# Petition — Chisholm v. Maryland

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0835%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1979
- **Citation:** 444 U.S. 930

## Text

Supreme Court, U.
FILED

AUG 31 1979

(_MICHARE ROBAK, JR, GLERH

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

vm 40-345

JAMES R. CHISHOLM,
Petitioner,

STATE OF MARYLAND,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS OF MARYLAND

JOSEPH A. DE PAUL, ESQ
7100 Baltimore Avenue
College Park, Maryland 20740

Counsel for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

WILLIAM C. BRENNAN, JR., ESQ.
7100 Baltimore Avenue
College Park, Maryland 20740

Washington, 0.C. e CLB PUBLISHERS’ e LAW PRINTING CO. e (202) 393-0625

pee

OPINIONS BELOW
JURISDICTION
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

(i)
TABLE OF CONTENTS

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

II.

THIS COURT SHOULD DECIDE
WHETHER THE SIXTH AMENDMENT
RIGHT TO THE EFFECTIVE ASSIST-
ANCE OF COUNSEL IS VIOLATED
WHEN THERE IS JOINT REPRESENTA-
TION OF AN ACCUSED WITH A SHOW-
ING OF PREJUDICE AT A PRETRIAL
HEARING DESPITE AN ATTEMPTED
PARTIAL WAIVER OF THE CONFLICT

oe Fe.

THIS COURT SHOULD DECIDE WHAT
NEXUS IS CONSTITUTIONALLY RE-
QUIRED TO SEARCH TWO SEPARATE
BUT CONNECTED LOCATIONS
UNDER A SEARCH WARRANT THAT
ARGUENDO ONLY HAS PROBABLE

CAUSE FOR ONE LOCATION............
CONCLUSION

APPENDIX
A. OPINION AND JUDGMENT OF THE

B.

COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS OF

se ee cena da wei aes ss a 60-00

ORDER AND JUDGMENT OF THE
COURT OF APPEALS OF MARY-

EEE ISG SPE OPT Eee eee ee ee

aeopro428e600888808268690800060608060060068090

oeeeweeveevreereeeeeeerereeeereeeee ee eeeee

Tee 6 6:0 9 2:0 2.40.68 .5 6 2 0.0.6

See eeae eee eveceeteonsoeuesneseeannenngeease ee

(ii)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Aguilar v. Texas,

PE Sy SU CE POOD cS eisddenscsandpueddans

Coleman v. Alabama,

FR or errrrrrer Tr rrr Terre

Franks v. Delaware,

G50 UE, TSN OTE) ooo cca cocscdencsccssees

Gannett Co., Inc. v. De Pasquale,
No. 77-1301 United States Supreme Court

CUE Bs SOFT cas crite scrdesssreescebecenes

Glasser v. United States,

Pa Sy ROE Areca hci eactveenpevence

Hignot v. State,

17 Md.App. 399,303 A.2d 173 (1973)........

Holloway v. Arkansas,

og Aree errr reer Tree

Johnson v. Zerbst,

PE I REPO 6 i seen yi seevenenascioes

People v. Hensen,

38 N.Y.2nd 17 339, N.E.2nd 837 (1975)......

Schneckloth v. Bustaonte,

Be A ee Raa oo sc ckeesesvanesesecs

Spinnelli v. United States,

Fe Gs UES bye on deasdaneseerccees

United States v. DeBerry,

487 F.2d 448 (2nd Cir. 1973) .......cccecee.

United States v. Dorsey,

S91 F286 Fas CENA. Cat. TDG) 000. cccccccccee

United States v. Kutas,

ae Te Oat COO GCM, EFTE) 20. ccc cccsvevene

United States v. Lawriw,

Oe ae PE CNG BUFO oc vctvnccecewes

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

NO.

JAMES R. CHISHOLM,
Petitioner,

STATE OF MARYLAND,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS OF MARYLAND

The Petitioner, James R. Chisholm, respectfully prays
that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the
Court of Special Appeals of Maryland entered in this
proceeding on March 16, 1979.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Special Appeals of Maryland
was a per curiam opinion, not officially reported, and is
contained in Appendix A (infra).

2
JURIS DICTION

The opinion of the Court of Special Appeals of Maryland
was filed on March 16, 1979. A timely petition to the Court
of Appeals of Maryland for a writ of certiorari was denied on
June 6, 1979. This petition was filed within ninety days of
that date. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28
U.S.C. §1257(3) (1964).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

IS THE SIXTH AMENDMENT RIGHT TO
THE EFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF
COUNSEL VIOLATED WHEN THERE IS
JOINT REPRESENTATION OF AN AC-
CUSED WITH A SHOWING OF PREJU-
DICE AT A PRETRIAL HEARING DE-
SPITE AN ATTEMPTED PARTIAL
WAIVER OF THE CONFLICT BY THE AC-
CUSED AT THE TRIAL?

Il

WHAT NEXUS IS CONSTITUTIONALLY
REQUIRED TO SEARCH TWO SEPARATE
BUT CONNECTED LOCATIONS UNDER
A SEARCH WARRANT THAT ARGU-
ENDO ONLY HAS PROBABLE CAUSE
FOR ONE LOCATION?

3

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION, AMEND-
MENT IV

The right of the people to be secure in their persons,
houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable
searches and seizures shall not be violated, and no
Warrant shall issue, but upon probable cause, sup-
ported by Oath or affirmation and particularly de-
scribing the place to be searched, and the persons or
things to be seized.

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION, AMEND-
MENT VI

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the
right to . . . have the Assistance of Counsel for his
defence.

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION AMEND-
MENT XIV

(N)or shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty
or property, without due process of law...

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, James R. Chisholm, was indicted in November
of 1977 in Montgomery County, Maryland and charged with
eleven violations of the Controlled Dangerous Substances
law of the State of Maryland. Also indicted on similar
charges were Marlene R. Matthews, Larry D. Butcher and
Steven G. Graham. All four defendants were represented by
the same counsel and over petitioner’s objection all cases
were consolidated for trial. However, only Chisholm and
Graham were tried together because Matthews entered into
a plea bargain with the State and testified as a prosecution
witness at the trial and Butcher failed to appear for the trial,

4

and when he later appeared he had retained new counsel.

The case came on for a trial by jury on April 3, 1978 before
the Honorable Joseph M. Mathias in the Circuit Court for
Montgomery County, Maryland. The evidence indicated
that in September of 1977 Chisholm attended a party at the
home of his friend defendant Graham. Chisholm, who was a
police officer for the Metropolitan Police Department,
Washington, D. C., was planning to take a vacation trip to
Ocean City, Maryland with Graham the following day. At
the party Chisholm met for the first time co-defendant
Butcher, a visitor from Florida.

At the conclusion of the party, Chisholm because of
fatigue and alcohol was unable to drive home so Graham and
Butcher arranged for Chisholm to sleep in one of Butcher’s
rented rooms at the Ramada Inn in Rockville. Chisholm slept
in Room 409 of the Ramada Inn where he observed no
controlled dangerous substances aor controlled parapher-
nalia. Butcher slept in the adjoining room 407. The next
morning Graham and co-defendant Matthews joined
Butcher in Room 407. Chisholm who felt ill remained
primarily in Room 409.

The Montgomery County Police had obtained a search
warrant to search rooms 407 and 409 of the Ramada Inn in
Rockville, and when they executed the warrant, they found
Chisholm asleep in Room 409 and co-defendants Matthews,
Butcher and Graham in Room 407. In Room 409 the officers
discovered substantial quantities of diazepam tablets in
locked suitcases and various firearms belonging to
Chisholm. In Room 407 the police discovered miscellaneous
drug paraphernalia and substantial quantities of cocaine and
diazepam. The officers also testified that they discovered a
small quantity of diazepam and a small quantity of cocaine in
Chisholm’s wallet. Chisholm denied that the substances

5

were in his wallet when it was taken from him at the Ramada
Inn.

Chisholm pursuant to the Maryland Rules of Procedure
timely filed a pre-trial motion to suppress evidence derived
from the search which was heard prior to trial. Before the
motion hearing however, both the State’s Attorney and
Chisholm’s trial counsel told the Court that there was a
conflict of interest because of joint representation. The Court
made no inquiry of Chisholm or Graham or Matthews
concerning this problem, and the evidentiary motions were
conducted. The motions were denied.

The Trial Court did conduct a brief waiver inquiry of
Chisholm and Graham concerning joint representation after
the pre-trial motions. The Court never told Chisholm that
there was a conflict nor that his former co-defendant
Matthews would be a prosecution witness but merely
inquired of him whether he wished to waive a potential
conflict. The Court made the finding that there was a waiver
of independent counsel.

Chisholm was found guilty of five of the eleven counts. |
Graham was convicted of similar counts. Chisholm was
given five years in jail, but Graham was given probation.

After the trial Chisholm dismissed his trial counsel and
retained new counsel for appeal.

Chisholm argued in the Court of Special Appeals of
Maryland inter alia that he was denied his Sixth Amend-
ment right to the effective asistance of counsel because his
trial counsel who represented all four defendants in the case
had a clear conflict of interest. Chisholm relied upon the
decision of this Court in Holloway v. Arkansas, 435 U.S.
475 (1978) to support his position. The Court of Special
Appeals of Maryland found that Chisholm had waived his
right to the effective assistance of counsel and never cited the

6

Holloway case in its opinion. (Appendix A infra)

Chisholm also argued in the Court of Special Appeals of
maryland that his Fourth Amendment rights were violated
because there was no probable cause to search Room 409 as
opposed to Room 407 of the Ramada Inn. The Court of
Special Appeals of Maryland without citing a case stated
that there was a sufficient nexus between Room 409 and 407
to justify a search. (Appendix A infra)

A timely petition for writ of certiorari was filed with the
Court of Appeals of Maryland addressing the Holloway
issue, the search issue and other issues but was denied by that
Court or June 6, 1979.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THIS COURT SHOULD DECIDE
WHETHER THE SIXTH AMENDMENT
RIGHT TO THE EFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE
OF COUNSEL IS VIOLATED WHEN
THERE IS JOINT REPRESENTATION OF
AN ACCUSED WITH A SHOWING OF
PREJUDICE AT A PRE-TRIAL HEAR-
ING DESPITE AN ATTEMPTED PARTIAL
WAIVER OF THE CONFLICT BY THE AC-
CUSED AT THE TRIAL.

When the Montgomery County Police raised Rooms 407
and 409 of the Ramada Inn in Rockville, Maryland, they
seized a quantity of controlled dangerous substances and
arrested the four persons found in the two rooms. They were
the Petitioner, James R. Chisholm, and co-defendants, Larry

7

D. Butcher, Steven G. Graham and Marlene R. Matthews.
All four were charged with various counts of possessing
controlled dangerous substances and all were represented by
one lawyer, Sanford Berman. 4

Butcher did not appear for trial as scheduled and Mat-
thews, after evidentiary hearings on the Motions to suppress
evidence but before the trial, entered into a plea bargain
agreement with the State and testified as a State’s witness at
the trial. Chisholm and Graham were tried together over
Chisholm’s objection.

Prior to the Court’s ruling on the Motion to consolidate
and prior to the evidentiary hearing on the Motion to
suppress, Chisholm’s trial counsel told the Court: “[F]rom
the point of transfer of guilt I think that would be very harmful
to him, Your Honor. It is quite prejudicial to be candid with
you... Sol was keenly aware of the possibility of a conflict
situation. . .” (T.Motions, 13,17) The prosecutor went even
further than Petitioner’s defense counsel and told the court in
no uncertain terms that there was a clear conflict of interest
and clear prejudice. “‘It has always been my opinion, and I
mentioned this to Mr. Berman there is indeed a conflict of
interest where there are four persons charged in an indict-
ment of this nature, where certainly the legal theory of the
State’s case will be constructive joint possession.”
(T.Motions, 18-19)

The Court never conducted an inquiry of either Chisholm
or Graham, or Matthews concerning this conflict of interest
(T.Motions, 23,98) which was pointed out by both the
defense counsel and the State’s Attorney. The Court never
ruled on the conflict issue. (T. Motions, 23,98) The Court
ordered the cases to be tried together and conducted a full
evidentiary hearing on the Motion to suppress evidence
derived from the search.

8

During the evidentiary phase of the Motion to suppress
evidence, Petitioner’s counsel inquired of the State’s witness
as to whether or not any controlled dangerous substances
were seized from Graham. Counsel thus opened the door for
the State to establish on re-direct examination that some
controlled dangerous substances were allegedly found on
Chisholm. Chisholm was clearly prejudiced during the
evidentiary phase of the Motion to suppress evidence. The
Motion to suppress evidence was denied. (T.Motions, 97)

When the case came on for trial the trial court did conduct
a waiver inquiry of Chisholm and Graham concerning
conflict of interest. (T.A. 1-10) The Court told Chisholm
that there was a possibility of a conflict but the Court did not
tell Chisholm that there was, in fact, a conflict, nor did the
Court explain to Chisholm in detail the manner in which this
conflict could manifest itself. Chisholm was not told for
example, that his former co-defendant Matthews would now
be a State’s witness at the trial. There was no affidavit filed
by Chisholm, nor was he under oath. There was no narrative
articulation by Chisholm of the waiver. There was merely an
assent to a series of questions. (T.A. 1-10) The trial court
found a waiver of the Sixth Amendment right to the effective
assistance of counsel. (T.A. 10)

Matthews testified as a State’s witness at trial and Berman
did not formally withdraw as her counsel until just before her
testimony. Her testimony put Chisholm at the scene and in
Room 407, thus creating inferences of constructive pos-
session.

This case presents two issues of constitutional significance
which have not been decided by this Court.

The first is, whether or not the per se rule of Holloway v.
Arkansas, 435 U.S. 475 (1978) applies to pre-trial evi-
dentiary hearings. When both defense counsel and the

9

prosecution tell the court that there is a conflict of interest
and the Court makes no inquiry of the defendants and then
conducts an extensive evidentiary hearing on pre-trial
Motions, has the accused been denied his Sixth Amendment
right to the effective assistance of counsel?

The second issue presented by this case is whether or not
the Sixth Amendment Right to the Effective Assistance of
Counsel can be waived by an accused and if so what is the
waiver standard? This question of waiver was alluded to in
Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60 (1942) and spe-
cifically mentioned but not decided in footnote 5 in
Holloway v. Arkansas, supra.

It is clear that post-arraignment pre-trial evidentiary
hearings are a critical stage of the prosecution to which the
Sixth Amendment Right to the effective assistance of
counsel attaches. Coleman v. Alabama, 399 U.S. 1 (1970).
In the instant case the Court was told by both the prosecution
and the defense that there was a conflict of interest and the
court did not conduct a waiver inquiry of the Petitioner nor
otherwise attempt to alleviate the stated conflict prior to the
pre-trial evidentiary hearings.

Since both Glasser v. United States, supra and Holloway
v. Arkansas, supra, clearly state that joint representation at
trial when a conflict has been raised is a denial of the Sixth
Amendment right to the effective assistance of counsel, the
question presented by this case is whether the Glasser-
Holloway rule applies to a Coleman v. Alabama, pre-trial
critical stage of the prosecution. The recent case of Gannett
Co., Inc. v. De Pasquale, No. 77-1301 United States
Supreme Court (July 2, 1979) would seem to indicate that
pre-trial hearings stand in a different posture than trial
hearings. This Court should resolve this question.

Both Glasser v. United States, supra and Holloway v.

10

Arkansas, supra indicated that the Sixth Amendment right
to the effective assistance of counsel can be waived by an
accused but neither opinion stated the waiver standard.
There was a waiver inquiry of the petitioner in the instant
case after the pre-trial hearings but before the trial.

Different constitutional rights have different waiver
standards. Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938) and
Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218 (1973). Pe-
titioner submits that the waiver inquiry in this case fell short
of the Johnson v. Zerbst, supra standard of a knowing and
intelligent waiver of a known right which guarantees a fair
trial.

Indeed, lower federal courts have considered putting
defendants under oath and having them file affidavits and
having a narrative articulation of the waiver. See United
States v. Lawriw, 568 F.2d 98 (8th Cir. 1977); United
States v. Kutas, 542 F.2d 527 (9th Cir. 1976); United
States v. DeBerry, 487 F.2d 448 (2nd Cir. 1973). This was
not done in the instant case, Petitioner merely assented to a
series of questions.

This court should issue a writ of certiorari in this case to
decide if the Sixth Amendment right to the effective
assistance of counsel in joint representation cases attaches to
pre-trial hearings and to decide what waiver standard applies
to the Sixth Amendment right to the effective assistance of
counsel.

THIS COURT SHOULD DECIDE WHAT
NEXUS IS CONSTITUTIONALLY RE-
QUIRED TO SEARCH TWO SEPARATE
BUT CONNECTED LOCATIONS UNDER
A SEARCH WARRANT THAT ARGU-
ENDO ONLY HAS PROBABLE CAUSE
FOR ONE LOCATION.

The Montgomery County police executed a dual search at
the Ramada Inn in Rockville, Maryland. One search team
entered Room 407 and a second search team entered Room
409. The officers were armed with one search warrant which
authorized the search of both rooms.

Chisholm pursuant to the Maryland Rules of Procedure
timely filed Motion to suppress evidence derived from the
search (R.15) Chisholm argued below that because of a
breakdown of the controls in the so-called “controlled buy”
which occurred in Room 407 there was insufficient probable
cause for the issuance of a search warrant. Chisholm also
argued that notwithstanding the sufficiency or non-
sufficiency of probable cause for Room 407 there was clearly
insufficient probable cause to authorize the search of Room
409.

The Court of Special Appeals of Maryland relying on the
State Court case of Hignut v. State, 17 Md. App. 399, 303
A.2d 173 (1973) ruled that absolute controls on a so-called
“controlled buy” are not required. The court also ruled,
without citing a singlé case, that despite the fact that the so-
called ‘‘controlled buy” occurred in Room 407 and not in
Room 409 that there was a sufficient nexus between the two
rooms to justify a search of Room 409 as well as Room 407.

12

The questions presented by this case are:

First, when an affidavit in support of a search warrant
relies upon a so-called “‘controlled buy” and not upon the
reliability, credibility and basis of knowledge of a con-
fidential informant what controls are constitutionally
mandated in order to preserve the probable cause of the so-
calied “controlled buy’’?

Second, what nexus is constitutionally mandated to
authorize the search of a separate but connected location
when there is arguably only probable cause for the search of
the primary location?

When evaluating the probable cause in a search warrant,
the reliability, credibility and basis of knowledge of the
confidential informant must be clearly established, Aguilar
v. Texas, 378 U.S. 108 (1964) or else there must be self-
verifying details which supply the probable cause. Spinnelli
v. United States, 393 U.S. 410 (1969). In the instant case
the State did not rely upon the Aguilar-Spinnelli test for
establishing the probasble cause in this case, rather it focused
upon the so-called “controlled buy”’ for fulfilling the Aguilar
- Spinnelli test. However, the record indicates that some of
the controls in the so-called “‘controlled buy” broke down.

The affidavit indicates that an informant was strip-
searched during a twenty-five (25) hour period preceeding
the so-called “‘controlled buy” and does not indicate where
the strip-search occurred. The affidavit further does not say
that the informant was constantly in sight of the police
officers after the strip-search nor whether or not there were
any other entrances or exits to Room 407. In short, there
were very few controls in the so-called “‘controlled buy’.
Also, there was a misrepresentation in the affidavit con-
cerning the so-called “‘controlled buy’’. The affidavit recited
that after leaving room 407 “‘the informant came directly to

13

your affiants.’’ However, the testimony of the officers at trial
was that the informant did not come directly to the affiants
but rather walked in the opposite direction down a flight of
stairs and was out of sight of the affiants for a short period of
time. This was a material misrepresentation and/or a false
statement in the affidavit as prohibited by this Court in
Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154 (1978).

The affidavit in support of the search warrant (with one
minor exception) applied only to Room 407. The so-called
“controlled buy” related solely to Room 407, the con-
fidential informant entered and exited only Room 407, the
affidavit never recites that the informant ever entered Room
409, nor was there any indication that the informant ever
observed any controlled dangerous substances in Room 409.
The affidavit is also silent as the physical relationship of
Rooms 407 and Room 409. The issuing magistrate had no
way of knowing whether or not the rooms were separated by
a hallway or around the corner from one another or were
connected in any way.

The only nexus between Room 407 and Room 409 was the
fact that they were allegedly leased by someone with a last
name of “‘Gee’’. The confidential informant told the police
that it was a Larry Gee who registered in Rooms 407 and
409, but the affidavit recites that the Innkeeper at the
Ramada Inn reported that Rooms 407 and 409 were
registered to a Marshall Gee. That is the only connection
between Room 407 and Room 409,

The law on the subject of what nexus is required in joint
searches is rather slim. The recent case of United States v.
Dorsey, 591 F.2d 922 (D.C. Cir. 1979) states: “Federal
Courts have long held that police officers, before they
constitutionally may search a separate residential unit within
an apartment building, must have probable cause to do so

14

that is specifically related to that unit.’”’ See also, People v.
Hensen, 38 N.Y.2nd 17, 339 N.E.2d 837 (1975).

Thus, this Court should issue a Writ of Certiorari in this
case to decide the questions of what controls are required in
an affidavit for a search warrant when the affidavit does not
rely on the Aguilar-Spinnelli test of reliability, but rather on
a so-called “controlled buy” and to decide the related
question of what nexus is constitutionally required when a
search warrant authorizes the search of two separate but
related locations and there is arguendo only probable cause
for the primary location.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons heretofore cited and in reliance upon legal
authorities hereinabove set forth, it is respectfully submitted
that a writ of certiorari to the Court of Special Appeals of
Maryland be issued herein.

Respectfully submitted,

JOSEPH A. DE PAUL, ESQ.
7100 Baltimore Avenue
College Park, Maryland 20740

Counsel for Petitioner

Of Counsel

WILLIAM C. BRENNAN, JR,
ESQ.

7100 Baltimore Avenue

College Park, Maryland 20740

la

APPENDIX A
UNREPORTED

IN THE COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS
OF MARYLAND

September Term, 1978
No. 818

JAMES RAYMOND CHISHOLM
v.

STATE OF MARYLAND

Thompson
Wilner
Couch,

JJ.

PER CURIAM

Filed: March 16, 1979

2a

James Raymond Chisholm, the appellant, was convicted
in a jury trial, in the Circuit Court for Montgomery County,
of two counts of possession of cocaine, two counts of
possession of diazepam, and one count of possession of
controlled paraphernalia. Appellant was sentenced to a total
of five years incarceration. From these convictions, ap-
pellant appeals.

Appellant presents nine issues to this Court for con-
sideration, which we shall discuss in turn. Because of the
nature of these issues, we shall supply the pertinent factual
background for each issue as we discuss it, and will now
present only a brief background of the events giving rise to
this appeal.

On September 22, 1977, Montgomery County police
officers, armed with a search and seizure warrant, began a
search of Rooms 407 and 409 of the Ramada Inn in
Rockville, Maryland. At the time of the execution of the
warrant appellant was found alone in Room 409 and three
codefendants, Matthews, Graham, and Butcher, were in
Room 407. According to the police, a connecting door
between the rooms was open. During the course of the search
certain proscribed controlled dangerous substances and
paraphernalia, as well as three handguns, were found in the
rooms. A subsequent search of appellant’s wallet revealed a
small quanity of cocaine and three diazepam tablets.

Appellant and his codefendants were arrested and, ulti-
mately, separately indicted. All of the defendants engaged
the same attorney, not present appellate counsel. The State
filed a motion to consolidate the respective indictments for
trial, and the appellant moved to dismiss the indictment, to
suppress evidence, and demanded particulars. After a hear-
ing, the trial court granted the State’s motion to consolidate
and denied appellant’s motions to dismiss and suppress.

3a

Thereafter, the case proceeded to trial as to appellant and
Graham - Matthews turned State’s witness and was not tried,
and Butcher was not present for either the motions hearing or
trial.

1

Appellant’s first claim is that he was denied his Sixth
Amendment right to the effective assistance of counsel
because all four defendants were represented by the same
attorney. The record shows that initially all of the defendants
were represented by the same attorney. Matthews ap-
parently negotiated a plea and testified for the State, and was
then represented by different counsel. The record also
demonstrates that at the pre-trial hearing on the motions, the
trial court, sua sponte, raised the question of joint repre-
sentation. Appellant and Graham were present, and neither
made any objection or expressed any concern as to the
possible ramifications of joint representation. The judge
made no definitive ruling on the problem. When the case
came on for trial, the judge (not the same judge who heard the
motions) raised the question and conducted a hearing.
Appellant’s counsel and the Assistant State’s Attorney both
advised the court that there could be a conflict. The trial
judge then engaged in a substantial colloquy with appellant
and his codefendant, during which it was developed that both
were college educated, neither one suffered from a mental or
physical impairment, and both were employed. Their re-
sponses to the judge’s questions showed they clearly under-
stood that there was a possibility of a conflict but, never-
theless, they desired to have the same attorney represent
them. This was ultimately allowed.

Appellant now claims there was an invalid waiver of his
right to the effective assistance of counsel. He says that even

4a

if it was a valid waiver, he was sufficiently prejudiced so as to
warrant a new trial. The State argues that the waiver was
valid and, in any event, that no prejudice was suffered by
appellant. The State also contends that this issue cannot be
raised on direct appeal since it was not raised below. Md.
Rule 1085. While this latter argument may have some merit,
we think it is necessary to address the issue so that any
possibility of manifest injustice may be avoided. See Rose v.
State, 37 Md. App. 395, 377 A.2d 597 (1977).

If anything can be agreed upon by all concerned, it is that
any defendant is entitled to the effective assistance of counsel
of his own choosing, if retained and not appointed. English v.
State, 8 Md. App. 330, 259 A.2d 822 (1969). The precise
problem confronting the court in this case is how far this
principle extends. Here, the defendant retained his own
attorney knowing that his codefendants had retained the
same attorney. The attorney and the court made him aware
that joint representation could raise conflicts of adequate
representation. The defendant, though obviously intelligent,
declared that he wanted to be so represented. After con-
viction, he now asks for a new trial, claiming he was
prejudiced by the dual representation.

We can afford no relief because we believe appellant has
effectively waived his right to complain. The Sixth Amend-
ment right to effective assistance of counsel, like any other
right guaranteed by either the United States Constitution or
that of this State, may be waived, providing such waiver is
voluntary and intelligent. See generally State v. Renshaw,
276 Md. 259, 347 A.2d 219 (1975). Our review of the
record persuades us that the trial judge covered the matter
thoroughly with appellant, and that appellant made his
choice freely.

Appellant argues alternatively that even if there were a
valid waiver, if he was prejudiced by the joint representation

5a

he is entitled to a new trial, citing United States v. Kutas, 542
F.2d 527 (9th Cir. 1976), cert. den., 429 U.S. 1073, and
United States v. DeBerry, 487 F.2d 448 (2nd Cir. 1973), to
support this contention. Our review of these cases indicates
appellant misread them. In Kutas, the Court said, in part:

**Additionally, even were Kutas able to point to some
prejudice, nevertheless her affidavit satisfies the burden
of demonstrating that she knowingly and voluntarily
waived her right to separate counsel.” 542 F.2d at 530.

In DeBerry, there simply had not been any significant waiver
inquiry by the court. In remanding the case, the Court stated:
‘“*... it is in the best interests of justice, we think, to
reverse and remand for a new trial as to both parties after
the court has acertained that each either has separate
counsel or that, from the beginning, each understands
clearly the possibilities of a conflict of interest and

waives any rights in connection with it.” 487 F.2d at
454.

Other federal appellate circuits have considered this
problem and have concluded that while it is the affirmative
duty of the trial court to inquire as to whether there is a
conflict of interest which renders the assistance of counsel
ineffective, it is also clear that a defendant may waive his
Sixth Amendment right. See United States v. Lawriw, 568
F.2d 98, 103-4 (8th Cir. 1977), and cases cited therein.

Appellant also relies on State v. Hunt, 26 Md. App. 417,
338 A.2d 95, cert. den., 276 Md. 745 (1975); Kent v. State,
11 Md. App. 293, 273 A.2d 819 (1971); and Brown vy.
State, 10 Md. App. 215, 269 A.2d 96 (1970). Our reading of
the cases leads us to conclude they offer no support to
appellant because none of them deal with the issue of waiver.

We hold that appellant voluntarily and knowingly waived
his right to effective assistance of counsel, and his belated
effort to show prejudice avails him nothing in this appeal.

6a

Appellant’s next argument is that the trial court erred in
granting the State’s motion to consolidate his case for trial
with that of his codefendant Graham. The basis for his
objection appears to be limited to the fact that he and
Graham were represented by the same attorney and that
there was a conflict of interest between Graham and himself.

Maryland Rule 745 a permits the consolidating for trial of
two or more charging documents if the offenses and the
defendants could have been joined in a single charging
document. Rule 745 c allows the court to order separate
trials of counts, charging documents, and defendants, if it
appears that any party will be prejudiced by a joint trial. We
have held that whether separate trials should be ordered rests
within the sound discretion of the trial court. See McKnight
v. State, 33 Md. App. 280, 364 A.2d 116 (1976), rev'd., 280
Md. 604, 375 A.2d 551 (1977) (held that trial court abused
its discretion); Jones v. State, 38 Md. App. 432, 381 A.2d
317 (1978), aff'd, ____ Md. ____ (No. 7, Sept. Term, 1978,
filed January 4, 1979). Appellant does not say that he could
not have been charged with his codefendant in a single
indictment. Rather, he again sets forth the conflict of interest
argument addressed above. The record is clear that the trial
court granted the motion to consolidate the indictments
before there was argument and a ruling on the effective
assistance of counsel issue. Nevertheless, we find no error
since we believe there was an effective waiver of the right toa
separate trial inasmuch as the very ground for this issue was
the same as that advanced in the Sixth Amendment
argument. See generally, Sears v. State, 9 Md. App. 375,
264 A.2d 485 (1970), cert. den., 258 Md. 730. Having so
concluded, we find no error in consolidating the cases for

trial.
| Appellant further argues that the trial court erred in

7a

admitting evidence from a search based on a warrant that
lacked probable cause for its issuance. We disagree.
Before discussing why we disagree with appellant, perhaps
it is best to again set forth the well established principles that
guide us in determining the validity of search warrants
generally. In United States v. Ventresca, 380 U.S. 102, 85
S. Ct. 741, 13 L.Ed.2d 684 (1965), the Supreme Court said:
“If the teaching of the Court’s cases are to be followed
and the constitutional policy served, affidavits for
search warrants, such as the one involved here, must be

tested and interpreted by magistrates and courts in a
common sense and realistic fashion.” 380 U.S. at 108.

We are instructed further by the same case that a warrant
should not be invalidated by interpreting the affidavit in a
hypertechnical manner. In Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S. 108,
84 S. Ct. 1509, 12 L.Ed.2d 723 (1964), the Supreme Court
pointed out that the preference for warrants is so marked, that
less persuasive evidence will justify the issuance of a warrant
than would justify a warrantless search or warrantless arrest.
See also Hignut v. State, 17 Md. App. 399, 303 A.2d 173
(1973). It also appears settled tha a “‘controlled buy” will, in
and of itself, supply sufficient probable cause to justify the
issuance of a search warrant. Hignut v. State, supra; Vines v.
State, 40 Md. App. 658, 394 A.2d 809 (1978).

With the above in mind, we now turn to the affidavit upon
which the search warrant involved in this case was issued.
Because of its short length we set forth the recitation of
supporting data as contained in the affidavit:

“1. Your affiants interviewed a confidential in-
formant who related that there was a subject by the
name of Larry Gee registered in Room 407 anc Roem

409 at the Ramada Inn in Rockville, Maryland. The
confidential informant described Gee as a white male,

8a

over six feet, blonde hair, in his early thirties. The
confidential informant further related that Gee was
registered in Room 407 and Room 409 for the purpose
of selling cocaine and quaaludes. Cocaine and
Quaaludes are Controlled Dangerous Substances.

2. On September 22, 1977, Mary Dailey, was
interviewed by Cpl. J. Fajardo, Montgomery County
Department of Police, assigned to the Vice-Narcotic
Division. Mary Dailey is the Secretary to the Innkeeper
of the Ramada Inn located at 1251 West Montgomery
Avenue, Rockville, Montgomery County, Maryland.
Mary Dailey related that Room 407 and Room 409 are
registered to Marshall Gee and an unknown white
female and an unknown white male. Marshall Gee
checked into the Ramada Inn on Monday, September
21, 1977 and. has a checkout time of Saturday,
September 24, 1977. Marshall Gee list>d his home
address as 1320 Potter Drive, Springs, Colorado.
Marshall Gee also listed his means of transportation as
a Ford LTD, bearing Florida registration 782659U.

3. Between 12 noon on September 21, 1977 and
1:00 P.M. on September 22, 1977 your affiants met
with the confidential informant at which time your
affiant completely strip searched the confidential
informant and found him and his clothing to be com-
pletely free of any controlled dangerous substances.
Your affiants then took the confidential informant to the
Ramada Inn, 1251 West Montgomery Avenue, Rock-
ville, Montgomery County, Maryland for the purpose of
obtaining samples of controlled dangerous substances.
Your affiant watched the confidential informant enter
Room 407 of the aforementioned Ramada Inn and exit
Room 407 of the aforementioned Ramada Inn. The
confidential informant left Room 407 and came directly
to your affiants at which time he turned over to your
affiant, Off. J. R. Hock, Jr., samples of suspected
controlled dangerous substances. The confidential in-

9a

formant related to your affiants that he had observed
large quantities of what he thought to be cocaine and
quaaludes.

4. On September 22, 1977, your affiants transported
the suspected controlled dangerous substances to the
Montgomery County Police Crime Laboratory where it
was analyzed by Forensic Chemist Richard Gervasoni
and found to be in fact cocaine and quaaludes.”’

Appellant contends that the affidavit was defective
because the two-pronged test of reliability-credibility with
basis of knowledge, as set out in Aguilar, supra, was not
established, and also because, in effect, there was no
“controlled buy”. The State argues that the dictates of
Aguilar and Spinnelli v. United States, 393 U.S. 410, 89 S.
Ct. 584, 21 L.Ed.2d 637 (1969) have been met and that
there was a valid “‘controlled buy’’. From the view we take of
this issue, we need not discuss the Aguilarian prongs of
reliability-credibility and basis of knowledge. We say so
because we believe there was a valid “controlled buy”
which, in and of itself, supplied the necessary probable cause
for the issuance of the warrant. Hignut v. State, supra; Vines
v. State, supra. Appellant argues that the affidavit does not
show a “controlled buy” because the affidavit does not show
when the confidential informant was strip searched in

‘relation to when he went into the room at the Ramada Inn: the

affidavit does not show if the surveillance of Room 407 was
unbroken after the informant entered; there was no showing
that no one else thereafter entered the room; there was no
evidence that 407 did not have another door to the outside:
there was no showing from whom the informant obtained the
controlled dangerous substance, nor whether it was from
Room 407 or 409, assuming that the rooms were inter-
connected. Finally, appellant argues that the affidavit recited

10a

that the informant came directly to the affiants after exiting
the room, whereas at trial one of the officers stated he was
downstairs using a phone and the other testified that actually
the informant, upon exiting the room, went down the hall in
the opposite direction and went down a flight of stairs, where
the officer caught up with the informant on the floor below,
having used a diffferent set of stairs. We find none of these
reasons sufficient, singularly or collectively, to demonstrate
there was an invalid “controlled buy’’, when the affidavit is
viewed in a common sense manner and not hypertechnically.
Even if one were to accept the version of the “controlled
buy” given at the trial, it is evident that the “buy” was
completed and the informant approached by the officer
within a matter of seconds. Contrary to appellant’s view of
‘the facts, it is apparent that at least one of the officers
maintained an unbroken surveillance of the room while the
“buy” took place. Moreover, we do not accept appellant's
theory that the versions given in the affidavit and at trial are
necessarily inconsistent. For the controlled buy to be
consummated without alerting the subject of the surveil-
lance, it is understandable that the officer and the informant
met “directly” at a place in close proximity where the
informant could relate his observations and turn over the
samples, unnoticed by appellant. We have carefully re-
viewed the affidavit and conclude that it adequately demon-
strted, from the affiant’s own personal observation of the
controlled buy, sufficient probable cause to believe that
Rooms 407 and 409 of the Ramada Inn contained proscribed
controlled dangerous substances. The issuance of the war-
rant was proper and there was no error on the part of the trial
court in admitting the evidence.

lla
4

Appellant also contends the trial court was in error in
admitting evidence seized in Room 409 because there was no
probable cause to search that room. We find no merit in this
contention. First, it must be observed that the actual search
of Room 409 was done under the authority of a duly issued
warrant. Thus to agree with appellant we would have to
conclude that the warrant was invalid as to that room. Again,
reading the affidavit in a common sense manner, we
conclude it adequately demonstrated probable cause to
believe Room 409 contained controlled dangerous sub-
stances, It was stated that both rooms were registered to one
“*Gee’’, although the first names were different. We believe a
fair inference could be drawn, from the numerical sequence,
that the rooms were connected. The informant had stated
that both rooms were rented for the purpose of selling drugs.
We believe common sense will justify a belief that both
rooms were so used.

5

Appellant next argues that, since the affidavit used to
support the search warrant contained a statement which was
either knowingly false or in reckless disregard of the truth, the
trial court erred in not conducting an inquiry to determine if
this was the case and, if so, setting the false statements aside,
whether the remaining content was sufficient to establish
probable cause. See Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154,
98 S. Ct. 2674 (1978). He argues on appeal that there was a
false statement in the affidavit insofar as it related that the
confidential informant, upon leaving Room 407, came
directly to the affiants, whereas it was revealed at trial that

12a

the informant left the room, went down the hall in the
opposite direction from one of the affiants, down a stairwell
to the floor below, where he was met by one of the officers.
We need not reach the question of the retroactivity of
Franks, as raised by the State, because we hold that this
issue was not raised below. Md. Rule 1085. Our reading of
the record persuades us that appellant raised the issue of the
statement in the affidavit only in reference to the presence of
quaalude pills, which turned out to be valium. No proffer was
made below that there was a false statement in relation to the
“controlled buy”. Mr. Justice Blackmum, speaking for the
Court in Franks, supra, stated:
‘| . where the defendant makes a substantial pre-
liminary showing that a false statement knowingly and
intentionally, or with reckless disregard for the truth,
was included by the affiant in the warrant affidavit, and
if the allegedly false statement is necessary to the finding
of probable cause, the Fourth Amendment requires that
a hearing be held at the defendant’s request. In the event
that at that hearing the allegation of perjury or reckless
disregard is established by the defendant by a pre-
ponderance of the evidence, and, with the affidavit’s
false material set to one side, the affidavit’s remaining
content is insufficient to establish probable cause, the
search warrant must be voided and the fruits of the
search excluded to the same extent as if probable cause
was lacking on the face of the affidavit.” Jd. at 2677.

We do not believe this issue has been preserved for appeal.
Nevertheless, assuming the issue was preserved, we con-
clude there is not merit to appellant’s argument because,
even setting aside the allegedly false statement as to how the
informant went from the fourth to the third floor, the
remainder of the affidavit furnished probable cause.

13a
6

Appellant was convicted of possession of cocaine found in
one of the Inn’s rooms, possession of diazepam, likewise
found, and of controlled paraphernalia. He now argues that
his motion for judgment of acquittal as to these counts should
have been granted because the evidence was insufficient to
demonstrate constructive possession. It is argued by ap-
pellant, and the record confirms, that the matters covered in
these counts two, four, and eight were seized from Room 407
but that he was arrested in Room 409. He further contends
that there was no evidence he had rented Room 407 or had
any interest in or control over that 100m, or had any
knowledge of its hidden contents. Nevertheless, there was
evidence that he was in Room 407 at one time. Appellant
attempts to counter the evidence of his presence in the room
with the argument that there was no evidence the proscribed
drugs and paraphernalia were then visible. In Cain v. State,
34 Md. App. 446, 367 A.2d 47 (1977), cert. den., 280 Md.
728, Judge Liss, speaking for this Court, said:

“It is well settled that possession of narcotic drugs
under the Maryland law need not be sole possession;
there may be joint possession and joint control in several
persons. The duration of possession and the quantity
possessed are not material, nor is it necessary to prove

ownership in the sense of title. Folk v. State, 11 Md.
App. 508, 275 A.2d 184 (1971).

Judge Moylan in Folk, made an excellent, exhaustive
survey of the numerous cases that we have had before us
in which the sufficiency of the evidence to prove joint
possession was in issue. After reviewing the factual
situation in each of the cases cited in Folk, Judge
Moylan found the common thread running through all
the cases negating joint possession to be: (1) the lack of

l4a

proximity between the defendant and the contraband,
(2) the fact that the contraband was secreted away in
hidden places not shown.to be within his gaze or
knowledge or in any way under his control, and (3) the
lack of evidence from which a reasonable inference
could be drawn that the defendant was participating
with others in the mutual use of the contraband. See,
Haley, Peterson and Roberts v. State, 7 Md. App. 18,
253 A.2d 424 (1969); Wimberly v. State, 7 Md. App.
302, 254 A.2d 711 (1969); Scott v. State, 7 Md. App.
505, 256 A.2d 384; and Barksdale v. State, 15 Md.
App. 469, 291 A.2d 495 (1972).” Id. at 449.

The evidence in this case, when viewed in a light most
favorable to the State, persuades us that there was no error in
denying appellant’s motion for judgment of acquittal. There
certainly was evidence to show close proximity between
appellant and the contraband in Room 407; it was there and
so was he. While some of the contraband may have been in a
briefcase and some in a dresser drawer, there was some
testimony that both were open. Further, there was testimony
that, in plain sight, there was a cutting board, razor, white
powder, and a sraw, all typical implements used for
“snorting” cocaine. In addition, there was testimony from
Matthews that appellant was alone in Room 409 when the
raid occurred and that she heard a voice from that room say,
‘“‘We have been popped”. We believe the evidence was
sufficient to at least raise a rational inference, if not to show
directly, that appellant was in constructive possession of the
proscribed drugs and implements found in Room 407 so as to
justify submission of the issue to the jury.

7

Appellant was convicted of two counts of possession of
cocaine and two counts of possession of diazepam. The

15a

record shows that there were separate counts for possession
of the controlled dangerous substances found on appellant’s
person and for those substances found in Rooms 407 and
409. Thus he was charged in Count 2 with possession
(constructive) of cocaine found in Room 407, and in Count 3
with possession (actual) of cocaine found on his person. He
was charged in Count 5 with possession (constructive) of
diazepam found in the rooms, and in Count 6 with possession
(actual) of diazepam found on his person.

Appellant argues, and we agree, that there should have
been a merger of the counts which involved possession of the
same drugs, i.e., Counts 2 and 3 and Counts 5 and 6. The
State contends that there should be no merger because each
of the counts constitutes a separate offense. We follow the
test for determining the identity of offenses as laid down in
Newton v. State, 280 Md. 260, 373 A.2d 626 (1977):

“Thus, under both federal double jeopardy principles

and Maryland merger law, the test for determining the

identity of offenses is the required evidence test. If each
offense requires proof of a fact which the other does not,
the offenses are not the same and do not merge.

However, if only one offense requires proof of a fact

which the other does not, the offenses a e deemed the

same, and separate sentences for each offense are
prohibited.”’ Jd. at 268.

See Brooks v. State, ___ Md. , A.2d___ (1979)
(No. 4, Sept. Term, 1978, filed 2/16/79).

Counts 2, 3, 4 and 5 each charge appellant with possession
of cocaine (2 and 3) and diazepam (4 and 5), in violation of
Art. 27, §287(a), which provides:

“Except as authorized by this subheading, it is unlawful

for any person:

(a) to possess or administer to another any controlled
dangerous substance, unless such substance was ob-

16a

tained directly, or pursuant to a valid prescription or
order from a practitioner, while acting in the course of
his professional practice.”

In examining this statute, and the respective counts, it is
obvious that Counts 2 and 3 and 5 and 6 are not separate
offenses as neither Count 2 or 3 or 5 or 6 requires proof of a
fact which the other does not. Upon conviction of all these
counts, the court should have merged Counts 2 and 3 and
rendered one sentence, and merged Counts 5 and 6 and
rendered one sentence. We are not unmindful that the trial
court, by giving concurrent sentences, may have ac-
complished a merger. Nevertheless, under the teachings of
Newton, supra, we may not allow these convictions to stand.
In Newton, Judge Eldridge stated:

“In the instant case, there has been but one prose-
cution and trial for the felony murder and the underlying
felony so that no issue concerning successive trials for
the same offense is presented. Cf Bynum v. State, 277
Md. 703, 707-708, 357 A.2d 339, cert. denied, 429
U.S. 899, 97 S. Ct. 264, 50 L.Ed.2d 183 (1976).
However, both parties and the Court of Special Appeals
have proceeded on the assumption that if both offenses
are deemed the same under double jeopardy principles,
so that both offenses merge upon conviction, separate
sentences on both would constitute double punishment
and the judgment of conviction and sentence on the
lesser offense must be vacated. Even though the sen-
tences on the felony murder conviction and the under-
lying felony of attempted robbery are concurrent, this
assumption is valid in view of our prior Maryland cases
in which the Court has reviewed the validity of all
convictions and sentences challenged even though
concurrent. Stewart v. Warden, 243 Md. 697, 699-
700, 221 A.2d 709 (1966); Crowe and Williston v.
State, 240 Md. 144, 146, 152-153, 213 A.2d 558
(1965). See the discussion of this question in Benton v.

Rina ee

17a

Maryland, supra, 395 U.S. at 787-793; see also
United States v. Belt, 516 F.2d 873, 875 n. 7, 876 (8th
Cir. 1975).” Id. at 265.

Accordingly, we shall vacate the sentences and con-
victions given in Counts 3 and 6.

8, 9, and cross-appellant’s question

Appellant’s questions 8 and 9 and cross-appellant’s single
question stem from actions taken after the trial in this case.
The appellant was charged in Count 1 with possession of
cocaine with intent to distribute (Art. 27, §286(a)(1); in
Count 4 with possession of diazepam with intent to distribute
(Art. 27, §286(a)(1); in Count 10 with use of a handgun in
the commission of a felony (Art. 27, §36B); and in Count 1 1
with keeping and maintaining a common nuisance (Art. 27,
§ 286(a)(5). The jury was unable to reach a verdict on these
counts and, with the consent of appellant, the court declared
a misWial as to them. Subsequent thereto, appellant moved to
dismiss these counts on double jeopardy grounds. After a
hearing on this motion the trial court granted appellant’s ©
motion as to Counts 1 and 4, but denied it as to Counts 10
and 11. Thereafter, appellant appealed this ruling separately
and the State filed a cross appeal as to the court’s action in
dismissing Counts | and 4.

We shall deal first with Count 11 (common nuisance)
since this is appellant’s question 8. As indicated above,
appellant’s motion as to all counts was bottomed solely on
grounds of double jeopardy. As to Count | 1 he argued below,
and reiterates here, that since the trial court erred in not
granting his motion for judgment of acquittal as to this count,
he cannot be retired on Count 11 on double jeopardy
grounds. The trial judge, in ruling on his motion, stated:

18a

‘“‘While we are inclined to agree with the defendant’s
contention that the Court erred in declining to grant the
motion for judgment of acquittal, we do not think that we
have the power at this time to dismiss Count 11 on the
ground of double jeopardy. However, we do not think
the count ought to be retried.”
The appellant challenged the ruling, stating that the count
should have been dismissed on the basis of collateral
estoppel, citing Ashe v. Swenson, 397 U.S. 436 (1970);
Simpson v. Florida, 403 U.S. 384 (1970); and Sealfon v.
United States, 322 U.S. 575 (1948), as authority. Our
review of these cases persuades us that appellant’s reliance
thereon is misplaced. We note that these cases are inapposite
in that they all concern situations where there had been a
previous final judgment of acquittal. There is no final
judgment here to trigger the operation of the double jeopardy
concept, only a mistrial to which appellant consented,
coupled with a remark by the trial judge that he may have
erred in not granting a motion for judgment of acquittal. We
find no error here.

Turning next to Count 10, use of a handgun in the
commission of a felony, appellant argues that the trial court
should have dismissed this count since it granted appellant’s
motion to dismiss as to Counts | and 4, which he alleges were
the felony counts. Thus, the appellant contends that his
motion to dismiss as to the handgun count should have been
granted. We agree with the appellant but for slightly different
reasons.

The trial court kept the handgun count viable by denying
appellant’s motion to dismiss as to Count 11, the common
nuisance count, which provided the underlying felony.
Nevertheless, we believe this count should have been
dismissed as we do not believe the statute was designed or

19a

intended to cover the situation involved here. The statute
specifically requires a finding of “‘use’’ in the commission of a
crime of violence or a felony. There is a complete lack of any
evidence to show a use of a handgun, only that guns were
present. Couplin v. State, 37 Md. App. 567,577, 378 A.2d
197 (1977). Accordingly, the State failed to prove the
elements necessary for a conviction under Art. 27, §36B(d),
insofar as it did not produce any evidence that a handgun was
used in the perpetration of a felony or crime of violence.

This leaves for resolution the State’s cross appeal wherein
the State contends the trial court erred in dismissing Counts 1
and 4 on double jeopardy grounds after the jury had failed to
reach a verdict on these counts and a mistrial, with the
consent of the State and appellant, was declared by the court.
The trial court, in granting appellant’s motion on Counts 1
and 4, stated:

“We are of the opinion that the defendant’s motion to
dismiss Counts 1 and 4 should be granted and that his
motion to dismiss Counts 10 and 11 should be denied.

As to Counts | and 4, the controlling case is Newton v.
State, 280 Md. 260. There at page 266 the Court said:

“Where only one offense requires proof of an
additional fact so that all elements of one offense
are present in the other, the offenses are deemed to
be the same for double jeopardy purposes.’

The defendant was convicted by the jury on Count 2,
charging simple possession of cocaine found in room
407 at the Ramada Inn. Count | on which the jury was
unable to agree charges the defendant with possession of
the same cocaine but in sufficient quantity to indicate an
intent to distribute same. Under the definition above,
therefore, the offenses charged in Counts | and 2 are
deemed to be the same for double jeopardy purposes.

The jury found the defendant guilty of Count 5

20a

charging possession of diazepam found in room 407 at
the Ramada Inn. Count 4 charges the defendant with
possession of the same diazepam but in sufficient
quantity to indicate an intent to distribute. For the same
reason, therefore, double jeopardy precludes the de-
fendant from being tried again on Count 4.”

We agree with the trial judge in his assessment of the
double jeopardy issue presented by appellant. This con-
clusion is in accord with the recent Supreme Court decision
in Brown v. Ohio, 432 U.S. 161, 97 S. Ct. 2221 (1977). In
Brown, the Court held that where the only distinction
between two statutory offenses was an element of intent, then
the offenses constitute the “same offense” for double
jeopardy purposes. 97 S. Ct. at 2226. The only distinction
present in this case between Counts 1 and 2, and Counts 4
and 5, is a sufficient quantity of cocaine and diazepam from
which an intent to distribute could be inferred. Accordingly.
we find no error in this regard.

JUDGMENTS ON COUNTS 3 AND 6
VACATED; .ALL OTHER JUDGMENTS
AFFIRMED.

ORDER GRANTING MOTION TO
DISMISS

COUNTS | AND 4 AFFIRMED.

ORDER DENYING MOTION TO DISMISS
COUNT 10 REVERSED.

ORDER DENYING MOTION TO DISMISS
COUNT 11 AFFIRMED.

COSTS TO BE PAID TWO-THIRDS BY
APPELLANT AND ONE-THIRD BY
MONTGOMERY COUNTY.

lb
APPENDIX B
JAMES RAYMOND In the
CHISHOLM Court of Appeals
of Maryland
v. Petition Docket No. 80

September Term, 1979

STATE OF MARYLAND (No. 818, September Term,

1978 Court of Special
Appeals)

ORDER

Upon consideration of the petition and cross petition for a
writ of certiorari to the Court of Special Appeals in the above
entitled case, it is

ORDERED, by the Court of Appeals of Maryland, that
the petition and cross petition be, and they are hereby, denied
as there has been no showing that review by certiorari is
desirable and in the public interest.

/s/ Robert C. Murphy
Chief Judge

Date: June 6, 1979

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385006_0835%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
