# Opposition — United States v. Conway

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0883%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1980
- **Citation:** 448 U.S. 902

## Text

Peres
In the Supreme Court we 14 Wr

OF THE |_MI@HWL RODAK, JR., CLER

United States

Octoser Term, 1978

No. 79-393

UnitTep States or AMERICA,
Petitioner,

VS.

Micuaeu J. Conway,
Respondent.

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

THomMas STEEL
Law OFFICES OF

MicHAEL KENNEDY
2424 Pine Street
San Francisco, CA 94115

Attorneys for Respondent

Epmunp J. Lane
P.O. Box 1966
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87103

Of Counsel

BOWNE-PERNAU WALSH ¢ 1045 SANSOME ST. ¢ S.F., CA 94111 © (415) 981-7882

SUBJECT INDEX

Page
ES atresia ae a 1
ED ee a ae 2
Reasons for denying the petition .......................... 3
ata) Ricans pac lea a aa en SNE Cle ll
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED
Cases
Bell v. Bruen, 42 U.S. 160 (1843) .....................0005. 8
Berenyi v. Immigration Director, 385 U.S. 630 (1967) ........ 6
Carruthers v. Reed, 102 F.2d 933 (8th Cir. 1939) .......... 6
Duignan v. United States, 274 U.S. 195 (1926) .............. 9
Graver Mfg. Co. v. Linde Co., 336 U.S. 271 (1949) .......... 6
Hanks v. United States, 388 F.2d 171 (10th Cir. 1968) ...... 7
Helvering v. Hormel, 111 F.2d 1 (8th Cir. 1940) cert. granted
311 U.S. 626, affirmed 312 U.S. 552 (1940) .............. 9
Johnson v. United States, 318 U.S. 189 (1942), rehearing
I I oe on te vs. soc recs (ewe eva cree. »
Langes v. Green, 282 U.S. 531 (1931) ...................... 5
Lawn v. United States, 355 U.S. 339 (1957) ................ 6
Rakas v. Illinois, .... U.S. ...., 58 L.Ed.2d 387 (1978) .... 11
Tucker v. United States, 375 F.2d 363 (8th Cir. 1967), cert.
EO EO ny Pe ee ane a 7
United States v. Atkinson, 297 U.S. 157 (1935) .............. 9
United States v. Benson, 495 F.2d 475 (5th Cir. 1974) ....... 7
United States v. Crowell, 586 F.2d 1020 (4th Cir. 1978) .... 10
United States v. Friedman, 506 F.2d 511 (8th Cir. 1974), cert.
den. 421 U.S. 1004, rehearing denied 423 U.S. 885 ........ 6
United States v. Galante, 547 F.2d 733 (2d Cir. 1976) ...... 10

United States v. Hart, 546 F.2d 798 (9th Cir. 1976 en banc),
count, Gem. OF GAR, EGS (2007) ow. se lec.

i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CasEs

Page
United States v. Hood, 493 F.2d 677 (9th Cir. 1974) ........ 4
United States v. House, 524 F.2d 1035 (9th Cir. 1975) ...... 10
United States v. Jackson, 585 F.2d 653 (4th Cir. 1978) ...... 10
United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220 (1924) ............ 6
United States v. Kahn, 366 F.2d 259 (2d Cir. 1966) ........ 7
United States v. Lovasco, 431 U.S. 783 (1977) .............. 8
United States v. Manton, 107 F.2d 834 (2d Cir. 1938) ...... 6

United States v. McCambridge, 551 F.2d 865 (Ist Cir. 1971) 11
United States v. Page, 302 F.2d 81 (9th Cir. 1976 en banc) .. 4
United States v. Pentado, 463 F.2d 355 (5th Cir. 1972), cert.

Gam, Ge OB, NOPD ors Fed BK Re A ls ke +
United States v. Prueitt, 540 F.2d 995 (9th Cir. 1976) ........ 7
United States v. Smith, 550 F.2d 277 (5th Cir. 1977) ........ 10
United States v. Wilson, 536 F.2d 883 (9th Cir. 1976) ...... 9
Virtue v. Creamery Package Mfg. Co., 227 U.S. 8 (1912) .. 8
Walling v. General Industries Co., 330 U.S. 545 (1947) ...... 5
Weade v. Dichmann, Inc., 337 U.S. 801 (1949) ............ 8

Constitution
United States Constitution, Fourth Amendment .......... 4,10, 11

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OctosBER TERM, 1978

No. 79-393

Unitep States or AMERICA,
Petitioner,

Vs.

MicHaru J. Conway,
Respondent.

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

The Respondent, Michael J. Conway, opposes the peti-
tion for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
(1) Was the District Court’s conclusion that Respondent
had a reasonable expectation of privacy clearly erroneous
when measured against all the facts before that court?

(2) Did the Government invite the error complained of
so that it is barred from raising the issue in this Court?

(3) Does the Government’s failure to present to the
District Court the questions of law urged in this Court
foreclose consideration of those questions?

2

(4) Was the seizure of the cocaine and the search of the
package containing it illegal?

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The following Statement of Facts supplements that
found in the Petition for Writ of Certiorari (hereinafter
“Petition”) and the opinion of the Court of Appeals
(Petition 2a-9a).

Respondent Michael Conway and co-defendant Mazzelli
shared a room at the Howard Johnson’s Motel during their
stay in Miami, Florida (C.T. 58, R.T. 11:22"). On March 1,
1978, they went to the Miami International Airport. They
appeared to Miami Police to know and be associated with
each other (C.T. 52-54). Both Mr. Conway and Mr. Mazzelli
boarded the same flight bound for San Francisco. Upon
arrival, both went to the baggage claim area where they
spoke with each other and exchanged a note (R.T. II:17).
At the baggage claim area, Mr. Mazzelli picked up a suit-
ease which had been recently purchased by and belonged
to Mr. Conway (Petition: 4a; C.T. 52).

Both individuals were arrested upon leaving the baggage
claim area since it was suspected that they were smuggling
drugs together from Miami (R.T. I:18-19; Petition: 2a-3a).
Mr. Conway was taken upstairs (R.T. IT: 48-51) to a room
in the terminal building. Mr. Mazzelli was taken to a sep-
arate room. Mazzelli was placed in a locked holding cell
and the suitcase carried by him was retained outside the

*As used herein, “C.T.” refers to the Clerk’s Transcript in the
Court of Appeals. “R.T.I.” refers to the Reporter’s Transcript of the
May 11, 1978 hearing and “R.T.II” refers to the Reporter’s Tran-
script of the May 15, 1978 hearing, both part of the record of the
Court of Appeals.

3

cell by Sheriff’s Deputy Meyer and agents of the Drug
Enforcement Administration (R.T. I: 120-121). The com-
bination lock on that suitcase was pried open by Govern-
ment agents (R.T. II: 115-116). Inside the suitcase was a
smaller metal case bearing another combination lock
(R.T. I1:116). The agents and deputy broke into this
smaller case (R.T.II:119). Inside the smaller case was a
package covered with wrapping paper. This wrapping
paper had Mr. Conway’s fingerprints on it and when opened
was found to contain the cocaine suppressed by the District
Court (R.T. 1:43). The record does not reflect that the
paper had Mr. Mazzelli’s or any other fingerprints on it.

This entire process took about one hour, during which
time Messrs. Conway and Mazzelli were detained without
probable cause (/d., Petition: 3a). At the conclusion of this
hour, Mr. Conway was told that the suitcase had been
broken open and cocaine found. His response was, “You'll
be arresting me then for conspiracy” (R.T.II:23).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

1. The essential facts relevant to Respondent Conway’s
Fourth Amendment rights are much more extensive than
described by the Petition and obviate the need to reach
the question therein presented. The entire Petition pro-
ceeds on the assumption that the only fact establishing
Respondent Conway’s right to challenge the instant search
is his possessory interest in the seized cocaine.

The facts before the District Court relevant to Mr.
Conway’s reasonable expectation of privacy, and ignored
by Petitioner, are set forth in the Statement of Facts above

4

and the Court of Appeals’ opinion (Petition: 2a-5a). These
facts demonstrate that Conway and Mazzelli were clearly
associated with each other, having stayed together in
Miami and travelled together from Miami to San Fran-
cisco. Conway was the owner of the suitcase, which he had
recently purchased (Petition 4a, C.T.:52). He shared the
use of the suitcase with his travelling companion and
co-defendant Mazzelli. He retained a “possessory and pro-
prietary interest” in the suitcase throughout this trip and
up to “the time of the search” (Petition: 4a)?.

The Petition ignores these facts, apparently on the basis
that “the district court did not resolve the question and
the court of appeals did not rely on respondent’s claim of
ownership in ruling in his favor” (Petition: 4, n. 4).
However, the District Court simply made a general finding
that given “the facts of this case” the suppression order
should be made as to both defendants (R.T. I:42). The
factual basis was not limited or expressly specified. The
judgment must be given all reasonable inferences in its
favor and a reviewing court will consider all reasonable
bases shown by the record in support of the judgment.
United States v. Hood, 493 F.2d 677, 680 (9th Cir. 1974);
United States v. Hart, 546 F.2d 798 (9th Cir. 1976 en banc),
cert. den. 97 S.Ct. 1155 (1977) ; United States v. Page, 302
F.2d 81, 85 (9th Cir. 1976 en banc).

Moreover, the fact that an appellate court opinion does
not rely on a particular ground for its decision does not

*Since Mr. Conway had a possessory and proprietary interest in
the suitcase, the Government’s proposed distinction between an ille-
gal search and an illegal seizure, as well as its arguments concerning
ownership of contraband alone as a basis for Fourth Amendment
rights, are completely inapplicable to this case.

4)

prevent a party from urging that ground in support of the
decision. On the contrary, the prevailing party retains the
right to urge all grounds in support of the lower court’s
decision. Walling v. General Industries Co., 330 U.S. 545,
047 (1947) ; Langes v. Green, 282 U.S. 531, 538 (1931).

Thus the question presented herein is not whether a
possessory interest in cocaine taken alone gives rise to a
right to challenge a search, but whether this interest in
combination with all the other facts in this case give rise
to a reasonable expectation of privacy by Mr. Conway.
More precisely, the question presented is whether the Dis-
trict Court’s judgment that such an expectation of privacy
existed can be said to be clearly erroneous.

The case at bar presents ample facts to support the
district court’s finding of standing. Conway bought the
suitcase and retained a proprietary interest in the suitcase
at the time of the search. He had an admitted possessory
interest in the contents of the suitease and it was reason-
able to presume he placed those contents in the suitcase.*
He accompanied the person who carried the suitcase
throughout the voyage. He knew the suitcase had a com-
bination lock and since he purchased it, it is reasonable
to assume he knew the combination.* On this totality of
facts, the conclusion that Mr. Conway had a reasonable
expectation of privacy in the suitcase searched can not be
said to be clearly erroneous.

*Conway stayed with Mazzelli in Miami and his fingerprints were

on the package of cocaine inside the locked suitcase.

‘The record does not reflect that Mazzelli knew the combination
to either case and the only fingerprints shown to have been found
inside the locked suitcase were those of Conway, not Mazzelli.

eo

6

(2) Even if the Petition did accurately state the rele-
vant facts, the Court should deny certiorari. This is be-
cause where the primary dispute in a case turns on the
meaning and interpretation of facts and evidence, the case
is inappropriate for certiorari. This is particulariy true
where both lower courts have reached {.1e same conclusion,
as occurred in the case at bar. Berenyi v. Immigration
Director, 385 U.S. 630, 635 (1967); Graver Mfg. Co. v.
Linde Co., 336 U.S. 271, 275 (1949) ; United States v. John-
. Ston, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1924) (“We do not grant a cer-
tiorari to review evidence and discuss specific facts”).

(3) It is a long settled rule that a party may not raise
an error when he consciously and intentionally failed to
object to the error and led the trial court to believe he was
satisfied. Johnson v. United States, 318 U.S. 189 (1942),
rehearing denied 318 U.S. 801; Lawn v. United States, 355
U.S. 339 (1957); United States v. Manton, 107 F.2d 834,
847-848 (2d Cir. 1938) ; United States v. Friedman, 506 F.2d
d11, 515 (8th Cir. 1974), cert. den. 421 U.S. 1004, rehearing
denied 423 U.S. 885. This prevents parties from, among
other things, adopting one course of procedure and, after
a decision goes against them, obtaining a retrial based on
this procedure. Carruthers v. Reed, 102 F.2d 933, 938 (8th
Cir. 1939).

In the case at bar the Government raised the issue of
standing at the suppression hearing and indicated that a
stipulation as to Conway’s possessory interest in the
cocaine would be factually sufficient to establish his
standing (Petition: 4a-5a; R.T. 1:43-44). When the stipu-
lation was entered, the Government led the court and de-

7

fense counsel to believe it was satisfied with this showing
in support of standing (Jd.). Similarly, when counsel for
Conway submitted an affidavit which alleged further facts
in support of standing, the Government again indicated the
sufficiency of those facts, saying, “Under the Pruitt [sic]
case, he has alleged a possessory interest’.’ The Govern-
ment now argues the insufficiency of the very facts which
it elicited and then accepted as sufficient in the district
court. Such tactics are unfair in that the opposing party
naturally declines to proceed further or put in additional
evidence when the evidence already submitted is said to be
sufficient. The Government should not be allowed to take
advantage of such tactics.

Here the “error” complained of was expressly discussed
in the district court. Petitioner not only failed to object,
but he consciously and intentionally invited the error
through asking for and accepting as sufficient the evidence
of standing. A party cannot object to a ruling that he or
she invited. Tucker v. United States, 375 F.2d 363, 367 (8th
Cir. 1967), cert. den. 389 U.S. 888; United States v. Kahn,
366 F.2d 259, 265 (2d Cir. 1966) ; Hanks v. United States,
388 F.2d 171, 173 (10th Cir. 1968) ; United States v. Benson,
495 F.2d 475, 478-479 (5th Cir. 1974); United States v.
Pentado, 463 F.2d 355, 362 (5th Cir. 1972), cert. den. 409
U.S. 1079.

Therefore, even assuming, arguendo, that the stipulation
and affidavit were insufficient for standing, there is no re-
versible error because the Government invited the error

‘The Government referred to United States v. Prueitt, 540 F.2d
995 (9th Cir. 1976).

8

and intentionally waived any objection to it. The Petition
should be denied because this Court need not reach the
issue of the validity of the stipulation and affidavit.

(4) In the instant case the primary emphasis in the
district court was on the legality of the search. As dis-
cussed above, there was no real dispute as to standing
and the Government accepted the facts presented as suffi-
cient to establish standing. Appeal was first taken as to
both defendants, apparently with the intention of arguing
the legality of the search. It was only the day before the
opening brief was to be filed that the appeal was dismissed
as to Mazzelli and Mr. Conway’s standing appeared as the
only issue (C.T. 97, 106). At no time in the District Court
was there the slightest mention of either of the two legal
theories® raised in the Petition before this Court. Further-
more, even in the Court of Appeals these issues were only
developed in the Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion
for Rehearing in Bare.’

This Court is a court of review and will not pass on
questions of law not presented to the lower courts. Bell
v. Bruen, 42 U.S. 169 (1843) ; Virtue v. Creamery Package
Mfg. Co., 227 U.S. 8, 38-39 (1912); Weade v. Dichmann,
Inc., 337 U.S. 801 (1949); United States v. Lovasco, 431
USS. 783, 788 fn. 7 (1977).

*I.e., the proposed distinction between a search and seizure and
the contention that no legitimate expectation of privacy arises from
ownership of contraband.

"The thrust of the Government’s argument prior to the Petition
for Rehearing was that Conway’s affidavit should be disbelieved or
that he abandoned the suitcase.

9

Deviations from this rule are found only in the most
exceptional cases. Duignan v. United States, 274 U.S. 195,
200 (1926) ; United States v. Atkinson, 297 U.S. 157 (1935) :
Helvering v. Hormel, 111 F.2d 1 (8th Cir. 1940) cert.
granted 311 U.S. 626, affirmed 312 U.S. 552 (1940).

This case is exceptional, if at all, only in being totally
unsuitable for Supreme Court review. The issues now
raised were never even recognized in the District Court,
much less raised or developed. This Court should deny the
Petition.

(5) Even assuming that this Court ignored the search
of the suitcase, as urged by the Petition, the seizure of
the cocaine and search of the package containing it were
illegal. Petitioner contends that once the suitcase had been
opened, the contraband was in plain view (Petition: 6,
n.7). This is factually incorrect. Inside the suitcase was
a metal case which was broken open and inside that was a
package which was opened. Only then was the cocaine in
plain view (R.T. I[:115-116). The seizure of the cocaine
and the search of its package were illegal and provide an
additional ground in support of the lower court’s judgment.

(6) Assuming that this Court could somehow reach the
question, the proposed distinction between a search and
seizure has no application to the facts herein. In this case
Respondent conceded a proprietary interest in virtually
the entire contents of the suitcase. It would seem apparent
that a person who owned virtually the entire contents of a
suitcase would have a reasonable expectation of privacy
as to any opening of that suitcase. Petition: 7a-8a;
United States v. Wilson, 536 F.2d 883, 885 (9th Cir. 1976) ;

10

United States v. House, 524 F.2d 1035, 1042 (9th Cir. 1975).
Thus, while the proposed distinction may be important in
the context of a defendant who owns one item in a store,
house, or other large structure, the expectation of privacy
as to a suitcase belongs almost exclusively to the owner
of its contents. C.f., United States v. Crowell, 586 F.2d
1020 (4th Cir. 1978); United States v. Jackson, 585 F.2d
653 (4th Cir. 1978); United States v. Smith, 550 F.2d 277
(5th Cir. 1977); United States v. Galante, 547 F.2d 733,
739 (2d Cir. 1976). Thus the question presented is not
whether Conway’s ownership of seized property gives him
an automatic right to object to any search leading to the
seizure. Instead, the question is whether on the facts of
this case Conway’s ownership of the contents of the suit-
case gave him an expectation of privacy as to the suitcase
itself. In any event, if this Court is to accept for review
a case dealing with the issue, it should be a case which
presents the issue squarely on facts similar to those in the
circuit court cases cited above.

(7) Even assuming that this Court considers only
Mr. Conway’s proprietary and possessory interest in the
contraband, this case does not present the question whether
a person can have a legitimate possessory interest in stolen
property or contraband for Fourth Amendment purposes.
In this case, Mr. Conway’s interest in the contraband was
evidence of his privacy interest in the suitcase, metal
case and package which contained the contraband. The
illegal search was of these containers and Mr. Conway’s
privacy interest in relation to these containers was com-
pletely legitimate. This case is thus unlike an asserted
privacy interest in a stolen automobile or stolen suitcase.

11

Rakas v. Illinois, ...... U.S. ....... 58 L.Ed.2d 387 (1978);
United States v. McCambridge, 551 F.2d 865, 870, n.2
(1st Cir. 1971). On the contrary, this case is like the vast
majority of suppression cases where contraband or items
probative of crime are ultimately discovered through a
search. If the presence of contraband or evidence of crime
makes a defendant’s expectation of privacy illegitimate,
then very little remains of the Fourth Amendment in
criminal cases.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

November 1979
Respectfully submitted,

THomMas STEEL
Law OFFICES OF
MicHarEL KENNEDY
Attorneys for Respondent

Epmunp J. Lane
Of Counsel

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0883%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
