# Reply Brief — FCC v. WNCN Listeners Guild

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1302%3A20

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 450 U.S. 582

## Text

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page

1. RESPONDENTS’ ATTEMPiED EX-
TENSION OF RED LION TO COVER
FORMAT REGULATION COUNTER-
VAILS THE FIRST AMENDMENT'S
FTIR PI ov eieceeencnnnsaseererensncnsees 2

Il. THE FUTILITY OF GOVERNMENT
EVALUATION OF PROGRAM CON-
TENT IS DEMONSTRABLE IN FCC
IIE ccinachasntiicisciaseniaseesnunsanadsinnmns 5

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

C 4SES
Abrams v. United ~*9t>, 250 U.S. 616 (1919) ...........
Citizens Committee to Preserve the Voice of Arts in
Atlanta v. FCC, 436 F.2d 263 (D.C. Cir. 1970) ......
Citizens Committee to Save WEFM v. FCC, 506 F.2d
Vii lame ws Ee |) Seoeenrrerrertn
Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc. v._ Democratic
National Committee, 412 U.S. 94 (1973)... eee
Cosmopolitan Broadcasing Corp., 78 F.C.C.2d 423
DED cesses ctnceab canbevadedanprdnventinrasceccucepnasseseoesnneoneeensess
Cosmopolitan Broadcasting Corp. v FCC, $81 F.2d
SE I TUN iv ces sersnsate acc rendirnassriiannaaksnassenis
Editorializing by Broadcast Licensees, 13 F.C.C. 1246
SNIPE aca arnci'gh iveccumasebedakmrmubbennianktepuamadsdoledaddenevses
FCC v. Midwest Video Corp., 440 U.S. 689 (1979)...
FCC »y. National Citizens Committee for Broad-
I OO BID TTS CRP IOD vacessisivsascacsnseerecernessensitss
Mame ¥. CHA 207 US. 296 (F959) 0.0.2.0... veces cccecesenees
Kunz v. New York, 340 U.S. 290 (1951) ee
Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 US. 367
tt ta. 5 ih eastern vavsvearienntannensonnenmeseisnidneyssss
WPI, Inc., 68 F CC dd 38! (1978), appeal pending
sub nom. Forum Communications, Inc. v. FCC, No
I MN ics ci conscetntiererscoeriaeennoversansess

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Cass. First Amendment Access to Government Facil-
ee WO, BOT COREE D ciskckasnssnancrceesenssssces

Federal Communications Commission. Public Service
Responsibility of Broadcast Licensees (1946 )...........

F Kahn. Documents of American Broadcasting (3d
“UC fateh 2a sae AA sae Raa ae SP eae in re

National Association of Educational Broadcasters.
The Nixon Administration Public Broadcasting Pa-
pers A Summan,, 1969-1974 (1979) co

Spitzer, Radio Formats by Administrative Choice, 47
L Chi L Rev 647 6 1980) =

L Inbe American Constitutional Law ( 197 &)

Page

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1980

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
AND UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioners
vi
WNCN LiIsTENERS GUILD. ef a/.

INSILCO BROADCASTING CORPORATION, ef al.
Petitioners
we
WNCN LISTENERS GUILD. ef al.

AMERICAN BROADCASTING COMPANIES, INC.. ef ai.
Petitioners
vw;
WNCN LISTENERS GUILD. ef a/.

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF BROADCASTERS. ef ai.
Petitioners
2
WNCN LisTENERS GUILD, ef a/

On Writ of Certiorari To The
United States Court of Appeals For
The District of Columbia Circuit

REPLY BRIEF FOR INSILCO BROADCASTING
CORPORATION, INSILCO BROADCASTING CORPORATION
OF LOUISIANA, INC., INSILCO RADIO OF OKLAHOMA.
INSILCO BROADCASTING CORPORATION OF
OKLAHOMA. INC., McCLATCHY NEWSPAPERS.
NEWHOUSE BROADCASTING CORPORATION. PALMER
BROADCASTING COMPANY, PLOUGH BROADCASTING
COMPANY. INC.

2

I. RESPONDENTS’ ATTEMPTED EXTENSION OF RED
LION TO COVER FORMAT REGULATION COUN-
TERVAILS THE FIRST AMENDMENT'S MAJOR
PURPOSE

The First Amendment assumes that government ts in-
capable of divining what speech 1s good for the citizenry and
what is not. History shows that government is insufficiently
wise for this task, and that government will abuse to its own
ends any power of content selection. '

Respondents assert that Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v.
FCC. 395 US. 367 (1969), compels regulation of radio formats
because of the public's paramount rights in broadcasting
media.2 Respondents. however, avoid our arguments? that
broadcasting’s unique problem of allocating scarce frequencies
need not. and does not under this Court's decisions. compel an
entirely separate constitutional realm from other media of
expression. A governmental role in selecting broadcast licens-
ees necessitates limiting the reach of traditional First Amend-
ment doctrine only to a small extent

Accommodating the need for a licensing scheme under the
First Amendment has been addressed by this Court recently in
Red Lion. Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc. v. Democratic
National Committee,4 FCC v. National Cinzens Committee for
Broadcasting? and FCC v. Midwest Video Corp.® These cases
explain the central role of licensees’ editorial discretion and the
quite limited power of government to impinge upon content
selection. These decisions are fundamentally incompatible with

‘ Abram; v. United States. 280 US 616. 630-31 C1919)
(Holmes. J. dissenting )

2 Respondents’ Briet at 73 ef seq

I Insilco Brief at 29-41

4442 US 9461973)

$436 US 77S 01978)

644 LS 689 11974)

Respondents’ urging that a federal agency is the proper entity
to mandate basic editorial decisions about radio formats.

Respondents understandably rely on descriptive passages
froin Red Lion in isolation from its subject: the fairness
doctrine and personal attack rules. Yet Mr. Justice White’s
opinion in Red Lion specifically disavowed such expansive
application.” and indicated that approval of the fairness doc-
trine rested in large measure on preserving broadcasters’ dis-
cretion.®

Respondents attack our view that “less drastic means”
analysis should be applied in this case.9 They argue that we
have sought to overturn Red Lion and to analyze broadcasting
by ignoring the “physical realities” of spectrum allocation. 1°
Respondents misconstrue the point.

In our first brief we noted that principled resolution of the
format issue to some extent requires reconciling Red Lion’s
holding with a wider body of First Amendment doctrine. We
did not. however. dispute Red Lion’s finding of scarce fre-
quencies or of the need for their allocation by government."'

Rather. we emphasized that the uniqueness of broad-
casting 1s not just the scarcity of frequencies—all media re-
sources are scarce in ultimate terms-—but that the nature of
electromagnetic channels requires allocation by official author-
ity instead of by economic forces or some other nongovernmen-
tal mechanism. This undisputed fact implicates decisions of this

7395 US at 3%

& Jd

9 Respondents’ Brief at 76-82

Jd at 77 n 1%)

'* Respondents’ assertion that we seek to challenge Red Lion's
rationale is therefore inaccurate. Rather. our aim has been to point
orc that Red Lion did not necessanly change the First Amendment's
traditional aim of limiting governmental control over media of
expression

4

Court, beginning with Hague v. CIO, 307 U.S. 496 (1939), that
limit the methods permitted government in regulating access to
public forums.'2 The controlling principle is that because of the
constant possibility of abuse of discretion,’ “government .. .
cannot draw distinctions between permitted and prohibited
speech on the basis of speech content.””'4

In broadcasting, government abuse of the licensing process
is most likely to take the form of attempts to influence news and
public affairs, especially the coverage of controversial issues of
public importance.'5 An administration, acting through the
Commissioners it appoints, might try to install licensees who
were sympathetic to official suggestions about editorial policy.
or to influence existing stations by threatening to deny renewal.
Under the fairness doctrine, however, these efforts would mean
little. for rough balance in stations’ coverage of controversial
issues must result in any event.

This rationale was not discussed at the time of the fairness
doctrine’s creation.'® It nevertheless provides an independent

12 Insilco Bref at 37. See generalh Cass. First Amendment Access
to Government Facilities. 68 Va. L. Rev. 1287. 1288-95 (1979).
Respondents cannot be taken seriously when they assert ( Respon-
dents’ Brief at 78 n.193) that there is a paucity of scholarly support for
the need to harmonize First Amendment theory in this area. See, e.g..
L. Tribe. American Constitutional Law 699 (1978).

13 See, e.g. Kunz v. New York, 340 US. 290 (1951).

4 Cass, supra n.12, at 1299.

'S See generalh National Association of Educational Broad-
casters. The Nixon Administration Public Broadcasting Papers: A
Summan, 1969-1974 (1979). Certainly. in future. Congress might
tind that risks of abuse in licensing were no longer a sufficient reason
for maintaining the fairness doctrine

6 The fairness doctrine took form in Editorializing by Broadcast
Licensees, 13 F.C.C. 1246 (1949). The Commission’s cursory con-
sututional analysis concentrated on protecting the “paramount inter-
ests of the people” by preserving “the nght of the American people to
listen free from any governmental dictation as to what they can or
cannot hear and free alike from similar restraints by private licensees ~

(footnote continued on following pace

constitutional justification for the fairness doctrine, centering on
the First Amendment’s primary function of limiting govern-
mental power over the marketplace of ideas. It is closely
related as well to Red Lion’s concern that licensees, acting by
virtue of their governmentally-conferred status, might become
the vicarious means of censorship. '7

This constitutional analysis does not, however, justify
government involvement in program areas beyond the scope of
Red Lion, as Respondents have argued. The theory instead
prevents government from converting the need to allocate
spectrum space into the opportunity to promote certain content
and to discourage the broadcast of views it deems contrary to its
own (or the public’s) well-being. This is precisely the danger
anticipated in Red Lion and forestalled in CBS v. DNC.

Il. THE FUTILITY OF GOVERNMENT EVALUATION
OF PROGRAM CONTENT IS DEMONSTRABLE IN
FCC DECISIONS

Respondents and Amici assert that the Commission has.
over the years, successfully decided license contests by assessing
which broadcast applicant would present superior programs. In

(footnote Continued from prior page)

Id. at 1257 (emphasis added). The difficulty with this jusufication ts
its self-contradicuon. Under the Communications Act's licensing
scheme. program selection is reposed in licensees. But if neither
government nor licensees can perform the function. the result 1s
paralysis or chaos. This Court’s decision in CBS v. DNC resolved any
ambiguity about licensees’ rights to exercise the editorial prerogative.
412 US. at 130-31.

7 See 395 US. at 392. We speak here of censorship as a
governmental function. distinguished from the private (non-
governmental) task of ediung See CBS v. DNC. 412 US at 124-25

6

our first bnef we demonstrated that, to the contrary, the
Commission's hearing process is not even remotely suited to
evaluating the relative worth of program proposals. '@

Respondents point to the Commission's Blue Book"? as an
example of successful content regulation.2© In fact, the Blue
Book proposed gross intrusions into licensee decisionmaking
and was therefore consigned to innocuous desuetude shortly
after its adoption.2' It is a monument to the intractable problem
created whenever the Commission attempts to evaluate the
relauve worth of programming.

Amici argue that Commission hearing decisions routinely
incorporate program issues.2? They fail to mention that no such
case has ever been decided solely on programming, and that
the cases which attempt to evaluate programming have been

8 Insilco Brief at 25 1.73
9 Federal Communications Commission. Public Service Respon-
whilin of Broadcast Licensees (1946) (the “Blue Book™)

2° Respondents’ Brief at 69
2° One commentator desenbed the Blue Book's fate as follows

The ‘Blue Book’ became the common name of the document
because of the color of its cover and because of the tendency of
the policy statement’s opponents to associate it with the ‘blue
pencil of censorship and/or ‘blue-blooded® authoritarianism
(since official documents of the Bntish government were also
called ‘blue-books’}

The ‘Blue Book’ was interred a few years later

Neither vigorously enforced nor officially repudiated by the
FCC. the very potency of the ‘Blue Book’ rendered it ineffectual
Its theme of balanced programming as a necessary component of
broadcast service in the public interest coupled with its emphasis
on a feasonable ratio of unsponsored (‘sustaining’) programs
posed too serious a threat to the profitability of commercial radio
for either the industry. Congress. or the FCC to want to match
tegulators promise with performance

F Kahn. Documents of American Broadcasting 132-33 (3d ed 1978)
22 Briet of Amick Amernan Symphony Orchestra, ef a/ at 16-17

7

wholly unsausfactory. For example, WP/X, Inc.,23 cited by
Amici,?4 was a four-to-three decision in which the Commission
was bitterly25 divided on the programming question. The
majority gave the incumbent a major preference for its program
record,26 while the minority awarded “a substantial demerit, a
minus of major significance.”2? WP/X demonstrates only that
Commissioners’ program analyses are highly subjective and,
therefore, basically standardless.28

Amici also offer Cosmopolitan Broadcasting Corp.29 as an
example of how the Commission can resolve programming
issues.20 However, Cosmopolitan was decided on remand from
the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit,3'
which ordered3? the Commission to consider programming
issues according to the very precedent— Citizens Committee to

22 P£4 Inc. 68 F.C.C.2d 381 (1978). appeal pending sub nom
Forum Communications, Inc. v. FCC, No. 78-1874 (D.C. Cir).

24 Brief of Amici American Symphony Orchestra. ef al. at 17.

285A member of the majority. Commissioner Quello. wrote a
separate opinion describing the minority opimion as “so sharply

cnitical that it amounts to a diatribe... 68 F.C.C.2d at 487. He
also lamented the minority’s “shrill protests.” id. at 488

2 Jd at 400

27 Jd at 488

26 A number of Commissioners in W PLY reflected on the lack of
adequate standards for comparative renewals See. e.g.. the separate
statement of Chairman Ferris. id. at 485-56. A recent analysis
demonstrates the virtual impossibility of deriving adequate standards
for assessing the public interest value of radio formats Spitzer. Radio
Formats by Administrative Choice, 47 lL. Chi. L. Rev. 647 (1980)
Professor Spitzer concludes that “unless one can convincingly argue
for paternalisuc choice of formats, unfettered licensee choice probably
is preferable to WEF M™ Jd at 68S

2975 FCC 2d 423 (1980)

%® Brief of Amici American Symphony Orchestra. ef a/ at 17

3) Cosmopolitan Broadcasting Corp. v. FCC, $81 F.2d 917 (D.C
Cir 197k)

32 Jd at 931

8

Preserve the Voice of Arts in Atlanta v. FCC 3 and Citizens
Committee to Save WEFM v. FCC34—now at issue before this
Court. Thus Cosmopolitan hardly demonstrates the Commis-
sion’s propensity, independent of compulsion by the court of
appeals, to decide license disputes in the manner suggested by
the format cases.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, and for the reasons stated in our
initial brief, the judgment of the court of appeals should be
reversed.

Respectfully submitted.

B. DWIGHT PERRY
RICHARD D. MARKS
Topp D. Gray
Dow, LOHNES & ALBERTSON
1225 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Suite 500
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 862-8064

Counsel for Insilco Broadcasting
Corporation, et al.
October 23, 1980

33 436 F.2d 263 (DC. Cir. 1970).
3% 506 F.2d 2461 D.C. Cir. 1974) (en banc)

es el ert Lat

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1302%3A20. Public record. Not legal advice.
