the Panel and a motion to vacate the
transfer accompanied by a supporting memorandum is addi-
tionally filed within 15 days of the filing of the notice of
objection, as was done in the present case, the conditional
transfer order will not be transmitted to the transferee court
and thus will not become effective since such orders do not
complete a transfer unless they are filed with the clerk of the
transferee court. Rule 9 of the Rules of Procedure of the
Judicial Panel on Multi-district Litigation. Since the transfer
of this case has been arrested until further order of the Panel,
the transferor court still has full power and jurisdiction to
rule upon matters properly presented to it for decision. In re
Air Crash Disaster at Paris, France, on March 3, 1974, 376 F.Supp.
887 (Jud. Pan. Mult. Lit. 1974); Rule 16 of the Rules of
Procedure of the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation. A
decision by this Court on plaintiffs’ motion to remand at this
time is proper, timely and necessary. ;

The defendants have made motion before this Court fora
stay of further proceeding until the Panel has disposed of

A3

plaintiffs’ motion to vacate. The defendants argue that judi-
cial efficiency and consistency, two essential purposes of 28
U.S.C. Section 1407, would be frustrated were this Court to
act on plaintiffs’ motion and that the Panel, not this Court,
provides the proper tribunal for deciding the question of
remand. Consideration of removal of this action, however,
deals with the subject matter jurisdiction of this court, and
any past or future handling of this case by the Panel does not
dispense with this fundamental prerequisite. In dispelling the
notion that action by the Panel somehow does away with
ordinary jurisdictional considerations of removal, the Court
in Bancohio Corporation v. Fox, 516 F.2d 29, 32 (6th Cir. 1975)
stated the following:

Neither does the statute on multidistrict litigation, 28
U.S.C. Section 1407, ‘compel a different result
. . . [T]here is nothing in the applicable statute to pro-
vide an exception to the rules normally ees rem-
oval of cases from state courts. Such a transfer [by the
Panel] cannot be made unless the district court properly
has jurisdiction of the subject matter.

Contrary to what defendants advocate, both money and time
in this matter would be saved by having this Court now
analyze the jurisdictional question, for an existing jurisdic-
tional deficiency would nullify any proceedings by or before
the Panel.

Scrutiny of the face of plaintiffs’ complaint reveals no
basis for federal jurisdiction over this action. Plaintiffs pre-
mise their action exclusively on South Carolina antitrust law
and expressly state they do not charge any Federal Law
violations, thus excluding federal question jurisdiction. More-
over, the case apparently lacks diversity jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. Section 1332 since there is not complete diversity of
citizenship between the parties — three plaintiffs and two of
the individual defendants are citizens of South Carolina and
one plaintiff and numerous corporate defendants are citizens
of New York. To support their argument that this Court has
subject matter jurisdiction over this action, the defendants
contend that the plaintiff New York corporation, Shapiro &
Son Bedspread Corporation, and the two South Carolina
defendants, Tim Poffenbarger and Ennis McCarter, are not

A4

proper parties but were improperly joined for the sole pur-
pose of defeating diversity jurisdiction. Defendants rely on
the long standing principle that the right to remove to federal
court cannot be defeated by joining formal or unnecessary
parties. Salem Trust Co. v. Manufacturers’ Finance Co., 264 U.S.
182, 445 S.Ct. 266, 68 L.Ed. 628 (1924).

Defendants raise the issue of whether the parties whose
citizenship prevents complete diversity are prop-
er parties to this action. In delineating a test for determining
if a defendant is a proper party to be considered for diversity
purposes upon removal, this Court in Jacks v. Torrington Com-
pany, 256 F.Supp. 282 (D.S.C. 1966), addressed the matter of
fraudulent joinder as follows:

Defendants also removed upon the ground of improper
and fraudulent joinder of Wassung [an employee of the
out of state corporate defendant]. The issue is one of
fraud in a legal sense and in no way involves the integ-
rity of plaintiffs or the professional conduct of their
counsel. The issue is, rather, whether the futile joinder
of a party against whom no valid claim for relief is stated
will be permitted to defeat diversity jurisdiction which
would otherwise exist against remaining defendant. . .
Should these allegations not constitute a valid claim for
relief against Wassung then he is not a proper party;
there is no basis for his joinder; and such a joinder to
prevent removal would in law amount to a legal fraud
upon defendants. 256 F.Supp. at 285, 286.

In deciding whether plaintiffs have a valid claim for relief
against defendants Poffenbarger and McCarter, the Court
must see if Section 39-3-10 et seq., S. C. Code (1976), casts
liability upon them in light of the allegations of the com-
plaint. Plaintiffs have submitted the affidavit of Kenneth
Cribb, who avers that Pofferbarger was the representative of
and salesperson for defendant Packaging Corporation of
America. Plaintiffs’ affidavit of James Gossett regarding
McCarter states that although plaintiff Three J Farms, Inc.
purchased corrugated boxes from defendant Westvaco
through him the exact relationship between McCarter and
Westvaco remains unknown to them. Defendant has not
contested these affidavits with any opposing affidavits.

AS

In State v. National Linen Service Corp., 225 S.C. 232, 815
S.E.2d 342 (1954), the South Carolina Supreme Court
construed the statute upon which plaintiffs base their com-
plaint and held that agents or employees of a corporation
when working to promote the corportion’s business could
not be found to conspire with the corporation. The discus-
sion and interactions between the corporation and its agents
when performed in furtherance of the corporate business
cannot be held, according to the reasoning of that case, to
constitute illegal concerted action under the statute because |
to do so would be tantamount to holding that a corporation
could conspire with itself. Applying this substantive law to
the facts as alleged in the complaint and averred in plaintiffs’
affidavit of Kenneth Cribb, it appears that plaintiffs would
not have valid claim against defendant Poffenbarger. Plain-
tiffs have gone no farther than attempting to establish that
Poffenbarger was a representative of defendant Packaging
Corporation of America who, with knowledge of the alleged
intercorporate conspiracy, would quote noncompetitive pri-
ces to plaintiff T. H. Cribb & Sons, Inc. in order to sell his
employer's product. It is not contended by plaintiffs that
Poffenbarger acted independently of his employer with any
of the other corporate defendants. Under State v. National Linen
Service Corporation, 225 S.C. 232, 81 S.E.2d 342 (1954) Poffen-
barger’s conduct with his employer does not appear actiona-
ble under Section 39-3-10 S.C. Code (1976) since, according
to the record, he never acted as more than an agent of a
corporation which itself is a named defendant.

This same rationale used to determine that no valid claim
against defendant Poffenbarger is stated in the complaint
would apply also as to defendant McCarter to reach the same
conclusion were it not for the fact that the affidavit of James
L. Gossett fails to fully specify the exact relationship between
this individual defendant and defendant Westvaco Corpora-
tion. In particular, it is still unclear if McCarter was merely a
sales representative of Westvaco or worked for himself or
another independent business entity. Since there is a ques-
tion whether this defendant was acting in an individual ousi-
ness capacity in relation to other corporate defendants and
may have been capable of engaging in the alleged unlawful

Aé

conspiracy, this Court determines on the basis of the record
before it that defendant McCarter is a proper party to this
action for whom there exists a basis for joinder as a
defendant.

The determination of whether a plaintiff is more than a
nominal party and is an actual real party in interest for
diversity purposes involves a similar analysis of ascertaining
“who, under governing substantive law, is entitled to enforce
the right asserted.” Iowa Public Service Commission v. Medicine Bow
Coal Company, 556 F.2d 400, 404 (8th Cir. 1977). In the affi-
davit of Jerry Shapiro, it is averred that plaintiff Shapiro &
Son Bedspread Corporation purchases items packaged in

-cerrugated containers from plaintiff U. S. Textile Corpora-
tion on a “cost-plus” basis. Although the Court is somewhat
confused regarding the plaintiffs’ characterization of these
two corporations as a “joint economic unit”, it would seem
that any economic injury resulting from the alleged higher
noncompetitive price paid for the containers in which goods
were shipped from U. S. Textile Corp. to Shapiro & Son
Bedspread Corp. would be suffered by the latter since it was
purchasing on the cost plus basis. Section 39-3-30, S.C. Code
(1976), gives the right of action for violation of this state’s
antitrust provisions to “any person who may be injured or
damaged by any such arrangement, contract, agreement,
trust or combination.” The facts alleged by plaintiff Shapiro
& Son Bedspread Corp. confer upon it under South Carolina
law a right of action against the defendants; therefore, this
Court determines on what is before it that Shapiro & Son
Bedspread Corp. is a proper plaintiff.

Defendants have failed to show that the joinder of Ennis
McCarter as a defendant and Shapiro & Son Bedspread Corp.
as a plaintiff is fraudulent and improper with the purpose of
defeating diversity jurisdiction. Having among its parties
three plaintiffs and one defendant who are citizens of South
Carolina and one plaintiff and seven defendants who are
citizens of New York, this case lacks complete diversity or
citizenship among all the parties and is not sustainable in this
court under 28 U.S.C. Section 1332. In addition no federal
question is involved, leaving this court without any jurisdic-
tion over the case. Under these circumstances, it is the duty

A7

of this Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 1447(c) to
remand the case to the state court. No matter how numerous
are the common questions of fact at issue in this case and
those cases which the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litiga-
tion has consolidated for pretrial discovery in In re Corrugated
Container Antitrust Litigation, 441 F.Supp. 921 (Jud. Pan. Mult.
Lit. 1977), the absence of jurisdiction of this court is fatal to
defendants’ attempt to remove the action from state court.
The statute on multi-district litigation, 28 U.S.C.
Section 1407, does not confer jurisdiction nor provide an
exception to the requirement of jurisdiction when this fun-
damental element is not otherwise met. For the foregoing
reasons, this Court finds that the complete absence of subject
matter jurisdiction necessitates a remand of this case to the
Spartanburg County Court of Common Pleas.

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that defendants’ motion
for a temporary stay of proceedings be and the same is hereby
denied.

IT IS FURTHéR ORDERED that plaintiffs’ motion to
remand this action to the Court of Common Pleas for the
County of Spartanburg, South Carolina, be and the same is
hereby granted.

AND IT IS SO ORDERED.

Is| Robert F. Chapman

ROBERT F. CHAPMAN
United States District Judge

October 13th, 1978
Columbia, South Carolina

TRUE COPY
Test:
MILLER C. FOSTER, JR. CLERK

/s/ Tanya Carson
By: Deputy Clerk

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1463%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
