# Opposition — Howard v. Des Moines Register & Tribune Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1450%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 445 U.S. 904

## Text

Eee

‘Gupreme Court, U,
FILE a

In The MICHAEL RODAK, JR. CLERN
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1979

f.
—_—

No. 79-991

fy.
Vv

ROBBIN HOWARD,

Petitioner,
vs.

DES MOINES REGISTER AND TRIBUNE
COMPANY, DR. ROY C. SLOAN, and
MARGARET ENGEL,

Respondents.

a
—~:

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Iowa

weticili

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

ra’
Ww

Pavuu E. Kritzer

Associate General Counsel

Des Moines Register and Tribune Company
P. O. Box 957

Des Moines, Iowa 50304

Gary G. GERLACH

Vice President and General Counsel

Des Moines Register and Tribune Company
P.O. Box 957

Des Moines, Iowa 50304

Guienn L. Smita

Duncan, Jones, Ritey & FINLEY
404 Equitable Building

Des Moines, Iowa 50309

Attorneys for Respondents

COCKLE PRINTING CO., 2311 Douglas St., Omaha 68102

“2

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1979

ra‘
——

No. 79-991

Ly
Vv

ROBBIN HOWARD, :
Petitioner,

VS.

DES MOINES REGISTER AND TRIBUNE
COMPANY, DR. ROY C. SLOAN, and
MARGARET ENGEL,

Respondents.

ra’
Vv

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Iowa

ray
—Y)-——_

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

fa’
Vv

The R’ pondents, Des Moines Register and Tribune
Company a..J Margaret Engel, respectfully submit this
Brief in Opposition pursuant to Sup. Cr. R. 24 and pray
that the Petition for Writ of Certiorari be denied.

ra’
—

REASONS WHY PETITION SHOULD NOT
BE GRANTED

I. The Iowa Supreme Court decided this case on a pure
question of state law, and no federal question is pre-
sented.

The Iowa Supreme Court upheld summary judgment
for the Respondents based solely on its interpretation of
Chapter 68A, Code of Iowa (1979), Iowa’s Public Records
statute. Howard v. Des Moines Register, 283 N. W.2d

2

289, 298-300 (Iowa 1979). The trial court had sustained
the Respondents’ motion for summary judgment on the
ground of newsworthiness. The Iowa Supreme Court
affirmed, but on a different ground—the Iowa Public Rec-
ords statute. Thus, the newsworthiness ground, which
was not relied upon by the Iowa Supreme Court in affirm-
ing summary judgment for the Respondents, is not a legit-
imate subject for this Court’s review. The purview of
this Petition is limited to a review of a state supreme
court’s decision concerning a pure question of state law
(Chapter 68A, Code of Iowa (1979), Iowa’s Public Ree-
ords statute).

The Iowa Supreme Court stated the issue of this case
in these terms:

The issue here is whether the fact of plaintiff’s
1971 sterilization was a matter of public record at the
time of the newspaper disclosure.
283 N. W. 2d at 298. The Iowa Supreme Court identified
this key question of law: Were the Snyder and Blakely
documents public records under the Iowa statute? The
Towa Supreme Court said:

Whether these records were public depends upon ap-
plication of the provisions of Code chapter 684A,
Iowa’s Freedom of Information Act.

283 N. W. 2d at 299. The Iowa Supreme Court noted that
it had previously upheld a constitutional challenge to this
law in Des Moines Register and Tribune Company v.
Osmundson, 248 N. W. 2d 493, 502 (Iowa 1976), and that
its interpretation was congruent with a definitive article
on the statute published in the Jowa Law Review. 283
N. W.2d at 299. After this examination, the Iowa Su-
preme Court concluded that:

3

The Snyder and Blakely documents wuich were
filed in the Governor’s office . . . clearly come within
the definition of public records in Section 68A.1.

283 N. W. 2d at 300. This statement is the vortex of the
Iowa Supreme Court’s decision. It is here that this case
focuses on one pure question of state law, which is con-
clusive on the United States Supreme Court’s considera-

tion.

Having found that the Snyder and Blakely documents
were public records and not exempted from disclosure by
any statute, the Iowa Supreme Court held that the dis-
closure of information from these documents was not
actionable. The Court said:

We think this case comes within the limitations on
the tort imposed in Restatement §652D and applied
in Winegard [v. Larson, 260 N.W.2d 816 (Iowa
1977)]. Because the documents were public, the in-
formation which they contained was in the public
domain. Osmundson, 248 N. W. 2d at 508.

The fact of plaintiff’s sterilization was thus a
public as opposed to a private fact and a matter of
legitimate public concern. Therefore the disclosure
is not actionable. See Winegard, 260 N. W. 2d at 823.

283 N. W. 2d at 300. The Iowa Supreme Coyyt also held
that the public record ground was sufficient, independ-
ently, to support the summary judgment. 283 N. W. 2d at
300. In this reasoning, the Iowa Supreme Court followed
uncontroverted decisions of the United States Supreme
Court: Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 95
S. Ct. 1029, 43 L. Ed. 2d 328 (1975); Landmark Communi-
cations, Inc. v. Virginia, 435 U.S. 829, 98 S. Ct. 1535, 56
L. Ed. 2d 1 (1978); Smith v. Daily Mail Publishing Co.,
— U.S. —, 99 S. Ct. 2667, 61 L. Ed. 2d 399 (1979).

+

II. Petitioner has failed to meet the requirements set by
statute and Supreme Court Rules for a grant of cer-
tiorari.

This Petition does not present a substantial federal
question to this Court, 28 U.S.C. § 1257 (3), because the
Iowa Supreme Court’s decision was based solely on a ques-
tion of state law. Petitioner’s “Questions Presented”
(Petition, page 2) are defective for being misleading,
obscure and inaccurate. Sup.Cr.P. 23(4). Petitioner
fails to present “special and important reasons” that
would justify a grant of certiorari. Sup. Cr. R. 19 (1).

Petitioner presents four questions for the Court’s re-
view (Petition, pages 2-3). Here is a brief reply to each
question:

1. Question: Did the First Amendment require sum-
mary judgment in this case?

Answer: The Iowa Supreme Court held that tradi-
tional rules of summary judgment were applied in this
case. 283 N. W. 2d at 297-298.

2. Question: Did the First Amendment provide im-
munity in this case?

Answer: The lowa Supreme Court’s decision was
based solely on its interpretation of a state statute. To
the extent that the First Amendment provided immunity
for the Respondents in this case, the decisions of the
United States Supreme Court in Cox Broadcasting, Land-
mark Communications and Smith v. Daily Mail are con-
clusive.

3. Question: Did the fact that part of the informa-

tion in the article was not obtained from public records
destroy respondents’ immunity, if any existed?

4)

Answer: The question is misleading and inaccurate.
Sup. Cr. R. 23 (4). The Iowa Supreme Court held that
the essential information concerning Petitioner’s sterili-
zation was a matter of public record under the state’s
public records statute at the time of publication. 283 N. W.
2d at 298-300. In the face of this finding, Petitioner
pleads that it is a “fact” that “part of the information in
the article was not obtained from public records.” Peti-
tioner seems to be challenging the Iowa Supreme Court’s

_ determination that the Snyder and Blakely documents

are public records. But this question fails because the
United States Supreme Court does not have jurisdiction to
review a-state court’s interpretation of a state statute
when there is no substantial federal question presented.

4. Question: Was the time lapse between the Peti-
tioner’s sterilization and the publication of the article
material in determining whether the use of Petitioner’s
name was “newsworthy”?

Answer: As this ground was not the basis for the
Iowa Supreme Court’s decision, it is not a legitimate sub-
ject for review by this court.

III. The United States Supreme Court has no jurisdiction
to review the decision of the highest court of a state
based on a pure question of state law.

Since its earliest decisions, the United States Supreme
Court has followed the long-standing precedent that it
will not review the decision of the highest court of a state
based on a pure question of state law where there is no
federal question presented. Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S.
(1 Craneh) 137, 2 L. Ed. 135 (1803); Martin v. Hunter’s
Lessee, 14 U.S. (1 Wheat.) 304, 338-342, 4 L. Ed. 97, 105-

6

107 (1816); Smith v. Hunter, 48 U.S. (7 How.) 737, 742-
744, 12 L.Ed. 894, 895-896 (1849); Christ Church v.
County of Philadelphia, 61 U.S. (20 How.) 26, 28, 15
L. Ed. 802, 803 (1857); Santa Cruz County Supers. v.
Santa Cruz R. Co., 111 U.S. 361, 362, 4 S.Ct. 474, 28
L. Ed. 456, 457 (1884); Kansas City Star Company v.
Julian, 215 U.S. 589, 589-590, 30 S. Ct. 406, 406-407, 54
L. Ed. 340 (1909); Ward v. Love County, 253 U.S. 17,
22-23, 40 S. Ct. 419, 421, 64 L. Ed. 751, 758 (1920); Herb
v. Pitcairn, 324 U. S. 117, 125-126, 65 S. Ct. 459, 463, 89
L. Ed. 789, 794 (1945). The United States Supreme Court
succinetly stated this rule in Waters-Pierce Oil Company
v. Texas (No.2), 212 U.S. 112, 116-117, 29 S. Ct. 227, 229,
53 L. Ed. 431, 434 (1909) :
It is well-settled in this court that where a state
court decides a case upon an independent ground not
within the Federal objections taken, and that ground
is sufficient to maintain the judgment, this court will
not review the case. Leathe v. Thomas, 207 U.S. 93;
Eustis v. Bolles, 150 U.S. 361; Giles v. Teasley, 193
U.S. 146.
Stated another way, a state court’s judgment that con-
strues a state statute and does not present a federal ques-
tion is conclusive upon federal courts. Palmer v. Tezas,
212 U.S. 118, 131, 29 S. Ct. 230, 234, 53 L. Ed. 435, 441

(1909).

In this case, it is clear that the decision of the Iowa
Supreme Court is based on a state court’s interpretation
of state law in which no federal question is presented.
283 N. W. 2d at 298-300. Moreover, the Iowa Supreme
Court clearly states that the judgment rests on a non-
federal ground that is sufficient, independently, to sustain
it. 283 N. W. 2d at 300.

7

IV. Conclusion: The United States Supreme Court should
dismiss the Petition for Writ of Certiorari for want of
jurisdiction.

The decision of the Iowa Supreme Court presents no
federal question for review. Petitioner has failed to pre-
sent issues to the Court with either “accuracy” or “clear-
ness.” Sup. Cr. R. 23 (4). Petitioner has failed to state
any “special and important reasons” for the Court to
grant a writ of certiorari. Sup. Cr. R. 19 (1).

The news report in question is an outstanding example
of award-winning, professional investigative reporting.
Compare, Cantrell v. Forest City Publishing Company,
419 U.S. 245, 247, 95 S. Ct. 465, 467-468, 42 L. Ed. 2d 419,
424 (1974).. This excellence was recognized by both the
Iowa Supreme Court, 283 N. W.2d at 302, and the Iowa
Associated Press Managing Editors, who, in presenting
Engel with their First Prize Award for Investigative Re-
porting, applauded her for her ‘‘thorough research and
documentation” and her “very important public service,
with tasteful handling of sensitive materials” (Quoted
from Appendix, filed jointly by both parties on appeal to
Iowa Supreme Court, pages 76-77).

The Respondents respectfully pray that the Petition
for Writ of Certiorari be denied for lack of jurisdiction.

Respectfully submitted,
- Paut E. Krirzer
Associate General Counsel

Des Moines Register and Tribune Company
P.O. Box 957
Des Moines, Iowa 50304

8

Gary G. GERLACH
Vice President and General Counsel

Des Moines Register and Tribune Company
P.O. Box 957
Des Moines, Iowa 50304

Guenn L. SmitH
Duncan, Jonss, Ritey & Frniey

404 Equitable Building
Des Moines, Iowa 50309.

Attorneys for Respondents

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1450%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
