# Opposition — Taibe v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0910%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 444 U.S. 1071

## Text

No. 79-422. JAN % 4989

bea

(_®CRAEL RODAK, JR. CLEeS
nineteen

se...

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

JOSEPH TAIBE, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

WADE H. McCRreE, Jr.
Solicitor General

PHILIP B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

Louis M. FisCHER
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

In the Supreme Court of the United States:

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-422
JOSEPH TAIBE, PETITIONER
B..

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 42-
43) is not reported. The opinion of the district court
(Pet. App. 44-60) is reported at 446 F. Supp. 1142.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
November 2, 1978. The petition for a writ of certiorari
was filed on September 4, 1979, and is therefore
substantially out of time under Rule 22(2) of this Court.
The jurisidction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether reasonable suspicion existed justifying a
stop and frisk of petitioner.

(1) ,

2. Whether, in the circumstances of this case,
petitioner voluntarily consented to the search of his
suitcase.

3. Whether the court properly admitted into evidence
cocaine discovered when it fell out of petitioner's jacket.

4. Whether the evidence was sufficient tor sustain
petitioner’s conviction.

STATEMENT

After a jury trial in the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of New York, petitioner was
convicted of possession of heroin with intent to
distribute it, in violation of 21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1). He was
sentenced to five years’ imprisonment, to be followed by
a special parole term of ten years, and was fined $5,000
(Pet. 2). The court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App. 42-43).

1. The evidence pertaining to petitioner’s detention
and the search of his suitcase and jacket is fully set out
in the opinion of the district court (Pet. App. 44-54).
Briefly, it showed that DEA agents in New York City
received information that petitioner, a suspected drug
trafficker, would be arriving at Kennedy International
Airport on an airline ticket issued in another person’s
name and that he was carrying approximately $30,000 in
cash. Accordingly, the agents undertook a surveillance of
petitioner upon his arrival (Pet. App. 44-45). Petitioner
was met by Michael Tullo and gave Tullo his baggage
claim ticket. The two men then separated and pretended
not to know each other. After Tullo claimed petitioner's
suitcase, the two men met at Tullo’s car in the airport
parking lot (id. at 45-46). The agents approached the car,
identified themselves and asked the men to get out of the
vehicle. Neither man responded, and the agents observed

i

3

j

petitioner attempt to stuff his jacket under the car’s
front seat. Two of the three agents then drew their
weapons and shouted at the men, after which petitioner
and Tullo emerged ftom ‘the car (id. at 46), and the
agents put away their revolvers (id. at 54). The men were
frisked for weapons and produced identification (id. at
46-47).

Petitioner consented to Agent Huber’s request for
permission to search his suitcase. In the course of
removing the suitcase from the car, Agent Huber also
picked up petitioner’s jacket from the floor of the car; as
he did so, a bag containing white powder fell from a
pocket (id. at 47). Huber then searched the suitcase, in
which he found a bag containing a white powder (later
determined to be lactose) and a box labelled “Drug and
Narcotics Identification Kit” (ibid.). Petitioner was then
given Miranda warnings, and he agreed to accompany the
agents to the DEA office. There a field test revealed that
the bag that fell from petitioner’s jacket contained
cocaine.' Petitioner and Tullo were placed under arrest.
Petitioner consented again to a second search of his
suitcase (id. at 47-48). Additional narcotics paraphernalia
were discovered in the suitcase, and $42,000 in cash was
found hidden in petitioner’s jacket (id. at 48).

2. The district court held that the facts observed by
the agents provided them with a réasonable suspicion
that petitioner was engaged in narcotics trafficking
sufficient to justify the stop and frisk of petitioner (Pet.
App. 50-52). After considering the totality of the
circumstances, including the fact that the stop occurred
in an open public area, that the agents’ guns had been

'Testimony at trial indicated that the 40 grams of cocaine found
in the jacket contained approximately 800 dosage units and was
worth approximately $2,250 (Tr. 84-86).

put away, and that the request was made in a con-
versational tone of voice without promises or threats,
the court found that petitioner voluntarily consented to
the search of his suitcase (id. at 52-54). The court also
found, however, that the consent did not authorize a
search of petitioner's jacket and that the discovery of the
cocaine hidden in the jacket was not inadvertent.
Nevertheless, it found that the cocaine would ultimately
have been discovered, because the lawful search of the
suitcase led to the discovery of materials that gave rise to
probable cause to believe that the car contained

contraband. The court reasoned that a proper search of

the car could have been conducted at that point, given
its location in a public place, and the cocaine in the
jacket inevitably would have been discovered (id. at 54-
57). Accordingly, the court denied petitioner's motion to
suppress (id. at 57). The court of appeals affirmed
“substantially for the reasons” given by the district court
(id. at 43). :

ARGUMENT

At the outset, we submit that the Court should not
accept this case for review because of the substantial
untimeliness of the petition. The judgment of the court
of appeals was entered on November 2, 1978, and the
petition was therefore due for filing on December 2,
1978. It was not filed until September 4, 1979, and was
therefore more than nine months out of time. With the
exception of a patently insubstantial attack on the
sufficiency of the evidence (see point 4, infra),
petitioner’s contentions all attack the lawfulness of the
search leading to the discovery of contraband and other
evidence of petitioner’s guilt. Since these contentions

have no bearing upon the issue of guilt or innocence, we
submit that the Court should not consider them when
they are first presented in a petition that is so far out of
time. To entertain them now, when the judgment of
conviction has long since become final, would circum-
vent the policies restricting collateral attacks upon final
judgments on the basis of Fourth Amendment ex-
clusionary rule claims. See Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465
(1976).

|. Petitioner contends (Pet. 17-23) that his initial
detention and frisk in the airport parking lot was illegal.
This contention is without merit. The DEA agents knew
that petitioner was travelling under an alias, carrying a
large amount of cash, and that he was already under
suspicion of involvement in narcotics — trafficking.
Petitioner's conduct in the airport in giving his baggage
claim check to Tullo and then pretending not to know
him until their rendezvous in the parking lot further
added to the agents’ susnicion that illicit drug activities
were afoot. These “specific and articulagble facts” (see
Terry v. Ohio 392 U.S. 1, 21 (1968)) clearly establish that
the agents had a reasonable suspicion of criminal activity
sufficient to justify a brief stop, as the district court
found (Pet. App. 51-52). See United States v. Oates, 560
F. 2d 45, 59 (2d Cir. 1977).2 The fact that weapons were
not found during the frisk (see Pet. 20) does not suggest
that the investigative stop was improper, nor did it
prevent the agents from requesting petitioner’s consent to
search.

*Petitioner suggests that this case is distinguishable from Terry
and Oates because petitioner was required to place his hands on top
of the car during the frisk (Pet. 20) and that this conduct. coupled
with the agents’ action in ordering petitioner out of the car with
guns drawn, constitutes an arrest (Pet. 21). This suggestion is
without foundation. The right of a policemen to stop and frisk a
suspect necessarily includes the right to order the suspect to comply
if he does not cooperate willingly. See Adams v. Williams. 407 U.S.
143, 147 (1972); Terry v. Ohio, supra, 392 U.S. at 32 (Harlan, J..
concurring).

2. Petitioner concedes (Pet. 23, 27) that the district
court properly considered the “totality of the cir-
cumstances” under Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S.
218, 227 (1973), in determining that he voluntarily
consented to the search of his suitcase. However,
petitioner contends (Pet. 23-30) that the district court's
conclusion based on these circumstances was erroneous.
Since both courts below have agreed on the factual
determination that the consent was voluntarily given,
further review by this Court is not warranted. Berenvyi v.
Immigration Director, 385 U.S. 630, 636 (1967).
Moreover, the court’s finding is amply supported by the
record. No threats or promises were made to induce
consent, and the setting, a public parking lot, was not
inherently coercive (Pet. App. 52-54). Petitioner suggests
(Pet. 24, 30) that coercion must be implied because
petitioner was carrying contraband and thus would not
have consented to be searched voluntarily. Such a per se
rule, however, would virtually eliminate the utility of
consent searches by police officers, even though this
Court has encouraged the use of that technique. See
Schneckloth, supra, 412 U.S. at 227-228.

3. Petitioner next contends (Pet. 31-36) that the
district court erred in ruling that the cocaine discovered
after it fell out of petitioner’s jacket was admissible
under the “inevitable discovery” doctrine. Agerit Huber
picked up the jacket after receiving petitioner’s consent
to a search of his suitcase, but before conducting the
search. The district court found that petitioner had not
consented to a search of his jacket and that the cocaine
was not admissible under the “plain view” doctrine
because the act of picking up the jacket was not
inadvertent (Pet. App. 54-55). The court found, however.
that the evidence discovered in the suitcase search

<

furnished probable cause to believe that narcotics were
hidden, justifying an immediate search of the car
including petitioner's jacket (id. at 56-57). The cocaine in
the jacket would inevitably have been found, and thus it
was held to be admissible. United States v. Jarvis, 560 F.
2d 494 (2d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 934 (1978).

A conflict in the circuits exists concerning the validity
of the inevitable discovery doctrine.’ The Court has
declined to resolve that conflict in the past,4 and we do
not believe that this case presents a suitable vehicle for
addressing the issue. It is our submission that probable
cause existed to search petitioner’s jacket at the time the
cocaine was discovered, prior to the search of his
suitcase. If we are correct, there would be no occasion to
decide whether the search was sustainable on inevitable
discovery grounds. In addition to the other information
that led the agents to suspect narcotics activity (the use
of an alias, carrying over $30,000 in cash, the
identification of petitioner as a suspected drug trafficker,
and the suspicious conduct of petitioner and Tullo in the
airport and parking lot), Agent Sears saw petitioner
attempt to conceal his jacket under the front seat of the
car when the agents approached the vehicle (Pet. App.
46). Sears told Agent Huber what he had observed
before Huber picked up the jacket (id. at 47, 55). While
an innocent explanation of the attempted concealment of
the jacket can be imagined, it was nevertheless a highly
suspicious action, which, when considered together with
the other facts known to the agents, gave them probable

3Compare United States v. Jarvis, supra, United States ex rel.
Owens v. Twomey, 508 F. 2d 858 (7th Cir. 1974), and Government
of Virgin Islands v. Gereau, 502 F. 2d 914, 917-928 (3d Cir. 1974),
cert. denied, 420 U.S. 909 (1975) with United States v. Moultin, 525
F. 2d 943, 949 (Sth Cir. 1976).

4See, e.g., Fitzpatrick v. New York, 414. U.S. 1050 (1974).

cause to believe that weapons or contraband were present
in the jacket or car,~Sus justifying an immediate search.
Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 52 (1970).

4. Petitioner finally contends (Pet. 37-41) that the
evidence failed to establish that he possessed cocaine
with the intent to distribute as required by 21 U.S.C.
841(a)(1), but at most showed that he possessed the
cocaine solely for his personal use. This contention is
without merit.

Agent Sears testified that the cocaine contained
approximately 800 dosage units with a total street value
of $2,250 (Tr. 84-86). This evidence of the magnitude of
the resale value may alone be sufficient to sustain an
inference of intent to distribute. See United States v.
Ramirez- Rodriquez, 552 F. 2d 883, 885 (9th Cir. 1977);
United States v. Mather, 465 F. 2d 1035, 1037 (Sth Cir.),
cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1085 (1972). Moreover, petitioner's
possession of $42,000 in cash, the discovery of two
narcotics identification kits and other narcotics im-
plements in his suitcase, and his possession of ap-
proximately 295 grams of lactose, a cutting agent for
narcotics, all support the court of appeals’ holding that
the evidence was sufficient (Pet. App. 43). See United
States v. Reese, 561 F. 2d 894, 897 (D.C. Cir. 1977);
United States v. Ramirez- Rodriquez, supra.

‘Petitioner's reliance (Pet. 37) on United States v. Oropeza, 564 F.
2d 316 (9th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1080 (1978), is
misplaced. There the court concluded that no showing had been
made that the heroin was within the defendant's exclusive dominion
and control. 564 F. 2d at 322-323.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

WapbE H. McCreE, JR.
Solicitor General

Puitip B. HEYMANN
Assistant Attorney General

Louis M. FISCHER
Attorney

JANUARY 1980

DOJ-1980-01

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0910%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
