# Reply Brief — Merlino v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1132%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 444 U.S. 1071

## Text

in the

Supreme Court

of the

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

NO. 79-654

FRANK J. MERLINO,
Petitioner,

versus

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

REPLY TO GOVERNMENT’S BRIEF IN
OPPOSITION TO THE GRANTING OF
CERTIORARI

Richard M. Gale

924 Biscayne Building
19 West Flagler Street
Miami, Florida 33130

Attorney for Petitioner

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ARGUMENT
1. Gross Improper Use of the Grand Jury .... 2
2. Suppression of the Jencks Material ....... 7
3. ‘Suppression of Brady Material ........... 10
4. Intracircuit Conflict -................0000. 12

eure yy cc sececcccessccevscces: 15

TABLE OF CASES

Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch,
RI IN i

Dickinson v. Petroleum Conversion Corp.,
Pe A I ok bck bo uke ossced bcc

Hampton v. United States,
425 U.S. 484, 48 L.Ed.2d 113,
Pes SN in

John Hancock Ins. Co. v. Bartels,
SIE Ee ene ee oe

Maggio v. Zeitz,
OE MR cs caper edbccncidesasecs

Mesarosh v. United States,
352 U.S. 1, 77S.Ct. 1, 1 L.Ed.2d 1 (1956) ......

Scarborough v. United States,
POTN estab oooh os hs ok dia decd ce

United States ex rel. Robinson v. Johnston,
O20 U.0. COD, OB Ld. 1732 .. o.oo occ ccccccece,

United States v. Hammond,
598 F.2d 1008 (5th Cir. 1979) ..................

TABLE OF CASES (Continued)

Page
United States v. Russell,
411 U.S. 423, 36 L.Ed.2d 366,
hs MINT Sh ck wawet Cidr'ks fhe) vik ibe vcsecs 11
Wisniewski v. United States,

PEE ain natchigesnse civsasascdes 13

ili

in the

Supreme Court

of the

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

NO. 79-654

FRANK J. MERLINO,
Petitioner,

versus

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

REPLY TO GOVERNMENT’S BRIEF IN
OPPOSITION TO THE GRANTING OF
CERTIORARI

ARGUMENT

Petitioner will refrain from repeating any matter set
forth in his petition for writ of certiorari and his

supplemental brief to petition for writ of certiorari.
Petitioner’s reply brief will contain material addressed
to the arguments first raised in the government’s
opposition brief.

Gross Improper Use of the Grand Jury

1. The government concedes that it does not
condone the use of compulsory process in order to
question a witness about his conversations with defense
counsel in a pending case (Gov't Br. 9, 11, 12).
Notwithstanding, the government states that there is no
suggestion here that the grand jury inquiry was
undertaken to ascertain the defense strategy in the
present case.

Petitioner will not repeat his argument contained in
the questions presented in his petition as to the blatant
misuse of a post-indictment grand jury to discover
defense stratagem and to prepare for trial.

_ The boldness of the prosecutor in denying the
government’s misuse of the post-indictment grand jury
for discovery purposes is clearly seen in the following
proceedings at the hearing of June 13, 1977:

“THE COURT: Did you not inquire of a
witness [under Grand Jury subpoena] whether
or not he had inquired of Mr. Masin [defense
counsel] and what the nature of the
conversation was?

“MR. PAVE: That is a matter of record.

“THE COURT: That was not discovery?

“MR. PAVE: That was not discovery in that I
did not get anything back. I can certainly talk
to a police officer witness whether it be
subpoena or derivative.

“THE COURT: About his conversations with
defense counsel in a case presently pending?

‘MR. PAVE: I think if the witness chooses
not to answer he can.” (2 SR 17, 18).!

It is almost pathetic that a member of the Solicitor
General’s staff can state to this Court that eliciting
answers from a grand jury witness as to what the witness
discussed with defense counsel does not result in
ascertaining defense strategy (Gov’t. Br. 9).

The Solicitor General has traveled a long road in a
descending path since a case like Mesarosh v. United
States, 352 U.S. 1, 77 S.Ct. 1, 1 L.Ed.2d 1 (1956) where
the Solicitor General candidly conceded that its chief
witness had perjured himself in. other cases.

Petitioner has accused the prosecutor with making
false representations to the trial court that the post-
indictment grand jury was not used for any discovery
and that no Brady material existed. Petitioner has used
exceptionally strong but appropriate language that
justice has been perverted by the prosecutor’s misuse of
the grand jury and “‘lied to cover up this misconduct”’.
The Solicitor General of the United States never even
replied to these serious charges. Instead, the Solicitor

'Reference to the second supplement to the record-on-appeal
will be by the use of the symbol “2 SR”.

General attempted to avoid the charges and confuse this
Court by stating the following in a footnote:

“Petitioner also argues (Pet. 8) that there was
prosecutorial misconduct in what he labels as a
misrepresentation by the government as to the
content of certain tapes of conversations
between Cacy and others. However, as the
magistrate, the district court, and the court of
appeals found (Pet.App. A-4 to A-5), the
prosecutor had relied on representations made
by others and did not intentionally
misrepresent the contents of these tapes. In
any event, those portions that contained
conversations referring to petitioner were
turned over to petitioner in advance of trial,
and there was therefore no prejudice to
petitioner.” (Gov’t Br. 11)

This footnote concerning the Magistrate’s finding
that the prosecutor relied on patently false statements
that there was no information favorable to the petitioner
concerning certain in camera material but that the
prosecutor did not himself thwart the process of the
Court was made by the Magistrate on April 15, 1977, at
an evidentiary hearing (SR 115).?

The magistrate’s finding on June 13, 1977, that the
prosecutor made “repeated representations to the Court
that have been false in this case...” refers not to the

"Reference to the first supplement to the record-on-appeal will
be by the use of the symbol “SR”.

prosecutor’s reliance on others but refers to the false
representations knowingly made by the prosecutor (2 SR
21).

This finding of the Magistrate that the prosecutor
lied to the trial court was based on the prosecutor’s
misrepresentations concerning matters of which he had
personal knowledge. During a hearing before the District
Judge on January 28, 1977, it was revealed that the
government had subpoenaed many of the same persons
that had been subpoenaed by the defendant to appear
before a Federal grand jury on the morning of January
28, 1977 (R 149, 150).° On the same day the prosecutor
deliberately misrepresented to the District Judge and
employed deceptive tactics concerning the government’s
purpose in using the (post-indictment) grand jury and
the information gained by the government from the
witness’ testimony.

The misrepresentations are as follows:

1. The prosecutor told the District Judge that the
grand jury was not used for any discovery (R 155-156).

2. The grand jury was called to determine whether
there was any wrongdoing in the police officers’ handling
of the case and whether there was any further Brady
material that should be furnished to defense counsel (R
155).

Both the Magistrate and the District Judge found
that the government improperly used the grand jury to

3Reference to the record-on-appeal will be by the use of the
symbol “R”’.

discover testimony of witnesses subpoenaed by the
defendant and Brady material was revealed which
should have been furnished to the defendant (R 284,
294-296). The District Judge found that the grand jury
was improperly used to prepare an indictment for trial
(T 284). Both the District Judge and the Magistrate
found that there was material in the transcripts of the
grand jury containing Brady material that should have
been furnished to the defendant (R 284, 294-296).

Quite simply, this Court must exercise its
supervisory powers to indicate to all Federal prosecutors
that the criminal justice system will not tolerate
deliberate misrepresentations to a District Judge or to a
United States Magistrate.‘

This Court should accept jurisdiction in order to set
minimum standards for the conduct of Federal
prosecutors. These minimum standards should include,
inter alia, that deliberate false representations to a trial
court judge on a material matter will result in the grant
of a new trial or the dismissal of an indictment
depending on the flagrancy of the prosecutorial perfidy.

This Court must set a minimum standard for

federal prosecutors which prohibits use of a post-
indictment grand jury to subpoena witnesses to prepare
the government’s case for trial.

‘It is perplexing to understand from all of the foregoing how the
trial judge could make the statement half-way through the trial
that the government had tried the case in good faith and that the
government did not knowingly and intentionally deprive the
defendant of any of his rights (T 656, 657, 662, 663).

Although our system of law may be the best in
civilized society, it has its inherent defects for it is
ministered through men. The frailties of men are
reflected so clearly in this case which frailties resulted in
the abuses perpetrated by the prosecutor that only this
Court can correct.

Prosecutorial misconduct is so commonplace in
regard to the oft-repeated suppression of Brady, Giglio
and Jencks materials that it will continue unabated
unless this Court exercises its role to supervise Federal
courts. Thus minimum standards must be set to require
prosecutors to comply with the well-established rules
relating to the production of Brady, Giglio and Jencks
material.

Accordingly, the writ should be granted.
Suppression of the Jencks Material

2. As to the government’s failure to make Agent
Fernandez’ grand jury testimony available to the
defense at trial as required by the Jencks Act, the
government states it does not condone such carelessness
of the prosecution (Gov’t Br. 11). The government
concludes, however, that the petitioner was not
prejudiced by not having access to Fernandez’
testimony at the time of trial. According to the Solicitor
General there was no prejudice for the following reason:

‘Petitioner, who was also furnished with a copy
of the transcript (ibid), likewise has not
pointed to any inconsistency between
Fernandez’s trial testimony and the grand jury

testimony that he might have been able to
exploit had the latter been available to him at
trial. In the absence of any colorable showing of
potential prejudice, petitioner is not entitled to
relief.” (Gov’t Br. 6).

To the contrary there is a substantial inconsistency
between the grand jury testimony of Fernandez and the
latter’s trial testimony. Notwithstanding the Fifth
Circuit’s finding that a comparison of Agent Fernandez’
testimony at trial arid his grand jury testimony reveal no
‘* ‘substantial inconsistency, contradiction or
variation’ ”’ in the testimony given on the two occasions,
the Fifth Circuit panel at oral argument indicated
differently. For Judge Thornberry noted that the grand
jury testimony of Fernandez was more incriminating
than the testimony of Fernandez before the jury.®

Adverting to Fernandez’ grand jury testimony, he
stated:

“‘We again met at Lum’s and he [Merlino] had
placed half a pound of cocaine wrapped in
newspaper behind a Dempsey Dumpster and
that was about it.”” (Grand Jury Testimony of
4/1/76; pp. 4, 5). (Emphasis added).

5Inasmuch as Fernandez’ testimony was apparently
unimpeachable during the trial, the oportunity to show that
Fernandez substantially colored his testimony before the grand jury
(to obtain an indictment) would have had a significant impact on
the jurors who deliberated for seven hours as will be shown, infra.

On the other hand, in regard to the critical issue of
who placed the cocaine behind the Dempsey Dumpster,
Fernandez at trial stated:

““ ,.. he then told me—motioned over his
shoulder and asked me if I saw a green garbage
can.

“I looked and there was a big square Dempsey
Dumpster. I said ‘Yeah, the Dempsey
Dumpster’. |

“He replied, ‘Yeah, Yeah’, and then he
told—he said ‘it’s behind the Dempsey
Dumpster, in the newspaper.”

(T 608)

Neither Fernandez nor any agent saw Merlino place
any cocaine behind the Dempsey Dumpster (T 608, 739-
743).

Without citing the pages at which the trial judge
commended the excellence of Mr. Masin, petitioner’s
trial counsel, in his cross-examination of Cacy, it is
patently evident that Mr. Masin would have been able
to effectively impeach Fernandez by asking him whether
he had told the grand jurors that Merlino had placed
one-half pound of cocaine behind the Dempsey
Dumpster.

6Reference to the transcript of the trial proceedings will be by
the use of the symbol “‘T’’.

Masin could have shown this grand jury statement
to be a boldface misrepresentation by Fernandez.’

Further, had the grand jury transcript been
produced during trial when ordered by the trial judge,
defense counsel could have seriously questioned
Fernandez’ ability of recall, as the latter testified at the
beginning of his cross-examination that he did not even
remember appearing before the Federal grand jury (T
617). Fernandez’ faulty memory could have been
properly capitalized upon for he testified further that
even with a subpoena to appear before the grand jury, he

could not remember appearing before the grand jury (T
617).

Suppression of Brady Material

3. The government contends that no actual
prejudice occurred as a result of the prosecutor’s failure
to furnish a statement of a conversation between
Fernandez and the petitioner clearly containing Brady
material indicating that the petitioner did not want to
talk about cocaine (Gov’t Br. 6, 7). The government
contends that no actual prejudice resulted and the
Court of Appeals (Fifth Circuit) agrees in this
contention. Id. at page 7.

Petitioner would respond that the blatant
suppression of the Brady material denied him a fair
opportunity to prepare an entrapment defense. During

"Defense counsel could have inquired of Agent Fernandez
whether the misrepresentations before the grand jury that he
(Merlino) placed the cocaine behind the dumpster was more likely
to achieve the result of obtaining an indictment.

10

cross-examination of the case agent, Fernandez it was
elicited by chance that he had made a certain report (T
642-644). Thereupon, a two-page report by Fernandez
was examined by the District Judge. Upon examination
of the report he declared it to be Brady material. The
first page of this report was found by the District Judge
to be helpful to the defense where special agent
Fernandez attempted to get defendant into a narcotics
deal and the defendant indicated that he was not
interested (T 647).

Obviously, this evidence that the defendant desired
not to be involved in a drug deal would constitute
evidence supporting the defense of entrapment.

The defense of entrapment is still viable in the laws
of the United States and is considered a complete
defense when properly asserted. Hampton v. United
States, 425 U.S. 484, 48 L.Ed.2d 113, 96 S.Ct. 1646
(1976); United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 36
L.Ed.2d 366, 93 S.Ct. 1637.

It is submitted that the government knowingly and
wilfully withheld this exculpatory evidence or was
grossly negligent as evidenced by the prosecutor’s
inability to explain why the report was not provided to
defense counsel (T 651, 652).

From a review of all the evidence in the case, the
specific information in the report as well as the
overwhelming amount of governmental misconduct, it
can be seen.

1) That the report was clearly Brady material.

11

2) Had it been timely provided under the standing
discovery order, a serious and well-founded entrapment
defense could have been prepared and,

3) By withholding the information, the
government denied the petitioner the opportunity to
consider and prepare such a defense.

Clearly, the suppressed Brady material constituted
a crucial, critical and highly significant piece of
evidence which was directly material to the petitioner’s
guilt or innocence. As such, this act alone by the
government, coming without explanation, has a serious
bearing on the fundamental fairness of the trial.

Thus, it is apparent that the misconduct of the
government resulted in prejudice to the petitioner,
denying him Due Process of Law under the Fifth
Amendment and the right to effective assistance of
counsel under the Sixth Amendment.

Intracircuit Conflict

4, Concerning the intracircuit conflict between
the case sub judice and United States v. Hammond, 598
F.2d 1008 (5th Cir. 1979), and the decision on petition
for rehearing in United States v. Hammond, not as yet
reported,® the issues involved in the intracircuit conflict
are clearly set forth in the petition and supplemental
brief. Petitioner responds to the government argument
that an intracircuit conflict is not ordinarily the basis for

*The opinion on petition for rehearing is contained in the
supplemental appendix in the supplemental brief to petition for
writ of certiorari.

12

review by this Court, Wisniewski v. United States, 353
U.S. 901 (1957).

The alleged intracircuit conflict was of sufficient
importance that the Fifth Circuit through its Clerk
notified the Clerk of this Court of the Fifth Circuit’s
opinion on rehearing in the Hammond case.°

This Court has taken jurisdiction when the intracir-
cuit conflict relates to a recurring and important issue or
is accompanied by “widespread conflict among the cir-
cuits,” Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456,
457, it may become one of the factors inducing the Court
to grant certiorari. See, e.g., John Hancock Ins. Co. v.
Bartels, 308 U.S. 180, 181 (certiorari granted because of
intracircuit conflict and the importance of the ques-
tion); Dickinson v. Petroleum Conversion Corp., 338
U.S. 507, 508 (certiorari granted “‘because of this in-
tracircuit conflict’); Maggio v. Zeitz, 333 U.S. 56, 59-60
(certiorari granted because of differing views within a
circuit that was most frequently confronted with dif-
ficult bankruptcy problems); Scarborough v. United
States, 431 U.S. 563, 567, n. 4 (certiorari granted
because of “split among the Circuits,” one Circuit being
noted as having an intracircuit conflict).

A remand for an en banc hearing may also be ap-
propriate in dealing with an intracircuit conflict. After
granting a second petition for rehearing of an order
denying certiorari, this Court remanded a criminal case
to the Ninth Circuit with leave to apply for an en banc
hearing before that court “[i]n view of the conflict of

The contents of the Fifth Circuit’s letter are set forth in the
supplemental brief at page 2.

13

views which has arisen among the judges of the Ninth
Circuit with respect to the decision in this case,”’ and in
view of a recent Supreme Court decision in another case.
United States ex rel. Robinson v. Johnston, 316 U.S.
649, 86 L.Ed. 1732.

14

CONCLUSION

This Court should issue a writ of certiorari to review
the judgment and opinion of the Fifth Circuit or, in the
alternative, remand the case for an en banc hearing to
compel the Fifth Circuit te comply with Rule 35 of the
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure in order that the
Circuit maintain uniformity of its decisions.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard M. Gale

924 Biscayne Building
19 West Flagler Street
Miami, Florida 33130

/s/ RICHARD M. GALE

Attorney for Petitioner

15

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_1132%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
