# Reply Brief — Walter Fleisher Co. v. County of Los Angeles

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1177%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 446 U.S. 917

## Text

IN THE
SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 197%
No. 79-700

WALTER FLEISHER CO., INC.,
a corporation,

Petitioner,
vs.

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES and
CITY OF LOS ANGELES,

Respondents,

RESPONSE TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN H. LARSON
County Counsel

JAMES DEXTER CLARK

Deputy County Counsel

648 Hall of Administration
Los Angeles, California 90012
(213) 974-1833

Attorneys for Respondents

TOPICAL INDEX

Table of Authorites
INTRODUCTION

THE RESPONDENTS' POSITION
REGARDING THE PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THE ISSUE

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
ARGU MENT

CONCLUSION

le

Page

to

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Boston Stock Exchange v.
State Tax Comm.,
429 U.S. 318 (1976) 5, 6

J. W. Hampton & Co, v. United States,
276 U.S. 394 (1928) 5

Hines v. Davidowitz,
312 U.S. 52 (1941) fs)

Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages,
423 U.S. 276 (1976) 4

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v.
County of Los Angeles,

(Docket No. 76-1577) i as 2
& & 7
Constitution
U.S. Constitution, Art. I1$8 Cl ».
Statutes

California Revenue « Taxation Code
Section 225 as ae ©
a
19 U.S C. $$66, 1502(a) 7

19 U.S.C. $1202

il.

Miscellaneous

Calif. 1979 Stats. c. 1150 §7
La. Const. Art. 7 §21(D)

Fla. Tax & Fin. Code §196,001
Ga. Pub. Rev. Code §92-186

Miss. Ad Valorem Tax §27-31-13

ili.

oS) |

3)

IN THE
SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1979
No. 79-700

WALTER FLEISCHER CO., INC.,
a corporation,

Petitioner,
VS.

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES and
CITY OF LOS ANGELES,

Respondents,

RESPONSE TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

INTRODUCTION

This case involves essentially the same
issues as those presented in Sears, Roebuck & Co,
ve County of Los Angeles (Docket No. 78-1577).

A Writ of Certiorari has been granted in Sears,

This case presents some variation in the
Sears facts and will, therefore, provide the
Court with more facts from which to judge the

Re

constitutionality of California Revenue & Taxa-
tion Code §225.

THE RESPONDENTS! POSITION
REGARDING THE PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Respondents desire that the Petition
for Writ of Certiorari be granted. As previously
indicated to the Couct, the Respondents believe
that this case should be consolidated with Sears,
Roebuck & Co, v. County, supra.

THE RESPONDENTS ALSO DESIRE A
SPEEDY RESOLUTION OF THESE MATTERS.
THE CLERK OF THIS COURT HAS INDICATED
THAT ORAL ARGUMENT IN SEARS IS TENTA-
TIVELY SCHEDULED FOR THE SECOND WEEK
OF ORAL ARGUMENT IN JANUARY. THE
RESPONDENTS DESIRE THAT THIS SCHEDULE
Bk MAINTAINED,

Toward that end, counsel for Petitioner
in this cause has stated that he has prepared his
legal arguments and can file the Petitioner's
Brief within a matter of days after the Court
grants the Writ of Certiorari, Respondents can
file their brief within days thereafter.

The Respondents therefore respectfully
urge this Court to grant the Petitioner's Writ
for Certiorari, consolidate this case with Sears,
Roebuck & Co. v. County (No. 78-1577) and _
order briefs to be submitted forthwith.

9

~e

Counsel for Respondents herein are also
counsel for Respondents in Sears, Roebuck.
Both Respondents desire consolidation and a
speedy determination of the issues herein,

In the alternative, if the Court believes that
oral argument cannot be set in January if the
cases are consolidated, then another possibility
would be to hold this case pending the outcome
in Sears.

THE ISSUE

The issue presented by both this case and
Sears, Roebuck & Co, v. County, supra, is
whether California Revenue & Taxation Code
§225 is unconstitutional under the commerce clause
(Art. I1§8 Cl. ), and Congress! statutory
scheme regarding tariffs (e.¢g., the Tariff Act of
1930, and the Trade Act of 1974).

STATEMENT OF ThE CASE

The California Court of Appeal decided this
case (see Appendix to the Petition for Certiorari).
The panel deciding this case was different than
that deciding Sears, Roebuck & Co, v. County,
but similarly ruled Revenue & Taxation Code
§225 to be unconstitutional.

California Revenue & Taxation Code §225
was cnacted before this Court's decision in

Se

Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, 423 U.S. 276
(1976). The legislative purpose was not to

take away from Congress the power it has to
adjust the difference between foreign and domestic
goods (see the record in Sears, Rocbuck & Co,

v. County at p. 219, last paragraph),

Revenue & Taxation Code §225 became
effective on January 1, 1976. The opinion in
Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, Supra, was
rendered on January 14, 1976. The California
tax lien date is March Ist. Asa result,
Revenue & Taxation Code §225 never operated
under ''pre-Michelin” conditions.

The Court of Appeal was faced with a
situation where (despite good intentions) « statute
regulated foreign commerce with the effect of
discriminating in favor of foreign goods and
against domestic goods passing through the state,
The Court of Appeal had a choice. It could have
cither ''redesigned’ the statute to prevent these
effects, or it could have told the legislature to
‘so back to the drawing board,” It took the
latter approach,

The Court of Appeal also held that the
County had the right to raise the issues involved
here and that it could not redraft Revenue 4
Taxation Code $225 so as to conform to the U.S.
Constitution and the “Tariff Acts. = Neither of
those questions are presented to this Court in
either this case or Sears, Roebuck « Co, v.
County, supra.

The legislature has now created an exemption
which does not cause discrimination but still has
the desired effect of encouraging the shipment of
goods into the state. In fact, the legislature
gave an exemption to all inventory. (Calif. 1979
Stats. c. 1150 §7.)

ARGUMENT

The Respondents believe that the Court of
Appeal was correct.

Both Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52
(1941) and Boston Stock Exchange v, State Tax
Comm., 429 U.S. 318 (1976) hold that state
regulations causing discrimination, especially
in foreign commerce, are within Congress'
exclusive authority to regulate commerce.

Congress has exerted that authority as
well. Over the history of this country, it has
established customs duties specifically designed
to regulate foreign commerce and portect domestic
industry (see J. W. Hampton & Co, v. United States,
276 U.S. 394 (152%) where this protectionist policy
was upheld). 30th the Constitution (Art. I §8
Cl. 1) and the Tariff Act of 1930 require that
those duties be uniform.

tevenue & Taxation Code $225 alters the
balance cstablished by Congress and invades
Congress' exclusive authority to regulate foreign
commerce,

Revenue & Taxation Code §225 causes
discrimination between out-of-state manufacturers
and out-of-state customers merely on the basis
that the goods are passing through the state.

Revenue & Taxation Code §225 is not a tax.
Like the statute in Boston Stock Exchange v.
State Tax Commission, supra, it creates a
regulation between forms of interstate and foreign
commerce,

No other state property tax exemption has
the effect of distinguishing between out-of-state
manufacturers and out-of-state customers on
the basis that the goods are temporarily in the
state, 1/

1/

~ Only four state statutes have anguage
which makes foreign-interstate distinctions.
They exempt goods as "in transit'’ however.
The Court of Appeal in this case and in Sears,
Rocbuck & Co. v. County, supra, relied heavily
on the fact that “in transit’ is parallel to the
commerce clause immunity for moving goods.
The interpretation of §225 and the three statutes
is very different (see Fla. Tax « Fin. Code
$196,001; Ga. Pub. Rev. Code §92-186;
Miss. Ad Valorem Tax §27-31-13, and La.
Const. Art. 7 §21(D) ). ven if those
statutes were interpreted in the same broad
manner as $225, their existence does not change
the constitutional objection.

6.

If many states enacted statutes favoring
foreign goods over interstate goods, on the basis
that they were moving through or temporarily
in the state, the tariff regulations of this country
would have no effect. In addition, the International
Trade Commission could not require uniformity
as it is required to do under the Tariff Act of
1930 (19 U.S.C. §§66, 1502(a)). Finally, this
country could not tell foreign manufacturers
and domestic businesses that American businesses
are to be protected by a duty of 1.5%, or 2%, or
2.5%, or more, as it has done (see 19 U.S.C.
§1202). This country could not make those
representations because 50 states could adjust
that level to suit their own interests,

CONCLUSION

The Respondents respectfully urge this
Court to grant the Petition for Writ of Certiorari,
consolidate this case with Sears, Roebuck & Co,
v. County, No. 78-1577 and set oral argument for
January 1980.

If argument cannot be set, then an alterna-
tive would be to hold this case until Sears, Roebuck
& Co. v. County is decided.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN li, LARSON
County Counsel

JAMES DENTER CLARK
Deputy County Counsel

Attorneys for Respondents

=

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1177%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
